Veritas Backup Exec Reviews

99 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Already looking at replacement solutions 90 days after purchase.
Read this authenticated review
January 23, 2020
John Mota | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive Impact: As mentioned, there are many different agents available. Veritas Backup Exec keeps the price point down to a reasonable level, as you only need to purchase agents for the programs you use.
  • Positive Impact: Patches and version updates are frequent. This helps the bottom line by adding features without forcing a purchase of new versions.
Read John Mota's full review
October 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Data is too valuable to not have a trusted backup solution. Veritas Backup Exec provides that.
  • The cost is high, but worth it.
Read this authenticated review
June 15, 2019
Christopher Stark | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As a non-profit, we're satisfied with the pricing of Backup Exec's software and licensing.
  • We do not utilize Backup Exec's software maintenance option, and feel this hasn't diminished our experience with their product.
  • Overall, Backup Exec is a reliable solution for backup, recovery, and restoration. We've never required support from Veritas or had any patch or compatibility issues.
Read Christopher Stark's full review
February 01, 2018
Jeff Daniels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As the person tasked with the job of protecting the company's data, I am glad that Backup Exec performs that job well. I am able to often set-it-and-forget-it and go about the rest of my duties. I have never had a situation where Backup Exec was called upon to restore data and it was unable to do so. This reflects well on both me and my department and provides a sense of security to the rest of the company.
  • I am not making full use of the product and have not licensed a number of its features, but even the base feature set is impressive. To be clear, Backup Exec is no longer the only product we reply upon for data protection, but it is still a large part of that program. If an SMB can find the budget to afford to license the set of features meet its particular demands, Backup Exec will do what you need.
  • As an industry leader, Backup Exec is well positioned to stay at the head of the pack (as they have done for many years) and provide their customers with a comprehensive set of capabilities that will always remain in the forefront of technology.
Read Jeff Daniels's full review
March 28, 2018
Michael Hylek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Veritas Backup Exec is good for single file restores. We have had to restore files from a few months back without any problem.
  • Veritas has saved us money by reverting work that was overwritten by a past employee.
  • Sometimes tapes can be overwritten by accident when you inventory it for restore, which can be an issue.
Read Michael Hylek's full review
December 05, 2017
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Great cost effective tool to utilize with external media. It provides backups for a low cost and does the job well.
  • This product is great as long as the administrator(s) are willing to do the manual effort of rotating media for offsite backups.
  • Restoration of data and servers has almost always gone to plan which is to be expected of an industry leading software.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
December 05, 2017
Michael Jipping | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The ability to recover highly sensitive data has always been important. It will get this done from a file server aspect.
  • We decided we needed to look elsewhere for our virtual environment backup solutions.
Read Michael Jipping's full review
August 03, 2016
Todd Frazier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Not sure on the ROI on this product as we have to renew it every year to keep current!
  • It is a rock solid product for backup those servers that must have a backup.
  • Would like to see improvement on times it takes to do a restore from backup but again I understand the limitations are due to the tape device.
Read Todd Frazier's full review
November 05, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Backup Exec has made me and my company save countless hours, simply the best backup/restore program.
  • Extremely user friendly.
  • Price is very fair for the quality of features it comes with.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Backups by their very nature are difficult to quantify when it comes to ROI. Any monies spent should be seen more as insurance . If you never have to claim on it then that is the best outcome. Backup Exec gives you comfort that you can meet any downtime recovery targets set by your business and this is how to benchmark your solution.
  • Conduct regular DR tests and your this will be your ROI.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Once the backup strategy is correctly set, almost no time is required to take care of the backup. So that amount of time can be used for other tasks.
  • The quality of Backup Exec to backup data and restore data (all of them or pieces of them) helped us to have IT department certified ISO9001.
  • Some contacts at Symantec support service were not good (no real solution provided, the contact person was never the same for multiple contact of a same support ticket, so a lot of time was wasted).
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • ROI should definitely be valued based on the time saved
  • Less resources needed
  • In large infrastructures, it can save on the number of personnel involved in system control
Read this authenticated review
June 27, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • For my customers who purchase Symantec products they see an increase in efficiency on the employee side and customer facing side of their businesses.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (13)
7.6
Live recovery (11)
8.2
Recovery verification (14)
8.6
Business application protection (12)
8.2
Multiple backup destinations (15)
8.4
Incremental backup identification (16)
6.0
Backup to the cloud (9)
7.0
Deduplication and file compression (11)
5.0
Snapshots (12)
4.8
Flexible deployment (12)
7.6
Management dashboard (14)
5.6
Platform support (13)
5.5
Retention options (12)
5.9
Encryption (8)
8.0

What is Veritas Backup Exec?

Veritas Backup Exec
Veritas Backup Exec is a backup and disaster recovery solution. It works in virtual, physical, and multi-cloud environments and integrates with several third-party software releases and applications.

Backup Exec is designed for small to medium-sized business, not enterprise, for streamlining data backup and recovery into one product and interface. It also does not support sending data streams from multiple parallel backup jobs to a single tape drive, called multiplexing, however, Veritas’s other backup product, NetBackup, has this capability.

Key Features

  • Virtual, physical and multi-cloud environment support
  • Full integration with Azure Site Recovery for data and application availability with minimal RTO and RPO
  • Integration with most popular third-party software releases, including Microsoft® Server, Microsoft® Hyper-V and VMware® vSphere®
  • Backup Exec can be seamlessly scaled to the cloud with a range of certified, integrated cloud connectors for various cloud environments, including AWS S3, Microsoft® Azure and Google Cloud Platform Storage
  • Users can locate and visualize their data estate to support General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and other privacy regulations, using Veritas Information Map™
  • End-to-end deduplication performance to on-premise storage, as well as to public and hybrid cloud
Categories:  Data Center Backup

Veritas Backup Exec Competitors

Veritas Backup Exec Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Veritas Backup ExecContact sales team

Veritas Backup Exec Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No