TrustRadius
Rackspace, headquartered in San Antonio, offers a number of managed hosting solutions and managed IT infrastructure services, including website hosting, dedicated servers, managed private cloud services, and other services supporting IT infrastructure with dedicated resources and optional service support.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/9T/XV/NUNKFLCLCO5M.pngRackspace - Pretty Good, I Think!We use Rackspace for our web and database hosting, with our use handled within the IT and eCommerce departments. Our dealings with Rackspace circle around the technical aspects of hosting and serving our website and database files, and optimising the performance of both of these. It is important to note that they are responsible for the software and hardware on the server side, with no relation to the codebases themselves.,Great and responsive service Good up time, almost no occurrences of website downtime Flexible with the requirements of the business,Work to best practices, at times clunky Not the cheapest... Very technical, at times advisers find it difficult to "dumb down" their questions regarding services you're requesting,7,Responded to slowdowns very quickly, therefore negating lose of earnings at peak times When speaking to the right people eventually, they suggested solutions that have improved server response, which should have a positive impact on site speed (and so CR) Load balancing allows for an efficient workflow in implementing new features while not losing traffic Originally set some configurations low, which negatively impacted server performance. This was rectified with memory expansion following some discussions.,SiteGround Web Hosting,Adobe Illustrator CC, Visual Studio IDE, QubitGood luck RackspaceRackspace is being used to host many of our servers and databases. It is not being used by our whole organization because we are working on switching over to AWS. Rackspace used to be great and reliable but has slowly been less and less reliable. Rackspace has been great at building new servers and customizing them which has been great as we are building out more machines.,Easy to build out new servers. Can pre-install a few different flavors of Linux. Easy to use UI.,Fewer outages would be great. Work harder on improving their product and its reliability. No outages is the only acceptable goal.,6,Rackspace has done great in the past in keeping our data and servers up and running. Recently there have been more and more frequent outages and errors.,Amazon AWSRackspace Virtual Server Platform ReviewWe used Rackspace's Cloud VPS services, as well as their cloud site services. These services were used to host a MySQL database infrastructure and a series of Wordpress sites, respectively. Rackspace's cloud VPS infrastructure is very robust and offers some top-notch performance capabilities out of some of the other providers in the space.,Excellent, responsive, reliable, and HELPFUL support Robust server offerings Excellent uptime Fair pricing,Pricing is competitive, but other providers do beat them out with some of their pricing "features". The Cloud Files offering is relatively slow and wasn't usable for us. The automated backup feature that is offered for the Cloud Servers is pretty limited and wasn't usable for us. There are 2-3 different web management panels, with different logins. It's hard to keep track of which one is which, and can be frustrating/confusing when trying to log in to your panel and choosing the wrong one.,8,The reliability of Rackspace allowed us to respond to a major network outage with another provider in just a few hours, experiencing minimal downtime. The availability of robust cloud machines made their offering better than 90% of the other IaaS providers available. The real-time support available to troubleshoot and diagnose any issues helped our engineering and ops teams stay on task and offload some nuanced issues onto their support team, freeing up our resources to serve our clients.,Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2),MariaDB, MySQL, GitHub, Laravel PHP Framework, Apache Web Server, Trello, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon Relational Database Service, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), CloudFlare, PostgreSQL, MongoDB, Oracle ZFSRackspace. They've got you covered.Rackspace is our dedicated hosting service for our website and many other components that are vital for the day to day running of our business. Everything we do, everything we provide to earn money is made possible due to Rackspace. We required a service that ensured flawless hosting with great customer service and response times, and we got it.,Excellent response time to queries about possible changes, upgrades or concerns. Top of the range technologies at our disposal due to Rackspace always keeping up to date with the latest technologies. Amazing response to any problems or even the hints of problems to quickly diagnose and fix anything that might cause even a moment's downtime.,Possibly a little behind some other solutions when it comes to cloud infrastructure.,8,Rackspace has provided an excellent service with non stop improvements and this is completely reflected in the success of our business; without Rackspace and the powerful yet elegant solution it provides we wouldn't be where we are today. Over peak is where Rackspace has shined year after year, providing excellent up times with smooth running service, providing our customers with the best experience and ensuring they come back.,Google App Engine, Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure,Google App Engine, Google BigQuery, MySQL, Qubit Opentag, Qubit, RedisAlternative Hosting Platform with Fanatical SupportWe currently use multiple products of Rackspace throughout the entire organization. We first used their cloud site solution and then we added their cloud server solution. When a new email solution had to be addressed, Rackspace's Webmail and Hosted Exchange worked great. We have since moved to Office 365, but working with Rackspace's fanatical support team made everything easy and stress free.,Fanatical Support - I can't stress how great their team is. Not only are they knowledgeable, whenever I call in (during the day or in the middle of the night), I never have to wait more than a minute to speak to someone. Webmail, Hosted Exchange, and Office365 Support - As an IT team of one, Rackspace's cloud solution and migration team has really helped me over the years to minimize issues for users, but also provide a reliable and flexible email platform.,Lack of an autoscale solution - I had a project where I ended up spinning up 30 webheads and 20 MySQL servers (1 master and 19 slaves). The actual campaign lasted 4 hours, but during that live period, I had to have all those machines up and running. Definitely not a cheap environment, but if there was an autoscale solution, the high cost could have been avoided.,10,The cost of the cloud servers has significantly reduced our hosting overhead, mainly due to the ability to define the resources we need. The knowledgeable support team saves a significant amount of time when building out a multi-server environment for hosting.,Heroku and AWS Elastic Beanstalk,AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Heroku, Box
Unspecified
Rackspace Managed Hosting
53 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Rackspace Managed Hosting Reviews

Rackspace Managed Hosting
53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 53 vetted Rackspace Managed Hosting reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Gideon Caspi profile photo
February 05, 2018

Rackspace Managed Hosting Review: "Rackspace - Pretty Good, I Think!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Rackspace for our web and database hosting, with our use handled within the IT and eCommerce departments. Our dealings with Rackspace circle around the technical aspects of hosting and serving our website and database files, and optimising the performance of both of these. It is important to note that they are responsible for the software and hardware on the server side, with no relation to the codebases themselves.
  • Great and responsive service
  • Good up time, almost no occurrences of website downtime
  • Flexible with the requirements of the business
  • Work to best practices, at times clunky
  • Not the cheapest...
  • Very technical, at times advisers find it difficult to "dumb down" their questions regarding services you're requesting
This rating is based on the fact that Rackspace provides good service and responds to enquiries relatively quickly, and the product (hosting) appears to be very good. However, I am unable to compare their service one-to-one with others, as in general, I have experienced fairly good web hosting overall, so cannot say that they are definitely better than other options. To my knowledge, Rackspace was selected for their record with uptime and customer service.
Read Gideon Caspi's full review
No photo available
February 08, 2018

Rackspace Managed Hosting Review: "Good luck Rackspace"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rackspace is being used to host many of our servers and databases. It is not being used by our whole organization because we are working on switching over to AWS. Rackspace used to be great and reliable but has slowly been less and less reliable. Rackspace has been great at building new servers and customizing them which has been great as we are building out more machines.
  • Easy to build out new servers.
  • Can pre-install a few different flavors of Linux.
  • Easy to use UI.
  • Fewer outages would be great.
  • Work harder on improving their product and its reliability. No outages is the only acceptable goal.
Rackspace has been a great service but it is almost like they are slowly giving up on their product but would still happily help support you when you move over to AWS. It seems almost as if they are pushing you off their servers and then offering their business to help you once you are running your stuff off AWS.
Read this authenticated review
Jim Rubenstein profile photo
June 20, 2017

Rackspace Managed Hosting: "Rackspace Virtual Server Platform Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Rackspace's Cloud VPS services, as well as their cloud site services.

These services were used to host a MySQL database infrastructure and a series of Wordpress sites, respectively.

Rackspace's cloud VPS infrastructure is very robust and offers some top-notch performance capabilities out of some of the other providers in the space.

  • Excellent, responsive, reliable, and HELPFUL support
  • Robust server offerings
  • Excellent uptime
  • Fair pricing
  • Pricing is competitive, but other providers do beat them out with some of their pricing "features".
  • The Cloud Files offering is relatively slow and wasn't usable for us.
  • The automated backup feature that is offered for the Cloud Servers is pretty limited and wasn't usable for us.
  • There are 2-3 different web management panels, with different logins. It's hard to keep track of which one is which, and can be frustrating/confusing when trying to log in to your panel and choosing the wrong one.
Rackspace is very well suited as a IaaS (Infrastructure as a Service) provider, particularly when you're planning on leaving the infrastructure up for a period of time. They seem to focus a bit more on that aspect of infrastructure. That is to say, they seem to promote running servers for longer periods of time and not spinning up/shutting down servers frequently based on usage spikes.

While, they do support that sort of availability -- they don't have features built into their offering, necessarily, that make it a lot easier to implement.

Our experiences with Rackspace have been 100% around their cloud platform, but they have another entire part of their business that is centered around hosting/maintaining/supporting physical hardware (bare metal). They have had a great reputation over the last several years (10+) for being top-notch providers in this space, which is one reason we even considered them for our Cloud-based hosting needs. We don't have any direct experience with their "bare metal" offerings, but their reputation is certainly great, and worth noting.
Read Jim Rubenstein's full review
No photo available
August 11, 2017

Rackspace Managed Hosting Review: "Rackspace. They've got you covered."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rackspace is our dedicated hosting service for our website and many other components that are vital for the day to day running of our business. Everything we do, everything we provide to earn money is made possible due to Rackspace. We required a service that ensured flawless hosting with great customer service and response times, and we got it.
  • Excellent response time to queries about possible changes, upgrades or concerns.
  • Top of the range technologies at our disposal due to Rackspace always keeping up to date with the latest technologies.
  • Amazing response to any problems or even the hints of problems to quickly diagnose and fix anything that might cause even a moment's downtime.
  • Possibly a little behind some other solutions when it comes to cloud infrastructure.
If you need to run a moderately large sized service, like a website, and need to know it is in capable hands and ready to weather anything from malicious attacks to massive loads, Rackspace is the provider for you. If you are needing to host a site to advertise a local parish bake sale, Rackspace might not be your best place to go.
Read this authenticated review
Jordan Leano profile photo
May 01, 2017

Rackspace Managed Hosting Review: "Alternative Hosting Platform with Fanatical Support"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use multiple products of Rackspace throughout the entire organization. We first used their cloud site solution and then we added their cloud server solution. When a new email solution had to be addressed, Rackspace's Webmail and Hosted Exchange worked great. We have since moved to Office 365, but working with Rackspace's fanatical support team made everything easy and stress free.
  • Fanatical Support - I can't stress how great their team is. Not only are they knowledgeable, whenever I call in (during the day or in the middle of the night), I never have to wait more than a minute to speak to someone.
  • Webmail, Hosted Exchange, and Office365 Support - As an IT team of one, Rackspace's cloud solution and migration team has really helped me over the years to minimize issues for users, but also provide a reliable and flexible email platform.
  • Lack of an autoscale solution - I had a project where I ended up spinning up 30 webheads and 20 MySQL servers (1 master and 19 slaves). The actual campaign lasted 4 hours, but during that live period, I had to have all those machines up and running. Definitely not a cheap environment, but if there was an autoscale solution, the high cost could have been avoided.
Their fanatical support is the main reason I will recommend Rackspace. I am never on hold for a long time when I call in, I can call at any time of the day (even in the middle of the night), the team is very knowledgeable and will go out of the way to find a solution, and most importantly, they are always friendly.
Read Jordan Leano's full review
Matt Karcher profile photo
March 15, 2017

Rackspace Managed Hosting Review: "You need Rackspace for email!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Rackspace for approximately 45-50 user email accounts. These email accounts are being used across the whole organization and provides top level email access for a county government.
  • Rackspace is used to access email via A web interface as well as applications such as Outlook and Thunderbird.
  • Email for the county organization is very important and Rackspace provides excellent delivery of service and support.
  • The only area for improvement would be to mirror the Exchange capability, e.G.: calendaring, contact sharing and task list.
Rackspace is very well suited for any organization that requires 24/7 email access with very limited downtime.
Read Matt Karcher's full review
Valerie Cabral profile photo
March 14, 2017

Rackspace Managed Hosting Review: "Steady & useful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All email is Rackspace hosted, all cloud hosting is also done through Rackspace. Functionally, only one department is really aware of Rackspace or directly interacts with it, but the whole company and product is dependent upon it. Rackspace allows us to administer our email and to dependably host the SaaS portion of our product- both of which have been extremely stable throughout my tenure.
  • Simple email administration
  • Dependable cloud hosting
  • Helpful support staff
  • Easier transfer from Rackspace Email to Exchange
  • Modernize look of mail interface
Very well suited to businesses needing a simple way to implement company email. Also useful for small businesses who need a reasonably priced but extremely stable cloud hosting solution. Since the email interface can be clunky, it is perhaps more suitable when at least someone on the team has an understanding of technical software setup.
Read Valerie Cabral's full review
Adam Boulware profile photo
October 09, 2015

Rackspace Managed Hosting Review: "Rackspace Fanatical Support is THE BEST!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Rackspace cloud servers to host our company website as well as hosting of other specialized websites for clients. We are a Rackspace partner and reseller. We resell Rackspace email services to clients who need hosted email. We have also built websites for customers who want to host their own websites, in which scenario we always recommend Rackspace as a cloud provider.
  • Customer Service
  • Technical Support
  • Documentation
  • Open Source Software
  • Interoperability
  • Few new products as of recently
When customer service and immediate technical support is important, Rackspace is the ideal service provider for all cloud services.
Read Adam Boulware's full review
Nicholas Toscano profile photo
November 10, 2014

Rackspace Managed Hosting Review: "RackSpace falls short as a dedicated server when compared to other user friendly solutions."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We hosted our multi-language website, CMS platform and other applications via Rackspace.
  • Multiple servers across the country.
  • Little to no down time.
  • Highly scalable
  • User experience.
  • Customer service.
I worked for a company that had already implemented Rackspace for the organization. When I went to my next company and had the decision making power to choose our external hosting account, I opted for SoftLayer over Rackspace for usability and customer experience (CE).
Read Nicholas Toscano's full review
John Wooten profile photo
June 28, 2014

Rackspace Managed Hosting Review: "Reaping the Rackspace Rewards - A Business Testimony from a Cloud Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Rackspace is, and has been, a cornerstone component of our business solutions and service offerings. Utilized both as an underpinning of our own internal operations, Rackspace Cloud Servers has also served as direct extension of our business to address a wide range of client-specific data center applications and storage requirements. Scalable, secure, redundant, compliant and cost-effective... all backed by the highest level of always-on support we have ever received within this highly competitive and ever-evolving market. Simply put, for much of what our consultancy does? Rackspace IS our business!
  • Flexibility: Rackspace affords complex topologies, independent storage scalability and distributed workloads. Mix-and-match to meet our client's specific use-cases keeps us competitive.
  • Consistency: having used multiple providers at various times for various reasons, one of the more striking differences in the cloud servers market in our findings is the consistency of service. While at times other players achieved some higher level benchmark testing, these were typically short-lived - Rackspace has provided us the most confidence in "getting what we are paying for/expecting to achieve"
  • Service and Support: these days, it almost seems like this area has become cliche. As an extension of the above technical "Consistency", the levels of Support at Rackspace allow our business the confidence to do what we do best: solve technology problems, unabated and undaunted. While I have been exposed to industry competitors smirking at Rackspace's "Fanatical Support" moniker, it has been this industry-leading, platinum-standard level of support by Rackspace that has allowed our business to pursue service and solutions areas without blinking. This would not have been possible for us with other vendors; again, Rackspace has always delivered for us as if they were members of our own organization - they made it their business to be in our business!
  • There is a little too much homogeneity of hardware in my opinion.
  • Could use some advancements in auto-scaling, reserve/spot pricing, external storage, reserved IPs.
  • Control Panel: while we have seen much improvement to the Rackspace c-panel, this should be seen as an area where the company continues to commit itself to further enhancements - the palatability of the end-user is often overlooked, but human nature will default towards ease-of-use and intuitiveness every time. Keep at this!
While we have made great use of other IaaS providers (AWS, Linode, etc.) these typically have come as a result of "one-off" type requirements for a given project. One of the reasons we find Rackspace best-suited for our day-in, day-out business needs is that it is the closest turn-key offering to meet the majority of requirements across start-up to medium-tier to large-scale enterprise demands. This is not to say Rackspace does not meet needs for complex demands; it does mean that we rarely have to look elsewhere to satiate any given project's specifications and requirements.
Read John Wooten's full review

Rackspace Managed Hosting Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (6)
8.4
Dynamic scaling (5)
6.8
Elastic load balancing (5)
8.2
Pre-configured templates (3)
8.6
Monitoring tools (5)
6.0
Pre-defined machine images (2)
8.0
Operating system support (4)
6.8
Security controls (5)
6.9

About Rackspace Managed Hosting

Rackspace, headquartered in San Antonio, offers a number of managed hosting solutions and managed IT infrastructure services, including website hosting, dedicated servers, managed private cloud services, and other services supporting IT infrastructure with dedicated resources and optional service support.

Rackspace Managed Hosting Integrations

Rackspace Managed Hosting Competitors

Rackspace Managed Hosting Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No