BlackLine Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
153 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 122)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 10, 2021
Marta Budzan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackline system is a unified place where users, preparers, approvers and reviewers come together to make sure that the data reflected in Blackline system clearly represents the subtotals in the General Ledger. It is a wonderful upgrade from performing account reconciliations manually in Excel spreadsheets. In the old way, a lot of the reconciliations would get lost and since no one stored them electronically, there would be no way of obtaining the originals. Thankfully to Blackline, all the information is stored online and is accessible by everyone at any time of the day. This makes preparing, approving, reviewing and analyzing data extremely easy for all the users.

It is a fantastic upgrade from performing reconciliations by the use of only Excel spreadsheets. This is a great improvement, which allows this system to always have the most up to date information on file. Blackline allows for easy and seamless operations, making audit reviews much easier then before. The following are just a few benefits of utilizing Blackline system:

Ensure balance sheet completeness and accuracy.
Centralize and standardize the month-end close.
Automate manual processes and optimize time.
Unify intercompany accounting for global alignment.
  • Ensure balance sheet completeness and accuracy.
  • Centralize and standardize the month-end close.
  • Automate manual processes and optimize time.
  • Unify intercompany accounting for global alignment.
  • Orchestrate and automate GL close activities.
  • More user friendly site
  • Too many buttons to click to submit a reconciliation for approval
  • Training available on an easy accessible platform
Blackline is well suited for Balance sheet reconciliations. It allows for any user to have access to all the different types of accounts in one unified system. This aids in audit concerns since all of the supporting information gets uploaded in a timely manner upon preparing the reconciliations. This system allows for faster approvals and reviews since all of the information related to various accounts can be found in one location.
Read Marta Budzan's full review
July 22, 2021
Joseph Healan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire team is using it across several plants and other divisions. It helps greatly by giving us a framework to standardize older disparate legacy charts of accounts and allows management to compare plants and similar operating divisions. Now a change in the COA is global instead of one plant or division at a time.
  • Standardization is improved
  • Process training becomes global instead of one work area at a time
  • Charts of accounts can be shared and mapped to allow for individual and global reporting
  • Could use the ability to send an in process item to someone to get help or for review
  • I was not inolved but I know in general that the software is expensive
It is tailor made for a larger company with many divisions or facilities that need standardized homogenous reporting but also need independent review of each areas specific information. An accountant that processes entries for one area can do the same process for another area without the need for additional training or system access.
Read Joseph Healan's full review
May 10, 2021
Fahreen Rattani CPA CMA, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, use Blackline for Account reconciliations. Blackline is a user-friendly tool that is quick and easy to use and approval support. It connects to our current ERP and provides the user's accessibility to allocate account recs to different users. As a user for monthly reconciliations, Blackline provides support and customer care for each of its clients.
  • Ease of use.
  • SoX controlled.
  • Ability to provide customer support.
  • Slow to clone account reconciliations.
  • Needs additional support to be loaded.
Besides the account reconciliation functionality, I am not an avid user of the other extended users of Blackline, however, there are loads of other functionality which would be an exciting opportunity to learn about. Blackline has provided numerous customer benefits including many seminars and webinars where I have learned the vast functions that Blackline has to offer
Read Fahreen Rattani CPA CMA, PMP's full review
May 03, 2021
Matt Gustus, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is used internationally by all of our finance teams. This helps us track and document our review of journal entries and account reconciliations.
  • Ease of Use
  • Responsiveness to changing accounting landscape
  • Helpful support function
  • Full implementation can be cumbersome and involves IT
It is helpful in documenting everything we need it to for SOX compliance. It reduces the time spent answering auditor questions as we direct them to BlackLine for the majority of schedules and support.
  • Online training
The team has always responded to my questions in less than 24 hours with an appropriate answer.
Read Matt Gustus, CPA's full review
July 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackline is being used across the finance and accounting departments globally, and keeps all our account reconciliations in one place for all team members to access, and allows us to also keep our task list for month end close in a centralized location. This allows great efficiency during the close process.
  • Controls account reconciliation access
  • Centralization of documents and information
  • Easy to use
  • Keep listening to the users
Great for account reconciliations, and it is also great for task management. Matching is another useful platform and allows various items to be cross-validated. This can be credit card transactions, back transactions, or other data as you see fit to add. It is a versatile system and great to use.
Read this authenticated review
July 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being done by the whole finance department.
  • Ease of use - easy for a new user to pick up.
  • Standard templates make reviewing recs simple as you know what to expect with each rec.
  • BlackLine has a robust approval process and it allows you to live-time check the status of the reconciliation. Is it still being prepared? Or is it prepared and we are waiting on approval? Also, it tracks the date it is prepared, reviewed, approved, etc. so that you can go back and check that everything has been done within whatever you set deadlines are.
  • Homepage is a little bit wanting for more. But it has been improving since we have been using BlackLine the past year.
It is good for an entity with a lot of BS accounts and requires standard templates. Auditors appreciated our adoption to Blackline as it gives them an easy way to validate our internal controls around reconciliation deadlines. Auditors can also get access to Blackline so it saves us time from having to send them every rec at yearend.

Smaller organizations might not find Blackline as helpful as it might offer more than what they need.
There are always reps available
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are trying to standardize our recs for all business units so they all look in sync. In addition, Blackline is tremendously helping us when it comes to our periodic audits. We are able to give the auditors access so they can pull any support they need, in turn reducing the time it takes for us to compile the data for them. Blackline is currently being used across our entire organization.
  • Helps with audits, you don't have to waste time pulling support for them.
  • Reduces the number of hours it takes to reconcile accounts. We went from it taking 3-4 days to 1 day for completing 109 recons. Many of which are auto-certified.
  • It serves as a one-stop shop for all our support. No need to go digging in your emails or shared folders.
  • It would help to expand a little more on the type of reports that can be ran.
  • Offer more hands on workshops for users to learn the product in dept.
It's well suited for organizations that truly believe in automation. Also, it's best if multiple modules are purchased as they are all well integrated together. It truly makes a difference from just having one of their modules. It's probably not best suited if the company ends up using it as a data repository or just uploads existing recons as supporting items. Use the predefined templates to get the most out of it.
Read this authenticated review
June 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is used in different departments across the company but only by those who book journal entries and/or are responsible for account reconciliations and their managers. I feel that BlackLine is an asset for all users including those who do not have an accounting background. The website is user friendly and self explanatory. There is not much training needed when adding a new user and showing them the ropes. This is of great help to me as an admin; I do not need to be as involved in new user training and it leaves my time open for other tasks.
  • Reconciliations
  • Journals
  • Account templates
  • More variety in reconciliation templates
BlackLine is well suited for any company, big or small. So far, we only use Journals and reconciliations and we have found them very helpful. We are in the process of implementing tasks. The visibility given to our company by BlackLine is priceless. By adding tasks, we hope to add to that visibility and make sure nothing is missed for our reports.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2020
Laurel Johns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is used throughout our Finance group for Reconciliations, Tasks and Journals. It has allowed us to go paperless and to maintain all our records electronically.
  • Reconciliations are prepared and approved electronically, validating the work is done.
  • Journal [entries] approved in BlackLine assure they have the proper reviews.
  • Documentation is stored electronically, no need for files, binders or storage.
  • I would like to see more dashboarding for Executive oversight.
  • A way to sunset some of the accounts in the reconciliation module.
BlackLine has allowed us to document our reconciliation process, for us to be able to electronically maintain the support and history of the activity. We have been able to save money by not needing to send documents to offsite storage and get rid of file cabinets. Our files are at our finger tips. Easy to respond to the auditors and save both us time.
We have found them to be very helpful and available when we needed assistance.
Read Laurel Johns's full review
November 23, 2020
Jennifer Nicholoff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BlackLine's Reconciliation, Task, and Matching modules. We plan to start implementing the Journals module sometime in the next 6 months. Various teams use the application: tax, cash, corporate AP, and various revenue teams. The other BlackLine Admins and I feel that our users underutilize its functionality and hope to expand our use of the Task and Matching modules to automate more of our work.
  • Setting up match sets is well worth the time and testing involved.
  • Reconciliations are easy to use and provide better visibility through reporting than Excel.
  • Excellent customer service.
  • There is some inconsistency in design of some of the pages (e.g. the Atlas grid is not always available).
  • Some navigation is frustrating (e.g. you have to use a drop-down menu to add a team rather than being able to start typing and use autocomplete to find the team, some selections such as Designate multi-currency on reconciliations take you back to the top of the page rather than just marking it, etc)
  • Can't delete unused data sources.
We're finding matching to be very useful for many types of reconciliations. Our cash team took it up first and they've had great success with it, saving about 30 hours a month across the team. One of our tax departments is working on an accrual vs. payout match set. I've been using it for APIC/Investment in Sub.
Our support people always get back to us quickly and provide effective solutions to our problems and answers to our questions. When there's no quick fix, they keep us apprised of progress. We've successfully resolved many problems, such as updating our certificates, with very little unnecessary back-and-forth or wasted time.
Read Jennifer Nicholoff's full review
November 23, 2020
Michael Restuccia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, BlackLine is being used within the Accounting department including the domestic and international teams. The company first explored an automated Account Reconciliation tool to address the inefficiency that existed within the close cycle. Prior to BlackLine the company manually reconciled all Balance Sheet accounts utilizing Excel spreadsheets. This proved to be inefficient as we had no meaningful way of prioritizing account reconciliations based on either a Risk Rating system or materiality. Furthermore, account reconciliations for which the balances remained the same throughout the year would still require a manual sign off to comply with our SOX controls. Implementing BlackLine reduced the inefficiency of manually signing off on reconciliations, prioritized reconciliations using risk rankings, and automated sign offs for reconciliations for which the balance didn't change month to month.
  • Automation of Account Reconciliation Sign Offs (Auto Certify)
  • Centralized location for all Account Reconcilations
  • Ability to Manage Account Reconciliation Frequency
  • Dashboards
  • More flexibility around addressing erroneous balances imported into BlackLine
  • Reporting
BlackLine is well suited for managing Account Reconciliations especially if you currently manage your reconciliation through Excel workbooks. Not only can you have account reconciliation automatically signed off, but you can also effectively manage the frequency of when the reconciliations is performed. This allows the accountants to focus on the value added tasks and addressing the high risk accounts.
The BlackLine support is very responsive and is delivered with the highest level of professionalism.
Read Michael Restuccia's full review
November 23, 2020
S.Michelle Chan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My A&F teams have been using BlackLine for Account Reconciliation, Journal Entries, and Task Management for a little more than three years. It saves us tremendous time during the closing period, more accuracy, transparency and control. The experience I have had with BlackLine implementation consultants and BlackLine support team are remarkable.
  • Great customer review makes it easier to convince the leadership to come on board
  • Great user experience makes it easier to introduce new functionality to the team
  • Unfinished products makes me hope more and better
  • More fields available in the reporting functionality
  • More visibility on account reconciliation template
BlackLine is well suited for aid to the ERP system and not ERP system replacement.
BlackLine support team is very helpful and knowledgeable.
Read S.Michelle Chan's full review
November 23, 2020
Bharathi Thiru, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used BlackLine for accounting Journal entries during month end close and also we used account reconciliation module for reconciling all of our high risk reconciliations. We also used some level of Task module during our close. All of this modules helped to close our accounting books in a orderly manner.
  • Journal entries are booked from one place and can be viewed by both reviewer and preparer.
  • BlackLine makes review process easier.
  • BlackLine makes paper less accounting environment.
  • The integration of Blackline Journal module and our accounting ERP always challenging. Sometime we have to seek help from help desk to fix some issues such as failed Journal entries.
BlackLine is well suited for matching where you have a strong identifier between the data sets being used. BlackLine is also well suited for journal entries that are based off strong sources such as bank transactions. BlackLine is not well suited for transactions that do not have a unique identifier.
Read Bharathi Thiru, CPA's full review
November 23, 2020
Dennis Herrera Elizondo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is being used to manage tasks related to month end close activities for the Record to report, order to cash and procure to pay. It has been implemented for the different shared service centers that supports the controlling organization, so it has been a global solution for the company. And I can say that it really solves the issue of having accurate and up to date status of month end close.
  • Up to date status of activities.
  • Reliable source to get reports to perform analytics.
  • Get rid of shared spreadsheets to control checklists.
  • Integrated solutions, such as reports.
  • System admins be able to create columns with custom data.
  • Mass maintenance of tasks, it is kind of painful.
If you are using shared spreadsheets to control your month end close activities and checklists, BlackLine will eliminate the need of having several users waiting to update an Excel file, and then be able to review that file to have the true status of what is going on. BlackLine centralizes that and simplifies the way month end close is being monitored.
I rarely need support from the BlackLine team because it is very easy to use and doesn't give me major issues.
Read Dennis Herrera Elizondo's full review
November 23, 2020
Greg Penkert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UMC utilizes the Journals, Accounts, Tasks, and Transaction Matching products in Blackline. These products allow us to automate and make our close process more efficient. We have eliminated the manual process of documentation, review, and approval and have eliminated mounds of paper and shelves with binders. We have also given access to our external auditors which has made the audit process more efficient.
  • Utilize Tasks to document and ensure key control process are completed.
  • Access for external auditors to reduce time preparing schedules and providing supporting documentation.
  • Automates the preparation, documentation, review, and approval of monthly journal entries, account reconciliations, and other related tasks.
  • Assigning user access is a little confusing if have multiple entities.
Blackline was quick and easy to implement. UMC experienced an immediate improvement in reducing time spent on our monthly close process. Users were able to begin utilizing Blackline right away because of the ease of use. Accounting staff were excited about the impact that Blackline had on eliminating manual processes and the use of paper.
Blackline support responds quickly and ensures the resolution of any issues. Account managers are always in touch to make sure users are getting the most out of Blackline.
Read Greg Penkert's full review
November 23, 2020
Alina J. Orriols | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a global telecommunications company. We have over 200 entities, and I have implemented account reconciliations in about 50 of these entities. Prior to BlackLine, we had zero visibility in some entities as to whether they were even doing account reconciliations. And there was no evidence of reviews, no centralized place to store them, and no standards or internal controls. It was all done in Excel totally manually.
  • Maintain internal control so a preparer of a reconciliation cannot approve their own
  • Maintains history of a reconciliation, providing the "full story" of the account
  • Accessibility of BlackLine systems 24/7--I work in several time zones and we can all be on the same page
  • Creation of customized reports is still a bit confusing
  • Creation of dashboards is also still a bit confusing
I only have experience with account reconciliations. We bring in our data a bit differently than most entities--for example, I am unable to go to the sub-ledger level due to my multitude of ERPs and the need for IT resources to create this data flow. Account reconciliation works very well for a global entity, bringing visibility to all our entities. Before, if you wanted to know about an account, you had to know someone in the entity, write an email, have them send an Excel spreadsheet, etc. BlackLine does away with all of that by providing one place to see everything for all entities.
The support staff is excellent. They respond very quickly and are available 24/7 for the various time zones I work in. They set up calls and provide real results.
Read Alina J. Orriols's full review
November 23, 2020
Vanessa Laird, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using BlackLine for account reconciliations and journal entries. This has allowed us to eliminate paper support and maintain our records in a more organized fashion. We also have an electronic approval process and the ability to monitor our ledger via reports for a high-level view. Our auditors have direct access to our completed reconciliations and journal entries during audits, which reduces the time and effort our staff expends.
  • Automates reconciliations with schedules
  • Adds an approval workflow around recons and journal entries
  • Saves time during an audit
  • Training is lacking, mostly because the system is designed differently for each user
BlackLine is great for accounting and to help make audits more efficient. It allows end-to-end processes, standardization, and reporting. BlackLine streamlines the reconciliation process and allows for a central location for all reconciliations, journal entries, and support. BlackLine is customizable, so I believe it could work for any size company.
When I first began using BlackLine, I found a lack of support; however, we reached out to our representative recently and have been overwhelmed with support. It has been really great!
Read Vanessa Laird, CPA's full review
November 20, 2020
Daniel Hart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NSK uses BlackLine across our Americas region (US, Canada & Mexico) to handle account reconciliations and month-end, quarter-end and year-end task management. It has become a critical part of our accounting journey. The ability to set policy and procedure and require all locations to follow agreed templates brings transparency and clarity to our balance sheet. It has also become a vital part of our audit procedures as we have granted auditor access to both internal and external auditors, allowing them to be more self sufficient in their process and less burdensome on our F&A team.
  • Account reconciliations - Consistency, clarity.
  • Task management - Holistic view into the month end close process.
  • Customer focus - Taking feedback, consulting to move us along the improvement continuum.
  • Being an Oracle shop, we'd like to see a it more native integration with EBS.
I cannot honestly think of a scenario where BlackLine would not be appropriate. Regardless of whether a centralized or decentralized finance and accounting organization, BlackLine can fit in quite nicely. In fact, because it introduces consistency in format (and substance, when staff are trained), being decentralized is far from a deal breaker to make BlackLine an optimal solution.
We have had great support from BlackLine in terms of training and investigating opportunities to leverage some of the many other modules that we are currently not using.
Read Daniel Hart's full review
November 20, 2020
Christopher Boutros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is used to monitor our close processes, account reconciliations, and task management. It is only used in our accounting department, but benefits the entire company by ensuring that the data is accurate. We used to manage the close process in Excel which yielded no accountability and did not assure us that the work was getting done accurately.
  • Easy to use UI.
  • BlackLine system training.
  • Automation.
  • Not all fields have an audit trail.
  • They didn't have an API that worked with Intacct when we initially onboarded them.
It really depends on the needs of the company, but any company that needs to monitor and automate their close process, my first choice is BlackLine.
They are timely and always willing to help.
Read Christopher Boutros's full review
November 20, 2020
Theresa Malone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we use account reconciliations and task management. It is primarily used by members of the General Ledger and Accounts Receivable teams. BlackLine helped us to be efficient with a system that integrated with our ERP, NetSuite. We have also been able to make our account recs more consistent by using the same templates for certain account types. By implementing the tasks, the monthly close meetings have become more efficient and shorter; giving everyone back some time in their day to focus on analysis, etc.
  • Streamlines the account reconciliations so all of the data is in one place.
  • Allows managers to keep track of the monthly close process with ease.
  • One stop shop for the Auditors.
  • The Variance analysis should allow for the comments to be carried to next periods.
  • The reporting module has made great improvements but could be better.
BlackLine is a great tool to house all of the balance sheet reconciliations, including back-up, for both management and auditors. The tasks are a great way to keep track of not only your monthly close, but can also be used for PBC listings for your audits and any other assignments that your company needs to keep track of on a monthly/quarterly/annual basis.
We have had a great experience with the Customer Success Team and Support Team. They are very responsive and have been able to offer solutions and/or answers to questions in a fast and efficient manner.
Read Theresa Malone's full review
November 20, 2020
Maxwell McKendry, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the reconciliation product from BlackLine. Previously we had a very archaic process that was driven by excel spreadsheets and manual checklists. Adding the reconciliation product allowed us to formalize our reconciliation process which should provide operational efficiencies in the amount of time spent putting together reconciliations. This also centralizes all of our support and reconciling items so its much easier for reviewers and management to get a view into our accounts. This product also increased our general transparency across entities as we can now easily look into the reconciliations and accounts of foreign entities that we previously did not have access to.
  • Transparency across multiple entities.
  • Operational efficiency in performing reconciliations.
  • Centralized storage of supporting data and reconciling items.
  • Complex functionality that is hard to understand for someone with little or no IT experience.
If you are looking to simply clean up your reconciliation process then the reconciliation product will do just that. Additionally, if you are trying to improve your operation efficiency the reconciliation product can provide an opportunity to eliminate work by utilizing the auto-certification and threshold certifications. Lastly, this will help you set due dates and hold the account preparers and reviewers accountable for timely reviews.
The support has been great and available at any time.
Read Maxwell McKendry, CPA's full review
November 20, 2020
Robert Elmer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently are using BlackLine for our Transaction Matching, Account Reconciliation, Task, and Reporting needs. The tool has helped us to eliminate a number of manual tasks that were inconsistent in their delivery, as well as it helped to eliminate non value added tasks from process' allowing for us to get back time in our day to use to help create value.
  • Account Reconciliation Templates, really help to create consistency in the reconciliation process.
  • Transaction Matching has eliminated the need for cumbersome spreadsheets.
  • Some of the UI could use improvement not always the most user friendly experience.
BlackLine is very well suited to handle large transaction volumes within it's transaction matching volume. It is also easily scalable to the users' needs and preferences.
BlackLine community is very helpful when coming to resolving issues. BlackLine offers great support to their many features.
Read Robert Elmer's full review
November 24, 2020
Nicia Dibben | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department is currently using Blackline for reconciliations and to keep track of tasks. Switching over to doing our reconciliations in Blackline has
been great. We used to do everything in Excel and everyone had their own way of
setting up their reconciliations. Now, if anyone transitions into a new
position, it's easy to follow how the reconciliations are prepared and they are
so much easier to review. It's also easier to make sure that all tasks are being completed during the month. Lastly, being able to load information from a subledger
has been a game changer!
  • Standardize Reconciliations
  • Subledger Imports
  • Monthly Tasks
  • Automatic Dashboard Refresh
Haven't used the support yet.
Read Nicia Dibben's full review
November 23, 2020
Ginna Ruiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is being used across all departments that currently reconcile accounts and/or post journal entries. BlackLine helped us address visibility and accountability problems in our organization. We have many accountants, controllers, and analysts posting into BlackLine Journals, and this has helped in moving responsibilities to the right parties, along with approvals.
  • Accountability
  • Visibility
  • Ease of use
  • Reliability
  • Home view default page
BlackLine is well suited to handle reconciliations for accounts and to post journal entries. It could use some work in AS400 ERP integration, but our implementation team was great in accommodating it for our needs. The user interface is extremely easy to use, and as a system/business admin, I was also surprised at how easy it is for me to upload, import, and set up jobs to run.
Great support; very fast and efficient.
Read Ginna Ruiz's full review
November 23, 2020
Chong Meei Yih | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. We use it for the reconciliation and journal master to SAP ERP system. It is able to address the problem of "variance" or "outstanding amount" between SAP R1 and R3. Reports which download from BlackLine are able to be used for detecting the variance versus the last year report.
  • Classification.
  • Supporting document.
  • Import Spreadsheet.
  • The speed when upload document.
BlackLine is very good for doing account reconciliation and for automation purpose. For example, we are able to customized the layout for spreadsheet which suit for the required details in BlackLine by importing the document into BlackLine. It will auto clone all the data from the document into system before proceed any posting.
BlackLine support team has doing a good job to help user and customer to solve the system problem. The Architect and Solution team are always keep on the updates for BlackLine from time to time. They provide the professional skill and advices when create any new API and feature into BlackLine.
Read Chong Meei Yih's full review

What is BlackLine?

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle.

In October 2020, BlackLine acquired Rimilia, an AR automation solution. Rimilia's capabilities are now part of the BlackLine platform.
Categories:  Accounting,  Financial Close

BlackLine Video

BlackLine Introduction

BlackLine Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is BlackLine's best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses BlackLine?

The most common users of BlackLine are from Enterprises and the Financial Services industry.