Deltek Costpoint Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

David McCallister | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Strong ERP works globally in all industries.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Deltek Costpoint is used across the whole organization. Our business rules allowed us to configure by organization, accounts, and projects. Program managers know exactly where they stand in relation to project status, performance, and funding. In the past, this information wasn't readily available, whereas now it can be reviewed in real-time.
  • Enterprise Reporting
  • Budgeting and Planning
  • Time and Expense
  • Materials Management
  • Customer Care - this is probably the one area that needs the most work.
  • Quality Control Testing - if this area had a higher level of detail prior to releasing updates, it might mitigate the number of patches required for customers.
  • Cloud Based Product doesn't work for every customer. Get multiple references before considering moving to the cloud offering.
Deltek Costpoint is well suited in many areas. Accounts Payable is easy to use and straightforward. Accounts Receivable and Billing are also easy to use and allow flexibility in how bills are generated from the system. The Labor/Leave/Payroll functionality is all-inclusive and is simple to use in-house. Project management and materials management are all very robust modules available as part of the core system. Fixed assets could use a little updating. Human Resources is adequate and works well with Talent Management.
Read David McCallister's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Deltek Costpoint - They're good at sales

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Deltek Costpoint is used across the whole organization as our timekeeping system. The biggest problem we have is that it doesn't interface well with our other systems. Any reports or outputs have to be reformatted to fit our needs. Reports have little customization and are difficult to filter. It's easiest to run a basic report with an overabundance of information and filter from there.
  • Deltek Costpoint was good at recording hours worked and tracking PTO accruals.
  • There were not enough dimensions for our project needs. We often had to combine fields, which resulted in a lot of project lines.
  • I cannot stress enough how important it is to make reports easy to customize.
  • Real-Time PTO balances would be helpful when running PTO reports.
  • Needs a mobile app
Deltek Costpoint is probably best used in for-profit companies where there aren't dozens of dimensions needed for accurate tracking of Level of Effort. NGO's, non-profits, and gov't contractors should look elsewhere.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Definitely purchase version 7.1 if you hate your employees

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Deltek Costpoint version 7.1.1 for timesheet and expense tracking across our entire organization. We do a lot of government consulting work so we have some complicated requirements when it comes to tracking expenses and time across contracts.
  • Tracks hours per project
  • Their UI is dated
  • Too many steps are needed to complete simple tasks
I can't speak much about scenarios as I'm only an end user. I do not work in the accounting department. What I can tell you is that if you get this version of the software your employees will hate you. Every time they fill out their timesheets or expense reports they will curse whomever decided to purchase this software. It looks like it was made by a college student as part of a sophomore programming class. The UI is unintuitive, help is non-existent, and there are many unneeded steps to accomplish anything.
Read this authenticated review
Lakesha Lockett | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2018

I love Deltek

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Deltek is being used by my organization for our financial system.
  • I love how you can cut a check and it opens a PDF version so it can be saved for retention at a later date if needed.
  • I love how you can research vendor history different ways. It allows you to input a range or just enter one at a time.
  • I also love that there are tons of reports that can be run to help with any projects.
  • I do not like how sometimes there are fields grayed out and it does not allow you to select the option you would like. (ie: Account# or Project#)
  • I do not like some of the errors that pop up as they are not clear exactly what needs to be corrected in order to save the voucher. It puts the red bar around it but doesn't explain all the time.
Deltek is very easy to use and I love that it has worked for all the companies I have worked for. It is structured around my workload and I never have any issues. I feel there are a couple of things that can be corrected but nothing major. I love the layout.
Read Lakesha Lockett's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2018

CostPoint is a powerful tool in a power packed industry

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Costpoint is being used across our company as the primarily accounting and finance system. It works to solve all accounting, finance and project management related issues like revenue recognition, billing, invoices and accounts payable.
  • Costpoint is really good with providing users with a variety of accounting solutions from Project Setups to revenue recognition to Purchase orders. This software has it all under one roof.
  • Costpoint has the ability to handle large amounts of data and it neatly organize that data in the form of meaningful reports.
  • Costpoint interfaces really well with other Deltek products like Time and Expense and Cognos and makes the use of data across multiple platforms seem seamless.
  • Costpoint can be a bit more user friendly as compared to its competitors and would therefore be easier for people to pick up
  • Costpoint also struggles to interface well with other non-Deltek owned software and provides difficult challenges to companies with large structures and organizations using multiple tools.
  • Certain tables in Costpoint can be really hard to monitor from an audit trail perspective and these row updates on the data tables are not readily accessible to front end users.
Deltek Costpoint is really well suited for the use in a government contracting industry environment.

Deltek Costpoint is not the best suited when it comes to use in the commercial accounting and finance world.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2018

An Semi In Depth Review of Deltek Costpoint from a Tech Guy

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Deltek Costpoint, as well as Time and Expenses, is used by 95% of our whole organization from accounting to operations. My team and I assist in troubleshooting, upgrading as well as administrating Costpoint. We are currently on CP 7.1 but migrating to the most current version. Costpoint is heavily utilized by our accounting department from invoicing, billing, accounts receivable and accounts payable. Costpoint has also been integrated into Cognos. My company hopes to deploy the asset and inventory management modules by end of 2018.
  • Invoicing
  • Billing
  • Cost Accrual
  • System Resource Hog
  • Support Resolution Time
  • Unified Patching and System Visibility
  • Reporting & Analytics
We utilize Costpoint for many aspects of our business in particular accounting and operations. We heavily rely on this system for our everyday business needs in regards to reporting, payroll and accounts payable. It has easy workflow, general ledger, and configurable accounting as well as sub-ledger and financial process functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Rachel Wheeler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2018

The Possibilities are Endless

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Deltek Costpoint is being used by the Finance & Accounting mainly. Other departments use it as needed to gain required information.
  • I love the capability to look at my project data at specific levels or to roll it up to the top level. This allows management to see just what they need and not have a lot of extraneous data. It allows you to really personalize how you want your project information set up.
  • The ability to set users up with just the permissions to see gather the information needed. Specifically making sure that the information can only be changed by the proper people. That way we can make sure that separation of duties is maintained and sensitive information can be protected.
  • Having the chance to personalize reports to each user is awesome. Then you don't have to wade through mountains of unneeded data.
  • What I dislike is closely related to what I like about Costpoint. You can easily get lost in the multitude of menus. Although that is being constantly looked at and worked on.
  • Some of the processes are extremely complicated and If your are not careful you can easily mess up the whole process with one change. Although the error notifications are really good at preventing this from happening often!
Deltek Costpoint is an amazing system. Make sure that you review what you need your software to do and then examine if it is the best fit for what you need. Look at your company processes to choose the best integration process. Meet with several integration consultants to find the one that understands what you company's needs during the integration and testing process. Also make sure that your staff is properly trained. Deltek provides many ways in which to gain the required training from Deltek University to webinars, white papers, and highly knowledgeable consultants.
Read Rachel Wheeler's full review
Lynne Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2017

Costpoint 7 all the way

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Costpoint for many aspects of our business. We heavily rely on this system for our everyday business needs. It personally has been a great help with being more productive and provides and easier workflow.
  • Ease of use
  • Great customer service
  • Multiple functionalities
  • Some of the functions don't always work properly
  • Unnecessary warnings when entering invoices against a PO
I rely heavily on Costpoint every day for my accounting needs. The only issues I tend to have with using Costpoint are some of the reporting functions and converting to reports to other programs such as Excel.
Read Lynne Green's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2018

Deltek CP User

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the Finance Department. It addresses consolidation of all our data in one location.
  • Updates on what's new
  • Resource material to read on for troubleshooting especially
  • Customer service who reach out and follow up on queries
  • Quick response turn around
  • Get more skilled representatives to resolve issues fast
  • Question and Answer platforms that one can easily get information on day to day errors
Well suited for Government contracting, less suited for small businesses
Read this authenticated review

Deltek Costpoint Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (3)
9.6
Benefit plan administration (3)
9.5
Direct deposit files (4)
9.8
Salary revision and increment management (4)
8.9
Reimbursement management (4)
9.5
API for custom integration (3)
8.5
Plug-ins (3)
8.3
Single sign-on capability (6)
9.5
Role-based user permissions (6)
8.4
Dashboards (4)
6.5
Standard reports (7)
8.5
Custom reports (8)
5.9
Accounts payable (7)
9.5
Accounts receivable (5)
9.4
Global Financial Support (3)
9.0
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (3)
9.6
Intercompany Accounting (5)
9.3
Localizations (5)
9.0
Journals and Reconciliations (5)
8.1
Enterprise Accounting (5)
7.4
Configurable Accounting (6)
7.4
Centralized Rules Framework (5)
8.8
Standardized Processes (6)
9.3
Inventory tracking (2)
9.8
Automatic reordering (2)
7.0
Location management (2)
8.4
Manufacturing module (2)
9.7
Pricing (3)
9.4
Order entry (3)
9.7
Credit card processing (2)
7.5
Cost of goods sold (3)
9.4
Order Orchestration (3)
9.3
End-to-end order visibility (3)
9.3
Order exception Resolution (3)
9.7
Automated Invoice Processing (5)
9.3
Shared Services Payments (4)
7.8
Billings Management (5)
7.7
Customer Receipt Applications (6)
7.6
Customer Collections (4)
8.6
Revenue Recognition (5)
9.4
Cash Management (5)
9.2
Asset Management (5)
6.9
Travel & Expense Management (5)
8.8
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (5)
8.6
Period Close (5)
9.4
Transactions Tax (4)
9.5
Subledger Reconciliations (3)
9.5
3rd Party Accounting Systems (4)
8.3
Budgeting and Forecasting (4)
9.6
Project Costing (4)
9.5
Cost Capture (3)
9.7
Capital Project Management (2)
9.5
Customer Invoicing (3)
9.6
Customer Contract Compliance (2)
9.7
Project Revenue Recognition (4)
9.2
Project Financial Performance Analysis (4)
9.3
Project Financials Dashboard (2)
9.5
Real-time Financial Reporting (2)
9.9
Embedded Business Intelligence (2)
9.7
Project Planning Collaboration (3)
9.5
Project Planning and Scheduling (2)
9.8
Project Manager Dashboard (2)
9.7
Resource Manager Dashboard (2)
9.9
Task Insight for Project Managers (3)
9.5
Project Manager Mobile Functionality (2)
9.7
Team Member Task Collaboration (2)
9.4
Team Member Mobile Functionality (2)
9.4
Project Candidate Search (2)
9.7
Project Candidate Comparison and Analysis (2)
9.8
Defineable Resource Pools (2)
9.8
Defineable Resource Pools (2)
9.8
Talent Profiles (2)
9.5
Real-Time Project Reporting (2)
9.7
Absence Management (2)
9.7
Product Lifecycle Management (2)
9.8
Award Lifecycle Management (4)
9.4
Spending Control (3)
9.4
Indirect Cost Management (4)
9.2
Billing (4)
9.7
Sourcing Team Collaboration (2)
8.1
Sourcing Analysis (2)
8.1
Bids Analyzed and Compared (2)
8.1
Catalog Shopping E-Commerce for Employees (2)
7.8
Contract Authoring (2)
7.9
Contract Compliance Management (2)
7.8
Contract History (3)
8.7
Contract Renewal Automation (2)
7.0
Contract Repository (2)
7.7
Contract Standardization and Enforcement (2)
7.7
Electronic Signatures (2)
9.5
Invoice Automated Matching (2)
9.8
Purchasing Risk and Compliance Management (2)
9.7
Requisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated (2)
9.7
Spend Compliance Management (2)
9.5
Supplier Assessment (2)
9.7
Supplier Communication and Collaboration (2)
9.7
Supplier Management (2)
9.7
Supplier Portal (2)
9.5
Risk Repository (2)
8.1
Control Management (2)
7.1
Control Mapping (2)
8.1
Control Efficiency Assessments (1)
7
Automated Control Assessments (1)
5
Assessment Capture (1)
8
Issue Detection (1)
6
Automatic Notification (1)
8
Remediation and Certification (1)
6
Transportation Planning and Optimization (2)
8.0
Transportation Sourcing Management (2)
6.5
Transportation Process Integration (2)
8.5
Transportation Execution Management (3)
8.6
Freight Payment Automation (2)
7.1
Trade Management (1)
5
Trade Regulatory Compliance Management (1)
8
Customs Entry Management (3)
7.6
Customs Document Management (3)
7.9
Customs Document Collaboration (3)
8.7
Fulfillment Management (3)
7.6
Inventory Visibility (3)
9.1
Warehouse Workforce Management (2)
7.9
Production Process Design (3)
7.8
Supply Chain Business Flows (2)
7.8
Production Management (3)
7.9
Contracted Manufacturing Management (3)
7.6
Configuration Management (3)
7.8
Work Definition (3)
7.6
Work Execution (3)
7.9
Advanced Fulfillment (3)
7.8
Manufacturing Costs (2)
8.0
Forecasting (3)
7.9
Inventory Planning (3)
7.6
Multi-tier Supply Chain Planning (3)
7.8
Performance Monitoring (3)
7.9
Ideation Management (2)
7.0
Requirements Management (2)
6.5
Proposal Management (3)
6.8
Innovation Portfolio Management (2)
7.5
Product Master Data Management (3)
7.7
Vendor Portal (3)
9.0
Project Portfolio Management (3)
8.8

About Deltek Costpoint

Deltek Costpoint is an ERP soluftion designed for government contractors built around project management and accounting capabilities.

Deltek Costpoint Integrations