Planview LeanKit Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 24, 2020
Daniel Schleusener | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Planview LeanKit is particularly good in visualizing a process and the work that is in it. While the column structure seems simple, it still manages to capture the essence of our work and in a way de-abstracts it.
  • The multiple ways of customizing boards, lanes, cards and reports mean Planview LeanKit can be made fit to any process.
  • With descriptions and comments it is a great tool to facilitate project work and collaboration in a comprehensive manner.
  • The reporting offers many ways to keep track of the current state and development potential of a board and its process.
  • The Planview LeanKit support is particularly fast to respond, answers (and asks) very knowledgeable and like-able.
  • Over the last two years I saw Planview LeanKit develop a lot of great features that were really helpful. The product constantly evolves.
  • Planview LeanKit currently can't or should not be used as a central spot for data and collaboration. Particularly attachments are not well-handled.
  • The portable side of Planview LeanKit is really lacking.
  • We would appreciate some options to group or stack cards.
Read Daniel Schleusener's full review
June 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • LeanKit is easy-to-use and flexible. You can change your boards as often as you change your work process.
  • Flexible and intuitive user interface.
  • Easy to manage and handle user access.
  • Drag-and-drop cards across lanes, add comments, and documents.
  • Reporting can be improved to show better insights.
  • Can't think of any other cons.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allocating tasks to specific people.
  • Managing your or your team's workflow.
  • Organization
  • Prioritization
  • Card description field could be larger/re-sizable with better formatting options.
  • Ability to copy/paste screenshots into cards.
  • Sizing of cards in order to judge complexity/length of task.
Read this authenticated review
February 26, 2020
Scot Wolcott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Board customization and flexibility. We are able to set up different work flows and check off points in LeanKit that was not possible with our other tools.
  • Work in progress, being able to enforce work in progress in each lane is valuable.
  • Ease of use. Creating different boards and different sections in boards is very easy to do and understand.
  • Import/Export of data could be more robust.
  • Reporting options are not as comprehensive as other tools.
Read Scot Wolcott's full review
February 18, 2020
Heather Neisen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Create a framework to move tasks through a set of 'stages'.
  • Kept our team organized and we knew what stage each project was in.
  • It has a very clunky interface. Super hard to set up and customize.
  • Not that pretty or slick. Works, but is no Apple.
Read Heather Neisen's full review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Okta Integration: We love using SSO for all our SaaS apps, and as new team members join, they can be automatically joined to the appropriate LeanKit boards.
  • Filtering and viewing: Can filter and refine by several fields as well as custom fields. Assigned Users, Tagged, Card Type, Date, etc
  • Their analytics and reporting can be helpful for PMs, especially if they have several teams they oversee.
  • I like where they are going with integrations. I would like to see more integration with security monitoring and alerting tools. Might not be the right use case, but for what I do, that would be nice to have.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Kanban style project management allows us to see projects in a "pipeline" view and understand what projects are finished and what projects are not finished.
  • Email notification feature is great if you are collaborating on a project with another person. Tagging can be used to notify a teammate that a step has been complete, for example.
  • Simple UI is not cluttered or overwhelming.
  • It would be nice to have a place to provide daily updates besides a comments section; perhaps a section that has a date and a status color (green/yellow/red).
  • UI is not very sleek or modern looking.
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2019
Nate Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Kanban-style workflow (can be fun moving things along on the board).
  • Advanced organization of boards and lanes.
  • Allows for various forms of information to be captured in each card.
  • Not the best designed Kanban software I've seen.
  • The advanced organization options seem to create overly complex boards in my experience.
  • Finding a specific card can be a challenge.
Read Nate Dillon's full review
June 02, 2017
Charles Wu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lanes - swim lanes help organize leankits into an unlimited number of functions, and can be customized for different teams and roles. For example, web teams follow an agile methodology and operated in sprints, so the lanes could be customized to capture each stage in that process.
  • Stick Notes - I am a big user of physical sticky notes to write down activities, so LeanKit sticky notes were a natural transition to digitizing them. Of course, being able to have tasks within each note helped me outline specific actions within a broader idea or topic.
  • Assigning of Activities - assigning activities and having it sync to your inbox helps people keep track of what they are responsible for, and can have a signal when other tasks get completed.
  • Leankit boards can get crowded, sometimes hard to scroll to the areas that are the most relevant for specific people.
Read Charles Wu's full review
June 07, 2017
Melissa Perri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • LeanKit allows you to track the cycle time for development, which is crucial when analyzing where roadblocks are.
  • LeanKit allows you to see when there are things waiting to be moved, which allows you to fix your processes.
  • LeanKit makes it easy for product teams to keep track of discovery work that does not flow into sprints well.
  • When I used Lean Kit in early 2016, it was a little slow.
  • I didn't like the board linking functionality.
Read Melissa Perri's full review
August 06, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Keeps details organized.
  • Makes viewing overall progress in a given project easily identifiable.
  • We're able to get a good overview of what projects we complete over time and which ones are coming up.
  • None I can think of.
Read this authenticated review
June 23, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The LeanKit dashboard really lends itself well to agile-style development.
  • The interface is fairly intuitive.
  • Being able to split up work and document progress and assign things to people is great.
  • The formatting of what they call "cards" could be better. They can be clunky if you have a lot of text in just one.
  • Needs better support for media, attachments.
  • Not the most pretty interface in my opinion, though it works.
Read this authenticated review
June 21, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Transparent as to the status of stories.
  • Allows customization of fields and colors.
  • Showing icons for who is assigned stories or blockers is very transparent.
  • Setting card counts is allowing us to progress to seamless integration.
  • Integration with other tools. Being in QA having a separate tool for labs and scripts and not integrating makes tracking tedious (we are using testrails).
  • Better notification on movement of stories of interest.
  • Stories going to bottom of column on creation.
Read this authenticated review
January 04, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • LeanKit is easily updated by imports from our timekeeping tool. This provides an easy translation of content between the two platforms.
  • LeanKit allows tasks to be assigned to different users and uses color coordination to easily show project types and user who is responsible.
  • LeanKit has great filter options so each user is able to easily manage their tasks without being distracted by items that are not important to them.
  • LeanKit is very flexible, allowing the team to create boards that fit their exact needs for the different processes
  • LeanKit could offer better integrations with other softwares we use in our business to reduce manual duplication.
Read this authenticated review

What is Planview LeanKit?

Planview LeanKit is an enterprise Kanban tool for engineers. LeanKit helps organizations visualize work, optimize processes, and deliver value faster. Teams of all types - including software development, IT operations, DevOps, and their extended value streams - rely on LeanKit every day to apply Lean-Agile principles to their work.

Planview LeanKit Features

Has featureProcess and Work Visualization (Kanban boards)
Has featureCross-team Work Connections
Has featureLean Analytics & Advanced Reporting Capabilities
Has featureEnterprise Integrations

Planview LeanKit Competitors

Planview LeanKit Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Teams$19per user, per month
Scaled Teams$29per user, per month
CustomContact Sales for Quoteper user, per month

All editions include unlimited boards. For more details on the different editions, please check out https://www.planview.com/products-solutions/products/leankit/leankit-pricing/

Planview LeanKit Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Planview LeanKit Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French