Asana Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1118 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 131)

page V | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2020

Asana: Best all around project management tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team is using Asana with other teams in collaboration in a project management capacity. We are using it to:
  • Break down the multiple components of our projects into tasks, responsibilities, roles, and timelines.
  • Track multiple pieces of a project across complex team structures and time zones.
  • Plan time and logistical execution for our parts of the project moving forward.
  • Observe the overall project's progress as a whole (Kanban-like progress board).
  • Document processes that need to be completed so that others can implement them.
  • Timelines: With Asana, you can create Gantt charts that show you preceding/needed action items. When a part of a project is delayed, you can track how that will affect the forward trajectory of the project.
  • User management / Roles in relationship to tasks: Asana allows you to see individual users and assign them tasks in an overall project, while also being able to see what items are needed as a whole. It allows you to see who is doing what and when.
  • Organized File storage: There's one master view for file storage, OR you can store files in individual tasks. Overall, for visually-driven individuals - and for those who need a strong sense of organization, it's not that helpful.
  • Visual organization inside of tasks: The view inside of tasks could be improved for visually focused individuals; I find myself wanting more of a "notebook" view that better integrates different types of media and notes altogether.
Our team has evaluated several team collaboration tools. If your organization (five or more) needs a place where your team can collaborate, track tasks, track time, manage users and come together to get something done, Asana is going to be one of our top recommendations. The ability to see progress in a project, integrate Asana into the rest of your workflow and tools, document notes and processes inside of the process, duplicate boards and projects, and manage the process is pretty well planned. Note: It's more vital for you to know your processes and how your team works before picking out a software tool for it. However, we still recommend Asana highly.

Asana is NOT a good fit for you if you have a smaller team, don't have reliable processes, don't like seeing user management or task boards, or are looking for a free tool.
Read page V's full review
Maryelis Alvarado | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 24, 2020

The ideal software to manage your activities at work.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is the tool that is used in the marketing and application development departments, with this software I can share files and tasks. It also allows me to keep track of the tasks that I must carry out. It is also used to control the workflow and thus have better development of projects.
  • Excellent fast and practical interface
  • I can easily track my activities.
  • I can prioritize tasks and manage activities.
  • It allows me to edit documents directly from the web.
  • It has many plugins to add additional functions.
  • Have mobile applications for android
  • You cannot customize your interface.
  • The files download is slow.
  • Email notifications sometimes go to spam.
  • The cost of their accessories is expensive.
  • It does not have a desktop application.
Asana is ideal for companies where collaborative activities are required since it has characteristics that will allow an excellent development of their projects and activities. However, this tool may not adapt very well to projects that require statistical characteristics and that are very big.
Read Maryelis Alvarado's full review
Sandra Jackson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Asana improves productivity and team collaboration

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Asana withing our business department to manage the graduation projects for our senior students. Asana helps us to save meetings time and reduce email communication. In our department we supervise around 20 projects per year and Asana helps us to keep track of all the projects and see the progress of each one.
  • Nice and simple platform for project management.
  • Great calendar tool to monitor deadlines.
  • Great for collaboration and team work.
  • Customization dashboard.
  • Poor exporting features.
  • Limited functions in mobile app.
Asana is one of the best platforms to manage projects and collaborate with teammates. It improves productivity by assigning tasks to each member and put deadlines for the submission of the project. It allows our students to stay focused on each task and is useful for our department to keep track of each project.
Read Sandra Jackson's full review
Chad Carman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Worth every penny to increase productivity

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Asana through our marketing department to keep on task for a variety of projects, procedures, and work orders. It enables us to ensure that none of the 100s of concurrently running tasks or projects miss their due dates. We sync it through Slack to increase productivity of conversations within the department as well.
  • Ability to set it and forget it. Create a task as soon as you have it and assign a due date then you have no worries about forgetting it.
  • Keeps priorities in order
  • Allows for communication on specific tasks within Asana keeping most relevant files available.
  • Would be nice to be able to print task calendars as we keep our content calendar in Asana
Asana is best suited for groups that have multiple projects running concurrently. It allows a business organization to quickly shift projects or tasks to other individuals when certain employees or departments get bogged down. Keeping quality notes on progress allows you to see the status at an immediate glance. We couldn't maintain our efficiency without it.
Read Chad Carman's full review
Kate Knight | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

No compromises with Asana!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Because I work with someone hours away, and we typically work opposite schedules, having a software where we can log projects we're working on, tasks that need completed, posting schedules, etc. was extremely important for the success of our organization. We were looking for an easy to use software that also offered a well put together app, all of which Asana offered.
  • The app is extremely useful.
  • The subtask feature has been extremely helpful when we have several steps that need to be taken care of for a project.
  • Email notifications - For each task, subtask, comment, I receive an email. This is unnecessary when I have the app on my phone.
  • Software integration with Gmail would be a huge benefit.
Asana is well suited for an organization that has employees working in distance with each other. It is also well suited for organizations that may have multiple projects going on at one time, with various schedules and due dates. We think the organization Asana has provided has been key to our success.
Read Kate Knight's full review
Catherine Zauner | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

Great tool for collaborative teams

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple departments use this platform to manage projects. This allows our teams to collaborate, streamline and schedule project due dates and keep track of who is working on what. This is very helpful for when people travel, there is transparency around what is due and other teammates can step in when needed. This is a great platform for efficient collaboration.
  • Project management - the ability for us to track our projects all in one place is very helpful. transparency makes it easy for everyone to be on the same page.
  • Marking projects/events complete as they happen - the fun animation makes every completed task feel like a win, and it makes using the tool more fun. Very helpful when doing something that is normally tedious.
  • For what I use it for, there is nothing I could recommend.
This product is well suited for teams where different folks are collaborating on assignments and there needs to be a clear outline as to who is working on what. It helps set very transparent expectations for progress and follow up. It may not be necessary for non-collaborative environments.
Read Catherine Zauner's full review
Richard Peterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Asana is our global solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is used by our digital marketing team with locations in Hartford, WI and Drummondville, Quebec, Canada, and our Chinese operation. It is great to keep track of all the fellow team members and their tasks, across different time zones. It has allowed us to reduce the sharing of spreadsheets to keep people up to date. If I want to know where a team player is on a project I check the Asana dashboard and I can get a quick update without having to write yet another email.
  • We like the detail that can be put into the updates and we have learned to say more with fewer words.
  • By updating your tasks in Asana you are letting people know where you are on the items, without them having to reach out to me.
  • We like the fact that you can all alert by task by an individual to keep key stakeholders informed. And it is easy to add or delete these alert recipients.
  • The only complaint we have is making more features available in the bases product. Some of the more popular features are upgrades costing a larger investment.
  • Quarterly credit card billing would be appreciated.
  • More training modules (video or PPT) would help the on-boarding of new members greatly. We sometimes have to do a quick WebEx to get new members up to speed.
The ideal application for this product is when you have team members that need to work closely together but are separated by thousands of miles and in some cases by languages. We like the English option and feel this tool has increased our ability to communicate faster and more accurately as a team, which makes us look good to our bosses.
Read Richard Peterson's full review
Erin Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Asana for easier project management

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is being used by Cantle Tech to manage projects of remote employees. We are located all over the country and we work on cross-team platforms. We needed a project management package to keep up with everything on a task-by-task basis.
  • Organizes Tasks among members of a project team
  • Keeps the timeline current
  • Ability to integrate with Google Drive
  • I lose tasks in the lists.
  • Email notifications get confusing
Asana is well-suited for remote teams who work on multiple projects at once. You don't have to be an expert to use Asana. It's very user friendly and adaptable for organizations.
Read Erin Harris's full review
Yidiel Suarez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Asana Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is a great program for both assigning and delegating tasks between multiple employees. It honestly makes things a whole lot easier when there are so many things to do and they all have to be spread around to different departments. Asanas super simple UI design and helpful hints make it a breeze to assign, check off, and confirm tasks done, reported, and assigned by the managers to the employees. All in all a very useful application and software.
  • Assign tasks.
  • Delegating tasks.
  • Organizing tasks by priority.
  • Exporting lists.
  • A more detailed overview.
  • Profiles for employees.
Asana is well suited for a scenario where employees need to be scheduled tasks for individual priority and concern. Asana does this very well. I don't think an employer who let's say only has two or three employees working on two or three tasks would find much use for this program.
Read Yidiel Suarez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Project Management is a breeze. Thanks to Asana!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is being used to assign tasks throughout the entire organization. We have remote employees in Canada, the United States, India and the Philippines. Due to everyone working in different time zones, communication becomes a problem. By assigning tasks via Asana, everyone knows your schedule for the day and when a task is completed, the next task can start by the next person in line. Previously, we used Wrike and Trello but these tools did not provide a proper way of communicating among the team members. In Wrike, when a person up the project line changes a task's due date to a later time which affects the entire down line, there's no way of informing the other affected employees. For Trello, it was more like a post-it note. Good for planning but not easy to hold people accountable for tasks not being completed.
  • Able to create a template that can be copied. This is good for projects that has to be constantly repeated. For example, on-boarding a new employee.
  • Able to assign due dates and tasks dependency. So for example, if Task B is dependent on Task A being completed and Task A was moved to a different date, employee assigned to do Task B will be informed of the change of due date of Task A.
  • On a daily basis, everyone is able to see what needs to be done for the day and prioritize their time accordingly. And managers can easily check if tasks assigned to employees for the week is too little or too much and tweak assignments easily.
  • The ability to assign projects based on templates with a start date and the number of required days per task. In this case, Wrike is more capable. For example, if I know Task A needs 3 days to complete before Task B can start, I would like the ability to assign Task A to start on Monday and have Asana automatically assign Task B to start on Thursday when template is being copied. Unfortunately, this is not possible with Asana.
Asana is well suited for companies with employees in different time zones. Everyone starts work at a different time but with the tasks assignment system, everyone knows when a task is required to be completed and when it can be started. I think Asana works among cross-functional teams too. For example, if the marketing department needs design work to be done before handing off to an outside agency for advertisement, people from different teams are involved. The project owner can scope out the entire project and start assigning tasks to stakeholders. And when the stakeholders get the assigned tasks, it is easy to communicate among the entire organization if they have comments or issues through the assigned task. Best of all, everyone is held accountable for the tasks assigned to them. If a due date is changed or if tasks are not completed, managers can hold the task owner accountable for the delay. I find that Asana also makes employees more accountable for their actions if they know that everyone involved in the project is aware of their actions or inaction.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

I love Asana!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Asana across our Organization to keep organized and keep on task. We use it for setting tasks in our Warehouse to ensure deliveries are done in a timely manner and can be easily seen by all in our location and tracked if necessary. This makes things run a lot smoother for us overall.
  • Shipping
  • Organization
  • Tasks
  • More user friendly
  • More Options
  • Area for tracking information
Asana is great for tracking orders and ensuring a timely shipment. All employees have access and can add/change tasks in Asana. It can be used for so many different roles in our organization so we can all have a hand in using it and staying organized. This is highly recommended.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2020

Asana is an excellent project management software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Asana in our organization to effectively manage the tasks among the team members. Using Asana we have been able to keep track of all our colleagues' tasks in one place and also can easily see the progress. What I like best about this tool is that we can easily create, assign and communicate among the team members.
  • Easy to create & assign tasks among team members
  • User Friendly Interface
  • Tagging the teammate on tasks
  • Leaving Notes
  • Inability to merge calendars
  • Sometime projects get complex to handle
Asana is well suited for some big projects where a lot of team members are involved and it helps us to keep track of all team members task progress and see a complete picture of whether we are heading in the right direction or not. So it is better for big projects for the whole team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Handy tool for assigning tasks among a group

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is used in our organization to assign various tasks on particular projects to different team members within the working group. It is then easy for everybody involved to see who is currently responsible for completing a certain job in order to progress the project, as well as receive comments, etc.
  • Personal inbox of tasks assigned to you.
  • Calendar of tasks according to due date.
  • Projects can be marked as complete or re-assigned, but I don't see a way to update instead to say that a small job has been completed by one person and is handing back to the group leader, say.
  • For example, if someone is tasked with proofreading a document then they can only comment and/or re-assign the task once this is done since the project as a whole shouldn't be marked as complete when there might be finishing touches etc. to add.
Asana is well suited to organize tasks within a project that involves multiple people. It is easy to assign certain jobs to those people that have been invited to the working group on the platform and then receive feedback, updates, and comments when those tasks have (or have not!) been completed. It would benefit from having sub-tasks that could be completed, which then automatically re-assigns the whole project back to the creator, like proofreading for example.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Asana is great for team visibility, and they even celebrate your accomplishments with a unicorn!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Asana in my department specifically to keep track of our individual tasks and track what other people on the team are doing. It helps each person stay organized while estimating how many hours we will spend on each task. This ensures we are staying on track to serve our clients in the most profitable way.
  • Colorful tasks make it easy to get a snapshot of which clients have the most tasks on the board.
  • So many helpful integrations.
  • Can be a little confusing to switch between personal and team views.
  • Send little "daily update" emails that aren't particularly useful for me.
Asana is helpful for anyone (individual or team) who needs a visual way to keep track of upcoming tasks. It's perfect for teams who need to be able to see what other large projects team members are working on. I would say it's not going to be particularly helpful if you need to have lots of visible details for a particular task. You can keep them in the notes section but you need to click on that task to see the whole thing. Other than that, it's pretty great!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

The basic plan is great, but the paid plans may lack in value

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Asana through previous employees and I continue to use it for personal side projects. Currently, I use it to manage a blog along with several team members. For simple, free collaboration, it doesn’t get much better than Asana. Asana helps us to stay organized and efficient while keeping the entire team in the loop.
  • Asana allows you to assign tasks to team members and update those tasks with necessary information or files.
  • Asana works well on a desktop or on your mobile device.
  • Asana will notify you with task updates and deadlines.
  • Can’t necessarily be used for an approvals process. Anyone can mark a task complete.
  • Can become messy if a lot of communication is required.
Asana is great for families or small teams working to stay organized. It’s simple and easy to use from anywhere. However, if you’re managing a large team with a very formalized workflow process, I’d look elsewhere. Asana is not the best product to route tasks through a chain of command and receive approvals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Good for task management, not a robust PM tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Asana as a lightweight project management and collaboration tool to track opportunities, project status, and RFP's. Team members are assigned opportunities to conduct due diligence and determine whether we will pursue the opportunity. Asana helps us stay organize and track projects by various categories.
  • Workflow, assign tasks to team members.
  • View and track comments according to task/project/etc.
  • Asana is more of a lightweight task management/project management tool. If you're looking for robust PM capabilities, I would recommend Smartsheet or MS Project instead.
Good for task management, assigning tasks to team members, and tracking status. Asana is not a robust PM software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Asana Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole office uses Asana to manage our annual conference that we put on. All of our departments from our very small team use this amazing software. The only problems right now are that it doesnt sync with our team Google calendar, and it is very easy to accidentally uncheck certain tasks, thinking that you are just pressing "okay".
  • Easy to use.
  • Quick and efficient.
  • Doesn't sync with calendar, which is a huge minus.
  • It is easy to accidentally check off an item that isn't actually complete.
I like that we have software to use like Asana. In the past, this organization has not used one. However, there are some big flaws with it. I can't sync with calendars which makes no sense considering its attached to deadlines. I also think it's very easy for people to accidentally check an item as complete.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Asana just works!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Asana to track projects and the time it takes for people to do certain tasks.
  • Project tracking.
  • Task time tracking.
  • Asana is very flexible so it needs to be very well outlined how the tool will be used or else it gets to be a mess because everyone will use it different.
It is a great tool but you have to know how you want to use it to avoid massive confusion in the team.
Read this authenticated review
Adam Lumley | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Asana for Project and Team Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is used in multiple departments. My departments manage all of our work through Asana and collaborate on projects with other departments with it as well. It allows us to manage deadlines and responsibilities to get the job done on time. We also keep track of new ideas so that we always have a record of them to go back on. Without tracking, projects are at risk of being forgotten as other priorities arise. Asana keeps them alive.
  • Project management. Asana makes it easy for anyone to organize their projects and break them down into sub-tasks.
  • Accountability. Being able to break down projects into tasks and assign due dates, who is responsible, etc is very helpful. Asana sends reminders for the project owner to help keep everyone on task and makes it easy to follow up.
  • Communication. We have our Slack and Outlook integrated so we are able to keep tabs on our project no matter what and read it all in one place (Slack).
  • The inbox feature can be a little overwhelming if you are work with Asana just from its project boards and only checking it periodically. It would be great if it auto-cleared once a project/task is marked complete.
  • Email notifications can get excessive. You have complete control over them but initially, they can be annoying until you set the frequency you want them. It would be better if this was set during the sign-up process.
  • Notes, discussions, and attachments in subtasks sometimes go unnoticed if working from the main project board.
If you are working with a cross-functional team with multiple projects on the go regularly, Asana is a lifesaver. Everything can be shared in one place. Delegation is a breeze. Communication happens in real-time.

If you and your employees all have unchanging duties daily, this probably isn't something you need in your organization. You could adapt it and use it as a "checklist software" but I wouldn't see much value in paying for it if you won't use it to manage projects.
Read Adam Lumley's full review
Debbie Gillum | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

A great tool for tracking to-dos and projects

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Asana for my personal To-do list. Previously, the entire marketing team used Asana for project management and to keep tasks on track. It is not being used by the whole organization to my knowledge. It addresses the business problem of keeping everyone accountable and on the same page.
  • To-do list tracking
  • Project management
  • Work flows
  • Scheduling
  • I wish it implemented easier with Outlook or Gmail. I would like for it to be easier to send tasks from email to Asana.
  • I think there's room for improvement in terms of how easy it is to make new Section Headers for tasks and lists.
  • I'd like for more aspects of the interface to be customizable.
Asana keeps you on track and helps you prioritize projects and to-dos. I like that you can see what you've previously worked on and accomplished. It's less appropriate for teams who are very active inside their email, like Outlook, and prefer to use the Tasks function already in their email software. Asana is rewarding to teams and helps projects be completed on time.
Read Debbie Gillum's full review
JATIN GUPTA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Asana # Development is easy now...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our organization in both modes application and web. It provides us the complete solution of product development and the way its dashboard is designed it makes our work easy. The communication among teams is clear, everyone knows the development stages and plans and works accordingly as per requirement.
  • Project development stages and content sharing
  • Internal Communication is strong point of asana.
  • remote and easy access, as its application version is also available.
  • The new request of projects must be as per order.
  • The communication mode on online active calling must be added
  • cost need to be re considered.
Asana is best suited in the environment of development where the need is rapid development and results. The communication and team designing are quick with their dashboard. Asana proves to be most powerful in terms of software development at same time it does not suit for small scale projects where we need to follow traditional waterfall models.
Read JATIN GUPTA's full review
Berlynn Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Asana: yes to communication, no to visual assets

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is being used across the organization, however, it is being under-utilized to assist in cross-channel coordination. Each team manages their own tasks and timelines differently and we have yet to unify or understand how to personalize the Asana experience and flow based on the team. For example, the Creative Team and approving assets need to adapt their flow from the Email Marketing Team processes.
  • Simple to create teams depending on which group you need to be part of. I am currently only able to view one team which happens to house 10 Projects.
  • I can easily communicate with multiple people on one project and can avoid email chains.
  • A board can be easily made that is visual in nature and can help the user see where a request is in the process.
  • Comments can get crazy: a single comment is emailed out to the entire group (that can be 10+ people). And it can be very difficult to go back in a conversation and view what the comment was referencing.
  • You can only comment on a project and not add another image or document.
  • The Description and team are always able to view but not always previous work done. For example, in a creative team, I can see the delivery but not the previous copy or design work just that it is complete.
Asana would seem to work well for anything other than assets or for a creative team. We may go back to Basecamp for communication and delivery of assets. We have many teams using this but not much collaboration which can create duplicate work, additional emails, and overall a longer turnaround time.
Read Berlynn Pierce's full review
Anish Walinjkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Asana - Best of the breed for project task management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is used in our Product Engineering Services (PES) part of our business. In this, we develop software products for our customers or sometimes for internal needs. Most of the teams in PES use Asana for task assigning, monitoring, and tracking purposes. It's one of the best tools to manage and collaborate on project tasks in parallel to any other project management tool like Primavera, SAP-Projects Systems, or Microsoft Project.
  • It is easy to use and record a project's tasks.
  • The manager or any responsible team member can assign/reassign a task to other team members. It also sends email to all the participants and team members who are responsible for delivery of the task
  • The free version of Asana also comes with lots of features - like task assignment, monitoring, and tracking, email alerts, status tracking based on due dates etc.
  • It is good for managing tasks but has limitations if you need to track bugs/issues. For a bug tracking system one would also need some other information fields like Bug ID, Customer, Severity / Priority etc.
  • Adding custom fields - Not sure whether Asana allows it.
  • It allows you to attach documents. But it should allow you to put a screenshot in line with the text so that the person reading the description of the task/issue doesn't have to refer to an attachment for small screenshots.
If you are a manager or a team lead, Asana is one of the finest applications for managing, tracking task that keeps you in control of your deliverables. It also keeps track and records historical data and tasks. You can also refer to old similar issue if you have across in the past. It also allows you to merge, duplicate or delete a particular task. For quick review, Asana also has a mobile app that can be downloaded.
Read Anish Walinjkar's full review
Ryan Durry | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2019

Easy to use but flexible enough to solve most of your daily problems

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Asana in just my department (creative services), but it organically caught on when other teams saw us using it, and eventually the organization decided to upgrade to the paid account for all staff. It has become an essential daily tool for all teams for a huge variety of tasks.
  • Ease of use and access.
  • Shared locations for tasks and notes.
  • Easy retrieval of historical data and notes.
  • Does not work well as a communication tool -- email and chat functions still used to supplement daily workflow.
  • Daily calendars are not an option -- meeting invites and availability still fall to other tools.
  • Workload and portfolio management tools have moved to more expensive tiers and are out of reach for our team.
Asana is exceptionally well suited to replace your daily notebook or pile of post-its. Ease of use and access mean it is always there for you and won't slow you down. Meeting agendas and shared notetaking have really improved our office. The only areas it falls short are in calendar management and communication. I would be thrilled if I could move further away from Outlook in my daily work, but Asana just doesn't quite do it.
Read Ryan Durry's full review
Alicia Barevich, bCRE, bCEE | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2019

Pretty Project Management!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Asana is a great project management tool for complex projects with lots of tasks and lots of participants. It is quite customizable, though many of the visual tweaks need to be made each time—there isn't excellent/smooth "template" capability, which hinders its "out of the box" usability. However, when project plans are made thoughtfully, they can be exceptionally beautiful and well organized.
  • Ability to hold editable information in multiple locations across a project plan. Steps, comments, sub-steps, etc.
  • Ability to check off tasks with an audit log.
  • Email reminders
  • Different customizable views.
  • I wish there were better "template" options. In order to streamline many projects with a similar look and feel, a lot of effort needs to go into creating a style guide for how they should be set up. This isn't critical but can maximize the use of Asana. However, with the granular effort it takes, and leaving room for human error when managing it, your projects can turn disorganized fairly quickly.
  • There are numerous menus and views but they can get cluttered together. Similar to templates, I wish you could better customize all of the elements of views and what you see in menus.
Project management, especially with multiple users! You can clearly specify who is responsible for each task, and they can complete it. Participants can have a dialog with comments and pass tasks between each other. It's an easy way to manage projects and analyze accountability.
Read Alicia Barevich, bCRE, bCEE's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (100)
9.3
Resource Management (85)
7.4
Gantt Charts (2)
6.5
Scheduling (91)
8.3
Workflow Automation (76)
7.8
Team Collaboration (100)
9.0
Support for Agile Methodology (7)
8.5
Support for Waterfall Methodology (7)
8.5
Document Management (88)
7.4
Email integration (82)
7.6
Mobile Access (85)
8.1
Timesheet Tracking (6)
6.1
Change request and Case Management (4)
8.4
Budget and Expense Management (44)
7.0
Project & financial reporting (1)
5.5
Integration with accounting software (21)
8.2

About Asana

Asana is a web and mobile project management app that according to the vendor, goes beyond typical PM software by enabling teams to track everything they're working on. With tasks, projects, conversations, and dashboards, Asana lets an entire team know who's doing what by when in order to help companies get results. Asana can be used for meetings, launches, or campaigns. Users can also add integrations for GANTT charts, time tracking and more. Asana is available on the web, iOS, and Android devices.

Asana Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Does not have featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Does not have featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Does not have featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Does not have featureTimesheet Tracking
Does not have featureChange request and Case Management
Has featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Does not have featureQuotes/estimates
Does not have featureInvoicing
Does not have featureProject & financial reporting
Has featureIntegration with accounting software

Asana Screenshots

Asana Integrations

Dropbox, Google Drive, Box, Evernote, Wufoo, Harvest, Slack, GitHub, Zapier, Sunrise, Chrome Extension, Instagantt

Asana Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Asana is always free for teams of up to 15 people.

Asana Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Asana Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web