Egnyte Reviews

71 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 04, 2021
Brandon Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte
is one of the most promising security solutions available in the market. One of
a kind SaaS platform to manage, secure, and gain insights into business content in
all apps. The most promising feature of Egnyte is that there is a secure
sharing option, files can be password protected so that only authorized one can
assess them, additionally it has a link expiration feature which helps to generate
information for the right individual in the given period of time. This feature
helps in making feeling right and confident while sharing files.
  • It is very much proficient in sharing files within and outside of the organization.
  • The integration is seamless with other available platforms. The desktop app is fast and reliable also the interface is very user-friendly to use.
  • Users can download heavy files easily from the system without any lag or system bogging down.
  • The main drawback of the system that it is lacking in managing the uploading of large or huge files, even though the large files can be easily downloadable but the upload takes a lot of time.
  • While uploading the system sometimes starts lagging and the file after sometimes needs to upload again.
  • Egnyte is lacking in syncing multiple platforms at the same time. It gives access to one platform at a time which somehow hinders the work while migrating a large amount of data.
Egnyte
is the perfect solution for the big Organizations to securely share their files
and information to outside with a full trustworthy approach. Great software which gives a cloud-based
location for Organizations to easily store their information in the cloud and
physical location both. Need
some improvements in the desktop apps and needs changing in syncing with
multiple platforms.
Read Brandon Smith's full review
May 28, 2021
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte cloud is [synced] with an on-premise caching server organization-wide that is allowing users and teams to plug into their data through a drive map program or through web-based access. It has integration into MS Office for web-based document editing which fits certain users' purposes. All users have secure access to their data and can update it.
  • Drive map tool on Windows and flexibility on client configuration, can change drive letters fairly easily if needed.
  • New user setup is straightforward and permissions not too difficult to set up and assign.
  • Support has been fairly responsive and helpful with issues as they have come up.
  • The on-premise server that syncs with cloud data was a bit challenging to set up.
  • Mac installation was challenging and less configurable than Windows.
  • A new or redesigned user setup wizard might be more useful than the present setup method.
In professional services environments, Egnyte is a suitable option providing reliable and secure storage options. There may be more affordable options out there, but because of how reliable it has been, it has been worth the cost for the organization on a continual basis year after year. For smaller teams or organizations with non-standard operating hardware, it might be better to use a different, more affordable option.
Read Ian Hansen's full review
May 30, 2021
Varun Kainthla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helped us a lot in pandemic where we were working from home and many file transfers were required. It helped us in transferring files among our coworkers and helping us in sharing reports and projects with each other. Its easy to use interface has helped even the non technical employees in our company and has made it easier for us to create backups of our projects.
  • It is very secure. We haven't faced any data breach nor has any data been transferred to a wrong person.
  • It provides a lot of space for storing various documents.
  • It is very simple to use. All the employees of the company were able to use it with ease.
  • Custom url is very useful as it is easy to communicate with other person.
  • It is buggy. Sometimes, it doesn't sync the data automatically, but this rarely happens.
  • It has no support for Linux.
  • Keep me logged in button rarely works and one often finds themselves logged out.
Even though it is little buggy, I would highly recommend it due to its ease of use and its multi platform support(excluding Linux). Even the people with non technical background rarely have problems using it. However, if one has to transfer big files on a regular basis, I wouldn't recommend it since the bugs do increase with [an] increase in file size.
Read Varun Kainthla's full review
May 28, 2021
Anthony Bolivar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is currently being used cross department for storing important business and financial files off site. It's a secure FTP that we use to store sensitive data. It gives us the ability to share our important documents with lawyers and bank representatives. Its very simple to navigate and share abilities are extremely nice.
  • Easy to use
  • Adaptable
  • Convenient
  • Secure
  • Safe
  • Fast
  • Finding the direct link for photo files sometimes isn't the easiest.
Egnyte is great if you need to share secure sensitive data but don't trust Microsoft OneDrive or their email encryption. Additionally, its perfect for sharing larger files. Such as large PDFs or cameras footage request by law enforcement agencies and legal staff. It very robust and convenient to be able to access data on the go.
Read Anthony Bolivar's full review
May 29, 2021
Guy G. Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We researched several providers and ultimately selected Egnyte as our preferred provider for client interactions with their documents. Our Abstracting team uses Egynte.
  • Security
  • Intuitiveness
  • Easy of Use
  • Price
  • We have nothing negative to say about Egnyte.
Egnyte is ideal for Quarem as a secure repository for all of our external clients' documents.
Read Guy G. Gray's full review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte as our secure file sharing service across our organization. This is very helpful in sharing secure information, especially IT keys and reports, with our clients, as well as internally. We have even used the option to create a custom URL to allow more continuity for our branding.
  • Secure sharing with options to require password and time limits
  • Logging of access to shared links
  • Ability to allow custom url for links
  • Because it is an additional service, it creates added steps for users (compared to sharing in google or Microsoft)
  • Without custom URL, some end users are not familiar with Egnyte brand, and can cause confusion
For uses similar to how we use Egnyte, as insecure links with tracking and reporting of access, I recommend using this software. For a day-to-day file share, it may not be as [a] continent or as reliable a Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive, but for a secure file share, this service fits the bill.
Read this authenticated review
March 19, 2020
John Watson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte offers a cost-effective cloud-based way to manage data without expensive infrastructure. It creates a Z-drive on people's computers and functions just like a local folder structure but with files saved to the cloud. This allows for a fairly reliable system for remote use from home or when travelling. It also serves as the main database for files when working in the office.
  • Very easy to install.
  • Very simple to use.
  • Large storage capacity.
  • Uploading large files (over 1GB) remotely can be difficult and causes crashes.
  • Likewise moving large files within the folders can cause interruptions in service.
  • Not sure what is happening with the creation of back-ups. I have never seen this functionality although it may be happening in the background.
It works well for us as we are a small company, 15 people spread across Europe and the US, and the accessibility of data via the Z-drive is fairly seamless as long as you don't upload anything very large. As we all travel extensively it works well. It also keeps data storage costs down for small companies as it requires no significant IT infrastructure.

Access over the web is poor (rather than via the app), it is slow and editing rights are limited if not using the app.
I have not needed any support to-date from Egnyte. We have an external consultant who resolves any IT issues.
Read John Watson's full review
February 18, 2020
Katie Stevens | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is our main file storage across our organization. We are a virtual company and use Egnyte so we are able to share files across our organization just as if we were in the same office working within a server environment. Egnyte solves many problems for our organization and allows us to work effectively daily.
  • File Storage
  • File Sharing
Egnyte is the only software purchase that we have made as a company and had zero reservations. We have used Egnyte for 7 years now and we love this software. Not only was it amazing when we purchased 7 years ago, but it keeps improving and finding ways to be better!
Egnyte is always super responsive. While our calls to support have been few and far between, Egnyte is always super responsive to any issues or questions that come up.
Read Katie Stevens's full review
August 09, 2019
Jay Handleson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte to store large construction files that we are able to share and collaborate on within our system. We also take advantage of the feature to selectively share individual files without having to separately upload to a cloud based share site. This eliminates the need for additional storage on our server and gives our personnel easy access to files at any location with Internet access.
  • Fast file access and retrieval
  • Quick uploads and downloads
  • Individual file sharing with users outside of our organization
  • We had one problem with file syncing that lost several files. Tech support could not retrieve them. This happened early in our usage and only one time.
  • We had an issue with Sync at one point, but that was resolved.
File sharing ability is better than most cloud based clients we have tried with better than average security.
Because we did lose some files in the early stages that tech support could not recover, we lowered the support rating. With continued support, our rating would go up over time.
Read Jay Handleson's full review
July 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is used across the whole company, we use it for all of our filings and try not to store any documents locally. It is used for collaborative work across departments and across offices in different locations. We also make use of the file sharing for external freelancers and sharing documents/folders with clients. Using Egnyte solved issues we were having with using an external hard drive for all of our shared documents, which was often unreliable and difficult to access.
  • Easy to use: we had minimal problems implementing this across the company.
  • Great for collaborative work: stops issues with version control and has easy sharing.
  • Easy sharing outside our organization: avoids issues with large file transfers.
  • We often have issues with WebEdit, changes not saving/overwriting
  • No functionality to drag and drop files/folders within the UI, can only move things by going through Move > Select location
  • When previewing Word files in the browser, tracked changes are not shown so there can be misunderstandings when quickly reviewing documents
Egnyte is great for working collaboratively on documents that are passed around from person to person. We use the WebEdit feature so only one person can edit the document at a time, which avoids confusion with multiple rounds of edits and is a huge help with version control. We have implemented our own detailed filing system and as long as this adheres to it, it means that there are never any missing files, or issues with finding/accessing documents when members of staff are on holiday or off sick. However, there are some documents that we still use Google Docs and Google Sheets for, as Egnyte doesn't allow multiple people to edit a document simultaneously. For collaborative work with clients, it's still very useful to be able to work on a document or spreadsheet at the same time and have instant updates, which Google services are good for.
Read this authenticated review
September 09, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used by our whole organization at my agency. Instead of using something like Dropbox to share links, we use Egnyte links that can be either password-protected or shared with someone who has an agency email address. You can also choose when or if you want the links to expire.
  • Ease of use
  • Interface
  • Quick loading time
  • Editable links
  • Not getting logged out so often
  • Loading speed when not on VPN
Egnyte is well suited for internal agency communications here since it is an easier process to not have a unique password to share with colleagues. If they do not have an agency email (ie, a client) you will have to attach a password to the link since they cannot access it.
I never had to reach out to customer support for Egnyte. I don't know any coworkers who have had to reach out to Egnyte for support either. As far as I am concerned, the support team is doing a good job since I have not had to reach out to them.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2019
Christopher Fritz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used globally across the whole organization. We also use it with freelancers and clients. We needed a file share system that is reliable and can be set up in the cloud and on premises. We're able to share documents and more across the organization and with clients. We can also restore deleted files, track changes, etc. We have gotten the power as admins to control what ever happens to our material. There are different options with sharing files using Egnyte in the browser. You can use it as an application, network drive, etc., so all end users have an option to work with their preference.
  • Sharing options within the organization and outside.
  • Structure of permissions.
  • User management.
  • Options for using Egnyte (drive, browser, etc.).
  • Collaborating in docs.
  • Collaboration in documents within the Office applications would be nice. Now it's only in browser mode.
  • Default link names option when sharing files.
  • Desktop sync should be able to tell when there's not enough disk space.
  • Support could be more attentive.
Egnyte is very useful if you want to set up different permissions and folder structures in your organization. There are plenty of options and it's easy to inherit permissions, etc. Also, the different backup solutions are pretty easy to get a hold of and the tracking of changes to documents can be very useful. Egnyte is not yet fully adapted to be working for collaboration within the desktop versions of the different Office products, so you will need to expect to do it within the browser version.
Read Christopher Fritz's full review
November 16, 2018
Brandon Wells, MPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization currently utilizes Egnyte organization-wide. Prior to implementing Egnyte for our digital storage needs, we were very unorganized which really creating some challenges in getting things done quickly. Once we got our internal processes down, Egnyte was a huge win for us. Today, each department has organized "files" to place relevant content. For a project management standpoint, I can't even imagine doing my job effectively without Egnyte.
  • Ease of use- once things are clearly labeled Egnyte is simple to learn and use.
  • Pricing- In our case, Egnyte was very fairly priced.
  • Functionality- Egnyte is a no-frills, as advertised, option for all digital storage needs.
  • Egnyte may be overdue for a face-lift. The User Interface is a little dated. Not a deal breaker by any means, though.
  • Customer support- Fortunately, we haven't needed much help. I have heard from people at other businesses complain about their lack of support before.
Egnyte is the leader for no-frills digital storage needs as far as I am concerned. It's logically setup with ease of use seemingly built into their DNA. We use it for storing every file we need to keep- from documents to high-resolution graphics and photos. It is less appropriate to use when collaborating with volunteers outside of our organization. It's proved cumbersome when they don't have an internal email address.
Read Brandon Wells, MPA's full review
December 15, 2017
Chelsey Clayton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte as our primary file system company-wide, eliminating the need for a traditional "server" and large data management systems that are contained in-house. Our team travels a lot, and with the cloud-based nature of Egnyte, we can all be connected to our file system everywhere we go. This makes work travel simplistic, and working from home is a cinch because all our files are everywhere that our computers are.
  • One of Egnyte's features that we use quite frequently is file sharing to individuals outside of our company - whether we're sharing documents with prospects, potential buyers, or clients, it's as easy as sending a link to share a file, or creating a guest profile for them to sign in if they need to upload documents to us.
  • Desktop sync is a feature in Egnyte that we could not live without! The continuous sync means that our systems always have the latest version of every document that's worked on almost instantaneously.
  • Password protected file sharing is a must - we are a business brokerage firm and so client confidentiality is one of our highest priorities. Having the ability to put our files behind a password-protected link for viewing and downloading has helped us immensely.
  • Egnyte's web edit functionality could be built out a bit more. We never use this service in our office, and while I believe that it's because we simply use the desktop sync tool and have everything available locally with immediate follow-up syncing, the functionality does seem slightly less than intuitive, but still wholly usable.
  • Honestly... I have a difficult time thinking of any other shortcomings that the platform has.
In a world where Dropbox is king, Egnyte is the hidden gem that I honestly feel works better and has more functionality built in, for a similar (if not cheaper) price point. Any business office that has a traditional server holding eons of files could benefit from Egnyte and their cloud operations, eliminating the need for the hardware. It's great for collaboration between offices and colleagues, and the quick sync feature upon save means that everyone has the latest version of documents at any given time.
Read Chelsey Clayton's full review
October 25, 2017
Shawn Petrunak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used by our organization in multiple ways. We use is primarily as a storage center for information in relation to everything from business function and process, to case management and third party review of confidential files. On any given day it is being used seamlessly on roughly 20 computers where people are actively searching for, editing, reviewing, and sharing documents all at the exact same time. It has really changed the way that I understand a business to successfully manage big data.
  • Sharing files safely and securely with people at different facilities. It allows for ease of communication without having to limit security potential to do so.
  • Fast updating - within seconds I can drop a file in to a shared Egnyte folder and it be readily available on someone else's computer in the office. This is great for conference calls, it allows all parties to quickly access and review the same material.
  • Salesforce integration - it has been phenomenal seeing how seamlessly Egnyte and Salesforce integrate. To allow these tow systems to ebb and flow so well together saves countless hours of work in our everyday.
  • Workshops - a lot of people in our field have experienced a learning curve when implementing Egnyte. I think good workshops online would be excellent tools to allow them to reach Egnyte's full potential
  • Breaking links - If I share a confidential file, it would be excellent to easily re-access that link that was sent to that file and break that link (force it to no longer work). As it stands that often has to be done universally, and so one wrong move on our side has the potential to be catastrophic. There may be a way that I don't know about, but I think that points back to the idea of workshops
  • Varying user access - it would be nice to allow users to edit and delete only in certain parts of Egnyte, rather than giving them administrative access across the board.
Egnyte is excellent in almost every scenario. It's great when your position requires quickly and safely sharing documents with multiple parties, or if you work in a place that requires a heavy amount of data storage that is easily accessible. I don't know how practical Egnyte is for the small business with only a few documents, but with a company our size that has tons of documents, it is an excellent place to neatly and succinctly keep that data organized.
Read Shawn Petrunak's full review
December 06, 2017
Emily Tennant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We all worked remotely so Egnyte allowed us to share files seamlessly. We used it to be able to communicate as if we were in the same office. It allowed us to automatically back up files and saved us from computer crashes. It was able to be used form any computer and easy for most users to set up and incorporate into daily habits.
  • Allows different types of documents to be stored and accessed without issues
  • Saves drafts in stages
  • Allows access to both current and former employee files
  • Easy to use - administrator access controls who has access to what
  • Customer service is clunky and difficult to actually get help for existing users - sales team is great though
  • Occasional crashes and compatibility issues
  • Does not support Linux
Mid-size, growing companies who have employees that need access to multiple documents on the go or employees who telecommute. It made the small company feel larger and allowed resources normally reserved for a larger organization to be utilized. We worked faster, smarter and more efficiently because of Egnyte. I am not a Google Docs person and this is similar to Google Docs but with all of the issues addressed.
Read Emily Tennant's full review
December 06, 2017
Courtney Bradley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All members of my team at BCI use Egnyte. It holds all our events on file that we can all easily access. We travel a lot for business and Egnyte makes it easy to bring up files on our phones/laptops/iPads, etc. It holds an infinite amount of files and syncs fast.
  • Syncs fast so others can open updated files
  • Holds a ton of storage
  • Easy to access from all types of devices
  • Two people cannot be in the same file - if I open a file that a colleague is in and begin work it will save (2) copies
  • Sometimes the syncing freezing makes me have to restart my computer
  • It can be hard to access on an iPhone, bigger screens work best
We plan events so each event is an individual file on Egnyte. It makes it easy to access each file and save all information - master arrangements, budget, hotel, registration reports, etc. We also travel a lot and are often separated so Egynte make it easy to access while on the road.
Read Courtney Bradley's full review
December 06, 2017
Jeffrey Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte as a company-wide storage solution. Since we also use Salesforce as our CRM platform, Egnyte's seamless integration with our sales pipeline was a major selling point. With Egnyte we are able to add, delete, move, or reference files that are related to specific cases on the fly without having to visit a separate URL or standalone software. Currently, every new user gets an Egnyte license when they sign on.
  • Salesforce integration is seamless and extremely beginner friendly.
  • Egnyte goes through all of the proper measures to be fully compliant in an extremely tight regulatory industry.
  • Affordability is a major factor when you are buying licenses for a ton of employees, Egnyte checks this box.
  • Egnyte occasionally desyncs with Salesforce without warning, when it does it requires a convoluted series of steps to troubleshoot. It's easy after the first time, but it can be a major issue when your pipeline is built around the integration.
  • Egnyte support is all offshore in my experience, they rarely match up with you time wise and typically skip straight to screen sharing to troubleshoot. Many users aren't comfortable screen sharing as a first resort.
  • The browser-based Egnyte solution is sluggish and has some UI quirks that turn most of the users off in the office.
Egnyte is great if you want a simple solution for Salesforce integration, it also works well as a general cloud storage service; but not spectacularly. Very little sets Egnyte aside as "Special" but it is extremely affordable and it gets the job done. I wouldn't recommend Egnyte to anyone if they are looking for solid customer support. But if you are a mostly autonomous user, it's a solid investment.
Read Jeffrey Smith's full review
March 03, 2018
Whitney Kelley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is used across multiple departments to share documents within departments and across multiple other departments. We use Egnyte to store documents in folders and limit access to only those who should see or have access. We also use the Web Edit feature to update documents in real time and keep them the most up to date.
  • Web Edit function works really well to edit documents in real time and have them live.
  • System access, the ability to share folders with only certain members or groups for safety.
  • The ability to keep many different types of documents (Word, Excel, etc) in one location.
  • When you are doing web edits to a document it locks other users out of the document for an undisclosed amount of time. If it is a frequently accessed document this can cause problems.
This is appropriate for document storage, but is a less well suited system for documents that are accessed and changed or edited in any way really frequently. It is not a secure system for documentation also, so if you need that I would not recommend Egnyte for a good system.
Read Whitney Kelley's full review
March 30, 2017
Ricky Skawinski, Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte for any data organization and transferring. I've used Egnyte countless times to upload data and docs securely, so that I can retrieve these files at a later time, or from another device. It is a solid interface, and very easy to use. It allows me to manage my data in carefully organized labels and folders. I never have any issues when using Egnyte, opposed to other options.
  • Securely transfers files.
  • Quick upload and download speeds.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • A faster cloud upload/download speed.
Egnyte is definitely one of the best, if not the best, interface I've ever used for transferring files between devices and/ or persons. I think the best personal story I have using Egnyte is the time when my laptop was on the fritz/crashing. I was panicked, and IT didn't think they would be able to restore my laptop. I ended up uploading my entire computer's worth of data and documents to Egnyte! After that was done, I logged into my new device and, voilà, all of my personal and work data and docs were right there for me to download.
Read Ricky Skawinski, Jr.'s full review
February 22, 2017
Will Kosnik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte across the board in every section of our company. We started using it because we were hit with a Crypto-virus almost 2 years ago. With Egnyte, if a computer crashes, everything is saved on Egnyte in the cloud. So, not only does it give us the ability to have things saved in situations like this. But, files are also available anywhere with internet access.
  • Egnyte gives multiple access points to your files. There is software for local NAS devices. And there is WebDAV access to the cloud as well.
  • Egnyte is permissions based. So users can be given access to certain folders, but be only given access to select files within that folder. It can be as complicated or simple as you want.
  • Egnyte gives you the option to pay specifically for Crypto-virus coverage. If your files were ever infected, they guarantee a backup.
  • There are some points within the web UI that randomly don't function properly. Users can give links to folders and files in the web UI. Sometimes the links randomly expire when they shouldn't.
  • Sometimes tech support is not sure why things happen. I've had an open case that is currently 4 weeks old. They just cannot figure out the issue. Luckily it doesn't stop us from working.
Egnyte is really suited for companies that have a large file structure with lots of files. This is a great option, rather than housing your own server. A smaller company that doesn't have much a file structure might find use with Egnyte, but it might not be cost effective. It's not the cheapest product, but there are some great features and are worth it.
Read Will Kosnik's full review
March 25, 2016
Zachary Bellamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte was implemented across the entire law firm. We mapped out our local network and were able to access Egnyte from the office like a regular shared drive. We were also able to access Egnyte from home using the visually appealing Egnyte.com interface. We used Egnyte for over 3 years and rarely had any issues with service or customer support. We basically used the service as our hard drive and as a cloud sharing device (like box.net) at once. This allowed us to share documents with outside attorneys and clients from the office and from home. I would highly recommend Egnyte.
  • Easy to share documents and files using various sharing options
  • User interface at Egnyte.com was appealing
  • Easy to use
  • Occasionally had limited access
Egnyte seemed to work well for all our purposes.
Read Zachary Bellamy's full review
April 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used by every department in our organization. It is used for sharing and collecting database files from our customers, which contain sensitive PHI about patients from many different hospitals.
  • Sharing a link for upload.
  • Downloading using a password.
  • Customizing the link with security options.
  • Automatic deletion policy would be nice.
It is very great and secure when it comes to uploading and collecting files from various customers.
Read this authenticated review
August 08, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used across the whole organization for file sharing and content management. Specifically, creative and development teams use it to transfer assets. The account team also uses Egnyte to share files outside of the organization with external clients and vendors. Egynte is also used for manage asset version and maintain version control.
  • Asset sharing across organization departments.
  • Asset sharing externally (through secure links and expirations dates and access tracking).
  • Asset and content version management.
  • Managing sharing links and corresponding details is not intuitive.
  • No ability to collaborate and save documents.
  • No historical view of document viewing and download history.
Egnyte is well suited for data, file, and asset management. This includes sharing within department and externally. Egnyte also supports version control for documents to enable management. Files download quickly which enables efficient work and collaboration. It is beneficial to hold and organize company assets, collateral and documents in a secure and centralized location.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company has been using Egnyte for the past 10 years or so, but I've only been using it for 4 years since I've been with the company. Everyone here uses Egnyte in a different way. In my case, since we cannot deposit our own software into Arena because the files are too big, we use Egnyte and tie the link to Arena, which works out perfect for us.
  • Egnyte can be used in many different ways depending on what are you using it for. I use Egnyte for one purpose only: if the files are too big to deposit into Arena PLM System, I will have them linked instead.
  • I do know some of my colleagues are using Egnyte to upload files and share them with other Egnyte users; it seems like everyone here who uses Egnyte is happy with the software.
  • Not a problem with Egnyte, but when using it with Arena, Arena will only allow a certain capacity on files, and also when you have a big file upload in Arena, it will take a long time to download.
  • Another problem that is not Egnyte's, but when using with Arena, I wish Arena could be made to handle bigger files and faster downloads.
I'm not a heavy Egnyte user so I can't really comment on where it's suited and where it's not, I can only speak from my own experience. Egnyte has been working very well for me and Arena, and it does make my daily life so much easier on a daily basis.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (30)
9.1
Video files (26)
9.2
Audio files (24)
9.2
Document collaboration (30)
9.3
Access control (32)
9.3
File search (31)
9.4
Device sync (29)
8.9
User and role management (30)
9.2
File organization (32)
9.5
Device management (28)
9.5
Performance (31)
9.3
Reliability (31)
9.4
Storage Reports (27)
9.5

What is Egnyte?

Egnyte delivers a content platform that is purpose-built for businesses, as a trusted platform to secure and govern all company files. Egnyte promises to give IT centralized control and protection over their files, and users fast access to their content, no matter how or where work happens.

Egnyte Video

Egnyte & You - Enterprise File Services

Egnyte Competitors

Egnyte Pricing

Starting Price: $25

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Team (1-10 employees)$10per employee/per month
Business (10-100 employees)$20per employee/per month
Enterprise (50+ employees)Contact sales team

Egnyte Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Egnyte cost?

Egnyte starts at $25.

What is Egnyte's best feature?

Reviewers rate File organization and Device management and Storage Reports highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Egnyte?

The most common users of Egnyte are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.