TrustRadius
Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3J/9l/6DTEESOELA5I.JPEGPure Flash GoodnessWe utilize the Flash Array across our entire organization, from test/dev to production. This allows us to set, from a storage point of view, a consistent performance experience, which allows us to better troubleshoot problems in our stack. The Flash Array is simple enough to handle our most basic tasks, yet performant enough to handle our most demanding workloads with plenty of overhead to allow us to grow.,VASA provider for VVols being located on the controller is the most logical way to set that up. Have no idea why other vendors don't do it that way. Support is top notch. Always responsive. Quick to resolution. We had an issue that involved multiple vendors, including Pure, and they ran it for us. Was definitely storage related, but ultimately the root cause did not like with them. The amount of content their engineers release is great. People like Cody Hosterman and others add a lot of value to Pure and bring that to the community.,Pricing is definitely high. You get what you pay for, but you get a lot. The lack of readily accessible deeper stats has been problematic in the past, especially when it comes to capacity planning.,9,The faster storage showed immediate returns in performance for our customers, both internal and external. The feature set allowed us to add a significant number of internal business processes, as well as improve others. So, definitely some hidden or unaccounted for value.,Put in a ticket to upgrade. Specify a timeline. Enable remote assist. Maybe an alert or two from surrounding infrastructure as one of the controllers reboots. Doesn't get any easier. Adding in a pack of drives or upgrading them in place is not only easy, but fast. Same with evacuating those data packs to empty a shelf to move or return.,They have a whole team at your disposal. Don't be afraid to engage them.,9,,Clone a LUN, feed it through an obfuscation process, and you now have test data to work with. Or take that obfuscated LUN and clone it several times for multiple test environments. This lets us secure data, and provide devs with a full data set/schema to work against.Pure Storage The Best Of The BestOur Pure Storage array is being used mainly by our SQL software, we provide software as a service to the health club industry. The 3 years that we have been using Pure Storage has taken our month end process from several hours to just a couple. We have been very pleased with the speed and reliability.,Speed of use compared to traditional drives. Easy to provision. Very insightful graphs and logistics.,Because of how fast they have been growing, employees are constantly changing or advancing in the company and you are having to deal with new people all the time.,10,Because of the speed and less issues, our customers have been happy with not having slowness or timing out because of low latency.,We can spin up a copy of our database in a matter of minutes to do dummy month end and other testing, were as before it would take days to spin up a copy.,Make sure you are utilizing an internal network that matches the purestorage array, you don't want your switches etc causing the bottle neck in your network.,10,We haven't had any issues with pure at all, any possible maintenance that could cause an issue pure support is meticulous making sure any updates wont cause an issue.Pure Storage FlashArray: Enterprise-wide Benefits More Than Worth the CostChapman University owns two M20 FlashArrays. One provides primary high-speed storage for our production Oracle ERP database and middleware environments, for our highest-performance-tier VMWare clusters, and for our MS SQLServer-based university data warehouse. The second M20 provides ultra-high-speed shared scratch storage for our primary High-Performance Computing (HPC) computational-research supercomputing cluster. Our entire campus community, faculty, staff, students, researchers, use the resources hosted on these arrays every day. The applications, databases, and research workloads running on these arrays are literally how the university does its work.,Our FlashArrays have been 100% reliable. In the four-years-plus we have been relying on them, we have not experienced a single moment of unplanned downtime due to these arrays. Their hardware design is solid-state and fault-tolerant, redundant everywhere. This allows zero-downtime upgrades for all of their OS, management, and driver software. We've been through numerous (10+) software upgrades on two arrays and have never experienced any interruption in service or data loss. Pure Storage's FlashArray support, phone-home, monitoring, and analytics services through their centralized Pure1 web portal have been head-and-shoulders above every other storage vendor we've worked with. Their tools allow their staff to be expert, professional, confident, and, best of all, proactive. Their platform allows them to know far more about the array than we do, and in real time. Our FlashArrays have been blazingly fast. When we copied our production Oracle databases over to the first array for the first time, the databases immediately benchmarked out 2.5 to 3 times faster, with no other changes. Every one of the workloads we migrated to our FlashArrays experienced similar speed increases. Compared to legacy hybrid or spinning-disk storage-array administration, managing our FlashArrays is extremely simple. No more external spreadsheets tracking raid categories, LUN sizes, or storage pools built on different underlying types and arrangements of disks. Allocate a volume, give it a name, hook it up to a host or a cluster. Rescan the storage, and start using it. Pure's implementation of data reduction/data deduplification has been amazing for us. Absolutely a game-changer. It has allowed our arrays to function like arrays five or even ten times their actual size. It works especially well (really, really, really well) with large database and database-development environments, where dev/test/qa databases are close copies of production databases. You basically get all of the copies for free, storage-wise. Something very similar happens with array storage for VMWare VM's, also. Copies of VM's are basically free.,In our environment, Pure could provide additional network interconnect technologies. HPC is not that common a market niche, though. Pure could at least test and validate limited compatibility with third-party hardware, even if they then needed to limit their support or warranty if customers chose to implement it. Pure provides a lot of API support for building your own integration solutions for things like VMWare administration, container orchestration, and hybrid cloud environments. They do seem to be investing in these technologies, but full-featured, pre-packaged, tested and supported solutions would be a lot better. Most enterprises don't want to build their own automation and integration, they want things to just work, out of the box.,10,Our FlashArray implementations have had extremely positive impact on our business goals. Our main, heavy-lifting Oracle and MS Sql databases and apps run much faster and provide much faster response times. Our data warehouse ETL completes in much, much less time. (From >12 hours to <2 hours.) Our research workloads complete much more quickly (at least the ones that are storage-bound.) Since Pure Storage's storage administration is so much simpler, we've freed up a lot of storage admin and database admin time to work on other business needs. The reduction in combined DBA/SAN admin time is maybe as much as 50%. Overall, after implementing the FlashArrays, our campus surveys of user satisfaction rose, with respondents mentioning the improved perceived speed and responsiveness of centralized campus student, faculty, and staff applications (ERP and others).,The Pure arrays have been very reliable. Once our storage-migration processes completed, we went for months without really even thinking about the FlashArrays. For each array, the time from the Pure SE opening the box to starting the first data copy was less than an hour. All of this has freed up our SAN admins for other work. The reduction in SAN admin time (and it affected our DBA's, too) has been as much as 50%.,The price curve for storage has reached the point where any enterprise, even smaller ones, should be considering all-flash storage arrays first. All all-flash arrays are not created equal, nor are all-flash array vendors. Price is important, but full-featured storage like Pure's FlashArrays are much more "future-proof". A customer can be very confident that Pure's arrays will continue to move forward in features, support, and compatibility.,10,Tintri, Dell/EMC CX4 series, EMC Celerra, EMC Clariion CX4 Series, EMC Isilon Scale-Out NAS, EMC VNX, VMware vSAN and XtremIO Flash Storage,Pure's truly excellent support for automation and integration programming has allowed us to build a completely new database- and application-automation solution. This solution allows us to clone, manage, and deploy complex, integrated database-plus-application environments as dev/test copies in less than 10% of the time it previously took, using less than 10% of the previous DBA/SAN admin effort. This has allowed our development teams to complete their projects faster, delivering features and performance to our entire campus community, increasing customer satisfaction and other higher-ed key performance metrics.The little array that couldWe have 5 FlashArrays, shared in a 5 organization multi-tenant environment. Two are for file servers, two are general purpose, and one is for Oracle and SQL databases. These were purchased over a two year period, to replace aging monolithic SAN arrays. They resolved all of our storage bandwidth bottlenecks and capacity issues.,They are excellent for virtual environments. The speed and dedupe/compression is extremely valuable. We have had excellent performance running Oracle and SQL databases on the FlashArray. The maintenance couldn't be easier. Downtime is virtually non-existent because of the design of the architecture. With Evergreen, we will receive free controller upgrades with support renewal.,It would be nice to be able to perform storage copies directly between volumes on a FlashArray. Integration with VMware where you could replicate a volume, then point vms to the new volume. Bring the price of a disk pack (10 disks) down to a reasonable amount. It's almost the same price to purchase an entire new FlashArray.,10,Very little management after initial setup. It is quite expensive, so we haven't noticed an ROI on hardware costs, but many less man hours are required to manage the FlashArrays. The performance provided using a FlashArray over legacy SAN, is probably the biggest ROI we see.,We have absolutely benefited from the simplicity of the FlashArrays. We almost never have to even log in to do anything other than provision Storage. Maintenance is performed by support when we schedule after hours, and we have had virtually no issues with upgrades or hardware problems. The man hours saved has been huge.,If you can, purchase drive packs to fill up what hardware you are purchasing. To purchase disk packs (10 drives) afterwards, if extremely costly, even prohibitively so. A disk pack can cost upwards of 90% of a whole new array with the same amount of space included.,10,,I have replicated from one FlashArray to another at a remote data center. Once the replication was complete, we were able to bring up our virtual environment very quickly. I have migrated many virtual machines between datastores on an array in minutes, enabling me to use smaller datastores where needed.Pure storage, pound for pound the best industry features and ROIMy organization uses Pure storage M70 for Epic Clarity Reporting, Caboodle. My organization also uses Pure M20s at satellite locations, replicating to an M70. Finally, we utilize an M70 and 2x X70 for local storage hosting AIX, Windows, and Linux servers, Phy and Virt sever block storage as well as a replication target for Epic at our DR site.,Straightforward to manage, Pure Storage stays out of your way so that you can quickly provision storage, increase lun capacities, etc. Snapshot-based replication works very well and is immensely less complex than other technologies such as srdf. Rock solid, stable performance.,Upgrades to Pure are good but could be better. There is room for improvement in the upgrade process. Rolling drive power cycles are necessary on some Pure versions. The abundance of orange is quite gaudy.,10,It is hard to judge the overall ROI, but it has been positive.,Simplicity has allowed us to give engineers with less storage experience a platform to utilize while training on other larger and complex storage systems.,Try it out in your organization in a testing or dev role and expect to be impressed.,9,EMC VNX, XtremIO Flash Storage and EMC Symmetrix VMAX,Utilizing Purity snapshot and replication with scripts and replicate HPUX server data. Utilizing snapshots for SQL cluster hw migrations.
Unspecified
Pure Storage FlashArray
98 Ratings
Score 9.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Pure Storage FlashArray Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Pure Storage FlashArray
98 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 98 vetted Pure Storage FlashArray reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 55)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Chris Schott profile photo
February 15, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure Flash Goodness"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize the Flash Array across our entire organization, from test/dev to production. This allows us to set, from a storage point of view, a consistent performance experience, which allows us to better troubleshoot problems in our stack. The Flash Array is simple enough to handle our most basic tasks, yet performant enough to handle our most demanding workloads with plenty of overhead to allow us to grow.
  • VASA provider for VVols being located on the controller is the most logical way to set that up. Have no idea why other vendors don't do it that way.
  • Support is top notch. Always responsive. Quick to resolution. We had an issue that involved multiple vendors, including Pure, and they ran it for us. Was definitely storage related, but ultimately the root cause did not like with them.
  • The amount of content their engineers release is great. People like Cody Hosterman and others add a lot of value to Pure and bring that to the community.
  • Pricing is definitely high. You get what you pay for, but you get a lot.
  • The lack of readily accessible deeper stats has been problematic in the past, especially when it comes to capacity planning.
It's a good fit for any enterprise and any workload. The ability to replicate data between arrays is a big help for DR scenarios, as well as things like mirroring data from production into development.
Read Chris Schott's full review
Patrick Sullivan profile photo
January 22, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure Storage The Best Of The Best"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Pure Storage array is being used mainly by our SQL software, we provide software as a service to the health club industry. The 3 years that we have been using Pure Storage has taken our month end process from several hours to just a couple. We have been very pleased with the speed and reliability.
  • Speed of use compared to traditional drives.
  • Easy to provision.
  • Very insightful graphs and logistics.
  • Because of how fast they have been growing, employees are constantly changing or advancing in the company and you are having to deal with new people all the time.
When I had a drive go out on a traditional array it would take almost 2 days to rewrite the drive, with Pure I plug the new drive in and within a matter of seconds, it's done.
Read Patrick Sullivan's full review
James Kelly profile photo
January 18, 2019

Review: "Pure Storage FlashArray: Enterprise-wide Benefits More Than Worth the Cost"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Chapman University owns two M20 FlashArrays. One provides primary high-speed storage for our production Oracle ERP database and middleware environments, for our highest-performance-tier VMWare clusters, and for our MS SQLServer-based university data warehouse. The second M20 provides ultra-high-speed shared scratch storage for our primary High-Performance Computing (HPC) computational-research supercomputing cluster. Our entire campus community, faculty, staff, students, researchers, use the resources hosted on these arrays every day. The applications, databases, and research workloads running on these arrays are literally how the university does its work.
  • Our FlashArrays have been 100% reliable. In the four-years-plus we have been relying on them, we have not experienced a single moment of unplanned downtime due to these arrays. Their hardware design is solid-state and fault-tolerant, redundant everywhere. This allows zero-downtime upgrades for all of their OS, management, and driver software. We've been through numerous (10+) software upgrades on two arrays and have never experienced any interruption in service or data loss.
  • Pure Storage's FlashArray support, phone-home, monitoring, and analytics services through their centralized Pure1 web portal have been head-and-shoulders above every other storage vendor we've worked with. Their tools allow their staff to be expert, professional, confident, and, best of all, proactive. Their platform allows them to know far more about the array than we do, and in real time.
  • Our FlashArrays have been blazingly fast. When we copied our production Oracle databases over to the first array for the first time, the databases immediately benchmarked out 2.5 to 3 times faster, with no other changes. Every one of the workloads we migrated to our FlashArrays experienced similar speed increases.
  • Compared to legacy hybrid or spinning-disk storage-array administration, managing our FlashArrays is extremely simple. No more external spreadsheets tracking raid categories, LUN sizes, or storage pools built on different underlying types and arrangements of disks. Allocate a volume, give it a name, hook it up to a host or a cluster. Rescan the storage, and start using it.
  • Pure's implementation of data reduction/data deduplification has been amazing for us. Absolutely a game-changer. It has allowed our arrays to function like arrays five or even ten times their actual size. It works especially well (really, really, really well) with large database and database-development environments, where dev/test/qa databases are close copies of production databases. You basically get all of the copies for free, storage-wise. Something very similar happens with array storage for VMWare VM's, also. Copies of VM's are basically free.
  • In our environment, Pure could provide additional network interconnect technologies. HPC is not that common a market niche, though. Pure could at least test and validate limited compatibility with third-party hardware, even if they then needed to limit their support or warranty if customers chose to implement it.
  • Pure provides a lot of API support for building your own integration solutions for things like VMWare administration, container orchestration, and hybrid cloud environments. They do seem to be investing in these technologies, but full-featured, pre-packaged, tested and supported solutions would be a lot better. Most enterprises don't want to build their own automation and integration, they want things to just work, out of the box.
All-flash storage is expensive, and full-featured all-flash, like the FlashArray, is even more expensive. You need to have a need for it. If you use virtual desktops in your environment, or if you have performance-sensitive databases or database-integrated applications, or if you are doing any sort of significant machine-learning, deep-learning, or data analytics, these are all workloads that will benefit from FlashArray storage. Anyone of those, much less all of them, would easily rationalize spending the extra money to get the benefits of a FlashArray.
Read James Kelly's full review
Toby Wenzel profile photo
November 30, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "The little array that could"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 5 FlashArrays, shared in a 5 organization multi-tenant environment. Two are for file servers, two are general purpose, and one is for Oracle and SQL databases. These were purchased over a two year period, to replace aging monolithic SAN arrays. They resolved all of our storage bandwidth bottlenecks and capacity issues.
  • They are excellent for virtual environments. The speed and dedupe/compression is extremely valuable.
  • We have had excellent performance running Oracle and SQL databases on the FlashArray.
  • The maintenance couldn't be easier. Downtime is virtually non-existent because of the design of the architecture.
  • With Evergreen, we will receive free controller upgrades with support renewal.
  • It would be nice to be able to perform storage copies directly between volumes on a FlashArray.
  • Integration with VMware where you could replicate a volume, then point vms to the new volume.
  • Bring the price of a disk pack (10 disks) down to a reasonable amount. It's almost the same price to purchase an entire new FlashArray.
It works very well for single purpose workloads (think databases or same type applications). It seems to struggle with good compression and deduping mixed workloads. We have noticed about a 6:1 ratio with DBs, and <3:1 on mixed workloads or large file servers. It is still extremely fast, just not as good compression and dedupe.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
Mike Davis profile photo
February 15, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure storage, pound for pound the best industry features and ROI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Pure storage M70 for Epic Clarity Reporting, Caboodle. My organization also uses Pure M20s at satellite locations, replicating to an M70. Finally, we utilize an M70 and 2x X70 for local storage hosting AIX, Windows, and Linux servers, Phy and Virt sever block storage as well as a replication target for Epic at our DR site.
  • Straightforward to manage, Pure Storage stays out of your way so that you can quickly provision storage, increase lun capacities, etc.
  • Snapshot-based replication works very well and is immensely less complex than other technologies such as srdf.
  • Rock solid, stable performance.
  • Upgrades to Pure are good but could be better. There is room for improvement in the upgrade process.
  • Rolling drive power cycles are necessary on some Pure versions.
  • The abundance of orange is quite gaudy.
Excellent for a small branch office storage refresh. Great management via webUI AND cli. Love the process of snapshot replication, local snapshot protection, and the smooth mechanics to implement this.
Read Mike Davis's full review
Saikrishna Koganti profile photo
February 07, 2019

Review: "Pure Storage FlashArray with VDI workloads"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The pure storage M20 R1 & R2 array models are being used for managing the VDI workloads in our organization. The arrays are being used by my department and the whole organization as well. We have addressed the VDI performance issues with pure arrays, but the data reduction is drastically varying from 10x to 5x -7x which is a concerning factor. The data dedup factor needs to be considered based on throughput utilization, which is a key factor in sizing point of view
  • Up to 10x initial Data reduction,
  • Sub ms latency with VDI workloads
  • Easy to manage and real-time monitoring in the mobile app
  • Data reduction varying drastically sometimes based on the workloads like patches and schedule rollouts.
  • Capacity sizing is one of the key factors to handle the new workloads considering the data reduction variation.
The Pure Storage array is well suited for initial VDI workloads, and it provides the data reduction up to 13x but later point of time due to new workloads like patches and other rollouts the data reduction can be considered as 5x - 7x. Based on the new workloads and data reduction changes, you need to size the array initially or add additional capacity.
Read Saikrishna Koganti's full review
Nicolas Pla profile photo
February 04, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "PureStorage has storaged all the competitors"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Pure Storage FlashArray for three years in all our organization for several cases, like file servers, storages servers, virtualizations environments ( Openstack - Kvm, XEN ) it's being used by the whole organization around the world. With Pure Storage FlashArray we reduce the time to market problems for our cloud production environment managing the storage throughout API calls and reduce end user problems in each regional office with slow storages. We have replaced other vendors legacy storages like Net App and EMC.
  • Managing the Storage through API calls.
  • Upgrade is the best, you never have downtime, you can upgrade firmware controllers or physical controllers and have no downtime, High Availability works perfect.
  • Support of Pure is great and we never have a problem with them, from installing the Storage to implementations with Openstack and Cinder
  • Did not have any issue with Pure. every report we find, they resolve with fixes.
Pure Storage Flash Array is well suited for virtualization environments, like Hyper-V, OpenStack, VMware, XEN, in this case it works perfectly with the cinder drivers with OpenStack. (We test Icehouse, Mitaka and Manila.) I think that Pure Storage FlashArray is less appropriate just to do backups and to have it like a legacy storage system. It is much more than that. The best use of the storage is for performance uses.
Read Nicolas Pla's full review
Edmund Joseph Tynan profile photo
February 01, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Rock Solid, Crazy Fast, and Pays For Itself"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use our FlashArrays to support all of our critical business operations companywide. We needed to have a compact, dense, and high IOPS storage device to allow us to have future growth and improve existing performance while replacing deprecated equipment at the same time. The FlashArray was surprisingly very cost competitive and allowed us to improve IOPS and reduce latency by an order of magnitude.
  • Super low latency.
  • High IOPS.
  • Excellent deduplication.
  • HA design is ROCK SOLID.
  • Not able to do native CFS/NFS/SMB file shares. Its workaround is an "embedded" windows cluster, but you have to supply your own windows key.
  • It would be nice to have some improvements in the UI - Right now there's no graphical display showing how much of each volume is actually consumed vs. what's allocated. You can see that for the entire array, but not per volume. It would also be nice to have a breakdown of what snapshots were consuming how much space, etc.
SQL server data with high transactions and large virtual infrastructure where a diverse group of employees from multiple remote sites is accessing via S2S. VPN for data sharing is another good scenario, as it's the central storage for data that everyone is reaching for. If there is critical data that needs solid backups, the Pure snapshots are a proven way to restore them quickly and easily.
Read Edmund Joseph Tynan's full review
Aaron Bryant profile photo
January 25, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure is purely awesome - Just try it and you will see"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used for our entire VMware environment which consists of ~100 virtual machines including many SQL Server workloads. It is used across the entire staff base running all critical business systems.

Traditional storage was poor performing and expensive to maintain support without ripping and replacing the entire infrastructure while also being difficult to manage and configure. Pure addressed all performance issues and the interface is so easy to use which essentially lowers the administrative burden on the IT infrastructure team.
  • Performance - this is exceptional and better than any other providers I have used, sub-millisecond performance is standard across our SAN.
  • Support - Pure support is great and has always been helpful and friendly. Upgrades are a seamless experience and their support fills you with the confidence that it will be done with no issues whatsoever. Response times for support is great.
  • Ease of use - The Pure GUI is very easy to use and the most simplest GUI on storage I have ever used by far, so simple in fact that once set you don't have to spend much time working in it until you need to make a change to a volume or hosts.
  • Pure Storage is simple to use, I find it really hard to find anything that really needs to be suggested improvement wise. Maybe some more documentation or design templates for stretched cluster might be useful.
Performance, low admin overhead, high IO requirement on SAN are all scenarios that fit well. Ease of use to maintain and administer the storage is a very big plus especially when your administrators are struggling with workloads.

Bulk storage of static files such as file servers are not the best use case for this type of SAN
Read Aaron Bryant's full review
Russ Givens profile photo
January 23, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Don't drink the kool aid"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure is used throughout the entire organization for VDI and Corporate SAN storage to include Active Cluster.
  • It performs well.
  • We had two VNX 5600's a vplex dual engine for a stretched VMware cluster between two data centers. We replaced all of that with two M20R2's so it saved a lot of rack space / cooling / electricity / san ports, etc.
  • When you put Pure in your data center it becomes a black box. Issues will happen with the Pure and you will receive no notifications from it. We've had controller failures, which you would think you'd want to be notified of, but you don't get those notifications. We've had numerous issues where we aren't made aware of issues with Pure. You just don't have the visibility into what's going on with a Pure that you would have with say an EMC array where you can look at every possible metric. Pure deems what the customer should be notified of and what performance metrics they can see which is not that detailed. We have discussed this with Pure and they indicate we are one of the only customers that would like to see this which seems to me to be a little odd. Who would not want to know what is going on with there storage environment?
  • Support does not communicate that well and they come out with code updates way to frequently. You can subscribe to their feed that lets you know when a code upgrade comes out. The release notes for the code upgrade will be very generic and you have no idea if they are applicable in your environment so you have no idea the sense of urgency to apply these fixes. They've been coming out pretty frequently also. We'll test an upgrade on one of our arrays for a few weeks to a month and by the time we've finished testing and burning in they will have come out with a newer version. Then you'll contact support to have them apply the version you've been testing on your other arrays and you'll have to be very clear with them on which version and why you want that version applied. There support representatives don't communicate that well either. We experienced a significant issue that caused a significant outage and the support representatives were not involved, even though they were aware of the issue, until we expressed our displeasure with Pure.
  • We experienced a significant bug with Active Cluster which brought a large portion of our production environment down. First response from Pure was not very timely nor effective in addressing the issue. Within a couple of weeks we experienced the issue again. At that point we got everything off of Active Cluster. After several weeks of pointing fingers at VMware and our configuration we were able to get more senior people at Pure engaged. It took almost 5 months for the issue to be identified and it was a Pure bug with Active Cluster. We have not put anything back onto Active Cluster as of yet and it's 7 months after the issue. Pure would have not stepped up to help us out without us letting Pure know how we feel about the product.
  • They give you great pricing to get in the door, but then when you have to grow you'll get sticker shock.
VDI. A hybrid array would have been suitable for most of our environment so an all flash array was overkill.
Read Russ Givens's full review
Tulio Conrado Campos da Silva profile photo
January 10, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Flash Array delivers storage space and new opportunities!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here at the Brazilian Space Agency, we use Pure Storage FlashArray across the whole organization. There were two main problems we accounted for when we decided to purchase an all-flash array solution:
1) We had a great variety of hardware in our storage layer, which in turn was expensive and difficult to manage & maintain.
2) We predicted growth of applications and data from ongoing research projects.
The main features that we looked at were their data reduction algorithm and Pure Storage Orchestrator. We were able to attain a 3:1 reduction ratio. With a much smaller investment, we achieved considerable free storage area without consuming all our datacenter free rack-space. Orchestrator provided an automation layer that provided ways for us to fully use our storage layer directly to applications, through automated provisioning and containers. This sped up development and helped coalesce our newly born DevOps paradigm. When we needed snapshots of backups, Pure and Pure resellers provided precise and fast information.
  • Data reduction
  • Proactive post-selling support and technical advice
  • Provisioning alternatives
  • Data replication for highly available environment
  • Simple to use and intuitive interface
  • Good performance/general information about data usage/access
  • Improve with more management features. Today, there is provisioning but limited management. Other features, such as data group protection management through this interface could be a killer feature.
  • We had some difficulties integrating flash array with our alarmistic monitoring system. Maybe this could be a little bit easier.
It is appropriate for achieving storage space economy through data reduction and as a high velocity, high availability storage hardware. It is easy to integrate/provide storage. Less appropriate for non-critical information which can be stored in a cheaper storage layer.
Read Tulio Conrado Campos da Silva's full review
Casey McKnew profile photo
January 07, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "I Love My Pure!!!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two Pure Storage FlashArrays in our organization, one on each campus. We use our Pure Storage FlashArrays as datastores for VMWare and image stores for Citrix PVS servers.
  • No downtime ever. We have updated firmware, hardware and had to restart controllers etc., without any downtime.
  • Pure support is awesome. We haven't had to use their support much, but when we have, they fix our issues quickly (and again no downtime). They continually monitor the health of our arrays and notify us if and when any issues / problems are encountered (most of the time before we even know there is a problem).
  • Disaster recovery. We snapshot and replicate between campuses every hour. Hurricane Irma disrupted service on our Naples campus and we had to failover to our Fort Myers campus. In less than 20 minutes, all of our Naples servers we up-and-running on our Fort Myers campus (I love my PURE!!!!!).
  • Speed. Migrating a VM from one datastore to another takes less than 60 seconds, seriously our average time is 38 seconds.
  • With VMs our data reduction 52.4 to 1. With flat files, data reduction is only 1 to 1.
The Pure Storage Flash Array is well suited for organizations that run VMware or Hyper-V, the data reduction is significant. Pure is great when it comes to disaster recovery and backups, snapshots and replication happen very quickly and do not consume a huge amount of storage space. We snapshot and replicate every hour, currently we have over 700 snapshots stored on each array which makes it really easy and fast to restore a file, folder or server if the need should arise.
Read Casey McKnew's full review
Will Fife profile photo
December 17, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "One of the only vendors whose claims of hidden magical knowledge have stood the test of time!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was initially skeptical, our plan was to boot 100% of our virtual machines and VFX render infrastructure from several Pure FlashArrays. The performance has been excellent as expected, but the compression/deduplication and reliability have vastly exceeded my expectations.
  • Speed. It is fast, really fast. I'm not sure where Pure gets their magical go faster pixie dust, but it is the good stuff.
  • Reliable. No problems and that is amazing.
  • We are booting 400 render nodes off of 4 of the smaller FlashArrays and the deduplication is nothing short of magical.
  • The UI can be confusing, but the CLI more than makes up for it.
  • I would love to see more statistics, graphs help prove to users that their gut instinct about where the problem is, is wrong.
Booting many hosts with similar disk images (VMs, render infrastructure, Virtual Desktops).
Read Will Fife's full review
Aaron Silverstein profile photo
December 14, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "The Greatest Storage Buy Ever"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage as our Tier one storage connected to VMware environment via Fiber Channel. It hosts an array of critical applications from databases, to web servers and security. It solves the issue of disk and application performance.
  • Pure storage is able to be up 99.99 percent of the time
  • Upgrades and support are proactive and do not require downtime
  • Disk latency, snapshotting with VMware is fantastic
  • Make it part of a Hyper-Converged computer environment
  • Add the option of tiering data to less expensive disks
I find Pure excellent for critical apps, low latency needs and integration with VMWare. It out performs any other disk arrays I tested. We have found that is not cost effective for video storage. There is little to no compression or dedupulication in video.
Read Aaron Silverstein's full review
Scott Brissenden profile photo
December 12, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure Storage is a leader in the all flash array market."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 3 Pure arrays that are used across the whole organization. We run a VDI environment on it and lots of SQL that benefits from the all flash array. We have an array for development, production, and DR. Using the arrays in these 3 environments ensures that we do not have to sacrifice performance.
  • Pure's dedupe algorithm allows us to save storage space considering we have several stacks running the same software.
  • The evergreen program allows us to upgrade the controllers on our arrays every 3 years so we are always current.
  • Support is amazing, they will work at fixing a problem even if it isn't on their end.
  • There is nothing that I can think of that they could do better.
VDI is a great use case for FlashArray. Users benefit from solid state drives that can help drive productivity. Placing fileservers on the array can cause the dedupe ration to drop and there is less benefit to having them on an all flasharray, we moved them off to a hybrid array.
Read Scott Brissenden's full review
Bryan McLeod profile photo
December 11, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Quick and easy!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our most critical database applications. It fixed our latency issues from our services trying to connect to the db servers. It also provides 3 times the amount of data compression than other SAN systems which allowed us to move more mission critical systems onto higher quality storage.
  • Excellent throughput.
  • Data Compression/Deduplication.
  • Management and deployment is relatively easy.
  • Volume management can be cumbersome.
  • Price can cause some sticker shock.
  • Block level storage only.
If you need fast, dependable, block storage for file servers, database servers, high I/O applications then PURE has been the best at what you need. If you need this to be an all in one solution that can provide other services than just high speed storage this not something recommended. This is definitely tier 1 storage not made to be used for archiving.
Read Bryan McLeod's full review
Jeffery Holt profile photo
December 11, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Nothing is more expensive than regret, and you will NOT regret this!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using a PUREStorage M50 at our home office supported with an M10 at our co-location. It handles our Production as well as some Test/Dev environments. Coming from a VNX/Unity platform, this is a thing of beauty. It actually works as expected and as described. It has truly been a game changer.
  • Compression and Deduplication are incredible. It's like a skinny person at a buffet who just keeps shoveling it down. I'm not sure where its going but they are steady chowing down with no sign of slowing.
  • Array Management has been a god sent. Its easy to use and very intuitive. The PURE1 console is fantastic and there is even an APP!
  • Fast....Blazing fast doesn't even begin to cover it.
  • If there was anything that would make my life easier, it would be some sort of reporting system that puts out some pretty graphs I can show management.
Our Production system currently has 188.14 T of provisioned space, containing roughly 400ish VMs. The actual amount of storage used is 31.94 T out of the 41 T available. This thing is like the bottomless pit of Sparta and I just keep donkey kicking more VMs into it. It smiles back with a "Please sir, may I have some more?"
Read Jeffery Holt's full review
Trey Pautsch profile photo
December 08, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Why we switched to Pure"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a managed service provider, we use FlashArrays for shared storage for our private cloud customers and as dedicated storage for several of our larger customers. We have been steadily replacing all older spinning disk storage systems with FlashArrays. This has allowed us to greatly increase storage efficiencies and provide outstanding storage performance to all our customers.
  • Ease of management - both the local administration and PureOne dashboard allow us to monitor systems as well as provide life-cycle management.
  • Storage efficiency - the de-dupe and compression ratios are fantastic. We can provide our customers better cost to usage ratios.
  • Service and support - online upgrades for both software and hardware means no downtime for the customers.
  • Evergreen controllers - upgrades to the latest hardware as part of the service contract means we don't have any more data lifts when upgrading to the new system.
  • Ease of configuration and integration with our hypervisor providers - just another way not to spend all our time managing storage.
  • Cost is still a little high, increasing storage is pricey but things are getting better.
We have only one scenario where Pure is not the answer; backups and archives. For all other scenarios, we have been very happy with the FlashArrays. We are investigating FlashBlades for a couple of specialized deployments, where they may be better suited but we will stay with Pure for all solutions not involving backups.
Read Trey Pautsch's full review
Cory Salvesen profile photo
December 07, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure is fantastic enterprise storage."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure FlashArray to run the majority of our VMWare environment. Pure has been an enormous performance upgrade. The web interface is lightning fast and fantastic. The UI is minimal, logical, and easy to figure out. Incidents caused by storage performance/reliability have entirely stopped. One I put a VM on pure, I never hear about it again.
  • Great web interface.
  • Extremely fast performance
  • Excellent vmware documentation and support.
  • Pure has trouble with delivering hardware fast.
  • Our first one had a DOA slot and the entire m20 had to be replaced which took longer than it should have
  • Not particularly compelling as a NAS. Excels mainly at block storage.
Pure is best suited to being the storage for virtual machines. It's probably worst suited as a NAS. It's overkill performance wise, and doesn't have an exotic filesystem to handle large complex file sets. This isn't a complaint, just that NAS is not the focus of Pure. Block storage and running VMs is.
Read Cory Salvesen's full review
Robert Chen profile photo
December 05, 2018

"Pure Storage FlashArray quick review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage hosts all mission-critical databases for the whole corporation. It helps to improve the reliability and performance of our database environment.
  • The active/active design increase the reliability. If one controller has problem, the other controller is always there to handle the IO. There is NO need to do failover in other active/passive storage which may cause timeout or failure.
  • Pure Storage has nvram which increase the performance of write IO. The read performance is also good since the Pure Storage always try to avoid the reading and writing on the same block in the flash disk.
  • The active cluster feature provides the redundancy on the storage array level. So our database cluster not only can tolerant the server failure, it can also tolerant the storage array failure.
  • The built-in deduplication and compression feature can save lots of storage space.
  • Pure Storage is block storage using fiber channel or iSCSI. It doesn't have the NAS ability.
It is well suited for a VMware environment and databases environment.
Read Robert Chen's full review
Mike McFarland profile photo
November 28, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure Storage is purely awesome!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage is used by our entire organization because it is our sole storage solution going forward. All of our VMs run from Pure and we integrated vCenter with Pure to ease management. Whenever our business analysts discuss performance issues with databases and applications, I remind them that we cannot put the data on faster storage because Pure is the fastest.
  • Increasing LUN sizes as the business needs grow is very easy. The easiest I have ever managed when I compare with other major vendors.
  • As stated earlier, the performance with Pure is the fastest available.
  • I never worry about growth because I know I just need to add more shelves and not redesign my architecture.
  • NFS support would be nice but not really needed. Some people feel NFS is a requirement but I don't agree.
  • Snap shots of SQL will be the biggest area of improvement that I can give to my business users. Giving them an almost real time copy of a production database that they can use without impacting production performance would be a huge win.
  • Support for Azure storage would also be helpful since it is our primary cloud provider.
Our databases and application servers is well suited for the flash array. File server and other servers are wasted a bit with flash.
Read Mike McFarland's full review
Plamen Kolev profile photo
November 23, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Best storage I've ever used."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage FlashAray as a storage for our VMware infrastructure. We use it because we need very low latency for our VMs. We also use the storage replication to our DR site. All of our company systems depend on it being stable and fast. No problems for a year and a half.
  • Excellent integration with VMware
  • Very easy and intuitive interface
  • Excellent monitoring and support via cloud portal
  • I'd really like more administrative control over SSH
Great for VMware virtual infrastructure.
Read Plamen Kolev's full review
Carl van Eijk profile photo
November 17, 2018

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Why be duped by others, when you can be de-duped by Pure"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pure Storage FlashArrays to underpin our virtual infrastructure and intrusion detection systems. In the high-end Mayfair gaming world latency is the enemy. Our customers demand a level of service that requires instantaneous results.

Our business purpose is to remain the market leader in Mayfair and the UK.

Simply put, Pure Storage FlashArrays help enable that.
  • It just works.
  • And works.
  • It's rock solid.
  • What initially sold me on it, during our POC, our sales engineer said we should test failures to data and power! That we did! We live pulled all the plugs and cables and moved the flash array to another rack and reconnected everything. Our test virtual infrastructure, having paused for the duration, just continued where it left off 5 minutes earlier, as if nothing had happened.
  • 0 downtime or issues in 3 years, including several major software revision updates.
  • It's fast. Fast enough run all of our virtual infrastructures and Intrusion Detection System writes for our entire network without missing a beat
  • It's simple. Having set up many storage systems in the past, I was blown away by how plug and play it was.
  • None
Pure Storage FlashArray is perfect for databases, intrusion detection systems, network monitoring, SIEM, VDI, and virtual infrastructure.

Although Pure Storage FlashArray is also well suited for IDS(PCAPs), video and graphic design, the cost per GB is high due to the deduplication not performing optimally.
Read Carl van Eijk's full review
Franck TRUET profile photo
February 13, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Simplicity/Performance and trust"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FlashArray is used by my customers. We sell IAAS to customers. We want to sell a "gold" Private cloud to "local" customers.
  • Simple administration Array (No need experts for control the storage Infrastructure)
  • Fast installation (The array was installed in 1 day)
  • Easy to upgrade
  • The Upgrade of Storage Flash Array (We have got an error when we have upgrade the array M20 to M50)..
In a VDI environment, the deduplication rate is very interesting. In a Database environment, the deduplication rate is not good (for us).
Read Franck TRUET's full review
Jeeva Kumar profile photo
January 25, 2019

Pure Storage FlashArray Review: "Pure - The leader of the future."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashArray (Pure) has been a very stable and excellent product for the last 18 months and all the latency issue that we had experienced in the past with other storage arrays disappeared after we started using Pure. Pure has a rock-solid support team who address issues before they become critical.
  • Compression.
  • Deduplication, Real-time replication.
  • Easy to use and configure; reliable.
  • High IOPS.
  • I haven't noticed anything so far.
Pure Storage FlashArray has completely replaced our existing EMC storage and we started noticing performance getting better. The Datastore migration used to complete in 30 seconds compared to 30 minutes before. This is one of the major differences that we noticed during our POC with Pure Storage FlashArray. Creating and provisioning a LUN to a host can be done in a max of 3-4 steps thus reducing the complexity and the time.
Read Jeeva Kumar's full review

About Pure Storage FlashArray

Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.

Pure Storage FlashArray Integrations

Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Pure Storage FlashArray Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No