Pure Storage FlashArray Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
322 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 199)

James Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray: Enterprise-wide Benefits More Than Worth the Cost

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chapman University owns two M20 FlashArrays. One provides primary high-speed storage for our production Oracle ERP database and middleware environments, for our highest-performance-tier VMWare clusters, and for our MS SQLServer-based university data warehouse. The second M20 provides ultra-high-speed shared scratch storage for our primary High-Performance Computing (HPC) computational-research supercomputing cluster. Our entire campus community, faculty, staff, students, researchers, use the resources hosted on these arrays every day. The applications, databases, and research workloads running on these arrays are literally how the university does its work.
  • Our FlashArrays have been 100% reliable. In the four-years-plus we have been relying on them, we have not experienced a single moment of unplanned downtime due to these arrays. Their hardware design is solid-state and fault-tolerant, redundant everywhere. This allows zero-downtime upgrades for all of their OS, management, and driver software. We've been through numerous (10+) software upgrades on two arrays and have never experienced any interruption in service or data loss.
  • Pure Storage's FlashArray support, phone-home, monitoring, and analytics services through their centralized Pure1 web portal have been head-and-shoulders above every other storage vendor we've worked with. Their tools allow their staff to be expert, professional, confident, and, best of all, proactive. Their platform allows them to know far more about the array than we do, and in real time.
  • Our FlashArrays have been blazingly fast. When we copied our production Oracle databases over to the first array for the first time, the databases immediately benchmarked out 2.5 to 3 times faster, with no other changes. Every one of the workloads we migrated to our FlashArrays experienced similar speed increases.
  • Compared to legacy hybrid or spinning-disk storage-array administration, managing our FlashArrays is extremely simple. No more external spreadsheets tracking raid categories, LUN sizes, or storage pools built on different underlying types and arrangements of disks. Allocate a volume, give it a name, hook it up to a host or a cluster. Rescan the storage, and start using it.
  • Pure's implementation of data reduction/data deduplification has been amazing for us. Absolutely a game-changer. It has allowed our arrays to function like arrays five or even ten times their actual size. It works especially well (really, really, really well) with large database and database-development environments, where dev/test/qa databases are close copies of production databases. You basically get all of the copies for free, storage-wise. Something very similar happens with array storage for VMWare VM's, also. Copies of VM's are basically free.
  • In our environment, Pure could provide additional network interconnect technologies. HPC is not that common a market niche, though. Pure could at least test and validate limited compatibility with third-party hardware, even if they then needed to limit their support or warranty if customers chose to implement it.
  • Pure provides a lot of API support for building your own integration solutions for things like VMWare administration, container orchestration, and hybrid cloud environments. They do seem to be investing in these technologies, but full-featured, pre-packaged, tested and supported solutions would be a lot better. Most enterprises don't want to build their own automation and integration, they want things to just work, out of the box.
All-flash storage is expensive, and full-featured all-flash, like the FlashArray, is even more expensive. You need to have a need for it. If you use virtual desktops in your environment, or if you have performance-sensitive databases or database-integrated applications, or if you are doing any sort of significant machine-learning, deep-learning, or data analytics, these are all workloads that will benefit from FlashArray storage. Anyone of those, much less all of them, would easily rationalize spending the extra money to get the benefits of a FlashArray.
Read James Kelly's full review
Ben Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

PureStorage - Why look at anything else?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The FlashArray is being utilized by our entire organization. We currently have 2 arrays. The first was specifically bought to correct storage performance issues that we were encountering in our VDI environment with a prior storage vendor. We were so impressed with that array that the following year we secured a second array to migrate our entire server workload to.
  • Deduplication and compression
  • PERFORMANCE!
  • Support
  • I honestly can't think of anything.
PureStorage is well suited for any situation where performance is the top requirement. Since implementation, we have not been able to throw anything at it that has caused any latency above 1ms. It would not be well suited as a backup endpoint, or NAS type storage simply due to the cost and available performance.
Read Ben Moore's full review
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure-ly fast storage!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pure Storage in our organisation to provide datastores in our production VMware vSphere environment and have found it to be a great replacement for the EMC XtremIO that we previously had. The data reduction is brilliant. The ease of use, clear dashboards, online analytics, and smartphone app are all great additions.
  • The Pure Array does data reduction particularly well. We've seen a 7x reduction on some of our volumes.
  • It is easy to get used to the system after coming from other storage arrays.
  • It has some welcome additions such as a smartphone app that makes it easier to view your cases, etc.
  • It would have been good to see vvol support for ESX 6.0.
The array is quite well suited as a general-purpose storage device for VCenter. We also have some volumes directly zoned to some Windows servers and it is equally adept at handling that.

I would, however, not recommend using Pure Storage FlashArray as a backup target. Use a purpose-built appliance for backups and, for goodness sake, keep backups on a separate storage device to production!
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
Toby Wenzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

The little array that could

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 5 FlashArrays, shared in a 5 organization multi-tenant environment. Two are for file servers, two are general purpose, and one is for Oracle and SQL databases. These were purchased over a two year period, to replace aging monolithic SAN arrays. They resolved all of our storage bandwidth bottlenecks and capacity issues.
  • They are excellent for virtual environments. The speed and dedupe/compression is extremely valuable.
  • We have had excellent performance running Oracle and SQL databases on the FlashArray.
  • The maintenance couldn't be easier. Downtime is virtually non-existent because of the design of the architecture.
  • With Evergreen, we will receive free controller upgrades with support renewal.
  • It would be nice to be able to perform storage copies directly between volumes on a FlashArray.
  • Integration with VMware where you could replicate a volume, then point vms to the new volume.
  • Bring the price of a disk pack (10 disks) down to a reasonable amount. It's almost the same price to purchase an entire new FlashArray.
It works very well for single purpose workloads (think databases or same type applications). It seems to struggle with good compression and deduping mixed workloads. We have noticed about a 6:1 ratio with DBs, and <3:1 on mixed workloads or large file servers. It is still extremely fast, just not as good compression and dedupe.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray helps keep the DBA's away

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage FlashArray as our Tier 1 storage platform across our entire organization. We have been using it since 2015 and it has worked out great so far. We don't have to deal with disk slowness complaints from our DBA's anymore.
  • Technical support from Pure has been great. They are very proactive and responsive when necessary.
  • Pure Storage FlashArray is very easy to install, configure and administer.
  • We have been very satisfied with the performance of FlashArray - under 1 millisecond latency.
  • Pure Storage FlashArray is not cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for.
  • We have seen a few too many necessary firmware updates to fix software bugs in 2019.
  • There is a bit of "sticker shock" to see how much usable disk you end up with from the raw TB total.
Pure Storage FlashArray is great as a tier 1 storage solution for any workload that needs to have excellent performance. SQL or Oracle databases, in particular, run very well and also see good data reduction.
Read Mark McCully's full review
Francois Greeff | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2020

Very happy end user!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for all storage requirements in NSA. The speed and flexibility allow easy deployment and growth. Did I mention SPEED! It is truly sub-1ms IO, so storage is no longer the single bottleneck in processing.
  • Very easy to assign storage to any server.
  • Really fast disk IO.
  • Uptime is remarkable!
  • Explaining to management that something so small with so little lights does so much is a challenge. So we always keep an old MFM drive around just to show them that size has changed. So I'd love some clever way or change to make it look flashier! Seriously, for what we use it for, it does the job.
Database apps love the IO speed. Media files (videos) also like Pure Storage FlashArray, but it is an expensive option for things that cannot compress/dedupe well.
Read Francois Greeff's full review
Mike McFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage is purely awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used by our entire organization because it is our sole storage solution going forward. All of our VMs run from Pure and we integrated vCenter with Pure to ease management. Whenever our business analysts discuss performance issues with databases and applications, I remind them that we cannot put the data on faster storage because Pure is the fastest.
  • Increasing LUN sizes as the business needs grow is very easy. The easiest I have ever managed when I compare with other major vendors.
  • As stated earlier, the performance with Pure is the fastest available.
  • I never worry about growth because I know I just need to add more shelves and not redesign my architecture.
  • NFS support would be nice but not really needed. Some people feel NFS is a requirement but I don't agree.
  • Snap shots of SQL will be the biggest area of improvement that I can give to my business users. Giving them an almost real time copy of a production database that they can use without impacting production performance would be a huge win.
  • Support for Azure storage would also be helpful since it is our primary cloud provider.
Our databases and application servers is well suited for the flash array. File server and other servers are wasted a bit with flash. Still, because there is no faster available storage then this is the best solution in terms of performance.
Read Mike McFarland's full review
Wes Dunaway | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray makes me happy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our FlashArray is the primary storage array within our datacenter. With the quality of dedupe and compression that FlashArray provides, it is economical enough to run not only SQL, but all other datasets in our datacenter.
We migrated from a cloud services provider using a NetApp storage array to a self-hosted solution. Moving to the PureArray we saw tremendous performance gains across the board with a fraction of the storage utilization that we were being charged for on the NetApp.
It solved all of our performance and storage utilization issues.
  • Dedupe and compression. It always amazes me how much logical data we have compared to how much we are actually using on the array.
  • Speed. We measure response time in micro seconds, not milliseconds.
  • Support. They know something is wrong or misbehaving before I do.
  • As they grow, they become more like the large corporations that are frustrating to work with (EMC, NetApp, etc). I hope they don't lose the core qualities that made them so attractive to begin with.
Any dataset which requires tremendous speed and response times would benefit from PureArray.
As for less appropriate use cases, there really is not a bad spot to use PureArray, but there may be situations where it would not provide the most bang for your dollar. Storing cold/rarely accessed data on a PureArray would be a waste.
Read Wes Dunaway's full review
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage is the most effective storage I've ever used

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is our Tier 1 storage platform for all servers and services hosted in our datacenter. That's dozens of applications, big and small, in a diverse technical environment with lots of different workloads. The workloads on Pure Storage arrays are 99% virtualized. While it was originally brought in to host our largest workloads that require the highest performing IO, it quickly became the standard for storage performance. Any system engineer will tell you that storage performance issues are a pain, and with shared storage, are not easy to manage. Pure Storage has made storage performance issues a thing of the past and high performing storage is the new normal.
  • High performing storage IO.
  • Simple set-up, configuration, and administration.
  • Cost can be relatively high.
  • Capacity increases only come in specific sizes (2, 5, 10TB), so upgrades are not very customizable.
Pure Storage FlashArray works extremely well as an on-premise high-performing storage array. It has worked very effectively for us in our virtualization environment, throwing workloads like Oracle, PeopleSoft, OpenShift, VDI, etc. at it. Their APIs and software support makes integrations with hypervisors and hardware very straight forward. If you need low performing disk arrays with simply a lot of storage capacity, this may not be appropriate for your environment - you can definitely get a ton of cheap capacity elsewhere.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Ezra Owen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Is Pure Storage right for you?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pure Storage as a storage platform for our multi-tenant cloud environment as well as for customers with dedicated hardware environments. It provides a solution for high IO environments as well as eases the burden of array management.
  • Management: The interface makes it easy to define hosts, host groups and LUNs. Very quick, very intuitive and simple. AD authentication is also a huge bonus for us. Allows for customers to view but not manage their own array.
  • Performance Metrics: Pure Storage has good metrics across the array as well as at the individual LUN. We have begun separating LUNs based on customers and it has been huge when trying to trouble shoot performance for a single customer whose compute is on a multi-tenant cloud.
  • Speed: I don't have specific metrics, but all customers that are on the array have never complained about speed. We did have one customer that we were throttling based on the original contract. We opened that up to get them over a couple of initial deployment tasks and they were pleased with the speed.
  • VLAN support: The VLAN support in the newer version of Purity was also huge for us. It allowed us to keep SAN networks separate in a multi-tenant environment.
  • Support is great: We had a support engineer dig through Microsoft settings for multipathing on iSCSI iniators. He did this on two different occasions!
  • See more under the hood: I came from an array environment where there was a little more visibility into what was going on the in the background of the array. It would be nice to have the option to see what type of RAID is being used, and more details on the compression and deduplication that is going on.
  • The ability to throttle a specific LUN on the Pure Storage would be nice. Not sure of the implications though.
When you are talking thousands and thousands of IOPS, Pure Storage is a good choice. If you have a need for multi-speed disks, Pure Storage might not be for you.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
Scott Brissenden | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Pure Storage is a leader in the all flash array market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 3 Pure arrays that are used across the whole organization. We run a VDI environment on it and lots of SQL that benefits from the all flash array. We have an array for development, production, and DR. Using the arrays in these 3 environments ensures that we do not have to sacrifice performance.
  • Pure's dedupe algorithm allows us to save storage space considering we have several stacks running the same software.
  • The evergreen program allows us to upgrade the controllers on our arrays every 3 years so we are always current.
  • Support is amazing, they will work at fixing a problem even if it isn't on their end.
  • There is nothing that I can think of that they could do better.
  • I would like better notifications of new features.
VDI is a great use case for FlashArray. Users benefit from solid state drives that can help drive productivity. Placing fileservers on the array can cause the dedupe ration to drop and there is less benefit to having them on an all flasharray, we moved them off to a hybrid array.
Read Scott Brissenden's full review
Will Fife | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

One of the only vendors whose claims of hidden magical knowledge have stood the test of time!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was initially skeptical, our plan was to boot 100% of our virtual machines and VFX render infrastructure from several Pure FlashArrays. The performance has been excellent as expected, but the compression/deduplication and reliability have vastly exceeded my expectations.
  • Speed. It is fast, really fast. I'm not sure where Pure gets their magical go faster pixie dust, but it is the good stuff.
  • Reliable. No problems and that is amazing.
  • We are booting 400 render nodes off of 4 of the smaller FlashArrays and the deduplication is nothing short of magical.
  • The UI can be confusing, but the CLI more than makes up for it.
  • I would love to see more statistics, graphs help prove to users that their gut instinct about where the problem is, is wrong.
Booting many hosts with similar disk images (VMs, render infrastructure, Virtual Desktops).
Read Will Fife's full review
College325 Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage is very innovative and simple to manage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 2 Pure arrays and use them to serve around 95% of data to our hosts. We use other NVME cards for other applications like IBM Informix and Oracle ODA. We moved everything off of Compellent to Pure Storage. I think our Pure Storage arrays are both very solid and so far I am pleased with the performance and manageability of these arrays.
  • IT servers up data with < 1ms
  • It is very easy to configure new storage
  • Make zoning data and expanding storage sizes very well
  • The data can always be faster. We purchased NVME storage as the data was slower than what we were using before.
Pure Storage is a very nice array and easy to manage. It can serve up data in normal environments that do not require fast IO. The speed of the array for applications that require very fast IO is lagging. We are not using the Pure Storage Array for our most critical servers and use NVMe for those servers instead.
Read College325 Hess's full review
Omar Khalid | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray replaced outdated NetApp and the benefits were outstanding

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage provided a FlashArray AFA for our environment. It is being used by our entire organization here at Ricoh and it solved the immediate storage issues that we had and the bottleneck we were seeing in performance. The snapshot capability also gave us great peace of mind by being able to retain a lot of version at the LUN level on the fly while taking up minimal logical space.
  • Ease of Administration: Great web console with the ability to configure everything. Little to minimal console knowledge required.
  • Deduplication and Compression: These features work extremely well at ensuring that our data usage remains low on the array even as the business grows.
  • Support: Pure's support is quick to respond and able to connect directly to and manage the unit in the case of any issues we encounter.
  • Performance: Pure's array is the best performing array according to Gartner's reviews of all-flash arrays (AFA).
  • Better connectivity to cloud: While Cloudsnap supports AWS natively, it would be nice to see other vendors and platforms added.
  • Better enhancements to reporting: While reporting is good, HPE has the edge when it comes to their Nimble Insights software.
I believe if the budget allows that a Pure Array or multiple arrays can be used in any configuration or any density regardless of how much data needs to be stored or how much performance is required.
Read Omar Khalid's full review
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Ultra Fast Array with Simple UI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pure Storage FlashArray for the entire organization to replicate to identical array in our co-lo site. This array is blazing fast and it solved I/O and latency issues we had with our databases. Our VMs are lightning quick on the array making any storage migrations a breeze. Management of the array is also very simple and easy to use. Overall this is a great product!
  • Customer service is fantastic. We have not had any issues with the array, but even doing a code upgrade is simple as support is very friendly and quick to respond.
  • The array is FAST! Being an all-flash array that is expected, but bundle that with their architecture and this thing is lightning quick in all storage operations.
  • We have not yet had the opportunity to take advantage of the Evergreen Model, but are looking forward to a hardware upgrade. This model is great and allows for quick and easy uplift to the newest hardware without replacing the array.
  • The array is so simple and easy to use that, we rarely need to manage it or do anything really. It really feels like a set and forget kind of system because it just works.
I would recommend this array for any scenario. I have yet to find any faults in this product, sales team, support team, or anything else. This array is a well worth it upgrade for any data center and I would be hard-pressed to think of any scenarios where this array would not be appropriate.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Why Pure Storage FlashArray Should Be Your #1 Choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started with a Pure FlashArray back in 2014 for our VDI deployment. This was the beginning of a great relationship with Pure and the products they provide. We have since migrated from our original F420, to M20, to currently using X50's at both our production and secondary site locations. Through the years, working with the FA has been a pleasure compared to 95% of our other hardware administration. It's simple to use and easy to maintain. Upgrades have always been flawless with no disruption to the production environment.
Our Pure Storage account team and support have always been there, pre-preemptively on the most part, with support and suggestions on how to best get the most bang for our buck out of our arrays.
We are currently looking into migrating our file-level storage to Pure's FlashBlade technology. With that, we will have a single pane window into our storage environment, thereby easing the administration process even further. I would highly recommend the Pure FlashArray to any company looking to refresh their storage environment and move forward with a company that is bringing storage management into the future. Evergreen helps to know that you will always be moving to a more current platform every three years easily on the budgeting and management fronts.
Do yourself a favor...go PURE!
  • The integration with VMware's vSphere has made creating and expanding datastores/volumes easy for all of our admins. They can do everything from one browser tab.
  • The ability to run future planning scenarios has been helpful in knowing what we need to purchase in future budget cycles.
  • The preemptive parts replacement that Pure Storage provides has led to us never having an outage on our arrays.
  • We have not seen much, as they seem to be keeping up with requested features and functions over the 5 years we have been consumers.
Pure FlashArray has moved from being a niche array for VDI deployments to being an overall storage array to handle pretty much any workload you can throw at it. We have replaced all of our legacy "blue" storage arrays with the Pure FlashArray, and have seen nothing but positive results across the board.
Read Christopher Mills's full review
Max Tevs | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

"Flashy" Next Level Deduplication and Performance with the FlashArray

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The FlashArray is being used across our entire environment/organization. Internally, and customer clouds as well. Atmosera is a cloud service provider of both Private and public cloud offerings. We utilize the FlashArrays for our private cloud offerings, selling datastore volumes as managed storage. The FlashArray allows us to be scalable in our internal infrastructure, while also offering the huge benefits of Flash storage. The FlashArray fleet we have also given us a single vendor infrastructure, which eases management.
  • The Pure Array is scalable (easy to add more storage, easy to split up/provision existing storage).
  • The Pure Array handles deduplication and compression better than any storage array I've worked with.
  • Pure Support is very knowledgeable and responsive to issues and questions.
  • The Pure Web GUI is very intuitive and easy to use.
  • VM Analytics is a great and easy to enable feature.
  • While the GUI is easy to use, some management features are only available in the CLI.
The FlashArray is well suited in a high utilization environment. I believe the best use for the FlashArray is for cloud/managed service providers, however, the FlashArray has its place in on-prem high utilization environments as well. The FlashArray is also well suited in environments where there will be multiple FlashArrays as you can set up pods and interconnect the arrays.
In smaller and lower utilized environments, the FlashArray may not be as well suited due to the cost of the array. For example, the FlashArray is not the best use for backup storage (as backup storage does not need to be fast and does not typically carry production workloads).
Read Max Tevs's full review
Jon McDowell | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2020

VDI Game Changer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashArray is being used with VMware Horizon view for all desktops in the company. In the past we have had issues with capacity and performance of the VDIs. With Pure Storage we have never had to worry about capacity with the incredible duplication and the performance is top notch.
  • Fast to deploy new machines
  • Very fast Setup
  • Very good support
  • Would like real-time replication
  • Unable to expand older units Pure M10
In a VDI environment the storage has been a game changer. Deploying machines, refreshing machines - it works very well.
Read Jon McDowell's full review
Jeeva Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure - The leader of the future.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashArray (Pure) has been a very stable and excellent product for the last 18 months and all the latency issue that we had experienced in the past with other storage arrays disappeared after we started using Pure. Pure has a rock-solid support team who address issues before they become critical.
  • Compression.
  • Deduplication, Real-time replication.
  • Easy to use and configure; reliable.
  • High IOPS.
  • I haven't noticed anything so far.
Pure Storage FlashArray has completely replaced our existing EMC storage and we started noticing performance getting better. The Datastore migration used to complete in 30 seconds compared to 30 minutes before. This is one of the major differences that we noticed during our POC with Pure Storage FlashArray. Creating and provisioning a LUN to a host can be done in a max of 3-4 steps thus reducing the complexity and the time.
Read Jeeva Kumar's full review
Esteban Rey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage for everything

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On Cloud, a Mexican based cloud service provider, Pure Storage, is one of our secrets to improve our SLA and user performance. The heterogeneous environment that we have is well supported by FlashArray, helping us to deliver any kind of application.
  • Almost zero administration
  • SLA
  • The support
  • Native NAS
  • Better price
  • MSP or service provider program
Pure runs perfectly over VMware and hyper-v environments.
Read Esteban Rey's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

5 years with Pure Storage FlashArray

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally started using Pure Storage FlashArray for our VDI workload. We have subsequently expanded usage to include general virtualization workloads. This has been a perfect storage platform for fast disk with data that can be deduplicated and compressed. In our VDI environment, we are seeing better than 7:1 data reduction, and for our other use cases we are seeing 5:1 or better.
  • Simple management
  • Dedupe and compression
  • Snapshot replication
  • Display of different data reduction rates can be confusing and could be noted better in the interface
  • Pure doesn't have an easy way to note who at the customer is responsible for management/maintenance of different units under the same overall account
Well suited to workloads that require fast Flash storage and that can support a reasonable level of deduplication and compression. Most cost-effective when the workload supports data reduction. Data that cannot be deduplicated and/or compressed may not be as good a fit as it increases the cost of the storage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

A flash array that improves performance and overall ROI for many many years.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Flash array houses all virtual machines for all departments across our city. The performance improvement was immense over our previous IBM SAN. We recently renewed our Forever Flash support which means we will never need to buy a new flash array.
  • The latency and IOPS on our Pure SAN are incredible. After moving over VMs the performance improvement was noticed immediately.
  • Pure support is fantastic. They are constantly modifying the firmware to improve compression performance.
  • The Pure array is very pricey.
  • Deduplication and compression were oversold pre-purchase.
Pure is great for production storage for any type of system. Database systems will benefit from the performance while file storage will benefit from the deduplication and compression.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Pure Storage is simple to use, implement and manage.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used in all of our data centers across the Pacific Northwest, including in our Candian operations as well. Since moving from traditional RAID, disk-based arrays (EMC, HP/LeftHand) we have left behind the 'old ways' of storage implementations. Implementation, provisioning, and management of storage with Array has been greatly simplified. We have undergone multiple Array upgrades from one model to the next, non-disruptively, 100% as advertised. We have even seen the new controllers upon renewal of support at the end of year 3, as well. Support costs remained relatively stable and predictable based on capacity and since moving to Pure we have not had to migrate all our data to a new SAN because it was cheaper to buy a new array than to continue support on the existing. All of these benefits have revolutionized our data center management strategy, all the while giving us amazing performance for our virtual workloads.
  • Performance: heads and tails above and beyond what a traditional array ever brought to the table.
  • Manageability: 8 hour, overnight upgrades are a thing of the past. Open a case with Pure's Support Team, give them an operating window for the upgrade and then they do the upgrades remotely, generally within an hour.
  • Deduplication: because of the 4:1 deduplication ratios that we are seeing in our environments, we reduced from a full rack of EMC VNX hardware, to 5RU of Rackspace in one of our data centers, while the rest of our arrays are sitting in a single 3RU chassis, providing all the storage we need for 100s of Windows Server and Desktop VMs.
  • I really cannot think of anything that Pure needs to do differently. They are constantly innovating their Pure1 SaaS interface with more benefits and providing on-array software updates that provide value to our IT Team.
FlashArray is well suited to general virtual workloads, especially where there are low latency and high I/O requirements. We run all kinds of virtualized SQL workloads without issue and we run our VMware Horizon VDI deployment right alongside the virtual server infrastructure without any performance problems. If you have a lot of test/dev environments, it is a great solution as well because of the deduplication technologies built into Array.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray from an administrator perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Pure Storage FlashArray for array-based replication. The organisation is using it to develop software to work on top of the infrastructure, and they are testing how the array performs under different test cases (light and heavy workloads, different types of failures etc). These arrays are quite nimble and at times too easy to work with. I'm used to working with big enterprise arrays and most of the time these arrays are as simple to use as a home NAS but at the same time provide the same amount of analytics and performance as the big enterprise arrays.
  • Probably the best support that I've ever seen
  • Designed to be all-flash from the very beginning
  • Very, very, very easy to use
  • Easy to deploy
  • During our initial deployment, there are things that should be automated (I think they may already be automated with the current versions) like IP address assignment and finalising the configuration.
  • Although documentation is plentiful and very well written, at times one might feel lost searching for a specific document. A "beginner section" in the portal would be very helpful for new users.
  • More descriptive error messages would be very helpful.
We are using and testing on the SAN capabilities of the array. So far, it's a very good system overall. We haven't extensively tested the NAS side of things. That doesn't mean it doesn't perform well - only that I have no overview on it
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Happy with Pure Storage FlashArray

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashArray is being used by the whole organization. It provides high speed, reliable block storage for performance-sensitive OLTP workloads. It provides snapshots, redundancy at a network level, at a node/rack level, and provides for snapshots. It is easy to manage and has a relatively easy to use management user interface. We've never had it fail, and Pure support always contacted us for repairs and upgrades. These were easy, usually with me approving work over email, clicking on "Remote Assist", and letting engineers do all the work remotely. The array was moved from two separate physical locations and continues to operate normally.
  • Reliable
  • Fast
  • Easy to use
  • Better interface for metrics reporting
  • More details on the Pure CLI
  • More details on storage, compression/dedup, and background jobs to better explain when volume size is actually reclaimed after deletes/trims
Perfect for business-critical databases that do not fit entirely in memory. If the database fits in memory, there are better distributed solutions. If the database is non-critical, then Pure is more expensive than just hosting a database on local SSDs with regular backups. It offers the best reliability when combined with a physical on-prem 10G dual switch environment.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (143)
9.4
Flash Array Integration (134)
9.1
Data Compression (142)
9.3
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (137)
9.5
Simplicity (143)
9.4
Power Savings (121)
8.9

About Pure Storage FlashArray

Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.

Pure Storage FlashArray Integrations

Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Pure Storage FlashArray Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No