HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Reviews

91 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 56)

Lisa Tolan | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2020

Altus 2.0 Serves Us so we can better Serve the Public

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Digital Persona Altus in our enterprise environment with over 500+ computers and up to about 800+ users. We implement biometric (fingerprint) access for all computer authentication in the network and for some managed applications that require enhanced security measures. We are about to roll out token authentication for a few departments that are now requiring improved measures of secure access and authentication of users.
  • Biometric Authentication - easy to set up and manage. Simple to deploy and enrollment of users.
  • Managed Passwords - The ability to require specific applications to use two factor authentication or even fingerprint only is a very useful tool.
  • Software OTP - The new features of Altus including the OTP tokens - for use with your mobile phone app is particularly handy.
  • Licensing - We find that licenses are used or allocated for users that won't even use the Altus authentication, bring about wasted costs of excessive and unnecessary licensing.
  • The biggest con so far has been the inability for technical support or the Crossmatch company to provide specific compatible hardware to use with the smart card or proxy authentication. We have yet to find a compatible solution to implement this and their support has been useless so far.
Well suited for any office that handles any PII or sensitive data, as well as any office that performs cash handing or financial transactions. We strictly enforce biometric authentication for all Human Resources, Treasurer, Finance, Purchasing, and Collector offices within the county.
All our platforms are pretty much Windows 7 desktops, in-house applications, and some proprietary applications specific to a department. We also utilize the kiosk setup for public users for public information lookup. This allows the department users to log in with their credentials (fingerprints) to reset any software or windows for the general public or to reboot the machines, reducing the calls for IT to assist with lockouts.
We have never had an issue with technical support from Crossmatch, Digitalpersona or HID :) They go above and beyond to assist and troubleshoot issues.
Software is easy to figure out and install. If you have a base knowledge of MS Active Directory and Group Policy, this should be a breeze.
Read Lisa Tolan's full review
Christopher McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

Hands on review of DigitalPersona

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In today's ever security conscious world we have too many usernames and passwords to manage. Our IT department wanted help the users in our organization stay secure. As many users without a security management system would just write down their passwords near their workstation, save a text document, or a spreadsheet, we knew we needed to provide an easy solution. We offered DigitalPersona to most of our organization, those that manage lots of logins and those that move around the organization often. This provided two solutions to us: One, eliminating unsecure password lists. Two, allowing faster processing of credentials via biometrics for those that enter passwords often.
  • Easy for our users to register their fingerprints without IT hand holding. (Sorry for the pun).
  • Fingerprint accuracy. We have never had any issues with accuracy.
  • Some use the password manager without the biometrics as it is fully functional password manager without the authentication piece.
  • I wish there was a way for DigitalPersona to recognize when a webpage has changed a header. As it works now if a login page address or header changes then DP doesn't know you have a saved password for the site. This requires editing the current entry or creating a new one.
  • Not sure if this has been fixed in the most recent version, but we have had issues with deleting AD accounts before deleting the license and fingerprints associated with it. This resulted in the license being tied to a user no longer employed and no way to remove it without technical support.
  • The newest version is slow to open the password manager.
We have a few users start with DigitalPersona and then stop using it. The cases generally involved 1 or 2 things. One, dry skin or smooth fingers have caused some problems with the readers detecting the user's finger print. When the reader became hard to use the user stopped using it. Two, users didn't need to login to a variety of systems. Users that don't enter credentials throughout the day didn't find much value in the system since they generally logged on in the morning and after lunch and that was all.
A variety of websites, web apps, and our electronic medical records. With so many web applications and various requirements for unique passwords, having DigitalPersona track the user's logon information verse a separate password manager or sticky notes, has added a lot of peace of mind to IT staff. We don't have to worry about poorly stored passwords on notes or unsecured files.
Read Christopher McCarthy's full review
Tres Coker | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

DigitalPersonal, a lot more than just a Fingerprint Reader

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use DigitalPersona for biometrics, single sign-on, Multi-Factor Authentication, and password management. Their product allows our users to sign on to their computer and applications using their fingerprint. Their product allowed us as an information technology [company] to force our users to use stronger passwords (fourteen character passwords) and allowed us to use a centralized password management application. With DigitalPersona our organization now has more secure passwords, easier access to applications, and a password management solution.
  • Application / AD Integration
  • Simplicity of application
  • Their solution solves multiple problems
  • Easy Upgrades
  • Implementation is difficult, this is more to due to the applications than DigitalPersona. (all applications are not created equal)
  • Native Two-Factor support (client less two factor support)
  • Laptop biometrics support
It is probably more appropriate for departments that have multiple applications and where productivity is essential (a call center for example). However, every employee would benefit from this, just some groups might benefit more. If a user goes between 5 workstations or applications every day then saving that user the 15-30 seconds it takes to log in will benefit that individual more than a user that only logs into one computer once a day.

Enrollment is easy and IT departments benefit greatly because passwords are not a lot easier to manage.
Windows AD, internal applications, web pages, MFA for administrator accounts, and digital personal is acting as our Password Manager solution. We are now using DigitalPersona as the MFA token for multiple applications; VPN remote access, network access, elevated access on servers, etc. DigitalPersona supports multiple MFA methods from physical keyfobs, Fido key, but we primarily just use the DigitalPersona app.
Read Tres Coker's full review
Mauro Carrillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Biometrics Solution Evaluation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We made the decision to purchase the solution after a close evaluation of this product. We are currently using the biometric devices for network authentication and to allow users to login to their applications/websites using their fingerprint scanning device. It allows the users to login and authenticate without having to type their user name and password. It's also used as a password manager tool in the environment. The software manager is very intuitive and user friendly. Enrolling the fingerprints is a very easy process.
  • Network/Windows login authentication
  • Password Management
  • The Implementation process needs improvement. Working with an engineer that is not familiar with the network environment can cause some issues and delays.
  • Technical support doesn't have all the answers and can take a long time to get back to you on open tickets.
In the business world, it's a very useful tool to allow users to manage their passwords more efficiently. I wouldn't recommend this to any organization with lots of custom applications. It works well with most basic applications and web login sites. But custom applications require additional configuration from their developers and most are not supported.
The product does not work well with custom based applications. We're using it for Office365, in-house applications and thin client (web-based apps). Some of these include thin client (web-based) applications, thick client apps, cloud based apps, and any other critical system application that could potentially have any non public information.
Read Mauro Carrillo's full review
Matt Fehnel | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Easy peasy biometric security

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Digital Persona for almost a decade to manage security across our organization. We have found that the ability to integrate it into our Active Directory as well as industry-specific applications has allowed us to up our security, lessen support with respect to forgotten passwords, and worry less about shared passwords or allowing access to forbidden applications.
  • Strong passwords without increasing support load on IT Staff.
  • Flexible password requirements for different levels of authentication.
  • Doesn't integrate easily with all browsers.
  • Would like more biometric functionalities (facial recognition, etc.).
It works very well with a stable workforce with low to moderate turnover. Although user setup is relatively streamlined, Digital Persona wouldn't be nearly as effective in an environment with high turnover or many independent contractors requiring access to different applications and environments inside of the organization.
We use DigitalPersona for Windows login, Office 365 management, legacy SCADA applications, AWS, in-house built Java-based applications, mobile device application management, and too many browser-based logins to count.
Read Matt Fehnel's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

DigitalPersona biometrics is the future

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization. It helps employees keep track of passwords and easy access for logging into the computer/site.
  • Easy login access. No need to look for password as DigitalPersona does that for you.
  • Its biometrics (finger reader).
  • Password Keeper
  • Safe and secure
  • Ability to access more website to save passwords.
  • It gets dirty fast. Since it is Biometric if fingers are dirty it won't read them.
It's great when you can't find a password and you need to login ASAP. DP is there to assist. When you have so many employees and the first of the month comes and they have to change their passwords, DP saves it for them for easy access next time they login. Finger reader doesn't always read your finger if your finger is dirty or the product is dirty. It's a hit or miss at times.
We use the application in the Banking field. Example: Jack Henry, Online websites and VMware vSphere Client.
Read this authenticated review
Vik Nat | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2019

A good product so far

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of use.
  • AD integration.
  • None I can think off.
Overall happy with it. Still in Pilot so hard to give an example where it functions less appropriately. Only time will tell how it fairs. But overall we have been happy with it. Now that we are getting new laptops with biometrics scanner build into it. So we will see how it fairs.
Read Vik Nat's full review
Rob Giermek | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Our experience with DigitalPersona

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use DigitalPersona devices system-wide for end-user authentication to our software system on kiosk systems we design and manufacture. The devices help our customers confirm the identity of the kiosk user. Our kiosk systems are utilized in rather rough environments. The DigitalPersona devices we equip in our kiosks meet and exceed our expectations. Additionally, the SDK provided by DigitalPersona allowed for seamless integration with our software.
  • High-Quality Components.
  • Excellent device integration via SDKs.
  • Good supply of components that are always in stock and available when we need more units.
  • We have not identified anything we would like to see improved at this time.
DigitalPersona is best used anywhere that biometric identity verification is required. We have not found a better product on the market thus far.
We protect our proprietary kiosk software with DigitalPersona.
Read Rob Giermek's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

DigitalPersona stands by their product and their level of support and quality of product is exceptional.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Digital Persona is used to speed up the login process for transactions processed by the application operators as well as to collect biometrics (fingerprint) for customers. In addition to that, in both (operator or applicant) processing of fingerprints, we use Digital Persona to store, match and compare fingerprints as to avoid fraud on the operator side and the applicant side.
  • Digital Persona does particularly well on fingerprint matching to authenticate users' credentials via Fingerprint against Active Directory.
  • Digital Persona does well on providing active directory tools for troubleshooting problematic fingeprints.
  • DigitalPresona provides intuitive wizards for enrolling, re-enrolling and un-enrolling users' fingerprints from active directory.
  • Digital Persona authentication process is quite fast. It takes less than 1 second from the time one captures the fingerprint to the time the user is authenticated.
  • Digital Persona does not have a granular auditing method for generating reports of active users and the last time a specific user or users were last successfully authenticated or attempted to authenticate in active directory. This functionality can provide significant value to customers, especially for customers where the number of licenses ranks in the thousands. This would allow customers to revoke a license from users who do not use their fingerprint for authentication.
  • Digital Persona does not have the ability to purge stale fingerprints to free up licenses that have been assigned to users who do prefer not to use their biometric login, users who have left the company or moved on to a different department. Having the ability to purge stale users' biometrics (and licenses) can potentially save customers licensing fees.
  • Digital Persona does not have the ability to run reports for stored biometrics. It could potentially prove useful to be able to run reports of say 5000 users and have a breakdown of fingerprint quality spectrum. This could potentially alleviate administration overhead by identifying stored problematic low-quality fingerprints for users.
  • Digital Persona should have its own GUI Based Administration Utility to have one central point of administration including identifying which accounts have not used fingerprint login as to free up unused licenses, license reporting and type of DigitalPersona Feature used.
Digital Persona is well suited for situations where auditing is required for processed transactions on internally written applications and to automate and speed up authentication of users who must repeatedly log into a system or application throughout their work day. Digital Persona is less suited for scenarios where user authentication throughout the day is minimal as this does not justify the fingerprint reader or the licensing expense for each user.
We are using DigitalPersona to protect Windows based systems and in-house web-based Microsoft .NET applications. The DigitalPersona platform does extend to Unix/Linux but for our implementation requirements, we initially did not need their alternate solution but we now have a Unix/Linux implementation and having DigitalPersona's versatility paid off by allowing us to incorporate and extend the usage and close the gap between Windows & Unix Systems, allowing our applications to exchange biometric data between multiple platforms.
We always get escalation to Enterprise Support and software engineers are always available to resolve our custom requests.
I think there are still fundamental enhancements needed to be added to the management consoles and I think there ought to be a Centralized, Windows Based "Thick" Management Application instead of individual utilities which vary from MMCs, Scripts, Wizards, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2019

Solid SSO Solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalPersona is being used across the entire organization for SSO to third-party apps.
  • Quick and easy authentication.
  • Straightforward Active Directory integration
  • Silent solution.
  • Upgrading or attempting to contact sales. We are trying to upgrade now and are still not in contact with anyone after two weeks of pings.
  • User forums and support knowledge bases. The self-support is lacking.
  • DigitalPersona only works with Microsoft IE in our environment. We are increasingly moving away from IE and using Chrome or Firefox due to the number of issues we experience with IE. DigitalPersona should work with all major browsers.
We use DigitalPersona for company end-users. We do not use it for customer authentication, as they are not tied to Active Directory.
Windows, Fiserv, approximately 25 vendor websites, credit card processing, loan, and account origination (service bureau), online banking, and our in-house core processing system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Try another product, and you'll end up back with digitalPersona's products!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a single authentication software across the entire organization.
  • DigitalPersona provides fast and accurate support. When looking for a solution to a problem, their support team knows exactly who to engage with in order to give us our fastest results.
  • Because the software is encrypted in our Active Directory, changing out a user to a new workstation is simple. We just install the software, and then re-add the users finger prints. All of their passwords are safely and securely stored and come right back once the user is identified.
  • I tested the Altus product on the new Microsoft Surface keyboard with a finger print reader, and it does work.
  • DigitalPersona Altus can make their renewal process better. Last time we had to renew, we did not get a notification to renew, and actually had to reach out to Crossmatch after we tried to get support and found out we were out of warranty. We would have easily paid our renewal, if we knew that the expiration was coming.
In a Microsoft Windows Active Directory network that has users who log into various websites with ever changing passwords, DigitalPersona Altus makes it simple for the user to manage getting access with just a finger print.
We use DigitalPersona Altus to get into our main website, log into our timeclock website, access the myriad of other websites our staff needs to get into, etc.
I rarely get support tickets related to Alrus
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2019

A great solution for businesses interested in security and speed.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used at Point of Sale for cashiers (logging in) and customers (associating themselves with transactions and accessing tokenized credit cards).
  • Quick user switching.
  • Easy enrollment interface.
  • Some types of people have consistently hard times having their fingerprints read by the reader.
Suited for Point of Sale, especially in PCI compliant situations with high security, fast-user switching on shared computers, and high-speed customer service environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Just starting but it has been great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We just have one department using it for their specialized software, to verify that it is them and to validate each step of a process.
  • Logs into Windows desktop.
  • Install was slick.
  • Support during install was excellent.
  • After the original appointment, we kind of stopped hearing from them. They have said that they just got acquired.
For us, it is well suited to allow the user to authenticate themselves without having to type their password. They have an application that could require up to 20 authentications during one process, so it saves time.
The third-party application is the main reason we got this. Like I mentioned before, I hope to get more out of it by using it for more applications.
Read this authenticated review
Owen Heuston | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Utilizing DigitalPersona at a financial institution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona throughout the whole bank, from retail all the way to executives. It works for us because it allows the users to quickly log into machines by using the U.are.U.4500 biometric reader. The DigitalPersona software adds an extra layer of security where if a users' password was stolen, it is impossible to copy their fingerprint.
  • Provides an extra layer of security, each person has a unique fingerprint.
  • Allows users to quickly log in to or switch computers on the fly, much faster than typing in a password.
  • Can be used with all kinds of programs. We utilize it with any program that requires authentication, and you can modify the software to work with several applications.
  • I find that sometimes I have had to delete a users fingerprints and re-add them. There must be something going on where the software believes that the user has changed their fingerprints.
  • I have on occasion come across a person where the reader was unable to create fingerprints for that user. It would be interesting to see if the sensitivity of the 4500 reader could be improved on.
  • I find that using the DigitalPersona software makes the users ultimately forget their passwords. Maybe every once in a while the software could require the user to type in their Windows password to help them remember it.
It is great for Windows authentication and works with many other applications. In fact, the FDIC was here this past week and they were impressed in our utilization of the DigitalPersona software. It does add an extra level of security here at the bank and that is very important considering all of the financial data that we have here.
We are mainly utilizing the DigitalPersona software on all workstations at every branch of the bank. It is used mainly for Windows log-ons but is also utilized for several financial applications. Protection of financial records is extremely important at the bank. Users can also create logons utilizing the DigitalPersona software themselves for other applications that they use.
Read Owen Heuston's full review
Shannon Kelman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2018

DigitalPersona makes verifying users a snap!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally started using DigitalPersona for user logins but quickly found it as an easy way to allow users to log into websites which is now the most common use for it.
  • Biometric login
  • Website Authentication
  • Ease of use
  • More documentation
Well-suited for biometric login
Read Shannon Kelman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Give forgotten passwords the finger!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented DigitalPersona fingerprint readers organization-wide. In order to ease them into the workforce users were not required to take the units, but were encouraged to see their benefits - which many did!

The units are USB attached to PCs and allow the user to log into their workstation without entering their password. This allows us to have complex passwords that the user doesn't need to know or remember - they simply swipe their finger to log in.

This solution has dramatically cut down on the number of tickets we receive for simple password resets. No matter if a user has been on vacation for three weeks, their fingerprint is still the same!
  • Super fast to recognize fingerprint and authenticate .
  • Accurate with a wide area of fingerprint. Most windows laptops with built in fingerprint scanners only recognize a small area of print.
  • Units are inexpensive.
  • Quick and easy to install server software and client hardware.
  • When workstations were upgraded from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 the software continued working flawlessly.
  • Easy for readers to get irredeemably dirty & need replacing.
  • Not a DigitalPerson problem, but users forget their passwords now, which is a pain when they're outside the organization & away from their DigitalPersona scanners
  • Group policy set-up was a little confusing.
Less appropiate in an outside or warehouse environment where bare fingertips might not be readily available! Well suited for a static office of people who can't remember their password.
We're only using this for Windows 8.1/10 workstation login at the moment, but looking to use it for websites and AD integration apps too.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2018

DigitalPersona - More Than Biometrics

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalPersona is used primarily by our Nursing department and Corporate users. DigitalPersona is addressing security by leveraging biometric authentication and solves the nurses need to remember multiple passwords by acting as a SSO solution.
  • Biometric authentication - DigitalPersona biometric readers are very accurate while maintaining low false-positive authentications.
  • Single Sign On - When configured with templates, DigitalPersona can be set up to automatically authenticate on any website or application, creating a seamless login to these systems. It is typically quick and responsive.
  • Self Service password management - The DigitalPersona client modifies the windows login screen allowing password reset using security questions before actually logging in to windows. This is important as many solutions require going to a website that the user may not be able to access without first being logged in to windows.
  • Multiple domains - DigitalPersona struggles with multiple domains. Since the solution is licensed per domain, migrating users between domains can be troublesome to keep licensed. Additionally, migrating to a new domain removes the AD leaf objects that store all digital persona information, essentially wiping out and credentials or other stored information.
  • Password change - DigitalPersona can be confusing to update when a stored password for a website is updated. The password is entered, and then the user is redirected to the websites password change page. Users must then authenticate with a Digital persona credential again before being prompted by Digital Persona to update the password. If the user is allowed to change the password manually through the websites page, this will lead to what is stored in Digital Persona being out of sync with the new password, and eventually account lockouts.
  • Terminal Server - DigitalPersona has performance issues when utilized on a high-traffic terminal server. Often it causes big CPU spikes as well as hanging sessions upon disconnect.
DigitalPersona is well suited for enforcing MFA to log into windows-based systems. Their client is perfectly integrated into the login screen and will enforce whatever policies have been assigned.
Read this authenticated review
Justin Simpkinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2018

2 Factor Authentication - The DigitalPersona Way

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona for our law enforcement agencies. We are able to leverage multiple forms of authentication, which, allows our end-users to pick which combination of authenticators work best for their individual preference. The software fully integrates with Active Directory and has the capability to automatically generate and store strong alphanumeric passwords. This takes the frustration out of requiring end-users to keep track of their changed passwords for those that choose this option. The implementation process was relatively painless and we had the option to have someone come on-site or assist remotely. We chose the latter. Support has been responsive and helpful the few times that I've needed it.
  • Integration with Active Directory. There is no need to maintain a separate users database.
  • Ability to pick and choose authenticators. This allows flexibility for the end-user to pick what works best for them.
  • Billing structure. Unlike other 2-factor authentication solutions, DigitalPersona is not a subscription based application.
  • A solution for administrators to log in as other users when necessary. We are a 24/7 operation and will often have laptops left for us to troubleshoot from 2nd or 3rd shift.
  • Bluetooth functionality is good but would be better if you didn't have to pair the device with each laptop before being able to use it.
  • Password manager requires authentication even when the user declines to store a password.
DigitalPersona has allowed us to offer a user-friendly 2-factor authentication solution while simultaneously providing a more secure environment for our mobile users. It is flexible in that I can decide to only allow a couple authenticators or open it up to allow many. It is not modular so you have access to all of the authentication methods without any additional cost.
Read Justin Simpkinson's full review
Tyler Largin | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

Altus at last !

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Digital Persona Altus is a relatively new product that was just called digital persona pro. It is being used in our company to allow our users to unlock a remote app session via their finger print. This has saved used tons of hours from having to sign in directly. We also have a large number of HR and transportation users who utilize this application to keep track of their website passwords. These departments deal with tons of third party websites that each require a separate password in order log in. Very recently we started using Digital Persona Kiosk as well. We are using it for our software based DVR. This DVR is basically a single computer that any non-technical employee can go up to and either type in their account or use their fingerprint and it will give them a controlled "operator" account to view the camera system. Overall we've seen better security and more usability than we originally expected.
  • Password randomization, to remove password all together from day to day operations.
  • Hardware support, works with every Dell we've ever purchased.
  • Security control, only specific people are allowed to enroll fingerprints for the rest of the users.
  • Kiosk support, a singular controlled account that can be logged into with any user's credentials.
  • Windows 10 support for Windows Hello For Business
  • Better support for password management. You need to be able to store a user's "saved" password somewhere other than their computer. In case the machine dies there is a backup of their passwords somewhere.
  • Better OTP, the current setup requires tons of work and only really works internally.
  • Remote enrollment, allow enrollment of credentials outside of the network and "drop them" into a user's account when they are back on site.
  • Third party password changes, if you change your password through a web server while you are off site (instead of on your computer), the password and the fingerprint scanners are out of sync and the user has to change their password again in order for it to start working again.
Altus is best suited for a full enterprise environment. It allows us to seamlessly integrate fingerprint scans into day to day interactions. However, it really isn't that great for small environments. If you are only going to use it on 5-10 people there are much simpler products available.
We are protecting our software DVR kiosk from random people messing with our camera system. We are also protecting our remote app server as well as our desktops.
Read Tyler Largin's full review
Cory McCarty | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2018

Useful solution for beefing up security posture

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, only Windows authentication and 3rd party website logins.
All users authenticate to Windows using biometric fingerprint readers. We also use password manager through the Altus console to authenticate to 3rd party websites. We have over 120 3rd party logins that we manage, so this solution saves us time logging in to 3rd party websites and applications, and also gives us a secure way to store passwords.
  • Windows authentication
  • Password management
  • multifactor authentication
  • We have issues with fingerprint misreads with our users who do not have as defined of a fingerprint
  • We also have issues with the Agent not loading in Internet Explorer consistently on some workstations.
When it works properly, I would recommend to anyone. The reason I'm rating a 6 is we have some users who don't like the solution at all because of the issues I described previously.
Read Cory McCarty's full review
jason craig | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2018

DigitalPersona Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
COHC uses digital persona in the whole company. every desk has a fingerprint reader connected to it. We use it to log into windows and also to log into our EMR program called eClinicalWorks. DP allows our users and staff to quickly log in and out of the computers in the exam rooms and also at their desks.
  • fast user switching
  • if someone is already logged in and you need to log them off and get into the computer ad your self. all you have to do is tap their finger and DP will log the other person out and log you in.
  • small form factor
  • since it's a small compact box it can pretty much be placed anywhere we need it.
  • easy to use
  • just have to tap your finger and go
  • the bottom of the reader.....I get its rubber so it can be on a desk, but in our case when I tried to glue them to the desk for security reasons, the glue wouldn't stick or double sided tape didn't even stick to the device
  • connection while in program......sometimes on a computer that has a webcam and the DP reader connected the reader doesn't work. I'm guessing because of the type
  • have it some way know when you change your password in a software that using DP readers to log into like a website. so that it changes it in the fingerprint software also like it does for windows logins
It is well suited for providers to just tap their finger to log in instead of type a password every time they need to log in.
in house windows
and out in house EMR software eClinicalWorks

Read jason craig's full review
Justin Wesselmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2018

Good Smart Finger

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Core system and all of our Finance programs. We are now using DP with more cloud based programs and Anti-Virus. Mostly using it for Windows systems and websites. With more things going to sso we are finding new ways to use Digital Persona Altus so far everything is working.
DigitalPersona is being used by our entire organization. It really helps with our virtual system and when people have to change locations to help out they have all their passwords saved and easy access. This saves time and less calls to IT for forgotten passwords/resets. The program is very intuitive and once the templates are set up it is very user friendly.
  • Very intuitive.
  • Easy to get up and running.
  • Great customer support with getting things moving smoothly.
  • Overall good, none come to mind.
[DigitalPersona is well suited to] Virtual Desktops where people move around a lot. [It's less appropriate] For one person to use that only has 1 password.
Read Justin Wesselmann's full review
Tara Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2017

Peace of mind is literally at your fingertip!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona to log on to the LiveScan machine we use to fingerprint applicants. As far as I am aware we are the only department using it. It helps to alleviate the need to remember multiple passwords and it is very fast, which means the customer is in and out much quicker. Good for them, good for business.
  • This product is small, sleek, and is able to identify your print very quickly. If your IT team gets it set up for you it is a dream to use, simply put your finger on it and move on.
  • I hate having to remember passwords and in this line of business there are TONS of passwords. If you could have a device that let you in with a single print why would you not?? Everyone is worried about security and DigitalPersona helps put your mind at ease.
  • I have not had any problems, but it is important to clean the surface to ensure you are getting the best reading.
  • I did not install this device, but have heard some people say it is not as simple as plug and go, but I would not expect something that deals with security to be plug and go.
So the room in which we have our computer that DigitalPersona is connected is a room that many people have access to, but we really only want very specific people to be able to utilize the computer due to the nature of what there is access to. Without DigitalPersona anyone with access to the room would have the ability to access the secure information, but now only those with the secure fingerprint added through DigitalPersona have access. I guess if you needed more people that had access it may be less appropriate and may have a greater chance of not being as secure.
The access to DMV files, criminal files, and applicant files.
It was easy to install and use
Read Tara Smith's full review
Joseph Jeffries, RPh | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2017

DigitalPersona - worked at first but now has become an albatross.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] Positive ID verification in a hospital [by the] whole organization. It's required by Ohio board of pharmacy.
  • Met the board requirements at the time of implementation.
  • Financially more attractive than the competitor.
  • Company was responsive during the initial implementation.
  • We upgraded our clinical software and changed our hosting environment, upgraded to a new version and DigitalPersona did not work anymore.
  • Crossmatch did not seem to initially understand our issues and state board requirements. Nor did they understand the need for its compatibility when integrating into Citrix and remote host.
  • We were in a time crunch and we had trouble reaching the right Crossmatch people to resolve the problem.
Well suited: Retail, non Citrix environment, others where using Active Directory is not an issue, a place that realizes you should not clean the readers with alcohol

Less appropriate: Hospital pharmacy, hospital with specific board requirements, Citrix environment, a place where user might use alcohol to clean the reader
Read Joseph Jeffries, RPh's full review
darrell isnor | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2017

Biometric Authentication Advances

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalPersona has been used for many years by many users across the Government of Alberta to align fingerprint authentication with government identities as well as a convenience for application authentication. The new versions of the product are expanding to other methods of authentication that are being explored by the organization such as Bluetooth proximity authentication for devices such as tablets that do not have fingerprint reader hardware.
  • Fingerprint reader hardware compatibility
  • Multiple authentication options
  • Roaming user data shared between devices
  • Reliable infrastructure easy to support
  • Easily accessible management audit logging
  • Software distribution improvements
  • Optimized customer pages describing best options for the platform installed on
DigitalPersona is best suited for people who have to authenticate to many applications often on some form of physical hardware. It is also well suited for places where passwords are required to be complex, long and changed often. It is not suited for VDI environments or places where specific types of multi-factor authentication are used.
Read darrell isnor's full review

About HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch)

The HID DigitalPersona software (formerly Crossmatch) offers a new way to provide authentication services to users. Whereas traditional 2FA/MFA solutions are stuck on “what you have/what you know”, DigitalPersona leverages an array of easily deployable authentication methods so users can quickly and easily gain access to their cloud applications, such as Microsoft 365, VPNs, corporate networks, Windows desktops, Citrix applications and more. Balancing security and usability, the solution employs one of the widest arrays of authentication factors in the industry. This includes one-time passwords, mobile-based push, smartcards, USB keys, risk- and context-based methods, and biometrics, such as fingerprint, face, and behavioral keystroke.
Categories:  Authentication

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Features

Has featureDeploys on Windows Active Directory or LDS server
Has featureAllows for app integration using SAML protocol
Has featureHas a user-friendly interface for easy self-enrollment of credentials and authentication policy enforcement
Has featureProvides a browser-based SSO Portal for accessing SAML-enabled apps
Has featureOffers an optional Password Manager feature to randomize and auto-fill passwords in authentication fields
Has featureAvailable in a variety of software models: SSO, Windows Logon, Premium Edition, and as part of the HID ActivOne solution

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Video

Crossmatch product experts walk through the admin and end-user views of the DigitalPersona UI with a robust mix of deployable authentication factors. See how the solution addresses single sign-on, multifactor authentication, cloud applications and mobile security.

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Downloadables

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Competitors

Okta Workforce Identity, Imprivata OneSign, Idaptive Next-Gen Access (formerly Centrify)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:Most Countries except companies included in US Embargo