Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Dropbox

Dropbox

Overview

What is Dropbox?

Dropbox is a cloud storage solution, equipped with features that help users to save time, improve productivity, and collaborate with others. Users can edit PDFs, share videos, sign documents, and collaborate with stakeholders without leaving Dropbox.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Casual User of Dropbox

8 out of 10
January 25, 2024
I use Dropbox to share files between coworkers. I also use it to store files outside my local computer. Sharing files between coworkers is …
Continue reading

Good for small businesses

7 out of 10
January 05, 2024
We use Dropbox across all teams on both desktop and mobile. It stores all our files and team collaboration documents both internally and …
Continue reading

Great for Business

9 out of 10
December 29, 2023
Incentivized
Our Design Team uses Dropbox to save, organize and share large files amongst internal team members and external vendors. Dropbox enables …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features
  • Reliability (556)
    7.9
    79%
  • File organization (552)
    7.7
    77%
  • Performance (554)
    7.6
    76%
  • File search (566)
    7.0
    70%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

3 videos

Dropbox has the Flexibility to Serve a Variety of Needs Across Platforms
04:00
A User Review: Years Later, Dropbox Still Makes Life Easier
03:43
Dropbox Business Review: Allows Design Business To Complete Quick & Simple File Sharing
03:22
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Plus

$9.99

Cloud
per month

Essentials

$18

Cloud
per month

Business

$20

Cloud
per month per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Dropbox - Overview

Navattic
Return to navigation

Features

File Sharing & Management

Features that allow collaborators to view, work on, and organize files.

7.5
Avg 8.4

Cloud Storage Security & Administration

Features related to security and administration for cloud storage platforms

7.3
Avg 8.6

Cloud Storage Platform

Features around the functionality of the cloud storage platform.

7.5
Avg 8.5
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Dropbox?

Dropbox is a place to keep files organized and keep work moving. Boasting more than 700 million registered users across approximately 180 countries, Dropbox states their mission is to design a more enlightened way of working. • Simple organization: Keeps files in one place, and organizes them just the way the user wants. • Anytime access: Gets users to files and photos wherever and whenever they are needed—on desktop, mobile, or web. • Sharing made easy: No matter how big or how small, Dropbox lets users share any file with anyone with just a link. The software helps users to work efficiently with teammates and clients, stay in sync on projects, and keep company data safe.

Dropbox Screenshots

Screenshot of the action bar, that sits across the browser page can be used to record the screen, edit PDFs, upload files, create folders, get signatures, or send and track documents.Screenshot of Dropbox Replay, that lets collaborators leave frame-accurate feedback and markups directly on project files.Screenshot of Dropbox Capture, which can be used to take screen recordings, screenshots, and GIFs with one click and share them with a link.Screenshot of the interface where Dropbox lets users upload, edit, send, and sign PDFs in one place.

Dropbox Video

Dropbox is one of the of the most popular cloud storage options and is popular with businesses of all sizes across many different industries. We have aggregated some of the 400+ Dropbox reviews on TrustRadius and determined what the software’s most popular features are, and w...
 Show More

Dropbox Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Dropbox is a cloud storage solution, equipped with features that help users to save time, improve productivity, and collaborate with others. Users can edit PDFs, share videos, sign documents, and collaborate with stakeholders without leaving Dropbox.

Box, ShareFile, and Doxo are common alternatives for Dropbox.

Reviewers rate Audio files highest, with a score of 8.3.

The most common users of Dropbox are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(3515)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 603)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 06, 2024

A step above

Luke Baranouskas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our team uses Dropbox for collecting field work photos via links into our site admin and ultimately our invoices for clients. I also use Dropbox as our main file system for the company and my home system as well. We recently did an workflow analysis, and Google Drive won out, overwhelmingly, when we approached Dropbox for pro-rated refund, they said our annual service fee paid 30 days before was totally unrefundable, we're actually discontinuing this service as soon as possible.
January 25, 2024

Casual User of Dropbox

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Dropbox to share files between coworkers. I also use it to store files outside my local computer. Sharing files between coworkers is very useful for our organization because my company is remote and everyone is scattered across the country for their work locations. Dropbox lets us share things easily. It's especially useful for sharing video files because I work in design and coworkers can send me a video of what they're seeing on their screen, enabling me to quickly address the design issue without having to get on a zoom call and use screen sharing.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize it to store files required for projects. This may be drawings or AutoCAD files. Along with using it to ensure that other team members have access to this all at the same time. It makes it extremely helpful that you can create various folders to organize things. Dropbox is great for our team's use.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Dropbox across all teams on both desktop and mobile. It stores all our files and team collaboration documents both internally and externally. We utilize it to keep track of edits, copies, and approvals. For external partners, it allows us to share files quickly and efficiently with password protected folders.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it to store all of our photos, videos, other content, we also use it to organize our working docs and decks. I go into our Dropbox at least 10 times a day to pull assets or work on projects. I wish the google doc files were smaller so that they would load and work faster. I also wish sharing files didn't have so many glitches.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Saving purchase orders, important docs, etc- we use it as our main connector of documents. Our team is remote, and what's great here is that no matter what email platform one has and where anyone is in the world, Dropbox is accessible. We find this is better than possibly having connection issues.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Dropbox to share lesson material and shared projects. For the moment I haven’t found any problem. The scope of my use cases is to share material with all my colleagues to work together on shared work. The main topic is cybersecurity security, covering aspects from hardware security to network security. We also share laboratory material concerning the projects and exercises we do to practice on previous topics. The usage of Dropbox is very good for our purposes because it permits us to share all the material in real-time and in a very simple way.
December 29, 2023

Dropbox Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We work with international staff so Dropbox is vital for us. It is easy to use and share the information with all my colleagues, it is faster and I can trust it. I can rely on the system and the interface is friendly and easy to follow up. When I have a mistake I can recover the information and that is very useful and I'm very happy with the services so far
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Dropbox for document sharing among partners and business collaborators to eliminate the need for bottlenecking our email inboxes. We set up specific folders that have certain users and permissions where we share documents and collaborate on projects. I have used it with clients, partners, and even my peer affiliate group to share ideas.
December 29, 2023

Great for Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our Design Team uses Dropbox to save, organize and share large files amongst internal team members and external vendors. Dropbox enables us to save files online instead of locally on a machine and then easily share them amongst ourselves and other departments, external vendors, etc. with ease. It also provides us large storage space so we don't have to worry about running out of storage on our local machines.
December 29, 2023

Great Value and Service.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Dropbox is used to sort and file away all our electronically scanned documents so that teammates may access information and we can quickly look up important information regarding our different properties, entities, and other business-related activities. We use Dropbox on a weekly to daily basis to look for information and share things with others across the cloud-based server.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We store all of our files on DropBox. We use it for personnel information, document housing, and to create and share new files as needed. It addresses the problem of having documents in several different places (on people's individual desktops, in a filing cabinet, saved in Excel, Word, etc. We were having too many issues finding the documents we needed without searching several different places before we started using Dropbox.
December 29, 2023

Fine

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Dropbox as our company's file database platform. We need version control and file-sharing capabilities that Dropbox provides. Our use case is just across internal file sharing and is used concurrently with the Google Drive ecosystem.
Chrisostomos Prodromou | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
My scientific research generates a lot of data. Finding it in lab books can cost a lot of time. I store all my scientific data in Dropbox and Dropbox paper. It's great as it allows me to keep related information together and to search for it easily. Everything from data, methods, notes to papers for publication can be stored easily and accessed when needed. I can also share information easily with my fellow colleagues.
December 29, 2023

Dropbox is good to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
we use Dropbox everyday, it is one of our main server to save docs. it is so convenient that for those who have shared access of the folders, we can view the changes in files immediately and share with others using the link it created. the only issue of using Dropbox maybe syncing issue.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Dropbox for several aspects of our organization—we use Dropbox as cloud storage, to collaborate on a variety of projects including Word, Excel, and PSD files, and as a repository for ProPresenter media. Dropbox is essential to our workflow and we use it in the office, on the go through our mobile app, and when we work offsite. We could not support in-house the infrastructure nor the manpower needed to effectively accomplish what Dropbox does—plus they have years of an established reputation.

December 29, 2023

Dropbox for 3D designers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Dropbox on our everyday work as a virtual/digital server for remote studio work. We work as a remote/home-office studio since 2018 and since then we always use a cloud service as main method to exchange files with users and external clients, Dropbox is a good solution for this due to the efficient files management that it has.
Return to navigation