Barracuda Essentials Reviews

12 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 04, 2021
Victor Borghouts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use it ourselves and for 2 other clients at present. It's simply the best anti-spam gateway I have used, better than Trend and Mimecast and other products I used in the distant past.

As a front end gateway with a well thought out user interface, its easy to see messages from external clients that were either caught up in anti-spam or anti-virus queues and explain to end-users what happened to the email.
  • Integrated login for user management of their own spam.
  • Better filtering technology, so fewer false positives as well as less span bypassing the filter with excellent anti-spam engines and logging
  • Extremely easy to install and configure
  • Excellent message tracing for folks that say "I havent got an email I was expecting"
  • Easy to add designated users as site administrators
  • Competitively priced
  • I think billing could be better integrated to licensed users in Office 365 and go up and down month to month per customer
Excellent anti-spam gateway with the best logging display of messages I have seen. So easy to identify what happened to messages which is so important when you are the person they call when things go wrong and messages are not received. Seconds to set up. Minutes to configure.
Read Victor Borghouts's full review
January 23, 2021
Bill Artemik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are using all the features of BE. Email SPAM filtering, email encryption and email archiving. We also support these features for our clients as part of our network security services package.
  • SPAM filtering is good.
  • Sandboxing all links is very good
  • Encryption is good
  • Encryption is always on. There's NO way to turn it off so false encryption leads to real issues. Many banks and other companies cannot read/accept encrypted email. There should be a "Do Not Encrypt" type of keyword to prevent encryption (competing products have this).
  • There's no indication an email was encrypted (like with Proofpoint or Zix mail).
  • MSP management interface needs work. You have to request licenses by email and wait. Pretty archaic today. Most competing product sites let MSP's increase/decrease licensing as needed, immediately.
We recommend it to all of our clients. It's simple to use, requires little day-to-day management and you can configure the quarantine reports to be multiple times a day (so users aren't wondering where a delayed email is).

Encryption is getting to be a daily necessity for many businesses but that doesn't mean ALL email must be encrypted. This feature needs some work (as noted already).
Read Bill Artemik's full review
December 14, 2020
Peter Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Barracuda Essentials across the organization to protect the users from malicious email attacks and also to secure the data in cloud backups. It solves 3 issues in one solution - backup, protection, and reporting. All data is backed up to the cloud - that's Office365, SharePoint, and OneDrive for all users. Protects the user's inbox with a myriad of content filtering and black and whitelisting. It's simple for the IT department to find quarantined email and release it - but each user also receives a daily digest of mail blocked so this can be done at user level as well. Essentials is a product I wouldn't be without in a business environment now.
  • Email filtering.
  • Cloud backup.
  • Content filtering.
  • Reporting could be a little better.
Essentials is very well suited to the education environment - we are protecting students and staff mailboxes from malicious or suspect email content on a daily basis and Essentials makes this job a breeze.
Not sure where this product wouldn't be suited? Maybe in a home environment where the cost and infrastructure costs are prohibitive, but I would use this product in every business environment.
Read Peter Robinson's full review
January 19, 2021
Yammi Wong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Barracuda Essentials for our email security system for few months. Our company email is using Ms Exchange 2016 on-premise and we used the Symantec Messagelabs before. The 1st problem is we cannot download the Barracuda add-in for Outlook because we don't have Office 365 account ( in Office 2016). The 2nd problem is the Out of office message unable to deliver recipient's inbox, because Barracuda is sending the auto-reply message from Public account which does not trusted by recipient's server like Gmail, HSBCPB. For Gmail or office 365 users, auto-reply found in Junk, HSBCPB recipient lost the message directly as their high security settings I guess. If the sender is using Barracuda as well, the auto-reply message is undeliverable. For this problem, I raised the ticket to support / developer and I'm disappointed to heard that is known issues and no schedule to resolved it.
  • User friendly portal
  • Strong anti-spam capability
  • Cheap
  • Cloud base no other maintenance cost
  • With basic policy control by end-user
  • Responsive support
  • No time schedule to fix bugs
  • India support difficult to communicate
  • Hong Kong sales & deployment engineers are not familiar with the product
  • Without automatic monthly report
  • Many problems on non-Office 365 users
  • "Out of office" is not working on Barracuda
The application is new and many unknown issues if you select Barracuda Essentials. The support is responsive but the root problem is no patch updates to resolve the bugs.
Read Yammi Wong's full review
December 29, 2020
Alex Olson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We used Barracuda Essentials for our managed services clients for spam filtering. We easily switched between client companies to monitor for issues and manage settings and rules.
  • Filtering.
  • Threat protection.
  • Encryption.
  • Reporting.
  • Combined dashboard for MSP.
I’ve used several other filter apps and services over the years. Barracuda Essentials blows them all away for the amount of well thought out and implemented features for the cost.
Read Alex Olson's full review
October 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Barracuda Essentials is amazing! We had a need to better protect our 30 Office 365 email users from Spam, Phishing and other Malware. Barracuda Essentials solved that problem for us and also filters out Spam from our incoming email. It was so easy to get it configured and working and management is a breeze. Our users are MUCH better protected now.
  • Barracuda Essentials Spam Filtering works and it is very easy to add or remove senders from the Spam filter lists.
  • Barracuda Essentials provides excellent protection from Phishing and other Malware.
  • Barracuda Essentials email encryption is so easy to use and easy to setup. Our users love it.
  • The Barracuda Essentials menus are very extensive and thus can be a little complicated for some users. Maybe a little more description on some of the tabs and options?
I will recommend Barracuda Essentials to everyone I know that has a corporate email account. Barracuda Essentials is a critical piece for protecting their users from all of the Malware, Spam, Viruses and Phishing emails that are flowing around now. If you have email in a business setting, you need Barracuda Essentials to protect your users.
I've only had to contact support once since we've been using Barracuda Essentials and the support was excellent! Quick response and a very qualified support representative to assist me with my setup. In the end, my issue was with my domain host and not with Barracuda Essentials but the support representative worked with me to get things resolved and working.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated from on-premise antispam towards Barracuda Essentials. This saved us from the burden of upgrading the antispam solution. The antispam is quite easy to implement and contains everything you would expect of a professional product. But most of all, it evolves automatically and continues to stop sophisticated spam techniques without the need to put a lot of effort in it.
  • Set and forget.
  • Configurable quarantine reports.
  • Cloud based.
  • Speed of portal is quite slow.
  • Quarantine reports are schedule based and not on the spot itself.
  • Advanced content filtering is quite complex at first.
Once set up it is quite set and forget. It just works, stops mail that shouldn't arrive and all for a reasonable price.
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2020
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Barracuda Essentials is used by everyone at the company. It is the antispam system as well as encrypted email sending system. It is also the email archiver and extended backup of 365 mailboxes service. There are several flavors of Barracuda Essentials but the "base" and most common is the antispam system that includes outbound email encryption.
  • Filtering inbound and outbound email.
  • Sandboxing potentially bad email attachments.
  • Making setup easy to configure and maintain with Office 365.
  • Unifying logins for end users to Office 365 usernames and passwords.
  • From the administrative side, unifying ALL of the components and modules can be a bit clunky.
Barracuda Essentials is a great solution for businesses of all sizes. As companies grow to become VERY large, the on-premises physical appliances might be a better price point, but it utilizes the same backbone, subscriptions, and services. All organizations in all industries should care about email filtering, email archiving, and better than the built-in backups for Office 365.
This is the best tool in the industry. It provides the best support on top of the product. If one has any trouble configuring things or troubleshooting things, Barracuda's support is renowned for resolving bugs and issues as well as assisting troubleshooting and fixing issues. I would highly recommend it as it covers all email security bases.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-malware (8)
9.0
Cusomizability (8)
8.0
Data Loss Protection (5)
8.8
Threat Detection (8)
8.8
Sandboxing (7)
8.6
End-to-End Encryption (6)
8.6
Management Tools (8)
7.7

What is Barracuda Essentials?

Email is the leading threat vector for ransomware, phishing, data theft, and other advanced threats. The Barracuda Essentials cloud-based service is designed to make email safe for business with advanced threat protection, tamper-proof archiving, and data protection.

Barracuda Essentials Features

Secure Email Gateway Features

Has featureAnti-malware
Has featureCusomizability
Has featureData Loss Protection
Has featureThreat Detection
Has featureSandboxing
Has featureEnd-to-End Encryption
Has featureManagement Tools

Barracuda Essentials Downloadables

Barracuda Essentials Competitors

SpamTitan, Proofpoint, Solarwinds

Barracuda Essentials Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Barracuda Essentials Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Barracuda Essentials Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No