Pure Storage FlashArray Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
335 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 204)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
August 11, 2020
Todd Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used by the entire organization to host Microsoft SQL Server 2019 database as well as hosting multiple VM's. Pure Storage is extremely efficient for fast database OTLP & OLAP processing. Data duplication allows us to host many copies of the database and duplicate VM's for production, testing and development. Pure Storage has completely changed and improved our entire development. Things that used to take hours and days have turned into seconds and minutes.
  • Data compression and data duplication.
  • FAST FAST FAST and reliable It just works!
  • Customer support is #1. We have never had a vendor better than Pure Storage.
  • EASY EASY EASY It just works! Stupid simple and easy to configure and manage.
  • Love to see the price come down. We want more units for data replication.
  • More details on the mobile app.
  • More support for Hyper-V.
When you need speed, it's FAST, especially for MS SQL databases. If you are having bottlenecks, you can spend your time finding it in the code because it's not Pure Storage. Love the data reduction and duplication. We can store so much more on this unit than the base physical size. Love the data snapshots. When you need to complete copy your entire environment for testing etc. Nothing is easier, a few clicks and you are done. Extremely helpful for testing and training.
It's hard to really explain simplicity of use other than it just works. We are not having to waste time fiddling around with settings and dealing with performance issues.
Upgrades are beyond easy. Pure Storage does all the testing prep work and upgrade. Our upgrade went as follows: Beginning of the day - Pure Storage is upgrading the array today during a busy production day. End of the day - Pure Storage is done. Zero downtime or performance issues.

Snapping our environment for development and testing has changed everything. Within seconds we can snap and present a full copy of the environment. Development and testing have increased 10 fold.
  • Reliability and upgrade process - We have never gone down. Yes, we have replaced drives and controllers but never had any downtime 5+ years straight.
  • Easy to use. A few clicks and you HOST and Volumes ready to go. Need to copy your environment, a few clicks and you're done.
  • Data compression and duplication.
Read Todd Rasmussen's full review
October 26, 2020
Kevin Hannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our FlashArray is being used as primary storage to support the virtualization of both servers and desktops across our local government. It supports dozens of servers with a wide range from Active Directory to databases to applications servers along with some active virtual desktops.
  • Incredibly low latency.
  • Great throughput, fast transfers.
  • Excellent transparent data deduplication.
  • Excellent support from pre-sales to setup to post sales followups.
  • If I had to pick, orange is an unflattering color on me.
In any environment that is large enough to need backend storage, this is a great long-term solution. Looking forward Pure's support offerings put them head and shoulders above their competition. This not only gives us a top of class storage solution but does so at a long-term support cost that is a fraction of other solutions.
The Pure Storage FlashArray has been rock-solid. The management/monitoring interface is very straight-forward. The performance is a night and day improvement from our old storage, and the best part of all of this is that with the support cost guarantee, I know that we will be saving money over other solutions in a very short period of time.
We have not needed to contact support. However they are great about reaching out pro-actively and making sure that our needs continue to be met. Very few companies provide this level of post sales support.
The install went smoothly, and the engineer explained every step along the way. The next couple of days he checked in to make sure that migration was running as planned. The user interface is designed with usability in mind. You don't need a dedicated "Storage Silo" to manage this product. For smaller IT departments that need to support many different workloads, this could not be a better feature.
Read Kevin Hannon's full review
August 12, 2020
John Bartch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Pure Storage Flash Array is used for our VDI environment(s), of which we have three. This allows us to have the best performance for VDI, in regards to the storage aspect of it. We are currently using the VDI for mostly non-persistent desktops. We have also used the snapshot and replication features of the array(s) to provide backup from site to site.
  • Very simple administration of the array.
  • No training necessary.
  • Fault tolerance is top notch.
  • Pure Storage support monitors array(s) and is very responsive.
  • Honestly can't think of anything that I wish the arrays had that they don't.
  • Haven't had one problem to complain about.
  • Pretty expensive, but you get what you pay for...
I have only used the Pure array(s) in our VDI environment(s). It's been so simple to administer. Pure Storage has monitored for problems, alerted us promptly, and sent out replacement parts quickly. The array's have not had any unscheduled downtime since we bought them and I have had no problems administering them. The fault tolerance built into the system allows for upgrades and replacements without any downtime.
We have benefitted by not having any downtime due to the fault tolerance built into the product, as well as the monitoring and responsiveness of Pure support. We have also benefitted by the speed of the array. The dedupe and compression have allowed us to stay well below the capacity limits of the array(s).
The fault tolerance is probably the best feature of the array. We performed upgrades while the VDI environment was running production workloads with no discernible impact on performance. We have created data stores in our VMware environment quickly and easily due to the simple administration of the Pure array(s). Setting up snapshots and replication was pretty straightforward, following the documentation.
Read John Bartch's full review
January 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we have been testing the Pure Storage Arrays (M20) for 1 year. These POC's include single array, multisite arrays with async and sync replication, and now we have just completed VMware SRM integrated plugin with Pure Storage. If purchased, this product will be used across certain lines of business across the organization. It will address VMware replication across sites with minimal user intervention.
  • Ease of use: The array itself is very user-friendly and does not require lots of training for teams to support it.
  • VMware Analytics alerting is not available in Pure1. Analyzing VMware statistics is a manual process. I would like to see the ability to alert based on certain thresholds.
It is well suited for VMware environments because of the ability of a non-storage team to support and use the product. Also, the integrated VMware plugin helps automate tasks and offload most of the work to the Pure Array and away from VCenter.
Support is always available when opening a case, but sometimes can't explain in detail what issues the customer is experiencing or why? Product documentation on support site could be improved.
Read this authenticated review
December 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Pure M10 array supports a corporate vSphere environment, and is the primary storage for approximately 50 virtual machines. The workloads vary from file shares to SQL databases.
  • Management is dead simple. Spinning up a new datastore is simple and straightforward.
  • Data compression and deduplication are amazing. We're seeing 5-7:1 compression ratios without a performance hit.
  • The Evergreen model Pure uses make updates/upgrades easy to do, and requires no downtime.
  • Since data reduction is used to achieve more storage than is represented by the raw numbers, I'd like to see this figure more prominently in the user interface. Sometimes it's hard to know if you're making a good choice when you're used to dealing with legacy storage numbers.
Frankly, I haven't found a workload that creates challenges for this hardware. I no longer worry about IOPS in my planning, because with fiber backing it's just not a bottleneck anymore. We've seen some great performance improvements in Exchange (on-prem) and SQL workloads as well. Backups are no longer a disruptive feature of our environment because the snapshots are managed so well.
The simplicity of the hardware cannot be overstated. The complexity of running this kit is not the end user's problem. It just works. It took a while to get used to the idea of not checking my storage on a regular basis, but it's to the point now where I don't think about it until I'm planning to use additional capacity.
vCenter integration is among the best. I can manage nearly all of the array's features from within vCenter, and if I choose to make changes from the array itself these are immediately reflected in vCenter. Additionally, where spinning disk required multiple datastores in vCenter to maintain IOPS and expected performance levels, I can now create huge datastores and aggregate workloads appropriately.
The very first time I contacted support the experience was amazing. I had asked for an upgrade to the Purity OS. To my surprise, Support accommodated my schedule request and managed the entire upgrade. It went so smoothly I found myself wondering if it had actually been completed. There were zero service interruptions and timely communication throughout. I have since found this to be the case every single time. I might have gotten a little spoiled by the experience, to be perfectly honest.
Read this authenticated review
August 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the company. It addresses speed and performance while encrypting our data. We needed a solution to secure our patient's health information and this was the best solution we were able to find. We also needed a high performing storage system to keep up with our growth of data as our company grew.
  • Speed
  • Performance
  • Encryption
  • Ever green controller replacement
  • Cost
Pure Storage is needed where you need speed and performance. It is also great for ease of use and management, which was key for us as we didn't have the resources to spend a lot of time managing our storage system. It is probably too expensive to be used as secondary or backup storage, but that is probably the case for any flash-based storage system.
Simplicity, speed, and dependability. Pure has kept everything simple, even from the time they quoted us on it originally, the quote was only three lines. The simplicity of managing the system and upgrading has been outstanding. The Pure storage system also encrypts data as it's written, which really helps us protect our patient's data and meet compliance requirements.
Speed, performance, simplicity. Data encryption was also a very useful feature for us. Some storage companies charge extra and will nickel and dime you, whereas Pure gives you everything you need right out of the box. They keep everything simple and that makes it a win-win for everyone. We wouldn't even think about switching to another storage vendor.
Read this authenticated review
August 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashArray runs the entire infrastructure for one of my clients. It initially replaced Equallogic arrays that did not meet our performance needs. Our database applications average 30k+ IOPS and the old array just wasn't enough.
  • Storage performance is outstanding.
  • Service has been excellent.
  • Ease of use is wonderful.
  • Array didn't integrate well with our old v-center and we were not notified about the incompatibility.
  • Documentation can be difficult to access.
Pure Storage is great for medium to large businesses that need high-performance storage for applications and databases.
Ease of management, it just works.
Read this authenticated review
May 22, 2020
James Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chapman University owns two M20 FlashArrays. One provides primary high-speed storage for our production Oracle ERP database and middleware environments, for our highest-performance-tier VMWare clusters, and for our MS SQLServer-based university data warehouse. The second M20 provides ultra-high-speed shared scratch storage for our primary High-Performance Computing (HPC) computational-research supercomputing cluster. Our entire campus community, faculty, staff, students, researchers, use the resources hosted on these arrays every day. The applications, databases, and research workloads running on these arrays are literally how the university does its work.
  • Our FlashArrays have been 100% reliable. In the four-years-plus we have been relying on them, we have not experienced a single moment of unplanned downtime due to these arrays. Their hardware design is solid-state and fault-tolerant, redundant everywhere. This allows zero-downtime upgrades for all of their OS, management, and driver software. We've been through numerous (10+) software upgrades on two arrays and have never experienced any interruption in service or data loss.
  • Pure Storage's FlashArray support, phone-home, monitoring, and analytics services through their centralized Pure1 web portal have been head-and-shoulders above every other storage vendor we've worked with. Their tools allow their staff to be expert, professional, confident, and, best of all, proactive. Their platform allows them to know far more about the array than we do, and in real time.
  • Our FlashArrays have been blazingly fast. When we copied our production Oracle databases over to the first array for the first time, the databases immediately benchmarked out 2.5 to 3 times faster, with no other changes. Every one of the workloads we migrated to our FlashArrays experienced similar speed increases.
  • Compared to legacy hybrid or spinning-disk storage-array administration, managing our FlashArrays is extremely simple. No more external spreadsheets tracking raid categories, LUN sizes, or storage pools built on different underlying types and arrangements of disks. Allocate a volume, give it a name, hook it up to a host or a cluster. Rescan the storage, and start using it.
  • Pure's implementation of data reduction/data deduplification has been amazing for us. Absolutely a game-changer. It has allowed our arrays to function like arrays five or even ten times their actual size. It works especially well (really, really, really well) with large database and database-development environments, where dev/test/qa databases are close copies of production databases. You basically get all of the copies for free, storage-wise. Something very similar happens with array storage for VMWare VM's, also. Copies of VM's are basically free.
  • In our environment, Pure could provide additional network interconnect technologies. HPC is not that common a market niche, though. Pure could at least test and validate limited compatibility with third-party hardware, even if they then needed to limit their support or warranty if customers chose to implement it.
  • Pure provides a lot of API support for building your own integration solutions for things like VMWare administration, container orchestration, and hybrid cloud environments. They do seem to be investing in these technologies, but full-featured, pre-packaged, tested and supported solutions would be a lot better. Most enterprises don't want to build their own automation and integration, they want things to just work, out of the box.
All-flash storage is expensive, and full-featured all-flash, like the FlashArray, is even more expensive. You need to have a need for it. If you use virtual desktops in your environment, or if you have performance-sensitive databases or database-integrated applications, or if you are doing any sort of significant machine-learning, deep-learning, or data analytics, these are all workloads that will benefit from FlashArray storage. Anyone of those, much less all of them, would easily rationalize spending the extra money to get the benefits of a FlashArray.
Working with Pure's support team is 180 degrees different than working with any other storage vendor we've ever dealt with. Their technology and their product design makes their job a lot easier, because of its straightforwardness and reliability. Their centralized phone-home/management/analytics support platform also means that they will always know everything about your array that they need to, in real time. You don't need to run tests or gather data or run some kind of utility that you then send the results of to the support team. They already know. This allows them, sometimes, to even be proactive, making you aware of some emerging issue, and then fixing it, before you would otherwise have even started to notice it.
Read James Kelly's full review
May 22, 2020
Ben Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The FlashArray is being utilized by our entire organization. We currently have 2 arrays. The first was specifically bought to correct storage performance issues that we were encountering in our VDI environment with a prior storage vendor. We were so impressed with that array that the following year we secured a second array to migrate our entire server workload to.
  • Deduplication and compression
  • PERFORMANCE!
  • Support
  • I honestly can't think of anything.
PureStorage is well suited for any situation where performance is the top requirement. Since implementation, we have not been able to throw anything at it that has caused any latency above 1ms. It would not be well suited as a backup endpoint, or NAS type storage simply due to the cost and available performance.
Simplicity of management has greatly reduced the time spent managing our storage. Extremely reliable, we have not had any storage-related outages since implementation 2 years ago. Speed is never a question as all latency remains well under 1ms.
All-inclusive licensing. You don't get hit on individual feature licenses. Any time a new feature is released, it is backported to all supported arrays and there is never any additional charge. Compression and deduplication rates are excellent, which in turn lowers the TCO of the units. Asynchronous replication works great to replicate data to our DR site.
Read Ben Moore's full review
May 22, 2020
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pure Storage in our organisation to provide datastores in our production VMware vSphere environment and have found it to be a great replacement for the EMC XtremIO that we previously had. The data reduction is brilliant. The ease of use, clear dashboards, online analytics, and smartphone app are all great additions.
  • The Pure Array does data reduction particularly well. We've seen a 7x reduction on some of our volumes.
  • It is easy to get used to the system after coming from other storage arrays.
  • It has some welcome additions such as a smartphone app that makes it easier to view your cases, etc.
  • It would have been good to see vvol support for ESX 6.0.
The array is quite well suited as a general-purpose storage device for VCenter. We also have some volumes directly zoned to some Windows servers and it is equally adept at handling that.

I would, however, not recommend using Pure Storage FlashArray as a backup target. Use a purpose-built appliance for backups and, for goodness sake, keep backups on a separate storage device to production!
Our biggest benefit, coming from a mix of flash and hybrid arrays has been that of performance. However, we have also been able to impress our sustainability groups with the amount of power we have saved and cost savings we have made.

Cost saving is particularly important to us as we are a charity organisation and every penny we can save means another penny going towards life-saving cancer research.
The most useful features of the array, if you can call it that, is the additional Pure1 website. This along with the app allows me to check on my arrays' performance, capacity, etc. from wherever I am. It's also a single pane of glass for support, alerts, etc., so makes everything very easy to find.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
May 19, 2020
Toby Wenzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 5 FlashArrays, shared in a 5 organization multi-tenant environment. Two are for file servers, two are general purpose, and one is for Oracle and SQL databases. These were purchased over a two year period, to replace aging monolithic SAN arrays. They resolved all of our storage bandwidth bottlenecks and capacity issues.
  • They are excellent for virtual environments. The speed and dedupe/compression is extremely valuable.
  • We have had excellent performance running Oracle and SQL databases on the FlashArray.
  • The maintenance couldn't be easier. Downtime is virtually non-existent because of the design of the architecture.
  • With Evergreen, we will receive free controller upgrades with support renewal.
  • It would be nice to be able to perform storage copies directly between volumes on a FlashArray.
  • Integration with VMware where you could replicate a volume, then point vms to the new volume.
  • Bring the price of a disk pack (10 disks) down to a reasonable amount. It's almost the same price to purchase an entire new FlashArray.
It works very well for single purpose workloads (think databases or same type applications). It seems to struggle with good compression and deduping mixed workloads. We have noticed about a 6:1 ratio with DBs, and <3:1 on mixed workloads or large file servers. It is still extremely fast, just not as good compression and dedupe.
The simplicity and performance has transformed our business. I used to spend a considerable amount of time managing legacy storage, but now I have time to run POCs on other products as well as managing the health of my virtual environment.
Simplicity of configuring the Flash Array and of provisioning storage would be the number one useful feature. Besides that, I would say the ability to easily create snapshots of storage and replication to another array.
I have had nothing but outstanding support from Pure Storage. We had one issue with networking after an upgrade. Support worked with my for several hours to resolve the issue. Once second level support got involved, they figured out the problem and created a workaround right away.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
May 19, 2020
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage FlashArray as our Tier 1 storage platform across our entire organization. We have been using it since 2015 and it has worked out great so far. We don't have to deal with disk slowness complaints from our DBA's anymore.
  • Technical support from Pure has been great. They are very proactive and responsive when necessary.
  • Pure Storage FlashArray is very easy to install, configure and administer.
  • We have been very satisfied with the performance of FlashArray - under 1 millisecond latency.
  • Pure Storage FlashArray is not cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for.
  • We have seen a few too many necessary firmware updates to fix software bugs in 2019.
  • There is a bit of "sticker shock" to see how much usable disk you end up with from the raw TB total.
Pure Storage FlashArray is great as a tier 1 storage solution for any workload that needs to have excellent performance. SQL or Oracle databases, in particular, run very well and also see good data reduction.
The benefits of using it as our Tier 1 storage have been ease of use, speed, uptime, and confidence in the product and company.
Pure's data reduction is very good - so we are able to attain 3 to 4 times data reduction on a lot of workloads. We also see less than 1 ms latency across all of our arrays as well, so the performance is top-notch.
Read Mark McCully's full review
May 26, 2020
Tony Shoemaker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage replaced a legacy array, and now serves as our primary storage for both our virtual server and VDI needs. It is being used across the entire organization. It's given us high efficiencies in storage capacity needs, and response times are no longer a topic of discussion. It has simplified overall storage management and has given us a pathway to operational management.
  • Deduplication: Not counting thin provisioning and compression, we are realizing 4 to 1 on our deduplication. It works and it works well. I realize this is totally dependent on the workload. High-level summary, our workloads consists of Windows server, Application Servers, and SQL. And yes, it works really well with VDI.
  • Simplified Management/maintenance: Simple, simple, simple.
  • Support: support has been exceptional both on the phone and from our local SEs. Not that we've had many issues, but our local SEs are ready and willing to answer any questions we have.
  • After having used another storage vendor for years and now using Pure Storage, I'm struggling with improvements. There are some new tools that have been introduced to assist with troubleshooting and forecasting that can be somewhat challenging, but no complaints from an operational view.
It's ideal for any environment that has similar data, such as VDI. For low latency needs, it exceeds our DBA's expectations. Where we do not see a good fit for the flash array is for any media type content. Sure, it would work, but wouldn't make sense for the cost/TB.
I can't say it enough, but working in the past with tiered storage, Pure Storage makes it simple. You certainly need someone who is knowledgeable with enterprise arrays. However, (and I realize this is dependent on the size of the organization and array needs), Pure Storage nearly nullifies the need for a dedicated storage administrator. There is no question on it handling our needs with IOPS, bandwidth, or latency.
Deduplication and performance. From a deduplication standpoint, Pure Storage is giving us 4x our usable capacity! At the array, we consistently see sub-millisecond, and through our hypervisor, it may jump up to 1-2ms.
Read Tony Shoemaker's full review
May 25, 2020
Francois Greeff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for all storage requirements in NSA. The speed and flexibility allow easy deployment and growth. Did I mention SPEED! It is truly sub-1ms IO, so storage is no longer the single bottleneck in processing.
  • Very easy to assign storage to any server.
  • Really fast disk IO.
  • Uptime is remarkable!
  • Explaining to management that something so small with so little lights does so much is a challenge. So we always keep an old MFM drive around just to show them that size has changed. So I'd love some clever way or change to make it look flashier! Seriously, for what we use it for, it does the job.
Database apps love the IO speed. Media files (videos) also like Pure Storage FlashArray, but it is an expensive option for things that cannot compress/dedupe well.
Uptime and ease of configuration have reduced support effort.
Snap feature is really useful, and I believe not used enough!
Read Francois Greeff's full review
May 22, 2020
Mike McFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used by our entire organization because it is our sole storage solution going forward. All of our VMs run from Pure and we integrated vCenter with Pure to ease management. Whenever our business analysts discuss performance issues with databases and applications, I remind them that we cannot put the data on faster storage because Pure is the fastest.
  • Increasing LUN sizes as the business needs grow is very easy. The easiest I have ever managed when I compare with other major vendors.
  • As stated earlier, the performance with Pure is the fastest available.
  • I never worry about growth because I know I just need to add more shelves and not redesign my architecture.
  • NFS support would be nice but not really needed. Some people feel NFS is a requirement but I don't agree.
  • Snap shots of SQL will be the biggest area of improvement that I can give to my business users. Giving them an almost real time copy of a production database that they can use without impacting production performance would be a huge win.
  • Support for Azure storage would also be helpful since it is our primary cloud provider.
Our databases and application servers is well suited for the flash array. File server and other servers are wasted a bit with flash. Still, because there is no faster available storage then this is the best solution in terms of performance.
The installation was fastest of any I have ever seen. It was easy and straight forward. I allowed the Pure engineer and sales engineer access to the rack and the next thing I knew they were done. Absolutely amazing and seamless integration with our network and overall architecture. Very easy in all areas to use.
Implementing new storage is super fast and growing existing storage is also super easy. The interface is easy to navigate because there are not a lot of things to tweak.
Support has done all the work for us and is very communicative.
Read Mike McFarland's full review
May 22, 2020
Wes Dunaway | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our FlashArray is the primary storage array within our datacenter. With the quality of dedupe and compression that FlashArray provides, it is economical enough to run not only SQL, but all other datasets in our datacenter.
We migrated from a cloud services provider using a NetApp storage array to a self-hosted solution. Moving to the PureArray we saw tremendous performance gains across the board with a fraction of the storage utilization that we were being charged for on the NetApp.
It solved all of our performance and storage utilization issues.
  • Dedupe and compression. It always amazes me how much logical data we have compared to how much we are actually using on the array.
  • Speed. We measure response time in micro seconds, not milliseconds.
  • Support. They know something is wrong or misbehaving before I do.
  • As they grow, they become more like the large corporations that are frustrating to work with (EMC, NetApp, etc). I hope they don't lose the core qualities that made them so attractive to begin with.
Any dataset which requires tremendous speed and response times would benefit from PureArray.
As for less appropriate use cases, there really is not a bad spot to use PureArray, but there may be situations where it would not provide the most bang for your dollar. Storing cold/rarely accessed data on a PureArray would be a waste.
Easy to use, fantastic support team, and fast does not accurately describe it. Jobs run faster, systems fun faster, I can spin a server up from scratch to configuring the OS in less than 3 minutes.
I so rarely have to manage it that I hardly remember any features other than ease of use. The reporting and ability to analyze storage metrics are fantastic. It is easy to analyze and plan for future growth and consumption. It also makes it easy to brag to your colleagues at other companies about how fast your Storage is compared to theirs.
Read Wes Dunaway's full review
May 22, 2020
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is our Tier 1 storage platform for all servers and services hosted in our datacenter. That's dozens of applications, big and small, in a diverse technical environment with lots of different workloads. The workloads on Pure Storage arrays are 99% virtualized. While it was originally brought in to host our largest workloads that require the highest performing IO, it quickly became the standard for storage performance. Any system engineer will tell you that storage performance issues are a pain, and with shared storage, are not easy to manage. Pure Storage has made storage performance issues a thing of the past and high performing storage is the new normal.
  • High performing storage IO.
  • Simple set-up, configuration, and administration.
  • Cost can be relatively high.
  • Capacity increases only come in specific sizes (2, 5, 10TB), so upgrades are not very customizable.
Pure Storage FlashArray works extremely well as an on-premise high-performing storage array. It has worked very effectively for us in our virtualization environment, throwing workloads like Oracle, PeopleSoft, OpenShift, VDI, etc. at it. Their APIs and software support makes integrations with hypervisors and hardware very straight forward. If you need low performing disk arrays with simply a lot of storage capacity, this may not be appropriate for your environment - you can definitely get a ton of cheap capacity elsewhere.
We have benefited from many aspects of Pure Storage. Performance is our number one benefit. Our one array will support up to 100k IOPS and I think more when we upgrade. The performance combined with the ease of use has made the overall administration costs of supporting enterprise storage very low; freeing us up to do other things than troubleshoot storage issues.
All-flash storage is a complete shift from traditional spinning-drive arrays. The performance difference is like night and day. The simple administration and effective use of capacity with deduplication and compression have allowed us to make the most out of our array and stretch our dollars. The FlashArray comes fully loaded with APIs for every function, which makes us excited to see how future products integrate with it.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
May 20, 2020
Ezra Owen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pure Storage as a storage platform for our multi-tenant cloud environment as well as for customers with dedicated hardware environments. It provides a solution for high IO environments as well as eases the burden of array management.
  • Management: The interface makes it easy to define hosts, host groups and LUNs. Very quick, very intuitive and simple. AD authentication is also a huge bonus for us. Allows for customers to view but not manage their own array.
  • Performance Metrics: Pure Storage has good metrics across the array as well as at the individual LUN. We have begun separating LUNs based on customers and it has been huge when trying to trouble shoot performance for a single customer whose compute is on a multi-tenant cloud.
  • Speed: I don't have specific metrics, but all customers that are on the array have never complained about speed. We did have one customer that we were throttling based on the original contract. We opened that up to get them over a couple of initial deployment tasks and they were pleased with the speed.
  • VLAN support: The VLAN support in the newer version of Purity was also huge for us. It allowed us to keep SAN networks separate in a multi-tenant environment.
  • Support is great: We had a support engineer dig through Microsoft settings for multipathing on iSCSI iniators. He did this on two different occasions!
  • See more under the hood: I came from an array environment where there was a little more visibility into what was going on the in the background of the array. It would be nice to have the option to see what type of RAID is being used, and more details on the compression and deduplication that is going on.
  • The ability to throttle a specific LUN on the Pure Storage would be nice. Not sure of the implications though.
When you are talking thousands and thousands of IOPS, Pure Storage is a good choice. If you have a need for multi-speed disks, Pure Storage might not be for you.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
May 20, 2020
Scott Brissenden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 3 Pure arrays that are used across the whole organization. We run a VDI environment on it and lots of SQL that benefits from the all flash array. We have an array for development, production, and DR. Using the arrays in these 3 environments ensures that we do not have to sacrifice performance.
  • Pure's dedupe algorithm allows us to save storage space considering we have several stacks running the same software.
  • The evergreen program allows us to upgrade the controllers on our arrays every 3 years so we are always current.
  • Support is amazing, they will work at fixing a problem even if it isn't on their end.
  • There is nothing that I can think of that they could do better.
  • I would like better notifications of new features.
VDI is a great use case for FlashArray. Users benefit from solid state drives that can help drive productivity. Placing fileservers on the array can cause the dedupe ration to drop and there is less benefit to having them on an all flasharray, we moved them off to a hybrid array.
we have great speeds from a highly utilized san. Our DBAs enjoy crazy fast database performance.
PureOne is the best feature. you can track usage, performance, and plan future upgrades.
Their support is very responsive and always willing to help out. I have never had to wait on hold for a support rep. We also have them do all the array upgrades, they start on time and complete in a timely manner. Their staff is very knowledgeable.
It is by far the easiest system to use.
Read Scott Brissenden's full review
May 19, 2020
Will Fife | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was initially skeptical, our plan was to boot 100% of our virtual machines and VFX render infrastructure from several Pure FlashArrays. The performance has been excellent as expected, but the compression/deduplication and reliability have vastly exceeded my expectations.
  • Speed. It is fast, really fast. I'm not sure where Pure gets their magical go faster pixie dust, but it is the good stuff.
  • Reliable. No problems and that is amazing.
  • We are booting 400 render nodes off of 4 of the smaller FlashArrays and the deduplication is nothing short of magical.
  • The UI can be confusing, but the CLI more than makes up for it.
  • I would love to see more statistics, graphs help prove to users that their gut instinct about where the problem is, is wrong.
Booting many hosts with similar disk images (VMs, render infrastructure, Virtual Desktops).
Simplicity in a number of areas, including imaging, virtualization and software development. Also, the raw performance continues to be impressive, as it out performs anything but local NVMe in our testing. The main thing for us is its reliability though. We just never have to think about it, except when it provides some feature that saves us time or money unexpectedly.
Hitless upgrades and cloning snapshots are probably our two most used features. These days we test out our imaging process and generate a golden disk image for virtual machines, and then quickly clone of multiple copies of this image in seconds for imaging a fleet of servers. The hitless upgrades keep us up to date and secure without down time for our users. We even perform these upgrades during the week while the systems are under normal usage.
They do great work, and all seem to be quite knowledgeable.
We run what seems to me to be a crazy number of hosts (800), backed by 2 pure arrays. Around 400 hosts per array, including database servers, render farm, application servers, etc.
Read Will Fife's full review
May 19, 2020
College325 Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 2 Pure arrays and use them to serve around 95% of data to our hosts. We use other NVME cards for other applications like IBM Informix and Oracle ODA. We moved everything off of Compellent to Pure Storage. I think our Pure Storage arrays are both very solid and so far I am pleased with the performance and manageability of these arrays.
  • IT servers up data with < 1ms
  • It is very easy to configure new storage
  • Make zoning data and expanding storage sizes very well
  • The data can always be faster. We purchased NVME storage as the data was slower than what we were using before.
Pure Storage is a very nice array and easy to manage. It can serve up data in normal environments that do not require fast IO. The speed of the array for applications that require very fast IO is lagging. We are not using the Pure Storage Array for our most critical servers and use NVMe for those servers instead.
It is very easy to use and training juniors with Pure Storage is simple.
De-dupe and compression are very impressive.
Read College325 Hess's full review
May 19, 2020
Omar Khalid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage provided a FlashArray AFA for our environment. It is being used by our entire organization here at Ricoh and it solved the immediate storage issues that we had and the bottleneck we were seeing in performance. The snapshot capability also gave us great peace of mind by being able to retain a lot of version at the LUN level on the fly while taking up minimal logical space.
  • Ease of Administration: Great web console with the ability to configure everything. Little to minimal console knowledge required.
  • Deduplication and Compression: These features work extremely well at ensuring that our data usage remains low on the array even as the business grows.
  • Support: Pure's support is quick to respond and able to connect directly to and manage the unit in the case of any issues we encounter.
  • Performance: Pure's array is the best performing array according to Gartner's reviews of all-flash arrays (AFA).
  • Better connectivity to cloud: While Cloudsnap supports AWS natively, it would be nice to see other vendors and platforms added.
  • Better enhancements to reporting: While reporting is good, HPE has the edge when it comes to their Nimble Insights software.
I believe if the budget allows that a Pure Array or multiple arrays can be used in any configuration or any density regardless of how much data needs to be stored or how much performance is required.
Performance
Data reduction
Power savings
Data protection
  • Performance
  • Deduplication and compression
  • Non-disruptive upgrades
  • Best cost per GB
Read Omar Khalid's full review
May 19, 2020
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pure Storage FlashArray for the entire organization to replicate to identical array in our co-lo site. This array is blazing fast and it solved I/O and latency issues we had with our databases. Our VMs are lightning quick on the array making any storage migrations a breeze. Management of the array is also very simple and easy to use. Overall this is a great product!
  • Customer service is fantastic. We have not had any issues with the array, but even doing a code upgrade is simple as support is very friendly and quick to respond.
  • The array is FAST! Being an all-flash array that is expected, but bundle that with their architecture and this thing is lightning quick in all storage operations.
  • We have not yet had the opportunity to take advantage of the Evergreen Model, but are looking forward to a hardware upgrade. This model is great and allows for quick and easy uplift to the newest hardware without replacing the array.
  • The array is so simple and easy to use that, we rarely need to manage it or do anything really. It really feels like a set and forget kind of system because it just works.
I would recommend this array for any scenario. I have yet to find any faults in this product, sales team, support team, or anything else. This array is a well worth it upgrade for any data center and I would be hard-pressed to think of any scenarios where this array would not be appropriate.
The array is super simple to use. We rarely need to login to manage the array. The speed is also absolutely incredible! This is a very fast array and we don't even have the NVMe model yet. And, we will not be required to do an array upgrade ever again with the Evergreen model, which is nice.
The most useful thing for us is how simple it is to navigate the UI and make configurations. This allows for any user to be able to get up to speed and start working with the array with very minimal effort. They really don't lie when they say that it is built from the ground up with customer experience in mind. Everything simply makes sense and does not force you to constantly reference manuals and guides.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
May 19, 2020
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started with a Pure FlashArray back in 2014 for our VDI deployment. This was the beginning of a great relationship with Pure and the products they provide. We have since migrated from our original F420, to M20, to currently using X50's at both our production and secondary site locations. Through the years, working with the FA has been a pleasure compared to 95% of our other hardware administration. It's simple to use and easy to maintain. Upgrades have always been flawless with no disruption to the production environment.
Our Pure Storage account team and support have always been there, pre-preemptively on the most part, with support and suggestions on how to best get the most bang for our buck out of our arrays.
We are currently looking into migrating our file-level storage to Pure's FlashBlade technology. With that, we will have a single pane window into our storage environment, thereby easing the administration process even further. I would highly recommend the Pure FlashArray to any company looking to refresh their storage environment and move forward with a company that is bringing storage management into the future. Evergreen helps to know that you will always be moving to a more current platform every three years easily on the budgeting and management fronts.
Do yourself a favor...go PURE!
  • The integration with VMware's vSphere has made creating and expanding datastores/volumes easy for all of our admins. They can do everything from one browser tab.
  • The ability to run future planning scenarios has been helpful in knowing what we need to purchase in future budget cycles.
  • The preemptive parts replacement that Pure Storage provides has led to us never having an outage on our arrays.
  • We have not seen much, as they seem to be keeping up with requested features and functions over the 5 years we have been consumers.
Pure FlashArray has moved from being a niche array for VDI deployments to being an overall storage array to handle pretty much any workload you can throw at it. We have replaced all of our legacy "blue" storage arrays with the Pure FlashArray, and have seen nothing but positive results across the board.
The simplicity of administration, installation, upgrades...this has been a life-changer for my team. The proactive support calls to say they want to replace a drive, as it shows that it might fail in the near future. My management loves this support model.
The compression and deduplication provided by Purity are top-notch! It has allowed us to maximize our storage and minimize our footprint at our data centers. Incredible!
Read Christopher Mills's full review
May 19, 2020
Max Tevs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The FlashArray is being used across our entire environment/organization. Internally, and customer clouds as well. Atmosera is a cloud service provider of both Private and public cloud offerings. We utilize the FlashArrays for our private cloud offerings, selling datastore volumes as managed storage. The FlashArray allows us to be scalable in our internal infrastructure, while also offering the huge benefits of Flash storage. The FlashArray fleet we have also given us a single vendor infrastructure, which eases management.
  • The Pure Array is scalable (easy to add more storage, easy to split up/provision existing storage).
  • The Pure Array handles deduplication and compression better than any storage array I've worked with.
  • Pure Support is very knowledgeable and responsive to issues and questions.
  • The Pure Web GUI is very intuitive and easy to use.
  • VM Analytics is a great and easy to enable feature.
  • While the GUI is easy to use, some management features are only available in the CLI.
The FlashArray is well suited in a high utilization environment. I believe the best use for the FlashArray is for cloud/managed service providers, however, the FlashArray has its place in on-prem high utilization environments as well. The FlashArray is also well suited in environments where there will be multiple FlashArrays as you can set up pods and interconnect the arrays.
In smaller and lower utilized environments, the FlashArray may not be as well suited due to the cost of the array. For example, the FlashArray is not the best use for backup storage (as backup storage does not need to be fast and does not typically carry production workloads).
Simplicity: Once set up, the FlashArray's web GUI is extremely simple to manage and configure. Adding storage to hosts is easy to do.
Speed: The FlashArray's I/O speeds are very quick, which is expected from modern flash arrays.
Utilization: The deduplication ratio allows us to replace nearly 10 SAS arrays with just one FlashArray.
The compression and dedupe ratio is by far, in my opinion, the best feature available. As stated before, we were able to consolidate nearly our entire storage environment (a mixture of Synology and Netapps) with just a handful of FlashArrays. Our average dedupe ratio across our fleet is about 4.2 to 1.
Pure's are very easy to use and provide some of the best performance available.
Read Max Tevs's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (150)
9.4
Flash Array Integration (140)
9.2
Data Compression (149)
9.4
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (144)
9.5
Simplicity (150)
9.4
Power Savings (127)
9.0

What is Pure Storage FlashArray?

Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.

Pure Storage FlashArray Integrations

Pure Storage FlashArray Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No