BlackLine

BlackLine

Customer Verified
Top Rated
Score 8.9 out of 10
Top Rated
BlackLine

Overview

What is BlackLine?

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle.

In October 2020, BlackLine acquired Rimilia, an...
Read more

Recent Reviews

Great usage!

10 out of 10
December 26, 2022
I use BlackLine for journal entries. BlackLine organizes them and allows us to view other coworkers' journals as well. The filters help us …
Continue reading

My Review

8 out of 10
December 22, 2022
Use Blackline during month-end closing for the account recon. Our whole entity is using the process in order to avoid paper filling and …
Continue reading

Automation is key

9 out of 10
December 02, 2022
My experience with BlackLine has grown over the last 2 years as our company utilizes more of what BlackLine has to offer. The automation …
Continue reading

Good accounting software

8 out of 10
December 01, 2022
BlackLine is used for tracking month end tasks, create journal entries linked to ERP, perform reconciliations, store data source and …
Continue reading

You Need BlackLine!

10 out of 10
July 09, 2022
We use Blackline to complete all of our month-end account reconciliations (over 1500 GL accounts). We also use it for Task Management in …
Continue reading

BlackLine does its job

7 out of 10
June 11, 2022
We use BlackLine to reconcile our patient clearing account and to reconcile what comes in our deposits against what we post to accounts in …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of BlackLine, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Product Demos

BlackLine Introduction
02:09
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is BlackLine?

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle.

In October 2020, BlackLine acquired Rimilia, an AR automation solution. Rimilia's capabilities are now part of the BlackLine platform.

BlackLine Video

BlackLine Introduction

BlackLine Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 188)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Chris Weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine is a great solution to complement and enhance our SAP instance. We utilize account reconciliations, tasks, variance analysis, compliance, and journal entry models. A lot of these models are now tied to our month-end and year-end processes which have helped us close our books quickly and efficiently. When it comes to SOX audits, our BlackLine systems pose few issues due to the audit behavior nature that is engrained in the culture. I find it easy to satisfy my audits with BlackLine, and for that I am thankful!
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Starbucks initially implemented the BlackLine solution to go paperless for journals (using tasks) and reconciliation preparation and approval back in 2012. In 2019 we implemented the matching and journal module for our revenue accounting team, which supports over 10,000 retail stores and roughly 1.5 billion in sales monthly. After a few years of learnings and working with BlackLine and various account managers, we were able to realize time savings of over 200 hours per month for a single team. In 2021, journals and matching expanded to other teams within the Starbucks accounting organization, and another 200 hours per month of time savings were achieved. This took partnering with members of the BlackLine development team and having some tough conversations with our support teams at BlackLine. We had some challenges with new releases and had to actively work to understand the impact to our users and escalate tickets as needed. In 2022 we hit a good stride and truly had an amazing story to share. As winners of the 2022 Modern Accounting Award, Starbucks was recognized as pioneers. I value our partnership with BlackLine, UHY, and our internal technology department to achieve success to date.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
My company uses BlackLine for monthly and yearly reconciliations and tasks. It helps centralize all our needs vs. using several other software such as Google docs, box, etc. Everything is extremely user-friendly; the interface is easy to follow, and you are able to make notes on reconciliations and tasks, so whoever is approving can read it. BlackLine is pretty customizable per user, we use the matching feature for some of our reconciliations, and it has been a complete time saver.
December 26, 2022

Great usage!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use BlackLine for journal entries. BlackLine organizes them and allows us to view other coworkers' journals as well. The filters help us find certain things in long works.
December 22, 2022

My Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Use Blackline during month-end closing for the account recon. Our whole entity is using the process in order to avoid paper filling and increase recon convenience. Also the recon history is much easier to find. Approval is also convenient if the manager is out of office. Blackline helps a lot
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it to faciliate account reconciliations, journal entry approvals and task management. Our various SAP systems automatically send account balances and journal entries to BlackLine. We can also manually import account reconciliations for our locations that are not on SAP.
December 02, 2022

Automation is key

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
My experience with BlackLine has grown over the last 2 years as our company utilizes more of what BlackLine has to offer. The automation available within BlackLine have been a huge time saver when it comes to posting entries, analyzing accounts and submitting final reconciliations. Highly recommend for companies looking to move beyond manual entries and Excel backup, as BlackLine can accommodate so much more than what I originally thought.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine has helped to streamline our Reconciliation process for timely close and reporting at our company. We have implemented it globally and help to meet our compliance for reporting. BlackLine has added compliance to SOX controls for better performance and execution. We have over 700 users who prepare, approve and review our reconciliation.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine brings automation, standardization and visibility to our organization's accounting and finance function. It integrates well with other systems and brings a welcome level of improved efficiencies and accuracies. Highly recommend BlackLine to all companies.
July 09, 2022

You Need BlackLine!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Blackline to complete all of our month-end account reconciliations (over 1500 GL accounts). We also use it for Task Management in our Finance/Accounting team. What used to be a very manual and time-consuming process each month (completing and reviewing account reconciliations) is now an efficient and streamlined process within our organization. Consistency and automation are crucial for our growing organization, and Blackline provides that to us.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine is used in the accounting department. We are using it to be more consistent with recons and tasks--stored in one location. This year we implemented and used the variance analysis component and it worked extremely well. It was convenient to have variances automatically highlighted and the analysts' comments in one document for review vs several.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use BlackLine to reconcile our patient clearing account and to reconcile what comes in our deposits against what we post to accounts in our EMR. BlackLine allows us to better identify what has or has not been posted and to drill down at a granular level to find what is missing.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use BlackLine for month-end close process, creating journal entries, tasks, variances, and balance sheet reconciliations. Prior to implementing master journal entries, keeping up with prepaid entries was much more difficult, this has now become a much easier task. During close it was difficult to determine where the team was with journal entries, now I can look in BlackLine and see exactly what journal entries, tasks, variances, and reconciliations have been completed and which have not been completed. BlackLine makes it easy to review and certify or reject back to the user with a note. Over the past 10 years, BlackLine has made major improvements and has added different modules or systems to make our job much easier.
Stephanie Clevenger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use Blackline to manage our account reconciliations, prepaid amortizations, some accruals, and some tasks. Blackline made tracking and managing our account reconciliation process much easier when we switched to remote work from home status. Having one trusted source for all of our reconciliations made our audits and SEC filings go swifter and easier. I personally like the function that allows the reconciliation submission and approval history along with all pertinent documents to be emailed directly from Blackline. This made my audit support response times significantly shorter.

We used the task function to manage the monthly close process for one of our divisions, it was very useful to have the audit trail of submissions and approvals for the various tasks done by remote employees. We are looking to roll out this capability to our full accounting group later this calendar year, to replace the various Excel spreadsheets were currently use.




Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
At our firm, we are primarily using BlackLine to upload and track our reconciliations. We are using it more as a cover page for the final reconciliation of the accounts we use. All accounts are uploaded into BlackLine after being reconciled in Excel format. We then finalize them and upload the detail into BlackLine for when the auditors come in. It makes life so much easier to log into BlackLine, open up an account (from revenue, liability, or cash accounts) and click a link with all the details in the same exact format.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use BlackLine to close each period (monthly). BlackLine helps us easily close our books and make journal entries efficiently. Everything can be viewed in one location by each member that needs to see it. This makes the process of approving and posting journal entries very simple. Since all our finance team members have access it makes our period close less time-consuming.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine is used by management to verify that the amounts for recurring entries match what should be in the reporting system. It is my responsibility to maintain these workbooks and ensure that adequate supporting documentation is uploaded to BlackLine to validate all entries recorded. It is crucial that consistency is applied amongst all reconciliations of a similar account in order to optimize our senior management's understanding when reviewing the accounts. BlackLine reconciliations include items such as audit fee payments, rent accruals, prepaid expenses/amortization, and detailed debt schedules, providing a breakdown of scheduled principal and interest payments. These schedules are then assessed monthly to ensure accuracy before being certified and reviewed by a senior.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
BlackLine is used for journal entries, reconciliations, tracking tasks, and completing variances within our organization. It is a great platform for keeping all your accounting functions in one area and for storing and maintaining all accounting documents in a paperless format. Any issue that we have had has been addressed in a timely manner.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use BlackLine for all aspects of our close process. We utilize the journal entries, tasks, reconciliations, and variance features in this program. BlackLine is able to talk to our accounting program, SAP, which is extremely important and helpful. BlackLine allows us to make sure our balance sheet and P&Ls are correct.
June 03, 2022

BlackLine Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use BlackLine as our primary software for reconciling all kinds of accounts that the company uses. We also use it to manage various types of tasks that our accountants complete. BlackLine makes the automation and reconciliation of everything so much easier, especially when dealing with a global company.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Currently, we use BlackLine to track monthly and quarterly tasks to ensure timeliness and accuracy for reporting purposes. Each month as tasks are completed by a preparer, items roll up to a reviewer to ensure the accuracy of monthly tasks are performed as needed. Also, as monthly tasks are completed Accounting team prepares reconciliations of activity to ensure items align to General Ledger balances.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use BlackLine for reconciliations and are in the process of implementing it for task lists and variances. I am primarily a reviewer, and BlackLine provides me with one place to go to see the status of our team's work and deadlines. Previously, I had to navigate to many different locations. The workflow notifications streamline the review process, as I do not have to continually check to see when items are ready for review.
Return to navigation