Datameer Reviews

16 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 09, 2021
Abhinav Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Datameer for building use-case-driven data pipelines. We are also now using it to ETL on-premises data to a cloud data warehouse. These pipelines are used to enable reports and dashboards for various business units in my organization. Using Datameer has saved us a lot of time and money and we didn't need to hire a data ops team. Datameer is easy to use with no need to write code, so business teams are even using it.
  • Scales data processing using elastic compute framework (Spark)
  • Simplifies the process of building ETL data pipelines in the cloud
  • Extensive data source connectivity and easily connects to source data using connectors
  • A fast learning curve with a no-code interface so anyone can use it
  • It provides an Excel-like interface to have quick and simple access to data
  • Transformation speed
  • Many tabs sometimes reduce your focus
  • Might be better to have a more compact design
  • Video tutorials are a little long
  • Good for companies looking to scale up data processing over the next few years. Datameer has per-user pricing so we do not worry about ETL costs spiraling out of control compared to other products, like Fivetran, that price per usage.
  • Very powerful transformation capabilities.
  • Lots of built-in features required for operationalizing pipelines that would otherwise require the use of multiple tools.
  • Great tool if you need to ETL data to a cloud data warehouse like Snowflake. Datameer replaces our need for a data ops team.
  • Solid integration with other BI products like Tableau and PowerBI and also data from Google Analytics and Facebook Ads.
Read Abhinav Patel's full review
October 17, 2015
Mike Blizman, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several departments are using Datameer to aggregate large amounts of data from disparate sources.
  • Datameer is an excellent "bridge" to Hadoop. Organizations who want to get started with a Hadoop cluster and the analytic capabilities provided by Hadoop, but do not have a large software development team to assist in creating Map/Reduce code are likely to be able to do some very cool things with their data with Datameer.
  • The support team at Datameer has been very responsive and quite helpful. Online ticket/email for creation of support tickets, phone or web-ex as necessary.
  • Much of the tool will be familiar looking to Excel users.
  • Provides a single interface to many of the things a developer/analyst would need to do.
  • No specific examples of this in general, but as you mature in your use of Datameer, you may have to decide between investing in training of your staff to use other tools in the Hadoop ecosystem, or you may need to increase your hardware investment a little faster than you would expect to keep pace with demand for the tool as it gains users. One con, specific to our organization is the ingestion-based license model, which could be too expensive for our uses. With other tools such as Hive, HBase, CouchDB, the costs are based on your hardware investment and support contracts (and license fees for Couch).
  • It would be nice to have a mature API (web service based perhaps) for sharing infographics generated in Datameer and forward through a proxy or web portal. If we could have used Datameer to provide customer facing graphical output through our other web portals in a secure and manageable way, the value proposition of the Datameer product would have been increased tremendously as a solution. When we assessed doing this more than a year ago, we found the older style security API inadequate for this purpose. I was able to do a prototype use case through custom configuration and development methods around reverse proxies and the custom wrappers I built, but maintenance and administration would have been awkward. At current state of maturity in Hadoop tools, I think using Hadoop and associated tools as a work horse and data lake, as part of a data stream that is secured deep in your environment is the best approach. Reporting tools are maturing quickly to provide connectors to Hadoop, while facilitating report sharing in a proven manner, so I am very, very bullish on Hadoop in the long run. Learn more about Hadoop at www.datafoam.com.
This review was originally published in 2013.
Team composition and skill sets to determine what alternatives are feasible for that organization. Not every team can deliver map/reduce code, nor should they. Not every team can devise a data stream and a set of tools that makes sense in the long run given how fast Hadoop is changing. Authentication/Single sign on requirements can be met inside your network using standard things like LDAP.
Read Mike Blizman, PMP's full review
June 20, 2014
Hector Jimenez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datameer is being used as a proof of concept for Hadoop by information technology and engineering. We are trying to provide an analytical platform which can potentially be used across all the departments in the organization. We don't have a lack of data, and are focusing on use cases where unstructured or semi-structured data is relevant. For example, text notes used Customer Service to document cases and follow-up internally with other departments.
  • It is the only solution out there that provides a true face to Hadoop and all the other technologies around it.
  • It enables regular users and analysts with capabilities that are only available for data scientists in other solutions.
  • It provides an "Excel-like" interface to have quick and simple access to data in Hadoop.
  • Data visualization and graphics. Right now it's not very user friendly. Creating dashboards requires a lot of work that can be done by the application
Datameer seems to be more suited towards big data scenarios, like clickstream data or server logs.
Read Hector Jimenez's full review
January 31, 2014
Ryan Baltes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Datameer is being used by our my organization as a Big Data BI tool on top of our Hadoop Cluster along with Hive, Impala, Pig, and HBase. It helps non-technical analysts to gain the power of running high power analytics on large data sets. It simplifies the SQL or scripting languages used in the Apache/Cloudera tools into a user GUI which supports almost 200 built-in functions and holds endless possibilities with the support of custom functions. Datameer also has the ability to import PMML models from SAS and other tools and create custom functions from these imports. Datameer is used across the whole organization and is growing on many analyst as the next up and coming analytical tool.
  • Importing data is quick and painless. Datameer has the ability to import anything through a JDBC connection and many other protocols.
  • Datameers Excel-like interfaces makes it easy for non-technical users to execute queries.
  • Datameers ability to also graphically represent their queries sets it apart from many tools.
  • Datameer does not have drill down capabilities on their infographics. This capability is will be supported by the end of Q1.
  • Datameer can be buggy if the version is not supported by the distribution of Hadoop being used.
  • Datameer does not make it simple to create samples of data sets.
Datameer is a great tool if someone is capable of keeping the most recent version of the tool up to date along with the most recent version of the distribution of Hadoop. The tool is easy to support but it must have someone who can run the back end processes.
Read Ryan Baltes's full review
November 16, 2013
Gaurav Chawla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It can work with large data sets since it uses Hadoop in the background to crunch data.
  • It is easy to use for non- technology savvy managers to get quick insights about the data.
  • Quick and easy to learn . It took me 2 days to get to a point where I could use it and pull reports from it on my own.
  • I missed having someplace to write your own code. SQL or JAVA would be really helpful . I am comparing this to what I have seen it Informatica PowerCenter or Business Objects.
  • The number of the functions available in the workbooks could be expanded. There is only so much one can perform with a limited set of functions. One tends to expect the functions available in MS Excel when you see a workbook like environment , especially if the target audience is non-tech savvy managers.
  • Could add some text features like regular expressions for text mining on data .
It could be good if you want to take a cursory look at a large data before handing it over to your tech teams .
Read Gaurav Chawla's full review
November 15, 2013
Serge Blazhievsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • One of the biggest challenges is teaching other developers about Hadoop framework and Datameer is just the tool I needed to speed that process up.
  • Ease of use, intuitive user interface and SDK to extend the existing set of functions is what makes Datameer unique for big data processing.
  • Map Reduce code generated by user interface complies with our very strict performance requirements.
  • Some additional functions we have to implement ourselves to help customer solve specific problem
  • Machine learning, data analytic offering can be expanded.
  • Support for multiple clusters can be useful.
Great product and great support team.
Read Serge Blazhievsky's full review
January 06, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It leverages scalability, flexibility and cost-effectiveness of hadoop to deliver an end-user focused analytic platform for big data without involvement of IT.
  • It overcomes Hadoop`s complexity by providing GUI interface with pre-built functions across integration, analytics and data visualization .
  • Excel feature is awesome for business users which is already provided by Datameer.
  • Using datameer now user can do smart analytic using Decision Trees, Column dependency and recommendation.
  • Recently HTML5 inclusion is making application to available on a wider range of devices, including the iPad and other mobile devices which does not support Flash.
  • It can be used in premise or in a cloud computing environment.
  • Wizard-based data integration designed for IT and business users to schedule and do transformation of large sets of structured, semi-structured and unstructured data without any knowledge of Hadoop ecosystem.
  • Email feature can be improved
It is the first and only end-user focused application for Hadoop based analytics.
Read this authenticated review
November 16, 2013
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Redefines Big Data Analytics from a business analyst perspective without having to understand Big Data in the first place.
  • Allows you to view sample data, which helps in rapid building of logic.
  • Abstracts the complexity of the MapReduce Paradigm (programming model for large data sets) and allows user friendly Excel-like analytics on top of Hadoop
  • MapReduce execution
  • Graceful exception handling code wise
Ask about data integration especially on unstructured data ?
Ask about prebuilt data analytics functions.
Ask about enhanced data visualization and reporting aspect.
Ask about pre built analytic apps.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (1)
10
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (1)
10
Simple transformations (1)
10
Complex transformations (1)
10
Data model creation (1)
8
Metadata management (1)
10
Business rules and workflow (1)
9
Collaboration (1)
8
Integration with data quality tools (1)
10
Integration with MDM tools (1)
10

What is Datameer?

Datameer is a provider of data management software for analytics and the only end-to-end no-code ETL on the market. The Cloud Data Platform enables the full data life cycle from search, access, cataloging, collaboration, and transformation of data across disparate sources.

Datameer Spectrum is a cloud-native ETL++ platform that turns raw data into analytics-ready datasets in a code-free manner. Spectrum’s complete operationalization and governance features enable reliable, automated, and secure data pipelines to ensure a consistent data flow from any on-prem or cloud sources to any destination.

Datameer scales with the user's needs, and that enables users to work independently, in a group, or across the company. Develop on a laptop, test with a workgroup, deploy to a company, and scale with needs: on a laptop, server, or cluster.
Categories:  Data Integration

Datameer Features

Data Source Connection Features

Has featureConnect to traditional data sources
Has featureConnecto to Big Data and NoSQL

Data Transformations Features

Has featureSimple transformations
Has featureComplex transformations

Data Modeling Features

Has featureData model creation
Has featureMetadata management
Has featureBusiness rules and workflow
Has featureCollaboration

Data Governance Features

Has featureIntegration with data quality tools
Has featureIntegration with MDM tools

Datameer Screenshots

Datameer Video

Watch Datameer Spectrum: Build Enterprise Data Pipelines in Minutes. The only end-to-end no-code ETL on the market. | No code to load the data. No code to transform it.

Datameer Downloadables

Datameer Integrations

Datameer Competitors

Datameer Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Datameer Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Datameer Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Datameer?

Analytics that make it easy for businesses to aggregate big data, leveraging the power and scale of Hadoop.

Who uses Datameer?

The most common users of Datameer are from Enterprises and the Financial Services industry.