TrustRadius
Alteryx Analytics is a business intelligence and predictive analytics offering.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/g4/Hn/PS1KWPS75CFZ.jpegThe only data preparation tool you will ever need or want - life changing!Our organization began using Alteryx sometime ago however my team was introduced to it approximately 3 months ago. It is used to support data analytics work in all areas in addition to report preparation. We are attempting to drive the usage of this tool across the organization as it is a cost and time saver in the preparation and analysis of data for every department/business.,Excellent support for the tools through training/white papers and online support. Ease of use - high common sense factor makes the program easy to learn and apply. Compatibility with everything but specifically with commonly used key programs like Tableau.,Cost is a factor - while support and training are "free" the software price is high. It helps to have some good Excel experience to make instant adoption even easier. The trainers tend to go a bit fast so slow learners may need multiple sessions.,10,,10,10,Tableau Server, Microsoft 365 Business, WebEx MeetingsAlteryx & Its Robust Server - #NotJustAVizAlteryx Analytics is used by our corporate analytics team. We design dashboards, build predictive models, and deploy them on the server. This helps executives to make data-driven decisions across the board. The dashboards developed by Alteryx are generally associated with financials, employee performance, staff scheduling or any other area where we feel data analysis can improve the results significantly.,Designing dashboards is very easy and intuitive in Alteryx. Although some form of analytical aptitude is needed, most of it is very user friendly. Embedding R or Python Code is fairly straightforward in Alteryx. This makes it very sophisticated for data analysis and predictive data modelling. Effective mathematical calculations-- which are difficult to code in SQL-- are very easy to write in Alteryx.,Improved Maps/ GeoCoding system for geographical analysis should be there. Running data extracts can be made more efficient. Tableau does it much better. Cross-Database joins should be allowed and the data extraction should be much simpler.,8,Tableau Desktop,8,8,Tableau Desktop, RapidMiner Studio, HadoopUse Excel?- get upgraded, get Alteryx AnalyticsAlteryx was adopted by one of our analytical department and reffed by them on their achieved success. Now Alteryx is extensively used in 4 different departments with wide range of tasks. Alteryx is best used for handling large size of data which excel is not capable of. It is a brilliant tool with great visualization that deals with SQL codes in the background. It has predictive analysis capabilities and is compatible with "R" making it a even more greater tool.,Predictive analysis - forecasting with different models as ESM / Arima etc. Data clean up, sorting, linking multiple excel files, joining data. Generating reports, scheduling reports, auto emailing of reports.,Expanding more functionality is nice to have. Better input and deletion of links between operations.,9,MicroStrategy Analytics,9,7,MicroStrategy Analytics, MS SharePoint, Cisco WebEx Teams (formerly Cisco Spark)Changed the roles and depth of our AnalystsHard to pin down as a single use case since this can be so broad. Alteryx is used in almost any analytics capacity to figure out financials and operations problems. More specifically we found Alteryx useful for connecting vendor metrics with underlying date; we're using buyer spend over time as an enhancement for material and payables resource planning, and our logistics team uses it to track the efficiency of carriers and shipping lanes.,Objective analysis Process build Data integration,Faster speed of query More complex join capability. Some more experienced users would like to make more complex joins after the data is in process map rather than a complete preparation before including in process map Connection with Power BI, Tableu, or other graphical data tools would make more seamless intelligence,10,Azure SQL Database,9,9,Tableau DesktopGreat software worth the priceWe use Alteryx for data prep, cleaning and analytics, to funnel data into Tableau. Used solely in our analytics department.,Makes automating data cleaning a breeze. Data prep becomes a fun activity with Alteryx. Analytics becomes more of a focus, as Alteryx is doing the heavy lifting.,Training seems to be lacking or expensive. Offline guides would be helpful instead of logging into the online training. Multi-use licence would be great to jump from laptop to desktop.,10,Tableau Desktop,10,5,Tableau Desktop
Windows
Alteryx Analytics
118 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Alteryx Analytics Reviews

Alteryx Analytics
118 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 118 vetted Alteryx Analytics reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Susan Knolla profile photo
January 04, 2019

Alteryx Analytics Review: "The only data preparation tool you will ever need or want - life changing!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization began using Alteryx sometime ago however my team was introduced to it approximately 3 months ago. It is used to support data analytics work in all areas in addition to report preparation. We are attempting to drive the usage of this tool across the organization as it is a cost and time saver in the preparation and analysis of data for every department/business.
  • Excellent support for the tools through training/white papers and online support.
  • Ease of use - high common sense factor makes the program easy to learn and apply.
  • Compatibility with everything but specifically with commonly used key programs like Tableau.
  • Cost is a factor - while support and training are "free" the software price is high.
  • It helps to have some good Excel experience to make instant adoption even easier.
  • The trainers tend to go a bit fast so slow learners may need multiple sessions.
I wish I had found and used Alteryx Analytics years ago. Having multiple data sources with a variety of naming conventions for our businesses we spent WEEKS cleaning/reorganizing/renaming fields in our data to be able to consolidate. We did this on one set of reports for one use. Each time we wanted an update this process would need to be repeated. This took tons of useless admin time. Had we had Alteryx we could have created 1 identifier, noted all the different naming conventions or issues, selected the ones we wanted and created the workflow to use it over and over and over again on any data we wanted. Build once - use multiple times. It would have been (and now is) a HUGE time saver. Plus any new anomalies are identified by the program as errors so you can "autocorrect" them in the same workflow. Alteryx is a miracle in my opinion.
Read Susan Knolla's full review
Kunal Sonalkar profile photo
December 17, 2018

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx & Its Robust Server - #NotJustAViz"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alteryx Analytics is used by our corporate analytics team. We design dashboards, build predictive models, and deploy them on the server. This helps executives to make data-driven decisions across the board.
The dashboards developed by Alteryx are generally associated with financials, employee performance, staff scheduling or any other area where we feel data analysis can improve the results significantly.
  • Designing dashboards is very easy and intuitive in Alteryx. Although some form of analytical aptitude is needed, most of it is very user friendly.
  • Embedding R or Python Code is fairly straightforward in Alteryx. This makes it very sophisticated for data analysis and predictive data modelling.
  • Effective mathematical calculations-- which are difficult to code in SQL-- are very easy to write in Alteryx.
  • Improved Maps/ GeoCoding system for geographical analysis should be there.
  • Running data extracts can be made more efficient. Tableau does it much better.
  • Cross-Database joins should be allowed and the data extraction should be much simpler.
Alteryx Analytics is very well-suited for areas like data analysis, designing dashboards, embedding basic mathematical models in the system and establishing data driven decision-making across the firm. In areas like healthcare, finance, insurance, banking, sports, etc where we have immense amounts of data, Alteryx can play a major role in helping people opt for a data-driven decision mindset.
It might not be a very good solution for areas like ETL (Extract Transform Load). It would be interesting to see if Alteryx diversified in that area as well.
Read Kunal Sonalkar's full review
Rishi Bavishi, CSSGB, CAPM profile photo
December 07, 2018

Review: "Use Excel?- get upgraded, get Alteryx Analytics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alteryx was adopted by one of our analytical department and reffed by them on their achieved success. Now Alteryx is extensively used in 4 different departments with wide range of tasks. Alteryx is best used for handling large size of data which excel is not capable of. It is a brilliant tool with great visualization that deals with SQL codes in the background. It has predictive analysis capabilities and is compatible with "R" making it a even more greater tool.
  • Predictive analysis - forecasting with different models as ESM / Arima etc.
  • Data clean up, sorting, linking multiple excel files, joining data.
  • Generating reports, scheduling reports, auto emailing of reports.
  • Expanding more functionality is nice to have.
  • Better input and deletion of links between operations.
Alteryx is best used for corporations that rely on large excel files and have too many reporting tasks to perform everyday. It will make repetitive tasks to run through just one click. It is also recommended for initial predictive analysis such as forecasting, demographic analysis and behavior analysis. Since it's compatible with "R", it adds even more functionality.
Read Rishi Bavishi, CSSGB, CAPM's full review
Spencer Lewis profile photo
November 19, 2018

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Changed the roles and depth of our Analysts"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hard to pin down as a single use case since this can be so broad. Alteryx is used in almost any analytics capacity to figure out financials and operations problems. More specifically we found Alteryx useful for connecting vendor metrics with underlying date; we're using buyer spend over time as an enhancement for material and payables resource planning, and our logistics team uses it to track the efficiency of carriers and shipping lanes.
  • Objective analysis
  • Process build
  • Data integration
  • Faster speed of query
  • More complex join capability. Some more experienced users would like to make more complex joins after the data is in process map rather than a complete preparation before including in process map
  • Connection with Power BI, Tableu, or other graphical data tools would make more seamless intelligence
Operations, business intelligence, Supplier performance, logistics, production bottlenecks. Essentially any case where information across departments is needed, we really see Alteryx being the go-to for objective dialogues. Previously, these departments were having subjective narratives on how to solve business problems, because the data was too difficult to connect and makes sense of. With Alteryx, the focus is on "What does the data show that are good options to change a business process?"
Read Spencer Lewis's full review
Clinton Shields profile photo
October 12, 2018

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Great software worth the price"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Alteryx for data prep, cleaning and analytics, to funnel data into Tableau. Used solely in our analytics department.
  • Makes automating data cleaning a breeze.
  • Data prep becomes a fun activity with Alteryx.
  • Analytics becomes more of a focus, as Alteryx is doing the heavy lifting.
  • Training seems to be lacking or expensive.
  • Offline guides would be helpful instead of logging into the online training.
  • Multi-use licence would be great to jump from laptop to desktop.
Pulling data from databases and preparing for data visualization is our primary use for Alteryx, however if you have perfect data, Alteryx can get redundant, but honestly who has that.
Read Clinton Shields's full review
No photo available
November 02, 2018

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Data prep standard"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Alteryx Analytics is being used by a select group of employees in our center of excellence, the total number being around 4 or 5 active users with 10 other licenses allocated based on immediate need.
  • Data blending
  • Data prep
  • Data exploration
  • Ease of use in tool functionalities
  • More advanced analytics
  • UI / UX
Alteryx Analytics is suitable for less technical users who do not have coding experience, you can gather information rather painlessly; however, it is still not quite as good as using a language such as Python or R to integrate your advanced analytics work.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 30, 2018

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx is a good tool for analytics productivity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team has been running Tableau reports for clinicians, researchers, and leadership in our organization. As we have developed more reports we had strong needs of managing data pipelines in a systematic way. In many cases, ETL processes were managed individually by data developers and analysts and there were issues of report ownership, data consistency, and management issues. We adopted Alteryx and automated two types of processes: ETL processes and Tableau data extract creation. Alteryx provided values in terms of systemized pipeline management and query performance.
  • Alteryx provides an integrated workflow management environment for data blending, analytics, and reporting. It is also very extensible to be connected to a variety of data connections including major databases (Oracle, etc.), analytics tools (R), and visualization tools such as Tableau through its plugins. Our department used Oracle and Tableau already and it was well integrated with Alteryx.
  • The workflow authoring environment in Desktop is easy to use so that most of the users (if they are a bit skilled data developers or analysts) may not need the training to use its basic functions. Drag and drop interface and icons are intuitive to understand.
  • When running Alteryx workflows, it is easy to monitor and track what's the progress by seeing percentages. It is helpful to balance and manage bandwidths of database servers, especially when to populate large data sets.
  • Sometimes the desktop version of authoring tool crashes! It's been unstable in the previous versions but gets better. Even if it doesn't crash, it used to be slow or not responding.
  • When running several version of database drivers in local machine or server, it is tricky to set up database connections. Often you have to figure out it by googling the problem and solution. There are not many knowledge bases from Alteryx.
  • Alteryx project file creates .bak file automatically. It is useful to prevent for the purpose of back up, sometimes it's not necessary. But it is not changeable for some reason. By default, it always creates backups.
Well suited: if an organization already has a lot of running ETLs or pipelines but need to systemize them, Alteryx is a good choice. It would be good to figure out how well Alteryx would be harmonized with the existing components, but in a general sense, it may be well harmonized.

Less appropriate: Alteryx is good for "automation", but some data developers and analysts may prefer to remain and keep using SQL tools. One should be careful of not just adding "one more layer or tool" into the existing pipeline and make it more complicated to manage.
Read this authenticated review
Cameron Tubbs profile photo
December 05, 2017

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx: One Tool, Unlimited Applications"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alteryx is predominantly used by our predictive analytics department, but some use is spreading out to our data teams given the user-friendly interface and its ability to handle "big data". We also use it for some internal tools that allow other departments, who may not be as familiar with the product, to run reports and gather data specific to our processes that allow them to more easily do their internal reporting. Alteryx is used for a wide range of things, from data cleansing to general data manipulation that helps answers a client's day-to-day questions, all the way to report automation and "wizarding" that provides clients with their solution(s).
  • User-friendly interface - the tool structure and general workspace are very easy to pick up on. Short learning curve from "no experience" to "beginner user".
  • Standardization - modules/wizards allow a single tool to generate results for multiple clients, all through the use of a few actions/inputs.
  • Analytics - wide range of statistical analytics tools makes it easy for a user to look at data and provide simple summary statistics, while also having the ability to build advanced regression models.
  • Excel reporting - reports in PDF are fairly straightforward, but trying to output results in Excel can prove to be tricky/ugly.
  • Chart creation - current chart tool is very basic; needs to be a way to customize the look/feel of a chart more, as well as an easier way to incorporate "big" data that can be easily reported on/viewed.
More often than not, Alteryx can handle any situation or scenario thrown at it. Some may take a little more "trickery" along the way, but for the most part it is fairly easy to get from point A (data) to point B (results/report). And the nice thing is is that there is more than one way to produce the same result - two people with two different mindsets can ultimately create the same thing, but do so in a way that is better suited for their skill level.
Read Cameron Tubbs's full review
Sanket Bharaswadkar profile photo
December 05, 2017

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx - powerful and easy to use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Alteryx for analyzing pre-sales data. We had a proposal management system which generated a lot of numbers. My job as a process analyst was to use Alteryx to get insights into making the process efficient. It helped us in identifying bottle necks and focusing on problem areas.

The solution engineers were able to better design the proposals which resulted in client satisfaction and savings for the company.
  • Cleaning datasets
  • Preparing data for analyzing
  • Customer data analytics
  • Transforming data from one format to other
  • Poor documentation
  • Costly
  • Overkill for simple tasks
  • Not many options for data visualization
It is very well suited for mid-sized data operations. One person working on a project is ideal. I have not used Alteryx in a collaborative project, so can't say for sure. It is quite powerful and compares well with the competitors. If you have data from disparate sources, it helps to have a tool like Alteryx.
Read Sanket Bharaswadkar's full review
Joe Root profile photo
November 22, 2017

Alteryx Analytics Review: "A fantastic ETL, data munging, data prep, and data processing tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alteryx use began in the marketing department to help automate data prep pre-Tableau from data sourced from Salesforce. It is now also being used by the IT department to help join multiple data sources to automate data munging for some standard report generation. The primary business problem Alteryx helps our team with is helping analyst move much more quickly by building data workflows visually instead of creating hundreds to thousands of lines of code to move and prep the same data.
  • Data ingestion: Alteryx is capable of connecting with a multitude of data sources from SQL databases to cloud-hosted solutions like Salesforce, Tableau, or Google Analytics. Also supports OleDB & ODBC connections.
  • Dynamic data munging: Alteryx has a great variety of processing tools to clean and prep data including: dedupe, formulas, joins, union, sort... Performing these functions really quickly on even moderately equipped laptops or desktops. It's dynamic in that it can easily handle changes in data by allowing extra columns to flow through.
  • Macros: have a process that you are consistently running in separate workflows? Build a macro, be it a batch or iterative, Alteryx can do it. I've built 40-50 macros and use at least 4+ in every workflow I design so data is handled the same way in every workflow for consistency and cutting down on copy/pastes.
  • I've had issues with the scheduler tool getting frozen or stuck in previous versions. For about the last 2-3 months the latest software version has been much more reliable. Previously I had to restart the Alteryx service on my machine at least once a week, which meant my workflows weren't running while the service had been stuck and data wasn't moving.
  • Some of the connectors, like the Tableau Online connector, should become supported by Alteryx. The online community is fantastic and has created a ton of useful macros and it would be great if Alteryx would adopt, support, and enhance some of the most widely used and useful.
Alteryx can do so much more than I use it for, so I believe the only case where Alteryx wouldn't be needed is when a department/team had a full development team to prep data pre-analysis or already has a central data store fully stood up and standardized. Alteryx works extremely well with a multitude of BI and database solutions and would be a great fit for any team trying to speed up the typical daily grind of data prep and ETL so their analytics and data team can be more agile, accurate, and automated.
Read Joe Root's full review
No photo available
December 06, 2017

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx: a pocket BI solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alteryx is the primary ETL/analytics tool being used by our BI users. Alteryx is particularly popular because of its ability to create a Tableau data extract and thus provides a meaningful alternative to Tableau's missing data blending capabilities. Alteryx offers a range of tools that can be used to clean/prepare your data for analytics along with ETL capabilities. Alteryx has some amazing analytics capabilities including but not limited to spatial, behavioral, predictive etc.
  • The ability to create a TDE(Tableau data extract)
  • The ability to use geo spatial data for spatial analysis
  • The range of tools that can be used to clean/prepare your data
  • Alteryx lacks good visualization capabilities
  • Alteryx does not run on Mac(IOS)
  • Alteryx is not as stable as some of the enterprise-grade tools like DataStage
  • Alteryx analytics is particularly well suited for situations where a BI user needs to quickly prepare the data for analysis
  • Alteryx sells tom-tom maps and these maps are extremely useful for spatial analysis and help real estate or SCM teams plot routes and spatial charts
  • Alteryx makes predictive modeling easy
  • Alteryx lacks the capability to produce good visualization hence one should never try to achieve an end to end BI solution using only Alteryx.
  • If you prefer using a MacBook then you need to use a Windows VM to run alt Alteryx
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 05, 2017

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Simple, efficient yet powerful Alteryx"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alteryx is being used into its full potential to collect data, bend and prepare, analyze/summarize as well as create automation workflows, what-if analysis toolkits, and to do statistical modeling of data. It has simplified the way analytics used to be done as well as taken the same to the masses.
  • Quick data blending.
  • Wide range of analytical coverage - ETL, Descriptive and Predictive analytics.
  • Ease of learning for new users.
  • Iterations/ looping/ interactive user interface creation is cumbersome for new users.
  • Missing prescriptive analytics modules.
Most suited: Teams involved in BI and reporting can do data analysis, blending and analysis really quickly as well as do the statistical analysis and expand the horizon of analytics into the organization with ease.

Less appropriate: Organizations that have low analytics adoption and more of visual report consumption culture would find it difficult to resonate with the value proposition of Alteryx.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 27, 2017

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx: Making life easier!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alteryx Analytics was being used by a team I was working with that wanted to check different Analytical software available in the market to see which one would be the best suited for our purpose. We wanted to be able to repeatedly analyze the same kind of data from different sources. Alteryx made our life easier by making it really easy to blend data from different kinds of sources.
  • It's great at blending data from different sources. I loved how easy it was.
  • There is a huge variety of visualizations that are available as well.
  • A lot of drag and drop options available for different workflows.
  • Open APIs available are a great help.
  • I would love better training videos on their website.
  • Trying to automate the workflow is at an additional cost.
  • If we happen to skip a few versions of Alteryx then it gets difficult to get accustomed to newer versions.
I know I have stated this already, but it really is very helpful for blending data from different sources. [It's] great where the people using it do not know coding. Love the drag and drop options. Makes life really easy. Could be a hassle trying to learn it for the first time due to the quality of training videos. It is improving a lot day by day and I love the way they are going with the product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 22, 2017

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx - One tool for All"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department is using Alteryx extensively and it is a great tool to perform ETL operations. We use Alteryx for various purposes and to implement many complex operations and automations.
  • Alteryx can publish to Tableau server which can be used as an extract and data source for Tableau.
  • Scheduling on Alteryx server is a great functionality which helps to schedule the workflows automatically on the server without manual intervention.
  • Analyzing the data is great - we can export the data in Excel, CSV; browse the data and so on.
  • Alteryx should provide Tableau Data Extracts (TDE) as an input option, it would be really helpful. It's more to do on Tableau side though.
  • We should be able to filter and manipulate the browse thing in Alteryx so that we can analyze even better.
Alteryx is great at doing complex manipulations like filtering out the data and summarizing, without writing a single line of code. Also, publishing on Tableau Server is a great feature where we can use it as a source in Tableau.
Read this authenticated review
Rana Banerji profile photo
October 10, 2016

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx for many things"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Alteryx for data cleansing, prep and analytics across sales and marketing functions, i.e. blending CRM, Excel and MailChimp data.
  • Breadth of data sources available (Excel to Big Data)
  • Easy to learn and use
  • Makes applying predictive analytics simpler
  • Alteryx community is a great place to learn and share workflows
  • Alteryx Gallery is a great platform to share apps
  • Alteryx Gallery needs a fresher UI
  • Automating workflows that blend Excel would greatly improve productivity
Alteryx is suited for many, many use cases and scenarios - too many to mention.
Read Rana Banerji's full review
Darrell Haley Jr. profile photo
September 11, 2015

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Organization made easy."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We specifically use Alteryx for data blending. Due to our multi-sourced approach, we receive multiple data sources in aggregate and find value in combining them into a database. It helps us gain intelligence on specific client-related asks in a simple, easy to use format. It really allows us to stay agile and manipulate data at a fast pace, something that is lacking in Excel alone.
  • Blend multiple sources of data
  • Append or update existing data
  • Allows for powerful insights for non-technical users
  • Improve work flow in modules, sometimes buggy when dealing with multiple files
  • On-screen wizard could help demonstrate common best practices
  • Add more tools that could benefit the user without them having to create macros
It is great for dealing with mass quantities of data, not so good if you're trying to analyze. If you're dealing with 50k+ records, then it probably is considerably faster to deep-dive into the data with Alteryx. However, for anything under that, Excel is the better program for visually finding patterns and trends in data, at least for someone who has a limited tech background.
Read Darrell Haley Jr.'s full review
Tran Huynh profile photo
September 01, 2015

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Tired of processing a bunch of Excel files, let's give a try to Alteryx."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Salesify’s products arm data-driven marketers and sales professionals with critical B2B Customer and Business Intelligence. We provide millions of high quality, relevant companies and contacts at the tip of your fingers with the help of our customer data analysis. All the data team is using Alteryx now to process tons of raw data to filter, cleanse and append relevant information based on customer requests. Its super fast processing performance helps us reduce considerable times of running big queries, opening large files and combining different sources.
  • Automation macros
  • Query simultaneously across instances
  • Process big files
  • Output multiple file types
  • More options for each tool
  • Not compatible when running at high DPI
  • Should have an account page online to manage license
Ask about documentation, maintenance and support.
Read Tran Huynh's full review
Dan Chapman profile photo
June 03, 2015

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Incredibly Fast and Flexible"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the sole user of Alteryx at Office Depot and it has become critical to just about everything that I do. In a nutshell, tasks and projects that would take the use of sometimes several programs (GIS, Access, Teradata, PowerPoint, Excel, etc.) and many hours, if not days to complete, can now be done in many cases using just one program and in a fraction of the time. Alteryx has made me incredibily more productive and efficient at my job. Though I have the only license in the company, there is definitely a huge opportunity for it to be used across the organization.
  • Spatial analysis in breakneck speed when compared against GIS. Add to that some pretty comprehensive mapping capabilities. My MapInfo Professional GIS is used less and less.
  • The incredible speed at which it reads and processes data (spatial and otherwise).
  • The ability to read and write in a multitude of formats: from Excel, Access tables, Tableau and Teradata to MapInfo, ESRI, Google Earth, etc. The flexibility is awesome.
  • Fantastic customer service with a live expert that answers everytime.
  • Creating maps can be a challenge sometimes as the process can be time consuming, and depending on the complexity of the map, it can take learning some nuances about the program.
Great for working with huge sets of data (and small sets too). Very well suited for geographic and data analysis. Fantastic for combining data from multiple sources into one and writing data and reports out to Excel, PowerPoint, Access, text files and even several GIS platforms. It is easy to write out data to multiple files/slides/databases (and I'm talking thousands of files if necessary). Can produce great looking maps when the time is put in. This program would not be appropriate for companies with only small datasets. The program can be expensive but I understand that they recently tiered their products at different price levels.
Read Dan Chapman's full review
Mark Frisch profile photo
November 10, 2014

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx: One man's opinion backed by years of experience."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alteryx is used within Development, Analytics and Client Services organizations within our company to handle a variety of business problems. It contributes to our data product development, business intelligence and ETL processes necessary to server our Marketing Service customers. It provides ease of use in both experienced developers hands as well as to analysts with limited data processing education. Data aggregation, model development, spatial analysis and business intelligence all fall within the sweet spots of Alteryx processing.
  • Alteryx democratizes data and quickly allows analysts the ability to turn data into intelligence. Data exploration can take new depths as users are capable of interrogating larger sets of data in reduced timeframes. Processes timeframes are reduced to fractions of their legacy counterparts.
  • Innovation has been accelerated by using Alteryx to develop quick prototypes that can rapidly be deployed for production use. Similarly, we have used Alteryx to replatform legacy systems. The transition to Alteryx not only reduces the infrastructure requirements, but also places the application/product into a new paradigm for processing, allowing innovative enhancements that were once limited by the legacy system(s).
  • Alteryx is a viral application. We've used Alteryx course training, in-house training, webinars and videos and our user community continues to grow. Alteryx is feature rich and each version of software builds reliably on prior versions. New users quickly come to speed on Alteryx and supoprt requirements for new users is minimal.
  • Alteryx seeks feedback from the user community. We regularly provide Alteryx with detailed requirements for supporting our data processing needs and Alteryx consistently delivers required functionality in their software updates.
  • Alteryx is rapidly expanding support for advanced analytics and delivery of consumable analytic tools. Alteryx can call other applications if necessary, but can also run R natively. Alteryx has been working both on expanding their delivered modeling toolset as well as enhancing their software to improve the performance of R.
  • While parallel processing is performed, there are times that I'd like to see more of it. Alteryx makes it easy to browse data within modules, but the browse output (tabular) is not readily filterable/sortable. Improvements to the user interface would be welcomed.
  • Alteryx allows users to schedule individual jobs for execution, but doesn't provide advanced scheduling tools to establish workflows where jobs executions have outside dependencies.
I am admittedly a Customer Evangalist for Alteryx and believe that Alteryx should be considered as a solution enabler in most cases. Alteryx allows for connection to data of many types and sources. If Alteryx complicates or lengthens the execution time of a process because of the need to move data from one point to another, I'd likely rearchitect the solution.

Call Alteryx and see how quickly they respond to your needs. Client Services is available most hours either by phone, email or chat. You can post to their community boards. They are very responsive and seek high customer satisfaction. They are very accessible and if you want to talk to their Chief Customer Officer, she'll get on the phone with you.
Read Mark Frisch's full review
Spencer Vigil profile photo
November 05, 2014

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Awe Inspiring Omniscient‎ Alteryx"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Buxton utilizes Alteryx to automate our processes for building regression models. It is used from everything from variable generation to building models using R and then to implement the final product to our customers. It is used by multiple departments to complete these tasks. It is able to stream line the processes that we do on a daily basis in order to shorten our projected delivery time.
  • Alteryx is a very versatile program to use. Whether you are formatting data or running complex models it can be efficient and helpful.
  • Alteryx interface is very easy to follow. There is code behind all of the tools but the visual appearance of the tools and process flow allow the user to visually see exactly what is going on behind the scenes.
  • Alteryx can be used by a variety of skill levels. Beginners can benefit greatly from already built modules. Experts can be innovative and provide company wide solutions that will streamline processes and make results more consistent.
  • Some error messages seem too ambiguous. Granted user error is a major cause of problems, it could still be beneficial to have the error point more closely to the area that is malfunctioning.
  • Reporting tools are difficult at times to get formats exactly fine tuned to the desired output.
When working with a lot of data where processes will be repeated in a similar fashion it is a must have. It cuts down on re work and gives the user the option to re-use past work in order to focus on more important theoretical aspects of the project. For one off formatting or similar tasks it might still be better to utilize other tools. PS SQL and R are two good programs to have a working knowledge of while working in Alteryx.
Read Spencer Vigil's full review
Shaun Beckett profile photo
September 12, 2014

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Data blending made easy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Alteryx for 99% of my data work at my company. The main reasons are: its incredible speed; user friendly interface; dynamic functionality; and above all its seamless integration with outside data sources and reporting engines. I highly recommend Alteryx for any company that is serious about data.
  • Speed
  • Usability
  • Integration
  • Functionality
  • Predictive Modeling
  • Blending
  • Spatial
  • Just keep making it faster and easier to use!
I wouldn't use Alteryx to do a lot of reporting, but thanks to its integration with Tableau, that is covered. Still the best BI data blending software out there.
Read Shaun Beckett's full review
Nick Lensing profile photo
March 31, 2014

Alteryx Analytics: "Alteryx the leading provider of strategic analytical solutions"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Alteryx is the tool of choice for data manipulation. It is being used in departments that have a need to solve complex and custom data processing problems. It solves all problems for the direct mail industry.
  • Alteryx handles metadata really well. The tools are intuitive in their use.
  • For analytics Alteryx it is a great platform.
  • There are barely any software bugs in the product.
  • The error messages are actually helpful to debug modules.
  • If a load-balancing application is internally developed on top of Alteryx processing nationwide universes can be really fast.
  • Speed is somewhat lacking.
  • It isn't optimally geared for ETL.
  • Intellisense would be a nice feature
  • There is no version control.
  • The tools could use some more features.
  • More pre-built macros would be nice
It is a great departmental solution.
Read Nick Lensing's full review
Adrian Harvey, MBA profile photo
March 26, 2014

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Great One-Stop Shop for Analysis"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Alteryx in a multitude of ways. We use it to generate geo-spatial variables for regression models as well as reporting. We also use Alteryx for internal analysis and data manipulation.
  • Alteryx is very easy to learn. It's really good at handling very large datasets and allows users the flexibility to manipulate data in many ways.
  • The user support is very helpful for Alteryx. The client services reps are very nice and always helpful when you have questions.
  • The analytic tools have made the software more well rounded as an end to end solution.
  • The R tools, although a very nice addition, are not easily modifiable so they can be somewhat limited in flexibility.
  • The mapping and graph/charting tools continue to be a drawback for Alteryx. We'd love to use Alteryx as the all in one stop shop solution for analysis, mapping, and reporting but it's maps and charts can't hold a candle to Excel Charts or Mapinfo/ESRI maps.
  • Processing speed is hit or miss depending on the size of what you're running through it. Generally, Alteryx is great at this but in cases where you're needing to process large data on the fly, things can take hours or days to run. This may not be easily resolvable but in much of our investigations, it seems like how Alteryx maybe could handle processing and optimizing the machine it's run on better. For example, a Quad-Core processor machine with 16GB of Ram may only use a quarter of it's threads to run Alteryx processes so we don't realize noticeable speed gains when run large jobs on our power boxes compared to smaller machines.
Alteryx is best suited for analytical departments, mapping/GIS teams, and data teams that need to manipulate data. It is less equipped to be the all around solution if you're looking to make very impressive reports with very customizable maps. But generally speaking, it's very useful and expected to continue to capture a larger audience over time.
Read Adrian Harvey, MBA's full review
No photo available
December 16, 2016

Alteryx Analytics Review: "Alteryx: Making life easier!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Alteryx Analytics individually for some research that I was doing for one of the data projects that I had. It has an intuitive workflow for data blending and analytics. It makes all the processes much faster compared to what it was before.
  • It can independently generate required analytics instead of having to require specialists.
  • The ability to read and write in a multitude of formats: from Excel, Access tables, Tableau and Teradata to MapInfo, ESRI, Google Earth, etc.
  • Single drag and drop workflow instead of multiple tools.
  • The visualization that Alteryx provides can be improved much more than where it stands tonight.
  • It doesn't seem to be able to process Big Data as efficiently as I would have liked.
  • There are a lot of things that you need to learn.
It is well suited where the user likes to write some code from time to time and also in cases where machine learning is required. Alteryx uses R for its machine learning which makes it life easier. Scenarios where maps need to be created for visualization are the examples. It lags a lot compared to other similar softwares for visualization but is very friendly for data analysis.
Read this authenticated review
sudhir mohanraj profile photo
March 28, 2014

Alteryx Analytics Review: "give it a chance."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used by a department. To see the mobile area coverage across an area.
  • Reads in large amounts of data pretty efficiently; provided it has enough power. Pretty much takes in any format of data and gives the output in the format needed.
  • Easy to learn.Tools are named logically and hence easier to understand.
  • Integrates with SQL pretty well.
  • Helpful Online sites.
  • Good Onsite support.
  • Supports processing of large amounts of data pretty efficiently; again provided machine has enough power.
  • Variety of Maps provided are not always what the customer wants; so customizable maps would be nice.
It is well suited if you have a use case of huge amounts of data needing to be mapped out or performing analytics on it.
Read sudhir mohanraj's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
8
Customizable dashboards (12)
6.7
Report Formatting Templates (1)
9
Drill-down analysis (17)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (19)
8.2
Integration with R or other statistical packages (17)
9.5
Report sharing and collaboration (17)
8.0
Publish to Web (17)
8.2
Publish to PDF (16)
8.5
Report Versioning (1)
9
Report Delivery Scheduling (17)
8.9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (1)
8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (16)
7.5
Predictive Analytics (16)
8.3
Multi-User Support (named login) (1)
8
Role-Based Security Model (1)
8
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (1)
9
Responsive Design for Web Access (1)
4

About Alteryx Analytics

Alteryx Analytics is a business intelligence and predictive analytics solution. The vendor's value proposition is that their solution provides analysts with the unique ability to easily prep, blend, and analyze all of their data using a repeatable workflow, then deploy and share analytics at scale for deeper insights in hours, not weeks. According to the vendor, analysts love the Alteryx Analytics platform because they can connect to and cleanse data from data warehouses, cloud applications, spreadsheets, and other sources; easily join this data together, then perform analytics – predictive, statistical, and spatial – using the same intuitive user interface, without writing any code. Additionally, the vendor says thousands of companies and data analysts worldwide rely on Alteryx daily.

Alteryx Analytics Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Does not have featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Does not have featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Does not have featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Does not have featureRole-Based Security Model
Does not have featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Does not have featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Does not have featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Alteryx Analytics Screenshots

Alteryx Analytics Integrations

Alteryx Analytics Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Alteryx Designer3,995per user, per year
Alteryx Designer with Spatial12,995per user, per year
Alteryx Designer with Data29,995per user, per year
Alteryx Server45,000per server, per year
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Alteryx Analytics Gallery1,500per user, per year

The above prices are in USD for Alteryx products and are per-year subscription prices based on a 3-year contract, with annual payment.

Alteryx Analytics Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Training

Alteryx Analytics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Brazilian Portuguese