IBM SPSS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
157 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

John Froehlich | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

SPSS never goes out of style

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM SPSS is currently be used by the research department in our organization. We are in the business of public opinion research so we need software that can analyze data, run statistical analysis, and also process data. It helps our organization make informed decisions based off of the data and other inputs.
  • Statistical analysis
  • Data views on the respondent level
  • Recoding variables
  • Can be slow
  • Interface is outdated
  • Very basic and doesn't handle LARGE datasets very well
  • Merging datasets
SPSS is well suited when you are dealing with respondent level data and need to clean, recode, or make changes. It's one of the only softwares that I always go back to using as it is the foundation of statistical software programs.
It might not be very useful when looking at BIG data, but it works for reviewing survey data.
If you are a previous SPSS user, it's great, everyone knows how to use it and there isn't much variation between the different versions. When working with datasets from different sources it's great to be able to look at them and get them to match up for a merge. There is a slight learning curve for new users and can be intimidating, but once you know how to use it, it can be a great resource.
Read John Froehlich's full review
Craig West | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

IBM SPSS - Easy To Learn Without All of the Hassle of Learning R or Python Code!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SPSS in our research (couples program) and in a better understanding of our program development (MCAT). We provide mental competency to stand trial training and it is imperative that we monitor and track each person's progress to ensure that the program is working in increasing competency of the people enrolled in the program. We use the SPSS program to better understand our hiring procedures as well as marketing practices.
  • SPSS has a very nice interface and keeps their interface consistent, even after 20 years of use.
  • Analyzing data is very quick and easy there is no programming required.
  • Some coding and saving codes for further analysis saves time.
  • SPSS is not free and is fairly pricey.
  • For those requiring advanced procedures not on SPSS, programmable coding, like in R Statistics, may be more limited and not as robust and use of R or other programs might be needed.
  • Statistical Package for Social Sciences and can only be used to perform only statistical operations. Further purchases of other packages will be required.
  • Default graphics are far from publication quality. Generally, it’s better to use other programs for graphics.
  • Information about effect size and confidence intervals is missing for many techniques.
SPSS is most suited for most researchers, although for power size and other uses will require further purchases or use of other programs to account for the limitations that SPSS might have. It can handle heavy data and there should not be any limitations for multiple variables. It may not be suited for those looking for a more robust and programmable option. Also, for those on a budget, other sources like R-Statistics might be better suited.
We use SPSS to analyze over 800 variables in our mental competency program. The ability to easily copy and paste the data into SPSS is a timesaver. It allows us to quickly understand the data and to share the information with other professionals and agencies were inquiring about our services. So, not only has SPSS saved us time but having easy access to the data we need allows us to better market to the consumers who use our program. It is easy enough to learn and allow other non-statisticians to assist in inputting the data. It allows us to make more definitive marketing statements as to the effectiveness of our program as we have very specific data to demonstrate the success of the mental competency training program.
Read Craig West's full review
Tom Shulak | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

IBM SPSS - Good for automated systems

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SPSS for all our data and statistical analysis needs. Most of our critical analysis and reporting systems are driven by SPSS programs. We also use SPSS for ad-hoc modeling and data requests. In addition, we are able to automate our systems which improves the data integrity and speed of our work.
  • Mathematical modeling
  • Creation of self sustaining systems
  • Data manipulation
  • The flexibility of the reporting could be enhanced
  • Certain modules are not as user friendly as they could be
IBM SPSS is well suited for statistical and data analysis and has features comparable or better than other statistical packages. You can also use it efficiently for building analysis and reporting systems. It is not as well suited for new/novice users doing basic statistics, as there are better/easier options out there.
SPSS has positively impacted our organization by allowing us to build our automated analysis and reporting systems. We have millions of lines of syntax that takes data from hundreds of different formats and creates one centralized data warehouse. Years ago, SPSS was the only software package that allowed us to read very specific data formats that others could not.
Read Tom Shulak's full review
Prashant Choudhary | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

IBM SPSS a perfect tool for the beginner in data analytics

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM SPSS for data visualization and analysis. It is a good tool for analysis of things like regression, both linear and logistics. What sets it apart for our organization is the use we have for it creates multiple tables with varied parameters and features. It does all the required functions for data analysis, especially for our survey processes that we provide to the client; it lacks the data collection module, though.
  • Data visualization
  • Data Analysis
  • Data modeling
  • Tabular creation & modification
  • User-friendly UI
  • Compatibility with several other software and the ability to save files in a multitude of extensions
  • Random forest function is still missing
  • It needs better tools for data collection, becomes tedious with an extensive dataset collection.
  • UI could use some tweaks
  • Should derive from R, Numpy and pandas for various functions that are coming out as the new data analysis packages
  • Needs more flexibility in including new features
IBM SPSS is most suited for analysis of survey data, wherein you have large datasets to perform data analysis of, while deriving relationships between several variables and function, meanwhile interaction is with multiple fields and tabular on nature, i.e., uses a lot of tables, and various relationships are derived on comparison of several fields with several others
It has helped improve operational efficiency as well as helped in formulating models based on psychological and medical research for esteemed clients. It has been a real game-changer in upping their game from normal research to a deeply skilled and thorough one. It has helped in the observation of group trends, differences, logistic regression, etc.
Read Prashant Choudhary's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

SPSS: Getting Down to Business in the Tech World

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently IBM SPSS is being used in many different areas. Our faculty employ it to handle data for amazing research. Our students are being exposed to it to help prepare for their real-world jobs. As a staff member, we enjoying its functionality when handling business duties.
  • Handling statistical data without a need for a separate program.
  • Easy to export the information out to other forms.
  • As a great product, SPSS is still lacking in how it handles regression data. The feature is only useable in the statistics program if you are already experienced.
  • SPSS should be easier to interpret with screen readers for disabled users.
IBM SPSS has worked out very well for us. However, some of the more popular modules are not easily obtained due to pricing. The licensing structure should be simpler as well.
SPSS has allowed some of our users to compile stats quickly and more efficiently. It can handle datasets without a hiccup. It is a breeze to deploy, but not for an experienced user.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Keran | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

I trust SPSS for my analytic needs.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS is used only within our Member Insights Department and is used as our primary quantitative analysis tool. We use SPSS to handle all of our survey data needs, except for data collection. We use it to extract data out of our membership SQL database, pull a random sample of relevant members, match up to our collected survey data with relevant stored member data, and analyze the survey results to include in our reports and presentations. Our analyses always include descriptive measures (frequencies or means/medians), often include inferential measures (e.g., chi-square, ANOVA), and less frequently predictive measures as well (e.g., logistic regression).
  • Biggest advantage: allows us to save all of our data manipulation and analysis instructions (SPSS calls it "Syntax") so that we can understand what we did, say, one year from now. This can be critical, especially if you are conducting year-over-year comparisons, or re-analyzing data in a new way after the primary reporting has been completed. Pretty tough to understand what was all done, say, in an Excel spreadsheet.
  • Has all of the analytic capabilities we have needed so far (well, except for Random Forest).
  • We use the Tables module a ton to create most of our crosstab kind of results, and SPSS gives you a lot of flexibility to create different kinds of tables with the same set of data.
  • I learned SPSS when only Syntax was available, but I really appreciate being able to browse through the menus, and then just paste the Syntax you need. It also comes in handy when you're just playing, trying out different ways to look at the data.
  • SPSS has for a long time touted it's "new and improved" graphing capabilities, and while they are that, they still have flexibility issues (or I just haven't found how to correctly use the software). For instance, why are data labels in a bar chart restricted to appearing only within the bar itself? Sure, you can have them at the bottom, middle, or near the top of the bar, but why not, say, just above the bar?
  • When dealing with qualitative data, say comments from survey respondents, occasionally we run into characters likely typed by the respondent, which SPSS doesn't know how to handle, so it converts it to a space. It took me a while to figure out that it wasn't a space at all, and was wondering why my Syntax wasn't working (still assuming it was a space). It would help if SPSS could convert unknown characters to something more obvious.
  • Biggest headache using SPSS is dealing with the IBM hierarchy when needing customer support or even upgrading to the new version (which comes out annually). In order to upgrade to v26 in April 2019, I eventually found out I needed not just an Authorization Code, nor a Full License Code, but also a Lock Code and spent way too many hours attempting to straighten this out with IBM customer support. I handle purchasing the upgrades too, and that task is not straightforward either. I miss the SPSS support before they were acquired by IBM.
SPSS is well suited to our survey data and analysis needs (but not data collection). It also works well for our data mining needs. Most of the staff I hire were exposed to SPSS in college, but either way, there is a learning period to understand how to document your work using Syntax (even if pasted from the menus) and I utilize mostly online resources to help them get up to speed.
We are able to efficiently conduct new or recurring projects by reusing stored Syntax.
Read Chris Keran's full review
Shelby Bowden | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

IBM SSPS- the way to success!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM SSPS both as a department wide tool and within our smaller lab group. It is primarily used to handle larger statistical analysis problems than can be handled with more simple programs such as Microsoft Excel. The geospatial aspects of it are especially useful and are accessed very regularly.
  • Geospatial analysis functions
  • Large dataset capability
  • Smooth modeling
  • Difficult user interface
  • Hard to switch between programs
  • Better export of visual aids
IBM SSPS is one of the best geospatial analysis tools on the market, possibly only exceeded by ArcGIS. It is very good with handling large and complicated datasets and manipulating these for statistical purposes. Unfortunately it can be a little non-user friendly and takes quite a bit of time to get used to.
IBM SSPS has greatly improved our ability to calculate statistical analysis codes on our geospatial data. We have found that both time management and quality of products are increased when we use IBM SSPS versus when we use another program. It has been an invaluable asset to our work and production.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

SPSS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use IBM SPSS as a student and it is used by students and instructors in the PhD programs. It is used for research analysis by both instructors and students in various classes, as well as in personal data collection and presentation for dissertations. Since it is the major tool used for data analysis, it allows teachers and students to be on the same page and to also easily find resources to help when they need answers.
  • The categorizing and organization of large amounts of data.
  • Presenting data in easy to read charts and graphs.
  • Consistent data presentation and results.
  • The Mac versions struggles with crashing, etc.
  • It runs slowly and tends to use up a lot of processing power.
While SPSS is not perfect, there is no other tool as powerful for working with statistics. This tool is perfect for universities and students who are pursuing research. Honestly, most PhD students could probably not graduate without SPSS as their statistics tool. I think that this tool could also be useful for any corporate data that needed to be crunched.
Since I've used this for school, it would be hard to say for the work environment. However, for schoolwork, it has saved so much time. If I had to crunch all my data numbers myself using a calculator and pencil it would take hundreds of hours. While SPSS still does take a while, it is much less work and saves so much time, which is incredibly precious to a student.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Rapid Insights

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product has been used by a particular department. I was interested in using the product to perform predictive analytics to analyze equipment issues and determine root cause.
  • Cleaning datasets
  • Creating dummy variables
  • Importing from multiple datasources
  • Python scripting
  • R scripting
  • Jupiter notebooks
If you are interested in pulling data, cleaning the data, transforming the data, and creating statistical studies and viewing the results in tabular and graphical format in a quickly and easy manner then you found it.
The benefits include cost savings.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Great statistical package for beginners

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS is available throughout my organization. It's mainly used by faculty, staff, and students in the analysis of data.
  • Clear and user-friendly interface.
  • Potential to analyze large data sets.
  • The output graphics could be improved to make it more appealing to the eye.
SPSS is great for people starting out with statistical analysis because it is easy to use. SPSS may not be so great for people with a coding background who are more inclined to write codes instead of click on buttons.
SPSS has a positive impact in this academic institution and takes away the tedious work of data analysis. It allows users to save time and energy and increases work efficiency and effectiveness.
Read this authenticated review
Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

IBM SPSS: A Senior Stats Swiss Army Knife That Scales With You

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an IT professional in the Student Affairs division of the California State University system, I recently had the opportunity to undertake a data research project examining the impact of computer- vs. paper-based administration on writing proficiency assessment scores, across a large number of demographic dimensions. Being fortunate to have access to a very large number of cases (greater than 40,000), I needed to upgrade from spreadsheet statistical analysis packages to a professional statistical product -- both to expedite the overall number-crunching, but importantly to take advantage of automation opportunities such software packages can provide. I chose SPSS as it enjoys substantial support on my campus.
  • SPSS has been around for quite a while and has amassed a large suite of functionality. One of its longest-running features is the ability to automate SPSS via scripting, AKA "syntax." There is a very large community of practice on the internet who can help newbies to quickly scale up their automation abilities with SPSS. And SPSS allows users to save syntax scripting directly from GUI wizards and configuration windows, which can be a real life-saver if one is not an experienced coder.
  • Many statistics package users are doing scientific research with an eye to publish reproducible results. SPSS allows you to save datasets and syntax scripting in a common format, facilitating attempts by peer reviewers and other researchers to quickly and easily attempt to reproduce your results. It's very portable!
  • SPSS has both legacy and modern visualization suites baked into the base software, giving users an easily mountable learning curve when it comes to outputting charts and graphs. It's very easy to start with a canned look and feel of an exported chart, and then you can tweak a saved copy to change just about everything, from colors, legends, and axis scaling, to orientation, labels, and grid lines. And when you've got a chart or graph set up the way you like, you can export it as an image file, or create a template syntax to apply to new visualizations going forward.
  • SPSS makes it easy for even beginner-level users to create statistical coding fields to support multidimensional analysis, ensuring that you never need to destructively modify your dataset.
  • In closing, SPSS's long and successful tenure ensures that just about any question a new user may have about it can be answered with a modicum of Google-fu. There are even several fully-fledged tutorial websites out there for newbie perusal.
  • SPSS syntax is somewhat archaic, no doubt due to its long tenure and a desire to maintain backwards compatibility, so it may add to the learning curve for otherwise experienced script writers.
  • The syntax editing window is somewhat unwieldy when compared to modern IDEs, and can be laggy; sometimes mouse cursor accuracy is unpredictable when one attempts to select a particular word or line of syntax.
  • Counterintuitively, perhaps, SPSS has so many ways to achieve the same ends -- GUI, syntax, legacy functions vs. updated functions for visualizations, etc. -- that it can be hard for new users to find the "right" (quickest, simplest, most transparent) way to do things; it's an embarrassment of riches that may confuse and overwhelm novices.
SPSS is well-suited for academic environments, given the strong foothold it has in the educational and research institutions of the world; it helps if your institution has a licensing agreement as it is not free to use indefinitely (although a 14-day free trial is available). As it is a powerful and complex statistical analysis package, it is a good fit for large and otherwise unwieldy datasets and analytical projects.

SPSS is probably not a great fit for individual users doing simple statistical analysis, as much of this level of work can be accomplished at no cost using Google Sheets and an add-on such as the XLMiner package.
Personally, SPSS allowed me to complete a complex and demanding statistical analysis project for my institution in a far shorter time than it would have taken with free statistical analysis packages; it gave me the ability to succeed without extensive training, and allowed me to dimensionalize and analyze my dataset with a very high level of confidence in the results.

Importantly, I was able to quickly complete my analysis project across many dozens of dimension thanks to SPSS syntax, which I was able to quickly duplicate and modify as needed, dimension by dimension.
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
Olayinka Awoyemi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

Reliable companion

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM SPSS is used for various statistical analysis. It is a software that is mostly used throughout the company for varying degrees of research, analytical and some sorts of reporting. For the statistical department, it is mostly used for analyses such as regression analysis, analysis of variance (ANOVA), chi-square and more. Non statistical departments used it for more subtle analysis which are mostly descriptive.
  • Easy to use
  • Compatible with IT infrastructures
  • Cheaper to own
  • easy to learn
  • Requires good knowledge of statistics for statistical analyses
  • It requires users to learn how to write CLEM codes
  • It is used by the research and development department for the entire benefit of the organisation. Some other individuals outside the research and development department also have it.
  • It is mostly used for data preparation, including coding and data migration; It is also used for data presentation.
  • It is used to prepare staging tables and platforms for other applications.
  • Above all, it is used for various statistical data analyses.
  • it helps to Improve customer services and satisfaction
  • It saves operational time
  • It improves operational efficiencies
  • It improves staff productivity level
  • it is easy to learn for new employees
  • it is very compartible with existing databases and other IT
    it is also compartible with open source packages and other software
  • it is very good in generating reports and other outcomes.
Read Olayinka Awoyemi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

IBM SPSS Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM SPSS is an analytics software, also used for data mining that enables users to conduct basic and advanced statistical analyses. I used SPSS departmental for a period of time to facilitate a team outside my main organisation to cross-validate results coming from different tools. The platform proved quite easy to get used to and the simplicity of the software made the research convenient.
  • Ability to handle large volumes of data
  • User-friendly that makes the software easy to understand
  • No special technical knowledge is needed since everything, from testing statistical models to predictive analytics, is already implemented
  • The simplicity of the interface make the teaching process to other members of the team very fast and efficient
  • There are other great statistical software packages that are open source
  • The simplicity and user-friendliness of SPSS comes with a functionality trade-off
  • The functions of SPSS lack in terms of graphical capability which can be a major obstacle to a novel data analyst
Overall, I can see how IBM SPSS can be used by teams with simple objectives when it comes to analytics. It is similarly very appropriate for teaching students about basic notions of applied statistics. However, compared with other statistical software and programming languages, it does not come with great advantages in terms of computational capabilities and customization.
Using SPSS has proven to be very time saving and efficient when it comes to training staff to use the software. There is little room for mistakes which makes analysis results trust-worthy especially compared to results deriving from large amounts of hand written scripts.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

IBM SPSS is a great tool for beginners as well as experts.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM SPSS for our small start-up business. It helps us see where we started, what we have accomplished, what we need help on, and what is expected to occur next, according to our data.
  • Very easy to use. The interface is easy for beginners.
  • User-friendly.
  • It has a broad range of statistical uses, especially when dealing with large data sets.
  • The visual output depiction is not at the quality I would expect.
  • It has taken extensive amounts of time to find syntax issues.
  • I have to use other programs for things like visuals, and that is not time effective.
Overall, it is best suited for determining the value of our products and services, and determining how the value of those products will hold. It is also great, in that respect, for decision making. We rely on it a lot for the organization of our statistical data. Like I have mentioned before, we do not rely on it for visual representations of our data.
It has had a positive impact on customer retention, and we have had an increase in new clients as well. Our client quantity and retention prediction have been mostly accurate as well. Not the best on time savings because we use a different program for visuals.
Read this authenticated review
Jillian Papa | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

SPSS: An effective business solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM SPSS is only used within the data and evaluation department at my organization. I am the director of the department and when I came on board 3 years ago, I made the decision to use this software based on my experience having used it in the past. I recently hired someone about 2 months ago and requested that she have a license for the software as well - luckily she also had experience with the software. In terms of solving business problems, SPSS helps us analyze large datasets. It is able to do a lot more than Excel or Salesforce - such as statistical testing. We have integrated SPSS with Salesforce and are able to push data into SPSS for easy analysis.
  • SPSS has both point and click as well as syntax options. I was trained by someone who had worked in SPSS for many, many years and only knew SPSS syntax so I learned how to write code myself. However, it is helpful to have both options.
  • SPSS has great resources online for syntax and defining certain functions/processes.
  • SPSS integrates with Salesforce and allows for a streamlined process by pulling data for easy analysis.
  • It's my understanding that SPSS cannot do very complex analysis like SAS can. But I personally have not had the need to use it so it hasn't affected me yet.
  • Sometimes SPSS has little quirks that are rules built in that are difficult to get around. Like when you set values to missing (or something related to this) the original string variable cannot be more than 8 characters long.
I would say if you are not proficient in other statistical software packages and only want to use point and click, SPSS is the product for you. If you want to do more complex analysis, SPSS may not meet your needs.

I think other than those two things SPSS is well suited and you can use SPSS in all scenarios
Significant time is saved by using SPSS and SF integration. This includes the actual analysis happening in SPSS and not in Excel. Rather than exporting data from SF into Excel and then importing the Excel file into SPSS. There are a few places where things could go wrong and this would certainly be an operational efficiency. Also the fact that I can do advanced data clean up and manipulation is a huge operational efficiency.
Read Jillian Papa's full review
Dennis Junius | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

SPSS is a great tool that can handle big datasets and run advance stats. Takes a bit of time to learn.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SPSS to analyze our survey data. It is solely used by our research department. It helps us organize and analyze our data which we use to create reports.
  • Handles big datasets.
  • One can use either syntax or dropdown to create variables.
  • Does almost any statistical testing, equations, or modeling desired.
  • Can save datasets into numerous other file extensions.
  • Has various extensions that can be purchased to assist with analysis and visualizations.
  • Can be a steep learning curve.
  • Not that innovative.
  • Need to update versions every few years.
  • Some in the business say it is antiquated and would rather use other programs. Seems mostly used in survey research and psychology research.
Great for large datasets and running advance stats. Once you learn how to use it, it is nimble. It doesn't produce the best viz and is difficult to get into viz programs like Tableau.
Since we all have SPSS backgrounds, it makes our lives easy to work together. And we use Qualtrics for our online surveys, which has an option to upload our data directly into SPSS. This way, we don't have to do all kinds of forming and manipulating of data to get it into SPSS.
Read Dennis Junius's full review
JESUS EDUARDO MEZA RAMIREZ | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

IBM SPSS data analysis tool for objective decision making.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the engineering department to prepare reports, investigations, forecasts, systematization, analysis, presentation and for the organization of professional quality data for decision making.

Currently, it is used to carry out multiple linear regression analysis for the purpose of forecasting the value of goods and for the application of mathematical financial techniques in order to determine what the alternatives are thay pay towards the efficiency and profitability of the company.
  • Application of descriptive statistics technique to work with demography.
  • Application of inferential statistics techniques for the investigation of operations with aims that the company is every day more optimal.
  • It offers a spreadsheet for data entry, organization, analysis and reporting of results that allows understanding the behavior of the values, and consequently interpreting the results.
  • It facilitates the analysis of complex data sets for compliance with advanced statistical procedures, offering results of high precision and reliability.
  • It provides the possibility of importing and exporting different types of files, ignoring hidden Excel columns and rows, removing leading and trailing spaces from string values, exporting value labels to a database, and many specific options. that allow us to work in the analysis of data that support decision making.
  • I do not like graphics tools, I think they are very basic, it would be pertinent to evaluate the graphics tools of other similar programs in order to improve the image of such presentation.
  • Other aspects that I do not like very much is the quality of the results reports because they are not easy to understand and interpret accordingly. I consider that IBM SPSS should look for ways to design a module to improve the presentation of the results. Other things that are cumbersome is the historical results because it has to confuse because the information is disorderly. The reports are very basic, little colorful and confusing.
  • I have used graphics tools to show certain results, personally I do not like them very much, I think they can improve their presentation.
I would say that it is an ideal integral program for the application of descriptive and inferential statistical methods and for the systematization, analysis, evaluation and organization of data for decision making.

It offers multiple options for analyzing results that allows individuals or organizations to understand or present a report of a certain situation.

I would tell you if you want to make quality charts and easy to understand report look for another program.

It contains a multifunctional easy-to-use and understandable spreadsheet that offers the possibility of working with any database, as well as options that allow a lot of content to be left in rows or columns and perform the respective statistical analyzes.

I recommend inferential statistics tools because they are very complete, which allows people or organizations to obtain complex results ideal for making strategic decisions.

The use of IBM SPSS tools has been very important for objective decision making because it has made it possible to analyze complex data [and we] have been able to identify potential elements for the growth of the company. These strategies have brought positive change in the economic indicators of the company because it has been more efficient in the use of time, more efficient in the fulfillment of tasks and activities, and to be more coherent in personnel changes and distribution of the company.
Read JESUS EDUARDO MEZA RAMIREZ's full review
Jared Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2018

Great tool for statistical analysis

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was in the School of Communications at BYU, and for statistical analysis, SPSS seemed to be the standard. While I didn't ask every professor about it, SPSS was the only tool taught in the quantitative methods class at the graduate level, as well as the undergrad research class. It is a powerful tool used for running statistics for research, and while not the most user-intuitive, it is a standard in the academic community. Much like a calculator, it allows for researchers to run numbers and decide if their hypothesis is true or not.
  • Regression analysis
  • Chi-square analysis
  • One-way ANOVAs
  • Descriptive statistics
  • Huge data sets
  • The user interface is unwieldy
  • Macros are used to fill holes in the functionality of the software (which is good and bad, these things should later be implemented)
  • The learning curve is ridiculously steep
IBM SPSS is well suited for quantitative analysis of academic research. In doing qualitative research, it falls rather short. It has great tools and functionality to meet the needs of both students and professors (across all skill levels) when doing statistical analysis. It works great with Qualtrics which allows you to download your data as an SPSS save file.
Well, without SPSS many academics would have trouble running the numbers. While there are many stats professors who could manage, most of us in the social sciences would have to resort to other tools (such as R) to do our statistical analysis. SPSS allows for the crunching of data to happen at record speeds, giving professors the leg up on pushing out their publications.
Read Jared Hansen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

SPSS is suitable for entry level analysts

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the only one I am aware of who uses SPSS for data analysis. It allows me to calculate statistics of dataset easily. So it saves me time.
  • Easy to use, the user interface is intuitive to me. Can be suitable for entry level analysts.
  • Easy to learn, I can drag and drop items in the interface. User friendly.
  • Does not have very technical features in R and other sophisticated statistics software.
  • Sometimes I experience lags to load large datasets.
  • Data visualization on SPSS can be improved now that we have Tableau as a competitor for data visualization
SPSS is suited for entry-level analysts and even managers who prefer to get a little more technical. It is not suitable for sophisticated stats analysis with a large data set.
SPSS saves me time on getting basic stats of dataset. Otherwise, I'd have to calculate through Excel, which takes more time and is not streamlined.
Read this authenticated review
Mark Jackson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2018

SPSS is versatile, user-friendly, and robust!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SPSS to analyze data and generate information for reports. We use it to facilitate communication with contacts. Our department is one of the only ones in the organization using SPSS.
  • SPSS creates helpful output that can be adapted for producing report and presentation content.
  • SPSS allows the novice to use drop-down menus and the expert to use syntax. It also helps novices become experts by allowing you to paste and adapt syntax to meet needs.
  • SPSS has a wide variety of analytical techniques that are available in the statistical package. It is user-friendly.
  • A visual presentation of output in SPSS is lacking. I would never use graphs and charts as they appear in SPSS output unless I had no other alternative.
  • If I am working from a file that is located on a networked drive and I leave the network, SPSS frequently crashes.
  • SPSS is a large application that consumes significant resources. Especially if certain errors are present in complex and lengthy syntax, SPSS can take several minutes to process, even on a top-tier computer system.
SPSS is useful in analyzing quantitative data to evaluate relationships among variables or groups of variables, to evaluate group differences in individual variables or groups of variables, to evaluate the psychometric properties of a measure or item, to manipulate and process data for use in reports and articles, to document analytical processes, and creating easily digestible analysis output. I use it in studies with thousands of participants responding to hundreds of questions. It enhances my ability to manage and use data.
It's impossible to tell how much time we are saving by using SPSS. I can't imagine any process or software that could function as efficiently or effectively and accomplish the set of tasks that we accomplish by using SPSS. SPSS is extremely versatile and adaptable. New hires immediately get immersed in SPSS, they learn quickly, and they continue to learn throughout their experience in the organization. SPSS facilitates productivity at all stages of one's developing abilities in research.
Read Mark Jackson's full review
Rafael Mejias | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2018

Analysis and Accurate Statistical Studies.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product is used by the entire organization as a tool to detect deficiencies and efficiencies in productivity and improve decision making through statistical reports on the productivity of workers. In the field of business, you can detect failures through statistics and solve them on time.
  • Generation of charts and graphs with statistical precision.
  • I get what it takes to perform data analysis without using other similar software.
  • It adapts to the needs of the statistical study that is intended to be carried out.
  • It slows down when using large volume of information.
  • The license seems expensive to me.
  • Being a specialized software requires prior knowledge in the area of statistics to make the most of it.
It is suitable for analyzing statistical data and formulating statistical quality analyzes. Suitable for generating charts and graphs that represent or summarize the statistical study. Highly suitable for performing complex statistical studies. Inadequate to perform simple tasks, this software is specialized and to make the most of it, it is best to use it in studies that require statistical precision.
The application of the product has had a positive impact motivated to the improvement in the decision making based on the analysis and statistical studies of the processes carried out by the organization, measures have been taken to improve the productivity of the workers and have been solved operational failures thanks to the monthly statistical evaluation.
Read Rafael Mejias's full review
Rebecca Lynn Kouroupis | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2018

SPSS - although outdated, it's still efficient and useful.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS is used by the entire organization for our data analytics after retrieving the data from the field (online or phone surveys), as well as used for sample management. Its capabilities are used to discover trends and percentages of the data.
  • High capabilities - crosstabs, frequencies, descriptive statistics, quartiles, automatic recoding, etc.
  • Easily understood - it may take a moment to understand its capabilities, but once you start to understand, you can pick up fast.
  • Powerful - can handle a lot of data at once.
  • Outdated - the aesthetics are pretty bad and the functionalities aren't descriptive enough sometimes.
  • Doesn't always perform the way you want it to - sometimes I would run something while the file was split, but it wouldn't work.
  • Syntax is not always intuitive - finding an error in the syntax is difficult
  • Data is needing to be configured in excel after pulling from the SPSS output - there's a lot of formatting that takes place and isn't adjustable in SPSS.
I can't think of any scenario where SPSS isn't appropriate. Each tool has a different function, and this platform covers a lot of tools.
It's what drives our clients and our success. Without it, I'm not sure what we'd use.
Read Rebecca Lynn Kouroupis's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

Perhaps the best GUI stats suite for beginners available today

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm an instructor in the English Department and the IT/research tools staff in the Linguistics Lab. I use SPSS to analyze linguistic data and I also help students use the software. We use SPSS in our Linguistics Lab primarily for statistical analyses of social sciences data, especially related to Sociolinguistics and Teaching English as a Second Language.
  • SPSS offers powerful functionality for virtually any statistical operation one needs (at least in my field, the social sciences).
  • There's also tremendous and versatile online support from both IBM themselves and others who have created helpful walkthroughs for performing various statistical analyses.
  • The output also looks nice and is fairly customizable.
  • The interface isn't very intuitive at all and is mostly just a bunch of drop-down menus with little direction. Bottom line: You really need to know about stats before you use this software. However, because it is the leading GUI stats software, there is abundant documentation for this software both from IBM and from universities and others that detail how to do various operations (and interpret the output).
If you already know about statistical tests - which to choose, how to run them, and what they mean - this is an outstanding basic statistical suite. I feel that it's prohibitively expensive for an individual unless you're really doing a huge amount of complex stats, but for a university or other institution, this is a nice tool.
SPSS has proven to be an invaluable tool for running basic statistical operations (we can do much more advanced and specific things in R), and helps us to introduce linguistics students to statistical analyses of language data.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Rebecca T Barber, MBA, PHD | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2018

SPSS the best menu-driven statistical program.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS is used in various pockets throughout the institution by both researchers and administration. It is far from the only statistical tool in use, but because many of the administrators were trained in colleges of education it is the most commonly used tool. Further, as a menu driven tool, the learning curve is easier for new users who enter administrative departments. Note that in MOST cases SPSS is being used as a desktop product.
  • Menu-driven interface allows for new, non-programming users to become productive quickly. This capability is significantly stronger than competing products, whose menu-driven interfaces often lack many important analytical features.
  • Syntax (code-based) interface allows for coding of repetitive analysis and automation. While most tools have this, it is an invaluable piece of the software that allows for access to less common options and provides a clear way of documenting any process. Further, SPSS puts the syntax for each command into the output file, making it easy to see exactly what command resulted in what output.
  • The output from SPSS commands has been enhanced to provide most of what an analyst needs in order to make a decision. This is helpful for new analysts, as it can guide them in the direction of a more complete analysis.
  • SPSS is rock solid. This is a well-established product with 24 versions under it's belt.
  • While substantial improvements have been made, the graphic capabilities remain opaque syntax-wise and relatively rigid through the menu driven interface. You need to know what you are doing, and even then the graphs created are not necessarily the best looking. I tend to extract the data and build presentation graphs in other tools.
  • Data mining capabilities are provided, but at a HUGE cost in a different tool. As a non-profit, SPSS Modeler is out of our price range.
  • Picky thing - SPSS does not compute marginal effects. Tools like SAS, STATA and R either provide those calculations automatically or at the very least make them trivial to get at. SPSS can't do it at all. From an econometric perspective, this is a HUGE drawback.
  • I'm not sure we need a new version with new licensing every single year. This is especially the case if you aren't pushing the limits of the feature set.
[IBM SPSS is well suited for] Statistical analysis, fast descriptive statistics and crosstabs, and any area in which those tasks are to be performed by an inexperienced or non-technical analyst. I would lean toward places that are new to applying statistical tests to their analysis, and send people with specific needs for highly complex analysis to other tools.
SPSS provides the ability to get new analysts up and running more quickly than programming-oriented language, while still providing the flexibility you would expect in a code-able tool.
Read Rebecca T Barber, MBA, PHD's full review
Angela Falisi, MPH | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

SPSS - Simple, Easy to Use but Powerful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current and previous organizations, SPSS was used primarily for data analysis, typically for small to medium sized data sets. From what I know, SPSS is one of several statistical software packages used at my current and previous organizations.
  • Very user friendly - the point and click interface of SPSS allows users to complete their activities simply and efficiently. Unlike other statistical programs, SPSS doesn't require knowledge of specific code.
  • Very easy to pull in data from multiple sources or enter in data manually.
  • Clean, simple format and it's clear where to go when you to view data and where to go to view the variables and their labels.
  • Limitations with incorporating weights (when using data from nationally representative samples).
  • From what I understand, SPSS doesn't handle large amounts of data particularly well.
  • I find it more useful as an analysis tool than a data management and cleaning tool.
From my experience, SPSS is particularly well suited for the analysis of small to medium sized data sets. Also, it is particularly useful for individuals with a good understanding of statistics and the tests that they want to run on their data, but aren't familiar with coding formats (like R or SAS).

I don't find SPSS to be as well suited for managing larger or more complex (weights) data sets.
Read Angela Falisi, MPH's full review

About IBM SPSS

IBM SPSS is a predictive analytics software solution that aims to provide users with more meaningful insights from their data and predict what is likely to happen next. This solution offers advanced techniques designed to help companies find new opportunities, improve efficiency and minimize risk.
Categories:  Predictive Analytics

IBM SPSS Competitors

SAS Advanced Analytics, SAS Financial Management, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

IBM SPSS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No