HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Reviews

104 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 63)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 07, 2021
Ken Grimes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in our Police Department. We had to have a way for users to use two-factor authentication at the Windows login prompt in order to solve CJIS requirements.
  • I integrates into Windows at the login screen, unlike most other products.
  • Easy to administrate biometrics, SMS, Authenticator apps for smartphones, etc.
  • Gives avenues for Service Desk personnel to help users login if needed.
  • Difficult to log in with a local administrator account. We have to boot into Safe Mode and disable DigitalPersona.
  • DP has not ever worked with Dell integrated fingerprint readers.
I looked at a few different products at that time, and DP handled the Windows login screen the best overall. Plus the price was excellent for all that was included (Biometrics, proximity cards, Authenticator apps, etc).
All CJIS applications in our Police Department are protected and that helps us with compliance. As the officers would not be able to login to interface with their computers at the Operating System level, all applications on their mobile patrol computers are protected. Some are local web, some are cloud-based, and some was even legacy mainframe... without authenticating through DP, none were available.
Read Ken Grimes's full review
February 06, 2021
Parsram Rajaram | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it primarily in our Public Safety departments for two-factor authentication. This allows us to provide the necessary security for these critical departments. It also allows us to comply with audit requirements as needed by different agencies. The hardware and software solution is an important part of our Cyber Security posture.
  • Enrollment of fingerprints is easy.
  • Software install and deployment is relatively painless.
  • False positives are low.
  • The readers are constructed well.
  • Integration with third party applications.
The solution is solid. However, there are "modern" 2FA solutions that are more nimble than Crossmatch. As an example, most users would prefer to have a push notification sent to a smartphone for second-factor authentication. We have tested Cisco DUO and find this solution to be more attractive from a usability perspective. It allows for two-factor authentication without having to rely on a physically connected biometric reader.
The product is primarily used for Windows authentication. We also use it for web applications.
Read Parsram Rajaram's full review
May 02, 2021
Jason France | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Two departments right now, whole organization down the road
  • Many options for the second factor
  • Integrates with AD
  • Good support
  • Painless on boarding
  • Cost?
It is well suited for an organization that needs many options for the second factor.
Read Jason France's full review
February 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalPersona was rolled out to all our facilities to facilitate biometric single-sign-on and simplify user sign on experience both with Windows and with applications and web sites. While it was made available to administration and other staff, our core target were nurses handling Activities of Daily Living with our EMR application. It allows them to head to a kiosk, use a biometric reader to login and launch the application and input their data quickly on a touch screen without requiring a keyboard, mouse, and most importantly removes the requirement to remember a multitude of passwords. It's done securely and with integration to our Windows Active Directory domain.
  • Simple and intuitive interface.
  • Single-Sign-On (SSO) with Biometric support.
  • Universal Support for Applications and Web Sites.
  • Active Directory Integration.
  • Not polished, bugs require regular minor releases and updates.
  • Issues that appear minor have a major impact on production.
  • Management of the solution is not intuitive, upgrades can be a huge administrative challenge.
  • HID Global support is difficult to reach and has internal communication and system issues.
While the core of the product works very well, I would not purchase this solution again nor recommend it to other companies. Before being acquired they were a "startup" mode company building a competitively priced product but they were not able to capitalize on that. The solution was full of great features but management and implementation are poor. The solution is buggy, bulky, and not enterprise friendly, particularly for healthcare or other 24/7 operations that cannot afford downtime or management complications. The nail in the coffin is lack of support since the acquisition. Reaching support is a major challenge, and internal communication issues as well as system issues make it feel non-existent. I personally was completely unable to reach support for assistance the last time we had a problem, and our company has begun plans to migration away from the solution.
Our primary platform for DigitalPersona is the Microsoft Windows logon itself. In addition, we've rolled out templates for nearly every business web site our organization uses. We are an umbrella organization that manages many different lines of business with unique applications and web sites all from a single Active Directory, and we're able to support all of them with DigitalPersona.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Digital Persona for MFA with the biometric readers. This solution has changed how we do password resets. This has drastically reduced the time it takes for us to complete these password resets and has also allowed us to be more secured with our network and applications logons. This solution has also provided us with some insight into how our users work and lets us know that our users were not afraid of change. They were also able to adapt to this new solution easier than we thought. Due to the application being well programmed, the rollout of this product went smooth as well.
  • Updates
  • Release version
  • Tehcnology
  • MFA
  • Account representative contact. We would like to hear more from our vendor.
  • Communication on new releases.
  • Communication on product upgrades.
  • New offers.
Digital Persona is well suited for our environment. With the utilization of the password manager and the biometric readers, our users feel more at ease knowing that their passwords are more secure than ever. By using the biometric readers for MFA purposes, our users are engaged with our systems more and creating more complex passwords. The only time we have seen this solution not be well suited in our environment for the way we utilize it is when a user does not want to provide their fingerprint for their security.
Currently, we use this application as more of a secure password vault with biometric capabilities. There are several third-party applications that we use this software to protect. We also have built templates that will work with various websites that our organization utilizes. This gives the user ease of access to those resources via their finger on the reader. Hence, reducing the time it takes to log into these applications.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HID Digital Persona is being used by all staff at our current organization. We deploy password templates to our users for several of our applications and have biometric fingerprint readers deployed to all staff. Overall, I would say that the password manager and fingerprint readers work really well. Most issues with the fingerprint readers are resolved by cleaning the lens on the top of the reader. One annoyance we have with the Digital Persona application is the icon that is displayed above the password field routinely covers other buttons up, making it difficult to click without trying to move the icon or finding a tiny space to click the correct button.
  • Password management works really well.
  • Fingerprint readers rarely have issues.
  • Deploying templates for particular applications is fast and easy.
  • Technical support's answer to all issues seems to be to upgrade.
  • Digital Persona's icon covers other toolbars and icons.
If you need a biometric reader and a password manager in several applications with templates, this works well. If you are needing to use this in Chrome, the extension does not work so well. Most of our issues have come up with the Chrome extension and this can be cumbersome to keep updated, particularly in a provisioned environment.
We are using this with Windows logon, a large number of browser-based applications, Citrix, our COR application, and many more that I am just not able to come up with at this time. This has always worked great in IE and Edge, but the reliability suffers with the Chrome Extension.
Read this authenticated review
February 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are working to push out Digital Persona to all departments within our organization. It has helped us to maintain secure passwords for our users while still making it incredibly easy to log in across multiple workstations within the organization. This also allows our users to set stronger passwords for applications and web-based logins, without the need to remember what they set. Just scan their finger and log in!
  • Fingerprint-based authentication
  • Password storage
  • AD synchronization
  • License tracking
DigitalPersona has been a great help, especially in departments where users do not have permanent workstations and tend to move around a lot. We have had some issues with the Chrome extension not always working as expected, but we believe we have the issues worked out and now working.
Web-based applications, desktop-based applications, and Windows AD logins.
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2020
Owen Heuston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona throughout the whole bank, from retail all the way to executives. It works for us because it allows the users to quickly log into machines by using the U.are.U.4500 biometric reader. The DigitalPersona software adds an extra layer of security where if a users' password was stolen, it is impossible to copy their fingerprint.
  • Provides an extra layer of security, each person has a unique fingerprint.
  • Allows users to quickly log in to or switch computers on the fly, much faster than typing in a password.
  • Can be used with all kinds of programs. We utilize it with any program that requires authentication, and you can modify the software to work with several applications.
  • I find that sometimes I have had to delete a users fingerprints and re-add them. There must be something going on where the software believes that the user has changed their fingerprints.
  • I have on occasion come across a person where the reader was unable to create fingerprints for that user. It would be interesting to see if the sensitivity of the 4500 reader could be improved on.
  • I find that using the DigitalPersona software makes the users ultimately forget their passwords. Maybe every once in a while the software could require the user to type in their Windows password to help them remember it.
It is great for Windows authentication and works with many other applications. In fact, the FDIC was here this past week and they were impressed in our utilization of the DigitalPersona software. It does add an extra level of security here at the bank and that is very important considering all of the financial data that we have here.
We are mainly utilizing the DigitalPersona software on all workstations at every branch of the bank. It is used mainly for Windows log-ons but is also utilized for several financial applications. Protection of financial records is extremely important at the bank. Users can also create logons utilizing the DigitalPersona software themselves for other applications that they use.
Read Owen Heuston's full review
June 19, 2020
Lisa Tolan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Digital Persona Altus in our enterprise environment with over 500+ computers and up to about 800+ users. We implement biometric (fingerprint) access for all computer authentication in the network and for some managed applications that require enhanced security measures. We are about to roll out token authentication for a few departments that are now requiring improved measures of secure access and authentication of users.
  • Biometric Authentication - easy to set up and manage. Simple to deploy and enrollment of users.
  • Managed Passwords - The ability to require specific applications to use two factor authentication or even fingerprint only is a very useful tool.
  • Software OTP - The new features of Altus including the OTP tokens - for use with your mobile phone app is particularly handy.
  • Licensing - We find that licenses are used or allocated for users that won't even use the Altus authentication, bring about wasted costs of excessive and unnecessary licensing.
  • The biggest con so far has been the inability for technical support or the Crossmatch company to provide specific compatible hardware to use with the smart card or proxy authentication. We have yet to find a compatible solution to implement this and their support has been useless so far.
Well suited for any office that handles any PII or sensitive data, as well as any office that performs cash handing or financial transactions. We strictly enforce biometric authentication for all Human Resources, Treasurer, Finance, Purchasing, and Collector offices within the county.
All our platforms are pretty much Windows 7 desktops, in-house applications, and some proprietary applications specific to a department. We also utilize the kiosk setup for public users for public information lookup. This allows the department users to log in with their credentials (fingerprints) to reset any software or windows for the general public or to reboot the machines, reducing the calls for IT to assist with lockouts.
We have never had an issue with technical support from Crossmatch, Digitalpersona or HID :) They go above and beyond to assist and troubleshoot issues.
Software is easy to figure out and install. If you have a base knowledge of MS Active Directory and Group Policy, this should be a breeze.
Read Lisa Tolan's full review
May 08, 2020
Christopher McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In today's ever security conscious world we have too many usernames and passwords to manage. Our IT department wanted help the users in our organization stay secure. As many users without a security management system would just write down their passwords near their workstation, save a text document, or a spreadsheet, we knew we needed to provide an easy solution. We offered DigitalPersona to most of our organization, those that manage lots of logins and those that move around the organization often. This provided two solutions to us: One, eliminating unsecure password lists. Two, allowing faster processing of credentials via biometrics for those that enter passwords often.
  • Easy for our users to register their fingerprints without IT hand holding. (Sorry for the pun).
  • Fingerprint accuracy. We have never had any issues with accuracy.
  • Some use the password manager without the biometrics as it is fully functional password manager without the authentication piece.
  • I wish there was a way for DigitalPersona to recognize when a webpage has changed a header. As it works now if a login page address or header changes then DP doesn't know you have a saved password for the site. This requires editing the current entry or creating a new one.
  • Not sure if this has been fixed in the most recent version, but we have had issues with deleting AD accounts before deleting the license and fingerprints associated with it. This resulted in the license being tied to a user no longer employed and no way to remove it without technical support.
  • The newest version is slow to open the password manager.
We have a few users start with DigitalPersona and then stop using it. The cases generally involved 1 or 2 things. One, dry skin or smooth fingers have caused some problems with the readers detecting the user's finger print. When the reader became hard to use the user stopped using it. Two, users didn't need to login to a variety of systems. Users that don't enter credentials throughout the day didn't find much value in the system since they generally logged on in the morning and after lunch and that was all.
A variety of websites, web apps, and our electronic medical records. With so many web applications and various requirements for unique passwords, having DigitalPersona track the user's logon information verse a separate password manager or sticky notes, has added a lot of peace of mind to IT staff. We don't have to worry about poorly stored passwords on notes or unsecured files.
Read Christopher McCarthy's full review
April 24, 2020
Tres Coker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use DigitalPersona for biometrics, single sign-on, Multi-Factor Authentication, and password management. Their product allows our users to sign on to their computer and applications using their fingerprint. Their product allowed us as an information technology [company] to force our users to use stronger passwords (fourteen character passwords) and allowed us to use a centralized password management application. With DigitalPersona our organization now has more secure passwords, easier access to applications, and a password management solution.
  • Application / AD Integration
  • Simplicity of application
  • Their solution solves multiple problems
  • Easy Upgrades
  • Implementation is difficult, this is more to due to the applications than DigitalPersona. (all applications are not created equal)
  • Native Two-Factor support (client less two factor support)
  • Laptop biometrics support
It is probably more appropriate for departments that have multiple applications and where productivity is essential (a call center for example). However, every employee would benefit from this, just some groups might benefit more. If a user goes between 5 workstations or applications every day then saving that user the 15-30 seconds it takes to log in will benefit that individual more than a user that only logs into one computer once a day.

Enrollment is easy and IT departments benefit greatly because passwords are not a lot easier to manage.
Windows AD, internal applications, web pages, MFA for administrator accounts, and digital personal is acting as our Password Manager solution. We are now using DigitalPersona as the MFA token for multiple applications; VPN remote access, network access, elevated access on servers, etc. DigitalPersona supports multiple MFA methods from physical keyfobs, Fido key, but we primarily just use the DigitalPersona app.
Read Tres Coker's full review
April 21, 2020
Mauro Carrillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We made the decision to purchase the solution after a close evaluation of this product. We are currently using the biometric devices for network authentication and to allow users to login to their applications/websites using their fingerprint scanning device. It allows the users to login and authenticate without having to type their user name and password. It's also used as a password manager tool in the environment. The software manager is very intuitive and user friendly. Enrolling the fingerprints is a very easy process.
  • Network/Windows login authentication
  • Password Management
  • The Implementation process needs improvement. Working with an engineer that is not familiar with the network environment can cause some issues and delays.
  • Technical support doesn't have all the answers and can take a long time to get back to you on open tickets.
In the business world, it's a very useful tool to allow users to manage their passwords more efficiently. I wouldn't recommend this to any organization with lots of custom applications. It works well with most basic applications and web login sites. But custom applications require additional configuration from their developers and most are not supported.
The product does not work well with custom based applications. We're using it for Office365, in-house applications and thin client (web-based apps). Some of these include thin client (web-based) applications, thick client apps, cloud based apps, and any other critical system application that could potentially have any non public information.
Read Mauro Carrillo's full review
January 10, 2020
Matt Fehnel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Digital Persona for almost a decade to manage security across our organization. We have found that the ability to integrate it into our Active Directory as well as industry-specific applications has allowed us to up our security, lessen support with respect to forgotten passwords, and worry less about shared passwords or allowing access to forbidden applications.
  • Strong passwords without increasing support load on IT Staff.
  • Flexible password requirements for different levels of authentication.
  • Doesn't integrate easily with all browsers.
  • Would like more biometric functionalities (facial recognition, etc.).
It works very well with a stable workforce with low to moderate turnover. Although user setup is relatively streamlined, Digital Persona wouldn't be nearly as effective in an environment with high turnover or many independent contractors requiring access to different applications and environments inside of the organization.
We use DigitalPersona for Windows login, Office 365 management, legacy SCADA applications, AWS, in-house built Java-based applications, mobile device application management, and too many browser-based logins to count.
Read Matt Fehnel's full review
April 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization. It helps employees keep track of passwords and easy access for logging into the computer/site.
  • Easy login access. No need to look for password as DigitalPersona does that for you.
  • Its biometrics (finger reader).
  • Password Keeper
  • Safe and secure
  • Ability to access more website to save passwords.
  • It gets dirty fast. Since it is Biometric if fingers are dirty it won't read them.
It's great when you can't find a password and you need to login ASAP. DP is there to assist. When you have so many employees and the first of the month comes and they have to change their passwords, DP saves it for them for easy access next time they login. Finger reader doesn't always read your finger if your finger is dirty or the product is dirty. It's a hit or miss at times.
We use the application in the Banking field. Example: Jack Henry, Online websites and VMware vSphere Client.
Read this authenticated review
July 10, 2019
Vik Nat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of use.
  • AD integration.
  • None I can think off.
Overall happy with it. Still in Pilot so hard to give an example where it functions less appropriately. Only time will tell how it fairs. But overall we have been happy with it. Now that we are getting new laptops with biometrics scanner build into it. So we will see how it fairs.
Read Vik Nat's full review
February 22, 2019
Rob Giermek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use DigitalPersona devices system-wide for end-user authentication to our software system on kiosk systems we design and manufacture. The devices help our customers confirm the identity of the kiosk user. Our kiosk systems are utilized in rather rough environments. The DigitalPersona devices we equip in our kiosks meet and exceed our expectations. Additionally, the SDK provided by DigitalPersona allowed for seamless integration with our software.
  • High-Quality Components.
  • Excellent device integration via SDKs.
  • Good supply of components that are always in stock and available when we need more units.
  • We have not identified anything we would like to see improved at this time.
DigitalPersona is best used anywhere that biometric identity verification is required. We have not found a better product on the market thus far.
We protect our proprietary kiosk software with DigitalPersona.
Read Rob Giermek's full review
April 04, 2018
Justin Simpkinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona for our law enforcement agencies. We are able to leverage multiple forms of authentication, which, allows our end-users to pick which combination of authenticators work best for their individual preference. The software fully integrates with Active Directory and has the capability to automatically generate and store strong alphanumeric passwords. This takes the frustration out of requiring end-users to keep track of their changed passwords for those that choose this option. The implementation process was relatively painless and we had the option to have someone come on-site or assist remotely. We chose the latter. Support has been responsive and helpful the few times that I've needed it.
  • Integration with Active Directory. There is no need to maintain a separate users database.
  • Ability to pick and choose authenticators. This allows flexibility for the end-user to pick what works best for them.
  • Billing structure. Unlike other 2-factor authentication solutions, DigitalPersona is not a subscription based application.
  • A solution for administrators to log in as other users when necessary. We are a 24/7 operation and will often have laptops left for us to troubleshoot from 2nd or 3rd shift.
  • Bluetooth functionality is good but would be better if you didn't have to pair the device with each laptop before being able to use it.
  • Password manager requires authentication even when the user declines to store a password.
DigitalPersona has allowed us to offer a user-friendly 2-factor authentication solution while simultaneously providing a more secure environment for our mobile users. It is flexible in that I can decide to only allow a couple authenticators or open it up to allow many. It is not modular so you have access to all of the authentication methods without any additional cost.
Read Justin Simpkinson's full review
June 11, 2018
Tyler Largin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Digital Persona Altus is a relatively new product that was just called digital persona pro. It is being used in our company to allow our users to unlock a remote app session via their finger print. This has saved used tons of hours from having to sign in directly. We also have a large number of HR and transportation users who utilize this application to keep track of their website passwords. These departments deal with tons of third party websites that each require a separate password in order log in. Very recently we started using Digital Persona Kiosk as well. We are using it for our software based DVR. This DVR is basically a single computer that any non-technical employee can go up to and either type in their account or use their fingerprint and it will give them a controlled "operator" account to view the camera system. Overall we've seen better security and more usability than we originally expected.
  • Password randomization, to remove password all together from day to day operations.
  • Hardware support, works with every Dell we've ever purchased.
  • Security control, only specific people are allowed to enroll fingerprints for the rest of the users.
  • Kiosk support, a singular controlled account that can be logged into with any user's credentials.
  • Windows 10 support for Windows Hello For Business
  • Better support for password management. You need to be able to store a user's "saved" password somewhere other than their computer. In case the machine dies there is a backup of their passwords somewhere.
  • Better OTP, the current setup requires tons of work and only really works internally.
  • Remote enrollment, allow enrollment of credentials outside of the network and "drop them" into a user's account when they are back on site.
  • Third party password changes, if you change your password through a web server while you are off site (instead of on your computer), the password and the fingerprint scanners are out of sync and the user has to change their password again in order for it to start working again.
Altus is best suited for a full enterprise environment. It allows us to seamlessly integrate fingerprint scans into day to day interactions. However, it really isn't that great for small environments. If you are only going to use it on 5-10 people there are much simpler products available.
We are protecting our software DVR kiosk from random people messing with our camera system. We are also protecting our remote app server as well as our desktops.
Read Tyler Largin's full review
October 05, 2018
Shannon Kelman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally started using DigitalPersona for user logins but quickly found it as an easy way to allow users to log into websites which is now the most common use for it.
  • Biometric login
  • Website Authentication
  • Ease of use
  • More documentation
Well-suited for biometric login
Read Shannon Kelman's full review
June 05, 2018
Cory McCarty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, only Windows authentication and 3rd party website logins.
All users authenticate to Windows using biometric fingerprint readers. We also use password manager through the Altus console to authenticate to 3rd party websites. We have over 120 3rd party logins that we manage, so this solution saves us time logging in to 3rd party websites and applications, and also gives us a secure way to store passwords.
  • Windows authentication
  • Password management
  • multifactor authentication
  • We have issues with fingerprint misreads with our users who do not have as defined of a fingerprint
  • We also have issues with the Agent not loading in Internet Explorer consistently on some workstations.
When it works properly, I would recommend to anyone. The reason I'm rating a 6 is we have some users who don't like the solution at all because of the issues I described previously.
Read Cory McCarty's full review
March 09, 2018
jason craig | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
COHC uses digital persona in the whole company. every desk has a fingerprint reader connected to it. We use it to log into windows and also to log into our EMR program called eClinicalWorks. DP allows our users and staff to quickly log in and out of the computers in the exam rooms and also at their desks.
  • fast user switching
  • if someone is already logged in and you need to log them off and get into the computer ad your self. all you have to do is tap their finger and DP will log the other person out and log you in.
  • small form factor
  • since it's a small compact box it can pretty much be placed anywhere we need it.
  • easy to use
  • just have to tap your finger and go
  • the bottom of the reader.....I get its rubber so it can be on a desk, but in our case when I tried to glue them to the desk for security reasons, the glue wouldn't stick or double sided tape didn't even stick to the device
  • connection while in program......sometimes on a computer that has a webcam and the DP reader connected the reader doesn't work. I'm guessing because of the type
  • have it some way know when you change your password in a software that using DP readers to log into like a website. so that it changes it in the fingerprint software also like it does for windows logins
It is well suited for providers to just tap their finger to log in instead of type a password every time they need to log in.
in house windows
and out in house EMR software eClinicalWorks

Read jason craig's full review
June 05, 2018
Justin Wesselmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Core system and all of our Finance programs. We are now using DP with more cloud based programs and Anti-Virus. Mostly using it for Windows systems and websites. With more things going to sso we are finding new ways to use Digital Persona Altus so far everything is working.
DigitalPersona is being used by our entire organization. It really helps with our virtual system and when people have to change locations to help out they have all their passwords saved and easy access. This saves time and less calls to IT for forgotten passwords/resets. The program is very intuitive and once the templates are set up it is very user friendly.
  • Very intuitive.
  • Easy to get up and running.
  • Great customer support with getting things moving smoothly.
  • Overall good, none come to mind.
[DigitalPersona is well suited to] Virtual Desktops where people move around a lot. [It's less appropriate] For one person to use that only has 1 password.
Read Justin Wesselmann's full review
October 08, 2017
Tara Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona to log on to the LiveScan machine we use to fingerprint applicants. As far as I am aware we are the only department using it. It helps to alleviate the need to remember multiple passwords and it is very fast, which means the customer is in and out much quicker. Good for them, good for business.
  • This product is small, sleek, and is able to identify your print very quickly. If your IT team gets it set up for you it is a dream to use, simply put your finger on it and move on.
  • I hate having to remember passwords and in this line of business there are TONS of passwords. If you could have a device that let you in with a single print why would you not?? Everyone is worried about security and DigitalPersona helps put your mind at ease.
  • I have not had any problems, but it is important to clean the surface to ensure you are getting the best reading.
  • I did not install this device, but have heard some people say it is not as simple as plug and go, but I would not expect something that deals with security to be plug and go.
So the room in which we have our computer that DigitalPersona is connected is a room that many people have access to, but we really only want very specific people to be able to utilize the computer due to the nature of what there is access to. Without DigitalPersona anyone with access to the room would have the ability to access the secure information, but now only those with the secure fingerprint added through DigitalPersona have access. I guess if you needed more people that had access it may be less appropriate and may have a greater chance of not being as secure.
The access to DMV files, criminal files, and applicant files.
It was easy to install and use
Read Tara Smith's full review
September 06, 2017
Joseph Jeffries, RPh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] Positive ID verification in a hospital [by the] whole organization. It's required by Ohio board of pharmacy.
  • Met the board requirements at the time of implementation.
  • Financially more attractive than the competitor.
  • Company was responsive during the initial implementation.
  • We upgraded our clinical software and changed our hosting environment, upgraded to a new version and DigitalPersona did not work anymore.
  • Crossmatch did not seem to initially understand our issues and state board requirements. Nor did they understand the need for its compatibility when integrating into Citrix and remote host.
  • We were in a time crunch and we had trouble reaching the right Crossmatch people to resolve the problem.
Well suited: Retail, non Citrix environment, others where using Active Directory is not an issue, a place that realizes you should not clean the readers with alcohol

Less appropriate: Hospital pharmacy, hospital with specific board requirements, Citrix environment, a place where user might use alcohol to clean the reader
Read Joseph Jeffries, RPh's full review
September 06, 2017
darrell isnor | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalPersona has been used for many years by many users across the Government of Alberta to align fingerprint authentication with government identities as well as a convenience for application authentication. The new versions of the product are expanding to other methods of authentication that are being explored by the organization such as Bluetooth proximity authentication for devices such as tablets that do not have fingerprint reader hardware.
  • Fingerprint reader hardware compatibility
  • Multiple authentication options
  • Roaming user data shared between devices
  • Reliable infrastructure easy to support
  • Easily accessible management audit logging
  • Software distribution improvements
  • Optimized customer pages describing best options for the platform installed on
DigitalPersona is best suited for people who have to authenticate to many applications often on some form of physical hardware. It is also well suited for places where passwords are required to be complex, long and changed often. It is not suited for VDI environments or places where specific types of multi-factor authentication are used.
Read darrell isnor's full review

What is HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch)?

The HID DigitalPersona software (formerly Crossmatch) offers a way to provide authentication services to users. Whereas traditional 2FA/MFA solutions are stuck on “what you have/what you know”, DigitalPersona leverages an array of authentication methods designed so users can quickly and easily gain access to their cloud applications, such as Microsoft 365, VPNs, corporate networks, Windows desktops, and Citrix applications. The vendor states that while balancing security and usability, the solution employs one of the widest arrays of authentication factors in the industry. This includes one-time passwords, mobile-based push, smartcards, USB keys, risk- and context-based methods, and biometrics, such as fingerprint, face, and behavioral keystroke.
Categories:  Authentication

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Features

Has featureDeploys on Windows Active Directory or LDS server
Has featureAllows for app integration using SAML protocol
Has featureHas a user-friendly interface for easy self-enrollment of credentials and authentication policy enforcement
Has featureProvides a browser-based SSO Portal for accessing SAML-enabled apps
Has featureOffers an optional Password Manager feature to randomize and auto-fill passwords in authentication fields
Has featureAvailable in a variety of software models: SSO, Windows Logon, Premium Edition, and as part of the HID ActivOne solution

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Video

HID Global product experts walk through the admin and end-user views of the DigitalPersona UI with a robust mix of deployable authentication factors. See how the solution addresses single sign-on, multifactor authentication, cloud applications and mobile security.

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Downloadables

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Competitors

The Okta Identity Cloud, Imprivata OneSign, Idaptive Next-Gen Access (formerly Centrify)

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:Most Countries except companies included in US Embargo

Frequently Asked Questions

What is HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch)?

HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) provides a comprehensive multi-factor authentication solution. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution frees users from cumbersome login activities while making it easy for an IT Team to secure access to their networks, data and applications.

What is HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch)?

The most common users of HID DigitalPersona (formerly Crossmatch) are from Mid-size Companies and the Banking industry.