TrustRadius
Egnyte provides a cloud computing infrastructure product for online file storage, file sharing and computer backup for small, medium, and large business enterprises.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/nH/zK/TTB34GGPC1ML.JPEGEgnyte for asset and file managementEgnyte is being used across the whole organization for file sharing and content management. Specifically, creative and development teams use it to transfer assets. The account team also uses Egnyte to share files outside of the organization with external clients and vendors. Egynte is also used for manage asset version and maintain version control.,Asset sharing across organization departments. Asset sharing externally (through secure links and expirations dates and access tracking). Asset and content version management.,Managing sharing links and corresponding details is not intuitive. No ability to collaborate and save documents. No historical view of document viewing and download history.,8,Positive: file management Positive: compliance Positive: file version control,Google Drive,Smartsheet, Harvest, ForecastEgnyte is a superior file-sharing cloud-based server option.We use Egnyte as our primary file system company-wide, eliminating the need for a traditional "server" and large data management systems that are contained in-house. Our team travels a lot, and with the cloud-based nature of Egnyte, we can all be connected to our file system everywhere we go. This makes work travel simplistic, and working from home is a cinch because all our files are everywhere that our computers are.,One of Egnyte's features that we use quite frequently is file sharing to individuals outside of our company - whether we're sharing documents with prospects, potential buyers, or clients, it's as easy as sending a link to share a file, or creating a guest profile for them to sign in if they need to upload documents to us. Desktop sync is a feature in Egnyte that we could not live without! The continuous sync means that our systems always have the latest version of every document that's worked on almost instantaneously. Password protected file sharing is a must - we are a business brokerage firm and so client confidentiality is one of our highest priorities. Having the ability to put our files behind a password-protected link for viewing and downloading has helped us immensely.,Egnyte's web edit functionality could be built out a bit more. We never use this service in our office, and while I believe that it's because we simply use the desktop sync tool and have everything available locally with immediate follow-up syncing, the functionality does seem slightly less than intuitive, but still wholly usable. Honestly... I have a difficult time thinking of any other shortcomings that the platform has.,10,In our company, having the latest information on any given client is crucial - Egnyte helps us to stay on top of all communications with clients, and helps to make conversing with them simple.,Dropbox and Box,Hatchbuck, QuickBooks Online, Adobe Illustrator CC, Microsoft Office 365,3,1,Server-stand in - we have eliminated the need for a bulky server and all the equipment that goes with it, and use Egnyte as our cloud-based server. File Sharing - we work on files and share them back and forth on a regular basis, both internally and with our clients. Egnyte makes the file sharing easy by giving you a "share" link when it's needed so that people outside of the organization can access specific files (and definitely NOT access any other files),10,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the VendorEgnyte is Perfect for our Style of BusinessEgnyte is being used by our organization in multiple ways. We use is primarily as a storage center for information in relation to everything from business function and process, to case management and third party review of confidential files. On any given day it is being used seamlessly on roughly 20 computers where people are actively searching for, editing, reviewing, and sharing documents all at the exact same time. It has really changed the way that I understand a business to successfully manage big data.,Sharing files safely and securely with people at different facilities. It allows for ease of communication without having to limit security potential to do so. Fast updating - within seconds I can drop a file in to a shared Egnyte folder and it be readily available on someone else's computer in the office. This is great for conference calls, it allows all parties to quickly access and review the same material. Salesforce integration - it has been phenomenal seeing how seamlessly Egnyte and Salesforce integrate. To allow these tow systems to ebb and flow so well together saves countless hours of work in our everyday.,Workshops - a lot of people in our field have experienced a learning curve when implementing Egnyte. I think good workshops online would be excellent tools to allow them to reach Egnyte's full potential Breaking links - If I share a confidential file, it would be excellent to easily re-access that link that was sent to that file and break that link (force it to no longer work). As it stands that often has to be done universally, and so one wrong move on our side has the potential to be catastrophic. There may be a way that I don't know about, but I think that points back to the idea of workshops Varying user access - it would be nice to allow users to edit and delete only in certain parts of Egnyte, rather than giving them administrative access across the board.,10,Allows us to easily communicate important data securely with other offices (not just sending via email) It allows everyone in our office to be working on the same information at the same time It meshes so well with salesforce that I can't really picture what our practice would look like if we didn't have the combination.,Dropbox,Microsoft Office 365, Dropbox, QuickBooks OnlineEasy to use!We all worked remotely so Egnyte allowed us to share files seamlessly. We used it to be able to communicate as if we were in the same office. It allowed us to automatically back up files and saved us from computer crashes. It was able to be used form any computer and easy for most users to set up and incorporate into daily habits.,Allows different types of documents to be stored and accessed without issues Saves drafts in stages Allows access to both current and former employee files Easy to use - administrator access controls who has access to what,Customer service is clunky and difficult to actually get help for existing users - sales team is great though Occasional crashes and compatibility issues Does not support Linux,9,Improved efficiency Made employees feel connected Allowed increased collaboration,Google DocsEgnyte - easy to use!All members of my team at BCI use Egnyte. It holds all our events on file that we can all easily access. We travel a lot for business and Egnyte makes it easy to bring up files on our phones/laptops/iPads, etc. It holds an infinite amount of files and syncs fast.,Syncs fast so others can open updated files Holds a ton of storage Easy to access from all types of devices,Two people cannot be in the same file - if I open a file that a colleague is in and begin work it will save (2) copies Sometimes the syncing freezing makes me have to restart my computer It can be hard to access on an iPhone, bigger screens work best,9,Egnyte makes it easy to save and open files from anywhere It is super easy to use and maintain It has so much storage - it never tells us we need to clean out,,Certain Event Automation Software, EventMobi
Unspecified
Egnyte
36 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

Egnyte Reviews

Egnyte
36 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 36 vetted Egnyte reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-21 of 21)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 08, 2018

User Review: "Egnyte for asset and file management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used across the whole organization for file sharing and content management. Specifically, creative and development teams use it to transfer assets. The account team also uses Egnyte to share files outside of the organization with external clients and vendors. Egynte is also used for manage asset version and maintain version control.
  • Asset sharing across organization departments.
  • Asset sharing externally (through secure links and expirations dates and access tracking).
  • Asset and content version management.
  • Managing sharing links and corresponding details is not intuitive.
  • No ability to collaborate and save documents.
  • No historical view of document viewing and download history.
Egnyte is well suited for data, file, and asset management. This includes sharing within department and externally. Egnyte also supports version control for documents to enable management. Files download quickly which enables efficient work and collaboration. It is beneficial to hold and organize company assets, collateral and documents in a secure and centralized location.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2017

Review: "Egnyte is a superior file-sharing cloud-based server option."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte as our primary file system company-wide, eliminating the need for a traditional "server" and large data management systems that are contained in-house. Our team travels a lot, and with the cloud-based nature of Egnyte, we can all be connected to our file system everywhere we go. This makes work travel simplistic, and working from home is a cinch because all our files are everywhere that our computers are.
  • One of Egnyte's features that we use quite frequently is file sharing to individuals outside of our company - whether we're sharing documents with prospects, potential buyers, or clients, it's as easy as sending a link to share a file, or creating a guest profile for them to sign in if they need to upload documents to us.
  • Desktop sync is a feature in Egnyte that we could not live without! The continuous sync means that our systems always have the latest version of every document that's worked on almost instantaneously.
  • Password protected file sharing is a must - we are a business brokerage firm and so client confidentiality is one of our highest priorities. Having the ability to put our files behind a password-protected link for viewing and downloading has helped us immensely.
  • Egnyte's web edit functionality could be built out a bit more. We never use this service in our office, and while I believe that it's because we simply use the desktop sync tool and have everything available locally with immediate follow-up syncing, the functionality does seem slightly less than intuitive, but still wholly usable.
  • Honestly... I have a difficult time thinking of any other shortcomings that the platform has.
In a world where Dropbox is king, Egnyte is the hidden gem that I honestly feel works better and has more functionality built in, for a similar (if not cheaper) price point. Any business office that has a traditional server holding eons of files could benefit from Egnyte and their cloud operations, eliminating the need for the hardware. It's great for collaboration between offices and colleagues, and the quick sync feature upon save means that everyone has the latest version of documents at any given time.
Read Chelsey Clayton's full review
October 25, 2017

Review: "Egnyte is Perfect for our Style of Business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used by our organization in multiple ways. We use is primarily as a storage center for information in relation to everything from business function and process, to case management and third party review of confidential files. On any given day it is being used seamlessly on roughly 20 computers where people are actively searching for, editing, reviewing, and sharing documents all at the exact same time. It has really changed the way that I understand a business to successfully manage big data.
  • Sharing files safely and securely with people at different facilities. It allows for ease of communication without having to limit security potential to do so.
  • Fast updating - within seconds I can drop a file in to a shared Egnyte folder and it be readily available on someone else's computer in the office. This is great for conference calls, it allows all parties to quickly access and review the same material.
  • Salesforce integration - it has been phenomenal seeing how seamlessly Egnyte and Salesforce integrate. To allow these tow systems to ebb and flow so well together saves countless hours of work in our everyday.
  • Workshops - a lot of people in our field have experienced a learning curve when implementing Egnyte. I think good workshops online would be excellent tools to allow them to reach Egnyte's full potential
  • Breaking links - If I share a confidential file, it would be excellent to easily re-access that link that was sent to that file and break that link (force it to no longer work). As it stands that often has to be done universally, and so one wrong move on our side has the potential to be catastrophic. There may be a way that I don't know about, but I think that points back to the idea of workshops
  • Varying user access - it would be nice to allow users to edit and delete only in certain parts of Egnyte, rather than giving them administrative access across the board.
Egnyte is excellent in almost every scenario. It's great when your position requires quickly and safely sharing documents with multiple parties, or if you work in a place that requires a heavy amount of data storage that is easily accessible. I don't know how practical Egnyte is for the small business with only a few documents, but with a company our size that has tons of documents, it is an excellent place to neatly and succinctly keep that data organized.
Read Shawn Petrunak's full review
December 06, 2017

Egnyte Review: "Easy to use!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We all worked remotely so Egnyte allowed us to share files seamlessly. We used it to be able to communicate as if we were in the same office. It allowed us to automatically back up files and saved us from computer crashes. It was able to be used form any computer and easy for most users to set up and incorporate into daily habits.
  • Allows different types of documents to be stored and accessed without issues
  • Saves drafts in stages
  • Allows access to both current and former employee files
  • Easy to use - administrator access controls who has access to what
  • Customer service is clunky and difficult to actually get help for existing users - sales team is great though
  • Occasional crashes and compatibility issues
  • Does not support Linux
Mid-size, growing companies who have employees that need access to multiple documents on the go or employees who telecommute. It made the small company feel larger and allowed resources normally reserved for a larger organization to be utilized. We worked faster, smarter and more efficiently because of Egnyte. I am not a Google Docs person and this is similar to Google Docs but with all of the issues addressed.
Read Emily Tennant's full review
December 06, 2017

User Review: "Egnyte - easy to use!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All members of my team at BCI use Egnyte. It holds all our events on file that we can all easily access. We travel a lot for business and Egnyte makes it easy to bring up files on our phones/laptops/iPads, etc. It holds an infinite amount of files and syncs fast.
  • Syncs fast so others can open updated files
  • Holds a ton of storage
  • Easy to access from all types of devices
  • Two people cannot be in the same file - if I open a file that a colleague is in and begin work it will save (2) copies
  • Sometimes the syncing freezing makes me have to restart my computer
  • It can be hard to access on an iPhone, bigger screens work best
We plan events so each event is an individual file on Egnyte. It makes it easy to access each file and save all information - master arrangements, budget, hotel, registration reports, etc. We also travel a lot and are often separated so Egynte make it easy to access while on the road.
Read Courtney Bradley's full review
December 06, 2017

Egnyte Review: "Cloud Storage the Easy Way"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte as a company-wide storage solution. Since we also use Salesforce as our CRM platform, Egnyte's seamless integration with our sales pipeline was a major selling point. With Egnyte we are able to add, delete, move, or reference files that are related to specific cases on the fly without having to visit a separate URL or standalone software. Currently, every new user gets an Egnyte license when they sign on.
  • Salesforce integration is seamless and extremely beginner friendly.
  • Egnyte goes through all of the proper measures to be fully compliant in an extremely tight regulatory industry.
  • Affordability is a major factor when you are buying licenses for a ton of employees, Egnyte checks this box.
  • Egnyte occasionally desyncs with Salesforce without warning, when it does it requires a convoluted series of steps to troubleshoot. It's easy after the first time, but it can be a major issue when your pipeline is built around the integration.
  • Egnyte support is all offshore in my experience, they rarely match up with you time wise and typically skip straight to screen sharing to troubleshoot. Many users aren't comfortable screen sharing as a first resort.
  • The browser-based Egnyte solution is sluggish and has some UI quirks that turn most of the users off in the office.
Egnyte is great if you want a simple solution for Salesforce integration, it also works well as a general cloud storage service; but not spectacularly. Very little sets Egnyte aside as "Special" but it is extremely affordable and it gets the job done. I wouldn't recommend Egnyte to anyone if they are looking for solid customer support. But if you are a mostly autonomous user, it's a solid investment.
Read Jeffrey Smith's full review
March 03, 2018

User Review: "Egnyte for Document Storage"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is used across multiple departments to share documents within departments and across multiple other departments. We use Egnyte to store documents in folders and limit access to only those who should see or have access. We also use the Web Edit feature to update documents in real time and keep them the most up to date.
  • Web Edit function works really well to edit documents in real time and have them live.
  • System access, the ability to share folders with only certain members or groups for safety.
  • The ability to keep many different types of documents (Word, Excel, etc) in one location.
  • When you are doing web edits to a document it locks other users out of the document for an undisclosed amount of time. If it is a frequently accessed document this can cause problems.
This is appropriate for document storage, but is a less well suited system for documents that are accessed and changed or edited in any way really frequently. It is not a secure system for documentation also, so if you need that I would not recommend Egnyte for a good system.
Read Whitney Kelley's full review
February 14, 2018

Egnyte Review: "Cloud Base system that works well."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is used by my organization to store all the companies used files on the cloud system. Once any employee logs into his or her Egynte, you can access loads of information pertaining to specific tasks. One can search across folders to lookup documents that might not be available in his or her department as you access other folders available to your view. Egnyte is also designed to meet each users need. Documents can be easily sorted into different folders for ease of accessing. Also, you have your personalized folders where you can backup files from your computer or just upload files. The good thing about the personalized folder is no other person can access this aside from yourself or the administrator.

Egnyte is being used by the different departments across our organization, including operations, finance, and recruitment.

Egnyte helps us store all confidential and day-to-day information so we don't lose the files. Egnyte enables our organization to offer employees file access and file sharing between employees and business partners, usually from any device and at any time, so colleagues can share files locally and internationally.

  • Egnyte Cloud system offers a good means to transfer and share large files of any size. This eliminates the process of sending such files via email as attachments and the long time it takes to find them in emails. It is really brilliant as you can readily download files of any size and upload them directly from your own account.
  • Egnyte has folders for both shared use and private use. The shared folders have a Parent folder and other sub folders for easy compilation.
  • The Egnyte cloud enables users to use Egnyte desktop versions accessed directly on one's computer, enabling us work directly.
  • Sometimes files take forever to upload and could hang up the system.
  • For the Egnyte we use now in our organization, you can't use it offline which can be sometimes annoying if you don't have data. I understand that there has been some improvement to this.
  • If file is also too large, it can stop working and you need to refresh.
Well Suited:
1.File Uploads/Downloads
2.File Storage
3.Personalized File storage system
4. File Sharing
5. Sub Folder Synchronization

Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2017

User Review: "F*** Dropbox, Get Egnyte"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte for any data organization and transferring. I've used Egnyte countless times to upload data and docs securely, so that I can retrieve these files at a later time, or from another device. It is a solid interface, and very easy to use. It allows me to manage my data in carefully organized labels and folders. I never have any issues when using Egnyte, opposed to other options.
  • Securely transfers files.
  • Quick upload and download speeds.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • A faster cloud upload/download speed.
Egnyte is definitely one of the best, if not the best, interface I've ever used for transferring files between devices and/ or persons. I think the best personal story I have using Egnyte is the time when my laptop was on the fritz/crashing. I was panicked, and IT didn't think they would be able to restore my laptop. I ended up uploading my entire computer's worth of data and documents to Egnyte! After that was done, I logged into my new device and, voilà, all of my personal and work data and docs were right there for me to download.
Read Ricky Skawinski, Jr.'s full review
April 10, 2017

Egnyte Review: "Data analysis in the 21st century."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte in our IT department to share files and data with technicians in the field. We made the switch to Egnyte from email and Dropbox and its been night and day. It has allowed us to move files that are larger than email will allow and share data summaries in a concise streamlined fashion.
We started using Egnyte to solve problems when sharing backups; from there it has evolved to a service that we use almost daily. If there is information that needs to be sent, we use Egnyte. It has reduced administrative overhead in our department by orders of magnitude.

  • Sharing files in formats that gmail rejects.
  • Sharing data across departments.
  • Providing a centralized repository for sales data.
  • The interface isn't intuitive.
  • The service is often slow to start up.
  • Data pattern matching doesn't work unless the data sets are large.
Really well suited for sharing binary files and instructions on how to use them. It also works really well at providing a centralized repository for wiki information.
Doesn't work very well when trying to analyze sales data from a week or less, that's often better done by hand.
Read this authenticated review
April 03, 2017

User Review: "Egnyte general"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte allows my department to share files securely and seamlessly between team members and other departments. We can even use this service to share files with customers on an as needed basis. Egnyte enhances our collaborative efforts and allows our teams to work in an agile manner.
  • File access on different device types
  • Tasking for efficient actioning
  • Integration with Microsoft Office
  • Integration with more cloud storage services would be useful
  • Real time change tracking based on device usage
Egnyte is suited for enterprise systems where different groups have different needs and use scenarios (different products and devices used by different teams for multiple projects).
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2017

Egnyte Review: "Remix to Egnytion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used broadly by the organization, but also departmentally - Egnyte offers us a secure and streamlined way to upload and share sensitive documents. Requires less technical savvy than an FTP client, etc. - the preferred route for young companies looking to efficiently share and improve processes inside and outside of organization.
  • Security
  • Ease of use - drag and drop
  • Setup
  • Marketing
  • Support
  • Expanding analysis, data
Easy setup, secure transfer - not too many cons, though I'd say expanding capabilities is main one.
Read this authenticated review
March 31, 2017

User Review: "Egnyte Your Security"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte for file sharing between departments. Anyone in the organization dealing with someone that they may not directly work with is able to share files through Egnyte in a quick and easy to use format. This solves communication issues within the company and also helps with security, as it keeps the files safe and away from the wrong eyes.
  • Security. You need a password to access each Egnyte folder, which helps keeps files private.
  • Speed. The files are essentially viewable the moment they are uploaded by the opposite party.
  • Ease of Use. The layout of the folders is easy on the eyes, and it's simple to find what you're looking for.
  • There have been some technical issues that bigger companies may not experience
  • Customer support is lacking
Egnyte is ideal for sharing files to a group of co-workers all at once, while also maintaining a strong sense of privacy and security. It allows anyone with the proper information to access the files being shared. It's also quick and helpful when dealing with rapidly approaching deadlines. I don't think it's ideal for sharing information with outsiders, as this could lead to security concerns.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2017

Egnyte Review: "Work Smarter, Not Harder, To Manage Your Files"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte across the board in every section of our company. We started using it because we were hit with a Crypto-virus almost 2 years ago. With Egnyte, if a computer crashes, everything is saved on Egnyte in the cloud. So, not only does it give us the ability to have things saved in situations like this. But, files are also available anywhere with internet access.
  • Egnyte gives multiple access points to your files. There is software for local NAS devices. And there is WebDAV access to the cloud as well.
  • Egnyte is permissions based. So users can be given access to certain folders, but be only given access to select files within that folder. It can be as complicated or simple as you want.
  • Egnyte gives you the option to pay specifically for Crypto-virus coverage. If your files were ever infected, they guarantee a backup.
  • There are some points within the web UI that randomly don't function properly. Users can give links to folders and files in the web UI. Sometimes the links randomly expire when they shouldn't.
  • Sometimes tech support is not sure why things happen. I've had an open case that is currently 4 weeks old. They just cannot figure out the issue. Luckily it doesn't stop us from working.
Egnyte is really suited for companies that have a large file structure with lots of files. This is a great option, rather than housing your own server. A smaller company that doesn't have much a file structure might find use with Egnyte, but it might not be cost effective. It's not the cheapest product, but there are some great features and are worth it.
Read Will Kosnik's full review
February 17, 2017

Review: "Egnyte- A great cloud storage/remote file server option!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Egnyte as our company wide file server/storage platform. Since our users are all remote this solves the need to house a server and VPN appliance to store our shared documents and files.
  • Explorer style UI makes it easy for end users to access,upload,download and edit files.
  • The WebEdit feature is especially useful as it allows for a document (Word,Excel, etc) to be edited right from the webUI and locks it automatically to prevent multiple users from editing at the same time.
  • Another useful feature is the comments area for a particular file. It allows for collaboration on a document and a notification option that the file was updated or edited to the other users.
  • File versioning is nice in that it keeps several versions of files to go back to if needed. It would be a nice addition to have the option to simply merge the changes into the existing file rather than creating a separate copy of the file.
For remote users and or employees it is a great solution for all to have easy and secure access to shared files. Also nice as a backup option for a users personal documents. Granted it's not a full-on backup solution but an easy enough way to save documents and files that need to be saved elsewhere in case of a local failure.
Read this authenticated review
March 25, 2016

User Review: "Egnyte is a wonderful tool!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte was implemented across the entire law firm. We mapped out our local network and were able to access Egnyte from the office like a regular shared drive. We were also able to access Egnyte from home using the visually appealing Egnyte.com interface. We used Egnyte for over 3 years and rarely had any issues with service or customer support. We basically used the service as our hard drive and as a cloud sharing device (like box.net) at once. This allowed us to share documents with outside attorneys and clients from the office and from home. I would highly recommend Egnyte.
  • Easy to share documents and files using various sharing options
  • User interface at Egnyte.com was appealing
  • Easy to use
  • Occasionally had limited access
Egnyte seemed to work well for all our purposes.
Read Zachary Bellamy's full review
July 11, 2014

Egnyte Review: "Great Product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for document storage and sharing.
  • Easy to upload data
  • Fast uploading and downloading speeds
  • Easy to Maneuver around
  • Sometimes uploads would freeze
  • Occasionally Egnyte would stop running and have to be rebooted
  • Large files took a long time to upload/download
How much storage does your company need?
Read Anna Bussewitz's full review
July 08, 2014

User Review: "Egnyte is simplifying cloud DMS!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is used for a cloud based file server solution for small to medium sized firms. My firm has done many cloud migrations for firms of this size and Egnyte has been utilized in almost all of them. It provides easy access and redundancy across any platform.
  • Provides safe, redundant offsite storage
  • Easy user access
  • Simple interface
  • File transfer limitations
  • Bandwidth limitations
  • Authentication issues
Most firms with decent bandwidth would benefit from using this product. There is added authentication versus an on site file server generally and this may cause some concern.
Read Evan Wilson's full review
July 08, 2014

"Egnyte Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was being used by a department, it address the problem of mobility - as there were people who were in different locations. Egnyte was great to use for everyone, I loved it.
  • The key strengths (especially for a business structure like ours) was the ease of file sharing
  • Compatibility with programs
  • Ease of use, after using it for a week when I first started - it was very simple to learn.
  • I think that the design aspect of Egnyte could be improved, granted I haven't used it in a while, but when I used it - the design/portal was a little archaic - it could probably use a face-lift.
I think it really works for business that have remote users and larger organizations. I couldn't see it working for a small non-profit or service industry.
Read Jessica Rogers's full review
March 25, 2016

Review: "egnyte, the cloud with all the documents"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used across the whole organization. Each department has their own egnyte file to store any documents for record purposes.
  • Organized.
  • You are able to access it anywhere.
  • It is quick to upload any documents.
  • The interface could be improved.
  • Despite the web browser, I should be able to drag any documents to the folder for it to upload.
Egnyte is suited for those that are working with a lot of documents and need a place to store it, so he/she can access it later.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2014

"Egnyte Review for TrustRadius"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte was used to store and share files within our company as well as third parties. I liked that it was easy to share a single document or an entire folder with one link. This made sharing large files such as project manuals or drawings easy. My company stopped using Egnyte in December of 2013.
  • Easy to share files
  • Easy to navigate
  • Easy to upload or move files within the site
  • When making a change to a document on Egnyte, you would also have to send out an updated version of the link.
If a colleague asked, I would not recommend Egnyte. There are other options available that are more cost effective and efficient.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (17)
7.4
Video files (15)
8.0
Audio files (13)
8.7
Document collaboration (17)
8.4
Access control (17)
8.6
File search (17)
8.1
Device sync (15)
8.1
User and role management (16)
8.3
File organization (17)
8.6
Device management (15)
8.2
Performance (16)
8.3
Reliability (16)
8.5
Storage Reports (15)
8.4

About Egnyte

Egnyte provides a cloud computing infrastructure product for online file storage, file sharing and computer backup for small, medium, and large business enterprises.
Categories:  Cloud Storage

Egnyte Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Egnyte Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No