IBM FlashSystem Reviews

39 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Richy Peebles | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

Very satisfied IBM FlashSystem customer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem is used as storage for our JD Edwards Enterprise One systems and our data warehouse. External storage opened up new opportunities that we didn't have with internal storage.
  • Speed, very fast
  • Built in compression is the best I've seen for IBM data
  • Some interfaces require IP address only, need to be able to use a DNS name. NTP and SMTP are the main ones here.
If using IBM FlashSystems, external storage is now the way to go. A lot of options available with external storage compared to internal storage. Before Flash storage was so much more expensive, not feasible for small shops, now a better value than a spinning disk or SSD.
Read Richy Peebles's full review
Dana Rafiee | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

FlashSystem Viewpoints from Destiny Corporation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem is currently in use by our clients. We recommended it and have it as part of our reference architecture to support advanced analytics. It has performed well over the past several years. All clients continue to upgrade their systems as we go from SCSI to the new NVMe-oF capabilities.
  • Sequential read writes
  • Full Table Scans from a database
  • Long lasting storage that rarely fails
  • Workspace use for temporary tables
  • IBM FlashSystem needs to better differentiate itself from commodity SSDs as clients do not typically understand the difference.
  • IBM's software stack needs to be better marketed as clients do not understand the benefits of the stack combined with the hardware.
  • IBM should explain to clients the difference between the V7000 Gen 3 and the FS 9100 series. Currently, it is confusing to clients.
IBM FlashSystem is well suited for heavy analytic workloads created by applications such as SAS Institute software. It is a great candidate where large amounts of data need to be analyzed and scanned. It is also well suited for use with Power 9 systems that can handle the extra throughput. When used with x86/x64 style Intel systems, it will remove all latency from disk, which will flood the Intel CPUs with data, which may require upgrading the Intel systems.
Read Dana Rafiee's full review
Leonardo Molinares Meza | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Real Benefits of FlashStorage Technology

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Currently, there is an IBM FlashSystem that supports corporate information systems in which operations related to the implemented databases are executed. The FlashSystem accelerated the transactions and improved the response times of the applications. IBM FlashSystem 900 is currently deployed with connections to AIX and IBM i servers through an 8 Gbps SAN network.
  • Decreased latency
  • Increase in the number of I/O operations
  • Support for file type workloads
  • Integration with management tools
  • Interfaces with infrastructure standards generated by code
You can get many benefits in database environments, but it is not recommended for environments with file type workloads.
Read Leonardo Molinares Meza's full review
Aman Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Boost Your Business Speed with IBM Flash Systems

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem is used to enhance the business processes and reduce duration for batch jobs,
  • Reduces application latency
  • Reduces batch process duration
  • Secure and reliable
  • Data reduction capabilities helps in storing less in more
  • Reduced foot print
  • Three way DR capabiity
  • Performance when using DRP pools
  • Compression cards in SVC should be capable to handle more load
To improve application processes, batch processes, tier for metadata
Read Aman Kumar's full review
Alexandra Wedderburn | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

IBM FlashSystem-Security Unmatched

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem provides a secure way to transmit information and documents within our organization. Procedures used internally can be used in a variety of our labs.
  • Secure flash drives
  • IBM FlashSystem is able to store large volumes of data
  • IBM FlashSystem does not delete your stored data if removed improperly
  • The system could be more compact
  • Storage could be increased
  • Advertised low power consumption, however, battery seems to decrease faster than desired
IBM FlashSystem is well suited for transmitting data internally within an organization. I would not suggest using it to transmit information between organizations for security purposes. Great for larger companies that need to share data across distances.
Read Alexandra Wedderburn's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

A9000 for fun and profit

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The FlashSystem is being used as storage for one of our ERP systems. It addresses DR, BC and performance and allows the system to scale further.
  • Performance is incredible.
  • Initial set up was relatively easy.
  • For basic tasks, the management interface is easy to use.
  • The HSM has some shortcomings in capacity reporting.
  • Setting up mirrored relationships is a lot more hassle than it should be.
  • The errors returned are sometimes not very useful.
For general storage where performance is a consideration, the IBM FlashSystem is great. For common workloads, it's a best in class solution. Do not use in wet environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2019

The world of Flash

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s being used for Oracle RAC databases with high intensive writes and reads.
  • Database queries
  • Database reads and writes
  • Oracle RAC installment
  • When flashcard applications notice performance latency
  • Make a copy of the data to the other flash cards faster
We had an Oracle database that was encountering high writes and we moved those vdisks to Flash. When moving the vdisks to Flash the high write responses gotten better.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

IBM FlashSystem works GREAT!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by two of our major applications to provide high availability, uptime, and fast processing.
  • Speed of access
  • Reliability
  • Easy to manage
  • More reporting ability
  • More advanced GUI features
  • More built-in troubleshooting tools
It is well suited for OLTP (online transaction processing). We have major applications using Oracle DBs and they perform very well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2019

Copy In A Flash

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FlashSystem is used to make backup copies for our databases, along with copying datasets to move to replication sites. FlashSystem is being used by the Data Storage Management team, the Database Administration Team, and the Mainframe Management Team to copy log datasets.
  • FlashSystem saves processing times when making backups.
  • Easily accessible during a Disaster Recovery exercise, along with database recovery.
  • No comment. I'm pretty pleased with FlashSystem. It's reliable and user friendly,.
FlashSystem is suited well for all environments with hundreds to thousands of databases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2019

FlashSystem remain competitive despite strong market competition

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem is being used for verification testing and competitive analysis so we can help our partners/ customers make the right decision for their business
  • It has sufficient availability
  • It has a comprehensive service/ support
  • It offers clients a solution from an established vendor they feel they can trust
  • It has a well-known brand
  • Price and cost are major concerns and can be significantly improved
  • Its brand in developing countries/ lesser know parts of the world isn’t as strong as others
  • Improved openness and compatibility with other platforms is always a major plus
It’s well-suite in legacy environments where older applications are being run and it is connected to other IBM equipment.
Less suited in environments running more up to date cloud applications where brown-field equipment is dominant
Read this authenticated review

IBM FlashSystem Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (2)
8.6
Flash Array Integration (2)
7.7
Data Compression (2)
7.3
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (2)
8.2
Simplicity (2)
7.7
Power Savings (2)
8.2

About IBM FlashSystem

IBM FlashSystem is a comprehensive, all-flash storage portfolio that promises the following benefits and capabilities:

Engineered to meet modern high-performance application requirements

Ultra-low latency, cost-effectiveness, operational efficiency, and mission-critical reliability are built in to every all-flash storage solution and all-flash array


The most comprehensive all-flash storage portfolio

IBM is uniquely able to deliver all-flash solutions tailored to your storage environments and workloads. IBM financing and payment options are available.


Industry-leading technology supported by guarantees

Endurance, performance and compression are guaranteed, and IBM offers extended support and maintenance

IBM FlashSystem Features

Has featureFlashCore Modules
Has featureFCM inline compression
Has featurehigh performance deduplication

IBM FlashSystem Screenshots

IBM FlashSystem Competitors

HPE Nimble Storage, Pure Storage Flash arrays, Dell EMC PowerMax, Dell EMC XtremeIO, Dell EMC VMax

IBM FlashSystem Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English