FileMaker Pro Reviews

110 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 42)

Mike Memme | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

When You Want Your Software to Fit the Business Instead of Forcing Your Business to Fit the Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is being used across the whole organization. We originally used it to track the houses we've built. Once that foundation was established we expanded its use to manage almost every process in the organization. We use it for budgeting, tracking opportunities, automatic contract generation, construction scheduling, colour selections, options management, change orders, and after sales service. We use it to feed real time information to our website, we've created an online purchaser portal, and our staff have both desktop and mobile access to the data.
  • Highly customizable. The software is easy to set up to match our existing processes.
  • Fast customization. New features can be added quickly and easily.
  • Open standards. Easy to get info from and push info to the outside world.
  • Have had challenges feeding data to a php website. Are moving to the new Restful API for this.
  • Would like to be able to send rich text emails. Can now do it with CURL commands but not the easiest.
  • Has very detailed layout editing tools, but built in themes with more auto layout functionality would be helpful.
In our situation it is well suited to our organization because one of the owners of the construction company has some programming experience and was able to use FileMaker to make all of the existing systems in the organization electronic. It has been a work in progress and the system has grown with the organization. When we want to shift to meet new market needs or changing government regulations we can move quickly to adjust our electronic processes.

It is well suited to teams or organizations that do things differently than their competitors and want their electronic systems to be reflection of who they are instead of using a canned system that forces them to work the same way everyone else does.

It is not well suited to teams where there is high turnover of employees and managers as custom systems may never get a foothold or be maintained in that environment.
Read Mike Memme's full review
Melissa Rances, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

FileMaker Pro

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team uses FileMaker Pro to track our sales pipeline opportunities. We use it as a way collaborate with our partners who are outside of our organization so that they can also have visibility and assist us with tracking deals as well. It’s a great tool to provide updates and see an account’s status at a quick glance.
  • Different ways to view data.
  • Endless possibilities of what data to input.
  • Move to the cloud.
  • Faster speed.
FileMaker is great for tracking sales opportunities to keep everyone updated on the status of a deal and how close you are to winning or losing the opportunity.

It is not ideal for tracking a complex project where there are multiple people involved and tasks need to be assigned. There is no way to alert someone when a task has been completed so that the next task can begin. It’s not really a project management software tool.
Read Melissa Rances, PMP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

Gets the job done but has some issues

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FileMaker Pro (KeyStone) to maintain schedules and keep employee records. It allows us to maintain a large amount of information in one space and has the capability to run a variety of reports and other features that are useful to me. It is being used by only a few individuals across a number of different departments.
  • This program is able to store a large amount of information that is easily accessible.
  • This program can run a variety of reports that can be helpful with my everyday tasks and projects.
  • This program has very easy search functions.
  • This program can be difficult if you have an environment that is distracting because it does confirm changes. They are automatically saved.
  • This program can be frustrating when entering data in multiple fields because the tab button does not send you to the next field, it jumps around.
This program is well suited for companies or individuals who are looking to hold a bunch of data in one place and need to keep it organized. I'd say it is most appropriate for larger organizations but could be useful anywhere there is a Human Resources Department, especially. Overall, it is useful but frustrating at times.
Read this authenticated review
David Renberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

FileMaker Pro works well for complicated databases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FileMaker to keep track of our transactions and revenues associated with sales and commissions paid. We also keep track of various aspects of each sale and how each category breaks down compared to total sales. We hired a developer to design a custom program for us to use for these purposes on FileMaker.
  • It is extremely versatile, if you are, or have a good programmer, it can be used for many purposes to organize data.
  • It seems to not take a ton of RAM to run, my computer has no issues running it.
  • Although the file can be stored in a cloud, I like that it is a locally run program, regardless of internet access.
  • It is very technical, you have to really know what you are doing to come up with the initial use.
It is suited well to help organize lots of data in the same place. Not worth the cost of implementation if a basic spreadsheet works for your purposes, but if you have lots of data associated with each entry, it works well. QuickBase is an excellent alternative and is internet-based, but not quite as customizable.
Read David Renberg's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

All in One

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FileMaker Pro daily for building our product and gathering all the information into one section to make it easily accessible throughout the company. This helps us when creating the merchandise since all the information we need is in one program. It creates an easier process when bringing merchandise to life.
  • The ability to store all different types of information. This eliminates the needs for additional programs.
  • The ability to pull multiple styles of exports. There are so many details and you can build the exports to be exactly what you need.
  • It can be used across multiple departments, allowing each one to contribute the information they need to build the product.
  • Descriptions only allow for a minimum character count, forcing a lot of abbreviations.
  • When merging styles, it can remove images.
  • Sometimes, information can be missing when pulling exports.
We're building information on clothing, and this gives us multiple categories so we are able to plug in and grab the info we need.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2019

FileMaker Pro

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is used as our ERP system, and is being used by the entire company. It keeps track of customers, vendors, and inventory.
  • FileMaker does a good job of allowing customization to layout and design for ease of use.
  • FileMaker allows us to control who can access certain areas in the system for security and business needs.
  • FileMaker is user-friendly for data entry purposes.
  • Building reports can be cumbersome.
  • We're unable to print a doc generated in FileMaker without having to download the pdf every time.
  • You're unable to sync a line added to a purchase order after the PO has already been synced to QuickBooks.
FileMaker Pro is good for tracking inventory and sales. Financials are better suited to software like QuickBooks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Filemaker Pro for all Business Needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Filemaker Pro across our entire organization as the tool to create our VIN Numbers for the boat trailers we manufacture. Filemaker generates the VIN label, tire tags, and the certificate of origin to be able to register the trailers through DOT. It has been formatted to include all relevant and legal data to be able to register with the DOT.
  • Formatting for specific needs
  • Capacity to store data is huge
  • Server support if interested but not necessary.
  • Autosave can be a huge con
From what I can tell Filemaker Pro is very versatile. The best function is the ability of mass data collection. This tool makes it easy to collect data and organize it effectively for better use. Another pro is that you can use third-party programs and combine them with Filemaker to get better functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Lynelle Ehart | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

FileMaker keeps your event files organized

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization has used FileMaker Pro for many years for our event planning. It helps track food and beverage as well as setup needs for hundreds of events. We can add budget cost centers as well as A/V equipment and other needs we may have to the event plan.
  • tracks dates & times
  • tracks food and beverage
  • tracks costs centers
  • The food and beverage portion is a bit clunky when trying to type what you need
  • There is not enough space in the rooms needed portion for a large campus-wide event
It is very well-suited for events and meetings using one or two rooms.

It works well if there aren't tons of instructions. I say this because their field for this is a bit short and we sometimes run out of room when detailing our needs.
Read Lynelle Ehart's full review
Mandi Kohlmeier | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

FileMaker Pro Library Software Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FileMaker Pro to help organize our catalogs of backgrounds and props. We also built a custom set up to help maintain a library of animal talent for our shoots. It helps us to search by MANY different methods as well as generate quick PDFS that we can send to clients and other people in the studio. Most of the production staff in the studio uses FileMaker Pro. You do have to have the system stored on a server so that many people can access that, but for a larger company like ours, that wasn't really an issue. The ability to format the program and generate layouts that work best for your needs is pretty great. Although that part of it can be tricky, and takes a bit of time to learn. Searching inventories is really simple, though.
  • FileMaker Pro makes searching through internal inventories very easy. You can search by many different keywords.
  • FileMaker Pro is very simple to use when populating the inventories and catalogs.
  • The software is very customizable. Which is great for many different types of uses and businesses.
  • Customizing FileMaker Pro can be tricky for people who aren't super familiar with that type of work.
  • The software is really good, just needs a little more user friendliness or simplicity.
It is very good to use for creating internal libraries. To store collections of props, on screen talent, backgrounds, anything that you would need an inventory for.
Read Mandi Kohlmeier's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

FileMaker Pro At Work

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is used across our organization. We utilize its flexibility and scalability to manage and monitor our core business.
  • FMP allows us to easily add information and fields to existing applications as our business needs dictate.
  • FMP works very well with a workforce that is spread throughout the country.
  • FMP allows us to add roles to individuals so that we can tailor their views to what they do.
  • FMP Server can be difficult to work with at times. Not easy to migrate to a new server.
FMP is well suited to organizations that need a tightly integrated system that delivers interfaces targeted at specific job roles.
FMP is not suited for quick, on-time solutions. This may be better suited to another app such as excel.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2018

FileMaker Pro - exactly what you want, when you want, and how you want it.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is the key to our business. It is our CRM as well as our data management. We use Filemaker Pro and Filemaker Go combined to create mapping and routing for our clients. All reporting is customized via FMPro.

FileMaker Pro is essential to our business, making sure that we are organized and stay on top of our day to day operations.
  • Customized database. We have all the information that we need and could possibly want at our fingertips.
  • Organization. We have client information, vendor information, and personnel information organized in a logical and secure way. Because of the custom settings, only certain people are able to view all of the data - while others are only allowed to view what is needed.
  • Working with FMGo - we are at the forefront of reporting technology. Our people personal work independently across the country and we see their results in seconds.
  • Making changes is sometimes difficult and we do work with an FM developer. While we like our developer, we do wish it was easier to do on our own.
  • FMPro is sometimes glitchy with how it outputs data. Because we've been working with it for so long and it's so customized, we have work arounds, but something we just want to be able to export things as spreadsheets in the first place. :)
FileMaker Pro works well for companies with large amounts of data. It's fully customizable so you can get exactly what you want and how you want it (which a few restrictions.) It is costly, but overall it's worth the investment.

Filemaker Pro would likely not well with companies who are more creative and fewer data heavy. There is little room for creative ideas, it is more...numbers/by the book focused.
Read this authenticated review
Tessa Peterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2018

FileMaker Finesse

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is used across the whole company in every department. It is the main ERP we use. And works well enough in every department but it does work better for some departments than others.
  • It is very customizable. Our IT department can add or remove anything our company needs which helps as we grow and our needs change.
  • Our purchasing department likes the fact that creating a PO is intuitive and sending POs to our vendors is very simple.
  • Our sales department likes that quotes are always saved along with a version of any changes. It also turns quotes into invoices with a simple click which makes the fast-paced sales easier.
  • One issue we have is that the accounting portion of this software is not easy. It takes a lot of extra labor to do easy things. Like creating debit memos.
  • Because it is so customizable it can open things up for errors that shouldn't have been there so people weren't allowed to add whatever they wanted.
  • The last thing I would say is that the version we use does not allow us to pull a lot of marketing reports and we always have to involve IT to help pull the simplest of reports, like if we want a list of email addresses for our customers.
If you have salaried salespeople it's easy to teach them to create quotes and invoices. If they can do that, they can also learn to create purchase orders so cross training is very easy. It is less appropriate to use to reconcile the every changing bank balance of a business. We always do that outside of FileMaker.
Read Tessa Peterson's full review
Doug Fish | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2018

FileMaker - the perfect solution for a custom database.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker serves as the “brains” of the operation. Every order is entered and tracked through the entire production process. Employees can see at a glance everything they need to know about an order.... what raw materials were ordered, when they arrived, changes requested by a customer, when the order is expected to be delivered.
  • Sorts and classifies data according to your exact search parameters.
  • Makes detailed information easy to find.
  • Produces up to the minute progress reports.
  • Have typically needed to purchase outside reference materials to help understand harness the powerful FileMaker.
FileMaker is perfect for a company needing a custom data tracking solution that fits the way they do business.
Read Doug Fish's full review
Sam Goodwin | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2017

FileMaker Pro: Good but....

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used FileMaker Pro with our day to day operations in our business. It was used to track projects and integrated into some marketing functions of our business. It helped with organizing, accessing customer records and did some reporting. It would help us print directly from the database into Word format as well.
  • Easy to complete a mail merge inside the system, without having to download contacts and re-upload them. Very simple to print personalized post cards or emails to groups of clients at one time.
  • Lots of customization options, for reports, mail merge etc.
  • Easier to do online
  • Making it simple to format and changes
It was difficult to navigate at first, however after time it became easier. The version I used did not have a cloud base application, this was a major downfall for us. It was very versatile in creating queries, and manipulating mail merge features. Being able to group data was very easy.
Read Sam Goodwin's full review
Dan Doughtie | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2017

Filemaker is my moneymaker and my problem solver

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a FileMaker Certified Developer. I develop solutions for others so FileMaker is my tool for creating solutions for others. I also use it personally to track my invoicing, time billing and producing/formatting content for several websites that I do. I also do contract work for other developers where I use FMP to quickly analyze data files so the client can understand the data they are dealing with.
  • Slicing and dicing data. Pure and simple. If I have to look for trends or understand highs and lows of data or quickly formulating file paths for incredibly complex websites I can do it quickly.
  • Easy to learn interface that allows for quick prototyping of tools that people think they need to have on much "larger" (expensive) platforms. The beauty of FileMaker is you can quickly build what you want as a prototype, then most likely years later when they are still trying to get the expensive stuff to do the same thing, you just keep using it.
  • Now that they have added REST support and increased encryption you can also build some complex and highly secure solutions that eliminate the need for buying third party plugins or services.
  • FileMaker, as a company, also brings out new versions on a regular yearly basis. Each year they add something that is greatly extends the development power making it easier for me to bring in customers.
  • The tight integration with the iPad and iPhone is a top value in itself. Why spend a ton of money for an iOS app that you have no control over when you can use FileMaker to get the job done fast and in a cost effective manner?
  • I had some big complaints about how to edit calculations and scripts, and not being able to print/export PDF from server but with the last 2 versions I can't complain any more. Those got added.
  • Syncing records between iOS and Filemaker Server still requires a developer to accomplish. Although I make money doing it for others I wish there was some "central" method of syncing that everyone can follow.
Small businesses that are trying to use Excel to manage their business should seriously consider FMP especially if they want to use iPads or iPhones run their business. Larger businesses that have to quickly track data from factory floors, mobile users etc. can find it helpful. And the other beauty is you can keep adding features as you go if you plan for expansion. The pricing structure, though, on server clients basically starts with 5 (6 including the free one) so a 2-person operation might have to spend more than they want to get the benefits of FileMaker Server.
Read Dan Doughtie's full review
James Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2017

FileMaker in the hands of Storganise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
As a Filemaker Pro developer, our company assesses the needs of small to medium businesses and will often recommend, and supply, a bespoke Filemaker Pro package. We use the software ourselves, in our office administration, invoicing, expenses, data collection, contact management, and inventory management. It is used across the whole company and saves us hours of admin by centralising the data we work with.
  • Easy to use - we create very basic apps at one end of the scale, up to whole suites of software at the other. At the entry level, it is quick to learn and can have a "citizen developer" creating something useable and rewarding within hours.
  • Expandable - we recommend starting small with an answer to your most pressing requirement. Then as your staff get used to the way the software helps, there will naturally begin the questions - "Can we get it to do this...?"
  • Unlimited - there is no real limit to the size and quantity of data that can be stored. We have happy customers with small contacts applications under 50MB and others with huge archives of Music and Video over 100GB
  • Constantly Updating - there are new releases of the software every year or so, adding extra functionality for new directions to be taken, but the core of the software remains the same
  • As developers, there are areas we like to see updated. In the new version 16 a lot of these have been done.
  • Scalable usage of mobile licenses would be a good step forward to allow transient mobile users to access the main database without the need for an extra licence
  • A revamped system for finding developers through Apple's website would be nice. The current one is a little out dated.
We find the greatest use of Filemaker Pro is in creating a cohesion of working practices. If you currently have data being entered in 5 Excel spreadsheets and copied to a Word document, then somehow getting some of that together to make a presentation, wouldn't it be good if all this could be linked to the contacts that you have in your address book?

These sort of day to day working scenarios are how most businesses are run. FIlemaker Pro enables us to create one application that will do everything, with minimal data entry, less time spent on admin and many new options of how to use the data you are already collecting.
Read James Kelly's full review
Benjamin Fletcher | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2017

FileMaker is a great rapid development platform for custom apps

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use FileMaker for delivering cross-platform database and custom apps which are process platform (Windows, Mac OS, iOS and WebDirect) for small and medium enterprises covering a wide spectrum of sectors.
  • Rapid application development of bespoke solutions for multiple platforms.
  • Scales well from single to hundreds of users.
  • Very easy to adapt and maintain solutions.
  • Well suited for novice database learners or seasons developers.
  • Integrates well with other technologies to act as 'digital glue' to combine different systems - works well with with SQL solutions with ODBC; web APIs via REST APIs/JSON, etc.
  • They do have a unique advantage in the market as they offer an on premises deployment option as well there being private cloud and AWS hosted options.
  • FileMaker does not pitch themselves as a high-end enterprise platform: they don't pitch themselves as a solution for systems requiring thousands of concurrent users. Ironically this can be done with integration with other technologies to improve scalability.
  • FileMaker themselves don't offer consulting or training directly - you need to look to their FileMaker Business Alliance partners for anything other that initial software installation support.
  • They do have a perception problem in the market place - people usually have a bad experience when they inherit a legacy solution built by a non-professional developer and so they often view FileMaker solutions as being old, clunky or missing functionality. The modern platform is exceptionally powerful and full featured - however, to fully take advantage of it of often requires some re-development of a legacy solution. Obviously this is not a problem if you are started a new development from scratch.
FileMaker is well suited when there isn't an off the shelf solution that works exactly to meet an organisation's requirement (or if the available off the shelf software is simply not economic) and a bespoke solution which can then be further adapted organically. It is especially appropriate for organisations which have a desire to 'get their hands dirty' so that there is someone in-house that can continuously review, tweak and adapt the solution to better meet business requirements on a regular basis.
Read Benjamin Fletcher's full review
Martha Zink | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2017

FileMaker Pro - Liberating People from Busy Work and Repetitious Tasks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
At Soliant Consulting, we use the FileMaker platform to solve business problems for our clients. We've built solutions for a wide array of customers. I've worked on projects for departments within a large organization and small businesses. We help reduce manual work and automate repetitious and error prone processes. Internally, we use FileMaker for all important aspects of our business - time tracking, invoicing, reporting, and much more.
  • FileMaker Pro excels at searching and sorting data right out of the box. You can easily take a spreadsheet and import it into FileMaker Pro and you'll be able to work through your data much faster than through other software.
  • FileMaker benefits from a single product for both backend data storage/data modeling, and the interface. And the interface tools are user-friendly.
  • It can grow with your business. The FileMaker Platform allows you to add more customization and features over time. This can be budget friendly and allow for building a solution in phases.
  • FileMaker Pro is slowly working on improving their interface to match the fast moving internet capabilities. While it's moving in the right direction, there are some graphical capabilities it lacks.
  • FileMaker Pro does not have a built in version control mechanism.
  • FileMaker Pro does not have a centralized security module for multiple files.
The FileMaker platform can be used in a wide range of situations. It can be used as a data silo, similar to Excel, where it's used to quickly compile data. On a larger scale, it can benefit multiple users who are interacting with the same data - accounting, supply chain, procurement, general business management, and so on. It's a really great tool for customizing your business' workflow, instead of forcing your business to follow the workflow of a pre-built app.
Read Martha Zink's full review
David Simpson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2017

FileMaker Pro Offers Low Code Custom App Development - Cross Platform for macOS, Windows, IOS, HTML5

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker Pro is used as a replacement for Microsoft Access databases for my customers. FileMaker Pro provides multi-user access, better reliability in networked deployments, installation directly on IOS devices. FileMaker Pro data files also offer much greater data capacity of up to 7TB per file compared to the 2GB file size limit of Microsoft Access. Automated conversion from Access to FileMaker Pro is performed with FmPro Migrator Platinum Edition software.
  • Greater File Size - 7TB per file, compared to 2GB per file with Access .ACCDB files.
  • Reliable multi-user networking thru Peer-to-Peer or server based implementations.
  • Improved developer productivity.
  • Capability of being run locally on IOS devices with the free FileMaker Go client software.
  • It would be nice to have some automation improvements.
FileMaker Pro is well suited for low-code situations where a custom app needs to be customized for specific customer needs.
Read David Simpson's full review
Pax Whitfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2017

FileMaker for prototyping and as a Student Information System (SIS)

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker is our primary data store serving as our homebrewed student information system (SIS). We track demographic data, confident test reports, attendance, and so on. It's our primary source of data, that feeds many other systems.
  • FileMaker is particularly easy to set up and configure.
  • FileMaker deploys easily to Mac users.
  • FileMaker makes rapid prototyping and proof of concept ideas pretty painless.
  • FileMaker does not run on Android.
  • FileMaker doesn't provide any analytical tools.
  • FileMaker web access is limited and resource hungry.
  • FileMaker Server cannot be hosted on Linux machines.
It's really great for fast development, prototyping, and general database needs for a relatively small population. It doesn't scale particularly well, so large enterprises might be content to prototype in FileMaker, but would want to deliver at scale on another platform.
Read Pax Whitfield's full review
Joel Brache | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2017

Love me some FileMaker. Just quit trying to Appleize it and give me options!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileMaker is used across our entire organization. The original use for FileMaker was as a timecard database. Over the years the use of FileMaker has grown to cover many different parts of our business. We manage all the graphics that are produced in FileMaker. We manage projects in FileMaker. We create packing lists and keep track of shipments in FileMaker. FileMaker touches almost every aspect of our business.
  • FileMaker can be easily customized so that it can be expanded to cover additional roles in a company or to just do simple layout changes.
  • FileMaker can be easily picked up by new programmers/developers. The software is designed in such a way that a half day's worth of training can get a new person started building their own databases.
  • FileMaker has a large community of users that do a fantastic job of supporting folks who are new to FileMaker. There is considerable support, samples, and videos on the web for anyone starting out.
  • There are a lot of professional developers located around the country that can help with any FileMaker development needs. They have always been more than friendly and willing to offer help and suggestions. They have the heart of teachers.
  • I think the folks developing FileMaker are true Apple enthusiasts at heart, so a lot of little issues that crop up for Windows users are not address very quickly. It also seems like the Windows version gets treated as secondary, which is odd considering that the majority (95+%) of people using FileMaker use it in a Windows environment.
  • Considering my point above, I would also point out that a lot of how FileMaker works seems to be driven by a small number of people who feel like the software should behave a certain way. Rather than offering users the ability to customize how they want to use the software, global changes are made that force users to adapt to a new way working that is opposite of how they have worked for many years. Changes like this have driven me nuts in the past and make me wish that they would just allow customization of how users work instead of forcing one particular point of few.
  • FileMaker developers are not inexpensive. If you need to bring in help from a third party, expect to pay $100/hr. at a minimum. There are a lot of free resources, local clubs/groups, and places to get free advice, but expect to pay a lot for professional help if you need it. There just aren't enough developers around the world to drive the price down.
FileMaker is great for start-up businesses, small business, and even mid sized businesses. I would say that FileMaker is well suited for small to medium sized environments (1-200 people). You could definitely go bigger than that, but the level of expertise and planning significantly increases when you do that. Because FileMaker doesn't scale very well with really large companies, I would avoid using it for large companies who want a solution that goes across a large amount of employees.
Read Joel Brache's full review
Kevin Mortimer | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2017

Your data deserves the best! Use FileMaker

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I develop custom solutions for my clients using Filemaker Pro. The platform allows rapid development of solutions which my clients love as they get what they need sooner and at a cheaper cost compared to other development platforms.
  • Rapid Development
  • Great at getting new businesses up and running quickly
  • Do not need a IT department to get you up and running
  • Quickly access your data from multiple devices.
  • A better pricing structure for small companies below 5 users.
Well suited to small business.
Read Kevin Mortimer's full review
Carl Schwarz | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2017

FileMaker from a developer / systems analyst perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I develop a wide variety of solutions with FileMaker pro (medical, agricultural, transport, trades, questionnaires, web applications including business applications and blogs, etc.). I deploy FileMaker to Mac and Windows desktops, web browsers, and native iOS and Android applications (Android applications are a lot of work, however). FileMaker is very versatile and powerful, yet simple to get started.
  • FileMaker deploys to all mainstream internet connected devices very easily with a drag and drop interface builder that requires no coding for simple systems (PC, MAC, Mobile phone).
  • FileMaker is great for sharing information in teams.
  • FileMaker is simple enough that regular users (e.g. mechanics) can create their own simple databases if you let them!
  • FileMaker Server is suitable for hundreds of concurrent users at a time with a *well developed* system but not thousands. In general FileMaker is good for small to medium businesses, teams, or for rapid prototyping large scale complex applications.
  • FileMaker has a good suite of basic graphical charts but for more complicated "B.I." style dashboards, it is good to integrate your FileMaker data with another system which is easy to do.
FileMaker is well suited for creating business management applications, e.g. ERP systems like job scheduling, customer management etc., and for remote access applications e.g. for staff that is on the road. FileMaker's ability to accept signatures on an iOS mobile phone and scan barcodes etc., makes it exceptionally good at rapidly developing powerful remote applications on iOS.
Read Carl Schwarz's full review
Jeroen Aarts | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2017

Developing custom apps is so easy with FileMaker

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We have developed a standard financial solution with FileMaker. FileMaker is a very flexible product to build apps that deploy as classic desktop applications, as well as web and mobile apps. FileMaker is designed as a rapid application development tool to automate the process for small or mid-sized businesses, departments or teams.
  • You can rapidly build custom apps with FileMaker.
  • FileMaker custom apps deploy easily on desktops and laptops, web and mobile devices.
  • It has an amazing ease of use from an end user's perspective.
  • For developers, it has a great toolkit builtin, which allows for short development cycles.
  • The developer IDE still has some room for improvement.
  • OAuth integration is possible, but only with a fixed set of providers.
  • More documentation on the innerworking of the FileMaker database engine would be welcome.
FileMaker is particularly suited for small to medium sized businesses, departments or teams. It is not suited for massive and large scale applications used by hundreds of users. The web technology - called WebDirect - is very powerful, in that it lets developers deploy a web solution without any knowledge of HTML, CSS or Javascript. However, also, in this case, WebDirect is not meant to deploy large scale web applications or websites.
Read Jeroen Aarts's full review
Ted Weil | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2017

Fast, Efficient, Friendly....FileMaker

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are a FileMaker development consultancy so we use FileMaker every day to create powerful, customized solutions for our clients. By using FileMaker, we can address a vast array of business needs for our clients in ways that off the shelf software simply can't.
  • Data entry, tracking and access
  • Customized business solutions
  • Flexible reporting
  • Mobile data access
  • Speed - FileMaker provides for very rapid development and deployment by integrating both a database engine and a front end environment in one package. Because of that, the speed of the database engine is slower than a raw platform like SQL or Oracle.
  • Web Access - While FileMaker provides some great tools for quickly and easily sharing data via the web, it isn't a true web development platform and is difficult to scale large enough to handle external customer access for large customer bases.
FileMaker has been designed for years to provide a flexible platform for developing customized solutions easily. It is one of the most rapid platforms available for developing powerful database solutions for businesses. Using FileMaker we can develop extremely user-friendly solutions in less than a quarter of the time and for a fraction of the cost of developing via SQL or other similar platforms.

Because of the speed and flexibility, FileMaker is ideal for small to medium sized businesses or for small to medium departments inside larger companies.
Read Ted Weil's full review

About FileMaker Pro

Database software for individuals or teams. Allows users to create forms, reports and labels. Share on a network or over the web.

FileMaker Pro Competitors

FileMaker Pro Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No