Egnyte Reviews

55 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

John Watson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2020

Cost-effective data management and storage with Egnyte

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte offers a cost-effective cloud-based way to manage data without expensive infrastructure. It creates a Z-drive on people's computers and functions just like a local folder structure but with files saved to the cloud. This allows for a fairly reliable system for remote use from home or when travelling. It also serves as the main database for files when working in the office.
  • Very easy to install.
  • Very simple to use.
  • Large storage capacity.
  • Uploading large files (over 1GB) remotely can be difficult and causes crashes.
  • Likewise moving large files within the folders can cause interruptions in service.
  • Not sure what is happening with the creation of back-ups. I have never seen this functionality although it may be happening in the background.
It works well for us as we are a small company, 15 people spread across Europe and the US, and the accessibility of data via the Z-drive is fairly seamless as long as you don't upload anything very large. As we all travel extensively it works well. It also keeps data storage costs down for small companies as it requires no significant IT infrastructure.

Access over the web is poor (rather than via the app), it is slow and editing rights are limited if not using the app.
Read John Watson's full review
Katie Stevens | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Egnyte is AMAZING!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is our main file storage across our organization. We are a virtual company and use Egnyte so we are able to share files across our organization just as if we were in the same office working within a server environment. Egnyte solves many problems for our organization and allows us to work effectively daily.
  • File Storage
  • File Sharing
Egnyte is the only software purchase that we have made as a company and had zero reservations. We have used Egnyte for 7 years now and we love this software. Not only was it amazing when we purchased 7 years ago, but it keeps improving and finding ways to be better!
Read Katie Stevens's full review
Jay Handleson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Egnyte Sync for Construction Companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte to store large construction files that we are able to share and collaborate on within our system. We also take advantage of the feature to selectively share individual files without having to separately upload to a cloud based share site. This eliminates the need for additional storage on our server and gives our personnel easy access to files at any location with Internet access.
  • Fast file access and retrieval
  • Quick uploads and downloads
  • Individual file sharing with users outside of our organization
  • We had one problem with file syncing that lost several files. Tech support could not retrieve them. This happened early in our usage and only one time.
  • We had an issue with Sync at one point, but that was resolved.
File sharing ability is better than most cloud based clients we have tried with better than average security.
Read Jay Handleson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 12, 2019

Easy to use and great stress-saver

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is used across the whole company, we use it for all of our filings and try not to store any documents locally. It is used for collaborative work across departments and across offices in different locations. We also make use of the file sharing for external freelancers and sharing documents/folders with clients. Using Egnyte solved issues we were having with using an external hard drive for all of our shared documents, which was often unreliable and difficult to access.
  • Easy to use: we had minimal problems implementing this across the company.
  • Great for collaborative work: stops issues with version control and has easy sharing.
  • Easy sharing outside our organization: avoids issues with large file transfers.
  • We often have issues with WebEdit, changes not saving/overwriting
  • No functionality to drag and drop files/folders within the UI, can only move things by going through Move > Select location
  • When previewing Word files in the browser, tracked changes are not shown so there can be misunderstandings when quickly reviewing documents
Egnyte is great for working collaboratively on documents that are passed around from person to person. We use the WebEdit feature so only one person can edit the document at a time, which avoids confusion with multiple rounds of edits and is a huge help with version control. We have implemented our own detailed filing system and as long as this adheres to it, it means that there are never any missing files, or issues with finding/accessing documents when members of staff are on holiday or off sick. However, there are some documents that we still use Google Docs and Google Sheets for, as Egnyte doesn't allow multiple people to edit a document simultaneously. For collaborative work with clients, it's still very useful to be able to work on a document or spreadsheet at the same time and have instant updates, which Google services are good for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 09, 2019

Egnyte Agency Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used by our whole organization at my agency. Instead of using something like Dropbox to share links, we use Egnyte links that can be either password-protected or shared with someone who has an agency email address. You can also choose when or if you want the links to expire.
  • Ease of use
  • Interface
  • Quick loading time
  • Editable links
  • Not getting logged out so often
  • Loading speed when not on VPN
Egnyte is well suited for internal agency communications here since it is an easier process to not have a unique password to share with colleagues. If they do not have an agency email (ie, a client) you will have to attach a password to the link since they cannot access it.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Fritz | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Egnyte does the job and a bit more

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used globally across the whole organization. We also use it with freelancers and clients. We needed a file share system that is reliable and can be set up in the cloud and on premises. We're able to share documents and more across the organization and with clients. We can also restore deleted files, track changes, etc. We have gotten the power as admins to control what ever happens to our material. There are different options with sharing files using Egnyte in the browser. You can use it as an application, network drive, etc., so all end users have an option to work with their preference.
  • Sharing options within the organization and outside.
  • Structure of permissions.
  • User management.
  • Options for using Egnyte (drive, browser, etc.).
  • Collaborating in docs.
  • Collaboration in documents within the Office applications would be nice. Now it's only in browser mode.
  • Default link names option when sharing files.
  • Desktop sync should be able to tell when there's not enough disk space.
  • Support could be more attentive.
Egnyte is very useful if you want to set up different permissions and folder structures in your organization. There are plenty of options and it's easy to inherit permissions, etc. Also, the different backup solutions are pretty easy to get a hold of and the tracking of changes to documents can be very useful. Egnyte is not yet fully adapted to be working for collaboration within the desktop versions of the different Office products, so you will need to expect to do it within the browser version.
Read Christopher Fritz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2019

Awesome, secure share app

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used by every department in our organization. It is used for sharing and collecting database files from our customers, which contain sensitive PHI about patients from many different hospitals.
  • Sharing a link for upload.
  • Downloading using a password.
  • Customizing the link with security options.
  • Automatic deletion policy would be nice.
It is very great and secure when it comes to uploading and collecting files from various customers.
Read this authenticated review
Brandon Wells, MPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Egnyte is a no-frills top-notch storage solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization currently utilizes Egnyte organization-wide. Prior to implementing Egnyte for our digital storage needs, we were very unorganized which really creating some challenges in getting things done quickly. Once we got our internal processes down, Egnyte was a huge win for us. Today, each department has organized "files" to place relevant content. For a project management standpoint, I can't even imagine doing my job effectively without Egnyte.
  • Ease of use- once things are clearly labeled Egnyte is simple to learn and use.
  • Pricing- In our case, Egnyte was very fairly priced.
  • Functionality- Egnyte is a no-frills, as advertised, option for all digital storage needs.
  • Egnyte may be overdue for a face-lift. The User Interface is a little dated. Not a deal breaker by any means, though.
  • Customer support- Fortunately, we haven't needed much help. I have heard from people at other businesses complain about their lack of support before.
Egnyte is the leader for no-frills digital storage needs as far as I am concerned. It's logically setup with ease of use seemingly built into their DNA. We use it for storing every file we need to keep- from documents to high-resolution graphics and photos. It is less appropriate to use when collaborating with volunteers outside of our organization. It's proved cumbersome when they don't have an internal email address.
Read Brandon Wells, MPA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 08, 2018

Egnyte for asset and file management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used across the whole organization for file sharing and content management. Specifically, creative and development teams use it to transfer assets. The account team also uses Egnyte to share files outside of the organization with external clients and vendors. Egynte is also used for manage asset version and maintain version control.
  • Asset sharing across organization departments.
  • Asset sharing externally (through secure links and expirations dates and access tracking).
  • Asset and content version management.
  • Managing sharing links and corresponding details is not intuitive.
  • No ability to collaborate and save documents.
  • No historical view of document viewing and download history.
Egnyte is well suited for data, file, and asset management. This includes sharing within department and externally. Egnyte also supports version control for documents to enable management. Files download quickly which enables efficient work and collaboration. It is beneficial to hold and organize company assets, collateral and documents in a secure and centralized location.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2018

Wonderful software to use for your small bussiness.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company has been using Egnyte for the past 10 years or so, but I've only been using it for 4 years since I've been with the company. Everyone here uses Egnyte in a different way. In my case, since we cannot deposit our own software into Arena because the files are too big, we use Egnyte and tie the link to Arena, which works out perfect for us.
  • Egnyte can be used in many different ways depending on what are you using it for. I use Egnyte for one purpose only: if the files are too big to deposit into Arena PLM System, I will have them linked instead.
  • I do know some of my colleagues are using Egnyte to upload files and share them with other Egnyte users; it seems like everyone here who uses Egnyte is happy with the software.
  • Not a problem with Egnyte, but when using it with Arena, Arena will only allow a certain capacity on files, and also when you have a big file upload in Arena, it will take a long time to download.
  • Another problem that is not Egnyte's, but when using with Arena, I wish Arena could be made to handle bigger files and faster downloads.
I'm not a heavy Egnyte user so I can't really comment on where it's suited and where it's not, I can only speak from my own experience. Egnyte has been working very well for me and Arena, and it does make my daily life so much easier on a daily basis.
Read this authenticated review
Chelsey Clayton | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2017

Egnyte is a superior file-sharing cloud-based server option.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte as our primary file system company-wide, eliminating the need for a traditional "server" and large data management systems that are contained in-house. Our team travels a lot, and with the cloud-based nature of Egnyte, we can all be connected to our file system everywhere we go. This makes work travel simplistic, and working from home is a cinch because all our files are everywhere that our computers are.
  • One of Egnyte's features that we use quite frequently is file sharing to individuals outside of our company - whether we're sharing documents with prospects, potential buyers, or clients, it's as easy as sending a link to share a file, or creating a guest profile for them to sign in if they need to upload documents to us.
  • Desktop sync is a feature in Egnyte that we could not live without! The continuous sync means that our systems always have the latest version of every document that's worked on almost instantaneously.
  • Password protected file sharing is a must - we are a business brokerage firm and so client confidentiality is one of our highest priorities. Having the ability to put our files behind a password-protected link for viewing and downloading has helped us immensely.
  • Egnyte's web edit functionality could be built out a bit more. We never use this service in our office, and while I believe that it's because we simply use the desktop sync tool and have everything available locally with immediate follow-up syncing, the functionality does seem slightly less than intuitive, but still wholly usable.
  • Honestly... I have a difficult time thinking of any other shortcomings that the platform has.
In a world where Dropbox is king, Egnyte is the hidden gem that I honestly feel works better and has more functionality built in, for a similar (if not cheaper) price point. Any business office that has a traditional server holding eons of files could benefit from Egnyte and their cloud operations, eliminating the need for the hardware. It's great for collaboration between offices and colleagues, and the quick sync feature upon save means that everyone has the latest version of documents at any given time.
Read Chelsey Clayton's full review
Shawn Petrunak | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2017

Egnyte is Perfect for our Style of Business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is being used by our organization in multiple ways. We use is primarily as a storage center for information in relation to everything from business function and process, to case management and third party review of confidential files. On any given day it is being used seamlessly on roughly 20 computers where people are actively searching for, editing, reviewing, and sharing documents all at the exact same time. It has really changed the way that I understand a business to successfully manage big data.
  • Sharing files safely and securely with people at different facilities. It allows for ease of communication without having to limit security potential to do so.
  • Fast updating - within seconds I can drop a file in to a shared Egnyte folder and it be readily available on someone else's computer in the office. This is great for conference calls, it allows all parties to quickly access and review the same material.
  • Salesforce integration - it has been phenomenal seeing how seamlessly Egnyte and Salesforce integrate. To allow these tow systems to ebb and flow so well together saves countless hours of work in our everyday.
  • Workshops - a lot of people in our field have experienced a learning curve when implementing Egnyte. I think good workshops online would be excellent tools to allow them to reach Egnyte's full potential
  • Breaking links - If I share a confidential file, it would be excellent to easily re-access that link that was sent to that file and break that link (force it to no longer work). As it stands that often has to be done universally, and so one wrong move on our side has the potential to be catastrophic. There may be a way that I don't know about, but I think that points back to the idea of workshops
  • Varying user access - it would be nice to allow users to edit and delete only in certain parts of Egnyte, rather than giving them administrative access across the board.
Egnyte is excellent in almost every scenario. It's great when your position requires quickly and safely sharing documents with multiple parties, or if you work in a place that requires a heavy amount of data storage that is easily accessible. I don't know how practical Egnyte is for the small business with only a few documents, but with a company our size that has tons of documents, it is an excellent place to neatly and succinctly keep that data organized.
Read Shawn Petrunak's full review
Emily Tennant | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Easy to use!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We all worked remotely so Egnyte allowed us to share files seamlessly. We used it to be able to communicate as if we were in the same office. It allowed us to automatically back up files and saved us from computer crashes. It was able to be used form any computer and easy for most users to set up and incorporate into daily habits.
  • Allows different types of documents to be stored and accessed without issues
  • Saves drafts in stages
  • Allows access to both current and former employee files
  • Easy to use - administrator access controls who has access to what
  • Customer service is clunky and difficult to actually get help for existing users - sales team is great though
  • Occasional crashes and compatibility issues
  • Does not support Linux
Mid-size, growing companies who have employees that need access to multiple documents on the go or employees who telecommute. It made the small company feel larger and allowed resources normally reserved for a larger organization to be utilized. We worked faster, smarter and more efficiently because of Egnyte. I am not a Google Docs person and this is similar to Google Docs but with all of the issues addressed.
Read Emily Tennant's full review
Courtney Bradley | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Egnyte - easy to use!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All members of my team at BCI use Egnyte. It holds all our events on file that we can all easily access. We travel a lot for business and Egnyte makes it easy to bring up files on our phones/laptops/iPads, etc. It holds an infinite amount of files and syncs fast.
  • Syncs fast so others can open updated files
  • Holds a ton of storage
  • Easy to access from all types of devices
  • Two people cannot be in the same file - if I open a file that a colleague is in and begin work it will save (2) copies
  • Sometimes the syncing freezing makes me have to restart my computer
  • It can be hard to access on an iPhone, bigger screens work best
We plan events so each event is an individual file on Egnyte. It makes it easy to access each file and save all information - master arrangements, budget, hotel, registration reports, etc. We also travel a lot and are often separated so Egynte make it easy to access while on the road.
Read Courtney Bradley's full review
Jeffrey Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Cloud Storage the Easy Way

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte as a company-wide storage solution. Since we also use Salesforce as our CRM platform, Egnyte's seamless integration with our sales pipeline was a major selling point. With Egnyte we are able to add, delete, move, or reference files that are related to specific cases on the fly without having to visit a separate URL or standalone software. Currently, every new user gets an Egnyte license when they sign on.
  • Salesforce integration is seamless and extremely beginner friendly.
  • Egnyte goes through all of the proper measures to be fully compliant in an extremely tight regulatory industry.
  • Affordability is a major factor when you are buying licenses for a ton of employees, Egnyte checks this box.
  • Egnyte occasionally desyncs with Salesforce without warning, when it does it requires a convoluted series of steps to troubleshoot. It's easy after the first time, but it can be a major issue when your pipeline is built around the integration.
  • Egnyte support is all offshore in my experience, they rarely match up with you time wise and typically skip straight to screen sharing to troubleshoot. Many users aren't comfortable screen sharing as a first resort.
  • The browser-based Egnyte solution is sluggish and has some UI quirks that turn most of the users off in the office.
Egnyte is great if you want a simple solution for Salesforce integration, it also works well as a general cloud storage service; but not spectacularly. Very little sets Egnyte aside as "Special" but it is extremely affordable and it gets the job done. I wouldn't recommend Egnyte to anyone if they are looking for solid customer support. But if you are a mostly autonomous user, it's a solid investment.
Read Jeffrey Smith's full review
Whitney Kelley | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2018

Egnyte for Document Storage

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is used across multiple departments to share documents within departments and across multiple other departments. We use Egnyte to store documents in folders and limit access to only those who should see or have access. We also use the Web Edit feature to update documents in real time and keep them the most up to date.
  • Web Edit function works really well to edit documents in real time and have them live.
  • System access, the ability to share folders with only certain members or groups for safety.
  • The ability to keep many different types of documents (Word, Excel, etc) in one location.
  • When you are doing web edits to a document it locks other users out of the document for an undisclosed amount of time. If it is a frequently accessed document this can cause problems.
This is appropriate for document storage, but is a less well suited system for documents that are accessed and changed or edited in any way really frequently. It is not a secure system for documentation also, so if you need that I would not recommend Egnyte for a good system.
Read Whitney Kelley's full review
Ricky Skawinski, Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2017

F*** Dropbox, Get Egnyte

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte for any data organization and transferring. I've used Egnyte countless times to upload data and docs securely, so that I can retrieve these files at a later time, or from another device. It is a solid interface, and very easy to use. It allows me to manage my data in carefully organized labels and folders. I never have any issues when using Egnyte, opposed to other options.
  • Securely transfers files.
  • Quick upload and download speeds.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • A faster cloud upload/download speed.
Egnyte is definitely one of the best, if not the best, interface I've ever used for transferring files between devices and/ or persons. I think the best personal story I have using Egnyte is the time when my laptop was on the fritz/crashing. I was panicked, and IT didn't think they would be able to restore my laptop. I ended up uploading my entire computer's worth of data and documents to Egnyte! After that was done, I logged into my new device and, voilà, all of my personal and work data and docs were right there for me to download.
Read Ricky Skawinski, Jr.'s full review
Will Kosnik | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2017

Work Smarter, Not Harder, To Manage Your Files

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte across the board in every section of our company. We started using it because we were hit with a Crypto-virus almost 2 years ago. With Egnyte, if a computer crashes, everything is saved on Egnyte in the cloud. So, not only does it give us the ability to have things saved in situations like this. But, files are also available anywhere with internet access.
  • Egnyte gives multiple access points to your files. There is software for local NAS devices. And there is WebDAV access to the cloud as well.
  • Egnyte is permissions based. So users can be given access to certain folders, but be only given access to select files within that folder. It can be as complicated or simple as you want.
  • Egnyte gives you the option to pay specifically for Crypto-virus coverage. If your files were ever infected, they guarantee a backup.
  • There are some points within the web UI that randomly don't function properly. Users can give links to folders and files in the web UI. Sometimes the links randomly expire when they shouldn't.
  • Sometimes tech support is not sure why things happen. I've had an open case that is currently 4 weeks old. They just cannot figure out the issue. Luckily it doesn't stop us from working.
Egnyte is really suited for companies that have a large file structure with lots of files. This is a great option, rather than housing your own server. A smaller company that doesn't have much a file structure might find use with Egnyte, but it might not be cost effective. It's not the cheapest product, but there are some great features and are worth it.
Read Will Kosnik's full review
Zachary Bellamy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2016

Egnyte is a wonderful tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte was implemented across the entire law firm. We mapped out our local network and were able to access Egnyte from the office like a regular shared drive. We were also able to access Egnyte from home using the visually appealing Egnyte.com interface. We used Egnyte for over 3 years and rarely had any issues with service or customer support. We basically used the service as our hard drive and as a cloud sharing device (like box.net) at once. This allowed us to share documents with outside attorneys and clients from the office and from home. I would highly recommend Egnyte.
  • Easy to share documents and files using various sharing options
  • User interface at Egnyte.com was appealing
  • Easy to use
  • Occasionally had limited access
Egnyte seemed to work well for all our purposes.
Read Zachary Bellamy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2018

Cloud Base system that works well.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is used by my organization to store all the companies used files on the cloud system. Once any employee logs into his or her Egynte, you can access loads of information pertaining to specific tasks. One can search across folders to lookup documents that might not be available in his or her department as you access other folders available to your view. Egnyte is also designed to meet each users need. Documents can be easily sorted into different folders for ease of accessing. Also, you have your personalized folders where you can backup files from your computer or just upload files. The good thing about the personalized folder is no other person can access this aside from yourself or the administrator.

Egnyte is being used by the different departments across our organization, including operations, finance, and recruitment.

Egnyte helps us store all confidential and day-to-day information so we don't lose the files. Egnyte enables our organization to offer employees file access and file sharing between employees and business partners, usually from any device and at any time, so colleagues can share files locally and internationally.

  • Egnyte Cloud system offers a good means to transfer and share large files of any size. This eliminates the process of sending such files via email as attachments and the long time it takes to find them in emails. It is really brilliant as you can readily download files of any size and upload them directly from your own account.
  • Egnyte has folders for both shared use and private use. The shared folders have a Parent folder and other sub folders for easy compilation.
  • The Egnyte cloud enables users to use Egnyte desktop versions accessed directly on one's computer, enabling us work directly.
  • Sometimes files take forever to upload and could hang up the system.
  • For the Egnyte we use now in our organization, you can't use it offline which can be sometimes annoying if you don't have data. I understand that there has been some improvement to this.
  • If file is also too large, it can stop working and you need to refresh.
Well Suited:
1.File Uploads/Downloads
2.File Storage
3.Personalized File storage system
4. File Sharing
5. Sub Folder Synchronization

Read this authenticated review
Anna Bussewitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2014

Great Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for document storage and sharing.
  • Easy to upload data
  • Fast uploading and downloading speeds
  • Easy to Maneuver around
  • Sometimes uploads would freeze
  • Occasionally Egnyte would stop running and have to be rebooted
  • Large files took a long time to upload/download
How much storage does your company need?
Read Anna Bussewitz's full review
Evan Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2014

Egnyte is simplifying cloud DMS!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte is used for a cloud based file server solution for small to medium sized firms. My firm has done many cloud migrations for firms of this size and Egnyte has been utilized in almost all of them. It provides easy access and redundancy across any platform.
  • Provides safe, redundant offsite storage
  • Easy user access
  • Simple interface
  • File transfer limitations
  • Bandwidth limitations
  • Authentication issues
Most firms with decent bandwidth would benefit from using this product. There is added authentication versus an on site file server generally and this may cause some concern.
Read Evan Wilson's full review
Jessica Rogers | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2014

Egnyte Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was being used by a department, it address the problem of mobility - as there were people who were in different locations. Egnyte was great to use for everyone, I loved it.
  • The key strengths (especially for a business structure like ours) was the ease of file sharing
  • Compatibility with programs
  • Ease of use, after using it for a week when I first started - it was very simple to learn.
  • I think that the design aspect of Egnyte could be improved, granted I haven't used it in a while, but when I used it - the design/portal was a little archaic - it could probably use a face-lift.
I think it really works for business that have remote users and larger organizations. I couldn't see it working for a small non-profit or service industry.
Read Jessica Rogers's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2017

Data analysis in the 21st century.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Egnyte in our IT department to share files and data with technicians in the field. We made the switch to Egnyte from email and Dropbox and its been night and day. It has allowed us to move files that are larger than email will allow and share data summaries in a concise streamlined fashion.
We started using Egnyte to solve problems when sharing backups; from there it has evolved to a service that we use almost daily. If there is information that needs to be sent, we use Egnyte. It has reduced administrative overhead in our department by orders of magnitude.

  • Sharing files in formats that gmail rejects.
  • Sharing data across departments.
  • Providing a centralized repository for sales data.
  • The interface isn't intuitive.
  • The service is often slow to start up.
  • Data pattern matching doesn't work unless the data sets are large.
Really well suited for sharing binary files and instructions on how to use them. It also works really well at providing a centralized repository for wiki information.
Doesn't work very well when trying to analyze sales data from a week or less, that's often better done by hand.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2017

Egnyte general

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Egnyte allows my department to share files securely and seamlessly between team members and other departments. We can even use this service to share files with customers on an as needed basis. Egnyte enhances our collaborative efforts and allows our teams to work in an agile manner.
  • File access on different device types
  • Tasking for efficient actioning
  • Integration with Microsoft Office
  • Integration with more cloud storage services would be useful
  • Real time change tracking based on device usage
Egnyte is suited for enterprise systems where different groups have different needs and use scenarios (different products and devices used by different teams for multiple projects).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (24)
8.6
Video files (22)
8.5
Audio files (20)
8.4
Document collaboration (25)
7.9
Access control (26)
8.9
File search (25)
8.8
Device sync (24)
8.6
User and role management (24)
9.0
File organization (26)
9.6
Device management (23)
8.9
Performance (25)
9.3
Reliability (25)
8.9
Storage Reports (21)
9.0

About Egnyte

Egnyte delivers a modern content platform that is purpose-built for businesses. Egnyte promises to give IT centralized control and protection over their files, and users fast access to their content, no matter how or where work happens.

Egnyte Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Egnyte Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No