TrustRadius
Database software for individuals or teams. Allows users to create forms, reports and labels. Share on a network or over the web.FileMaker Pro Library Software ReviewWe use FileMaker Pro to help organize our catalogs of backgrounds and props. We also built a custom set up to help maintain a library of animal talent for our shoots. It helps us to search by MANY different methods as well as generate quick PDFS that we can send to clients and other people in the studio. Most of the production staff in the studio uses FileMaker Pro. You do have to have the system stored on a server so that many people can access that, but for a larger company like ours, that wasn't really an issue. The ability to format the program and generate layouts that work best for your needs is pretty great. Although that part of it can be tricky, and takes a bit of time to learn. Searching inventories is really simple, though.,FileMaker Pro makes searching through internal inventories very easy. You can search by many different keywords. FileMaker Pro is very simple to use when populating the inventories and catalogs. The software is very customizable. Which is great for many different types of uses and businesses.,Customizing FileMaker Pro can be tricky for people who aren't super familiar with that type of work. The software is really good, just needs a little more user friendliness or simplicity.,7,It's made everyone be able to search libraries. It provides all the information to everyone and is stored in one place. It's helped to spread the work as many people can access and use the software.,,Adobe Photoshop, Slack, Microsoft 365 BusinessFileMaker FinesseFileMaker Pro is used across the whole company in every department. It is the main ERP we use. And works well enough in every department but it does work better for some departments than others.,It is very customizable. Our IT department can add or remove anything our company needs which helps as we grow and our needs change. Our purchasing department likes the fact that creating a PO is intuitive and sending POs to our vendors is very simple. Our sales department likes that quotes are always saved along with a version of any changes. It also turns quotes into invoices with a simple click which makes the fast-paced sales easier.,One issue we have is that the accounting portion of this software is not easy. It takes a lot of extra labor to do easy things. Like creating debit memos. Because it is so customizable it can open things up for errors that shouldn't have been there so people weren't allowed to add whatever they wanted. The last thing I would say is that the version we use does not allow us to pull a lot of marketing reports and we always have to involve IT to help pull the simplest of reports, like if we want a list of email addresses for our customers.,6,A negative impact is that there are few people that can help when problems arise and they charge a premium because you have limited options. A positive is that we have been able to use it for a long time and so we have not had to spend time and money on the new system. Another positive is that, once you're trained in one department, cross training is very easy since the same system is used throughout the business. This saves time and money and can help us when we are an employee down.,Oracle JD Edwards EnterpriseOne, Avalara ReturnsFilemaker to save the day!Filemaker is the heart of our organization. It runs every department in one to degree or another. For each department, we have automated processes which have cut down on hours of work for our organization. Each business work flow is highly custom, and therefore an out of the box solution was not going to work. Filemaker has allowed us to put in place a solution that is tailored to the way we like to do business but also allows us to grow and change process flows quickly that wouldn't be possible using standard development technologies.,Develop custom solutions very fast Simple to use for non-developers Easy rollout of solutions company-wide Easy setup of server to host custom solution,Developer features need to be beefed up - namely adding the ability to search code for a phrase or keyword and the ability to do the same in the "relationship graph" in the database. Add ability for users to edit the same table record at the same time by version control. Allow Filemaker Server to use more than 1 core; currently multi-processing is not supported and it can be tricky to find just the right server to support the application you've built to the fullest capacity.,8,Positive impact for my company is that we have designed a solution that meets the needs of our very custom processes. My company is in the process of expanding rapidly and with that the need for new tools are need quickly. With most languages (like Java or .Net), it could take weeks to develop the same tool it takes us 3 days to make in Filemaker. The most negative impact however is that at times Filemaker will just become overwhelmed and we have no choice but to restart the server which hosts the application.,MySQL, Amazon Aurora and Microsoft SQL Server,Managing tables Editing code Debugging code,Managing table relationships Searching relationships Searching code/scripts Code versioning,Yes,6FileMaker Pro - exactly what you want, when you want, and how you want it.FileMaker Pro is the key to our business. It is our CRM as well as our data management. We use Filemaker Pro and Filemaker Go combined to create mapping and routing for our clients. All reporting is customized via FMPro. FileMaker Pro is essential to our business, making sure that we are organized and stay on top of our day to day operations.,Customized database. We have all the information that we need and could possibly want at our fingertips. Organization. We have client information, vendor information, and personnel information organized in a logical and secure way. Because of the custom settings, only certain people are able to view all of the data - while others are only allowed to view what is needed. Working with FMGo - we are at the forefront of reporting technology. Our people personal work independently across the country and we see their results in seconds.,Making changes is sometimes difficult and we do work with an FM developer. While we like our developer, we do wish it was easier to do on our own. FMPro is sometimes glitchy with how it outputs data. Because we've been working with it for so long and it's so customized, we have work arounds, but something we just want to be able to export things as spreadsheets in the first place. :),9,FM Pro has completely changed our business. We used to be very paper heavy and now everyone is fully mobile. Our time for campaigns is 5 to 8 business days when it used to take upwards of 21 days. Our reporting is up to date and 'flashy'. We recently revamped our reporting and it's fully customized via FM Pro.,,Google DriveFileMaker - the perfect solution for a custom database.FileMaker serves as the “brains” of the operation. Every order is entered and tracked through the entire production process. Employees can see at a glance everything they need to know about an order.... what raw materials were ordered, when they arrived, changes requested by a customer, when the order is expected to be delivered.,Sorts and classifies data according to your exact search parameters. Makes detailed information easy to find. Produces up to the minute progress reports.,Have typically needed to purchase outside reference materials to help understand harness the powerful FileMaker.,10,Saves time, money & headaches when tracing orders. Makes information easy to find. Keeps information organized and searchable.,Xero, Apple iCloud, Wix
Unspecified
FileMaker Pro
89 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

FileMaker Pro Reviews

FileMaker Pro
89 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 89 vetted FileMaker Pro reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 33)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Mandi Kohlmeier profile photo
November 16, 2018

"FileMaker Pro Library Software Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FileMaker Pro to help organize our catalogs of backgrounds and props. We also built a custom set up to help maintain a library of animal talent for our shoots. It helps us to search by MANY different methods as well as generate quick PDFS that we can send to clients and other people in the studio. Most of the production staff in the studio uses FileMaker Pro. You do have to have the system stored on a server so that many people can access that, but for a larger company like ours, that wasn't really an issue. The ability to format the program and generate layouts that work best for your needs is pretty great. Although that part of it can be tricky, and takes a bit of time to learn. Searching inventories is really simple, though.
  • FileMaker Pro makes searching through internal inventories very easy. You can search by many different keywords.
  • FileMaker Pro is very simple to use when populating the inventories and catalogs.
  • The software is very customizable. Which is great for many different types of uses and businesses.
  • Customizing FileMaker Pro can be tricky for people who aren't super familiar with that type of work.
  • The software is really good, just needs a little more user friendliness or simplicity.
It is very good to use for creating internal libraries. To store collections of props, on screen talent, backgrounds, anything that you would need an inventory for.
Read Mandi Kohlmeier's full review
Tessa Peterson profile photo
May 21, 2018

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker Finesse"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is used across the whole company in every department. It is the main ERP we use. And works well enough in every department but it does work better for some departments than others.
  • It is very customizable. Our IT department can add or remove anything our company needs which helps as we grow and our needs change.
  • Our purchasing department likes the fact that creating a PO is intuitive and sending POs to our vendors is very simple.
  • Our sales department likes that quotes are always saved along with a version of any changes. It also turns quotes into invoices with a simple click which makes the fast-paced sales easier.
  • One issue we have is that the accounting portion of this software is not easy. It takes a lot of extra labor to do easy things. Like creating debit memos.
  • Because it is so customizable it can open things up for errors that shouldn't have been there so people weren't allowed to add whatever they wanted.
  • The last thing I would say is that the version we use does not allow us to pull a lot of marketing reports and we always have to involve IT to help pull the simplest of reports, like if we want a list of email addresses for our customers.
If you have salaried salespeople it's easy to teach them to create quotes and invoices. If they can do that, they can also learn to create purchase orders so cross training is very easy. It is less appropriate to use to reconcile the every changing bank balance of a business. We always do that outside of FileMaker.
Read Tessa Peterson's full review
No photo available
July 23, 2018

FileMaker Pro Review: "Filemaker to save the day!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Filemaker is the heart of our organization. It runs every department in one to degree or another. For each department, we have automated processes which have cut down on hours of work for our organization. Each business work flow is highly custom, and therefore an out of the box solution was not going to work. Filemaker has allowed us to put in place a solution that is tailored to the way we like to do business but also allows us to grow and change process flows quickly that wouldn't be possible using standard development technologies.
  • Develop custom solutions very fast
  • Simple to use for non-developers
  • Easy rollout of solutions company-wide
  • Easy setup of server to host custom solution
  • Developer features need to be beefed up - namely adding the ability to search code for a phrase or keyword and the ability to do the same in the "relationship graph" in the database.
  • Add ability for users to edit the same table record at the same time by version control.
  • Allow Filemaker Server to use more than 1 core; currently multi-processing is not supported and it can be tricky to find just the right server to support the application you've built to the fullest capacity.
Despite limitations, Filemaker Pro is perfect for a company which is in constant flux and which requires a custom work flow which an out of the box solution doesn't provide.

One example is that my company requires orders to be submitted where based on product type, purchase location and company category all impact the price that is charged. I've used several e-store solutions and most of these are very cut and dry. You can have a product with 1 price, the only exception is a coupon code. Filemaker allowed us to create an store that allows our users to create an order based on our crazy pricing structure.













Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2018

Review: "FileMaker Pro - exactly what you want, when you want, and how you want it."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is the key to our business. It is our CRM as well as our data management. We use Filemaker Pro and Filemaker Go combined to create mapping and routing for our clients. All reporting is customized via FMPro.

FileMaker Pro is essential to our business, making sure that we are organized and stay on top of our day to day operations.
  • Customized database. We have all the information that we need and could possibly want at our fingertips.
  • Organization. We have client information, vendor information, and personnel information organized in a logical and secure way. Because of the custom settings, only certain people are able to view all of the data - while others are only allowed to view what is needed.
  • Working with FMGo - we are at the forefront of reporting technology. Our people personal work independently across the country and we see their results in seconds.
  • Making changes is sometimes difficult and we do work with an FM developer. While we like our developer, we do wish it was easier to do on our own.
  • FMPro is sometimes glitchy with how it outputs data. Because we've been working with it for so long and it's so customized, we have work arounds, but something we just want to be able to export things as spreadsheets in the first place. :)
FileMaker Pro works well for companies with large amounts of data. It's fully customizable so you can get exactly what you want and how you want it (which a few restrictions.) It is costly, but overall it's worth the investment.

Filemaker Pro would likely not well with companies who are more creative and fewer data heavy. There is little room for creative ideas, it is more...numbers/by the book focused.
Read this authenticated review
Doug Fish profile photo
February 05, 2018

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker - the perfect solution for a custom database."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker serves as the “brains” of the operation. Every order is entered and tracked through the entire production process. Employees can see at a glance everything they need to know about an order.... what raw materials were ordered, when they arrived, changes requested by a customer, when the order is expected to be delivered.
  • Sorts and classifies data according to your exact search parameters.
  • Makes detailed information easy to find.
  • Produces up to the minute progress reports.
  • Have typically needed to purchase outside reference materials to help understand harness the powerful FileMaker.
FileMaker is perfect for a company needing a custom data tracking solution that fits the way they do business.
Read Doug Fish's full review
No photo available
April 04, 2018

FileMaker Pro Review: "Implementing FileMaker as a real-time inventory database solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is used across departments to manage a massive database that tracks our sellable products. Currently, we have approximately 20 users at any given time, all of whom can actively update the database as long as they are not updating the same record. The program manages a variety of information about the product, which is highly modifiable and easily updated via Excel imports or manually inside of the record. Customized exports are used to generate report outs and access real-time information regarding our available inventory.
  • The relational database management system makes the program highly customizable to fit the needs of any product. You can add a ton of information to each record and update your inventory on a regular basis with an Excel import or manually inside of the record. It has the capability to incorporate barcoding, which can manage your available inventory with ease.
  • The scripting language allows FileMaker to automatically calculate complex algorithms automatically or generate report outs with the click of a button. This allows for greater UI, especially with active users who are not familiar with writing code. Almost all of our internal data is linked to the FileMaker database
  • The server license allows many users to update the database in real time, which is handy if your inventory is constantly changing. We have users with Macs, PCs, iPhones and handheld tablets linked to our FileMaker database and they are updating the information constantly throughout the day.
  • If you invest some time into formatting and scripting the database, there is a high ease of use for users without knowledge of any programming or FileMaker itself.
  • Cross-platform consistency - the iPhone version is not nearly as functional as the desktop version, which could cause troubles if you want to update your inventory with a mobile device while actively performing a task. The layout is cluttered and inconsistent.
  • The development of a functional database will require a highly skilled FileMaker programmer, or multiple people working to address specific requirements for the database. This could take months to construct and can be costly if you want to create a highly customizable database with the proper scripts.
  • The Excel exports are rather simple and require re-working if you are trying to make anything visually appealing. I'm sure more backend programming could be performed to address this issue, but for the average user, the programming and links can be rather complex.
The communication between records and customizable information linked to multiple sources provides an infinite number of possibilities when tracking complex inventory items. If you like or need to see a lot of information about your inventory item, FileMaker is a powerful tool to organize and track your data. Essentially our entire business is linked to the FileMaker database in one way or another. If you do not have large amounts of information pertaining to your inventory items, then you might be able to get away with an Excel database that utilizes macros as it is far easier to perform the backend programming compared to FileMaker.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 23, 2018

FileMaker Pro Review: "Filemaker, making life simple"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We run Filemaker for Sales, Stock control and Reporting. We typically moved from segmented spreadsheets to relational database and this mostly translated to less time on admin and more on sales.
  • Reporting is very easy and managers setup their own custom reports.
  • The layout tool is very WYSIWIG and simple to master.
  • The scripting is very straight forward with very little programming understanding required.
  • The online SaaS versions are still a bit slow.
  • Would love to see true SaaS services.
  • Built-in Adwords and similar integration, typical of other SaaS tools
Based on my experience Filemaker works extremely well for up to 10 users but have very little experience with larger setups.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 17, 2018

User Review: "Filemaker Pro is awesome!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Filemaker Pro across the entire organization. Everyone is trained and we use it every day for Contacts, Leads, Deal Registrations, Quotes, Purchase Orders, Time Keeping, Shipping/Receiving and Expense Reports. I don't think it poses any problems in our business, we have always used it and will continue to use it happily.
  • It works great for Quotes and Purchase Orders.
  • One thing I love about Filemaker is how it interacts with MYOB our Finance App
  • Filemaker is always great at timekeeping
  • I have no complaints regarding Filemaker, I think its a great app
Filemaker is a great tool for adding serial numbers from orders and keeping track of Support Contracts and when they expire or need to be renewed.
Read this authenticated review
Sam Goodwin profile photo
November 13, 2017

User Review: "FileMaker Pro: Good but...."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used FileMaker Pro with our day to day operations in our business. It was used to track projects and integrated into some marketing functions of our business. It helped with organizing, accessing customer records and did some reporting. It would help us print directly from the database into Word format as well.
  • Easy to complete a mail merge inside the system, without having to download contacts and re-upload them. Very simple to print personalized post cards or emails to groups of clients at one time.
  • Lots of customization options, for reports, mail merge etc.
  • Easier to do online
  • Making it simple to format and changes
It was difficult to navigate at first, however after time it became easier. The version I used did not have a cloud base application, this was a major downfall for us. It was very versatile in creating queries, and manipulating mail merge features. Being able to group data was very easy.
Read Sam Goodwin's full review
Dan Doughtie profile photo
July 18, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "Filemaker is my moneymaker and my problem solver"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a FileMaker Certified Developer. I develop solutions for others so FileMaker is my tool for creating solutions for others. I also use it personally to track my invoicing, time billing and producing/formatting content for several websites that I do. I also do contract work for other developers where I use FMP to quickly analyze data files so the client can understand the data they are dealing with.
  • Slicing and dicing data. Pure and simple. If I have to look for trends or understand highs and lows of data or quickly formulating file paths for incredibly complex websites I can do it quickly.
  • Easy to learn interface that allows for quick prototyping of tools that people think they need to have on much "larger" (expensive) platforms. The beauty of FileMaker is you can quickly build what you want as a prototype, then most likely years later when they are still trying to get the expensive stuff to do the same thing, you just keep using it.
  • Now that they have added REST support and increased encryption you can also build some complex and highly secure solutions that eliminate the need for buying third party plugins or services.
  • FileMaker, as a company, also brings out new versions on a regular yearly basis. Each year they add something that is greatly extends the development power making it easier for me to bring in customers.
  • The tight integration with the iPad and iPhone is a top value in itself. Why spend a ton of money for an iOS app that you have no control over when you can use FileMaker to get the job done fast and in a cost effective manner?
  • I had some big complaints about how to edit calculations and scripts, and not being able to print/export PDF from server but with the last 2 versions I can't complain any more. Those got added.
  • Syncing records between iOS and Filemaker Server still requires a developer to accomplish. Although I make money doing it for others I wish there was some "central" method of syncing that everyone can follow.
Small businesses that are trying to use Excel to manage their business should seriously consider FMP especially if they want to use iPads or iPhones run their business. Larger businesses that have to quickly track data from factory floors, mobile users etc. can find it helpful. And the other beauty is you can keep adding features as you go if you plan for expansion. The pricing structure, though, on server clients basically starts with 5 (6 including the free one) so a 2-person operation might have to spend more than they want to get the benefits of FileMaker Server.
Read Dan Doughtie's full review
James Kelly profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker in the hands of Storganise"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As a Filemaker Pro developer, our company assesses the needs of small to medium businesses and will often recommend, and supply, a bespoke Filemaker Pro package. We use the software ourselves, in our office administration, invoicing, expenses, data collection, contact management, and inventory management. It is used across the whole company and saves us hours of admin by centralising the data we work with.
  • Easy to use - we create very basic apps at one end of the scale, up to whole suites of software at the other. At the entry level, it is quick to learn and can have a "citizen developer" creating something useable and rewarding within hours.
  • Expandable - we recommend starting small with an answer to your most pressing requirement. Then as your staff get used to the way the software helps, there will naturally begin the questions - "Can we get it to do this...?"
  • Unlimited - there is no real limit to the size and quantity of data that can be stored. We have happy customers with small contacts applications under 50MB and others with huge archives of Music and Video over 100GB
  • Constantly Updating - there are new releases of the software every year or so, adding extra functionality for new directions to be taken, but the core of the software remains the same
  • As developers, there are areas we like to see updated. In the new version 16 a lot of these have been done.
  • Scalable usage of mobile licenses would be a good step forward to allow transient mobile users to access the main database without the need for an extra licence
  • A revamped system for finding developers through Apple's website would be nice. The current one is a little out dated.
We find the greatest use of Filemaker Pro is in creating a cohesion of working practices. If you currently have data being entered in 5 Excel spreadsheets and copied to a Word document, then somehow getting some of that together to make a presentation, wouldn't it be good if all this could be linked to the contacts that you have in your address book?

These sort of day to day working scenarios are how most businesses are run. FIlemaker Pro enables us to create one application that will do everything, with minimal data entry, less time spent on admin and many new options of how to use the data you are already collecting.
Read James Kelly's full review
Benjamin Fletcher profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker is a great rapid development platform for custom apps"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use FileMaker for delivering cross-platform database and custom apps which are process platform (Windows, Mac OS, iOS and WebDirect) for small and medium enterprises covering a wide spectrum of sectors.
  • Rapid application development of bespoke solutions for multiple platforms.
  • Scales well from single to hundreds of users.
  • Very easy to adapt and maintain solutions.
  • Well suited for novice database learners or seasons developers.
  • Integrates well with other technologies to act as 'digital glue' to combine different systems - works well with with SQL solutions with ODBC; web APIs via REST APIs/JSON, etc.
  • They do have a unique advantage in the market as they offer an on premises deployment option as well there being private cloud and AWS hosted options.
  • FileMaker does not pitch themselves as a high-end enterprise platform: they don't pitch themselves as a solution for systems requiring thousands of concurrent users. Ironically this can be done with integration with other technologies to improve scalability.
  • FileMaker themselves don't offer consulting or training directly - you need to look to their FileMaker Business Alliance partners for anything other that initial software installation support.
  • They do have a perception problem in the market place - people usually have a bad experience when they inherit a legacy solution built by a non-professional developer and so they often view FileMaker solutions as being old, clunky or missing functionality. The modern platform is exceptionally powerful and full featured - however, to fully take advantage of it of often requires some re-development of a legacy solution. Obviously this is not a problem if you are started a new development from scratch.
FileMaker is well suited when there isn't an off the shelf solution that works exactly to meet an organisation's requirement (or if the available off the shelf software is simply not economic) and a bespoke solution which can then be further adapted organically. It is especially appropriate for organisations which have a desire to 'get their hands dirty' so that there is someone in-house that can continuously review, tweak and adapt the solution to better meet business requirements on a regular basis.
Read Benjamin Fletcher's full review
Martha Zink profile photo
July 07, 2017

"FileMaker Pro - Liberating People from Busy Work and Repetitious Tasks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
At Soliant Consulting, we use the FileMaker platform to solve business problems for our clients. We've built solutions for a wide array of customers. I've worked on projects for departments within a large organization and small businesses. We help reduce manual work and automate repetitious and error prone processes. Internally, we use FileMaker for all important aspects of our business - time tracking, invoicing, reporting, and much more.
  • FileMaker Pro excels at searching and sorting data right out of the box. You can easily take a spreadsheet and import it into FileMaker Pro and you'll be able to work through your data much faster than through other software.
  • FileMaker benefits from a single product for both backend data storage/data modeling, and the interface. And the interface tools are user-friendly.
  • It can grow with your business. The FileMaker Platform allows you to add more customization and features over time. This can be budget friendly and allow for building a solution in phases.
  • FileMaker Pro is slowly working on improving their interface to match the fast moving internet capabilities. While it's moving in the right direction, there are some graphical capabilities it lacks.
  • FileMaker Pro does not have a built in version control mechanism.
  • FileMaker Pro does not have a centralized security module for multiple files.
The FileMaker platform can be used in a wide range of situations. It can be used as a data silo, similar to Excel, where it's used to quickly compile data. On a larger scale, it can benefit multiple users who are interacting with the same data - accounting, supply chain, procurement, general business management, and so on. It's a really great tool for customizing your business' workflow, instead of forcing your business to follow the workflow of a pre-built app.
Read Martha Zink's full review
David Simpson profile photo
October 11, 2017

Review: "FileMaker Pro Offers Low Code Custom App Development - Cross Platform for macOS, Windows, IOS, HTML5"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is used as a replacement for Microsoft Access databases for my customers. FileMaker Pro provides multi-user access, better reliability in networked deployments, installation directly on IOS devices. FileMaker Pro data files also offer much greater data capacity of up to 7TB per file compared to the 2GB file size limit of Microsoft Access. Automated conversion from Access to FileMaker Pro is performed with FmPro Migrator Platinum Edition software.
  • Greater File Size - 7TB per file, compared to 2GB per file with Access .ACCDB files.
  • Reliable multi-user networking thru Peer-to-Peer or server based implementations.
  • Improved developer productivity.
  • Capability of being run locally on IOS devices with the free FileMaker Go client software.
  • It would be nice to have some automation improvements.
FileMaker Pro is well suited for low-code situations where a custom app needs to be customized for specific customer needs.
Read David Simpson's full review
Pax Whitfield profile photo
October 09, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker for prototyping and as a Student Information System (SIS)"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker is our primary data store serving as our homebrewed student information system (SIS). We track demographic data, confident test reports, attendance, and so on. It's our primary source of data, that feeds many other systems.
  • FileMaker is particularly easy to set up and configure.
  • FileMaker deploys easily to Mac users.
  • FileMaker makes rapid prototyping and proof of concept ideas pretty painless.
  • FileMaker does not run on Android.
  • FileMaker doesn't provide any analytical tools.
  • FileMaker web access is limited and resource hungry.
  • FileMaker Server cannot be hosted on Linux machines.
It's really great for fast development, prototyping, and general database needs for a relatively small population. It doesn't scale particularly well, so large enterprises might be content to prototype in FileMaker, but would want to deliver at scale on another platform.
Read Pax Whitfield's full review
Joel Brache profile photo
September 13, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "Love me some FileMaker. Just quit trying to Appleize it and give me options!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker is used across our entire organization. The original use for FileMaker was as a timecard database. Over the years the use of FileMaker has grown to cover many different parts of our business. We manage all the graphics that are produced in FileMaker. We manage projects in FileMaker. We create packing lists and keep track of shipments in FileMaker. FileMaker touches almost every aspect of our business.
  • FileMaker can be easily customized so that it can be expanded to cover additional roles in a company or to just do simple layout changes.
  • FileMaker can be easily picked up by new programmers/developers. The software is designed in such a way that a half day's worth of training can get a new person started building their own databases.
  • FileMaker has a large community of users that do a fantastic job of supporting folks who are new to FileMaker. There is considerable support, samples, and videos on the web for anyone starting out.
  • There are a lot of professional developers located around the country that can help with any FileMaker development needs. They have always been more than friendly and willing to offer help and suggestions. They have the heart of teachers.
  • I think the folks developing FileMaker are true Apple enthusiasts at heart, so a lot of little issues that crop up for Windows users are not address very quickly. It also seems like the Windows version gets treated as secondary, which is odd considering that the majority (95+%) of people using FileMaker use it in a Windows environment.
  • Considering my point above, I would also point out that a lot of how FileMaker works seems to be driven by a small number of people who feel like the software should behave a certain way. Rather than offering users the ability to customize how they want to use the software, global changes are made that force users to adapt to a new way working that is opposite of how they have worked for many years. Changes like this have driven me nuts in the past and make me wish that they would just allow customization of how users work instead of forcing one particular point of few.
  • FileMaker developers are not inexpensive. If you need to bring in help from a third party, expect to pay $100/hr. at a minimum. There are a lot of free resources, local clubs/groups, and places to get free advice, but expect to pay a lot for professional help if you need it. There just aren't enough developers around the world to drive the price down.
FileMaker is great for start-up businesses, small business, and even mid sized businesses. I would say that FileMaker is well suited for small to medium sized environments (1-200 people). You could definitely go bigger than that, but the level of expertise and planning significantly increases when you do that. Because FileMaker doesn't scale very well with really large companies, I would avoid using it for large companies who want a solution that goes across a large amount of employees.
Read Joel Brache's full review
Kevin Mortimer profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "Your data deserves the best! Use FileMaker"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I develop custom solutions for my clients using Filemaker Pro. The platform allows rapid development of solutions which my clients love as they get what they need sooner and at a cheaper cost compared to other development platforms.
  • Rapid Development
  • Great at getting new businesses up and running quickly
  • Do not need a IT department to get you up and running
  • Quickly access your data from multiple devices.
  • A better pricing structure for small companies below 5 users.
Well suited to small business.
Read Kevin Mortimer's full review
Carl Schwarz profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker from a developer / systems analyst perspective"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I develop a wide variety of solutions with FileMaker pro (medical, agricultural, transport, trades, questionnaires, web applications including business applications and blogs, etc.). I deploy FileMaker to Mac and Windows desktops, web browsers, and native iOS and Android applications (Android applications are a lot of work, however). FileMaker is very versatile and powerful, yet simple to get started.
  • FileMaker deploys to all mainstream internet connected devices very easily with a drag and drop interface builder that requires no coding for simple systems (PC, MAC, Mobile phone).
  • FileMaker is great for sharing information in teams.
  • FileMaker is simple enough that regular users (e.g. mechanics) can create their own simple databases if you let them!
  • FileMaker Server is suitable for hundreds of concurrent users at a time with a *well developed* system but not thousands. In general FileMaker is good for small to medium businesses, teams, or for rapid prototyping large scale complex applications.
  • FileMaker has a good suite of basic graphical charts but for more complicated "B.I." style dashboards, it is good to integrate your FileMaker data with another system which is easy to do.
FileMaker is well suited for creating business management applications, e.g. ERP systems like job scheduling, customer management etc., and for remote access applications e.g. for staff that is on the road. FileMaker's ability to accept signatures on an iOS mobile phone and scan barcodes etc., makes it exceptionally good at rapidly developing powerful remote applications on iOS.
Read Carl Schwarz's full review
Jeroen Aarts profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "Developing custom apps is so easy with FileMaker"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have developed a standard financial solution with FileMaker. FileMaker is a very flexible product to build apps that deploy as classic desktop applications, as well as web and mobile apps. FileMaker is designed as a rapid application development tool to automate the process for small or mid-sized businesses, departments or teams.
  • You can rapidly build custom apps with FileMaker.
  • FileMaker custom apps deploy easily on desktops and laptops, web and mobile devices.
  • It has an amazing ease of use from an end user's perspective.
  • For developers, it has a great toolkit builtin, which allows for short development cycles.
  • The developer IDE still has some room for improvement.
  • OAuth integration is possible, but only with a fixed set of providers.
  • More documentation on the innerworking of the FileMaker database engine would be welcome.
FileMaker is particularly suited for small to medium sized businesses, departments or teams. It is not suited for massive and large scale applications used by hundreds of users. The web technology - called WebDirect - is very powerful, in that it lets developers deploy a web solution without any knowledge of HTML, CSS or Javascript. However, also, in this case, WebDirect is not meant to deploy large scale web applications or websites.
Read Jeroen Aarts's full review
Ted Weil profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "Fast, Efficient, Friendly....FileMaker"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a FileMaker development consultancy so we use FileMaker every day to create powerful, customized solutions for our clients. By using FileMaker, we can address a vast array of business needs for our clients in ways that off the shelf software simply can't.
  • Data entry, tracking and access
  • Customized business solutions
  • Flexible reporting
  • Mobile data access
  • Speed - FileMaker provides for very rapid development and deployment by integrating both a database engine and a front end environment in one package. Because of that, the speed of the database engine is slower than a raw platform like SQL or Oracle.
  • Web Access - While FileMaker provides some great tools for quickly and easily sharing data via the web, it isn't a true web development platform and is difficult to scale large enough to handle external customer access for large customer bases.
FileMaker has been designed for years to provide a flexible platform for developing customized solutions easily. It is one of the most rapid platforms available for developing powerful database solutions for businesses. Using FileMaker we can develop extremely user-friendly solutions in less than a quarter of the time and for a fraction of the cost of developing via SQL or other similar platforms.

Because of the speed and flexibility, FileMaker is ideal for small to medium sized businesses or for small to medium departments inside larger companies.
Read Ted Weil's full review
Linda Mitchell profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker - From Database Development to Web - Good Reward for your time"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I develop database solutions with Filemaker Pro providing a web interface to users internationally. Within our headquarters, various departments interact with the data to process support payments, manage contact and event information and process grants. FileMaker addresses our custom data management and information flow and provides simple meaningful reports to our executive team.
  • Simple database development
  • Custom Database with Web UI in very little time
  • Great layout tool to view data in various formats
  • Easy interface for first time users
  • Database relationship view could be shown in table format for databases that have complex or many relationships
  • Speed of web direct
  • Access to support - mentoring may be good solution
Creating a custom database solution - where data needs of organization is not easy to provide in off the shelf type solution. Almost all businesses have this need.
Read Linda Mitchell's full review
Donna Volante profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "I LOVE FileMaker"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using FileMaker Pro to automate the process of submitting permits and tracking inspections. Since then, we have implemented databases to track our sales and installations from start to finish. We even generate proposals on our iPads right in the customers homes, have them sign and submit the contracts to the office for processing before the sales rep even leaves the customer's home.
  • It is so logical and easy to use. You do not need to be a programmer to create data bases.
  • The scripting allows you to create reports and graphs that will wow your bosses.
  • We use the Server version which allows us to share data. The security features allow you to determine who can access what down to the record and even field levels.
  • I would have said that it would be nice if each open window worked independently with its own menu set, but they already added that function in the most recent update.
I personally have used FileMaker Pro in Banking, Retail, HR Management, HVAC & my personal life and feel like it can be used anywhere! The beauty of FilMaker is that you are creating the databases that you want, so if you can imagine it, you can make it happen with Filemaker!
Read Donna Volante's full review
Patrick Cranston profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker - Build Custom Apps for your business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use FileMaker Pro in 2 ways in our company.
1) Our IT Support business runs on FileMaker Pro. It's our PSA. We use it for CRM, asset management, tracking support requests, scheduling appointments, managing contracts, creating invoices and receiving payments. Our FileMaker solution is also integrated other 3rd party services like Slack (for internal communications), Xero (for accounting), CalDAV (for calendaring) and email (for customer notifications and issue management).

2) Our staff of full-time FileMaker developers work with a wide variety of clients building custom app solutions to effectively run their businesses.

If your business is still running on Excel or paper or there isn't an off-the-shelf software solution that allows you to effectively run your business, FileMaker is a great option. With cross platform mobile, desktop and web apps and the ability to cloud host, FileMaker can integrate into just about any work environment.
  • Allows for automation of tedious or complex business workflows, allowing employees to focus on more productive tasks.
  • Allows for mobile and desktop solutions to be built side by side. No need to build and maintain separate solutions for mobile and desktop use.
  • Allows for rapid development of custom solutions for small to medium sized businesses.
  • The licensing model can be tricky and difficult for users to understand.
  • Performance over WAN can be slow in certain circumstances. Special care has to be given to development or large data sets can become unwieldy when accessing them over the internet.
  • From a development standpoint, it would be nice if the code were more modular. It's difficult to copy code between projects.
FileMaker works best in small to medium sized businesses or for specific teams in larger businesses.
Works well for companies/teams:
- looking to move from spreadsheets or paper and pencil.
- with unique business processes that don't work well with packaged software.
- with mobile workforces (sales, installation, techs, etc...) that need access to information or submit information back to the main office while on the road.

Not a good fit for companies/teams:
- looking for a public facing app that will be resold to customers (i.e. an app store app)
- don't have a set workflows or processes that they can automate.
Read Patrick Cranston's full review
Jim Hopkins profile photo
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker hits the spot"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Filemaker Pro to manage our staff in many ways. We have 23 school districts that we serve with Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech, Psychology services as well as Early Childhood services, Deaf Education, and technology services. We use the software to keep track of activity in a log that helps us in the billing process as well as being accountable to the state board of education. We use the software for registration of educational sessions that we provide to our school districts' personnel. It's used to control our inventory for each department. We use it to assist us through the salary negotiations each year. It's used for vehicle management and to check our system. Filemaker Pro lets us develop quickly according to the needs that we might have as soon as we realize the need.
  • FileMaker develops quickly. When a department comes to me and asks if I can think of a way to collect, report or share data, my first thought is FileMaker. If I can see a spreadsheet, I can develop a database from it.
  • FileMaker allows the developer to express himself in a beautiful way. The user interface can lead the user through the collection, the results, and the reporting in a fantastic way. It can be very pleasing to the eyes and reporting can give the user just what they need.
  • FileMaker is easily learned and grows with the user as they discover more and more things that it can accomplish.
  • I wish that the reports could actually have more word processing features like adding page breaks.
Filemaker Pro is great for anything that you collect data for. If you need videos collected, or statistical data, or base raw data that you'll perform calculations on, this is perfect. And you can use it for almost anything. And I have. I don't think it's well suited for spreadsheet actions. But the data can sit in the FileMaker database until you're ready to use the data in a spreadsheet. Export the data and it will open in your favorite spreadsheet program for massaging.
Read Jim Hopkins's full review
No photo available
November 09, 2017

FileMaker Pro Review: "FileMaker -- A Low Code and Flexible Database Solution!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My client was in need of a database solution that could be easily maintainable as their old database software was not being supported anymore. I recommended that they use FileMaker Pro because it was MacOS and WindowsOS friendly as well as low-code.
  • No prior knowledge of programming languages required
  • Drag-and-drop UI builder
  • Auto-population of PDF forms
  • Flexibility with Script Builders
  • Exporting data can be a challenge for many-to-many table relations
  • Limited to just the tools given to you by FileMaker
  • Expensive to host on the cloud or on-premise
If your organization requires a low-code and flexible database solution, FileMaker Pro will work great. We were successful in implementing the system because many of the manual processes of the company are now automated through the script builder. However if your organization has very complex queries and/or very complex needs, you should look elsewhere as FileMaker limits you to the tools they give.
Read this authenticated review

About FileMaker Pro

Database software for individuals or teams. Allows users to create forms, reports and labels. Share on a network or over the web.

FileMaker Pro Competitors

FileMaker Pro Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No