IBM FlashSystem

IBM FlashSystem

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
IBM FlashSystem

Overview

Recent Reviews

It's Reliable and Easy to Use

10 out of 10
March 21, 2022
To achieve the business result, IBM FlashSystem 7200 has been implemented in our project for [six months] for critical production …
Continue reading

Manages the Management

8 out of 10
January 24, 2022
I worked as a designer and also on animations. We used to face issues with data on day to day basis. How would I explain this product? …
Continue reading

A fantastic business outcome

10 out of 10
January 13, 2022
To automate and [optimize] our business processes, we employ the IBM Flash System 7200. It's a fantastic storage repository that all of …
Continue reading

farther dependable

8 out of 10
January 12, 2022
It's fairly useful in terms of furnishing support for a service that we used for about seven months. It lowered the trouble demanded …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022

Popular Features

View all 6 features

Flash Array Performance (105)

8.7
87%

Flash Array Integration (106)

8.7
87%

Data Compression (104)

8.7
87%

Simplicity (108)

8.7
87%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of IBM FlashSystem, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is IBM FlashSystem?

IBM's FlashSystem is a flash array storage option.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Features Scorecard

Enterprise Flash Array Storage

8.6
86%

Product Details

What is IBM FlashSystem?

IBM FlashSystem is a comprehensive, all-flash storage portfolio that promises the following benefits and capabilities:

Engineered to meet modern high-performance application requirements

Ultra-low latency, cost-effectiveness, operational efficiency, and mission-critical reliability are built in to every all-flash storage solution and all-flash array


The most comprehensive all-flash storage portfolio

IBM is uniquely able to deliver all-flash solutions tailored to your storage environments and workloads. IBM financing and payment options are available.


Industry-leading technology supported by guarantees

Endurance, performance and compression are guaranteed, and IBM offers extended support and maintenance

IBM FlashSystem Features

  • Supported: FlashCore Modules
  • Supported: FCM inline compression
  • Supported: high performance deduplication

IBM FlashSystem Screenshots

IBM-FS-900FlashSystem V9000IBM FlashSystemFlashSystem A9000

IBM FlashSystem Competitors

  • HPE Nimble Storage
  • Pure Storage Flash arrays
  • Dell EMC PowerMax
  • Dell EMC XtremeIO
  • Dell EMC VMax

IBM FlashSystem Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is IBM FlashSystem?

IBM's FlashSystem is a flash array storage option.

What are IBM FlashSystem's top competitors?

HPE Nimble Storage are common alternatives for IBM FlashSystem.

What is IBM FlashSystem's best feature?

Reviewers rate Flash Array Performance and Flash Array Integration and Data Compression highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses IBM FlashSystem?

The most common users of IBM FlashSystem are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Unknown industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (232)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 120)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For medium and large applications that require elite execution memory for their applications and information, a few venture groups in my firm employ the IBM Flash System 5000. It has aided us in matching client expectations for further enhanced business conveyance while also improving the overall speed and execution of major applications.
  • Every critical application maintains a high level of performance.
  • The transfer of assets is fantastic.
  • The group will necessitate a significant amount of planning and comprehension.
  • The FS5200 has no shortcomings when compared to prior FlashSystems or Storwize systems.
It necessitates rapid memory to process and executes a large number of transactions in a short period of time while maintaining excellent end-client help accessibility. IBM Flash System 5000 provides dependability, excellent execution, and adaptability all under one roof.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To achieve the business outcome, IBM FlashSystem 7200 was used in our project [for] six months in key production environments. To manage the corporate workload, this software offers the best repository system and high performance. This device is dependable and stable, and it provides excellent system performance.
  • Recovering from a disaster
  • Replication and migration of data
  • iSCSI Extensions for RDMA are supported by the IBM FlashSystem 7200.
  • Initial deployment and configuration training is a little pricey.
For the past six months, we've been utilising this software in our projects to manage a significant workload and deliver quick business results for a key production database. As of now, we've had excellent results with the IBM FlashSystem 7200, which provides good performance as well as compression. The outcome and performance of this product have left our clients completely happy.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A few venture groups in my firm use IBM Flash System 5000 for medium and enormous applications that request elite execution memory for their applications and information. It has supported the improvement of in general speed and execution of significant applications, as well as assisting us with meeting client assumptions for further developed business conveyance.
  • It keeps an elevated degree of execution for every single key application
  • Asset conveyance is brilliant
  • The group will require a lot of preparing and understanding
It requires quick memory to process and execute an enormous number of exchanges in a short measure of time while keeping up with high help accessibility for end clients. Under one rooftop, IBM Flash System 5000 gives dependability, superior execution, and adaptability.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To achieve the business result, IBM FlashSystem 7200 has been implemented in our project for [six months] for critical production environments. This product offers the best repository system as well as high performance for managing business workloads. This product is dependable and stable, and it provides the best system performance.
  • Reconstruction after a disaster
  • Advanced SAS Connectivity Training is required for initial deployment and configuration.
  • iSCSI Extensions for RDMA are also supported by the IBM FlashSystem 7200.
We've been using this product in our projects for the last six months to manage a heavy workload and get quick business results for the critical production database. As of now, we have had excellent results with the IBM FlashSystem 7200, which provides high performance as well as compression capabilities. Our clients are completely satisfied with the outcome and performance of this product.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IBM Flash System 7200 is used by our company to improve and optimize our business processes. It's a fantastic storage repository that all of our company's IT departments use. Its quick performance helped us compress data, and it's also useful for storage efficiency. VMware integration is also possible.
  • Performing at a high rate.
  • It has compression and replication capabilities.
  • More information should be included in need reports.
  • The implementation of this application is difficult.
We've been using this solution in our projects for the last six months to manage a huge workload and generate quick business results for a vital production database. We now have a positive experience with IBM Flash System 7200, which provides good performance as well as compression capabilities. Our customers are really pleased with the outcome and performance of this product.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's pretty beneficial in phrases of supplying help for a provider that we used for it for approximately about 12 months. It diminished the attempt required to behavior duties and replica data. Its AI is the maximum important because the selections made are really actual and greater green at work. It's one of the maximum brilliant IBM merchandise I've ever seen. That's very incredible.
  • It's perfection
  • The pace at it works
  • Product performance is very high
  • The accuracy of the product sets high standards
  • When as compared to different digital electricity systems, it is also short and has minimum latency.
It is greater dependable, its precision is phenomenal, and its overall output is world-class. It may be the maximum aggressive of all of the digital strength structures, and its connectivity seems to be sufficient. It is likewise on hand at a low fee, but having this many structures with better performance at a decreased fee is sufficient. A minor factor to word is that during a small [percentage] of cases, it can turn out to be caught because of immoderate use, which includes stressed paintings, inflicting paintings disruption.
Charles Levy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I recently replaced a Gen1 V5000 with a FS5200 filled with 9.6TB Flashcore Modules(FCM). This is in an IBM iSeries environment. They are using the IBM FSFC Toolkit for backups. We went from 14u of rack space with 22TB useable to 1u of rack space with 77TB useable. The system cut 12 hours off their full system nightly backups. Performance improved from up to 6ms latency to 0ms. The FCM are also achieving 2.2/1 compression with zero performance penalty.
  • Distributed RAID6
  • FCM Compression w/zero performance penalty
  • Rack space Savings
  • Compared to previous FlashSystems or Storwize systems, the FS5200 lacks for nothing.
IBM FlashSystem 5200 is well suited for remote locations, where performance and advanced features provide a subsystem that can support both iSeries and Open Systems access. It is also applicable to data center workloads that require modest performance along with enterprise features.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several project teams in my firm use IBM Flash System 5000 for medium and large applications that demand high-performance memory for their applications and data. It has aided in the improvement of overall speed and performance of important applications, as well as helping us meet client expectations for improved business delivery.
  • It maintains a high level of performance for all key applications
  • Resource distribution is excellent
  • The team will require a significant amount of training and understanding
It necessitates rapid memory in order to process and execute a large number of transactions in a short amount of time while maintaining high service availability for end-users. Under one roof, IBM Flash System 5000 provides stability, high performance, and scalability.
January 24, 2022

Manages the Management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I worked as a designer and also on animations. We used to face issues with data on day to day basis. How would I explain this product? Let's say the IBM FlashSystem 5000 is a family of all-flash and hybrid-flash solutions that simplify data delivery, enable real-time analytics, accelerate virtualization and cloud deployments, improve disaster recovery time and reduce IT infrastructure costs. The FlashSystem portfolio combines enterprise-class reliability with built-in data services to achieve the best balance of performance, capacity, cost efficiency, and data services for your most demanding workloads.
  • Content Catching
  • Data Services
  • Data Management
  • Smooth Storage
  • Data caching can be improved a bit.
The IBM FlashSystem 5000 is a family of all-flash and hybrid-flash solutions that simplify data delivery, enable real-time analytics, accelerate virtualization and cloud deployments, improve disaster recovery time and reduce IT infrastructure costs. The FlashSystem portfolio combines enterprise-class reliability with built-in data services to achieve the best balance of performance, capacity, cost efficiency, and data services for your most demanding workloads. It is best suited for organizations with a huge chunk of data and struggling with Data Management For individuals it might not be the solution, in case large data can come in handy.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IBM FlashSystem 5000 is a storage subsystem, so, its main purpose is to store data and keep it secure while it is accessed by end-users. Knowing that, it is important to note that IBM has made great efforts to show the ease of use for a piece of hardware that has such importance within an organization. If you need to provide space for new applications or projects, IBM FlashSystem 5000 is easy while providing good performance for daily operations. During benchmarks we have had made while migrating data to this subsystem, many customers had shown good impressions for the response times of their internal processes after they reside inside IBM FlashSystem 5000. Like I said, for the variety of options the IBM FlashSystem 5000 possesses, like Data Migration, Data Replication, or integration with other technologies (like VMware through VVOL/VASA), it is easy and fast to learn and manage by a Storage Admin. Also, because IBM FlashSystem 5000 is located and categorized as an Entry-Level, it is a good candidate for small-medium organizations that need a robust solution to protect their data against issues, like accidental deletion or cyberattacks.
  • Ease of use
  • Good Performance
  • Scalable
  • Improved Cloud integration
  • Improved internal Dashboard (it is better to use other alternatives, like Storage Insights)
  • Activate Safeguard Copy from the box, without the necessity of IBM Copy Services Manager (CSM). CSM could be later added, for restore purposes, but backup could easily be initiated from the framework itself
Like I mentioned before, IBM FlashSystem 5000 is great for small-medium companies who which to have good hardware to store their data and have it accessible and secure. But there are several models within the IBM FlashSystem 5000 family so it could be reduced for a maximum of 2 models (right now are 3). This could simplify the decision-making process to choose a model. Once the IBM FlashSystem 5000 is in place, it will greatly help during the data migration process, so customers will see there are no “headaches” in this critical step of the project. Later, to take great advantage of the solution, replicate it to another IBM FlashSystem 5000 for high availability; the implementation is also easy and can be either fiber channel or iSCSI (TCP/IP) which reduce cost significantly and without impacting performance. Although the IBM FlashSystem 5000 could be used in an AS400 environment, I will recommend used it better for Windows/Linux environments, including Hypervisors (like VMware). The reason is, AS400 will benefit much more from a storage subsystem with more resources (remember that IBM IBM FlashSystem 50000 is Entry-Level) so, even working with Flash Drives technologies, maybe another model like IBM FlashSystem 7200 or IBM FlashSystem 9200 are more according to it.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To automate and [optimize] our business processes, we employ the IBM Flash System 7200. It's a fantastic storage repository that all of our company's IT departments rely on. Its quick performance helped us compress data, and it's also useful for storage efficiency. VMware integration is also possible, which is perfect.
  • Its user interface is simple.
  • Reduce storage latency to boost application performance.
  • Initial setup and deployment.
This is an outstanding recommended option for storage and low latency as a high-performance tool with the capability to [optimize] our [organization]. It's perfect for anyone who wants to get client data to them rapidly. However, the feature of it that I despise the most is its reports, because I expected more extensive reports rather than superficial ones.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's fairly useful in terms of furnishing support for a service that we used for about seven months. It lowered the trouble demanded to conduct tasks and dupe data. Its AI is the most important, as the opinions made are truly authentic. and more effective at work. It's one of the most emotional IBM products I've ever seen. That's truly implausible.
  • Usage is effective
  • Less power consumption
  • User friendly
  • When compared to other virtual power systems, it is usually quick and has minimal latency.
It is due to its precision, efficiency, and speed. It's been quite beneficial to our business, allowing us to complete a limited number of duties in less time, and it's been our first pick because it's the greatest. The price is likewise reasonable, and it is simple to maintain, therefore it is the only option
January 12, 2022

farther dependable

Anand Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's fairly useful in terms of furnishing support for a service that we used for about seven months. It lowered the trouble demanded to conduct tasks and dupe data. Its AI is the most important, as the opinions made are truly authentic. and more effective at work. It's one of the most emotional IBM products I've ever seen. That's truly implausible.
  • Less power consumption
  • User friendly
  • Usage is effective
  • When compared to other virtual power systems, it is usually quick and has minimal latency.
  • Its perfection and responsibility set it piecemeal.
It's possible that it'll come wedged as a result of [the] increased operation. It only happens in exceptional circumstances and for a limited time. It isn't a disadvantage, although it may beget job dislocation. Its services and performance are excellent.
Alexandru Costea | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Storage is used for its traditional purpose as storage. We use svc on top to extend virtualization. Storage is used across most of the landscape. Usage depends on [the] project and role requesting access to it as most of the roles have specific usage and loads that dictate the way we share the load on storage.
  • Interface
  • Ease of implementation.
  • Automated troubleshooting.
  • Performance report out of the box.
  • Interface slow due to animation
  • Advanced troubleshooting requires CLI instead of GUI.
  • More easy to follow resources on CLI.
Best suited - Where budget is tight and the expectation can be met by using this tier of storage - not all features are required - also ease of usage and implementation is a key feature that should be taken [into] account as not very specialized administrator is needed not suited - performance demands and features required are higher than v5000 - also I do not advise implementation if all features are used as scalability will be an issue in the future.
January 07, 2022

Ibm Fash system rocks!

Anurag Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We support customers and resolve their issues the tools we use are on the cloud platform and they run using the IBM flash system 5000
  • Simplification of data delivery
  • Ease of storage
  • Best balance of performance
  • Affordable
  • Good for entry work load
  • It can scale up the storage capacity
  • Needs an internal scheduler
  • Need to add some protection features
It is a good entry-level storage system
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IBM Flash System 5000 product is helpful in terms of giving support to a service that we use for around twelve months. It decreases the amount of effort necessary to perform chores and replicates the data. Because the selections made are actually truthful and greener at work, the technology utilized in this system is of the utmost importance. It's one of the most impressive IBM products that I have come across.
  • The building of the product is awesome.
  • It's storehouse
  • It's availableness
  • The pace at it operates
  • Network delay
  • Has to work on rate of giving the desired result
The first thing I noticed about its storage was its design and architecture, which has a higher level of dependability, excellent precision, and world-class level overall performance. It appears to be the most aggressive of all the digital energy architectures, with appropriate connectivity. It is also accessible at a cheaper level of the prize; but, having this many structures with a greater performance at a lower cost is available to others.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilized IBM Flash System 7200 in our project for important production conditions to meet the business goal. This software provides the best repository system and great performance for managing corporate workload. It reduced the amount of effort required to complete assignments and duplicate data. Its AI is the most important factor, as the decisions made are more accurate and effective at work.
  • The amount of power [consumption] is reducing.
  • NV Memory Optimized From Start to End
  • friendly to the user.
  • Need some training for Initial deployment.
  • The cost is a little more.
As a high-performance tool with the capacity to optimize our organization, this is an excellent recommended solution for storage and low latency. We have a positive experience with IBM Flash System 7200, which provides good performance as well as compression features. Our customers are really pleased with the outcome and performance of this product.
Junaid Khalid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem 7200 is configured as tier 0 in our production environment and is providing for the high-performance requirements for the OLTP systems. All our boot volumes are also configured on this system for a robust system boot. This helps us to keep the latency under 1 millisecond for our most critical workloads.
  • provides the end to end NVMe, that combined with our NVMe enabled hosts and SAN directors to provide amazing performance
  • Storage Class memory also adds to the ultralow latency
  • the immutable copy features help us to keep a golden copy at all times to protect against the cyber attacks
  • Data Reduction pools are handy, but they lack the support for vvols
  • SAN BOOT is not supported for certain AIX versions when connected using the NVME/FC protocol
  • Maintenance can be made easier
  • TCO can be brought down as compared to competition
In our case, the IBM Flash System 7200 offers high performance and adds storage optimizations along with compression features, and is configured behind svc as a Tier0 high-performance device. The Fiber Channel and NVMe allow us to implement a large number of disk arms, which leads to higher performance with more spindles. Its AI is the foremost imperative, as the choices made are really true and more proficient at work. IBM Flash System 7200 is well suited in medium-sized organizations which have the need to replicate and store a large amount of data with or even without cloud capabilities.
Konstantinos Bardavouras | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Storwize V7000 Gen3 control enclosure along with IBM Spectrum Virtualize software which provides the following functions for the host systems that attach to the system: A single pool of storage Logical unit virtualization Management of logical volumes Mirroring of logical volumes With this solution we cover SAP-HANA storage needs for one large customer.
  • Large scalable cache
  • Data migration
  • Management of logical volumes
  • Only block storage
  • Suitable for smaller environments with performance tolerance
IBM FlashSystem 7200 is well suited for Easy operations Friendly UI Applications with the needs of FLASH storage and NVME protocol. IBM FlashSystem is less appropriate for: Large Organizations High performance needs like latency Applications like Oracle DB etc
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's pretty beneficial in terms of presenting help for a carrier that we using for 2 years. It decreased the attempt required to behavior obligations and duplicate data. Its AI is the maximum important because the choices made are simply genuine and extra green at work. It's one of the maximum superb IBM merchandise I've ever seen. That's very incredible.
  • Speed
  • Performance
  • Architecture
  • Network issues
  • Lag when heated up
It is extra dependable, its precision is exceptional, and its overall performance is world-class. It could be the maximum aggressive of all of the digital strength structures, and its connectivity seems to be adequate. It is likewise handy at a low price, but having this many structures with better performance at a [decreased] fee is sufficient. A minor factor to word is that during a small [percentage] of cases, it can end up caught because of immoderate use.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM's Flash system 5000 is beneficial in phrases of imparting assist for a carrier that we used for approximately seven months. It reduced the attempt required to behavior duties and replica data. The technology used in this system is the maximum important because the selections made are genuinely true and greater green at work. It's one of the maximum spectacular IBM merchandise I've ever seen. That's very incredible.
  • Architecture and its build
  • Storage
  • Availability and service
  • Speed
  • Performance
  • Network lagging
The first thing I liked in this storage is its build and architecture and is having greater dependency, its precision is exceptional, and its overall performance is world-class. It might be the maximum aggressive of all of the digital energy structures, and its connectivity seems to be adequate. It is likewise available at a low value, however, having this many structures with better performance at a [decreased] value is sufficient.
Suyog Marathe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The webserver needs to be improved. Mobile app access for monitoring purposes. Mapping of volumes to host should be more transparent. Volumes clubbed together to form Volume groups at OS level, if this can be seen in [the] web browser interface would be a great feature. Enforce users to have secured second-factor authentication.
  • Visualize total storage consumption on bar graph.
  • Login screen is very friendly.
  • Diagnostics available.
  • Multi factor authentication.
  • Volume to VG at OS mapping.
  • More roles for users.
It makes things easy for new systems storage creation.
December 28, 2021

IBM flash system 5000

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our IBM cloud System, [the] P server's space is allocated from flash system 5000 with Tier 1 and Tier 3 options. Tier I [is] used for high read and write operations on disks, Cost is very high and Tier 3 used for application servers, read and write operations are less and cost also less.
  • Reliability
  • Easy to use tools
  • Performance is very good
  • Data retrieving is slow
  • It takes time to setup and understand software tools.
  • Heat issues
We are currently using IBM flash system 5000 in IBM Cloud infrastructure support Power Servers.
Honore Haguma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We haven't yet faced any issues with this IBM product I really like it with good graphic user interface and better monitoring IOPS, Mbps, nvm, mirroring option, cloning, easy tier,...... it is very speed once it came with SSD I would recommend to use this product as best storage ever.
  • Storage virtualization
  • NVMeoF
  • Backup
IBM flash system is well suited to any kind of industry.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem 7200 is being used in my projects in production to manage large Oracle database and SAP applications to get the high data processing speed.
  • IBM FlashSystem 7200 is NVMe-optimized
  • High performance
  • Power saving
  • Data migration and replication
  • Cost
  • Training is need for installation
  • It's not well designed for a small data company
  • Outstanding high performance and value for money.
  • Nice backend supports by IBM for any particular issue/concern.
  • We are using this product for our production Oracle database and SAP application to maintain millions of operations with high system performance to growth in business productivity.