TrustRadius
Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3J/9l/6DTEESOELA5I.JPEGThe little array that couldWe have 5 FlashArrays, shared in a 5 organization multi-tenant environment. Two are for file servers, two are general purpose, and one is for Oracle and SQL databases. These were purchased over a two year period, to replace aging monolithic SAN arrays. They resolved all of our storage bandwidth bottlenecks and capacity issues.,They are excellent for virtual environments. The speed and dedupe/compression is extremely valuable. We have had excellent performance running Oracle and SQL databases on the FlashArray. The maintenance couldn't be easier. Downtime is virtually non-existent because of the design of the architecture. With Evergreen, we will receive free controller upgrades with support renewal.,It would be nice to be able to perform storage copies directly between volumes on a FlashArray. Integration with VMware where you could replicate a volume, then point vms to the new volume. Bring the price of a disk pack (10 disks) down to a reasonable amount. It's almost the same price to purchase an entire new FlashArray.,10,Very little management after initial setup. It is quite expensive, so we haven't noticed an ROI on hardware costs, but many less man hours are required to manage the FlashArrays. The performance provided using a FlashArray over legacy SAN, is probably the biggest ROI we see.,We have absolutely benefited from the simplicity of the FlashArrays. We almost never have to even log in to do anything other than provision Storage. Maintenance is performed by support when we schedule after hours, and we have had virtually no issues with upgrades or hardware problems. The man hours saved has been huge.,If you can, purchase drive packs to fill up what hardware you are purchasing. To purchase disk packs (10 drives) afterwards, if extremely costly, even prohibitively so. A disk pack can cost upwards of 90% of a whole new array with the same amount of space included.,10,,I have replicated from one FlashArray to another at a remote data center. Once the replication was complete, we were able to bring up our virtual environment very quickly. I have migrated many virtual machines between datastores on an array in minutes, enabling me to use smaller datastores where needed.Pure Storage Flash Array, the Only Storage you will Need!Pure Storage has replaced our entire NetApp Storage Infrastructure. We have used Pure Storage in all of our use case scenarios. VMware, SQL, Oracle, and even file servers. This storage expands across our whole organization and it satisfies all of our previous issues we used to have such as IO issues and also encryption. Pure Storage is encrypted by default at rest and this was a huge benefit for all the audits we go through.,Ease of installation – The Pure system was by far 10x easier to setup/configure and begin to use than our NetApp devices were Simplicity – The GUI of PureStorage is by far the simplest storage solution I have had to manage in my 10 years of IT. This makes is really simple to create and provision storage to any host. Better Data Reduction – Compared to our NetApp it uses 4k block sizes, while our Pure implements a variable block size for data reductions, yielding better results. With the combination of deduplication and compression we are currently getting a 4.3 to 1 ratio with our data! This is compared to our NetApp which we were only able to get about 1.5 data reduction ratio since It wasn’t recommended to do both deduplication and compression with the NetApp due to overhead on the controllers. We have provisioned 18 TB of data on our Pure storage and are only using 3.20 TB with the rates were getting with Pure. This is amazing and we are only at 50% disk utilization. Upgrades – When updating the software with NetApp it is a pain staking process since you have several components to update (Controllers, Hard Drives, RLM, Shelves, etc.). During the upgrades you also have to bring your CPU and disk utilization down to 50% before you can perform the upgrades. This forces us to shut down servers to decrease the utilization. The Pure makes it so simple since the technical support teams schedule the upgrades with us and then do them for us! This requires no shutting down of servers and also we will never lose any performance on the controllers during an upgrade. Performance – This is the key to the Pure storage since they offer 100,000 IOPS as opposed to our NetApp which was barely getting a maximum of 7,000 IOPS. Also NetApp was unable to retain performance during an upgrade or failure of a drive compared to Pure which retains performance period! Customer Support – During the times that I have had to call support they have responded and resolved things very quickly compared to NetApp. Forever Flash – This was a huge sales point and a great advantage to our team since we normally always refresh our systems every 3 to 4 years. The Forever Flash model now makes this process painless to our department. Security – Pure offers us by default an encrypted “at rest” volume compared to NetApp which has no such feature. This was huge for us to meet certain security requirements for compliance. Rack Space – This Pure storage solution is a no brainer when it comes to rack space. We will be saving almost a full rack of space once we have fully migrated over to our new M-series which will save us money! Metrics – Pure has built in to the console analysis metrics that you can obtain quickly to monitor and troubleshoot compared to NetApp which you have to build a separate server to configure and license! It’s a no brainer!,I honestly can't think of anything. I love Pure Storage!,10,SQL Performance is off the charts. No delays like we used to have with NetApp. Oracle Performance is off the charts. No delays like we used to have with NetApp. VM Performance is off the charts. No delays like we used to have with NetApp.,The simplicity of the GUI that they have is by far the simplest I have used with any storage vendor. I have used HP, NetApp, Dell, and others and Pure Storage surpasses them all by a long shot. When it comes to upgrades or maintenance, the Pure Storage team does them for you with NO DOWNTIME! It does not get any easier than that! Just send them an email with the date and time and you can sit back and relax!,The advice I would give is to stop waiting and just get it! Since we moved our storage environment to the FlashArray, not only have we been happy but everyone else who uses our systems and applications has been happy with the huge gain on performance. Another thing that most people do not think about also is rack space. We saved over an entire rack of NetApp storage with only 6Us of Pure Storage!,10,NetApp FAS seriesWhy we switched to PureWe are a managed service provider, we use FlashArrays for shared storage for our private cloud customers and as dedicated storage for several of our larger customers. We have been steadily replacing all older spinning disk storage systems with FlashArrays. This has allowed us to greatly increase storage efficiencies and provide outstanding storage performance to all our customers.,Ease of management - both the local administration and PureOne dashboard allow us to monitor systems as well as provide life-cycle management. Storage efficiency - the de-dupe and compression ratios are fantastic. We can provide our customers better cost to usage ratios. Service and support - online upgrades for both software and hardware means no downtime for the customers. Evergreen controllers - upgrades to the latest hardware as part of the service contract means we don't have any more data lifts when upgrading to the new system. Ease of configuration and integration with our hypervisor providers - just another way not to spend all our time managing storage.,Cost is still a little high, increasing storage is pricey but things are getting better.,10,Return on investment has been great, lowering management costs and providing greater storage efficiencies. System reliability is awesome. We have several FlashArrays and very few hardware failures; something like 4 drives in 4 years, and no controller issues. No negative impacts with these systems for us at all.,We have benefited greatly, we solve customer problems by moving their data onto FlashArrays. We spend less time maintaining storage systems and investigating performance issues. We don't need storage engineers spend time troubleshooting day to day issues, the admins can handle all the issues that now appear and most of those are file restores and minor system config issues. Engineers can now help customers with more innovative ways of handling their data and moving more customers to our private clouds.,Buy a FlashArray now and start retiring your old SAN and NAS systems.,10,NetApp All Flash FAS, NetApp EF-Series All Flash Arrays, NetApp FAS series, SolidFire and Violin MemoryPure is fantastic enterprise storage.We use Pure FlashArray to run the majority of our VMWare environment. Pure has been an enormous performance upgrade. The web interface is lightning fast and fantastic. The UI is minimal, logical, and easy to figure out. Incidents caused by storage performance/reliability have entirely stopped. One I put a VM on pure, I never hear about it again.,Great web interface. Extremely fast performance Excellent vmware documentation and support.,Pure has trouble with delivering hardware fast. Our first one had a DOA slot and the entire m20 had to be replaced which took longer than it should have Not particularly compelling as a NAS. Excels mainly at block storage.,10,Our business can very easily estimate how much money we lose for every minute of downtime. Pure helps us eliminate storage as a cause of this. Fast throughput gives us the ability to move workloads around quickly to adapt to business needs.,It helps us having all our storage in one large pool w/o having to manage groups of disks which is the case in the netapp/3par world. Pure requires no extra management. You only carve out your luns and connect them. You don't worry about the disks or the raid levels or anything.,Don't try to compare iops specs. No reviewer can afford to buy a bunch of expensive enterprise storage systems to do any kind of comparison. I can tell you that my pure m20 is totally limited by the 2x 10gbps fcoe interfaces on the blades we run our VMs on. It totally maxes the capabilities of this interface easily hitting 20gbps. If you want to compare vendors, try to analyse the path forward and what happens when your device is EOL.,10,,We've recently looked into vvols on Pure which will further simplify our environment. Storage native snapshots would be huge. End users experience more consistent performance on any software running on our Pure storage.Pure Storage FlashArray quick reviewPure Storage hosts all mission-critical databases for the whole corporation. It helps to improve the reliability and performance of our database environment.,The active/active design increase the reliability. If one controller has problem, the other controller is always there to handle the IO. There is NO need to do failover in other active/passive storage which may cause timeout or failure. Pure Storage has nvram which increase the performance of write IO. The read performance is also good since the Pure Storage always try to avoid the reading and writing on the same block in the flash disk. The active cluster feature provides the redundancy on the storage array level. So our database cluster not only can tolerant the server failure, it can also tolerant the storage array failure. The built-in deduplication and compression feature can save lots of storage space.,Pure Storage is block storage using fiber channel or iSCSI. It doesn't have the NAS ability.,10,We have about 5 to 1 data reduction rate since Pure Storage always has Dedup and compression enabled. This means that we can put more data on the storage.,The installation of the FlashArray is less than 3 hours which includes some testing. So it is fairly easy to install. The GUI is also easy to use. You don't need days of training for that.,10,,As a system administrator, Pure Storage makes our routing maintenance works easier. Our end users also enjoy the performance improvement.
Unspecified
Pure Storage FlashArray
41 Ratings
Score 9.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Pure Storage FlashArray Reviews

Pure Storage FlashArray
41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 41 vetted Pure Storage FlashArray reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-18 of 18)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Toby Wenzel profile photo
November 30, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "The little array that could"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 5 FlashArrays, shared in a 5 organization multi-tenant environment. Two are for file servers, two are general purpose, and one is for Oracle and SQL databases. These were purchased over a two year period, to replace aging monolithic SAN arrays. They resolved all of our storage bandwidth bottlenecks and capacity issues.
  • They are excellent for virtual environments. The speed and dedupe/compression is extremely valuable.
  • We have had excellent performance running Oracle and SQL databases on the FlashArray.
  • The maintenance couldn't be easier. Downtime is virtually non-existent because of the design of the architecture.
  • With Evergreen, we will receive free controller upgrades with support renewal.
  • It would be nice to be able to perform storage copies directly between volumes on a FlashArray.
  • Integration with VMware where you could replicate a volume, then point vms to the new volume.
  • Bring the price of a disk pack (10 disks) down to a reasonable amount. It's almost the same price to purchase an entire new FlashArray.
It works very well for single purpose workloads (think databases or same type applications). It seems to struggle with good compression and deduping mixed workloads. We have noticed about a 6:1 ratio with DBs, and <3:1 on mixed workloads or large file servers. It is still extremely fast, just not as good compression and dedupe.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
Chris Gomez profile photo
November 23, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure Storage Flash Array, the Only Storage you will Need!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage has replaced our entire NetApp Storage Infrastructure. We have used Pure Storage in all of our use case scenarios. VMware, SQL, Oracle, and even file servers. This storage expands across our whole organization and it satisfies all of our previous issues we used to have such as IO issues and also encryption. Pure Storage is encrypted by default at rest and this was a huge benefit for all the audits we go through.
  • Ease of installation – The Pure system was by far 10x easier to setup/configure and begin to use than our NetApp devices were
  • Simplicity – The GUI of PureStorage is by far the simplest storage solution I have had to manage in my 10 years of IT. This makes is really simple to create and provision storage to any host.
  • Better Data Reduction – Compared to our NetApp it uses 4k block sizes, while our Pure implements a variable block size for data reductions, yielding better results. With the combination of deduplication and compression we are currently getting a 4.3 to 1 ratio with our data! This is compared to our NetApp which we were only able to get about 1.5 data reduction ratio since It wasn’t recommended to do both deduplication and compression with the NetApp due to overhead on the controllers. We have provisioned 18 TB of data on our Pure storage and are only using 3.20 TB with the rates were getting with Pure. This is amazing and we are only at 50% disk utilization.
  • Upgrades – When updating the software with NetApp it is a pain staking process since you have several components to update (Controllers, Hard Drives, RLM, Shelves, etc.). During the upgrades you also have to bring your CPU and disk utilization down to 50% before you can perform the upgrades. This forces us to shut down servers to decrease the utilization. The Pure makes it so simple since the technical support teams schedule the upgrades with us and then do them for us! This requires no shutting down of servers and also we will never lose any performance on the controllers during an upgrade.
  • Performance – This is the key to the Pure storage since they offer 100,000 IOPS as opposed to our NetApp which was barely getting a maximum of 7,000 IOPS. Also NetApp was unable to retain performance during an upgrade or failure of a drive compared to Pure which retains performance period!
  • Customer Support – During the times that I have had to call support they have responded and resolved things very quickly compared to NetApp.
  • Forever Flash – This was a huge sales point and a great advantage to our team since we normally always refresh our systems every 3 to 4 years. The Forever Flash model now makes this process painless to our department.
  • Security – Pure offers us by default an encrypted “at rest” volume compared to NetApp which has no such feature. This was huge for us to meet certain security requirements for compliance.
  • Rack Space – This Pure storage solution is a no brainer when it comes to rack space. We will be saving almost a full rack of space once we have fully migrated over to our new M-series which will save us money!
  • Metrics – Pure has built in to the console analysis metrics that you can obtain quickly to monitor and troubleshoot compared to NetApp which you have to build a separate server to configure and license! It’s a no brainer!
  • I honestly can't think of anything. I love Pure Storage!
Pure Storage shines in the area of virtualization. An all-flash array helps database servers perform at a very high rate and if you deploy Pure Storage in a VMware environment, you can expect to see the deduplication and compression ratios off the charts! Many of us run hundreds of VMs with the same OS and due to this, the ratio of space that you save becomes worth it.

An example where you probably would not want to implement Pure Storage FlashArray is in an unstructured data environment. For this, you would use another product they have called Flash Blade.
Read Chris Gomez's full review
Trey Pautsch profile photo
December 08, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Why we switched to Pure"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a managed service provider, we use FlashArrays for shared storage for our private cloud customers and as dedicated storage for several of our larger customers. We have been steadily replacing all older spinning disk storage systems with FlashArrays. This has allowed us to greatly increase storage efficiencies and provide outstanding storage performance to all our customers.
  • Ease of management - both the local administration and PureOne dashboard allow us to monitor systems as well as provide life-cycle management.
  • Storage efficiency - the de-dupe and compression ratios are fantastic. We can provide our customers better cost to usage ratios.
  • Service and support - online upgrades for both software and hardware means no downtime for the customers.
  • Evergreen controllers - upgrades to the latest hardware as part of the service contract means we don't have any more data lifts when upgrading to the new system.
  • Ease of configuration and integration with our hypervisor providers - just another way not to spend all our time managing storage.
  • Cost is still a little high, increasing storage is pricey but things are getting better.
We have only one scenario where Pure is not the answer; backups and archives. For all other scenarios, we have been very happy with the FlashArrays. We are investigating FlashBlades for a couple of specialized deployments, where they may be better suited but we will stay with Pure for all solutions not involving backups.
Read Trey Pautsch's full review
Cory Salvesen profile photo
December 07, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure is fantastic enterprise storage."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure FlashArray to run the majority of our VMWare environment. Pure has been an enormous performance upgrade. The web interface is lightning fast and fantastic. The UI is minimal, logical, and easy to figure out. Incidents caused by storage performance/reliability have entirely stopped. One I put a VM on pure, I never hear about it again.
  • Great web interface.
  • Extremely fast performance
  • Excellent vmware documentation and support.
  • Pure has trouble with delivering hardware fast.
  • Our first one had a DOA slot and the entire m20 had to be replaced which took longer than it should have
  • Not particularly compelling as a NAS. Excels mainly at block storage.
Pure is best suited to being the storage for virtual machines. It's probably worst suited as a NAS. It's overkill performance wise, and doesn't have an exotic filesystem to handle large complex file sets. This isn't a complaint, just that NAS is not the focus of Pure. Block storage and running VMs is.
Read Cory Salvesen's full review
Robert Chen profile photo
December 05, 2018

"Pure Storage FlashArray quick review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage hosts all mission-critical databases for the whole corporation. It helps to improve the reliability and performance of our database environment.
  • The active/active design increase the reliability. If one controller has problem, the other controller is always there to handle the IO. There is NO need to do failover in other active/passive storage which may cause timeout or failure.
  • Pure Storage has nvram which increase the performance of write IO. The read performance is also good since the Pure Storage always try to avoid the reading and writing on the same block in the flash disk.
  • The active cluster feature provides the redundancy on the storage array level. So our database cluster not only can tolerant the server failure, it can also tolerant the storage array failure.
  • The built-in deduplication and compression feature can save lots of storage space.
  • Pure Storage is block storage using fiber channel or iSCSI. It doesn't have the NAS ability.
It is well suited for a VMware environment and databases environment.
Read Robert Chen's full review
Mike McFarland profile photo
November 28, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure Storage is purely awesome!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used by our entire organization because it is our sole storage solution going forward. All of our VMs run from Pure and we integrated vCenter with Pure to ease management. Whenever our business analysts discuss performance issues with databases and applications, I remind them that we cannot put the data on faster storage because Pure is the fastest.
  • Increasing LUN sizes as the business needs grow is very easy. The easiest I have ever managed when I compare with other major vendors.
  • As stated earlier, the performance with Pure is the fastest available.
  • I never worry about growth because I know I just need to add more shelves and not redesign my architecture.
  • NFS support would be nice but not really needed. Some people feel NFS is a requirement but I don't agree.
  • Snap shots of SQL will be the biggest area of improvement that I can give to my business users. Giving them an almost real time copy of a production database that they can use without impacting production performance would be a huge win.
  • Support for Azure storage would also be helpful since it is our primary cloud provider.
Our databases and application servers is well suited for the flash array. File server and other servers are wasted a bit with flash.
Read Mike McFarland's full review
Plamen Kolev profile photo
November 23, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Best storage I've ever used."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage FlashAray as a storage for our VMware infrastructure. We use it because we need very low latency for our VMs. We also use the storage replication to our DR site. All of our company systems depend on it being stable and fast. No problems for a year and a half.
  • Excellent integration with VMware
  • Very easy and intuitive interface
  • Excellent monitoring and support via cloud portal
  • I'd really like more administrative control over SSH
Great for VMware virtual infrastructure.
Read Plamen Kolev's full review
Carl van Eijk profile photo
November 17, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Why be duped by others, when you can be de-duped by Pure"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage FlashArrays to underpin our virtual infrastructure and intrusion detection systems. In the high-end Mayfair gaming world latency is the enemy. Our customers demand a level of service that requires instantaneous results.

Our business purpose is to remain the market leader in Mayfair and the UK.

Simply put, Pure Storage FlashArrays help enable that.
  • It just works.
  • And works.
  • It's rock solid.
  • What initially sold me on it, during our POC, our sales engineer said we should test failures to data and power! That we did! We live pulled all the plugs and cables and moved the flash array to another rack and reconnected everything. Our test virtual infrastructure, having paused for the duration, just continued where it left off 5 minutes earlier, as if nothing had happened.
  • 0 downtime or issues in 3 years, including several major software revision updates.
  • It's fast. Fast enough run all of our virtual infrastructures and Intrusion Detection System writes for our entire network without missing a beat
  • It's simple. Having set up many storage systems in the past, I was blown away by how plug and play it was.
  • None
Pure Storage FlashArray is perfect for databases, intrusion detection systems, network monitoring, SIEM, VDI, and virtual infrastructure.

Although Pure Storage FlashArray is also well suited for IDS(PCAPs), video and graphic design, the cost per GB is high due to the deduplication not performing optimally.
Read Carl van Eijk's full review
No photo available
December 07, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "It's really as good as they say!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used at two of our data centers. It is the primary storage at both data centers and is used by all business groups. Pure Storage was implemented to replace aging legacy SANs that were getting to costly to maintain and had significant performance issues.
  • Latency is below 1ms 100% of the time
  • Storage web interface is intuitive and easy to use
  • vCenter plugin works great
  • While I can see LUNs easily within the interface, I'd love to see what data is consuming the most space
  • The web interface can be a bit too simplistic
  • I'd love to know when new controller firmware is released. At the moment, I am relying on my Pure Sales Engineer to tell me.
Pure Storage was an excellent replacement to our legacy array. We run typical workloads mixed with web servers, database servers, and traditional application servers. In every scenario it has performed well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 16, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "PURELY Positive"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using this product to support one of our vmware clusters. We are utilizing the High availability features for a specific product.
  • It is very easy to use the management interface.
  • So far the product has been incredibly fast.
  • It has a very robust feature set and they are constantly improving upon its capabilities.
  • We are waiting for support of VVOLs along with the active clustering at the same time.
  • I really don't have any more negatives as the product thus far has been wonderful.
It is very effective in an area where you need to handle high levels of IO as well as maintaining redundancy. This would apply to critical applications or high activity databases. This product would not be very effective for long-term storage of cold data that is not touched very often.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray: "Pure Storage Array Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses multiple Pure flash arrays across multiple environments, servicing multiple needs from datastore volumes to SQL clustered disks. The device provide us with fast, reliable storage, and the ability to scale out our environments thanks to the compression and deduplication that Pure Storage provides across the entire array.
  • Easy to use and configure GUI interface
  • High rate of compression/deduplication allows for lots of storage.
  • Great customer and technical support.
  • GUI could use some added functionality only found in Pure1 or the CLI
Pure Storage FlashArrays are well suited for cloud service provider companies that need scalable solutions for multiple customers and use cases. Also well suited when trying to build a fast SAN. Pure Storage Flash Arrays may not be well suited for smaller organizations who do not have a use case for flash storage, due to their higher cost.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 28, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure Storage Flash array can meet or beat the goals you are trying to achieve"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure FlashArray is being utilized across the enterprise for out Tier0 and Tier1 applications. It addressed the needs for reducing latency times across our entire system, being a hospital system this has greatly improved our status within the organization. The support we receive is beyond expectations, as what they provided from day 1 has never been offered by any storage company. Being able to swap out the controllers "live" has been an added experience I am happy to brag about, the cost was even better.
  • The increase in data reduction from their compression is better than expected.
  • Our latencies dropped dramatically in IT terms to sub-millisecond.
  • The ability to swap out and upgrade to new controllers with no "fork-lifting" just saves on everything, migrations, downtime you name it.
  • Possibly more reporting on the compression of the data
  • Management of the snapshot environment.
  • Though support likes to do all the work, they should listen closely to the clients' needs and environment. Not everyone is the same.
It is great at databases and high IOP applications. The ability to scale-out as your data grows (whose data shrinks?). It did so well with our database environment we deployed it for VDI pushing out a competitor. Not good for low I/O workloads as it is overkill. Also if you want the ability to manage snapshots, this is not the system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 26, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "In love with Pure Storage"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FlashArray's volumes to host virtual machines. Pure Storage is being used by the IT Department.
  • Simplicity to administer.
  • Data reduction.
  • Qualified support.
  • The pricing can be difficult to explain to the financial teams.
Pure Storage is well suited if you don't want to deal with storage engineer's problems. It is easy to deploy and to maintain. You should use Pure Storage if you know that the data you are going to use is compressible (don't use this array to store images for example).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Storage active cluster can be so easy, reliable and fast - as promised"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Two Pure Storage FlashArray is used in two datacenters with an active cluster. It is used across the whole organization with high reliability.
  • The setup and migration was very simple.
  • The administration of this active cluster is easy. As a new customer it is clear and the Storage Array is working like promised.
  • The Pure support is excellent and really fast. To schedule firmware upgrades and execute these upgrades goes very smoothly and without problems during business hours.
  • It should be possible for adminstrators, to pause the alerting in the administration WebGui. For example for failover testing or network maintenance with impact of the Pure Storage active cluster.
The Pure Storage FlashArray with the active cluster, the Pure support and the easy maintenance is not just an empty promise from seller. It really works like promised.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 28, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Better, Fast and Simple"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our datacenter is 100% virtualized (VMware ESXi) and we upgraded our SAN to Pure Storage over 2 years ago which improved greatly the speed and performance of the servers and applications (especially MS SQL systems).
  • SQL queries run faster compared with conventional spin disks SAN.
  • VM backups finish faster and restoring the whole VM takes less time.
  • Pure Storage has a great de-dupe compression ratio (we are 5.4 to 1)
  • It would be nice to have settings like TINTRI where you don't need to create and manage volumes from the SAN, just manage everything from the host servers.
It is good for environments where you need high IOPS and you have over 100 VMs
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 30, 2017

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "PureStorage, an absolute must for any VDI environment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the m20 storage array for hosting our VDI environment. It is part of an initiative to replace our hybrid storage platform hosting the current VDI environment. We are currently limited by storage silos and after a POC, we found PureStorage to be very competitive as it had better performance, gave more usable storage, higher dedupe and compression. We also tested it for other use cases such as hosting CIFS via SMB and running a SQL database which had good results.
  • Performance of the array is very high. We immediately noticed users reboot times, Read/Write's and overall user experience improve.
  • Dedupe and compression gave us more available storage.
  • Best solution out in the market for any VDI environment as it provides the users an experience that cannot be achieved using spinning disks.
  • CIFS support. Enterprises that are using NAS solutions for hosting CIFS are not comfortable moving to SMB solution. There are other flash array products in the market that currently support CIFS.
  • Better DB handling. Had a scenario where the IOPS spiked without any reason.
  • We had a scenario where the storage array brought down an entire ESXi host. It could be a one off thing but good to keep in mind.
Best suited for hosting VDI environments. Great for hosting production environments where there is a need for IOPS as the array can easily handle any workloads. Because of a bad experience with ESXi, i cannot give it a 10/10 as the array completely froze the host.
Read this authenticated review
Ezra Owen profile photo
October 28, 2016

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Is Pure Storage right for you?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Pure Storage as a storage platform for our multi-tenant cloud environment as well as for customers with dedicated hardware environments. It provides a solution for high IO environments as well as eases the burden of array management.
  • Management: The interface makes it easy to define hosts, host groups and LUNs. Very quick, very intuitive and simple. AD authentication is also a huge bonus for us. Allows for customers to view but not manage their own array.
  • Performance Metrics: Pure Storage has good metrics across the array as well as at the individual LUN. We have begun separating LUNs based on customers and it has been huge when trying to trouble shoot performance for a single customer whose compute is on a multi-tenant cloud.
  • Speed: I don't have specific metrics, but all customers that are on the array have never complained about speed. We did have one customer that we were throttling based on the original contract. We opened that up to get them over a couple of initial deployment tasks and they were pleased with the speed.
  • VLAN support: The VLAN support in the newer version of Purity was also huge for us. It allowed us to keep SAN networks separate in a multi-tenant environment.
  • Support is great: We had a support engineer dig through Microsoft settings for multipathing on iSCSI iniators. He did this on two different occasions!
  • See more under the hood: I came from an array environment where there was a little more visibility into what was going on the in the background of the array. It would be nice to have the option to see what type of RAID is being used, and more details on the compression and deduplication that is going on.
  • The ability to throttle a specific LUN on the Pure Storage would be nice. Not sure of the implications though.
When you are talking thousands and thousands of IOPS, Pure Storage is a good choice. If you have a need for multi-speed disks, Pure Storage might not be for you.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
Sanjay Kumar profile photo
March 28, 2016

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "My 2 cents over Pure Storage"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used by the Enterprise Infrastructure team to have some of the business critical application databases hosted on the Pure Storage for better performance. Migrating from typical SAN to Pure Storage significantly improved the performance challenges which we were facing earlier.
  • READ and WRITES operation (I/O) were way higher than the traditional SAN.
  • Migration from Mainframe to SQL during the time of staging where millions of records were dumped and the Pure Storage hosted DB worked really well. The ETA for having the data loaded to SQL environment was tough but we managed to have it using Pure Storage.
  • SQL TempDB performance also performed exceptionally well when BI & Analytics folks were performing major query against the TempDB.
  • Easy mechanism or GUI for creating a SNAPSHOT of the storage where the DB files are hosted. We have encountered some challenges when trying to create a SNAPSHOT of the storage for reporting purpose on demand.
  • SNAPSHOT performance counter to monitor impact of the source storage if any impact.
On a Database side, whether Oracle, SQL or DB2, I see this storage as an awesome combination for optimal performance.
Read Sanjay Kumar's full review

About Pure Storage FlashArray

Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.

Pure Storage FlashArray Integrations

Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Pure Storage FlashArray Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No