BlackLine Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
80 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 71)

David Tilton profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use BlackLine across the organization in our finance and accounting departments. We currently have the Reconciliations, Tasks, and Variance Analysis modules implemented, which have helped us provide more accurate and timely information to corporate management and also support audit requests. We are working to take advantage of BlackLine's full functionality to automate many of our manual processes, as the way we currently use it results in more work rather than an optimized solution.
  • Integrated reporting features are extremely helpful to do quick and customized analysis
  • Visibility to task and process status across the organization allows us to identify and focus on our biggest pain points and areas of improvement
  • Near seamless integration with existing reporting software and ERP systems makes it easier to use real-time data rather than waiting on periodic reports and processes to analyze data
  • The implementation of BlackLine has caused friction within our organization because of the significant work that needs to be done to get things set up. Rather than providing the promised efficiencies from the start, we have experienced increased cycle times for a number of our processes while we work through bringing it completely onboard
  • A full implementation roadmap for our organization would have been very helpful, as it seems we could have taken advantage of more functionality earlier on in our implementation efforts to see quicker improvements to our processes
BlackLine is well suited for an organization dealing with high volumes of data or with multiple divisions seeking for integrated reporting and more dynamic analysis and data tracking. It may not be as appropriate for smaller companies with manageable data requirements. Much of the functionality that BlackLine offers may be found as part of a company's existing software packages, though perhaps not with as much functionality or customizability.
Read David Tilton's full review
Blake Hooper profile photo
September 19, 2019

BlackLine Matching

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently manage a BlackLine team that is focused on developing match sets in order to automate high volume reconciliations that are often difficult to reconcile manually. We've had successful projects in cash, fixed assets, inventory, intercompany, and payroll. I'm really optimistic about continuing to use BlackLine in order to further automate our reconciliations.
  • Automation.
  • Approval processes.
  • Documentation.
  • Setting up matching rules could be easier.
BlackLine is very well suited for the automation of reconciliations.
Read Blake Hooper's full review
William Humphries profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is being implemented at my organization. We are a shared services operation and we will be utilizing the Reconciliations and Variance Analysis modules. I think that Blackline offers a robust process for organizing and standardizing the account reconciliation preparation, approval and compliance process, as well as reporting. I appreciate the level of support from my account representative and all of the other communications that I receive from BlackLine.
  • Customer support- My account representative is on top of any issue or question that I have.
  • Communications- Frequent notifications about BlackLine events, user groups, and other webinars.
  • Blackline events- Superior quality, great breakout sessions, and great speakers.
  • None at this time.
I am happy with BlackLine's support and with the potential that it offers. The Blackline University training that is readily available is a very valuable resource for training new employees who have not used Blackline before. After we implement our reconciliation software, we will implement matching. The smart close/task manager will be well suited for our department.
Read William Humphries's full review
Megan Remich profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is used across my organization in the Finance Department. I specifically use the Compliance module to complete my internal audits for SOX compliance. BlackLine solved an efficiency problem for us with the way that we obtain audit documentation. By using the task and reconciliation modules, we are able to link them to the Compliance module and pull our own support for audit testing.
  • The linkage between the task/reconciliation and Compliance modules - This allows Internal Audit to pull their own support for audit testing. This reduces the manual PBC list creation.
  • Openness to customer suggestions - They are very open to hearing suggestions to make their products better for their customers. This is great, as it will make the product more useful for consumers.
  • Customization - The Compliance module is very customizable, which makes it very useful for a variety of consumers.
  • Workflow tracking capability in the Compliance module.
  • The worksheet that is a UDF in the Compliance module could have better functionality. It doesn't have all the capabilities of true Excel, so we don't currently use it. It would be great if we could copy information (including formulas and formatting) into the worksheet.
BlackLine is great if you want to make your accounting and internal audit more efficient. They have come up with a variety of tools that will help you in your accounting process. One of the great things is the connection between the various modules.
Read Megan Remich's full review
Christina Kennedy profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackline is being used for our daily cash reconciliations. It addresses the problem of high volume transaction matching. By utilizing the matching module, we are able to address exceptions in a timely manner. This has greatly improved customer relations. We are also able to use the Journal module to automate many of our journal entries. This saves time as the entries are not manually created, then waiting on approval.
  • The matching engine works particularly well for high volume uses.
  • Journal entries work well and cut down on time.
  • Technical support is great.
  • The templates and how to edit them are a little confusing.
  • The system frequently times out which causes frustration.
  • More functions for preparers would help cut down the level of approval needed.
BlackLine is well suited for high volume matching where you have a strong identifier between the data sets being used. It is also well suited for journal entries that are based off strong sources such as bank transactions.
Blackline is not well suited for transactions that do not have a unique identifier.
Read Christina Kennedy's full review
Randall Walker profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using the Account Reconciliation Module. It is currently being used soley in the accounting department. Previous to Blackline, our account reconciliations were performed in excel and then printed to PDF. The supporting documents were included in the recon, and linked with hyperlinks. The recs were very easy to navigate, but made it easy to guide the reviewers through the rec while not being able to truly know what was being included. Blackline has aided the recon process and made the data transparent.
  • Easy Account Reconciliation
  • Carries Support forward
  • Easy to Review (Atlas Grid)
  • When reviewing the recons, the data that is support is constantly downloaded as opposed to quick link.
  • Implementation map needs to be drawn out prior to implement
When your accounting professionals are spread out over multiple different offices, citites, states, or countries, Blackline shortens the distance and allows quick feedback. I could also see that for smaller departments or companies, it might not have the same capability, or the dramatic change might not be as large compared to larger organizations.
Read Randall Walker's full review
Yvette Lightfoot, MBA profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I am a Blackline Implementation Partner (RGP). Blackline addresses a variety of our clients issues across the entire platform. If I had to select the most common, it would be the transparency, standardization and efficiency that Blackline offers.
  • Blackline Customer service is outstanding. The support desk turn around time is great.
  • Blackline Implementation team is well versed in a variety of issues/situations. Very adaptable to most organizations.
  • Blackline Product is awesome. It is truly an end to end process software.
  • Account Mapping does not allow accounts to be mapping into existing accounts. So basically no account merging.
  • Journal entry module does not provide duplicates error for Customers that are using "Out of the Box" ERP systems. Need same capability/functionality as connector.
I would definitely recommend Blackine to my clients. The visibility that Blackline offers across the organization is unbelievable. It allows end to end processes, standardization and flexibility. Blackline streamlines the reconciliation process with auto-certifications, data carry-forward from period to period. Transaction Matching is a life saver, allowing users to spend more time on analysis as opposed to doing mundane manually matching transactions.
Read Yvette Lightfoot, MBA's full review
Albert Jimenez profile photo
September 18, 2019

BlackLine MAS Practice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is being used in our organization within our Managed Accounting Services Department. We have implemented about 60 of our clients and about 140 users have been actively using the software. We have received great feedback from our auditors that have audited our clients in BlackLine. We are now leveraging our knowledge in expanding to a Consulting Practice.
  • Standardization of reconciliations
  • Project Workflow
  • Compliance
  • Price is expensive
  • Listen more to mid-market
It is well-suited for larger organizations
Read Albert Jimenez's full review
Stephanie Lopez profile photo
September 18, 2019

BlackLine is the Way to Go!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is used as our reconciliation software and also for task. We have never had a good reconciliation software until BlackLine. Prior to implementation we did most reconciliations still in Excel. BlackLine is easy to use and if you run into problems or have questions, finding the answer is easy. BlackLine U portal is available after you log in to the website and the BlackLine Community is also available with available resources and people to answer questions. American National just began using BlackLine about a year ago and have really enjoyed the ease and customization that BlackLine provides. We hope to add matching and journal entries next. Thank you BlackLine!
  • Easy to customize templates for your business needs
  • Easy to create custom reports for user needs
  • Easy to import supporting documentation for account reconciliations
  • Want to be able to skip or choose certain training material without going through a whole module. Sometimes I only need one part of the module and I need to watch or go through a whole training course to get to that one part.
With our cash accounts we have 9 accounts that are the activity of the bank balance. We can group these 9 accounts together and get one balance that offsets the BAI balance. The difference between the BAI balancec and the group activity is our bank balance. BlackLine shows this well and makes it easy for us to reconcile our cash accounts.
Read Stephanie Lopez's full review
Lisa L profile photo
September 18, 2019

InTheBlack Feedback

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Blackline is our main account recon tool but we are hoping to implement journal entries , variances, and matching in the future. Task management and account recon has not been used efficiently but became our library of documents. users also need more training to convince them to use it more
  • organized
  • easy user friendly site and community group
  • customizable
  • eliminate glitches (ie buttons disappear /require log out then login)
  • announcement of new community group should be sent
  • teams need more controls behind it/make it auditor approved

small medium size companies would benefit by using this as a document library storage and organize everything in 1 system. large companies can use it for easier audits

less suited for companies who have SAP/oracle to use journal entry variance modules since these ERP have this in its system already



Read Lisa L's full review
Jodi Martin, CPA profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are just beginning the Automation journey and have implemented reconciliations and are working on tasks. We hope to add matching and journal entries in 2020 after variance analysis. In the Black Conference is a great learning resource!
  • Blackline has great customer service and support.
  • Blackline provides great visibility of key accounting functions
  • Blackline allows standardization and visibility of finance and accounting tasks and processes.
  • I’d like to see the learning paths in Blackline U be more intuitive.
  • I’d like to see further Essen of use in Blackline in designing reconciliation templates
Blackline is a great tool to move toward automation and get a change management and automation plan in motion.

I haven’t found anything that Blackline isn’t appropriate for. Generally the Blackline tool works great when it is set up and used as intended. That being said, it takes time and focus to implement correctly. Investment of time up front reaps the benefits.
Read Jodi Martin, CPA's full review
Adam Dabbeekeh profile photo
September 17, 2019

BlackLine to the rescue!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in the our Accounting and Fixed Asset departments currently, but we are looking to expand the use across the entire finance organization
  • Customer support is excellent. They are always available to answer our questions and offer their full support.
  • The reconciliation module has made our monthly recs much easier to perform and has helped us to stay in compliance with SOX
  • The Matching module allows us to perform high volume reconciliations much more timely and accurately
  • Implementation is difficult. More live support during this time would be very helpful
For a large company with a large number of finance employees doing a large number of reconciliations, BlackLine is a must. It allows you to stay organized, efficient and accurate in your work. A finance organization should be able to focus on the important things, rather than worrying about menial, organizational tasks.
Read Adam Dabbeekeh's full review
Michelle Broughton profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is being used across the entire organization. The efficiency and transparency we have received is exceptional. The implementation of standardized templates has made the ease of completing and auditing the reconciliations a 100% change to our prior process. The ability for us to have one central location for all reconciliation and their backup has been the biggest improvement of all. The ability to track and report on all our required adjustments to our Controller and CFO in minutes has been a dream.
  • Transparency of all reconciliations and their backup.
  • The ease of auditors to review all reconciliations without description to your daily processes.
  • Reporting on reconciliations and required adjustments within minutes is and excellent feature.
  • The review of all Account Rules at one time would be great.
  • Have reports run and emailed to individuals automatically.
  • The ability to easily remove temporary assignments when no longer needed.
BlackLine is suited for any company who wants to provide better efficiency, transparency, and central location for all reconciliations and backup documentation. No matter how big or small I believe BlackLine would be a great enhancement to any financial close.
Read Michelle Broughton's full review
Eric Swartz profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tasks and Reconciliations have been implemented across the organization. It allows us to better track the status of both those things. It has also allowed the company to better manage the close process as well.
  • Blackline University for training is great.
  • Tracking of status for tasks and reconciliations.
  • Nothing we can think of at this time.
BlackLine is well suited for ensuring that all tasks and reconciliations are completed in a timely manner. It also allows managers to see where their team is in the closing process.
Read Eric Swartz's full review
Benjamin Ellison profile photo
September 19, 2019

BlackLine is Great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using BlackLine for account recs, reports, and SSON variance analysis.
  • Reporting.
  • Account recs.
  • Variance analysis.
  • The app is a bit clunky.
  • Reporting widgets aren't great.
  • I'd like to see better reporting capabilities.
BlackLine is great and I would recommend it to other people in the industry.
Read Benjamin Ellison's full review
Teresa Carter profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are planning to use transaction matching for comparing details from our payor source to the bank source. We currently have an issue resolving unapplied cash. The transaction matching will assist us with getting an accurate listing of accounts that are not applied through our payor system.
  • BlackLine handles matching better than any other product.
  • BlackLine has a great dashboard.
  • BlackLine is a good tool for reconciliations.
  • The templates have improved significantly.
  • The administration is somewhat difficult to follow.
BlackLine is well suited for reconciliations.
Read Teresa Carter's full review
charlotte leblanc profile photo
September 19, 2019

BlackLine Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BlackLine for accounting controls and to have free form JE tracking as well as a faster close process.
  • Automation.
  • Workflow.
  • Matching.
  • I would like to see a preview of documents attached on the screen I am inputting.
Organizations with a large number of transactions will find that it is good for matching. It seems like a no brainer if you have SAP.
Read charlotte leblanc's full review
Katie Kardok profile photo
September 19, 2019

BlackLine Is Amazing!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is great for our month-end close. We use this for task management and account reconciliation.
  • Auto Certification
  • Matching
  • Compliance
  • UI
  • Easy of Use
BlackLine is great for taking your month-end close to the next level!
Read Katie Kardok's full review
Stacy Amadi, CPA profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I don't believe Blackline is used across the board in my company. I know of some departments that use the products. My department uses transaction matching and reporting.
  • I use transaction matching and love it. My group handles the clearing accounts for deposits and withdrawals. Prior to November 2018, my team manually matched about 250K transactions in Excel. The process was cumbersome and often riddled with human errors that are sometimes difficult to track. My team can now run various match sets in way less time than it takes them to import data into Excel and scrub it down.
  • Automatic partial matching.
  • Partial matching is currently a manual process in BlackLine. As we move more towards automation, it will be nice to eliminate as much manual process as possible. I believe there's an opportunity in this area.
Transaction matching works well when all related activities occur within the same period. It's a great tool for businesses with high volume transactions. The challenge occurs when transactions occur within two or more periods.
Read Stacy Amadi, CPA's full review
Gina Mele profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BlackLine is being used solely by our finance department. We use it to manage and maintain our account reconciliations and tasks. It allows us to centralize all our our account reconciliations in one place and promotes the use of more dynamic data rather than keeping excel spreadsheets on a transnational basis
  • Allows for a workflow
  • Allows for us to quickly jump from month to month to see variance
  • Better support to help us utilize functions
Best suited for companies that are looking to get our of stuffy accounting work and excel spreadsheets and find a better way.
Read Gina Mele's full review
Hadas Bram-Mostyn profile photo
September 18, 2019

We LOVE Blackline

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use all modules (other than CIM, due to company's structure). We like all modules and ready to implement the variance next week. We implemented Recons, tasks and journals globally.
  • Support team
  • Implementation team
  • Customer Support
  • Listen to our needs and finding solutions
  • ITB level courses (beginners, intermediate and advanced)
  • ITB max seating capacity
  • Rooms with desks for sessions you need to use computers
Journal module and reconciliations is a MUST have

Need more advances in the Variance module
Read Hadas Bram-Mostyn's full review
Leann Ratajczyk profile photo
September 18, 2019

new user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Blackline for the financial close, journal entries, account recons, ICH and reporting
  • standardization
  • user friendly
  • reporting
  • where to begin with new users
  • customized reporting training
Well suited for: close, reporting and standardization
Read Leann Ratajczyk's full review
Mark Gill profile photo
September 18, 2019

Compliance is Great.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Reconciliations, Compliance, and Journals. Product has been easy to work with and has solved multiple issues for us. However reporting and DASHBoard need some work. Management is asking for a simple view of data and for compliance that is not readily available.
  • Audit History
  • Effective control and management of Journals
  • Control testing programs to effectively manage SOX testing.
  • Main item missing is DASHBoarding for Compliance.
I deal with control and control testing. Previously it was managed via spread sheets. We have been able to us Blackline to manage our overall controls process.
Read Mark Gill's full review
Carrie Mittelsteadt profile photo
September 18, 2019

Blackline Recons

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Blackline for account reconciliations. This has allowed us to eliminated paper support and approval process. Our auditors can access completed reconciliations during audits which reduces time and effort of staff. We also can now easily verify completeness. Overall this has been a beneficial upgrade to our monthly process.
  • Reconciliations
  • Needing to change roles with in the application to complete jobs.
Good for account reconciliations. This moved us from a paper based system to an electronic based system. This has greatly improved our viability and accessibility to monthly recons. The various access level has allowed us to give view rights to the auditors to allow them to access the data by themselves.
Read Carrie Mittelsteadt's full review
Ben Campbell profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
we've implemented Blackline reconciliations worldwide.
  • standardized processes
  • ability to manage and support large data sets
  • strong support
  • Task management module needs better exec visualization reporting.
compliance around reconciliations
Read Ben Campbell's full review

About BlackLine

BlackLine automates the the processes required to finalize periodic closing of the books. Beyond close/reconciliation management the product includes capabilities to enhance the management and control of financial processes throughout the accounting cycle.

BlackLine Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No