TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/ai/rH/X5S66BCC0U5H.JPEGInsightly - An Easy-To-Use Small Business PowerhouseWe use Insightly as our primary CRM. One of our favorite features is the ability to blind copy e-mails into the system so that each account in CRM is tagged with that e-mail address. We also like how Insightly recognizes the domains for e-mails we forward in so that it automatically assigns it to an organization. Definitely excited about some of the new customizations possible (new field types) in Insightly to start tracking client anniversaries and follow-ups. We also like how contacts are automatically added to both Insightly and Google when we forward a new e-mail in. Definitely a system we should be using more. We have recommended this system to several colleagues.,E-mail classification based on BCC from GMail Ease of use - the system is the easiest one we have ever used and we have tried several The link between records - organizations and contacts can be linked and you can define the link relationship (think referral partners),More customizations although those have improved a LOT with the new UI. More integration points to other systems Better e-mail marketing capabilities included in the standard package,10,,,Zoho Books, Zoho People, ONTRAPORT, Teamwork Projects, Teamwork Desk, Slack, Skype, CloudAppInsightly - let it bring you into the LIGHT!We are a small non-profit organization and I have been implementing Insightly for use as a CRM as well as a process flow. I have on-boarded our Founder and Executive Director and I have been trying to get them to see the potential time saving and client assistance Insightly can be. The problems Insightly can address is the phases of our program from proposal to final invoice. I believe that the potential of Insightly is completely underutilized within our organization but it is due to the lack of knowledge of some of our team members.,Within GMAIL - the sidebar is an amazing tool and has so much potential! Within GMAIL - so save into Insightly and link is very very helpful Insightly's search is very good Being able to tag the contact is helpful The corroboration with Mailchimp is awesome,Within Opportunities and Projects: EMAILING clients! Deleting Activity Sets Allowing more bcc's and cc's within Insightly emailing,8,Streamlined business processes,PDFfiller, Adobe Acrobat DC, Google DriveInsightly is a feature rich CRM and workflow management tool for small businesses.I use the CRM and project capabilities of Insightly to support and track sales and projects in my speaking and seminar business and my consulting business. I have also used Insightly in a previous retail business as a personal stylist and seller of custom menswear.,It's online and has different tiers. You can easily move between different product tiers as your business needs change. I love the integration of sales pipelines with projects and tasks. Integration with third-party software tools.,Would be great if you could integrate with your select email marketing platform, or if Insightly provided email marketing tools similar to mainstream platforms. I am a Microsoft product user and would like better integration with those products. Would be nice to have templates for different business types.,10,,,JIRA Software, Microsoft Office 365Smoother Sales ProcessWe use Insightly as a mini customer relationship management tool for saving customer data, tracking our sales leads, and following up on tasks which need to be completed. Having customer data in one place makes it easy for everyone to access customer data whenever it is needed for sales activity. Overall Insightly has saved us time and made our sales activity more efficient.,LEAD MANAGEMENT: Insightly enables my team to effectively gather information about our customers (current and prospective), organize our sales leads, import leads from other CRM tools and engage these leads easily. It does not matter where we generate these leads from, we are still able to store them into the Insightly CRM, while Insightly automatically assigns every saved lead to a sales representative, based on pre-saved factors. Thus we spend more time closing deals and growing our business with lead management. WORKFLOW: Insightly has reduced the amount of administrative work we need to get done in my organization, by leveraging on its workflow automation. With Insightly's workflow automation, we have been able to bypass our inbox most of the time, auto-assign tasks, and trigger actions in our in-house support software products. A single action on our Customer Relationship Management tool (Insightly) triggers a cascade of reactions. Thus we are able to properly update our data, delegate our tasks, and send out emails automatically, leaving our sales reps. with reduced work to do. We are able to even assign a sales rep. to attend to every sales lead, and send an automated introduction email to new sales leads all automatedly. EMAIL TRACKING: We use Insightly to track our emails, and this has enabled a faster and smarter email sales activity across my team. With Insightly we are able to save emails right from our inbox and Insightly helps in recording the accompanying context. We are also able to search for anything on past correspondence with our customers, no matter how long the correspondence has been. While also being able to schedule automated emails to our sales via Insightly. Thus Insightly has made it possible to stay in touch with our sales leads at the right time and whenever necessary.,SPELL CHECK: Currently the Insightly CRM does not spell check sales emails we compose on the solution. Will be very helpful for sales activity, if Insightly can introduce a SPELL CHECK feature. RECOVERY: We have found ourselves in situations where someone deletes some contacts in error and leaves the entire sales team in a fix. I think it is very important that Insightly introduces a sort of a "recycle bin" via which we are able to recover deleted contacts or delete them permanently. Signature workflow: A great addition for Insightly would be if we can have a document signing option on the CRM. Maybe an integration with HelloSign?,9,,Workplace by Facebook (Formerly Facebook at Work), Skype, Intercom, Userlike, HelloSignInsightly meets the needs of the growing small businessWe use Insightly at Pixologie to manage our clients, contacts, and licensees. It allows us to easily access information and communication. We can all find what has been shared and recorded for any contact.,We have been able to customize fields to address our needs. Our industry is not well known so typical fields do not address all the areas we record. We have made extensive use of tags to categorize specific groups within groups that we want to monitor. We have been able to completely customize the workflow process and steps to complete projects.,PLEASE add a DocuSign module! It is the only real reason we have considered other CRM companies! Some of the workflow from completing a task but then checking off a task as done is a bit awkward and cumbersome. Would love to be able to add more than 15 business cards per month. Do not want to upgrade for that alone.,9,Centralized contact management,17Hats and Zoho CRM,Rackspace
Unspecified
Insightly
527 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Insightly Reviews

Insightly
527 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 527 vetted Insightly reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 295)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 05, 2018

Review: "Insightly - An Easy-To-Use Small Business Powerhouse"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Insightly as our primary CRM. One of our favorite features is the ability to blind copy e-mails into the system so that each account in CRM is tagged with that e-mail address. We also like how Insightly recognizes the domains for e-mails we forward in so that it automatically assigns it to an organization. Definitely excited about some of the new customizations possible (new field types) in Insightly to start tracking client anniversaries and follow-ups. We also like how contacts are automatically added to both Insightly and Google when we forward a new e-mail in. Definitely a system we should be using more. We have recommended this system to several colleagues.
  • E-mail classification based on BCC from GMail
  • Ease of use - the system is the easiest one we have ever used and we have tried several
  • The link between records - organizations and contacts can be linked and you can define the link relationship (think referral partners)
  • More customizations although those have improved a LOT with the new UI.
  • More integration points to other systems
  • Better e-mail marketing capabilities included in the standard package
Insightly is perfect for small business owners who are not that tech savvy. It is also well known for its ease-of-use so if you aren't sure how to use a full-blown CRM this is a great place to be. Overall my business partner doesn't want to go back to a complicated system like Zoho CRM that was difficult to understand.
Well, next up as I said earlier is more customization for things like client anniversaries. We used Insightly quite a lot a few years ago and we need to get back to using it for opportunity management and customer/client followup. Now that we have a full-time operations person that is one of their main roles and we will be adding them to Insightly to manage this shortly.
Read Denny Basham, MBA, Denver Reputation Marketing Expert.'s full review
April 10, 2018

Review: "Insightly - let it bring you into the LIGHT!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small non-profit organization and I have been implementing Insightly for use as a CRM as well as a process flow. I have on-boarded our Founder and Executive Director and I have been trying to get them to see the potential time saving and client assistance Insightly can be. The problems Insightly can address is the phases of our program from proposal to final invoice. I believe that the potential of Insightly is completely underutilized within our organization but it is due to the lack of knowledge of some of our team members.
  • Within GMAIL - the sidebar is an amazing tool and has so much potential!
  • Within GMAIL - so save into Insightly and link is very very helpful
  • Insightly's search is very good
  • Being able to tag the contact is helpful
  • The corroboration with Mailchimp is awesome
  • Within Opportunities and Projects: EMAILING clients!
  • Deleting Activity Sets
  • Allowing more bcc's and cc's within Insightly emailing
Mail Merge! How easy it is to create an email and not only add user fields but be able to edit individual emails while reviewing!
  • Streamlined business processes
In order for processes to be streamlined - all of the players must be on board and right now it is hard to get them all to see the potential - especially if it seems as if there is more work to be done by each person to get it to where we want it to be.
Read Joanne Grams's full review
April 10, 2018

Review: "Insightly is a feature rich CRM and workflow management tool for small businesses."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the CRM and project capabilities of Insightly to support and track sales and projects in my speaking and seminar business and my consulting business. I have also used Insightly in a previous retail business as a personal stylist and seller of custom menswear.
  • It's online and has different tiers. You can easily move between different product tiers as your business needs change.
  • I love the integration of sales pipelines with projects and tasks.
  • Integration with third-party software tools.
  • Would be great if you could integrate with your select email marketing platform, or if Insightly provided email marketing tools similar to mainstream platforms.
  • I am a Microsoft product user and would like better integration with those products.
  • Would be nice to have templates for different business types.
One obvious answer is that it can be used as a basic contact management system. Another obvious answer is that it is pretty well suited for CRM purposes: tracking leads, opportunities, and sales through a sales funnel. It's easy to setup sales pipelines. However, the pipeline capability can be used to track any type of step-by-step work-low processes. For example, we use it to track the sales processes for speaking and seminars, which is different from tracking consulting, and both of which are different from tracking retail sales. Once the pipelines were set up, all I have to do is select the appropriate product or service type and Insightly hides the way from there. For some rudimentary email blasts, Insightly allows you to send and track message responses from customer groups. Insightly can also be used as a basic project and task tracking system. Regular and ongoing task sets can be used with pipelines. For example, once a speaking engagement is booked, there are normally associated tasks that must be completed to make the event happen and Insightly allows a pipeline to be set up to track that task set.
Insightly's inline visibility enables all who need to know to have access to info in real-time. No need for unnecessary meetings to simply supply status. The time savings enables more time to be spent on sales and project activities.
Read Tommy L. Chambers's full review
July 11, 2018

Insightly Review: "Smoother Sales Process"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Insightly as a mini customer relationship management tool for saving customer data, tracking our sales leads, and following up on tasks which need to be completed. Having customer data in one place makes it easy for everyone to access customer data whenever it is needed for sales activity. Overall Insightly has saved us time and made our sales activity more efficient.
  • LEAD MANAGEMENT: Insightly enables my team to effectively gather information about our customers (current and prospective), organize our sales leads, import leads from other CRM tools and engage these leads easily. It does not matter where we generate these leads from, we are still able to store them into the Insightly CRM, while Insightly automatically assigns every saved lead to a sales representative, based on pre-saved factors. Thus we spend more time closing deals and growing our business with lead management.
  • WORKFLOW: Insightly has reduced the amount of administrative work we need to get done in my organization, by leveraging on its workflow automation. With Insightly's workflow automation, we have been able to bypass our inbox most of the time, auto-assign tasks, and trigger actions in our in-house support software products.
  • A single action on our Customer Relationship Management tool (Insightly) triggers a cascade of reactions. Thus we are able to properly update our data, delegate our tasks, and send out emails automatically, leaving our sales reps. with reduced work to do. We are able to even assign a sales rep. to attend to every sales lead, and send an automated introduction email to new sales leads all automatedly.
  • EMAIL TRACKING: We use Insightly to track our emails, and this has enabled a faster and smarter email sales activity across my team. With Insightly we are able to save emails right from our inbox and Insightly helps in recording the accompanying context.
  • We are also able to search for anything on past correspondence with our customers, no matter how long the correspondence has been. While also being able to schedule automated emails to our sales via Insightly. Thus Insightly has made it possible to stay in touch with our sales leads at the right time and whenever necessary.
  • SPELL CHECK: Currently the Insightly CRM does not spell check sales emails we compose on the solution. Will be very helpful for sales activity, if Insightly can introduce a SPELL CHECK feature.
  • RECOVERY: We have found ourselves in situations where someone deletes some contacts in error and leaves the entire sales team in a fix. I think it is very important that Insightly introduces a sort of a "recycle bin" via which we are able to recover deleted contacts or delete them permanently.
  • Signature workflow: A great addition for Insightly would be if we can have a document signing option on the CRM. Maybe an integration with HelloSign?
Insightly is perfectly suited for customer data management; as this enables an organization to have important sales information on its customers in one central location, where it is accessible to every sales person to maximize the organization's sales efforts.

Insightly can help organize the sales process of every organization. By bringing together all sales efforts and combine them into one straight forward and predictable process. Thus organizations using Insightly are able to monitor pass updates, current updates and follow future updates of any sales deal.
GENERAL CLIENT TRACKING - As a sales-centric organization, we always need to be able to have as much data as possible of every one of our customers and potential customers. Insightly as a CRM provides us with a place to save and manage every single information about our customers garnered.

FAST PACED SALES CLOSURE - Via a set of little features here and there ( lead capturing, workflow automation, lead routing) which all combine into a beautiful tool (Insightly). We have been able to generate leads, qualify leads, reach out to our leads and close deals with them faster.

DATA SECURITY - We also want customers to trust us with data we have collected from them either with or without their permission. Here, Insightly has been very dependable. By providing us a set of protocols whose end goal is to secure the data we have saved on Insightly. An example of such protocol is the "SINGLE SIGN-ON INTEGRATION" which authorizes users to use a set of login credentials on the Internet.


Read Anthonia Aveh's full review
March 08, 2018

Review: "Insightly meets the needs of the growing small business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Insightly at Pixologie to manage our clients, contacts, and licensees. It allows us to easily access information and communication. We can all find what has been shared and recorded for any contact.
  • We have been able to customize fields to address our needs. Our industry is not well known so typical fields do not address all the areas we record.
  • We have made extensive use of tags to categorize specific groups within groups that we want to monitor.
  • We have been able to completely customize the workflow process and steps to complete projects.
  • PLEASE add a DocuSign module! It is the only real reason we have considered other CRM companies!
  • Some of the workflow from completing a task but then checking off a task as done is a bit awkward and cumbersome.
  • Would love to be able to add more than 15 business cards per month. Do not want to upgrade for that alone.
Insightly offers an incredible amount of functionality at the free level. For smaller businesses with less than 2500 contacts, it is perfect. As you grow, moving to a paid account is easy to do. We have been very happy with all that we can do with Insightly.
  • Centralized contact management
Insightly has been perfect for this process. We have used this consistently and really like it. We are able to add the Insightly 'email' to our communications and track contacts across the users. No matter who is here, we can see what and who has communicated, worked on tasks, etc. Being able to print reports based on customized fields is perfect.
Read Ann Matuszak's full review
March 06, 2018

Review: "Insightly for Small Business is a winner!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I own an IT company and I use it to keep track of sales opportunities through the sales process. Once a sale converts to a project, I keep track of all tasks with Insightly as well through the development process.
  • Task Sync to Google Calendar. This is especially strong and helps to keep a daily agenda on point for me.
  • Task notifications. This helps me keep on point as it keeps me locked into my timeline of development. I'm extremely busy, so having this reminder system on my phone and in emails is helpful.
  • Notes: I love the notes feature, which helps keep my projects well organized for others that might step into them. I stopped using Google Keep once I got a handle on Notes in Insightly.
  • Linking. When I link a company to a project, it should bring up a screen or balloon to select which members of the company you want to link. Instead, you have to link each individually. Using the integration into GMail, this is a very repetitive function.
  • Gmail integration. For the most part this works, but it's clunky and not very streamlined at all. Too many clicks and links to add each email to a particular project, organization or contact. When a contact email is part of a project, it should automatically be recorded to that project without any user intervention required.
  • The sales forecasting is, like with most CRMs, easily manipulated and nothing more than guessing.
For a small business that has multiple projects going on at once, it is VERY well suited. I would think for a huge company with 20 sales people and extensive call volume, it might be extremely cumbersome and would miss valuable data gathering if the sales people didn't work 100% of the time from within the product (as most don't do). It's strong for a tiny business - easily the strongest of those I've tried.
  • Streamlined business processes
I would say we have. We work as a lot tighter ship than we ever did before we started using Insightly.
Read Chris Akin's full review
June 29, 2018

Insightly Review: "Stronger on Sales Automation than Client Management"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to manage contact lists and correspondence for my solo consulting firm. It's helped me keep track of leads. I've used it to manage projects and opportunities. I've also used some of the email marketing tools, including setting up some standard emails.
  • I can tag any email correspondence when I'm using my local email to easily copy the correspondence to Insightly. This way I can look it up again within Insightly by the contact's name, company or email.
  • Insightly provides many of the tools I need on one platform: CRM, and opportunity, task and project manager.
  • It's easy to turn an opportunity into a project, so you don't have to copy over any past information or correspondence.
  • The interface has become too complex, making it somewhat less intuitive to do even the simplest things, i.e., check off a completed task, only see open projects, read saved correspondence. This may be due to the fact that Insightly is trying to make it too customizable.
  • Insightly seems to be moving more in the direction of a sales pipeline tool, rather than a simpler contact manager. This doesn't really fit the way I work, because my sales are not always linear in nature -- possibly because I'm selling services, not entirely fixed packages or physical goods.
  • The project and task managers are too complex, and I can't organize easily by client. In other words, I'd like to be able to pull up a client and see all the tasks I need to complete for them. A dashboard would be very helpful for this.
  • The current home dashboard isn't useful in that it only shows what's happened. This may be more useful for someone managing other people with Insightly. I'd like to see what needs to be done, not what's *been* done.
I would recommend Insightly to even small organizations managing a sales team. However, I wouldn't recommend it for solos, since it's a bit overkill and doesn't make task or project management easy. There are better, simpler tools out there for that.

It wouldn't be great for virtual teams either, since each would need to have their own copy and come up the learning curve on it -- it's not that intuitive anymore.

It would also be better for organizations doing sales according to a particular, consistent pipeline.
I originally signed up for Insightly for the CRM and project management capabilities, but I'm finding other tools to be easier and faster to manage by client. I was also hoping that I could simplify and automate some of my projects with the workflow -- that hasn't been easy to set up. So I'm not totally sure what outcomes I'm expecting at this point -- rather than getting easier to use, Insightly has become more complex. And new tools are being developed that seem so much simpler.
Read Robbin Block's full review
June 15, 2018

User Review: "Insightly, for those who wants more"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Insightly is used as the CRM solution for some small business that needs to track their sales opportunities integrated with SAP Business One as backend ERP solution. I recommend Insightly because it is easy to integrate, and very useful for those kind of companies. Additionally, it is cheaper than other similar solutions
  • Email tracking
  • Granular sharing settings
  • Power BI integration
  • SAP Business One integration
  • Creates web forms
  • Lead assignment rules only available to Professional and Enterprise plans
  • No automatic email forwarding
Is very useful for small companies with a soft flow of leads, and less appropriate for very intensive scenarios.
  • Increased Sales
  • Centralized contact management
With a company that handles around 100 leads by month, we achieved that goal.
Read Leonardo Hernandez's full review
May 30, 2018

Insightly Review: "Great product - good price"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Insightly to manage our CRM. The best feature has been the multi-user interface, it keeps us on track and very efficient. The webhooks and API make it easy to set up and keep the platform very flexible. I would easily recommend Insightly to any company looking to deliver projects on time and to accelerate sales.
  • Insightly keeps the tools we already use connected and with the links to the file service we never lose a document.
  • The automation makes things easy. We set up project assignments within the pipelines which keep us on schedule and able to better manage milestones.
  • We've closed a lot more deals and done it much faster because of Insightly's sales pipeline management and workflow automation tools.
  • We have been able to manage all of our leads and new sales opportunities inside of a neat and easy to use pipeline view.
  • Pricing could be better. The tiering structure doesn't fit our sales model but I would imagine it works for most companies.
  • The sidebar for Gmail doesn't seem to work all that well. Access to Gmail is a great feature but the interaction is a little difficult to manage.
  • After completing a task the archiving does not make the task complete. It would be great if the task would complete upon archiving.
Insightly has been a great tool for my department and my company. Many of my peers in my company have been looking into using Insightly in their own departments which is great for us. The more we can improve adoption the better.
I have achieved the outcome I was expecting to when I first decided to make the move to use Insightly. I have achieved my original goals and now know better the additional functionality Insightly comes with which now allows me to expand my goals and be able to do much more.
Read Michael Guerrieo's full review
May 29, 2018

User Review: "Insightly Understands Small Business!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Insightly was used by my organization to organize customer information. I needed a really simple CRM that I could teach someone quickly how to use it and store the information. She caught on real easy! It is easy, quick set up and frees for 2 users. As a startup, the cost is extremely important. That solved the issue as well.
  • Most importantly, it is cloud-based software.
  • Integrates perfectly with GSuite and Google products.
  • Mobility. Perfect for digital nomads.
  • It needs to be more robust. Search needs to be improved.
  • Lacks marketing automation.
  • Better support
Insightly is well suited for startups. It is great for beginners who are learning how to organize contacts and deals with a simple system. Any company that needs different software to be able to work alongside Insightly (Integrations) can do this easily with Insightly. It is best for companies that are on a tight budget but need to make every single dollar count.
  • Streamlined business processes
Yes, to an extent. I did because:
  • Ability to organize contacts quickly
  • Follow up on leads
  • Email tracking
  • Powerful integration tools
  • Mobility
  • Inexpensive
I did not because:
  • Lack of marketing automation
  • Email marketing automation
  • Support
Overall, I did accomplish much more than I thought were possible. My assistant was able to gain her confidence using a new software.
Read Renea Hanks's full review
May 03, 2018

"Insightly Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Insightly is used to manage all our customers, look at opportunities and is integrated into our website. I have had many experiences with CRM systems such as Salesforce and always found them to be extremely difficult to use. I was impressed by the simplicity of Insightly.
  • I think Insightly is extremely easy to use
  • I think it integrates nicely into our website platform
  • I like the ease of mailing customers and template emails
  • I cant put out Logo onto template emails
  • This has been our only problem
I think Insightly is such an easy system to use, this is why we choose it. I have found the interface very easy to set up and I do not have a background in technology? I have enjoyed the way it has progressed over the years adding features and integrations whilst still maintaining its ease of use
I like to ensure that I have captured all leads and make sure that my customers get followed up particularly after inquiries etc. Like all CRM systems, the most important aspect is ensuring you use the system. If I have any issues with Insightly its because I have been too lazy to have put the data in "Garbage in Garbage out". When I use Insightly the tasks feature is useful and the web to lead forms is awesome. Email specific blasts and filtering is very simple as well.
Read Matthew Etherington's full review
April 27, 2018

Review: "Lone Wolf Benefits from Insightly as a Sidekick"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have one full-time salesperson (me) across two countries. Handling engagement with leads, follow up, delivery of products and support all goes through Insightly on my laptop via my Android phone. I use integrations with Gmail and MailChimp to help expand the capabilities of Insightly and keep all information as up-to-date as possible.
  • Integrates well with MailChimp allowing me to periodically send updates to all my contacts or just the relevant segment of them.
  • Integrates well with Gmail so I can see, from inside Insightly, what email correspondence I have had with a contact.
  • Sets tasks and reminders easily so I don't have to keep in the back of my mind that I have 50 different people to follow up. Insightly simply reminds me on my android phone, I press call, and keep things moving along.
  • Mapping customers - I would like to be able to easily see the location of my contacts in maps so I can plan sales trips efficiently. I have heard insightly are working on this but haven't seen any production solutions.
  • Interface is a little laggy at times (probably because it is cloud based) forcing me to export to CSV and process in a spreadsheet when I am updating large contact datasets.
  • The ability to view all contacts at once, rather than on multiple pages, would be helpful for data processing.
  • Tagging seems a little error prone, if I tag various contacts with the same tag, these different tags can appear in different columns when exporting to CSV from insightly
Works great to help automate the sales process for a lone wolf like me. I have not used it on a larger team so cannot comment. The app is very reliable and allows me to use insightly a lot when I am on the go which is important as I keep contact records up to date.
  • Increased Sales
Yes, I have increased sales with Insightly by automating menial tasks and allowing me to focus on what is important: giving the customer the information they need. Insightly has been a valuable tool in this regard. It has also allowed me to easily tracks bugs/complaints leading to happier clients overall.
Read Ash Scott's full review
April 26, 2018

Review: "Insightly, The Small Business CRM Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Insightly is used as our primary CRM system. It's ease of use and completeness solved the problems associated with other, "larger' offerings.
  • Contact organization
  • Concise client company structure
  • A very good follow up routine
  • The bulk editing feature needs work, but it does work well.
  • The reporting function is, initially, daunting, but once you have the hang of it, it works properly.
  • The calendar integration in the app needs work.
Especially for those firms that are in the "small business sector" (up to 250 employees) this CRM solution is idea.
Regular, reliable, predictable CRM functions for my clients and their teams.
Read Jim Cotton's full review
April 25, 2018

"Insightly review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use three Insightly accounts. My first is for my financial services....second is a law firm. It works for me because it contains the contact information, puts in different tasks and meetings. I like how it syncs with my phone and computer so I don't have to log in to check my calendar. I also have it programmed out to list the tasks required or potentially required in a transaction/situation. This helps ensure I don't miss a step along the way. My last account I recently started because I wanted to keep the networking people separate. I haven't really used it much for that, but It would be used in a similar way to manage data, notes, and meetings.
  • Permits me to label the people to sort for different reasons
  • Add steps and a workflow of things
  • Retains the data needed to access when connecting with the contact
  • I wish I would have a two-way sync with my iCal rather than just a subscription
  • I preferred the old layout before the update as many of my contacts are individuals and not businesses with contact people
  • Be able to add a new company by entering it into the company field on the individual rather than having to first create a company and then link them
It's easy to use; permits starting off at an affordable level to try it and scale up.
Read T. Phillip Boggess, J.D.'s full review
April 16, 2018

Review: "Insightly - Organize your contacts so YOU get to focus on your marketing"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Insightly to organize my leads and prospects for my voiceover business. The problem that it addressed for me was getting my contacts out of a spreadsheet and easier to manage. I used the task lists to organize my auditions, jobs, and follow ups.
  • I liked the color coding on the task lists. Separating out the daily tasks by color is a good visual management tool for keeping the day organized.
  • The CC to the Insightly account was also helpful for me to keep emails to clients organized.
  • I like the organization from moving from leads through opportunities. Such as turning prospects into opportunities and keeping your categories very organized.
  • The main thing for me marketing my business is visibility of email status. It is nice to have some integrated email and being able to schedule and use templates, but is missing a group email option and ability to track email activity (opened, links clicked, etc..)
  • One improvement that I would like to see would be integration of contacts with their social media pages. (LinkedIn, Instagram, Twitter...)
  • I would use tasks to mark certain contacts for regular follow ups (weekly, quarterly, etc..) would be good to have an integrated tool for this function.
I believe that Insightly is very well suited for keeping your contacts organized and moving leads through the process to opportunities and ultimately creating projects / sales. The import / export contact information is very easy to utilize. Where I think it is less appropriate is for managing my particular email marketing strategies.
My initial goal was to organize my contacts out of a spreadsheet for tracking leads and opportunities. Insightly allowed me to organize my contacts and track my leads. This was a very powerful tool for me that did let me achieve that goal. In my free version, I did not have invoice management tools, but that would have been helpful, but not necessary in my CRM tool. For me, the biggest drawback for Insightly is the lack of email marketing integration with social media feeds. For my marketing, email tracking options are very important data points that I was not able to utilize with Insightly.
Read David Lisauskas's full review
April 16, 2018

Insightly Review: "Great Platform for Small Businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Insightly software is being used by our whole organization. We are a relatively small business with less than 10 employees and we all utilize the platform. We use it to help us maintain out contacts and develop out "lead" pipeline with notes and comments about our customer interactions. We needed a structure to help us organize our client base as well as our business suppliers/partners.
  • Task creation: The ability to create and assign tasks for our team has been very useful.
  • Integration with GMAIL, we use Gmail for some of our business solutions (Calendar, email, etc). It's very easy.
  • Again, the ability to leave detailed accounts of our contacts and leads. Specifically the pipeline, we can assign deadlines and points of progression to move a task forward.
  • If you utilize Insightly for more than one organization, it would be nice if there was a convenient location to swap between the sessions.
  • Maybe some integration with Slack or some other chat platform.
  • Maybe a sync feature with work email?
I think it is well suited for small businesses on a limited budget. Maybe not so much for a larger organization with more proprietary needs.
  • Improved efficiency
Yes, we have certainly seen a boost in our activity based on what we have accomplished through strong lead management.
Read John E. Miller, MBA's full review
April 16, 2018

Insightly Review: "Perfect for business, that have need to manage complex relationships"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used by the] whole organisation:
- Leads arrive from the website or entered by the person responsible for first contact (phone, online chat)
- Contact is created from the lead and tags are used to segment the database.
- Unfortunately, due to poor integration functionality, leads are manually added to mail marketing software.
- The sales process is tracked by using Opportunities and Opportunity is created and linked to the contact.
- All Proposify proposals are attached in Insightly, all pricing calculations saved as notes.
- When a contract is signed all interactions with the customer are tracked via Insightly, including critical information.

All contacts and org info is available to the whole team and contacts synced to their phones. It makes all communications very personal and very recognizable. Clients love it when you call them by their name when they call the second time.

Due to poor integration with PABX formats, we have to manage phone numbers on our PABX manually. We use Gmail integration. The sidebar functionality is too limiting and old functionality got phased out, now we are considering changing the CRM because of that.

We manage complex relationships within Insightly: who is a client of whom: professional relationships, personal and etc. So for our client, we can see: who is their accountant, lawyer, business mentor, relatives, spouse; their key suppliers, sometimes their key clients; insurance brokers.
  • Complex relationships. Majority of CRMs out there can do only one company per person.
  • All contacts in the phones, very quick and reliable synchronisation via GMail.
  • Reports are good, however, we would love a PDF to be sent to us in an email with the reports, at the moment we have to log in to download a CSV every time, which is annoying and unnecessary.
  • Xero Integration is good.
  • Login is a pain in the left ear: we have to do 4-7 clicks to log in and enter domain name every time. Why when we click on the open app via G Suite it does not just open and log you in (like hundreds of other apps do)?
  • When creating a contact we used to be able to create a new org on the spot, now we need to go and create a new organisation and then contact. A lot more clicks and time required to fill in the info.
  • Integration with AWEBER. And integration with Mail Marketing is very limiting, it just pushes and creates one list instead of maintaining multiple lists based on eg. tags or particular fields.
  • Task management: takes a lot of time to enter a task, it needs to be quicker with some default fields prefield. Otherwise it is a pain.
  • Ability to attach an image to a task in an easy way. Not just upload it as a comment only. Just copy paste into description from the buffer should work, that would make our work so much more efficient. We used other apps that can do it, it really takes a lot of time from our day to attach images.
  • Ability to manage complex relationships
  • Good integration of Contacts with GMail
  • Improved efficiency
  • Centralized contact management
  • Streamlined business processes
- Efficiency - yes, but has a lot to be improved
- Centralized contact management - done, would love it also to be integrated with WorkflowMax
- Streamlined business processes - so so, we have to use a lot of other software packages
Read Nick Dorogavtsev's full review
April 06, 2018

User Review: "Insightly has great Gmail integration"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have three employees. Two of us use Insightly. We use it for two purposes: to keep all of our customer contact data and to record our client interactions.
  • We use the Gmail widget to easily save emails from clients.
  • You can easily select a specific client from the search bar on their website.
  • The Gmail widget doesn't always load.
  • It seems like I have to merge contacts that the system should know are the same.
The reason that we picked insightly was the low cost and the Gmail integration. If those are things that someone is looking for, I would recommend it.
  • Improved efficiency
The Gmail integration is key to how we use Insightly. When the widget loads, it is quick and easy to save emails to Insightly for regulatory and historical purposes.
Read Robert Gephart's full review
April 05, 2018

Insightly Review: "Old version Great new one not"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a CRM tool to organize, track and follow up on customer orders. We tried switching to the new User Experience and we were not happy at all, we switched back. At least for what we use it for there are a lot more clicks to get to where you want to be. Personally, I enter projects and user tasks and notes many times a day, why can't that just be at the top where it was before, nice and easy? Also, the A-Z that ran down the right side in projects I used constantly is gone. Trying to use the search bar, 400 things come up and you have to type out the whole name of the project, what's the point, it's just more work. We will not upgrade to the new user experience until adjustments are made.
  • The old version is easy to use
  • The old version is neat and clean
  • The new version needs less clicks to get to where you're going
  • The new version needs a better search bar
  • The new version needs an A-Z list to get to the section you want easier without having to click through multiple pages to find a customers list of projects
  • The new version needs to less busy, simpler is better
7 for the old version. 0 for the new version- unless they change it.
Read Sarah Niven's full review
April 04, 2018

Insightly Review: "Cheap, complete, easy to set up and scalable with your business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Insightly throughout all the lifecycle of our customers, from lead generation to following up business opportunities and managing renewals/upgrade of contracts.
  • Very good and complete free plan for startups, this allows small teams to adopt a professional solution since the early stages of the company
  • Easy integration with web forms to collect leads with useful links to the social profiles for a first level screening and filtering of the prospects
  • Easy to set up different pipelines with custom sales stages and to automate custom "activity sets" to generate tasks and follow up automation with just one click
  • The design has always been minimal, not especially modern or attractive, still, I find it to be very functional and very "google inspired". All in all, it's a platform for professionals, it does not need to be especially sexy and fresh, the priority is usability.
  • Few minor bugs, but we are on a free plan, so we cannot even complain much
Excellent for startups at an early stage of growth, Insightly allows to grow together step by step.
  • Streamlined business processes
Insightly helps our team to fulfill all the basic tasks of lead generation and follow up of our business opportunities
Read Alessandro Bernardi's full review
March 29, 2018

Insightly Review: "So easy to use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a consultant and use Insightly for several clients to enhance their business development. I keep track of contacts, connections, proposals, and sales through Insightly.
  • Being able to search for contacts, opportunities etc.
  • I like the layout of how notes and opportunities fall under the contact.
  • I like how if you only have part of the word it will still pop up in the search.
  • I like how you can pull custom reports easily.
  • I would prefer if you could creat a new account under a contact instead of having to go out of the contact page to create it.
Insightly is great if you are looking for a flexible solution for contact management.
  • Increased Sales
Yes, I am able to keep on top of my opportunities to move forward.
Read Kim Goyette's full review
March 26, 2018

User Review: "Us and Insightly"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Insightly is our main CRM system and is used daily!
I do a daily entry of opportunities, projects, contacts, organizations, and reports! Setups Reminders, Tasks and add notes!
From generated reports, I do extract and create an internal back-costing on the WIP, or completed projects!
Problems: I am not so sure if the company has purchased all the relevant packages that can support our day to day reporting and back costing, but if they did I would say that this is the Issue of Insightly! Need additional program to manage all the back costing!
  • Affordable CRM
  • Easy to use
  • More options on reports! More details on individual projects, e.g. details on COGS!
  • More details on people changing data in the projects, e.g. if $ value is changed from someone other than me, there is no way to find who did it!
This CRM provides a way to manage projects and track sales, tasks, opportunities, projects, contacts, and communications. It is easy to use, has the visual pipelines that can show the progress and development of opportunities, projects, and project managers. [It] Works with Google and Gmail. [The] Downside is that it is not compatible with Microsoft Outlook as the way with Gmail!
  • Reduced number of meetings
As we are a national company, we have 5 offices in different states! With Insightly we reduced the number of meetings within the organization and sometimes clients.
Read Cindy Petkova's full review
March 22, 2018

Insightly Review: "Good for first time users and small teams"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Insightly for two things: business development and project management. For business development, it addresses the specific problem of having several leads, opportunities and potential priorities, and allows us not to lose track of who, when and how we contacted potential partners and clients. For project management, it is a fairly simple tool to keep track of the project and keep all team members aware of whats going on.
  • easy to do list
  • easy to upload and download info
  • reports on every single activity
  • Uploading tasks: the system has sometimes trouble identifying categories
  • I don't really see the difference between "related to" and "links" - seems redundant.
  • The home tab is not particularly useful, I would prefer to see upcoming tasks - or a snapshot of what´s going on in projects, opportunities, etc.
For organizations starting on CRM, because it is free and user-friendly.
  • Increased Sales
  • Improved efficiency
Greatly improved efficiency. Increasing sales I am not sure, but I think it is more related to the environment I am inserted in than with the use of the tool :)
Read Manoela Onofrio's full review
March 16, 2018

Review: "Insightly is great, if you're bigger than we are...."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it as a CRM. Full disclosure we cancelled our subscription last month. We used it across the organization with I believe 4 users maybe 5? We tracked customers and opportunities from first conversations up to closing or losing deals. We did not use it to send emails, connect with mail chimp, any of that. Simply as a way to have everyone look at the same database of opportunities.
  • Integration with gmail. It was super handy to create opportunities right from gmail - inbox integration never happened but the gmail interface was handy. Same with signing in right from google apps.
  • The ability to link opportunities, contacts, organizations, correspondence, and documents easily.
  • Their sign up and cancel process was really great. Not to badmouth the competition, but we came from Salesforce who put us through hell trying to cancel. I really appreciated this.
  • Easy reporting - we could schedule those automatically and easily.
  • There were too many steps/too much time to create reports. So we generally just used the list and saved filters. So we didn't end up using the reports functions as much as they probably intended.
  • Integration with google inbox
It would be my choice if we had a sales team and someone to organize it. We were too small and didn't need the functionality it clearly has. I think we were just a bit too small, with no dedicated sales people - it's just us. So I'd say it is great to for an organization that's bigger than us, with salespeople who need to track their work.
We wanted a way to track opportunities and clients. We loved it for this. We found it a bit complicated for our needs, and wanted to spend the money on software that also worked for our way of project management, which we didn't find a way to work with Insightly. We did achieve our goals of tracking and organizing opportunities.
Read Rob Kelly's full review
March 13, 2018

Review: "Insightly makes the contact relations management easy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, as a regional director, Insightly is being used in my jurisdiction - possibly in others. We are amassing numerous contacts over a wide geography with various connection points that are open across time. Insightly puts it all together and gives me the power to know what is going on in a city. I can see all the connections and supports and collect interest for the future, stakeholders, and partners easily.
  • Interconnections. The ability to link data threads from contact to contact, organization to organization.
  • Email integration. The ease of adding an email to the CC line and trust that Insightly is tracking it is really helpful.
  • Apps. I typically use the website from my office but I really appreciate having the app on my phone when I'm on the road.
  • I honestly don't know at this point.
It's a powerful tool that helps make interconnections possible while tracking the interaction of interested parties across time and location.
  • Centralized contact management
I have one place that tracks contacts across time and geography. The centralized nature of Insightly helps our epps and flows within geographical pockets of our contacts.
Read Adam Hoffman's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Customer data management / contact management (271)
8.4
Workflow management (242)
7.4
Territory management (11)
6.1
Opportunity management (252)
7.9
Integration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail) (255)
7.2
Contract management (21)
6.5
Quote & order management (12)
7.2
Interaction tracking (226)
7.3
Channel / partner relationship management (24)
7.7
Case management (11)
7.0
Call center management (8)
7.2
Help desk management (9)
7.1
Lead management (208)
7.5
Email marketing (162)
6.9
Task management (260)
7.8
Billing and invoicing management (39)
4.7
Reporting (217)
7.2
Forecasting (92)
6.5
Pipeline visualization (217)
7.2
Customizable reports (207)
7.3
Custom fields (242)
7.5
Custom objects (19)
6.6
Scripting environment (6)
6.8
API for custom integration (101)
7.2
Single sign-on capability (184)
7.9
Role-based user permissions (107)
7.8
Social data (25)
6.8
Social engagement (78)
6.5
Marketing automation (76)
6.8
Compensation management (4)
5.2
Mobile access (235)
7.4

About Insightly

Insightly is an online CRM solution targeted at small and mid-sized businesses. Over 1.5 million worldwide small and mid-size business Insightly users build relationships, accelerate sales and deliver projects. It is the #1 Gmail, G Suite & Outlook CRM.

According to the vendor, businesses use Insightly for:

  • Relationship linking
  • Contact management
  • Email tracking
  • Lead management
  • Opportunity management
  • Workflow automation
  • Project management
  • Advanced reporting
  • Mobile CRM app with business card scanning and audio notes
Additional Platform Features
  • Localization/internationalization- Spanish, French, Portuguese, German, Italian
  • Over 40 app integrations including Gmail, Google Apps, Mailchimp, Box, QuickBooks Online, etc.

Insightly Features

Sales Force Automation Features
Has featureCustomer data management / contact management
Has featureWorkflow management
Does not have featureTerritory management
Has featureOpportunity management
Has featureIntegration with email client (e.g., Outlook or Gmail)
Does not have featureContract management
Does not have featureQuote & order management
Has featureInteraction tracking
Does not have featureChannel / partner relationship management
Customer Service & Support Features
Does not have featureCase management
Does not have featureCall center management
Does not have featureHelp desk management
Marketing Automation Features
Has featureLead management
Has featureEmail marketing
CRM Project Management Features
Has featureTask management
Does not have featureBilling and invoicing management
Has featureReporting
CRM Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureForecasting
Has featurePipeline visualization
Has featureCustomizable reports
Customization Features
Has featureCustom fields
Does not have featureCustom objects
Does not have featureScripting environment
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Social CRM Features
Does not have featureSocial data
Does not have featureSocial engagement
Integrations with 3rd-party Software Features
Has featureMarketing automation
Does not have featureCompensation management
Platform Features
Has featureMobile access
Additional Features
Has featureAICPA SOC II Type 1 and Type 2 audited and accredited, and US/EU Privacy Shield and US/Swiss Privacy Shield certified.
Has featureData import & export
Has featureTwo-factor Authentication (2FA)
Has featureSAML-based Single Sign-On (SSO)
Has featureOAuth Single Sign-On (SSO)

Insightly Screenshots

Insightly Videos (6)

Insightly Integrations

QuickBooks Online, Dropbox, MailChimp, Xero, Slack, HubSpot, Marketo, Pardot, Box, Zapier, PandaDoc, Google Drive, Evernote, Gmail, G Suite/Google Apps, Microsoft Office 365 & Outlook

Insightly Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Insightly Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Email
1-on-1 Onboarding Sessions

Insightly Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, French, Portuguese, Spanish, German, Italian