Zix Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
138 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 107)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Zix Email Encryption - What would we do without it?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is currently being used across the whole organization. It allows us, a health care organization, a means of securing our communications to ensure that users do not send PHI in an insecure manner. The system currently enforces encryption based on a number of policies. Some policies enforce automatic encryption, where others allow users to encrypt on demand. We are currently using Zix's cloud hosted offering, but we had a Zix server in-house for years.
  • Policies are set to manage the encryption, so it is mostly hands off. You can set them and forget them.
  • Zix has great support. If you need to understand why something was or was not encrypted, they can assist.
  • The hosted dashboard gives you report options, so you can search the logs on your own. This gives you the ability to do your own research and see what is going on. You can also have reports emailed to you on a schedule.
  • Zix to Zix emails (Zix customer to Zix customer) are automatically encrypted. Otherwise, recipients need to use the Zix web portal to receive the email.
  • Currently, the hosted dashboard does not allow me to touch or manage the policies at all. When I migrated from onsite to hosted, they pulled in my existing policies and added them to the general policies. If I need anything adjusted, I can call support and they will adjust for me.
  • Zix does not offer any other products other than encryption. I was hoping to have one vendor for spam and encryption, but was not willing to leave Zix for Proofpoint.
Zix is well suited for healthcare where PHI needs to be secured. Zix is also well suited for finance where financial information needs to be secured. If you are not concerned with any regulations regarding patient or client data, perhaps Zix is not for you.
Zix helps keep us stay compliant by their implementation of email security policies. When a message goes out, the entire message is scanned along with the attachments. If something is detected which is a concern, the message will automatically be encrypted. That means, if a pdf attachment has credit card numbers or other identifiers in it, the message automatically gets encrypted protecting the organization. If this becomes an issue, you simply contact Zix or create a no encrypt policy to use via keyword.
Zix is simple to use. Once the policies are configured, users do not have to interact with it at all. If they want to invoke encryption manually, they simply add the keyword to the subject and the message gets encrypted. Otherwise, there is no interaction. If someone on the recipient side does not have Zix, they retrieve the message via Zix's secure web portal.
We are not using Zix beyond email encryption.
Zix support has been wonderful. Whenever I had a question or needed assistance with a report they were there to help.
Read this authenticated review
Mike McCloskey | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Title Escrow Closing Company breathes easier because ZIX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zix everyday and throughout our organization. We are a Title Escrow Service and heavily communicate detailed non-public financial information with real estate buyers, sellers, agents, and lenders. We looked at countless solutions which were not able to serve our needs. Many were not very useable by customers. Most were too cumbersome for our agents to manage complex communication threads. Zix is also used by our largest clients, making even greater usability. It has been performing very well for several years
  • Great usability for outside users who may need heavy access for several weeks and almost never again.
  • Streamlined operation for our agents, keeping communication threads organized (actually a function of our mail app - it is just that Zix actually allows this - it was a deal breaker with countless others)
  • Of course, bullet proof and highly recognized encryption. (duh!)
  • Lovely people at Zix supporting us!
  • Excellent reliability and availability
  • Responsive to customer input on making things even better
  • We reported a major issue with accessing documents on a smart phone. The display hides the documents from the recipient, causing much confusion. I haven't heard any progress on improvement, and am quite surprised that this hasn't been addressed.
  • This is doing better now, far less complaints
  • I have never received free pizza from Zix. We always appreciate pizza.
  • Still no pizza.
It has almost perfectly met our needs. A title company with 25 users that requires encrypted communication countless times daily. I am not sure that it would work as well for a small 2 user setup due to cost; I haven't checked that. I work with a small dental office that fits that scenario. There are many HIPAA solutions that match their use case, however.

Still agree with what i wrote a while back on this.
We are required to comply with CFPB and many other requirements due to the sensitive information involved in real estate transactions. Our business is directly affected by lending institutions which require that we are diligent in surpassing these requirements. Zix does this effortlessly on our part.

Zix is a major component in our compliance portfolio.
We have had almost no problems internally, or with clients. Other than the snafu seeing documents on a smart phone.

I still have to leave it at 9 - but that is still very good!
We use Mac's and it works flawlessly with Mac Mail. We don't need anything else!
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Firsly, there is rarely even a need for support.

Secondly, it is readily avail (likely due the first item!)

The calls are answered quickly be staff who are both knowledgeable and excellent communicators. I found that they seemed to actually care about my situation and in getting the maximum efficiency with the Zix platform, Also, they are fun.
It has no problem with our workload. We depend heavily on the ability to transfer large documents securely through the system and it has never let us down.
Read Mike McCloskey's full review
Lance Soller | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Done and dusted!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are dealing with a healthcare company that requires HIPAA compliance and this was the easier way to effect that across email. We are able to effect protection of all the areas covered by the regulator with minimal interference by us and ease of use for the users and recipients of the encrypted emails. The rules are standard so it was as simple as switching them on without any additional configuration from our side. In addition to this it was extremely easy to set up trigger words that would encrypt the email if required even if it did not have HIPAA-specific information in it.
  • Protection of personal information gets restricted when sent out by mistake
  • Credit card fraud is defended by no details leaking out
  • Ease of use and integration into Outlook
  • Full HIPAA compliance
  • Not all third party email clients are supported
  • Encrypted replied remain in the system and do not sync back to the end user
  • Recipients of the emails might be confused around replying
Any emails that require encryption as dictated by specifics like HIPAA or variance insurance industry standards are made easy by the ability to simply enable these features without having to go through rules and manipulate them to suite the industry. If a user requires an email to be encrypted it can be done in the fly with a keyword trigger in the subject of the email.
Our customers using Zix fall into two verticals. Pharmaceutical and insurance. Both of these industries have staff dealing with sensitive person information that needs to be protected. Zix handles this very efficiently and without any intervention from the staff. The specific compliance boards accept Zix without needing further information around how we are handling the encryption.
The most critical part of using any application that affects email in any way is what is required from the users in order to get this to work. When IT over complicates any implementation the staff push back. This was not an option when it came to a system for encryption as this is a critical business requirement and having it turned off or manually implemented was not a choice. All changes were made in the back end and the users were not even made aware of any changes.
We are using Zin on GSuite and have found the integration to be flawless. We did not have to do anything on the front end to get it working. All our systems run through the same GMAIL servers and once integrated, all other systems that use the same email servers have the same rules applied to them as the email users. It made switching to Zix very simple.
Read Lance Soller's full review
Daniel Hereford | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2020

Zix Displaced Cisco Ironport

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is deployed globally across all our users and departments. First NBC Bank uses Zix to secure email between our clients and bankers. We have the solution integrated with our DLP solution to look for sensitive information and transparently encrypt email. We rely on the transparent TLS encryption, but the solution can also fall back to a traditional portal solution where the recipient must create a username and password.
  • Transparent encryption with other Zix clients and any email server that can negotiate TLS.
  • Simple deployment options with virtual, physical, or hosted options.
  • Zix can provide email protection with encryption and also email security with SPAM and content filtering.
  • Knowledgeable deployment engineers helped us deploy the solution on the phone without a costly specialist needed.
  • Branding the "Secured by Zix" stamp the solution places on secured messages would be a nice feature.
Zix is a good solution for people running on-premise email (especially Exchange). The cost of the solution is very reasonable in the marketplace and Zix is very good at it. Their Zix directory of other registered Zix users enables transparent encryption across a very large user base. Zix is well regarded in the financial sector due to strong security and auditing.
Yes, Zix helps us meet GLBA compliance rules and also our FDIC regulatory responsibility to protect customer data in transmission.
Easy to implement and easy to support for end users. ZixPortal for emails is simple and intuitive.
We were able to consolidate Proofpoint and Symantec solutions into a single cloud-based solution. Saved us money and allowed for unified monitoring and management.
Read Daniel Hereford's full review
Jason Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Director of Research and Development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is used to either explicitly encrypt emails through a keyword in the subject line or implicitly encrypt emails based on heuristics that look at the content of the message. It is used across our healthcare organization to protect patient privacy as required by HIPAA and other government regulation.
  • Heuristics work well.
  • The ability to simplify explicit encryption through a keyword is nice.
  • Most recipients are prompted to a secure portal to read the message, but if the other user also uses Zix then the message is automatically decrypted.
  • Zix is appliance based (at least in our implementation). The encryption happens as the message leaves the mail server. This means there is nothing to install at the client. It makes Zix very non-intrusive.
  • Nothing comes to mind -- it just works.
Zix is well suited for an environment where the confidentiality of email messaging is important. For causal messaging it may not be worth the effort or expense.
Yes, we implemented about decade ago to make sure that we were in compliance with healthcare regulation.
I personally implemented Zix at the time (it was before I was in a management role). I found it very easy and straight forward to implement.
We are currently planning a migration of Exchange from on-prem to Office365. That Zix already supports Office365 will ease the migration.
Read Jason Wilson's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Great mobile app, what seals the deal.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zix as our mobile email app for our entire organization, as well as for ad hoc encryption needs. It helps solve our issue on dealing with BYOD. In addition, it provides us with means to send secure messages when necessary to our partners, with minimal impact to them. Zix is one of the easiest solutions we found while being attractively priced.
  • Zix mobile app. Easy to use. Anyone can use it with minimal if any, training.
  • The encryption registration for recipients is as painless as it gets. Simple, effective.
  • The app is easy to configure, and compatible with all devices. This made for quick deployment.
  • Customer support is a little hard to use. However, infrequently needed.
  • The app has limitations as you can only view one mailbox, calendar account. You can't check other mailboxes or calendars.
  • Lots of service windows, though few with actual outages. However, in our industry, we treat each update as a potential for an outage, and have to put in certain measures.
The mobile app is the best - easy to set up, quick to deploy, works well and requires very little in terms of support or training. So to need an app that is quick to deploy and easy to use, it is well suited.
Yes. We take this very seriously in healthcare. Zix is easy to use, and the fact it has some automation with other zix users in our market is a real perk. Familiarly in the community with the product makes it a great choice. Controlling BYOD, using this app, also solves a huge problem for us.
We were able to deploy to fairly novice users with very little training that resulted in very few issues. [The] only issue that popped up was on some subsequent upgrades zix put out. However, the initial go live went very well.
Zix incorporated very easily and was a reliable tool without few issues. Most issues we encountered were based more on our extremely unorthodox email/calendar usage (I've never seen anything like our configs at any other organization) and attributed to our email setup. Zix worked well, and had no performance issues or lag.
I give it the high rating due to the fact support will be rarely needed. Zix documentation is pretty solid, clear, and helpful. When contacted, Zix did a good job in resolving the issues and we were able to move forward without any issues on the zix side. The app is easy to use, and again requires little support.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Kendall White | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Zix - great solution for email encryption, archiving and peace of mind for security

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leverage Zix as our enterprise solution for email encryption, threat protection and email archiving. IT solves any of our concerns or issues pertaining to encrypting sensitive emails, archiving email and safeguarding/filtering our incoming emails to the cooperation. It serves as our standard for email encryption and provides a solution for us to communicate externally in a secure manner.
  • Simple and easy setup and installation.
  • Zix performs encrypting based upon contextual analysis which greatly reduces the number of false positives.
  • Zix greatly supports our needs to be HIPPA compliant and allows us to quarantine emails based upon selected criteria
  • Some end users struggle with the process to open secure emails, when they are not a Zix customer.
  • Generally have to contact support anytime you want to create or edit rules, etc. which can be time consuming.
Very well suited for the healthcare environment. Also great for companies with small IT support staff as the system is very low maintenance. The installation was very simple and straightforward and ongoing support has been excellent. The trusted relationship feature for all Zix customers is a great benefit and prevents the need for other Zix customers to log into a portal etc. to retrieve information.
Zix has allowed us to easily meet our needs around HIPPA compliancy, along with allowing us to establish a thorough archiving program. In addition it has helped in the PCI arena ensuring this information is transmitted securely whenever outside of our system. The ability to quarantine and “hold” and email before delivery allows us to inspect any information contained in the message.
Zix is very easy to set up and use. It is basically transparent for the vast majority of the users and for our recipients the portal is mainly straightforward and easy to use although we do have to walk some people through the process initially. Administration of the system is also easy although you have to contact support sometimes for assistance with any system configurations.
For us, Zix has made it possible to implement as an enterprise standard and eliminate the need to research and potentially install multiple products and/or adopt a best of breed strategy to acquire various solutions to create an enterprise solution. While we are not an O365 standard as of yet we do use it for both on premise and the limited number of O365 users we have.
Read Kendall White's full review
Robert Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Zix is a best practices solution that anyone with secure data should be using

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Zix to ensure that sensitive data is encrypted when sent via email. Our entire organization uses it, as all e-mail gets relayed through the system to check for PII or other data. Given that we do a lot of work with financial and medical information, it is extremely important for us to have a solution that guarantees privacy protection.
  • Encrypts and secures e-mail: Zix transports emails through its own secure, off-network system so attackers have little chance at getting the info to begin with, let alone decrypting it.
  • Rules: Zix lets you set up rules to scan for certain topics or data, like socials or medical data, and then respond accordingly. This means not all e-mail has to go out secure, only the stuff that really needs to be.
  • Accessibility: Recipients who do not have Zix get a link to log on to a portal where they can read their secure messages, but if they have Zix on their own network, the e-mails come through directly to their inbox with a small header that says it was sent securely.
  • Configuration: The UI to configure Zix is rather dated and non-intuitive at times. Some of the configuration options aren't well documented.
  • Updates: I have yet to be able to update Zix without calling support. It is a complicated process. Updating the rules files is easy enough, I just wish the rest of the software was as simple.
  • Recipient UI: While it's nice to have a portal for recipients without Zix to log in to, it looks very dated, much like the other UIs. We've had vendors ask us if it was legitimate because of how basic it is.
Zix is great for anyone who has to send and receive sensitive data like financial or medical records and guarantee their security. If your organization needs to follow regulations like SOX, HIPAA, or something similar, and you have an IT team or managed service provider that can maintain it, Zix is a great solution. I also think it's best suited to an on-premises e-mail solution because of how it integrates with mail flow for scanning, although I believe they have a version for Office 365. If instead, your organization only occasionally sends things secured or does not have the IT support staff to maintain it, it might be worth looking for a different solution. For the most part, once it's installed, it doesn't require much hands-on, but there are enough occasions that without expertise it could remain daunting.
Zix absolutely meets the goal of regulatory compliance. We ourselves are not technically under any regulatory compliance models, but we look to HIPAA, SOX, and various NIST documents as best practices. Zix has pre-configured files and rules for all of these, and many that are not for legal compliance models but also fall under best practices.
From an end-user, sender perspective, there's literally nothing you have to do to use Zix. Just send your e-mail like you always would. If it has sensitive data, Zix will send it through its secure network encrypted. If you do need to send something without information that would trigger a rule, you can set up a subject keyword or flag an e-mail as "sensitive", and it'll encrypt that, too. For recipients, if they do not have Zix, it can be a little awkward, but it's still very functional. They log into a portal, read their message/documents, and can use the portal to reply as well, keeping the information secure in both directions.
Zix is very good about response times and information. They even proactively e-mail us about known issues. I have never had an issue go unresolved, and the support team tends to answer quickly unless it's a strange, complicated request. The only time that happened was doing a search through logs, and that was entirely on me and my unfamiliarity with their flavor of Linux.
Read Robert Paul's full review
Samuel Hadid | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Zix from a user perspective

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix, as you know, is an email gateway solution that helps prevent spam along with some DLP functions. In today's business spam is so abundant and constant that it not only becomes a security concern, but also an issue in terms of resource management. Zix helps our business in this regard.
  • Customizable DLP filters.
  • Easy management.
  • Management interfaces are not that intuitive.
  • Customer support is not as attentive as other products.
While I was not fully involved in the overall Zix solution implementation for the company, I do know that it went better as expected for our large-scale infrastructure; evidently the user database integration was done through an incremental approach in order to reduce the impact on operation environments and most users were informed about the change in order to monitor for any deployment issues. I think this would be even easier on short-scale implementation.
Their DLP solution is pretty efficient and customizable - There's a tool for managing filters, other for managing what's been quarantined, other to manage users. While the controls are not that user-friendly, it is very easy to implement and manage solutions without losing efficiency and/or capabilities. This is pretty helpful in the healthcare industry as you could imagine.
The different pages and controls have a feeling of the bare minimum to them as if the GUI was done without too much effort. This doesn't mean that this solution isn't very capable, on the contrary, but it is sometimes hard to leverage its full potential due to its poor layout making it not very intuitive to use. Very customizable but not so user-friendly.
Read Samuel Hadid's full review
Brad Sarpalius | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Email Encryption Done Right!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Zix to secure our email since we work with sensitive client data.
  • Zix catches outbound mail that was unencrypted and should have been encrypted.
  • Zix provides an easy process for our clients to retrieve encrypted mail.
  • Zix has robust tracking portals that allow us to monitor users.
  • My only wish list item would be for Zix to combine their portals into one.
Zix is well suited for organizations that need to be HIPA compliant. Zix is probably not needed if sensitive data is not found within ones industry.
Yes, the Zix product does help us meet our goals.
I find the Zix product to be very intuitive.
Having one location to go to really streamlines the process.
Read Brad Sarpalius's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2020

Zix is a great solution for email encryption and spam filtering!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is being used by my company to address the need for secure, encrypted emails, both with our partners who are also in the Zix network, and externally with third parties and clients who are outside of the Zix network. Zix also provides us with a comprehensive spam filtering package that filters emails, and tests any links clicked from within an email by our users.
  • Email Encryption - Their protocols are secure, and the process to encrypt is completely customizable with different methods available to provide ease of use for our employees at different levels of computer knowledge.
  • Spam Filtering - Thus far their spam filtering has been top notch and the configuration options provided allow for a very detailed level of granularity depending on user and department.
  • Corporate branding - With any encrypted emails sent by our organization, they are branded prominently for us with our logos and name which aids significantly in maintaining a professional appearance.
  • The only area I've found that needs work is in creating a custom filter rule. They have the option available but it didn't work as well as it should without contacting support. They had to bounce it to a higher level of support so it could be addressed on the development end. However it was resolved quickly and they did whatever they had to do to make it work as it should.
  • There was some issue with communication between their sales department and the deployment team who assisted us, however they were able to get the issues resolved quickly so it was a minimal issue.
Very well suited and painless with their email encryption solution for small businesses and medium sized organizations like the one I work for. I can't imagine there would be any issues with even larger organizations either. Also their spam filtering works great for the same small/medium organizations. I'm not sure how well it would translate to larger organizations.
Zix absolutely meets this goal as their protocols are secure and aren't weakened by the process of making it easy for our employees to use. We have tested internally and externally exchanging mails with "compromising" data that might slip out due to negligence and in every case so far Zix (according to configuration) has either automatically encrypted the message or kept it from being sent and then notifying the user who sent it. It is very well executed.
Zix has top-notch customizability with the way emails can be encrypted. It can be configured to add a button to Outlook, to encrypted with a subject keyword, to encrypt automatically based on types of information in an email, and it works with Outlook, and with the Office365 Outlook Web Application. The interfaces, both with encryption and spam filtering are well designed and incredibly intuitive for the admin team to use also.
It works seamlessly with our corporate Office 365 setup, whether providing manual or automatic encryption based on scanning for specific content inside of emails, link checking, and spam filtering. The content filters are outstanding and anything that manages to slip through as spammers evolve their methods are addressed within a day or even a couple of hours after reporting. Their team is on the ball, developing new filters and putting them in place. It interested seamlessly with O365 and with Outlook and Exchange.
Great, knowledgeable, fast, friendly, definitely an on the ball team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2020

Sleep easy at night with great email encryption that keeps your company compliant

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Zix for email encryption. Almost five years ago, we acquired a federal grant which required the handling of certain Personally Identifiable Information for clients of a program that the grant funds. The grant required additional data security measures including email encryption for emails that contain PII data for these clients. We selected Zix after evaluating several options and based on a trusted reseller's advice.
  • Zix scans outbound emails for personal financial information and encrypts accordingly.
  • Zix scans outbound emails for health information and encrypts accordingly.
  • Zix has an easy end-user interface enabling users to release false-positive encrypted emails without encryption and requiring the end-user to leave an explanation for why the email was released without encryption, therefore, leaving an audit trail.
  • Zix was very easy to implement on our email domain with a few clicks of the mouse.
  • Zix cannot scan PDFs or other image files.
  • Zix errs on the side of false positives for any string of numbers that it assumes might be defined as personal financial information.
  • Zix management console has room for improvement in terms of navigation and UI.
Zix is well-suited for all manner of personal financial information (PFI), health information (HIPAA) and educational information (FERPA), collectively called personally identifiable information (PII). For those messages that contain this information, Zix requires encryption. For those false-positives, Zix will email and administrator(s) and the end-user that sent the email that a message was placed in quarantine for human review to determine whether to release the email with or without encryption. Zix also can detect other Zix gateways and pass all messages to and from the remote Zix gateway with encryption. This is noticed by the end-user by the presence of a blue banner in the email message body.
Zix meets the regulatory compliance as specified in my previous responses. In addition to the controls that I can administer directly, the "rules" can only be modified by the Zix support team, thereby ensuring that myself, as an end-user with administrative permissions, cannot override the system for my own benefit.
While the Zix web-based management console has improved in the five years we've had it, it can still use improvement. It is not an attractive user interface and the navigation is not quite user-intuitive. Fortunately, I do not need to use the console much. Unfortunately, it takes me about 15 minutes to re-learn the console the dozen or so times per year that I log into it.
We do not use the other features of Zix and we are not a Microsoft 365 shop. We use Google G Suite for email and other services.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2020

To Encrypt, or Not to Encrypt - With Compliance There is no Question

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is currently being used by the Business Department to share confidential information with our financial institutions. We are also using it in IT when we need to communicate credentials with our partners. It has solved the business problem of needing to transfer information through email securely.
  • Easy manual encryption. You can define a key word or phrase that will trigger an email and contents to be encrypted.
  • Simple encryption rules interface. Zix supplies some pre-defined rules for auto-encryption such has for HIPPA, FERPA, PII, etc that will automatically encrypt if certain keywords or patterns are detected. These can be modified to fit your company requirements.
  • Automatically encrypts email if you are sending to another Zix customer. This makes the encryption process seamless because they do not need to log in to the Zix gateway to retrieve encrypted email. The email and contents are automatically encrypted.
  • Zix will customize your portal, so it is more seamless for your clients and partners.
  • The configuration for web mail, such as Gmail, was not well documented.
  • The default encryption policies initially generated a high volume of false-positives and encrypted much more than we intended.
Zix is well suited if you are looking for a solution that allows you to securely communicate through email. In our case we needed the ability to transmit email communication containing personal financial information that needed to be secure. It is also a good solution for sharing secure credential information with trusted partners.
Yes, Zix meets this goal by providing encryption policies based on regulatory compliance such as HIPPA and FERPA. They also have good PII, SSN, and Credit Card policies that identify patterns to ensure anything with private information such as credit card number and social security number are automatically encrypted. This gives us the peace of mind to know that everything that should get encrypted is getting encrypted.
The manual encryption is easy to set up and easy for our end users. The Zix gateway portal is very intuitive and our partners that access encrypted information had no problem getting their account set up and accessing encrypted email and attachments. Working with other Zix clients is seamless, even if they have web mail. The Zix gateway identifies other Zix users and automatically encrypts the email communication.
Zix's unified platform allows us to protect our information through encryption and archives the information for reference. It protects our PII from the inbox. There is no additional client necessary to run the encryption, which streamlines our email and encryption initiatives. The encryption runs seamlessly, so from the staff perspective there was very little new they had to learn.
  • Online training
Zix support has been very responsive. They worked well with us when we initially purchased Zix to get it integrated with Gmail. They also worked with us to customize our Zix Email Encryption Gateway that our partners log into to retrieve encrypted email. The couple times we have run into issues, they have been very responsive in resolving the issues.
The scalability of Zix is very good. We can add additional clients as needed, not just at renewal time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Zip your way to a secure email with ZIX!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for secure emails to and from our customers sending sensitive information such as account numbers and social security numbers or change of personal information.
  • I put the ZIX tutorial button and the login button on our bank's website for our customers to be able to use to contact us.
  • Customers send all the banking information to send and receive wire transfers. We used to enforce in person only.
  • I receive all the outside emails from our customers and they were not able to send sensitive information before. Now they can give me everything I need to research before I call them back!
  • I am able to securely send contracts with sensitive information.
  • I don't like that it skips a line when hitting "enter". Especially for my signature and info area.
  • I would like more fonts.
All of our customers need to send sensitive information whether it is account numbers, social security numbers or contracts. We were having to encrypt PDFs with a password prior.
Yes, it does. We have had this worry and need for quite a long time and now we are compliant and feel we are doing our due diligence to protect everyone.
No problems registering. No problems finding and using the options I need. Way easier than Outlook.
It identifies when attachments are added to emails and encrypts even when I forget to put our keyword on the subject line.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Zix is a Home Run

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business unit is a HIPAA covered entity and we needed a secure mail platform in order to remain compliant. This is just for our business unit and some Corporate HR and Financial teams at this point, but it will probably roll out globally in the next year or so.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Works just like the secure mail feature you would use with your bank or healthcare.
  • Cost effective.
  • Very good support when you reach out to the Zix Support center.
  • We have a hosted solution and it was very straight forward to implement.
  • Should be able to import contacts
  • Should be able to scan pictures for PHI
  • should be a mobile app like all of the big free email apps like Goggle, AOL, Yahoo etc
[It is well suited for] sending PHI securely. [It has] the ability to scan emails for PHI when the user doesn't click the Send Encrypted button. Mail is scanned and when it detects PHI, it automatically encrypts the mail. Sometimes we don't need it to go out secure but have had emails get identified as having PHI in it. Always better safe than sorry, but it can be cumbersome for the recipient.
As stated, we are a HIPAA covered entity and Zix meets our requirements for not only HIPAA but for our own IP protection. This tool also utilizes financial, TAX and credit card protection as well. Everything we need it to protect, it does!
Because it is very easy to use for not only the sender but also for the receiver that is picking it up on the portal. If they were to implement the suggested add-ons I listed above, my rating would go up to 9
Zix protects us for everything we need to protect. Like healthcare, finance, Tax and Credit Card. It is a stand alone product and does impact any of our applications.
  • Online training
  • Ease of use
  • Cost effective
  • Great support and easy to implement
If we are going to expand, Zix makes the changes on their end and nothing else. Very nice.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Zix Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix is used across the organization for secure email.
  • Great support
  • Integration with GSuite
  • Ability to send larger attachments
Zix is easy to use and is integrated with GSuite.
Yes, the Zix service ensures that PII data is sent securely.
Users can send a secure email by having a keyword such as secure anywhere in the subject line.
We do not use Microsoft 365.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Good product overall.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zix for email encryption for all staff. We are a bank, it's required for regulatory.
  • Integrated well with Google corp apps
  • Automatically encrypts when needed
  • Back-end management is not that strong.
It's great for banks.
Yes. We are a bank. We use it for that. Our regulator knows Zix and uses Zix.
Easy in general. Tough to set up feature where customers can upload documents from a link on our email address.
Read this authenticated review
Jerry Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2019

What the Zix are you talking about?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the ZixGateway to monitor outbound email and securely encrypt on demand, or based on policy, email containing confidential or electronic Patient Health Information (ePHI) ensuring HIPAA compliant email communications. We also use the ZixOne MDM product to sandbox corporate email on mobile devices.
  • Widespread usage of ZixGateway in the Healthcare arena makes end to end encryption very seamless for our users.
  • The product is easy to use. Our users can encrypt either through the use of an Outlook add-on that puts a "Send Securely" button in Outllook for Windows. Though there is no client for those users on a Mac, or those who use OWA, they can still easily encrypt by inserting a keyword in the subject line. As a safety net, the rules that are processed at the Gateway allow for automatic encryption when end users forget.
  • The ZixOne product has grown in functionality over the years and now includes the ability to encrypt from the mobile device. It's become a very stable, reliable program.
  • The backend management of the ZixGateway could be simplified. It took a while to get the hang of how the rules interacted with one another. That having been said, once we had it tweaked out, it's been relatively hands off. Since we rely on this for HIPAA compliance, an improvement in this area would be a periodic "health" check of our appliance to ensure we've not made a rules change that has invalidated the intended use of the product.
  • We would have liked to seen the ZixOne MDM product allow integration of calendar items with the device's native calendar application. That was the biggest complaint of our users, that their business calendar, which contained no ePHI, was now segregated from there personal calendar forcing them manage two separate calendars.
This recommendation is based on the combined rating of the ZixGateway (10) and ZixOne (8). The lowered score for ZixOne is based on my recommended improvements. ZixGateway is well suited for anyone with a need to encrypt email, manually or by rule. Due to the number of Zix clients in the Healthcare arena currently using ZixGateway, it is especially suitable due to the seamless process for the recipient. When the sender's ZixGateway is communicating with a ZixGateway at the receiver's site, the email is encrypted by the sending ZixGateway, decrypted by the receiving ZixGateway, and delivered to the recipient with no extra effort on their end. By comparison, most of the other vendors we evaluated forced their recipients to a Portal from which they could retrieve the secured email, requiring them to maintain yet another set of credentials.
With its safety net of rules-based enforcement, Zix absolutely fills the bill when you're looking at compliance with federal requirements. On more than one occasion, I've gotten an urgent call from an upset end user who'd forgotten to send a document containing ePHI securely. In every case, I was able to review the Zix logs and determine that the ZixGateway rules had determined the ePHI was present and appropriately encrypted the email. This is priceless. In a recent discussion with our Executive Director, I was asked, "Is it worth the money?" My response was, "I would not want to operate this business without it."
From an end user standpoint, it's a 10. The complexity of the back-end management tools bring that overall score down slightly.
Outstanding support every time we've called.
Read Jerry Robinson's full review
Robert Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Has Potential

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zix for email encryption, security, and business continuity across the entire organization.
  • Its data loss protection filter works particularly well with very little false positives.
  • Seamless encryption for sending emails to existing Zix customers is a plus.
  • The hosted platform could use a much-needed facelift. Can be a bit cumbersome to use and is not very easy to navigate.
  • The ZixOne App should incorporate access to the local calendars on the device. Many users use local calendars to coordinate their personal and work life and not having this functionality has been a burden. Inserting attachments in messages with this app is also clunky as you can only attach one picture or file at a time (no multiple selections) and it goes into the body of the message instead of being a separate attachment.
It's a well-suited product for any organization that is required to protect sensitive information where compliance is a must.
Yes, Zix most definitely meets this goal. With the appropriate DLP rules in place kicking back the non-encrypted email with sensitive information forces users to follow established policies for safe email handling practices.
As mentioned before, the hosted platform needs plenty of updating to make it more user-friendly. We used a competing product before that was much easier to use. We switched just to combine the protection service we had with them with the preexisting email encryption services we already had with Zix as we were able to negotiate a better price. The encryption piece was the deciding factor to move to Zix rather than the competitor because our regulators (NCUA, Florida OFR) use Zix as well.
Read Robert Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2019

It's great...no complaints at all

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Zix company-wide for encrypting outbound email to maintain HIPAA compliance.
  • The ability to recognize patterns and keywords to trigger automatic encryption.
  • No complaints, the software works exactly as designed.
Perfect for healthcare and HIPAA.
Yes, extremely well.
Just a simple keyword anywhere in the message...couldn't be easier.
Read this authenticated review
Frank Vrba | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Zix and your encryption fix.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for email encryption and some restrictions such as, we don't allow .zip files in or out except in specific cases.
  • Their support is fast and very good.
  • The Zix server we have does a great job of accurately encrypting email that should be, even if we forget.
  • I really like that we can manually encrypt any email we want.
  • The interface. It's not at all user-friendly or intuitive.
Health care is very well suited, for sure, but any business that needs secure communications would benefit.
Yes but that's not my area to report on.
The interface is bad but after that, you don't have to do anything. It just works.
Read Frank Vrba's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2019

Zix Secure Email Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zix Gateway is used across the whole organization to protect ePHI and scan/encrypt all outgoing emails.
  • Support.
  • Ease of use.
  • It is pricey.
The suite of products helps to ensure the client's information is protected, as well as helps users to be protected from themselves.
Yes, It has met our need to encrypt any potential ePHI as it travels over the internet.
Some things take a few clicks to get to, but it is always improving.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Ryan, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2017

Zix Gateway and email ecryption review from a law firm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by paralegal and legal assistants in our office. Zix addresses security and compliance concerns by automatically filtering and securing communications being sent out of our office. With past software, users had more control over what was secured but with Zix the communications are done behind the scenes automatically.
  • One of the things that Zix does well is that it not only provides security to plain text it also makes sure attachments are in compliance as well
  • Being able to add many policies and include/exclude users on the back end provides great flexibility when managing many different types of users. Some of our users require more compliance than others so the ability to create an abundance of policies has been great
  • The integration with Exchange and Outlook for our users has been a positive experience. It took some time to create all the policies at the beginning but everything seems to be work great.
  • We had to create a policy to force encrypt emails that may not meet criteria of policies in place. I believe having an add in or macro that will allow users to encrypt on demand would be a good addition. Perhaps this is already an option so I could be wrong but with our environment we had to setup up a keyword that forces encryption. Many users seem to forget this keyword, causing delays.
  • I have been told that recipients sometime struggle with accessing Zix and creating username/passwords to access our items. I believe more instruction and explanation to those receiving may eliminate these obstacles.
  • One of the biggest annoyances I found was that Zix has multiple portals for the admin. I believe there are 3-4 portals where I need to log in separately to do different things to manage our Zix Gateway, users, policies, etc. It would seem reasonable that all these platforms could be combined into one.
Zix is well suited in an environment where personal and sensitive information is used and shared electronically. One of the big reasons I choose Zix was that Zix works on its own without much requirements from the users. So if an attorney in our office decides to send an email with a Social security number or other personal data, Zix will encrypt the email for the attorney. This protects the firm, the client, and all parties involved. In a world where personal information is stolen daily, it is vital to have something that protects humans from themselves.
Zix definitely meets our needs to be complaint from a regulatory standpoint. Our biggest need was for HIPAA compliance but have found that Zix protects in many other ways that may not fall under HIPAA guidelines. It has also been beneficial on the financial side as we are in compliance with local legal guidelines along with other financial regulatory requirements when sending information with our banks and external accounts.
From an admin side I believe that the portals need to be combined into one main web based portal. This would make it easier to access for admins when setting up policies and trying to view reports. That is the one area I would say Zix is not so easy to use. However, for the end user I believe the product is great as they really have little involvement.
Read Kevin Ryan, MBA's full review
Peggy Saunders | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2017

Early review!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have set parameters by which email messages from any of our employees which contain certain keywords or phrases will activate Zix. We have a concern that our email correspondence with clients and third parties be secure.
  • Since we have only been using Zix for a few weeks, I have very limited experience to base comments on. Our initial experience is that it appears easy for clients to use (not necessarily true for third parties with which we deal).
  • The fact that key words or phrases will trigger email being sent by Zix is a great feature.
  • Zix appears to be user friendly within our staff.
  • Our real estate paralegal reports that lenders and other companies which have heightened security on their end are not always able to receive email that has been sent securely by our office users of Zix.
  • When our emails are not received because of lack of compatability, we experience problems.
Excellent for sending correspondence to clients in normal settings. [Concerned] that correspondence is not being received by lenders and other parties who have their own secure systems in place which may limit receipt of emails from our office.
The effectiveness appears to be a factor of the quality of systems in use by the recipients.
Limited experience. May have better/ more detailed comments after more use of the product.
Read Peggy Saunders's full review
Joel Segal | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2017

My Take on Zix

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Zix across the entire organization. We are utilizing it to protect information being sent by and to our organization that may include PHI, PCI and HIPAA related information.
  • It analyzes emails that may contain data that should be encrypted and automatically encrypts that data.
  • It allows for specific personnel to bypass Zix and send an email that should not need to be encrypted.
  • It allows for recipients outside of our organization to respond in an encrypted format to our users.
  • Recipients outside of our organization have found that it is cumbersome to have to login to the zix portal to receive it.
  • When corresponding with a recipient back and forth, we have received feedback that not all the email recipients have received the email and it is not easy to trace the email.
  • Better logging of whether a recipient received and opened that email.
  • Easier way to delete a sent zix email/revoke that email.
It is great to use Zix when we send listings or reports to some of our locals. We also use it heavily when we correspond with our software vendor.

It is less appropriate when Zix incorrectly identifies an email as containing materials and auto encrypts that email.
Zix helps us meet requirements laid out by HIPAA and state regulations for sending data that contains personal information such as an SSN. By encrypting the data, we ensure that data sent from our end gets to point B in an encrypted and secure uncorruppted state.
Overall, our end users just need to hit a button to send a secure email or have a keyword in the subject or body of the email to encrypt the email.
Read Joel Segal's full review

About Zix

With organizations facing new and unprecedented challenges, the need for a secure modern workplace has never been greater. As companies seek to achieve more with less and keep their increasingly remote workforces productive, they also face an array of evolving security and compliance needs. The Zix Secure Cloud provides a suite of productivity, security and compliance tools built on what the vendor describes as a secure, easy-to-manage platform designed to help users meet these challenges. It combines Microsoft 365 services, advanced threat protection, email encryption, large secure file sharing and unified information archiving – all backed by Zix support. The vendor boasts more than 80,000 organizations, including institutions in healthcare, finance and government, trust Zix to enable their employees to do their best work.

Zix Features

Has featurePolicy-based email protection and data loss prevention
Has featureGold standard email encryption
Has featureUnlimited cloud-based storage and eDiscovery for over 50+ data sources
Has featureSecure transmission and indefinite storage, sharing any file type up to 100 GB
Has featureAdvanced threat protection with adaptive, machine learning capabilities and multi-layer filtering
Has featureMicrosoft 365 access backed by 24/7/365 live support

Zix Videos (2)

Watch Establish a modern workplace for better data sharing, collaboration, flexibility, and remote work.

Watch Enabling a Remote Workforce with Zix

Zix Downloadables

Zix Competitors

Zix Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Zix Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Zix Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: 16 Languages Supported