TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/uu/7Q/P6U11J321R8S.JPEGQlikView: Perfect Data Exploration Tool for a Department on a Tight BudgetWe use QlikView as a data exploration tool for non-experts. Our front-line staff can use QlikView to dig into our data, explore what's available, what prospects might be in a particular area, what a possible population might be for a targeted event, mailing or solicitation. Our entire department has access to Qlikview--some users rely more heavily than others on data to inform their decisions. Those users are digging into QlikView to get a picture of what their data looks like quickly and easily.,QlikView has a simple, relational data model that's REALLY fast. Filtering and changing data is dead simple results are almost immediately available. The free version of Qlikview is almost completely featured, so you roll a pro-level product out to an entire department for really cheap. QlikView is really flexible--if you can imagine it, you can build it.,Because it's such a clean slate, QlikView requires some UI design. You've got to think about how you want to display not only the data itself, but the filters and controls users need to explore the data. It can also be a pretty confusing to your users: if they filter in one place, they often forget that they've done so and don't understand why they're not seeing all their data elsewhere. The free version of Qlikview doesn't push data updates, so if users forget to refresh their data manually, they can be working from an old copy of the data. Paid versions solve this problem.,8,Tableau Desktop and Qlik Sense,10,3,RStudioQlikview from a glanceQlikview is being used across many departments as a way of consolidating various data sources and systems. We use Qlikview to view reports or filter data for reporting use. Qlikview in my organization addresses the issue of having to look in multiple places to get like or similar data such as inventory by DC, transport by store/dc, and various data sets which are stored in different systems. Qlikview allows as to organize data from different systems that would otherwise not communicate with each other.,Has great visual dashboards Can consolidate data sets from many sources Is user friendly and easy to learn Allows you to slice and dice data easily,Depending on the quantity of data sources it can be slow to refresh If not managed well data integrity can be an issue Creating dashboards is not easy,8,MicroStrategy Analytics, Adaptive Insights and Qlik Sense,10,3,Qlik Sense Cloud, MicroStrategy Analytics, Adaptive Insights,50,6A software to keep our data updatedOur business is about obtaining and managing data for our geographical systems, and using this data to create new trends and new products for our business. We have two main departments: the geographical department, where I work, and the IT department, where the whole core of our systems stands. The whole organization uses the software because we have all the systems integrated (products, prices and IT) so the whole company speaks the same language. As a business, we get the data of people, transportation, store preferences, products preferences and business management in order to deliver products for a variety of things: stores, delivery products, public offices or transportation offers.,Manages a great amount of data and brings the best of it Analyzes data and develops new trends for the products we made Send a new set of data for the products in our business,The software needs an IT team in the company that can handle the troubles with the code systems that I, as a user, can't deal with. The software needs a maintenance contract to be able to modify the configurations of the data in order to adapt to our needs. The software is a very useful tool but has to be more intuitive for the users to manage some functionality and be faster with our daily work.,9,SAP Access Control and Tableau Desktop,8,8,ArcGIS, Google Analytics, Microsoft AccessQlikView - Not a Bad Visualization ToolWe use QlikView to visualize aggregated data for our projects. The last project that I worked on was an auditing system. I pull numbers of files accessed and number of database reads that the auditing system generated and graph these numbers on a daily basis. Once a day, I look the QlikView-generated graphs to determine if their is any spike in the numbers. If there is, then I look into the spike and attempt to determine why it happened. This is a very easy and quick way of looking at the content of about twenty emails to determine if there were any abnormal audit items.,QlikView allows you make data-backed visualization very easily. The format of these visualizations is completely up to you and your team. QlikView can show your data in many type of graphs as well as show the actual numbers associated with graphical points. We use QlikView to access data on Microsoft SQL Server, but other data sources are supported. Check out the QlikView documentation to determine if they can use data in formats that you need to perform analysis on.,We found that QlikView can be a bit slow in supporting some forms of encryption. It is web-based and we needed to upgrade all of our server to not support the older SSL and TLS 1 protocols, only support TLS 1.2 and TLS 1.3. However, QlikView could not run with TLS 1.2 and TLS 1.3. We had to wait over six months to get a version that would handle the newer TLS versions. There are so many options with QlikView that you can get lost when developing a visualization. There are still items I have not yet figured out, such as labeling a graph with the name of a selected detail item. QlikView works by pulling the data it is going to use for visualization into its database. I am a security reviewer and I need to make certain that PII and PHI is not pulled by QlikView for a visualization, otherwise this could become a reportable indecent.,6,,8,8,Visual Studio IDE, Netwrix Auditor, Team Foundation ServerQlickView - a tool for business analystsQlikView is being used by the business analysts to create custom reports which allow them to analyze our data.,Easy to use by users without a big technical knowledge. Easy to integrate different data sources. Fancy reports.,It is really slow, the performance should be improved. The ability to test reports can be improved, it takes a lot of time just for testing.,7,Pentaho,9,10,Pentaho, Oracle Java SE, IntelliJ IDEA, IntelliJ WebStorm, Slack, BlueJeans
Windows, Linux, Mac
QlikView
556 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

QlikView Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
QlikView
556 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 50 of 556 QlikView ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 50)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jake Tolbert profile photo
December 11, 2018

Review: "QlikView: Perfect Data Exploration Tool for a Department on a Tight Budget"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use QlikView as a data exploration tool for non-experts. Our front-line staff can use QlikView to dig into our data, explore what's available, what prospects might be in a particular area, what a possible population might be for a targeted event, mailing or solicitation. Our entire department has access to Qlikview--some users rely more heavily than others on data to inform their decisions. Those users are digging into QlikView to get a picture of what their data looks like quickly and easily.
Read Jake Tolbert's full review
Andrew Khonje profile photo
December 24, 2018

User Review: "Qlikview from a glance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Qlikview is being used across many departments as a way of consolidating various data sources and systems. We use Qlikview to view reports or filter data for reporting use. Qlikview in my organization addresses the issue of having to look in multiple places to get like or similar data such as inventory by DC, transport by store/dc, and various data sets which are stored in different systems. Qlikview allows as to organize data from different systems that would otherwise not communicate with each other.
Read Andrew Khonje's full review
Yemsi Pino profile photo
January 16, 2019

QlikView Review: "A software to keep our data updated"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our business is about obtaining and managing data for our geographical systems, and using this data to create new trends and new products for our business. We have two main departments: the geographical department, where I work, and the IT department, where the whole core of our systems stands. The whole organization uses the software because we have all the systems integrated (products, prices and IT) so the whole company speaks the same language. As a business, we get the data of people, transportation, store preferences, products preferences and business management in order to deliver products for a variety of things: stores, delivery products, public offices or transportation offers.
Read Yemsi Pino's full review
No photo available
December 09, 2018

Review: "QlikView - Not a Bad Visualization Tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use QlikView to visualize aggregated data for our projects. The last project that I worked on was an auditing system. I pull numbers of files accessed and number of database reads that the auditing system generated and graph these numbers on a daily basis. Once a day, I look the QlikView-generated graphs to determine if their is any spike in the numbers. If there is, then I look into the spike and attempt to determine why it happened. This is a very easy and quick way of looking at the content of about twenty emails to determine if there were any abnormal audit items.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2018

Review: "QlikView and the reason behind the Preference over other BI Tools."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been QlikView for Data Visualizations for the past two years. The major use case is of a self-service BI for all business users in the organization. We have been using the same to analyze data and identify data discoveries to support decision making. Around 4 to 5 business units have been using QlikView for the past 6 months now. Two more teams are using it on a trial basis. The major use cases center around generating new views of data on the fly. We use it to provide an associative experience across all the data used for analysis, regardless of where it is stored.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

User Review: "QlikView is great for BI"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my previous role at the state's department of finance, we used QlikView in our department as our Business Intelligence solution. Because of its easy integration with different data sources, we were able to leverage QlikView as our main data analysis and reporting tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2018

User Review: "Fly with QlikView"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QlikView can be used both across different departments and at enterprise level. It helps organisations/users to do deep data discovery and analysis in order to get deep insight and uncover useful information to make better decisions and take good action.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 07, 2018

"QlikView Review: Quick Glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a service based organization and we implement solutions for our clients. I am a part of the Analytics department and we implement QlikView based dashboard/ solutions to address clients' business problems. Typically, I have worked with Insurance and Healthcare(Pharmaceutical) clients which are market leaders in various geographies like US, India, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2018

QlikView Review: "Great for Desktop-based Analysts who want to EXCEL beyond MS Excel"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Qlikview to analyze sales data, customer satisfaction (survey) data, and to build dashboards to display and analyze to senior leadership, and marketing management. It is the business intelligence tool of choice for the organization and is used to synchronize the look and feel of analytics across multiple functions and applications (such as data from Salesforce, Qualtrics, Google Analytics, and other applications).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 15, 2017

QlikView Review: "Very useful, but overly complicated at times."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Qlik is used by certain departments. Some other departments use different data visualization tools. It offers a way to build visualization tools that meet our client's needs. It is flexible enough that templates can be developed that will suit the needs for multiple clients. It also makes self service a little bit easier.
Read this authenticated review
David Worrell profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView goes deep into QuickBooks data -- a little training takes you a long way"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My clients use QlikView (or I should say that I use QlikView for my clients!) to build reporting and "dashboards" based on accounting and operations data. Primarily, we use the version bundled inside of QuickBooks 2015 Enterprise (called "Advance Reporting"), and have created very nice -- and quite complex -- reports based on the QlikView engine / modules. Specifically, we report on sales commissions earned by sales person, on a per-item, per customer basis -- great detail that is simply not possible without QlikView.
Read David Worrell's full review
Ermanno Basso profile photo
May 26, 2016

QlikView Review: "almost easy way to get in BI in your company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We implemented QlikView as a "soft" BI system, in the beginning in our IT and KPI department, and then in our production and cost analysis departments. We carry out dashboards and tables to present the data as the department managers need it for daily decisions.
Read Ermanno Basso's full review
Melissa Best profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "QlikView is a beast but great at slicing and dicing data!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QlikView is used across our whole organization. In the marketing department we use it for Business Intelligence to view margin, cost, categories, etc. It gives us really granular info about our skus and sales. I personally use it to decide which products to promote in marketing campaigns based on margin and bestsellers. We've also needed to understand the cost of an item in order to decide on promotions.
Read Melissa Best's full review
Raymond Younan profile photo
May 24, 2016

"QlikView Positive Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using QlikView as part of the reporting strategy at the university. Dashboards are being developed for different entities within the university and each entity is using it for its own purpose. We created dashboards to reflect the students' status and behavior, the status of the IT ticketing system and the status of the financial situation. The plan is for us to use QlikView now with the new data warehouse we're building to be able to report on the whole situation of the university from one source.
Read Raymond Younan's full review
Melinda Patience profile photo
September 16, 2016

QlikView Review: "Easy to Set Up, Easy to Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QlikView is an excellent visualization tool with intuitive dashboards that are easy to use by everyone. It is easy to set up by even the most novice admin. In the organization in which I used it, the dashboards were used by the whole organization to view research data.
Read Melinda Patience's full review
Bonn Chavez profile photo
March 07, 2016

"Why QlikView? - Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QlikView is used by the organization and addresses many points specially within Finance Dept. Used for reports, associations in the data, and the manageability it offers
Read Bonn Chavez's full review
Galen Mosier profile photo
February 22, 2016

QlikView Review: "Pretty @#$% Awesome"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use QlikView to produce a variety of dashboards for the board of trustees, the superintendent, department chiefs and executive management, and employees of certain other departments to assist in monitoring KPIs and other important data quickly, easily, and in ways that have often been difficult or impossible to see before the implementation of QlikView.
Read Galen Mosier's full review
Oleg Troyansky profile photo
December 23, 2015

QlikView Review: "Still in love, after 12 years of use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

When I first started using QlikView 12 years ago, it was a small niche tool that could help you load your data from a variety of sources and build dazzling visualizations in a matter of hours or days. As an Application Director for a mid-size manufacturing company, I deployed my first QlikView dashboard in 3 weeks, with minimal investment, and that first achievement was called a "slam dunk" even by the most skeptical executives. This was in 2002, way before most of the tools and gadgets that we use today, ever existed.

We used QlikView to analyze Sales, and then Profit Margins, and then Excess and Obsolete Inventories, and then transportation costs, and so on and so forth. within 5 years, QlikView become a valuable business tool on every desk in the company.

Since then, the technology world around us had changed a lot - our computers are now using 64-bit operating systems, and a nifty laptop is now more powerful than the most powerful server back in the days. The capabilities of business software had changed as well. Today, QlikView is not a niche tool anymore, it's a flagman tool in the market of Data Discovery (Qlik likes to call the same term Business Discovery). However, the core value remains largely the same:

With QlikView, we can load large amounts of data and build beautiful and insightful visualizations with an unmatched speed. Using the recent advances in technology, we can empower our users to navigate their data in the most liberating and powerful way.

I won't be the first to state that modern companies collect, store and process vast amounts of data. BI tools are trying to help people make sense of that data, and QlikView is by far my favorite tool for this task. We think that we know our business. However, the "million dollar" question is what we don't know about our business? For me and many of my customers, QlikView has become an eye opener, in the way it helped companies realize how much they don't know about their business:

- As a manufacturer, do you know what products are truly profitable and to what extent, considering all the customer programs, allowances, chargebacks etc?

- Do you know what products in your inventory are turning fast and what products are sitting there for years?

- Do you know your true service levels with your customers, and how they are trending in time, and what are the possible reasons might be?

- Do you know if vendor payment terms are consistent across your corporation, or do you lose money on various unfavorable payment terms?

- Do you know how your customers are paying you? Do they comply to your payment terms? Are you paying them chargebacks while they are being late on their commitments?

- Do you know if your employees follow your travel policy, and how much does it cost you when they don't?

All of those questions have one thing in common - if you don't know the answer, you are likely to be wasting money that could be saved.

When things are getting tough, companies tend to resort to layoffs and tough decisions... With the help of QlikView and advanced business analytics, we can find money in a haystack of data and help companies get better without necessarily laying people off. There is a lot of money wasted in the process, and QlikView is an excellent tool that can help us find it, save it and put it back to work.
Read Oleg Troyansky's full review
Michael Lam profile photo
November 11, 2015

QlikView Review: "Choosing the Right BI Reporting Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QlikView is our companies go-to reporting solution. It is our frontend BI tool and is generally used to pull information out of our database. We provide a flexible "report builder" which is valuable to our end users who build reports off QlikView reports. This reporting tool is used across many departments: SEM | BD | Partners | SplitTest | Finance
Read Michael Lam's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (30)
6.3
Customizable dashboards (40)
8.1
Report Formatting Templates (35)
7.0
Drill-down analysis (41)
8.0
Formatting capabilities (42)
7.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (24)
7.4
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
7.1
Publish to Web (32)
7.2
Publish to PDF (34)
6.8
Report Versioning (23)
7.1
Report Delivery Scheduling (28)
6.7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (33)
7.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (27)
5.3
Predictive Analytics (5)
6.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (35)
7.8
Role-Based Security Model (31)
7.6
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (30)
7.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (26)
7.0
Dedicated iOS Application (15)
5.4
Dedicated Android Application (11)
7.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (20)
7.0

About QlikView

QlikView® is a data discovery product for creating rapidly developed, highly interactive guided analytics applications and dashboards, purpose built for business challenges. With Qlik’s Associative Data Indexing engine at its core, it allows people to explore freely, to uncover insights and data relationships across many sources that would otherwise be hidden in query-based or hierarchical tools. It offers guided exploration and discovery, collaborative analytics for sharing insight, and agile development and deployment that revolutionized the BI market. The vendor’s value propositions is that QlikView allows users to rapidly build and deploy analytic apps without the need for professional development skills, thus driving faster response to changing business requirements, shorter time to value, and more insight across an organization.

QlikView Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Has featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Has featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Has featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

QlikView Screenshots

QlikView Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
QlikView DesktopFreePersonal Edition
QlikViewCustomPer License

On an perpetual license basis, based on server plus number of users. Contact vendor for pricing.

QlikView Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QlikView Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Americas, EMEA, APAC