IBM FlashSystem Reviews

39 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 15, 2020
Richy Peebles | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem is used as storage for our JD Edwards Enterprise One systems and our data warehouse. External storage opened up new opportunities that we didn't have with internal storage.
  • Speed, very fast
  • Built in compression is the best I've seen for IBM data
  • Some interfaces require IP address only, need to be able to use a DNS name. NTP and SMTP are the main ones here.
If using IBM FlashSystems, external storage is now the way to go. A lot of options available with external storage compared to internal storage. Before Flash storage was so much more expensive, not feasible for small shops, now a better value than a spinning disk or SSD.
We upgraded from V9000 to IMB FlashSystem and didn't expect to see a significant improvement. It turns out there are a lot of improvements, not just a slight boost in performance. The compression is the biggest improvement. Another great feature is the ability to add additional storage without downtime.
Read Richy Peebles's full review
June 26, 2019
Dana Rafiee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem is currently in use by our clients. We recommended it and have it as part of our reference architecture to support advanced analytics. It has performed well over the past several years. All clients continue to upgrade their systems as we go from SCSI to the new NVMe-oF capabilities.
  • Sequential read writes
  • Full Table Scans from a database
  • Long lasting storage that rarely fails
  • Workspace use for temporary tables
  • IBM FlashSystem needs to better differentiate itself from commodity SSDs as clients do not typically understand the difference.
  • IBM's software stack needs to be better marketed as clients do not understand the benefits of the stack combined with the hardware.
  • IBM should explain to clients the difference between the V7000 Gen 3 and the FS 9100 series. Currently, it is confusing to clients.
IBM FlashSystem is well suited for heavy analytic workloads created by applications such as SAS Institute software. It is a great candidate where large amounts of data need to be analyzed and scanned. It is also well suited for use with Power 9 systems that can handle the extra throughput. When used with x86/x64 style Intel systems, it will remove all latency from disk, which will flood the Intel CPUs with data, which may require upgrading the Intel systems.
When performing benchmark tests with analytics and ETL software such as Data Stage, Informatica, SAS, and Python, the runtimes of the jobs have drastically decreased. Recent tests show a 41% reduction in execution time. Across many analysts, this is a drastic increase in their abilities as they optimize their workloads. This removal of latency also frees up server workloads, helping organizations with server uptime and less crashes.
Read Dana Rafiee's full review
May 22, 2019
Leonardo Molinares Meza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Currently, there is an IBM FlashSystem that supports corporate information systems in which operations related to the implemented databases are executed. The FlashSystem accelerated the transactions and improved the response times of the applications. IBM FlashSystem 900 is currently deployed with connections to AIX and IBM i servers through an 8 Gbps SAN network.
  • Decreased latency
  • Increase in the number of I/O operations
  • Support for file type workloads
  • Integration with management tools
  • Interfaces with infrastructure standards generated by code
You can get many benefits in database environments, but it is not recommended for environments with file type workloads.
The characteristics associated with high performance have allowed us to decrease the response times of the applications, we have been able to better use the CPU cycles of the servers, and have increased the in-process transactions that run in batch mode. For virtualized environments with VMware, substantial improvement in execution is observed.
Read Leonardo Molinares Meza's full review
May 10, 2019
Aman Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem is used to enhance the business processes and reduce duration for batch jobs,
  • Reduces application latency
  • Reduces batch process duration
  • Secure and reliable
  • Data reduction capabilities helps in storing less in more
  • Reduced foot print
  • Three way DR capabiity
  • Performance when using DRP pools
  • Compression cards in SVC should be capable to handle more load
To improve application processes, batch processes, tier for metadata
Read Aman Kumar's full review
May 02, 2019
Alexandra Wedderburn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem provides a secure way to transmit information and documents within our organization. Procedures used internally can be used in a variety of our labs.
  • Secure flash drives
  • IBM FlashSystem is able to store large volumes of data
  • IBM FlashSystem does not delete your stored data if removed improperly
  • The system could be more compact
  • Storage could be increased
  • Advertised low power consumption, however, battery seems to decrease faster than desired
IBM FlashSystem is well suited for transmitting data internally within an organization. I would not suggest using it to transmit information between organizations for security purposes. Great for larger companies that need to share data across distances.
Currently we do not have high data volumes, however, IBM flashSystem incorporates all of our memory storage needs.
Read Alexandra Wedderburn's full review
April 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The FlashSystem is being used as storage for one of our ERP systems. It addresses DR, BC and performance and allows the system to scale further.
  • Performance is incredible.
  • Initial set up was relatively easy.
  • For basic tasks, the management interface is easy to use.
  • The HSM has some shortcomings in capacity reporting.
  • Setting up mirrored relationships is a lot more hassle than it should be.
  • The errors returned are sometimes not very useful.
For general storage where performance is a consideration, the IBM FlashSystem is great. For common workloads, it's a best in class solution. Do not use in wet environments.
Preliminary tests indicate that we should see substantial application performance benefits, but we have not put the systems into production yet.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM FlashSystem is being used for verification testing and competitive analysis so we can help our partners/ customers make the right decision for their business
  • It has sufficient availability
  • It has a comprehensive service/ support
  • It offers clients a solution from an established vendor they feel they can trust
  • It has a well-known brand
  • Price and cost are major concerns and can be significantly improved
  • Its brand in developing countries/ lesser know parts of the world isn’t as strong as others
  • Improved openness and compatibility with other platforms is always a major plus
It’s well-suite in legacy environments where older applications are being run and it is connected to other IBM equipment.
Less suited in environments running more up to date cloud applications where brown-field equipment is dominant
Read this authenticated review
May 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s being used for Oracle RAC databases with high intensive writes and reads.
  • Database queries
  • Database reads and writes
  • Oracle RAC installment
  • When flashcard applications notice performance latency
  • Make a copy of the data to the other flash cards faster
We had an Oracle database that was encountering high writes and we moved those vdisks to Flash. When moving the vdisks to Flash the high write responses gotten better.
We use FlashSystem on all high write intense Oracle databases.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by two of our major applications to provide high availability, uptime, and fast processing.
  • Speed of access
  • Reliability
  • Easy to manage
  • More reporting ability
  • More advanced GUI features
  • More built-in troubleshooting tools
It is well suited for OLTP (online transaction processing). We have major applications using Oracle DBs and they perform very well.
We've seen major performance improvements. Application backups that took hours before moving to flash now take minutes.
Read this authenticated review
April 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FlashSystem is used to make backup copies for our databases, along with copying datasets to move to replication sites. FlashSystem is being used by the Data Storage Management team, the Database Administration Team, and the Mainframe Management Team to copy log datasets.
  • FlashSystem saves processing times when making backups.
  • Easily accessible during a Disaster Recovery exercise, along with database recovery.
  • No comment. I'm pretty pleased with FlashSystem. It's reliable and user friendly,.
FlashSystem is suited well for all environments with hundreds to thousands of databases.
By using FlashSystem, we have reduced the runtime significantly in running regular image copies and dataset backups.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM FlashSystem for our electronic medial records application. It requires low latency storage.
  • Fast
  • Low latency
  • Easy
  • Resiliency
We have had two IBM FlashSystem 840s fail in four years. It needs to be more resilient.
Read this authenticated review

IBM FlashSystem Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (2)
8.5
Flash Array Integration (2)
7.9
Data Compression (2)
7.6
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (2)
8.2
Simplicity (2)
7.6
Power Savings (2)
7.9

What is IBM FlashSystem?

IBM FlashSystem is a comprehensive, all-flash storage portfolio that promises the following benefits and capabilities:

Engineered to meet modern high-performance application requirements

Ultra-low latency, cost-effectiveness, operational efficiency, and mission-critical reliability are built in to every all-flash storage solution and all-flash array


The most comprehensive all-flash storage portfolio

IBM is uniquely able to deliver all-flash solutions tailored to your storage environments and workloads. IBM financing and payment options are available.


Industry-leading technology supported by guarantees

Endurance, performance and compression are guaranteed, and IBM offers extended support and maintenance

IBM FlashSystem Features

Has featureFlashCore Modules
Has featureFCM inline compression
Has featurehigh performance deduplication

IBM FlashSystem Screenshots

IBM FlashSystem Competitors

HPE Nimble Storage, Pure Storage Flash arrays, Dell EMC PowerMax, Dell EMC XtremeIO, Dell EMC VMax

IBM FlashSystem Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English