Sophos UTM Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Secure, feature rich and easy to use.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sophos UTM is being used as our primary Firewall at all of our offices. We also have it set up with an Encrypted site to site VPN tunnel between each office. It is allowing our remote office to use the local applications at our main office. Non-office remote workers connect using the VPN client on the desktops. Sophos UTM filters all web, FTP email, etc. entering our build. It allows us to set up group-based policies, integrates well will AD, and provides a level of security we didn't have before. We chose Sophos UTM as we wanted a product that combined well we Sophos Central.
  • Sophos Central Integration.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Frequent updates.
  • Secure.
  • Customer Support wait times.
  • AD group integration has problems.
  • VPN Failover groups can cause issues reconnecting VPN.
Sophos UTM has products suited for businesses of many sizes. We have around 90 users and 4 Offices. The site to site connection is excellent. It allows users to use local apps and databases at our head office. The site to site was a breeze to set up as well. For anyone looking for a secure UTM that offers site to site tunnels, this product is excellent.
Read this authenticated review
Paul Cheng | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

Sophos UTM: Still Solid After all these Years

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was first introduced to Sophos UTM when I changed jobs and the firm I went to had a Sophos UTM firewall. With all that I had to learn about the firm's infrastructure, I was happy to discover how common sense and simple the UTM interface was. Since then I've deployed Sophos UTMs at several of our other office locations. Sophos UTM makes creating VPN tunnels straightforward and adding additional other network components like wireless access points almost effortless in comparison to some other enterprise-grade WAP configurations.
  • Common-Sense firewall setup
  • Straight-forward multi-site VPN tunnel configuration
  • Incorporate other Sophos products into your network infrastructure easily
  • Isn't compatible with Sophos cloud offerings
  • Sophos says they aren't phasing UTM out, but with UTM not being supported in their cloud offerings, their days seem numbered
  • Support time could be a little faster
UTM works great if you want a solid, obvious firewall. There's not a lot of second-guessing as to what you are about to do with every change you make. If you incorporate their wireless access points and RED (remote ethernet device) for remote users or small offices, it's considerably much easier to set up than other comparable solutions. If you are looking to manage your firewalls via the cloud, you are out of luck.
Read Paul Cheng's full review
Matt James | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2019

Your Search for Great Firewall Protection is over.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Sophos SG 220s running in an HA environment at all of our locations. Our entire IT department is responsible for the monitoring and upkeep of the UTMs. We use it as a primary firewall and as a site-to-site VPN for seamless integration. On top of all the UTMs, we also have a central management SUM that we use to deploy updates, changes, and rules to each site.
  • Firewall Protection. The protection is unmatched, setup it a little daunting, but once set up it pretty much runs itself.
  • Site-to-site VPN. Super easy to deploy so we are able to network all our sites together.
  • The DHCP server function is actually really nice, I prefer using it over the traditional way of using a DC for DHCP.
  • The UI is a bit dated albeit, it is very functional and everything is right at my fingertips.
  • Better documentation. This hardware and software solution is amazing, but as I said previously, it can be a little daunting to set up.
Great for businesses that need an All In One solution for multiple sites as well as network protection. There are many features that we do not use as a company even though we still use a good bit of them.
Read Matt James's full review
Jon Shurtliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 08, 2018

Sophos UTM is a perfect fit

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Sophos UTM across our entire organization over 5 sites and to our entire remote salesforce. I feel Sophos has provided us the protection and security that an organization needs in this era of threats and attacks.
I am happy to report that we have had no breaches or incidents since its implementation.
  • Sophos was very easy to deploy.
  • The management console keeps us up to date with all the happens of the product.
  • We have yet to be able to implement the mobile device management - I'm not sure if that's because it is difficult, or just a daunting task.
For a business our size, the pricing, functionality and feature set were just right. We have about 400 users and the deployment tools in Sophos UTM are just right to help us remove our old antivirus (AV) software and deploy all the new tools of this platform. My team had no complaints.
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
Karim Kronfli | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2017

Sophos UTM the firewall for Network Engineers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Sophos UTM to provide a common manageable firewall infrastructure across over a dozen sites across the globe. It allowed us to protect the sites with URL filtering and anti-virus protection and create a global VPN for a competitive cost. The interface was easy to learn for our engineers and the central management tools helped me monitor the entire estate.
  • IPSEC VPNs are very easy to set up and I managed to get them to work with several different manufacturers on the other end.
  • The user interface is reasonably clear and easy to search complex configurations.
  • High availability is very easy to set up.
  • When they were Astaro the customer service left a lot to be desired and the hardware could have some quality control problems. Support got much better when Sophos took over.
It is easy to set up, and easy to learn, especially as you can get a free home license to use and play with. I use the virtual appliance at the moment and it just works.
Read Karim Kronfli's full review
Juan Carlos Sanchez Pignalosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2017

Sophos UTM in a glance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Sophos UTM and Sophos XG Appliances, deliver great security along with affordable pricing for every company. Sophos is great as a visionary company, keeping up with IT Managers' requests for features within their products (specially Sophos SG Appliances and XG NGFWs). Their hardware addresses a constant situation where many competitors fail; they are scalable, and tough (SSDs Hard Drives, and Intel latest generation processors is about it). Recently I found out an opportunity for us, as a company, to deliver something that many competitors fail at, HIGH AVAILABILITY with just 1 license. While other vendors, try to squeeze the companies for every penny, Sophos address that issue, and is honest about it: They deliver High Availability in Active/Passive mode, with two identical hardware options, with just one license (with their main competitor, you MUST buy two licenses, which makes the solution more expensive). Sophos is honest, with their products and technology.
  • Scalability, if you needed HA in Active/Passive Mode, but need more throughput during certain periods when the parameters change (i.e. number of users, or Internet bandwidth growth) you can always license the second one and it will behave as a Cluster in Active/Active mode in just 2 minutes, with no downtime.
  • Delivers great WebGUI management, which is easily understandable by every IT Professional
  • Worldwide RMA, gosh! If you have any kind of issue with your hardware, Sophos will deliver it to your business door, at no cost, with a return label for you to ship the damaged or faulty device back. No questions asked.
  • Constant visionary technology, with out of this world new features.
  • Better standard support, it used to be great, now, not so much (for paying customers, that only aquired the Hardware)
  • Better wireless solution, there is always room for that, now that everybody needs robust wifi, even at home!
  • Faster and more robust wireless Access Points, or different vendor-like compatibility.
Well suited, for people who are smart and practical about net security. Less appropriate where IT management, needs a fast wireless solution to be managed by the UTM. Sophos lacks of good Wireless AP's, and now that Sophos is in that field, they should address this weakness right away. Bottom line: Sophos is great in every scenario, except robust and fast wifi.
Read Juan Carlos Sanchez Pignalosa's full review
Jeffrey Gutter | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2016

Sophos UTM Home Version

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Sophos UTM Home Version to protect my connection at home.
  • Daily Reporting is a great asset
  • I love the free AV that I can deploy to my desktops and laptops at home.
  • Make it easier to setup port forwarding and rules to allow certain things to go thru.
  • More common settings to port forward and or whitelist things such as IPHONES, DROID's.
  • When you allow a port to go thru have it automatically add the firewall rule
I think its perfect if you have the time to set it up either on a VM or a physical server. I have not had the experience with their appliances.
If it's a small business I feel that it may be difficult to set up and maintain for a small organization.
Read Jeffrey Gutter's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2017

Sophos UTM - Almost unbeatable

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sophos was used as our primary firewall and unified threat management. We had two Sophos units installed for fail over purposes.
  • Anti-spam is better than most standalone products and has a very low false positive rating
  • Firewall rules are easy to set up and configure with a nice user-friendly interface
  • Free VPN capabilities which does no require a subscription unlike most other firewalls
  • Support is great but sometimes slow but other than that the product is the best in the market
Small to large businesses - Sophos UTM will have you covered. It has every feature you need. During an ISO 27001 audit, the auditor was very pleased to know we were using Sophos UTM.
Read this authenticated review

About Sophos UTM

Sophos UTM is a Unified Threat Management solution. It provides the core firewall features, including Advanced Threat Protection, site-to-site VPN, web filtering, application control, and intrusion protection. Sophos also provides sandboxing capabilities to test possible threats in isolated environments, and uses AI to detect threats without relying on signatures. It also offers built-in traffic monitoring and reporting.

Sophos UTM can be deployed in a variety of formats, including as hardware (SG Series), as software, virtually, or cloud-based. It is customizable depending on the prioritization between high-availability, clustering, remote connectivity, centralization, and reporting capabilities. Sophos offers modularized services for tailored licensing.

Categories:  Firewall,  Threat Intelligence

Sophos UTM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No