TrustRadius
WorkflowMax is a web-based project management solution, owned by Xero, Inc. It is designed to be user-friendly and intuitive. The platform offers end-to-end functionality standard to project management software, with a comprehensive suite of features including lead management, quotes and estimates, time and job tracking, milestone management, job costing, purchase orders, flexible permission for clients, staff and contractors, email integration, invoicing, and a custom report builder. Approximately 25 different software systems integrate with WorkflowMax, enabling the functionality to be expanded – integrations include Google Drive, Salesforce, Xero, MYOB, Zendesk, Freshdesk, and Dropbox. A free 14-day trial is available, and packages are available for between 1-200 employees.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/9g/TK/B6CROJA5Z2L1.JPEGGreat program for timekeeping, invoicing, and project management!Our entire organization uses WorkflowMax to manage timekeeping and time entry, billing and project budget management, business development lead tracking, productivity tracking, and for other billing and accounting purposes. We use it on a daily basis to enter time and be able to review project progress easily. We use the invoicing features generally on a monthly basis. The depth of work in WorkflowMax depends on each person's position. For example, our business office coordinator and Principals use all of the features that we have, while entry-level staff uses it primarily to enter their billed time.,Project and task setup is convenient. I appreciate the ability to customize tasks. The different reports that are available are very useful. They quickly summarize the information we need to know. The ability to export time entries, both into PDF and Excel, is helpful when I want to run an analysis not conveniently summarized in one of our reports.,I would like to see a connection between the "budget" and the "quote" for a project. These are always equal, so it would be more convenient if they were linked. I would like to be able to sort invoices on the Financials tab by the different fields. Currently, they are always chronological. It would be nice if I could sort by status and amount due. I would like to be able to "freeze" the column headers in the weekly time entry view so that they remain visible when I scroll down many tasks. I would like to be able to set different billing rates for the same staff members that could be auto-selected based on the project type.,10,WorkflowMax has provided our company with significant positive ROI by shortening the amount of time that staff needs to spend on time entry, invoicing, project review, etc. By making it easier to enter time on a daily basis, WorkflowMax has allowed us to monitor project budgets and avoid going over budget more effectively. With WorkflowMax, we are better enabled to compare project budgets across different clients and can calibrate new budgets accordingly.,Timekeeper,ArcGIS, Laserfiche, Microsoft Office 2016, Citrix NetScaler Access GatewayWorkflowMax.... helps you get the max from your workflow!We use WorkflowMax across the organization as a management tool for our staff to manage projects and to link in with Xero. Our employees are contractors and can see what projects have been allocated to them and how many hours we anticipate it will take them. We can see where they are at without having to phone and this works well for people in the media industry. I like that you can attach notes and we are trying to use this with Dropbox, currently this is not working successfully, but we have only just started and if its like the other areas, we will soon either work it out ourselves or get great support.,Great for managing teams which are not in one spot. Awesome for small or growing businesses with employees who might work from home. Really good for teams to keep up with where a project is at against the time left to achieve the goal Great for keeping all the information for each project in one spot.,When looking at the job distribution it isn't to scale and it isn't printable. Sometimes it is confusing as to where you might find something until you realise there are multiple points of access. When a job is assigned the whole task is assigned and if you work on it before the task is allocated to you, it isn't possible to enter those hours. It would be better if the employee could choose the task they did and enter the hours and then it sent back to an approver to have it added.,8,I find it easy to use, therefore good for time management Great for connecting with employees without the need for unnecessary communication Doesn't waste storage space because it's online,StreamtimeWhy I love WorkflowMaxFor my own company it is used to: track time, cost jobs, issue proposals, and invoice clients. It addresses the problem of knowing how much jobs and client "cost" my company. It enables me to breakdown projects into tasks and do proposals and invoices showing that level of detail. As an advisor/consultant it enables me to offer a relevant service to my core industry - consultants.,Detailed job setup and tracking Highly customisable setup Integration with Xero,Integration with inventory - there are a lot of companies out there which provide a service which includes selling items either purchased or held in stock or "kitted" User permission levels need to be more flexible and ideally closely tied to Xero Two way integration with Xero - ability to import invoices to specific jobs Ability to save pdfs to purchase orders, invoices (like Xero),9,Better tracking of leads Faster to do proposal More accurate invoicing,Harvest,FreshBooks,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Deciding how to invoice for monthly bookkeeping work,10,9,No,When I did my first implementation Leigh spent a lot of time addressing my queries and giving me some great suggestions on how to do things differently.WorkflowMax for Lawyers - a worthy alternative to Legal Practice Management SystemsIt is used across the entire firm. All staff use it for time recording, but we have recently started generating invoices from WorkflowMax and are looking at utilising other features, such as milestones, reminders etc. We also use the reporting features, in particular WIP and custom time reports.,Time recording is very user-friendly, this is really important for busy lawyers.,I'd like to see functionality for system-generated client numbering, configurable to how the client wants it. For example, we have a 3 digit client number, followed by a 2 digit matter number, e.g. 123-45. This configuration was generated by our prior system (which was a specific LPM system). Since moving to WorkflowMax we've had to use an excel spreadsheet to generate a new client or matter number which is far from ideal. Bring back customised branding! Under the old UI we had our logo and corporate colours. Realise WorkflowMax are trying to differentiate from Xero, but the green is pretty awful. Would also be great if the template customising was more user-friendly. I'd also like to see figures show GST exclusive by default. For example when I go into a job, click on the financial tab, I'd like to see the invoices already charged against that job as GST exclusive. I feel there is too much of a mix between GST exclusive and inclusive across the system and it should be one or the other by default.,9,Biggest impact has been automation of client invoicing. Prior to using WorkflowMax, invoices were generated in Word, usually a template from a prior invoice to that client. Now the invoice is generated in WorkflowMax, saved as a draft, exported to Word, uploaded to Microsoft SharePoint, then shared with the invoice author. This has cut down on mistakes and unnecessary admin time.,WorkflowMax for the winWorkflowMax is used for all our invoicing, timesheet keeping and lead tracking. It integrates seamlessly with Xero. I'm also a WorkflowMax consultant and reseller.,Invoice integration with Xero Easy to keep track of complex jobs over time Makes sure you don't lose track of billing,Setting up job templates can be confusing Templates for invoicing and purchase orders are tied to Microsoft Office which seems so unnecessary in an open age.,8,It ensures you bill for all expenses because it's easy to add costs to jobs Invoicing is handled accurately and easily and dovetails exactly into Xero Good visibility other staff jobs,
Unspecified
WorkflowMax
57 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

WorkflowMax Reviews

WorkflowMax
57 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 57 vetted WorkflowMax reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
December 21, 2017

WorkflowMax Review: "Great program for timekeeping, invoicing, and project management!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses WorkflowMax to manage timekeeping and time entry, billing and project budget management, business development lead tracking, productivity tracking, and for other billing and accounting purposes. We use it on a daily basis to enter time and be able to review project progress easily. We use the invoicing features generally on a monthly basis. The depth of work in WorkflowMax depends on each person's position. For example, our business office coordinator and Principals use all of the features that we have, while entry-level staff uses it primarily to enter their billed time.
  • Project and task setup is convenient. I appreciate the ability to customize tasks.
  • The different reports that are available are very useful. They quickly summarize the information we need to know.
  • The ability to export time entries, both into PDF and Excel, is helpful when I want to run an analysis not conveniently summarized in one of our reports.
  • I would like to see a connection between the "budget" and the "quote" for a project. These are always equal, so it would be more convenient if they were linked.
  • I would like to be able to sort invoices on the Financials tab by the different fields. Currently, they are always chronological. It would be nice if I could sort by status and amount due.
  • I would like to be able to "freeze" the column headers in the weekly time entry view so that they remain visible when I scroll down many tasks.
  • I would like to be able to set different billing rates for the same staff members that could be auto-selected based on the project type.
WorkflowMax is very well suited for a business that wants to track time billed by project, to have an easy way to generate invoices for those projects, and to keep track of overall productivity and invoice status. I imagine it can also be adapted to different types of businesses that deal in goods rather than services and time. I am not sure for which scenarios or businesses the program is not appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Caroline Laredo profile photo
July 21, 2015

Review: "WorkflowMax.... helps you get the max from your workflow!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WorkflowMax across the organization as a management tool for our staff to manage projects and to link in with Xero. Our employees are contractors and can see what projects have been allocated to them and how many hours we anticipate it will take them. We can see where they are at without having to phone and this works well for people in the media industry. I like that you can attach notes and we are trying to use this with Dropbox, currently this is not working successfully, but we have only just started and if its like the other areas, we will soon either work it out ourselves or get great support.
  • Great for managing teams which are not in one spot. Awesome for small or growing businesses with employees who might work from home.
  • Really good for teams to keep up with where a project is at against the time left to achieve the goal
  • Great for keeping all the information for each project in one spot.
  • When looking at the job distribution it isn't to scale and it isn't printable.
  • Sometimes it is confusing as to where you might find something until you realise there are multiple points of access.
  • When a job is assigned the whole task is assigned and if you work on it before the task is allocated to you, it isn't possible to enter those hours. It would be better if the employee could choose the task they did and enter the hours and then it sent back to an approver to have it added.
What specific features does the user want and does WorkflowMax offer these?
Are they transferring from another product and if so can any of the data be imported in?
What payroll/accounting software do they use - do they need their workflow product to communicate well?
Read Caroline Laredo's full review
Mary Moore profile photo
July 21, 2015

User Review: "Why I love WorkflowMax"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
For my own company it is used to: track time, cost jobs, issue proposals, and invoice clients. It addresses the problem of knowing how much jobs and client "cost" my company. It enables me to breakdown projects into tasks and do proposals and invoices showing that level of detail. As an advisor/consultant it enables me to offer a relevant service to my core industry - consultants.
  • Detailed job setup and tracking
  • Highly customisable setup
  • Integration with Xero
  • Integration with inventory - there are a lot of companies out there which provide a service which includes selling items either purchased or held in stock or "kitted"
  • User permission levels need to be more flexible and ideally closely tied to Xero
  • Two way integration with Xero - ability to import invoices to specific jobs
  • Ability to save pdfs to purchase orders, invoices (like Xero)
WorkflowMax is ideal for consulting/service relates businesses, where the only "purchases" are disbursements. Do you sell things? is the question I ask when first approached about WorkflowMax.
Read Mary Moore's full review
Nadine Haines profile photo
August 14, 2015

Review: "WorkflowMax for Lawyers - a worthy alternative to Legal Practice Management Systems"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the entire firm. All staff use it for time recording, but we have recently started generating invoices from WorkflowMax and are looking at utilising other features, such as milestones, reminders etc. We also use the reporting features, in particular WIP and custom time reports.
  • Time recording is very user-friendly, this is really important for busy lawyers.
  • I'd like to see functionality for system-generated client numbering, configurable to how the client wants it. For example, we have a 3 digit client number, followed by a 2 digit matter number, e.g. 123-45. This configuration was generated by our prior system (which was a specific LPM system). Since moving to WorkflowMax we've had to use an excel spreadsheet to generate a new client or matter number which is far from ideal.
  • Bring back customised branding! Under the old UI we had our logo and corporate colours. Realise WorkflowMax are trying to differentiate from Xero, but the green is pretty awful.
  • Would also be great if the template customising was more user-friendly.
  • I'd also like to see figures show GST exclusive by default. For example when I go into a job, click on the financial tab, I'd like to see the invoices already charged against that job as GST exclusive. I feel there is too much of a mix between GST exclusive and inclusive across the system and it should be one or the other by default.

I would not recommend it to law firms who deal with trusts, conveyancing or a high volume of trust account transactions, as it lacks the functionality to deal with those types of legal work. However for anyone doing reasonably straight-forward professional work, at time and costs or a fixed priced basis, it's ideal.

One of things I liked best when I chose it was that it wasn't overspeced with bells and whistles that we didn't need.

Read Nadine Haines's full review
John Curtis profile photo
July 28, 2015

User Review: "WorkflowMax for the win"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
WorkflowMax is used for all our invoicing, timesheet keeping and lead tracking. It integrates seamlessly with Xero. I'm also a WorkflowMax consultant and reseller.
  • Invoice integration with Xero
  • Easy to keep track of complex jobs over time
  • Makes sure you don't lose track of billing
  • Setting up job templates can be confusing
  • Templates for invoicing and purchase orders are tied to Microsoft Office which seems so unnecessary in an open age.
Timesheets and cost management take some care and time. Don't expect this is an automatic process.
Read John Curtis's full review
Lindsay Simpson profile photo
July 21, 2015

WorkflowMax Review: "Workflow Maxing it for us!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have on site engineers that need to track time spent on site so they each log their individual time and then I collate all the information into invoices. We also use it as our CRM.
  • It is very simple to use. The engineers don't have time for big training sessions and they have picked up on how to use it very easily.
  • It is easy to correct mistakes. Sometimes the engineers don't get things set up right on jobs and I have to rectify the issues and it is so simple to do with just adding additional templates to jobs.
  • The report builder is marvelous. I am able to create all sorts of reports for all sorts of situations and creating mailing lists etc., is so easy.
  • I think invoicing multiple clients at one time of the month, like we do at the end of the month, can take a little time as I have to go into each individual client and create an invoice. It would be great to have the functionality to create invoices for multiple clients that had time on their jobs for that month.
If you are in a business that needs to track time for the purpose of invoicing then WorkflowMax is the best product out there. You can create templates so that you are not repeating yourself a million times and it helps to keep all our client notes in one place.
Read Lindsay Simpson's full review
Andy Mogg profile photo
July 21, 2015

WorkflowMax Review: "Workflow max - well worth the money."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WorkflowMax has helped us keep track of many aspects of our business and collaborate as a team. It's easy to use and provides plenty of features and modules saving us time and effort when it comes to tracking jobs, purchases and invoices.
  • Flexible reporting tools
  • Job management is easy, straight forward to find invoices, purchases and other aspects associated with a particular job
  • Well priced
  • Mobile/iphone/tablet usage could be improved
Read Andy Mogg's full review
Chris Gildersleve profile photo
July 21, 2015

WorkflowMax Review: "Help your work process flow efficiently"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it through our installation and service side of the business. Given that we can all access it via the cloud it perfectly suits our mobile team.
  • It is simple to produce quotations
  • The quotes generate the jobs and the ongoing process
  • We can easily track the and monitor our projects
  • It provides good feedback
  • I would like it to be more shop floor friendly
Ask about how well it integrates with your accounting package - we use Sage of which there is no support currently.
Read Chris Gildersleve's full review
Andrea Steed profile photo
July 21, 2015

Review: "WorkflowMax - The Only Project Management Program You Need"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're just a small company so only a few people use WorkflowMax, but everybody who does agrees that it is really user friendly. Personally, it makes my job as admin asst extremely easy and invoicing has become a breeze! Also the reporting side of WorkflowMax allows me to see at a glance just what payments are outstanding, and what purchase orders still need to be approved by the client. I also particularly like the simple integration WorkflowMax has with my accounting package, Xero.
  • Reporting - enables users to see at a glance exactly what is outstanding, what jobs are open, and what action is required on each particular project
  • Invoicing - once the template has been set up invoicing is extremely easy to do
  • Timesheets - individual users can input their own timesheets and this information carries over automatically into invoices. Makes my job so much easier!
  • When I open WorkflowMax I always go straight away to the Jobs / Jobs section. It would be useful if I could set this up as a "default"
  • When initially setting up WorkflowMax I imported all my contacts from Xero - only to realise that I didn't really need them all. I can only delete one client/supplier at a time and it would be so much easier if I could nominate a group deletion
  • Report Builder - when creating new reports you can only use fields that are relevant to the report you're trying to create, ie a Job report only has job fields. It would be useful if the fields could be expanded to include all areas (ie jobs, invoices, quotes, etc) so that a totally customised report can be built
We chose WorkflowMax because we needed a program that allowed us to track several separate jobs at one time. The timesheets are important for our on-the-road consultants. And it was important that the program connected seamlessly with Xero.

Some key questions to ask:
Do you need to track time?
Do you have projects that need to be accessed by different employees/clients/suppliers?
Do you need a fully customisable reporting suite?
Read Andrea Steed's full review
Russell Devlin profile photo
July 21, 2015

WorkflowMax: "New User review - best thing we ever did..."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using WorkFlowMax across the whole business. It is primarily used to track hours on architectural jobs and helps us do so with relative ease. It has been easy to learn and we are developing our understanding to allow us to use more modules as we progress. In this vein, the videos and support available is very user friendly.
  • Ease of understanding and learning the programme for all staff levels with good learning support.
  • Very good data and graphic presentation to get a quick or detailed picture of the business
  • Relative ease of data entry
  • Awkward process for setting New Jobs up, jumping around a lot. Then re-entering data. Then not being able to enter your own hours because you didn't tick yourself on the task line.
  • Maybe Admin can enter a new job with a link from the dashboard. Then New Job could have a 'wizard' (sorry) or a prompt sequence, to ask if you have done certain things or are planning to enter hours...
  • I am unsure of how to reconcile Fixed price against Hours worked, i'm sure it can be done. Haven't figured it out yet.
  • Not necessarliy straightforward...
What do you need?
Do you charge by the hour?
What information do you need?
Do you know if you are making any money or not?
The only scenario I can think of not to use it, is if you don't want to know the answer to the last question... Could happen.

Read Russell Devlin's full review
David Melloy profile photo
July 21, 2015

Review: "Why wouldn't you want to save money with WorkflowMax?"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WorkFlowMax for all our time management and billing needs, as well as contact and client management. Typically our process means that WorkflowMax is used through out the entire life of a project, from quoting to tracking variations. The integration with the Xero accounting package is fantastic as it saves our admin staff from double handling accounting information, which in turns saves errors from being made, and bills being missed.
  • Time sheets
  • Accounting package integration
  • Quoting and estimates
  • Being able to customise the documentation side of WorkflowMax to suit our method of filing - i.e. /JobNumber-ClientName/ not ClientName/JobNumber/
I would recommend WorkFlowMax to any business that sells time to clients, i.e. designers, accountants, lawyers etc.
Read David Melloy's full review
Ted Esdaile-Watts profile photo
July 21, 2015

User Review: "Why WorkflowMax Works For Us"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WorkflowMax as the central time tracking portal and platform for creation of all project estimates and invoices. Once an estimate is approved WorkflowMax quickly turns it into a easily tracked job, allowing us to stick to budgets, record and manage time, then just as quickly create an invoice. WorkflowMax allows us to save valuable time on administration and project management.
  • WorkflowMax is great at collating time sheets across teams, clients and projects. Managing hours spent on discrete project by various staff members is critical to our business. Since using WorkflowMax blowouts are a thing of the past.
  • WorkflowMax integrates directly with Xero. Invoices created in WorkflowMax are added into Xero's accounts receivables like magic.
  • WorkflowMax allows for the easy creation of custom templates that fit in with our organisation's standard documents.
  • Would be great if the client login provided real-time updates on hours against active jobs
  • Allow for text in invoices to be updated after they are approved without having to cancel an invoice, once it's approved you cannot fix typos
  • Refinement of the staff members billing rate system such that staff members can be billed out at varying billing rates
WorkflowMax is very well suited to our consultancy based business.
Read Ted Esdaile-Watts's full review
Stephanie Carr profile photo
July 21, 2015

Review: "Working for you - WorkflowMax - highly reccomend"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WorkflowMax is used across the whole organisation. WorkflowMax takes care of staff timesheets, client invoicing, job tracking, client contacts, job costing and comparison from estimates to actuals.
  • Staff timesheets. WorkflowMax enables easy time entering for staff, and allows us to progress invoice up to date. It can work in with payroll systems and accounting software for ease of entering - saving alot of time and double entering.
  • Gives a clear view of the current and upcoming jobs / tasks
  • Able to track and follow a job, comparing the estimates to the actual amount billed for a job. You can see where things may have gone overtime, or undertime etc
  • Would be nice to have the ability to edit an invoice, it seems at the moment the only way of changing an invoice is to delete it our of the system and start again.
I think there would be a huge number of businesses that would benefit from WorkflowMax. It has definitely reduced the time it takes for invoicing.
Read Stephanie Carr's full review
Mark Williams profile photo
July 21, 2015

User Review: "Happy Happy Happy with WorkFlowMax"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WorkflowMax is used to record all client details, all job details and all quote information. It is also used for entering timesheets and creating invoices. It is being used by all persons in the organisation. It keeps all information in one place and reduces the need for multiple spread sheets.
  • Makes it easier to quote a job as information is set and types of work can be changed. Great as everyone knows our charge out rates and can quote quickly
  • Very easy to find client contact details. Having all the clients details is good as you only need to know part of the company or their name and you can find them
  • Very easy to review a job to see what needs to be done. Workflows are fantastic!
  • I would like it so that values can be taken out and sent to a word document. May be able to do this, but have not been able to find it.
Having used many other programs, spread sheets and word documents to keep this information; having one program that stores client details, quote details and job details together is fantastic.
Read Mark Williams's full review
Steve Ryan profile photo
July 21, 2015

User Review: "Loving WorkflowMax"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WorkflowMax is used by all technicians and engineers. It takes care of all time tracking, job monitoring and management, parts and other costs, quotes plus invoicing at the completion of the job. These invoices then feed into our accounting software (Xero) immediately and when Xero reconciles the payment, feeds that information back to WorkFlowMax.
  • Time tacking of jobs - a timer is available to keep time. Only available on the full web version unfortunately. Great for starting when beginning work and entering notes into the field as you go. Then stop the timer at the end, the notes on what was done are all there without having to think back through the entire day.
  • Invoicing and integrating with Xero. Saves so much time with the accounting.
  • Quotes - can price up all the costs and time, and when the quotes gets accepted, it converts this straight into a job and away you go.
  • The mobile version is lacking too many features - specifically the timer
WorkflowMax is well suited to invoicing - customising invoices is easy and having multiple invoices to chose from is possible. It handles jobs and distributing jobs to staff well.
Read Steve Ryan's full review
Sarah Lochead-MacMillan profile photo
June 15, 2015

WorkflowMax Review: "Seamless workflow for on the road"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant traveling to my clients I find WorkflowMax invaluable. I can use it for leads to jobs to billing. It sends me reminders and I never forget to follow up. I can use it remotely and from my office. I get to track the jobs and status of leads. I can see what time and cost I spend on my clients and therefore what I should be charging to make money. Its seamless integration with XERO really helps make the monitoring of my business performance, and therefore my own performance, a breeze. I wouldn't be without it!
  • Task reminders - so you do not forget to send out material or chase that lead
  • Job costig - so you can really understand the cost to your business and price accordingly to make money
  • Integration with XERO - so that when monitoring your performance the figures are all there
  • An app for mobile use woud be great
  • Ability to customise the look of your quotes at far greater detail
Read Sarah Lochead-MacMillan's full review
Keith Baker profile photo
July 21, 2015

WorkflowMax Review: "Excellent web-based management system for professional services firm"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WorkflowMax is being used for:

  • Timesheet and allocation of time to clients and non-client activity
  • CRM - Lead development
  • Invoicing and Expense Management (via Xero)
  • Client management
  • Employee Self Service HR
No problems to mention, except in need of a Phone App like Xero.
  • Easy to use
  • Online therefore available from anywhere you have a access to the interet
  • Easy to use
  • Mobility - would be good to have a phone application for Workflow Max (like their free Xero product)
  • CRM could be enhanced
  • Reporting could be made simpler
Read Keith Baker's full review
Nicky Chalker profile photo
July 21, 2015

"WorkflowMax Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WorkflowMax is being used across the whole organisation. It allows us to have transparency around jobs and our contractors. It is also being utilised as a CRM system. I have also entered all of our available resources and categorised them in order to have an up to date list of available resources. I have done this under the lead area.
  • One source of truth around our clients, contractors, available resources and current jobs
  • Quoting and invoicing
  • Time tracking
  • The ability to customise the names of the different areas. For example we would like to change the Lead tab to Resource Pool
  • Autosave
  • Colour and bold into notes and Add notes in two places
  • Timesheet should not allow me to enter zero hours without a pop-up confirmation
Read Nicky Chalker's full review
No photo available
July 23, 2015

Review: "WorkflowMax: Improving the Business of Architecture"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Workflow Max is primarily being used by our firm to track potential and active jobs, establish staffing forecasting, collect staff timesheets, and issue accurate invoices. It has proven to be a very functional, reliable, and easy to engage with software solution to a series of difficult problems.
  • Allows for fairly simple or elaborate project forecasting depending on the complexity of the job. This allows us to track time by a single project or multiple phases.
  • Time keeping and coordination with invoicing software has increased our firm's ability to issue timely and accurate invoices to clients. Has ability to break down projects in numerous ways to meet the needs of our various clients. This means we can invoice by project, phase, milestone, or dollar increments.
  • Interface is clean and easy to follow. The easier it is to use the fewer mistakes that are made when entering information. This is greatly appreciated.
  • Currently the timesheet function allows staff to input time for overlapping periods which can cause some headaches when it comes to payroll and invoicing. We understand this is being addressed.
  • The amount of flexibility in the product can create some challenges when setting up the jobs database at the onset. It is a daunting challenge but worthwhile when completed correctly and rolled out across the firm. Adding new jobs is much easier.
  • No search function to find a specific job, you have to scroll through all jobs allocated to you.
WorkflowMax is a good solution for the architecture and design profession in that it allows for multiple ways to track a project, apply time to a project, and invoice against a project. The ability to do staffing forecasting and future planning fills a need that most firms in this profession require.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 22, 2015

Review: "WorkflowMax - A complex package that is surprisingly easy to use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using WorkflowMax to create quotes, enter jobs as they come in, add expenses, and log hours and tasks by multiple users. We also use it to store back up information and create detailed invoices for our clients.
  • WorkflowMax is a powerful application (or set of modules) which streamlines several processes into one.
  • From job data to invoicing to payroll we have the ultimate control.
  • Links seamlessly with Xero for our accounting.
  • I would like somewhere (client folders) I can keep my quotes so I can quickly access them for data from invoiced jobs. I don't want just one giant list.
I'm sure this depends on the company and what they want. Possibly small one man businesses may find it too expensive?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 21, 2015

Review: "I need more time to fully evaluate WorkFlowMax"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using WorkflowMax to log hours which I spend across multiple clients and multiple job tasks. I then enable it to generate a draft invoice up into Xero, in order to invoice my clients at month-end in a more efficient and effective way.
  • Seamless integration in terms of raising sales invoices to my clients based on hours x hourly rate
  • Ability to log tasks by individual job, which can derive a draft invoice.
  • Customer service
  • User ability for WorkFlowMax users
[I would ask about]: How user-friendly the software is and the level of customer support/service that I will receive.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 21, 2015

User Review: "WorkflowMax your time today."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WorkflowMax as our online data base, for online filing of tax returns and GST returns with the IRD syncing data with Xero which makes life so much easier. I use it as a time management tool for keeping track of jobs due on an ad hoc or recurring basis. It also acts as a good guide for raising invoices - although we do this in Xero.
  • Jobs can be allocated to each member of staff - with a due date - which keeps us on track with deadlines
  • Data flows from Xero into WorkflowMax and in turn links to the IRD for ease of filing returns on line
  • Documents can be attached to clients files - or notes added- now easy to access so everyone has an up to date picture of what is going on
  • It used to have a time clock facility to keep an accurate account of time spent on a job - don't know what happened to this - but it was very handy
Its a great online easy access database with functionality.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 21, 2015

WorkflowMax Review: "Can even herd cats."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WorkflowMax for every aspect of our jobs other than strategy and design. We use it to open new jobs, allocate staff and costs as well as timings. We use the system to traffic the work and ensure we meet deadlines. In addition we upload costs, issue estimates and purchase orders and raise invoices. Our accountant then exports these invoices seamlessly into MYOB. It is a very useful tool for us and provides a structure to our business that all staff adhere to.
  • Clear and easy to use which helps - so very little resistance from staff to utilise the functions
  • Saves a huge amount of time from a functional management perspective
  • Allows you to get a quick overview of where your business is at and where the workflow crunches are occurring
  • Would like less steps between the raising of invoices and email functionality
  • Would like the ability to issue credit notes as well as invoices
  • Would like the ability to fully edit an invoice after it has been issued ( prior to exporting)
It is well suited to managing workflow through the agency. However as far as invoices are concerned we do have a number of invoices that are based on a rate card and so do repeat every month and I am sure many ad agencies have these types of invoices. As these are associated with a specific job #, they need to be raised against this job # so I cannot just copy an invoice ( I have tried to do this in the past and it has not worked). I would like to be asked the following: When I create an invoice: Choose a template? This could be one of my options - I would then set up a number of templates for these repeating invoices - I presume I would be offered a drop down menu or similar to choose from.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 23, 2015

"WorkflowMax review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by all staff to record time. It is then used to generate invoices.
  • Simple to use and set-up
  • Cost effective
  • Not enough experience of the product yet to really comment
WorkflowMax is well suited to organisations dealing with a number of discrete matters.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (21)
9.0
Resource Management (2)
8.0
Scheduling (16)
7.0
Team Collaboration (15)
8.0
Document Management (15)
6.6
Mobile Access (17)
10.0
Timesheet Tracking (21)
10.0
Change request and Case Management (9)
7.4
Budget and Expense Management (14)
9.0
Quotes/estimates (20)
10.0
Invoicing (23)
10.0
Project & financial reporting (18)
8.0
Integration with accounting software (23)
9.0

About WorkflowMax

WorkflowMax is a web-based project management solution, owned by Xero, Inc. It is designed to be user-friendly and intuitive. The platform offers end-to-end functionality standard to project management software, with a comprehensive suite of features including lead management, quotes and estimates, time and job tracking, milestone management, job costing, purchase orders, flexible permission for clients, staff and contractors, email integration, invoicing, and a custom report builder.

Approximately 25 different software systems integrate with WorkflowMax, enabling the functionality to be expanded – integrations include Google Drive, Salesforce, Xero, MYOB, Zendesk, Freshdesk, and Dropbox. A free 14-day trial is available, and packages are available for between 1-200 employees.

WorkflowMax Features

Has featureEnd-to-end, Fully Integrated Job/Project/Workflow Management Software
Has featureLead Manager (CRM)
Has featureQuoting/Estimating
Has featureIntegrated Project Management
Has featureJob Costing
Has featureTime Tracking
Has featureStaff Scheduling
Has featureClient & Contractor Login
Has featurePurchase Order
Has featureInvoicing & Billing
Has featurePowerful Custom Reporting
Has featureIntegration with Xero Accounting Software
Has featureIntegration with over 25 other leading products
Has featureCustom Fields
Has featureCloud-based - Access Anywhere, Anytime

WorkflowMax Screenshots

WorkflowMax Integrations

WorkflowMax Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
1 User$15/monthBracketed Pricing
5 Users$49/monthBracketed Pricing
10 Users$99/monthBracketed Pricing
20 Users$149/monthBracketed Pricing
Unlimited$199/monthBracketed Pricing
ModulesPricing DetailsTerms
Lead Manager Module$15/month
WorkflowMax Premium$50/month

WorkflowMax Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
95%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
5%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
%

WorkflowMax Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Tutorial Videos

WorkflowMax Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry
Supported Countries:United States, United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Singapore, South Africa
Supported Languages: English