Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Planview AgilePlace

Planview AgilePlace
Formerly Planview LeanKit

Overview

What is Planview AgilePlace?

AgilePlace is a project management solution built around flexibility, data-driven analytics, and workflow automation. The software was acquired by Planview in December 2017 to expand that company's capabilities.

Read more
Recent Reviews

AgilePlace - Would Recommend!

9 out of 10
September 15, 2023
My colleague and I are administrators for Planview Enterprise Architecture and we have a lot of operational style work to keep track of. …
Continue reading

Visualize the work

10 out of 10
September 14, 2023
Planview AgilePlace has been a pivotal transformation tool for us in work product management Visualizing the units of work and it's …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Task Management (21)
    7.9
    79%
  • Support for Agile Methodology (17)
    7.9
    79%
  • Resource Management (19)
    7.3
    73%
  • Scheduling (17)
    6.5
    65%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Teams

$19

Cloud
per user, per month

Scaled Teams

$29

Cloud
per user, per month

Custom

Contact Sales for Quote

Cloud
per user, per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

Project Management

Project management software provides capabilities to streamline management of complex projects through task management, team collaboration and workflow automation

7
Avg 7.3

Agile Development

Features and tools related to Agile software development practices.

7.3
Avg 7.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Planview AgilePlace?

Planview AgilePlace is an enterprise Kanban tool for engineers. AgilePlace helps organizations visualize work, optimize processes, and deliver value faster. Teams of all types - including software development, IT operations, DevOps, and their extended value streams - rely on AgilePlace every day to apply Lean-Agile principles to their work.

Planview AgilePlace Features

Agile Development Features

  • Supported: DevOps Tool Integrations
  • Supported: Dependencies and Blockers

Project Management Features

  • Supported: Task Management
  • Supported: Resource Management
  • Supported: Gantt Charts
  • Supported: Scheduling
  • Supported: Support for Agile Methodology
  • Supported: Support for Waterfall Methodology
  • Supported: Email integration
  • Supported: Mobile Access
  • Supported: Timesheet Tracking
  • Supported: Change request and Case Management
  • Supported: Integrates with other Project Management Tools
  • Supported: Visual planning tools

Additional Features

  • Supported: Process and Work Visualization (Kanban boards)
  • Supported: Cross-team Work Connections
  • Supported: Lean Analytics & Advanced Reporting Capabilities
  • Supported: Enterprise Integrations

Planview AgilePlace Screenshots

Screenshot of Real-Time Analytics: Utilize board health metrics involving bottlenecks, WIP, and throughput to guide the optimization of workflows, improve velocity, and better prioritize efforts for more predictable delivery. Lean and Agile metrics can be used to assess team performance and promote continuous improvement.Screenshot of PI Planning: Offers enterprise Kanban boards to visualize the work of teams regardless of the methodologies they apply or workflows they follow, and insights into progress and create opportunities for better alignment.Screenshot of Dependency Visualization and Management: Surfaces risks to plans resulting from cross-team dependency conflicts, blockers, and capacity constraints, and helps drive proactive measures to enable teams to deliver on time.Screenshot of Team Planning and Coordination: Boards can be used to breakdown work, build and manage plans, and execute against strategy to deliver more value to customers, faster.

Planview AgilePlace Competitors

Planview AgilePlace Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French

Frequently Asked Questions

AgilePlace is a project management solution built around flexibility, data-driven analytics, and workflow automation. The software was acquired by Planview in December 2017 to expand that company's capabilities.

Microsoft Project, Asana, and Trello are common alternatives for Planview AgilePlace.

Reviewers rate Visual planning tools highest, with a score of 8.1.

The most common users of Planview AgilePlace are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(62)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 27)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I've been using Planview AgilePlace for the past years to help manage my team's projects. Overall, I've been very impressed with the platform.One of the things I like most about Planview AgilePlace is its ease of use. The interface is intuitive and easy to learn, even for users with no prior experience with agile project management tools.I also appreciate the platform's wide range of features and functionality. Planview AgilePlace has everything I need to track my team's progress, collaborate with stakeholders, and make informed decisions about my projects.
  • Easy
  • Affordable
  • Automation
  • Integrations
I find that Planview AgilePlace is particularly well-suited for teams that are already familiar with agile project management principles and practices.The platform is also a good fit for organizations that have a mix of agile and traditional projects. I think Planview AgilePlace is a great value for the price. The platform offers a lot of features and functionality that are not available in other tools at the same price point.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
My colleague and I are administrators for Planview Enterprise Architecture and we have a lot of operational style work to keep track of. Planview AgilePlace is a great place for us to do this, as well as additionally keep track of our project-style work. We are really pushing to get the rest of the team using it as well!
  • Prioritization
  • Time tracking and due dates
  • Organizing work in a hierarchical manner
  • N/A
AgilePlace is great for individual work tracking. I personally love that I can use it to track project-based work as well as my own personal daily tasks. It really covers all bases in my opinion.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use as a predefined tool for our lawyers and also for corporate teams.It is needed for our day by day as our management tool and also it is essential for the coordination of the different teams.This tool enables the visual management needed in many teams to easily and quickly see the pending, in progress and completed work.It also provides the necessary kpi for a correct follow-up of the tasks at all levels of the pyramid.
  • Visual Management
  • Keeps everything organized
  • Automation of administrative tasks
  • Automation could be improved
  • Reporting
  • Custom Icons
  • More functionalities in custom fields
This tool enables the visual management needed in many offshore teams to easily and quickly see the pending work, work in progress and completed work.For teams that work with a waterfall methodology and do not have AGILE internalized, I believe there are other solutions from Planview or other providers.
September 14, 2023

Visualize the work

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Planview AgilePlace has been a pivotal transformation tool for us in work product management Visualizing the units of work and it's position as it progress through various stages has helped provide visibility for the working teams as well as the management teams.
  • visualization
  • planning
  • kanban style
  • reporting integrations
Planview AgilePlace helps us to identify and categorize units of work and follow the progress from start to finish.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Use AgilePlace to gain visibility to dependencies across our development teams. Additionally, we are using AP for strategic planning, PI planning, and program management. We love the integration with Planview Roadmaps!! We are looking to tap into the analytics and reporting capabilities within AP as we integrate to Jira using Planview Hub.
  • Visual interface of Kanban board
  • Email notifications
  • Tracks history
  • Export of Reporting and analytics or dashboard capabilities for executives
  • Integration to Planview PPMPro for reporting and analytics
Agile Place is great for Program management/execution as it gives you a view into your dev teams who maybe using Jira

Admin functionality could be improved regarding board management its very easy to accumulate boards at all levels and sometimes its how to distinguish which ones are active from those that aren't. Beef up the home interface.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Currently we use AgilePlace to visually see the tasks/initiatives that a team is responsible for. This is typically specifically to one team and is not work that crosses teams, at this time. This ensures that we are aware of all tasks/initiatives that are currently in flight along with what is in the backlog. Prior to AgilePlace some teams captured this information in Excel or Sharepoint. This left issues for true collaboration, easy visibility along with capturing supporting documentation.
  • Visual kanban board that is easy to customize as the team's needs change
  • Real time collaboration allowing teams working remotely to stay up to date on current status
  • Allows versatility for how a team needs to capture details on the work at hand by utilizing card icons, card types and custom data points
  • Card scoring is easy to setup and provides the team the ability to set values to better prioritize their backlog
  • Ability to create & access in app reporting
  • Better administration of setting up & updating user access to boards
AgilePlace is a great way for teams, or individuals, to bring visibility to the work in process and in their backlog. The color coding and icon use helps to quickly analyze the type of work or status of the work. The product team is doing a good job at listening to their user's feedback and implementing improvements. Where it falls short is when reporting needs to occur.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have been an avid user of kanban boards in my personal and professional life for many years. Long gone are the days of post it notes purchases, rewriting information repeatedly because I didn't like how my handwriting looked, stickies falling off the wall, and having to relay updates to my leadership at a drop of the hat since they couldn't see what I was working on. <br><br>AgilePlace is the tool I use for tracking my projects, all of my training modules (I'm working on my Lean Six Sigma Black Belt), any public speaking engagements I have, and have granted read only access to management so they know what I'm working on at any given time. This allows for me to be in the driver's seat of what I work on while giving my team the visibility to know when I can be plugged in to other initiatives. <br><br>The customization and reporting mechanisms of AgilePlace are where I get the most value. I color code everything. Every various project type has an assigned icon, a size of 1/2/3 for priority, a due date, a priority level, and customized tags. I can run a report to see how many cards I have in each lane, my productivity rate, my burnout, and easily search by tags (for example, FY23Q1) to capture what I've worked on in a given quarter. This tool is a game changer.
  • Customizable features including column names, icons, tags, colors of cards
  • Report capabilities
  • Read only access for those who need to see the board but not add to it
  • The red connection shortcut "C" makes me think of a meme or a conspiracy theory board
  • Dark backgrounds do not automatically make the text white in the description field of the card (if I pick dark grey, the text will still be black)
  • Create a report with the ability to view the timeline with both current & completed cards
Best: AgilePlace is optimal for teams who have long-term projects they're working towards. The application's functionality thrives when individuals are using parent/child cards, subtasks, etc. This allows a project manager or director level leadership to quickly get a glance of what the status of the project is. Visual cues allow for information to be digestible without being overwhelming.

Least Successful: Teams who work in a customer service role, such as an IT service desk, are not ideal users for this tool. They are already working in an ITSM software for their ticketing queues, we do not want to have the associates duplicate their work by creating an interface from that ticketing system to AgilePlace to create tickets. We attempted this once, but quickly abandoned it.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
To help keep track of my audit projects in terms of planning, fieldwork, drafting of issues and observations, and report issuance. It centralizes the audit team's project monitoring and management process and keeps the whole team engaged at one source. We set up one Planview LeanKit project board for each audit assignment.
  • Organizes the tasks in terms of parent cards and individual tasks involved.
  • Helps keep track of deadlines and acts as a reminder and diary system.
  • Enables us to filter by users and other features (which I am still learning) for convenience.
  • Helps clearly define the responsibilities of each of the users/team members.
  • Eliminate the need for repetitive steps e.g. inputting of header (there may be others).
  • Add a filter for items or activities that are overdue or coming due, with the ability to set the date.
No specific scenarios come to mind, but it is a good application for planning and tracking the progress of projects.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Awesome tool. We use it to organize the work of many teams in various legal practices.
  • Visual management.
  • Organizing.
  • User friendly.
  • Admin panel.
  • Power BI integration.
The tool is especially good at allowing you to control and assign tasks to the members of a pool.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Planview LeanKit is used is a couple of different business areas. The Performance Improvement team, which supports multiple applications, utilizes it to manage our backlog of work that needs to be one. This is used in team meetings to talk about work in process, recently finished and in the pipeline waiting to be started. Planview LeanKit makes our weekly team meetings more effective as we talk through each card on the board. We are able to flag things that are waiting outside input, assign deadline dates so they are visible and allow for team collaboration outside of meetings to ensure the work is getting done. It's great to be able to reference back on work we did in case there are questions or follow-up. Another area of the business uses it lightly to manage the work for their customer, identifying work in process, recently finished or in the pipeline. They are still working to find all of the benefits of the tool but it is starting to drive meeting progress. We are excited to dabble in the new functionality of Instant Coffee and OKRs.
  • Ability to color code cards based on type, giving better visibility to the variety of tasks a team handles
  • Ability to set deadline dates and have those dates easily visible
  • Flexibility in design the kanban board. It is easy to add a lane or make a change on the fly. Work doesn't have to stop and a long process created to make simple layout changes.
  • Movement of cards is easy as well as the ability to connect cards to show dependencies.
  • Ability to add more than 1 visual cue to the card. We use custom icons and sometimes more than 1 is appropriate but you have to choose which is most important since only 1 can be applied.
  • Better visibility to board access from the user administration screens. Currently have to run 1-2 reports to see this information. Would like to be able to click on a user within Configure Users and see what boards they have access to quickly.
  • Team meetings - driving work progress by making the workload visible.
  • Roll-up of team boards to portfolio boards to give Sr Leaders visibility to what is going on without getting into the weeds.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's an ideal digital Kanban - simple to use, flexible, and robust. I'm looking forward to future integration with whiteboarding and ideation.
  • Robust cards
  • Drag and drop
  • Easy grouping
  • More flexibility in the card fields
  • Report functionality from customized fields
Any place you can use a Kanban - especially with a virtual team.
Pablo Martin Cuomo  | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
LeanKit is easy to use, and adopt, facilitates agile adoption, and can be use for any size and type of company. You may find a lot of professionals and consultants who help with the implementation and some workshops, online Kanban boards for Lean and Agile teams help you visualize your workflow and begin to see things you never saw before. Visually manage work using Kanban boards with the flexibility to easily model any workflow process, regardless of complexity
  • Kanban
  • Workflow views
  • Agile Boards
  • Mobile App
Enables engineering teams across all levels of the organization with a visual work delivery tool to apply Lean management principles to their work, helping them work smarter and deliver faster.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Over the last two years, we kanbanised a lot of our business processes with Planview LeanKit. Our first and to date most successful implementation was in Service Operations. But since then, we started to use Planview LeanKit virtually everywhere, from Sales and Consulting over Project Management - both as meta and project specific boards - up to top-level management meeting organization.

So far, most tries to use Planview LeanKit as a way to realize potential in a business process were a success, independent of department. In all use cases it helps to visualize work where our other tools merely list and obfuscate data and To-Dos. It also supported our transformation towards Agile Management.
  • Planview LeanKit is particularly good in visualizing a process and the work that is in it. While the column structure seems simple, it still manages to capture the essence of our work and in a way de-abstracts it.
  • The multiple ways of customizing boards, lanes, cards and reports mean Planview LeanKit can be made fit to any process.
  • With descriptions and comments it is a great tool to facilitate project work and collaboration in a comprehensive manner.
  • The reporting offers many ways to keep track of the current state and development potential of a board and its process.
  • The Planview LeanKit support is particularly fast to respond, answers (and asks) very knowledgeable and like-able.
  • Over the last two years I saw Planview LeanKit develop a lot of great features that were really helpful. The product constantly evolves.
  • Planview LeanKit currently can't or should not be used as a central spot for data and collaboration. Particularly attachments are not well-handled.
  • The portable side of Planview LeanKit is really lacking.
  • We would appreciate some options to group or stack cards.
Planview LeanKit excels in any scenario where you need to visualize and organize work to be done. You can feasible even use it as a personal to-do application. We use it as a way to keep track of our current topics in management meetings as well as a Scrumban implementation of project management.

However, when processes and work is very file- and data-heavy, using Planview LeanKit is less appropriate as there's just not way of doing a sensible file management.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
LeanKit is the project management tool to build Kanban boards to record and track all team’s work in one place, visualize progress across multiple projects, and get work done. Easy to create projects (in the matter of a few clicks), divide them into categories and drag-and-drop cards across lanes based on the progress. It is primarily used by Technology, Product Management, and the Business Intelligence Department.
  • LeanKit is easy-to-use and flexible. You can change your boards as often as you change your work process.
  • Flexible and intuitive user interface.
  • Easy to manage and handle user access.
  • Drag-and-drop cards across lanes, add comments, and documents.
  • Reporting can be improved to show better insights.
  • Can't think of any other cons.
LeanKit allows to build a Kanban board in minutes, customize board, drag-and-drop cards across lanes, add comments and documents, implement Work in Progress limits, and easily update the team on the status of a project. It allows us to gain full visibility of different team’s work and eliminate miscommunications and unnecessary handoff delays. LeanKit has great filter options so each user is able to easily manage their tasks without being distracted by items that are not important to them.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Used in IT Dept. LeanKit addressed the problems with managing large projects. It is beneficial both on the individual level as well as for the entire team.
  • Allocating tasks to specific people.
  • Managing your or your team's workflow.
  • Organization
  • Prioritization
  • Card description field could be larger/re-sizable with better formatting options.
  • Ability to copy/paste screenshots into cards.
  • Sizing of cards in order to judge complexity/length of task.
[LeanKit is well suited for] Managing team workflows.
February 26, 2020

LeanKit gets the job done

Scot Wolcott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our IT department is using LeanKit to track both development and support/admin projects. Right now the use of LeanKit is limited to the IT deparment. The biggest problem it addresses is our workload and work tracking management. We use a form of Kanban and Scrum to run our projects, LeanKit's flexibility, makes it easy to handle different processes with different teams.
  • Board customization and flexibility. We are able to set up different work flows and check off points in LeanKit that was not possible with our other tools.
  • Work in progress, being able to enforce work in progress in each lane is valuable.
  • Ease of use. Creating different boards and different sections in boards is very easy to do and understand.
  • Import/Export of data could be more robust.
  • Reporting options are not as comprehensive as other tools.
LeanKit is well suited for smaller teams looking for a flexible tool to track multiple projects. The different options you have for board creation make it easy to fit almost any scrum/kanban process into the company's custom process.

For more traditional or rigid agile methodologies, a product like VersionOne may be the better choice.
Heather Neisen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I used LeanKit to manage a variety of projects but primarily used it to manage the recruiting/hiring pipeline for all open positions. Different departments used it differently. For example, the marketing team used it to manage their editorial calendar and different process workflows. It helps to keep the whole company in sync and able to check progress at a glance.
  • Create a framework to move tasks through a set of 'stages'.
  • Kept our team organized and we knew what stage each project was in.
  • It has a very clunky interface. Super hard to set up and customize.
  • Not that pretty or slick. Works, but is no Apple.
I loved it for the hiring pipeline. Kept that simple process organized and in check. However, it's very hard to modify the template and there are other comparable tools, often free, that do the same job but are much easier to customize. I think this tool works if you have repeated steps you want to follow. Not as great for free-form.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
LeanKit is a simple, intuitive way to create and track tasks for KANBAN. I've used others and I'm fairly happy with LeanKit. Integrates with SSO (Okta) and is very nice.
We use it for our team projects and constantly review from it. We also have shared LeanKit boards for cross-functional teams and mult-team collaboration projects. Tagging, external links to ticketing systems, etc. make it really nice.
  • Okta Integration: We love using SSO for all our SaaS apps, and as new team members join, they can be automatically joined to the appropriate LeanKit boards.
  • Filtering and viewing: Can filter and refine by several fields as well as custom fields. Assigned Users, Tagged, Card Type, Date, etc
  • Their analytics and reporting can be helpful for PMs, especially if they have several teams they oversee.
  • I like where they are going with integrations. I would like to see more integration with security monitoring and alerting tools. Might not be the right use case, but for what I do, that would be nice to have.
My team interfaces with IT Operations often. There are a lot of people that need to handle several projects and remediation/unplanned changes. LeanKit is helpful for that. You can link and reference cards across boards, so you aren't tracking the same thing across several different boards.
February 18, 2020

Not as sleek as Asana

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use LeanKit across our entire organization. It helps us stay organized and understand what everyone is working on on a given day. It also helps us stay accountable since it is easy to see if someone does or does not have something to work on. It can also be used to assist our project manager since she can see who is in charge of what project.
  • Kanban style project management allows us to see projects in a "pipeline" view and understand what projects are finished and what projects are not finished.
  • Email notification feature is great if you are collaborating on a project with another person. Tagging can be used to notify a teammate that a step has been complete, for example.
  • Simple UI is not cluttered or overwhelming.
  • It would be nice to have a place to provide daily updates besides a comments section; perhaps a section that has a date and a status color (green/yellow/red).
  • UI is not very sleek or modern looking.
Good if you are working with a team and are very organized. Also good if you are a project manager and need to be able to see what everyone is working on at a glance. Not so good for teams that don't have the bandwidth to be able to update a tool like this regularly and keep it organized. It's only as good as you're willing to make it.
Nate Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
LeanKit is used by my department to organize development work and issues that need to be addressed within our web applications. It's primarily used by other teams that I occasionally need to work with. It provides a way for these teams to organize and sort things in a way that fits their needs.
  • Kanban-style workflow (can be fun moving things along on the board).
  • Advanced organization of boards and lanes.
  • Allows for various forms of information to be captured in each card.
  • Not the best designed Kanban software I've seen.
  • The advanced organization options seem to create overly complex boards in my experience.
  • Finding a specific card can be a challenge.
LeanKit works well if you want a powerful, customizable kanban board system for organizing tasks with a team. It allows for nesting lanes for advanced organization, and even cards within cards. Each card can capture a lot of information and allows for comments. For many people, LeanKit is probably a bit more powerful than they need for a simple task system.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use LeanKit in the IT Department to organize action and steps surrounding projects. We use a ticketing system for support requests and LeanKit for handling details of project work keeping track of exactly where we are with each step along the way until projects are complete.
  • Keeps details organized.
  • Makes viewing overall progress in a given project easily identifiable.
  • We're able to get a good overview of what projects we complete over time and which ones are coming up.
  • None I can think of.
At least for our purpose, it's great for tracking everything about our projects and we use it for this exclusively.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
LeanKit is used as an alternative planning tool for teams in engineering. [It's an] alternative to Pivotal and Trello. It's a matter of preference really, but a lot of people like it. It's great for agile development. It basically allows teams to track project progress and list goals that they want to work on, both internal to the team and across the organization.
  • The LeanKit dashboard really lends itself well to agile-style development.
  • The interface is fairly intuitive.
  • Being able to split up work and document progress and assign things to people is great.
  • The formatting of what they call "cards" could be better. They can be clunky if you have a lot of text in just one.
  • Needs better support for media, attachments.
  • Not the most pretty interface in my opinion, though it works.
Good for any organization that needs to keep track of projects and their progress within a team. Especially lends itself to KanBan/Agile dev styles. To be honest, I feel like there are a lot of alternatives to LeanKit. However, the effectiveness of the tool is really based on personal preferences.
Melissa Perri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I have helped product development teams choose LeanKit as they were developing better processes for their teams. The teams used LeanKit instead of JIRA, as it was easier to manage the flow of work that just didn't fit into JIRA. They would put all their tasks in it and be able to calculate the flow.
  • LeanKit allows you to track the cycle time for development, which is crucial when analyzing where roadblocks are.
  • LeanKit allows you to see when there are things waiting to be moved, which allows you to fix your processes.
  • LeanKit makes it easy for product teams to keep track of discovery work that does not flow into sprints well.
  • When I used Lean Kit in early 2016, it was a little slow.
  • I didn't like the board linking functionality.
LeanKit is great for teams that want to improve their discovery vs delivery cadence and feel JIRA is subpar.
Charles Wu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
LeanKit was a team initiative that began when we were exploring platforms to plan projects collaboratively as a team. The way we use it today is each team within the broader Marketing organization, be it the web team, digital marketing, content, etc. has a LeanKit to organize specific activities against, be it short term projects or quarterly goals. It helps us collect tasks, assign them to owners, and serves a centralized location for accessing and keeping track of workflows and progress towards goals.
  • Lanes - swim lanes help organize leankits into an unlimited number of functions, and can be customized for different teams and roles. For example, web teams follow an agile methodology and operated in sprints, so the lanes could be customized to capture each stage in that process.
  • Stick Notes - I am a big user of physical sticky notes to write down activities, so LeanKit sticky notes were a natural transition to digitizing them. Of course, being able to have tasks within each note helped me outline specific actions within a broader idea or topic.
  • Assigning of Activities - assigning activities and having it sync to your inbox helps people keep track of what they are responsible for, and can have a signal when other tasks get completed.
  • Leankit boards can get crowded, sometimes hard to scroll to the areas that are the most relevant for specific people.
Good for when you are trying to organize people around a collaborative project. For example, we had a large rebrand project for the company and leankit was instrumental in helping different people create tasks and assign them to others.
I think for individual use, LeanKit may or may not have too many bells and whistles, especially for keeping track of simple tasks.
June 21, 2016

Leankit Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Leankit across the organization but have divided boards on a department basis. We use LeanKit as our primary development tool for all stories and defects.
  • Transparent as to the status of stories.
  • Allows customization of fields and colors.
  • Showing icons for who is assigned stories or blockers is very transparent.
  • Setting card counts is allowing us to progress to seamless integration.
  • Integration with other tools. Being in QA having a separate tool for labs and scripts and not integrating makes tracking tedious (we are using testrails).
  • Better notification on movement of stories of interest.
  • Stories going to bottom of column on creation.
It is well suited for being Agile and progression of stories and ease of use.
Providing general information (requirements) can be done using tasks but you then have to drill down into those tasks for information and comments.
Return to navigation