Pure Storage FlashArray Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
346 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 210)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 19, 2021
Ben Bullock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Pure Storage FlashArray is] used across the whole environment for both block and file storage
  • Easy to implement
  • Always get a live transfer when calling in
  • Proactive support
  • Kinda like a black box in some situations, ie system space
[Pure Storage FlashArray] fits almost all environments. The one that has been an issue in the past is large amounts of uncompressible/undedupable data, however with the C-series, that somewhat addresses that issue.
[There is a] lot less to manage. Not lots of "nerd knobs" so very little customization needed. Luckily it performs well in almost all situations.
Support. Hands down the best I've encountered in the industry.
Evergreen. Getting a new controller ever 3 years is much better than a forklift upgrade.
Read Ben Bullock's full review
March 23, 2021
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage FlashArray as our Tier 1 storage platform across our entire organization. We have been using it since 2015 and it has worked out great so far. We don't have to deal with disk slowness complaints from our DBA's anymore.
  • Technical support from Pure has been great. They are very proactive and responsive when necessary.
  • Pure Storage FlashArray is very easy to install, configure and administer.
  • We have been very satisfied with the performance of FlashArray - under 1 millisecond latency.
  • Pure Storage FlashArray is not cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for.
  • We have seen a few too many necessary firmware updates to fix software bugs in 2019.
  • There is a bit of "sticker shock" to see how much usable disk you end up with from the raw TB total.
Pure Storage FlashArray is great as a tier 1 storage solution for any workload that needs to have excellent performance. SQL or Oracle databases, in particular, run very well and also see good data reduction.
The benefits of using it as our Tier 1 storage have been ease of use, speed, uptime, and confidence in the product and company.
Pure's data reduction is very good - so we are able to attain 3 to 4 times data reduction on a lot of workloads. We also see less than 1 ms latency across all of our arrays as well, so the performance is top-notch.
Yes - We have done multiple firmware upgrades to our Pure Storage FlashArrays and also upgraded the controllers to new models as well and never had any downtime. We have not had any issues with the new firmware releases causing any issues with our storage arrays either - everything has gone very smooth.
Read Mark McCully's full review
March 23, 2021
Todd Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used by the entire organization to host Microsoft SQL Server 2019 database as well as hosting multiple VM's. Pure Storage is extremely efficient for fast database OTLP & OLAP processing. Data duplication allows us to host many copies of the database and duplicate VM's for production, testing and development. Pure Storage has completely changed and improved our entire development. Things that used to take hours and days have turned into seconds and minutes.
  • Data compression and data duplication.
  • FAST FAST FAST and reliable It just works!
  • Customer support is #1. We have never had a vendor better than Pure Storage.
  • EASY EASY EASY It just works! Stupid simple and easy to configure and manage.
  • Love to see the price come down. We want more units for data replication.
  • More details on the mobile app.
  • More support for Hyper-V.
When you need speed, it's FAST, especially for MS SQL databases. If you are having bottlenecks, you can spend your time finding it in the code because it's not Pure Storage. Love the data reduction and duplication. We can store so much more on this unit than the base physical size. Love the data snapshots. When you need to complete copy your entire environment for testing etc. Nothing is easier, a few clicks and you are done. Extremely helpful for testing and training.
It's hard to really explain simplicity of use other than it just works. We are not having to waste time fiddling around with settings and dealing with performance issues.
Upgrades are beyond easy. Pure Storage does all the testing prep work and upgrade. Our upgrade went as follows: Beginning of the day - Pure Storage is upgrading the array today during a busy production day. End of the day - Pure Storage is done. Zero downtime or performance issues.

Snapping our environment for development and testing has changed everything. Within seconds we can snap and present a full copy of the environment. Development and testing have increased 10 fold.
  • Reliability and upgrade process - We have never gone down. Yes, we have replaced drives and controllers but never had any downtime 5+ years straight.
  • Easy to use. A few clicks and you HOST and Volumes ready to go. Need to copy your environment, a few clicks and you're done.
  • Data compression and duplication.
Yes - Upgrade process was easy easy easy. Zero down time or slowness. Pure support did it all. We have performed firmware upgrades, controller upgrades, model upgrades (/M to /X), storage shelf additions, drive swaps (SAS to NVME) and storage pack increases, drive replacements, and NVRAM module swaps . Never had a single performance issue ever.
  • Online training
  • in-person training
  • no training
Never had an issue. Support is proactive in many cases. Complete follow through from beginning to end.
Turnkey product. Setup was done in minutes, easy GUI interface. You don't have to get caught up in dealing with the usual storage concerns like load balancing, volume issues etc.
We have been able to expand our storage without any interruptions. We have been able to setup replication between 2 Pure devices with no issues.
Read Todd Rasmussen's full review
March 23, 2021
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pure Storage in our organisation to provide datastores in our production VMware vSphere environment and have found it to be a great replacement for the EMC XtremIO that we previously had. The data reduction is brilliant. The ease of use, clear dashboards, online analytics, and smartphone app are all great additions.
  • The Pure Array does data reduction particularly well. We've seen a 7x reduction on some of our volumes.
  • It is easy to get used to the system after coming from other storage arrays.
  • It has some welcome additions such as a smartphone app that makes it easier to view your cases, etc.
  • It would have been good to see vvol support for ESX 6.0.
The array is quite well suited as a general-purpose storage device for VCenter. We also have some volumes directly zoned to some Windows servers and it is equally adept at handling that.

I would, however, not recommend using Pure Storage FlashArray as a backup target. Use a purpose-built appliance for backups and, for goodness sake, keep backups on a separate storage device to production!
Our biggest benefit, coming from a mix of flash and hybrid arrays has been that of performance. However, we have also been able to impress our sustainability groups with the amount of power we have saved and cost savings we have made.

Cost saving is particularly important to us as we are a charity organisation and every penny we can save means another penny going towards life-saving cancer research.
The most useful features of the array, if you can call it that, is the additional Pure1 website. This along with the app allows me to check on my arrays' performance, capacity, etc. from wherever I am. It's also a single pane of glass for support, alerts, etc., so makes everything very easy to find.
Yes - Upgrade of the Pure Storage FlashArray is a very simple process and easily arranged with the Pure Support through Pure One. As the flash array is fully redundant and has multiple controllers and ports, there is virtually zero down time and in real terms it is zero downtime, unless your systems are very sensitive to storage availability. Again this all depends on your storage network setup and resiliency.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
June 21, 2021
Jeeva Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashArray is being used in UAT and Production environment. Pure Storage FlashArray is used within the cloud operation department to support the production application. The decision to move from a non-Flash array to Flash array has predominantly resolved several performance-related and latency-related issues within the application and improved the business goals.
  • Solid performance
  • Easy to configure
  • Knowledgeable customer support
  • 9999 uptime
  • Hassle free firmware upgrades
  • Every month or frequently there is a firmware upgrade. I believe this should be released every quarter.
  • Very expensive to expand the disk capacity.
Pure Storage FlashArray is always a leader in the market when it comes to the performance , seamless upgrades, the latency, and a simple and well designed GUI through which anyone with the basic knowledge can create and present the lun to hypervisor. It also helps in saving lot of $$ on SQL servers due to the fact that since Pure Storage FlashArray offers a very solid performance and latency, the vCPU can be cut down to 25% and thus by reducing the license cost. This is one of the major benefits that we have seen post implementing Pure Storage FlashArray in our environment.
There are several benefits that our organization has seen post implementing the Pure Storage FlashArray solution. The SQL licensing saving is one of the major benefits that we have seen. The time that it was taking to load the application has drastically improved because of the all-flash array running behind the VM's.
The replication part is one of the win-win situations for our organization. We have noticed the difference in our Disaster recovery exercise compared with the old storage replication technology that we had in place compared with the Pure Storage FlashArray. We have the pure replication set for every 5 minutes for all the Prod protection groups and since pure has very good compression and de-duplication, only the difference gets replicated and thus we were able to achieve our RPO just by losing very few seconds of data. Due to its solid performance, the VM's gets restarted in less than a few seconds compared to a minute plus earlier. there is a tremendous difference that we noticed during the Disk migration between the old technology v/s Pure and it's almost 90 times faster !!!
Read Jeeva Kumar's full review
June 08, 2021
Sateesh Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashArray is used by my department to support various customers. FlashArray helps my organization to resolve problems that our legacy storage lack in terms of IOPS, hardware issues, manageability, and performance.
  • Pure1 portal where you can see all your Pure Storage usage and other features is very impressive.
  • Pure Storage integration with VMware SRM makes it very easy to configure array-based replication.
  • Pure Storage Support is very good and the resolution time to fix a problem is impressive.
  • Pure GUI is very user-friendly and makes it very easy for new users to learn how to create LUNs and others in no time.
  • Introduce a new support tab in Pure Storage GUI for any individual storage would be great.
  • They offer few trainings for Customers who have invested in Pure Storage for free.
  • Suggest to Customers how they can improve Pure Storage functionality from time to time.
Pure Storage FlashArray is suited for environment where high performance is needed with very less latency.
Pure Storage FlashArray GUI is very user friendly which helped us transition from old storage to Pure without any challenge. It helped us achieve high IOPS as per customer requirements with accepted latency. Pure Storage integration with VMware also helped us configure SRM and protect VMs on DR site.
Pure Storage FlashArray IOPS and data reduction feature is quite impressive. Also integration with VMware to provide SRM replication to DR site.
Read Sateesh Singh's full review
April 07, 2021
Marcelo Rosas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage FlashArray across the whole organization. It is our primary enterprise storage for general purposes from database to virtualization data. So far we have had an excellent return of investment with high performance and low latency. Pre-sales and after-sales support have been very positive.
  • Simple management
  • High performance
  • Excellent support
  • Quick installation and setup
  • Trend line in local management
  • Performance analysis for more concurrent disks
  • More accurate data reduction information by volume.
Very suitable for general purpose data. Unsuitable for compressed and encrypted data as these functions will be repeated without gain. We expected greater gains in the Hyper-V virtualized environment, which turned out to be not as great, but still significant. Very useful in environments that require high availability because of its architecture supporting the full IO load by a controller as the environment is updated.
We were using mechanical disk storage in a tier 3 environment, but data growth led to a gradual drop in performance. Pure Storage FlashArray's solution of NVMe flash module storage was a big step towards improving our applications and supporting the environment in the short and medium term. It was certainly a good solution for our facilities. The simplicity of use and performance demonstrated so far has been very satisfactory.
NVMe technology, data reduction features, deduplication and compression, ensuring encrypted data combined with security and performance are essential features in corporate environments. Last but not least, the ease and speed of performing snapshot operations with minimal additional storage footprint is useful.
Yes - Update occurred as expected, with no impact or downtime.
  • in-person training
It is a very helpful support with fast service and always satisfactory results.
Very simple equipment to install, configure and start its use. In general its functionalities are quite intuitive for a technician already familiar with storages.
Read Marcelo Rosas's full review
March 30, 2021
Adam Morrison | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Pure Storage FlashArray is currently being used as our main storage backend for VMWare. The virtual machines hosted on these systems support the entire company.
  • Mobile app. Allows quick view of the health of all of your arrays from your mobile device. You can also open a ticket from the app.
  • Unbelievable IOPS with the flash storage.
  • Extremely easy to install and configure. I installed it into the rack before the Pure engineer got onsite.
  • It could be less expensive. Pure storage is not cheap. But, outside of price I cannot thing of a thing it is lacking.
Well suited for virtualization, Microsoft SQL, Oracle databases, and hosting. If you have a storage need like "cold storage" it would be a waste to spend the money on IOPS that you do not need.
Speed, speed, speed! Backups, migrations, and database queries all run so much faster. With the excellent deduplication features, we can spin up copies of databases or VMs without worrying about the initial storage hit.
Ease of use has been most useful. The GUI is extremely well designed. The CLI is there when needed, but everything we've needed to do can be done through the GUI. If you really want to, there is an API as well.
Yes - We have now been through several upgrades to our Pure Storage Flash Array. The upgrades were very smooth. So smooth I almost couldn't believe they were done. There was zero downtime or performance impacts during the upgrade. The process was handled 100% by remote technicians. They kept us up to date through the process.
Read Adam Morrison's full review
March 25, 2021
Mark Sourial | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Pure Storage is used to provide storage as a service (STaaS) to our cloud and managed services customers. Pure is also leveraged in infrastructure as a service (IaaS) for our virtualized environments to provide customers with dedicated compute and storage. In today's world where rapid response is required, ease of management, availability, low latency, and high throughput are key metrics for a business. Pure Storage enables us to meet these tight SLAs.
  • Ease of operational management and provisions
  • Performance: low latency and high throughput
  • Ease of scale: online and non-disruptive
  • Ease of upgrades: online and non-disruptive
  • Better integration for CIFS/NFS services out of the box built into the array.
  • Better integration with VMWare VCD
Pure is suited for these requirements:
  • High performance (low latency and high throughput)
  • Small data center footprint
  • Low power (as opposed to an equivalent array sized with disk platers.)
  • Ease of operational management
Refer to my previous comments.
  • Storage efficiencies through thin provisioning, data compression, and deduplication.
  • Ease of operational management tasks through a friendly GUI.
  • Pure One's cloud storage portal simples and centralized management of a Pure Storage fleet.
Yes - The new release of the Purity software was deployed smoothly, the upgrade was online and non-disruptive. This provide a smooth experience for end customers with no perceived interruptions.
Read Mark Sourial's full review
March 24, 2021
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pure Storage FlashArray for the entire organization to replicate to identical array in our co-lo site. This array is blazing fast and it solved I/O and latency issues we had with our databases. Our VMs are lightning quick on the array making any storage migrations a breeze. Management of the array is also very simple and easy to use. Overall this is a great product!
  • Customer service is fantastic. We have not had any issues with the array, but even doing a code upgrade is simple as support is very friendly and quick to respond.
  • The array is FAST! Being an all-flash array that is expected, but bundle that with their architecture and this thing is lightning quick in all storage operations.
  • We have not yet had the opportunity to take advantage of the Evergreen Model, but are looking forward to a hardware upgrade. This model is great and allows for quick and easy uplift to the newest hardware without replacing the array.
  • The array is so simple and easy to use that, we rarely need to manage it or do anything really. It really feels like a set and forget kind of system because it just works.
I would recommend this array for any scenario. I have yet to find any faults in this product, sales team, support team, or anything else. This array is a well worth it upgrade for any data center and I would be hard-pressed to think of any scenarios where this array would not be appropriate.
The array is super simple to use. We rarely need to login to manage the array. The speed is also absolutely incredible! This is a very fast array and we don't even have the NVMe model yet. And, we will not be required to do an array upgrade ever again with the Evergreen model, which is nice.
The most useful thing for us is how simple it is to navigate the UI and make configurations. This allows for any user to be able to get up to speed and start working with the array with very minimal effort. They really don't lie when they say that it is built from the ground up with customer experience in mind. Everything simply makes sense and does not force you to constantly reference manuals and guides.
Yes - The updates to Purity are performed by Pure support and have been flawless for a few years now. They makes sure the array is configured correctly and run some pre-checks so ensure the update compatibility. All you need to do is enable remote assist and they do the rest.
We have done a few version upgrades over the past 3 years and never had any issues or any downtime. Updates are done to each control station one at a time so there is no downtime for the array.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
March 23, 2021
Scott Brissenden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 3 Pure arrays that are used across the whole organization. We run a VDI environment on it and lots of SQL that benefits from the all flash array. We have an array for development, production, and DR. Using the arrays in these 3 environments ensures that we do not have to sacrifice performance.
  • Pure's dedupe algorithm allows us to save storage space considering we have several stacks running the same software.
  • The evergreen program allows us to upgrade the controllers on our arrays every 3 years so we are always current.
  • Support is amazing, they will work at fixing a problem even if it isn't on their end.
  • There is nothing that I can think of that they could do better.
  • I would like better notifications of new features.
VDI is a great use case for FlashArray. Users benefit from solid state drives that can help drive productivity. Placing fileservers on the array can cause the dedupe ration to drop and there is less benefit to having them on an all flasharray, we moved them off to a hybrid array.
we have great speeds from a highly utilized san. Our DBAs enjoy crazy fast database performance.
PureOne is the best feature. you can track usage, performance, and plan future upgrades.
Yes - I have gone through several upgrades from Firmware upgrades to Controller upgrades and drive upgrades. The process is always seamless and zero downtime.
Their support is very responsive and always willing to help out. I have never had to wait on hold for a support rep. We also have them do all the array upgrades, they start on time and complete in a timely manner. Their staff is very knowledgeable.
It is by far the easiest system to use.
Read Scott Brissenden's full review
March 23, 2021
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is our Tier 1 storage platform for all servers and services hosted in our datacenter. That's dozens of applications, big and small, in a diverse technical environment with lots of different workloads. The workloads on Pure Storage arrays are 99% virtualized. While it was originally brought in to host our largest workloads that require the highest performing IO, it quickly became the standard for storage performance. Any system engineer will tell you that storage performance issues are a pain, and with shared storage, are not easy to manage. Pure Storage has made storage performance issues a thing of the past and high performing storage is the new normal.
  • High performing storage IO.
  • Simple set-up, configuration, and administration.
  • Cost can be relatively high.
  • Capacity increases only come in specific sizes (2, 5, 10TB), so upgrades are not very customizable.
Pure Storage FlashArray works extremely well as an on-premise high-performing storage array. It has worked very effectively for us in our virtualization environment, throwing workloads like Oracle, PeopleSoft, OpenShift, VDI, etc. at it. Their APIs and software support makes integrations with hypervisors and hardware very straight forward. If you need low performing disk arrays with simply a lot of storage capacity, this may not be appropriate for your environment - you can definitely get a ton of cheap capacity elsewhere.
We have benefited from many aspects of Pure Storage. Performance is our number one benefit. Our one array will support up to 100k IOPS and I think more when we upgrade. The performance combined with the ease of use has made the overall administration costs of supporting enterprise storage very low; freeing us up to do other things than troubleshoot storage issues.
All-flash storage is a complete shift from traditional spinning-drive arrays. The performance difference is like night and day. The simple administration and effective use of capacity with deduplication and compression have allowed us to make the most out of our array and stretch our dollars. The FlashArray comes fully loaded with APIs for every function, which makes us excited to see how future products integrate with it.
Yes - Being a customer of Pure storage for over 4 years, we have been through several software and hardware upgrades. The software upgrades have always been efficient engagements that are performed almost completely by Pure support. You schedule the upgrade with them and allow support access to your controllers (a couple of clicks). All the upgrades they have performed have been non-disruptive with no downtime or degradation of performance.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
March 23, 2021
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started with a Pure FlashArray back in 2014 for our VDI deployment. This was the beginning of a great relationship with Pure and the products they provide. We have since migrated from our original F420, to M20, to currently using X50's at both our production and secondary site locations. Through the years, working with the FA has been a pleasure compared to 95% of our other hardware administration. It's simple to use and easy to maintain. Upgrades have always been flawless with no disruption to the production environment.
Our Pure Storage account team and support have always been there, pre-preemptively on the most part, with support and suggestions on how to best get the most bang for our buck out of our arrays.
We are currently looking into migrating our file-level storage to Pure's FlashBlade technology. With that, we will have a single pane window into our storage environment, thereby easing the administration process even further. I would highly recommend the Pure FlashArray to any company looking to refresh their storage environment and move forward with a company that is bringing storage management into the future. Evergreen helps to know that you will always be moving to a more current platform every three years easily on the budgeting and management fronts.
Do yourself a favor...go PURE!
  • The integration with VMware's vSphere has made creating and expanding datastores/volumes easy for all of our admins. They can do everything from one browser tab.
  • The ability to run future planning scenarios has been helpful in knowing what we need to purchase in future budget cycles.
  • The preemptive parts replacement that Pure Storage provides has led to us never having an outage on our arrays.
  • We have not seen much, as they seem to be keeping up with requested features and functions over the 5 years we have been consumers.
Pure FlashArray has moved from being a niche array for VDI deployments to being an overall storage array to handle pretty much any workload you can throw at it. We have replaced all of our legacy "blue" storage arrays with the Pure FlashArray, and have seen nothing but positive results across the board.
The simplicity of administration, installation, upgrades...this has been a life-changer for my team. The proactive support calls to say they want to replace a drive, as it shows that it might fail in the near future. My management loves this support model.
The compression and deduplication provided by Purity are top-notch! It has allowed us to maximize our storage and minimize our footprint at our data centers. Incredible!
Yes - All of our Pure Storage FlashArray upgrades have gone smoothly and with no interruptions at all. Pure Storage support always works on the scheduling of the upgrade. They have redundancy built-in so they can perform all of the upgrades with no interruption to production. The way that Pure Storage handles upgrades is one reason we decided on this hardware.
Read Christopher Mills's full review
March 23, 2021
Dave Hornby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Pure Storage SAN as our primary storage for our entire infrastructure across the whole organisation.
  • Easy to configure
  • Very fast
  • Easy to intergrate
  • Great Technical support
  • Clearer pricing
Suited for any application \ deployment that requires high speed storage
Storage is easier to increase; it's easier to deploy new servers, backups run quicker and VMs deploy quicker.
Dedupe, compression, speed and evergreen refresh
Yes - Zero downtime required for both controller software upgrade and physical controller upgrade (We are now on out 2nd controller upgrade and both have been smooth and required no downtime)
Exceptionally easy to use
Read Dave Hornby's full review
April 27, 2021
Esteban Rey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On Cloud, a Mexican based cloud service provider, Pure Storage, is one of our secrets to improve our SLA and user performance. The heterogeneous environment that we have is well supported by FlashArray, helping us to deliver any kind of application.
  • Almost zero administration
  • SLA
  • The support
  • Native NAS
  • Better price
  • MSP or service provider program
Pure runs perfectly over VMware and hyper-v environments.
The heterogeneous environment that we have is the best example of the adaptability of the FlashArray because we have many types of apps.
  1. Easy to use
  2. Easy to implement
  3. Great support
Yes - We don't have any downtime.
Everything went smoothly
Cause is a very easy, simple, and complete storage solution.
Read Esteban Rey's full review
March 23, 2021
Hector Monroy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Cloud Service Provider and we have Pure Storage for our virtual machines. Pure works very fast and improve the storage volumes with its greate compression and deduplication.
Pure works very well with VMware Hypervisor.
  • IOPS is one of the best features.
  • Deduplication.
  • Compression.
  • Improve the GUI related to the replica VOLUMES. There are showed page per page.
Pure is ahead of the pack in Storage industry. Is the best option for enterprise environments.
Speed, Performance, simplicity, power saving, money-saving.
Deduplication, we can use at least 3:1 deduplication ratio.
Read Hector Monroy's full review
March 23, 2021
Jeeva Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashArray (Pure) has been a very stable and excellent product for the last 18 months and all the latency issues that we had experienced in the past with other storage arrays disappeared after we started using Pure. Pure has a rock-solid support team who address issues before they become critical.
  • Compression.
  • Deduplication, Real-time replication.
  • Easy to use and configure; reliable.
  • High IOPS.
  • I haven't noticed anything so far.
Pure Storage FlashArray has completely replaced our existing EMC storage and we started noticing performance getting better. The Datastore migration used to complete in 30 seconds compared to 30 minutes before. This is one of the major differences that we noticed during our POC with Pure Storage FlashArray. Creating and provisioning a LUN to a host can be done in a max of 3-4 steps thus reducing the complexity and the time.
We always had 100% uptime and the array was performing at its best without having any issues related to either IOSP, bandwidth, latency, etc. We also gained a positive result when we performed the disaster recovery exercise where the RTO and the RPO were impressive, which wasn't the case with our old storage.
First and foremost, implementing and setting up the hardware in the data center is a seamless job. Creating the LUN, adding the LUN under the protection group for the data replication is something that is most useful and appealing. Monitoring the Pure Storage FlashArray through the mobile app is very impressive as you can look for the basic status without being in front of a computer.
Yes - Upgrade or release was performed by a Pure engineer and there weren't any issues observed. As a part of the support renewal, Pure also offered us a free upgrade of the controller from M20 to X20 without any additional cost. This is what is called as a evergreen support
  • Online training
  • in-person training
Pure Storage FlashArray consistently monitors the array and the support team fixes the issue even before it becomes critical.
Based on 3+ years of experience in using Pure.
Based on 3 years experience of using the product
Read Jeeva Kumar's full review
June 15, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Pure Storage FlashArray as our main storage system for all of our Hyper-V Virtual Machines (around 150 on 4 different hosts) and we use it across the county in multiple locations.
  • All-flash array, super quick and responsive
  • Ease of setup and management
  • Incredible call-home support
  • Pricing
  • A more streamlined update process
If you are looking for an all-flash storage solution there really is no competition. The quality of the product, the support offered and the costs are unbeatable.
Moving to an all-flash array has meant that ALL of our systems performance has increased, plus the system is VERY easy to use and manage and having Pure do all support remotely is an added bonus that ensures the systems is running optimally at all times.
All flash array and 24-7 call-home support, really, I can't empathize how good this is because it practically means this system's support is basically handled by Pure themselves which know the system inside [and] out.
Read this authenticated review
March 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used in all of our data centers across the Pacific Northwest, including in our Candian operations as well. Since moving from traditional RAID, disk-based arrays (EMC, HP/LeftHand) we have left behind the 'old ways' of storage implementations. Implementation, provisioning, and management of storage with Array has been greatly simplified. We have undergone multiple Array upgrades from one model to the next, non-disruptively, 100% as advertised. We have even seen the new controllers upon renewal of support at the end of year 3, as well. Support costs remained relatively stable and predictable based on capacity and since moving to Pure we have not had to migrate all our data to a new SAN because it was cheaper to buy a new array than to continue support on the existing. All of these benefits have revolutionized our data center management strategy, all the while giving us amazing performance for our virtual workloads.
  • Performance: heads and tails above and beyond what a traditional array ever brought to the table.
  • Manageability: 8 hour, overnight upgrades are a thing of the past. Open a case with Pure's Support Team, give them an operating window for the upgrade and then they do the upgrades remotely, generally within an hour.
  • Deduplication: because of the 4:1 deduplication ratios that we are seeing in our environments, we reduced from a full rack of EMC VNX hardware, to 5RU of Rackspace in one of our data centers, while the rest of our arrays are sitting in a single 3RU chassis, providing all the storage we need for 100s of Windows Server and Desktop VMs.
  • I really cannot think of anything that Pure needs to do differently. They are constantly innovating their Pure1 SaaS interface with more benefits and providing on-array software updates that provide value to our IT Team.
FlashArray is well suited to general virtual workloads, especially where there are low latency and high I/O requirements. We run all kinds of virtualized SQL workloads without issue and we run our VMware Horizon VDI deployment right alongside the virtual server infrastructure without any performance problems. If you have a lot of test/dev environments, it is a great solution as well because of the deduplication technologies built into Array.
Yes - The upgrade processes across all our arrays went smoothly, every single time. Both, standard code upgrades and the 'free every three' controller non-disruptive upgrades where the controllers are replaced one at a time, were absolutely without issue and ZERO disruption to service and completed within an hour or so of the start. It really is a phenomenal setup/process that Pure has going.
Pure Support is timely and communicative. They are always ready to assist and very skilled at what they do, no matter the time of day. Even at 12:10 a.m. on New Years Day when your array has a hiccup that causes some errors in your environment, they will be on the phone with you in an instant. If they are unable to determine the cause right away, because things appear to be normal, they will take your environment's configuration, lab it up in their support environment and then research until they figure out what caused the problem. Even if it takes 3 months. True story.
Read this authenticated review
March 25, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally started using Pure Storage FlashArray for our VDI workload. We have subsequently expanded usage to include general virtualization workloads. This has been a perfect storage platform for fast disk with data that can be deduplicated and compressed. In our VDI environment, we are seeing better than 7:1 data reduction, and for our other use cases we are seeing 5:1 or better.
  • Simple management
  • Dedupe and compression
  • Snapshot replication
  • Display of different data reduction rates can be confusing and could be noted better in the interface
  • Pure doesn't have an easy way to note who at the customer is responsible for management/maintenance of different units under the same overall account
Well suited to workloads that require fast Flash storage and that can support a reasonable level of deduplication and compression. Most cost-effective when the workload supports data reduction. Data that cannot be deduplicated and/or compressed may not be as good a fit as it increases the cost of the storage.
Much simpler to configure and manage than traditional storage arrays. Because of this, it requires much less training and much less daily care than traditional arrays. In addition, we've gotten better visibility into our workload. Built-in snapshot replication has also improved how we handle some of our backup and off-site DR requirements.
The Pure1 management portal for a great view into multiple arrays - performance, status, capacity planning, etc. Simple management interface. Outstanding support both from the local sales team and SE as well as from back-end support staff during upgrades, issues, etc. Great data reduction with minimal to no impact on performance.
Yes - Upgrade was completed with no downtime and no performance impact, although out of an abundance of caution we did this off-hours. Pure support always checks the environment prior to upgrading to ensure all paths are active and everything looks good prior to starting.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using this product to support one of our vmware clusters. We are utilizing the High availability features for a specific product.
  • It is very easy to use the management interface.
  • So far the product has been incredibly fast.
  • It has a very robust feature set and they are constantly improving upon its capabilities.
  • We are waiting for support of VVOLs along with the active clustering at the same time.
  • I really don't have any more negatives as the product thus far has been wonderful.
It is very effective in an area where you need to handle high levels of IO as well as maintaining redundancy. This would apply to critical applications or high activity databases. This product would not be very effective for long-term storage of cold data that is not touched very often.

Yes - The support team from Pure stages the updates ahead of time and handles all of the actual work involved with the upgrades. Everything runs smoothly from our experience and their team also will continue to monitor the health of the array both during and post updates to make sure that everything is running as expected and if not they can roll back immediately.
Our interactions with the support team have been very positive. We have used them for everything from point releases to setting up our VASA and analytics collectors for our VMs. Every step of the way they have been very helpful and knowledgeable. So far we have not had support like this from other vendors.
Read this authenticated review
June 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Pure Storage array is used as our primary SAN for our virtualized environment. As the primary SAN, it serves all end-user and IT workloads. When designing the system we sought a solution that would provide plenty of performance and robust uptime. The Pure Storage array fits that description perfectly.
  • It is very robust, error free, and requires little maintenance.
  • The SAN is never a bottleneck in our environment, the performance is excellent.
  • A recent upgrade was completely online and was seamless.
  • We are completely happy with our array.
The array is well suited for general computing, VDI, or high IOPS required environments. It is less appropriate for bulk storage unless the stored data de-duplicates well.
Aside from the raw performance, the biggest benefits have been Pure Storage FlashArray's reliability, and ease of use. I go months in between logging into the interface to check on the device. We did an online controller upgrade to switch platforms all completely seamless with no downtime. The array has been running for 3 years without a single issue.
It's hard to pick a single feature. Pure Storage FlashArray does a great job on all the features we've used. There are other features that are available that we haven't had a chance to test/use yet but I have no doubt they'd work exactly as advertised.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We purchased Pure Storage FlashArray's to replace aging Dell Equallogic SANs that were going end of support. We had had the Dell SANs for over 10 years and our replacement cycle for our Storage is a long term investment. We were looking to go all flash to get ahead of the technlogy and in the end did not even consider a hybrid solution due to the performance increases we obtained when doing a proof of concept with Pure. We deploy Pure FlashArrays and FlashBlades in all of our datacenters located across the city.
  • Speed - our VM's boot up in less then 10 seconds compared to about 90 seconds on the previous spinning disk arrays
  • Support - we have had great response / automated ticket creation for issues the may pop up
  • Up time - we have done numerous software upgrades and even hardware updates with ZERO down time in our virtual environments. We never could of done this with our previous Dell SANs
  • None that I can think of
If you are looking for speed, reliability and 100% uptime, Pure is the way to go!
We have seen our maintenance patch nights go from 4-5 hours to only about 2 hours since the VM's are so much faster applying windows patches and rebooting
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure as our primary storage array. This has been an outstanding investment and the performance has been a huge improvement. The box has done everything we asked it to do! We are nearly out of storage capacity on our EMC and when we saw Pure as an option we jumped at the opportunity.
  • Deduplication.
  • Processing speed.
  • Price is high.
While expensive, Pure Storage is by far the best experience we have had with a storage array. It is strong in all categories and delivers outstanding performance. It is a great product to work with. My team is also very happy with it and they have high expectations of systems, just like I do.
We run a sizable load on it and have seen no performance issues and no uptime issues. This array has been a godsend and checks all the boxes for speed and data reduction, and it is beyond simple to set up. The tech that came onsite was here less than 2 hours to get it online.
The first has to be simplicity. It could not be easier to set up and it is easy to use going forward from there. Second would be speed. This storage array is the fastest we have ever used and we have had some big names come to the table, including Net App and Dell EMC.
They are fast to respond and active in assisting. They monitor the system to help avoid problems that could arise. We could not be happier. They are very knowledgeable of challenges with some of the upgrades and versions to avoid when and if possible. Its everything you would expect and more.
Read this authenticated review
March 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage FlashArray with integration in OpenStack with our private cloud. We also have the boxes connected directly to the physical servers, and in turn, by VMware and Xen. We have no commercial problems.
  • Online compression and deduplication
  • Integration with OpenStack
  • Low latency compared to its competitors
  • I see nothing to improve on the side of Pure Storage FlashArray
Relational and non-relational databases are adequate and get a very good understanding. For databases like Mongo, MySQL, Cassandra it is good. But it is less suitable for archiving storage as it is wasted.
  • We reduced the latency from 50ms to 1ms.
  • The upgrades are not disruptive.
  • Now, the site is faster.
  • Pure support is incredibly good.
  • The change of parts is very fast.
In our case, pure storage arrangements with Openstack is the best we saw since it integrates efficiently with our private cloud
Yes - It always works without problems since in the case of iscsi the multipath paths are ok, there are some points to check before doing the upgrade, such as the connectivity of the hosts, or the multipath configuration in each host.
But we had no downtime on any of the 35+ upgrades
  • Online training
  • in-person training
  • no training
It always worked very well, the only thing that in the last version of Purity they promised native NFS in the box and did not explain that it was only for model X
Having the Pure1 tool available is not difficult at all to manage the teams, apart from that we can see how they could grow in the future and prepare to make an expansion.

In our case we have equipment in all of Latin America in different data centers and with the mobile app or with pure1 we have everything centralized in just one
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (156)
9.5
Flash Array Integration (146)
9.4
Data Compression (155)
9.6
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (150)
9.0
Simplicity (156)
9.4
Power Savings (133)
8.6

What is Pure Storage FlashArray?

Pure Storage FlashArray is available in tow models: FlashArray//C is an all-QLC flash array thatdelivers the NVMe performance, hyper-consolidation, and simplified management. FlashArray//X is all-flash, 100% software-driven, and 100% NVMe storage optimized for corporate and enterprise environments.

Pure Storage FlashArray Integrations

Pure Storage FlashArray Competitors

Dell/EMC, NetApp, HPE

Pure Storage FlashArray Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Pure Storage FlashArray?

Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.

What is Pure Storage FlashArray's best feature?

Reviewers rate Data Compression highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Pure Storage FlashArray?

The most common users of Pure Storage FlashArray are from Enterprises and the Financial Services industry.