TrustRadius
SPSS Statistics is a software package used for statistical analysis. It is now officially named "IBM SPSS Statistics". Companion products in the same family are used for survey authoring and deployment (IBM SPSS Data Collection), data mining (IBM SPSS Modeler), text analytics, and collaboration and deployment (batch and automated scoring services).IBM SPSS data analysis tool for objective decision making.It is used by the engineering department to prepare reports, investigations, forecasts, systematization, analysis, presentation and for the organization of professional quality data for decision making. Currently, it is used to carry out multiple linear regression analysis for the purpose of forecasting the value of goods and for the application of mathematical financial techniques in order to determine what the alternatives are thay pay towards the efficiency and profitability of the company.,Application of descriptive statistics technique to work with demography. Application of inferential statistics techniques for the investigation of operations with aims that the company is every day more optimal. It offers a spreadsheet for data entry, organization, analysis and reporting of results that allows understanding the behavior of the values, and consequently interpreting the results. It facilitates the analysis of complex data sets for compliance with advanced statistical procedures, offering results of high precision and reliability. It provides the possibility of importing and exporting different types of files, ignoring hidden Excel columns and rows, removing leading and trailing spaces from string values, exporting value labels to a database, and many specific options. that allow us to work in the analysis of data that support decision making.,I do not like graphics tools, I think they are very basic, it would be pertinent to evaluate the graphics tools of other similar programs in order to improve the image of such presentation. Other aspects that I do not like very much is the quality of the results reports because they are not easy to understand and interpret accordingly. I consider that IBM SPSS should look for ways to design a module to improve the presentation of the results. Other things that are cumbersome is the historical results because it has to confuse because the information is disorderly. The reports are very basic, little colorful and confusing. I have used graphics tools to show certain results, personally I do not like them very much, I think they can improve their presentation.,7,The use of IBM SPSS tools has been very important for objective decision making because it has made it possible to analyze complex data [and we] have been able to identify potential elements for the growth of the company. These strategies have brought positive change in the economic indicators of the company because it has been more efficient in the use of time, more efficient in the fulfillment of tasks and activities, and to be more coherent in personnel changes and distribution of the company.,The application of the techniques of IBM SPSS has brought a commercial impact considering that it is used for the analysis of data of complex situations. The tool for decision making is very favorable considering the accuracy and reliability of the results. The application of statistical techniques through the use of IBM SPSS has been very favorable for the growth of the company because now it is more efficient, consequently to obtain better income and greater profitability.,RStudio,Wrike, Skype for Business, Tableau Desktop, WordPressSPSS is versatile, user-friendly, and robust!We use SPSS to analyze data and generate information for reports. We use it to facilitate communication with contacts. Our department is one of the only ones in the organization using SPSS.,SPSS creates helpful output that can be adapted for producing report and presentation content. SPSS allows the novice to use drop-down menus and the expert to use syntax. It also helps novices become experts by allowing you to paste and adapt syntax to meet needs. SPSS has a wide variety of analytical techniques that are available in the statistical package. It is user-friendly.,A visual presentation of output in SPSS is lacking. I would never use graphs and charts as they appear in SPSS output unless I had no other alternative. If I am working from a file that is located on a networked drive and I leave the network, SPSS frequently crashes. SPSS is a large application that consumes significant resources. Especially if certain errors are present in complex and lengthy syntax, SPSS can take several minutes to process, even on a top-tier computer system.,10,It's impossible to tell how much time we are saving by using SPSS. I can't imagine any process or software that could function as efficiently or effectively and accomplish the set of tasks that we accomplish by using SPSS. SPSS is extremely versatile and adaptable. New hires immediately get immersed in SPSS, they learn quickly, and they continue to learn throughout their experience in the organization. SPSS facilitates productivity at all stages of one's developing abilities in research.,We have been able to evaluate the effectiveness of multiple product alternatives designed to serve communities and groups of people throughout the world. As we discover the most effective methods of serving the people and uncover the greatest opportunities for improvement (through our use of SPSS), we provide information that helps in the process of making informed and inspired decisions.,SAS Advanced Analytics,QualtricsAnalysis and Accurate Statistical Studies.The product is used by the entire organization as a tool to detect deficiencies and efficiencies in productivity and improve decision making through statistical reports on the productivity of workers. In the field of business, you can detect failures through statistics and solve them on time.,Generation of charts and graphs with statistical precision. I get what it takes to perform data analysis without using other similar software. It adapts to the needs of the statistical study that is intended to be carried out.,It slows down when using large volume of information. The license seems expensive to me. Being a specialized software requires prior knowledge in the area of statistics to make the most of it.,10,The application of the product has had a positive impact motivated to the improvement in the decision making based on the analysis and statistical studies of the processes carried out by the organization, measures have been taken to improve the productivity of the workers and have been solved operational failures thanks to the monthly statistical evaluation.,Regarding the impact on the commercial, the product has generated a vision of growth, the workers to see monthly the numbers of their productivity are motivated to improve their capabilities and address those deficiencies in which they may be incurring. This software is really a great tool to improve the management.SPSS - although outdated, it's still efficient and useful.SPSS is used by the entire organization for our data analytics after retrieving the data from the field (online or phone surveys), as well as used for sample management. Its capabilities are used to discover trends and percentages of the data.,High capabilities - crosstabs, frequencies, descriptive statistics, quartiles, automatic recoding, etc. Easily understood - it may take a moment to understand its capabilities, but once you start to understand, you can pick up fast. Powerful - can handle a lot of data at once.,Outdated - the aesthetics are pretty bad and the functionalities aren't descriptive enough sometimes. Doesn't always perform the way you want it to - sometimes I would run something while the file was split, but it wouldn't work. Syntax is not always intuitive - finding an error in the syntax is difficult Data is needing to be configured in excel after pulling from the SPSS output - there's a lot of formatting that takes place and isn't adjustable in SPSS.,9,It's what drives our clients and our success. Without it, I'm not sure what we'd use.,SPSS is used for all the reports that we've created for our clients. These reports drive our clients' strategic plans for their success.,Qualtrics, Delivra, SurveyGizmoGreat tool for statistical analysisI was in the School of Communications at BYU, and for statistical analysis, SPSS seemed to be the standard. While I didn't ask every professor about it, SPSS was the only tool taught in the quantitative methods class at the graduate level, as well as the undergrad research class. It is a powerful tool used for running statistics for research, and while not the most user-intuitive, it is a standard in the academic community. Much like a calculator, it allows for researchers to run numbers and decide if their hypothesis is true or not.,Regression analysis Chi-square analysis One-way ANOVAs Descriptive statistics Huge data sets,The user interface is unwieldy Macros are used to fill holes in the functionality of the software (which is good and bad, these things should later be implemented) The learning curve is ridiculously steep,9,Well, without SPSS many academics would have trouble running the numbers. While there are many stats professors who could manage, most of us in the social sciences would have to resort to other tools (such as R) to do our statistical analysis. SPSS allows for the crunching of data to happen at record speeds, giving professors the leg up on pushing out their publications.,Like I mentioned earlier, with IBM SPSS quantitative research can be much quicker and more efficient than its counterpart, qualitative. While not always the case, it is often just a matter of pushing a few buttons to get the results. While a lot more analysis and synthesis of what these numbers mean are required for the research aspect, it is comforting that as a business, the School of Communications benefited greatly with SPSS as a tool.,Qualtrics, MailChimp, Google Analytics, Zoho Campaigns, JIRA Software
Unspecified
IBM SPSS
120 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

IBM SPSS Reviews

IBM SPSS
120 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 120 vetted IBM SPSS reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 41)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
October 19, 2018

Review: "IBM SPSS data analysis tool for objective decision making."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the engineering department to prepare reports, investigations, forecasts, systematization, analysis, presentation and for the organization of professional quality data for decision making.

Currently, it is used to carry out multiple linear regression analysis for the purpose of forecasting the value of goods and for the application of mathematical financial techniques in order to determine what the alternatives are thay pay towards the efficiency and profitability of the company.
  • Application of descriptive statistics technique to work with demography.
  • Application of inferential statistics techniques for the investigation of operations with aims that the company is every day more optimal.
  • It offers a spreadsheet for data entry, organization, analysis and reporting of results that allows understanding the behavior of the values, and consequently interpreting the results.
  • It facilitates the analysis of complex data sets for compliance with advanced statistical procedures, offering results of high precision and reliability.
  • It provides the possibility of importing and exporting different types of files, ignoring hidden Excel columns and rows, removing leading and trailing spaces from string values, exporting value labels to a database, and many specific options. that allow us to work in the analysis of data that support decision making.
  • I do not like graphics tools, I think they are very basic, it would be pertinent to evaluate the graphics tools of other similar programs in order to improve the image of such presentation.
  • Other aspects that I do not like very much is the quality of the results reports because they are not easy to understand and interpret accordingly. I consider that IBM SPSS should look for ways to design a module to improve the presentation of the results. Other things that are cumbersome is the historical results because it has to confuse because the information is disorderly. The reports are very basic, little colorful and confusing.
  • I have used graphics tools to show certain results, personally I do not like them very much, I think they can improve their presentation.
I would say that it is an ideal integral program for the application of descriptive and inferential statistical methods and for the systematization, analysis, evaluation and organization of data for decision making.

It offers multiple options for analyzing results that allows individuals or organizations to understand or present a report of a certain situation.

I would tell you if you want to make quality charts and easy to understand report look for another program.

It contains a multifunctional easy-to-use and understandable spreadsheet that offers the possibility of working with any database, as well as options that allow a lot of content to be left in rows or columns and perform the respective statistical analyzes.

I recommend inferential statistics tools because they are very complete, which allows people or organizations to obtain complex results ideal for making strategic decisions.

Read JESUS EDUARDO MEZA RAMIREZ's full review
June 22, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS is versatile, user-friendly, and robust!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SPSS to analyze data and generate information for reports. We use it to facilitate communication with contacts. Our department is one of the only ones in the organization using SPSS.
  • SPSS creates helpful output that can be adapted for producing report and presentation content.
  • SPSS allows the novice to use drop-down menus and the expert to use syntax. It also helps novices become experts by allowing you to paste and adapt syntax to meet needs.
  • SPSS has a wide variety of analytical techniques that are available in the statistical package. It is user-friendly.
  • A visual presentation of output in SPSS is lacking. I would never use graphs and charts as they appear in SPSS output unless I had no other alternative.
  • If I am working from a file that is located on a networked drive and I leave the network, SPSS frequently crashes.
  • SPSS is a large application that consumes significant resources. Especially if certain errors are present in complex and lengthy syntax, SPSS can take several minutes to process, even on a top-tier computer system.
SPSS is useful in analyzing quantitative data to evaluate relationships among variables or groups of variables, to evaluate group differences in individual variables or groups of variables, to evaluate the psychometric properties of a measure or item, to manipulate and process data for use in reports and articles, to document analytical processes, and creating easily digestible analysis output. I use it in studies with thousands of participants responding to hundreds of questions. It enhances my ability to manage and use data.
Read Mark Jackson's full review
May 30, 2018

IBM SPSS: "Analysis and Accurate Statistical Studies."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product is used by the entire organization as a tool to detect deficiencies and efficiencies in productivity and improve decision making through statistical reports on the productivity of workers. In the field of business, you can detect failures through statistics and solve them on time.
  • Generation of charts and graphs with statistical precision.
  • I get what it takes to perform data analysis without using other similar software.
  • It adapts to the needs of the statistical study that is intended to be carried out.
  • It slows down when using large volume of information.
  • The license seems expensive to me.
  • Being a specialized software requires prior knowledge in the area of statistics to make the most of it.
It is suitable for analyzing statistical data and formulating statistical quality analyzes. Suitable for generating charts and graphs that represent or summarize the statistical study. Highly suitable for performing complex statistical studies. Inadequate to perform simple tasks, this software is specialized and to make the most of it, it is best to use it in studies that require statistical precision.
Read Rafael Mejias's full review
May 23, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS - although outdated, it's still efficient and useful."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS is used by the entire organization for our data analytics after retrieving the data from the field (online or phone surveys), as well as used for sample management. Its capabilities are used to discover trends and percentages of the data.
  • High capabilities - crosstabs, frequencies, descriptive statistics, quartiles, automatic recoding, etc.
  • Easily understood - it may take a moment to understand its capabilities, but once you start to understand, you can pick up fast.
  • Powerful - can handle a lot of data at once.
  • Outdated - the aesthetics are pretty bad and the functionalities aren't descriptive enough sometimes.
  • Doesn't always perform the way you want it to - sometimes I would run something while the file was split, but it wouldn't work.
  • Syntax is not always intuitive - finding an error in the syntax is difficult
  • Data is needing to be configured in excel after pulling from the SPSS output - there's a lot of formatting that takes place and isn't adjustable in SPSS.
I can't think of any scenario where SPSS isn't appropriate. Each tool has a different function, and this platform covers a lot of tools.
Read Rebecca Lynn Kouroupis's full review
August 24, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "Great tool for statistical analysis"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was in the School of Communications at BYU, and for statistical analysis, SPSS seemed to be the standard. While I didn't ask every professor about it, SPSS was the only tool taught in the quantitative methods class at the graduate level, as well as the undergrad research class. It is a powerful tool used for running statistics for research, and while not the most user-intuitive, it is a standard in the academic community. Much like a calculator, it allows for researchers to run numbers and decide if their hypothesis is true or not.
  • Regression analysis
  • Chi-square analysis
  • One-way ANOVAs
  • Descriptive statistics
  • Huge data sets
  • The user interface is unwieldy
  • Macros are used to fill holes in the functionality of the software (which is good and bad, these things should later be implemented)
  • The learning curve is ridiculously steep
IBM SPSS is well suited for quantitative analysis of academic research. In doing qualitative research, it falls rather short. It has great tools and functionality to meet the needs of both students and professors (across all skill levels) when doing statistical analysis. It works great with Qualtrics which allows you to download your data as an SPSS save file.
Read Jared Hansen's full review
June 18, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS Great Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS is used by a variety of our senior-level scientists and Directors to perform ad hoc analysis of data. The sources of data include manufacturing information, clinical trial information, and preclinical information. It avoids having to go back to our consulting biostatistician for items that we are straightforwardly able to accomplish. This results in lower cost and more fluid turnaround time.
  • A broad variety of statistical tests
  • Handles various types of data
  • Relatively easy to use and share
  • Some degree of validation assurance - ala an FDA perspective on validation of the system - would be very helpful
  • More cost-effective options in using SPSS
Ad hoc analysis when you need a quick answer as to whether a particular pathway is worthy of pursuing further. It can provide quick assessments of various multiple paths for analytical considerations -- many may prove to not be worthy of further pursuit in depth. This allows the user to provide rapid feedback and avoid additional downstream costs.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "Good transition software for dealing with mixed-methods data for first timers"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SPSS to combined datasets, easily modify individual cases, input quantitative data, collect/ modify qualitative data, and conduct quick parametric and non-parametric analyses.
  • Imputing mixed-methods data
  • Quick user-friendly analyses
  • Non-parametric statistics
  • Limited coding capacity for modifying the analysis
  • Need to manually add in code for follow-up analyses
  • Not easy to modify and track database management
  • Only prints up to 2 decimals in the output
SPSS is great for small datasets, students, or people who struggle with statistics. It is not good for large database management.
Read this authenticated review
March 01, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "Perhaps the best GUI stats suite for beginners available today"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm an instructor in the English Department and the IT/research tools staff in the Linguistics Lab. I use SPSS to analyze linguistic data and I also help students use the software. We use SPSS in our Linguistics Lab primarily for statistical analyses of social sciences data, especially related to Sociolinguistics and Teaching English as a Second Language.
  • SPSS offers powerful functionality for virtually any statistical operation one needs (at least in my field, the social sciences).
  • There's also tremendous and versatile online support from both IBM themselves and others who have created helpful walkthroughs for performing various statistical analyses.
  • The output also looks nice and is fairly customizable.
  • The interface isn't very intuitive at all and is mostly just a bunch of drop-down menus with little direction. Bottom line: You really need to know about stats before you use this software. However, because it is the leading GUI stats software, there is abundant documentation for this software both from IBM and from universities and others that detail how to do various operations (and interpret the output).
If you already know about statistical tests - which to choose, how to run them, and what they mean - this is an outstanding basic statistical suite. I feel that it's prohibitively expensive for an individual unless you're really doing a huge amount of complex stats, but for a university or other institution, this is a nice tool.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
January 15, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS the best menu-driven statistical program."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS is used in various pockets throughout the institution by both researchers and administration. It is far from the only statistical tool in use, but because many of the administrators were trained in colleges of education it is the most commonly used tool. Further, as a menu driven tool, the learning curve is easier for new users who enter administrative departments. Note that in MOST cases SPSS is being used as a desktop product.
  • Menu-driven interface allows for new, non-programming users to become productive quickly. This capability is significantly stronger than competing products, whose menu-driven interfaces often lack many important analytical features.
  • Syntax (code-based) interface allows for coding of repetitive analysis and automation. While most tools have this, it is an invaluable piece of the software that allows for access to less common options and provides a clear way of documenting any process. Further, SPSS puts the syntax for each command into the output file, making it easy to see exactly what command resulted in what output.
  • The output from SPSS commands has been enhanced to provide most of what an analyst needs in order to make a decision. This is helpful for new analysts, as it can guide them in the direction of a more complete analysis.
  • SPSS is rock solid. This is a well-established product with 24 versions under it's belt.
  • While substantial improvements have been made, the graphic capabilities remain opaque syntax-wise and relatively rigid through the menu driven interface. You need to know what you are doing, and even then the graphs created are not necessarily the best looking. I tend to extract the data and build presentation graphs in other tools.
  • Data mining capabilities are provided, but at a HUGE cost in a different tool. As a non-profit, SPSS Modeler is out of our price range.
  • Picky thing - SPSS does not compute marginal effects. Tools like SAS, STATA and R either provide those calculations automatically or at the very least make them trivial to get at. SPSS can't do it at all. From an econometric perspective, this is a HUGE drawback.
  • I'm not sure we need a new version with new licensing every single year. This is especially the case if you aren't pushing the limits of the feature set.
[IBM SPSS is well suited for] Statistical analysis, fast descriptive statistics and crosstabs, and any area in which those tasks are to be performed by an inexperienced or non-technical analyst. I would lean toward places that are new to applying statistical tests to their analysis, and send people with specific needs for highly complex analysis to other tools.
Read Rebecca T Barber, MBA, PHD's full review
January 08, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS - Simple, Easy to Use but Powerful"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current and previous organizations, SPSS was used primarily for data analysis, typically for small to medium sized data sets. From what I know, SPSS is one of several statistical software packages used at my current and previous organizations.
  • Very user friendly - the point and click interface of SPSS allows users to complete their activities simply and efficiently. Unlike other statistical programs, SPSS doesn't require knowledge of specific code.
  • Very easy to pull in data from multiple sources or enter in data manually.
  • Clean, simple format and it's clear where to go when you to view data and where to go to view the variables and their labels.
  • Limitations with incorporating weights (when using data from nationally representative samples).
  • From what I understand, SPSS doesn't handle large amounts of data particularly well.
  • I find it more useful as an analysis tool than a data management and cleaning tool.
From my experience, SPSS is particularly well suited for the analysis of small to medium sized data sets. Also, it is particularly useful for individuals with a good understanding of statistics and the tests that they want to run on their data, but aren't familiar with coding formats (like R or SAS).

I don't find SPSS to be as well suited for managing larger or more complex (weights) data sets.
Read Angela Falisi, MPH's full review
January 08, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS - a great interface and easy to use for basic statistical analysis"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the organization. IBM SPSS is used for analyzing quantitative data. Specifically within our department, it is used to conduct t-tests, various types of ANOVAs, regressions, and mediation/moderation analysis. It provides the opportunity to conduct statistically rigorous data analysis that can then inform trends in the field of marketing. We use it for publications in academic journals. The problem it addresses is identifying new ways to conduct marketing that are more effective than previous methods. By running experiments to look at product evaluations before and after marketing changes, we can use IBM SPSS to identify if one marketing tactic is better than another. It helps academics, students, and practitioners alike.
  • Dialogue boxes. I love that IBM SPSS has drop down menus, which are much better than some of the other statistical packages that require you to write purely in code.
  • Customizable. You can add in dialogue boxes of your own or from other users in your field. Specifically for the field of marketing, a macro known as PROCESS is used to conduct mediation analysis. This is not standard with SPSS, but the program is customizable so I can add this custom dialogue box to my set of menus.
  • Dual Licenses. I appreciate that when I purchase SPSS, I get a license for my laptop and another for my desktop. This helps keep costs down, but enable accessibility from wherever I need access to the program.
  • Fast. The speed of SPSS has definitely improved over the last several versions. Running stats tests are very quick, usually just a matter of seconds.
  • Renewal licenses. I didn't like when SPSS turned from purchasing the program outright to 6 month licenses. In the long run, it makes things more expensive as each change seems to be incremental. I could still run all of my necessary statistical tests on a version that was 2 or 3 versions ago.
  • If you are running structural equation modeling (SEM), you may find it easier to operate solely in another program. While they do allow data transition from AMOS to SPSS, sometimes it can be clunky.
  • Processing capabilities. If you have a slow computer, SPSS is going to be a pain to run. Installation takes up all the memory on one of my even faster computers, so I have to not try to run excess items while running SPSS.
IBM SPSS is well suited for basic data analysis for market researchers, academics, and students. It performs all the basic functions (t-tests, ANOVAs, regression, correlations) that people would need to do. However, if you want to get into hierarchical modeling or assessment of data within groups, it can be tougher to run in SPSS and other programs may be more beneficial.
Read Elizabeth Minton's full review
January 08, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS Statistics 23--First Choice for Novice & Experienced Researchers!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SPSS Statistics 23 to complete and to guide personal as well as student research projects at the doctoral level. The entire graduate school has access to this software and most graduate students choose to use it in assignments and projects. We use it to analyze data and to teach research. In an educational environment, it is essential that students be provided guided experiences when learning about statistical analyses. For many graduate students, a capstone project, doctoral study, or dissertation is their first opportunity to do independent research. Across our university, SPSS is the go-to software that we provide access to and that we recommend for student researchers. It provides a uniform platform for educators and students alike to explore different analyses and learn to interpret their findings and results. As there are many ancillary supports and guides available, it is easy to find tutorials or support for students (or colleagues!) that may need guidance in using SPSS or in learning a new analysis.
  • SPSS provides a menu-driven board from which to select the appropriate analysis and variables. Having user-friendly processes is key in creating accurate data analysis, especially with new researchers.
  • SPSS offers advanced analysis processes for advanced users; novice users can simply "ignore" these bells and whistles until they are needed. Having the versatility to support experienced and new researchers is an important niche in education.
  • SPSS provides exportable graphics that can enhance external reports and communication of findings. This feature is super helpful, especially for new researchers who need to include graphics but who may not know how to make them from scratch.
  • SPSS continually updates their software, enhancing it to meet user needs or changes in the research field. As educators working in an ever-changing environment, having software that keeps pace with the culture and field is imperative.
  • Some new researchers are still overwhelmed by "all the choices" and menus in SPSS. Students may feel insecure or indecisive about how to explore it and properly complete assignments or research outcomes.
  • Although there are many external you tube how-to videos and support via a quick Google Search, the internal "help" tools are sometimes as complicated as the original problem. Creating "How to Run SPSS for Dummies" that is available INSIDE the product would be wonderful! Any support that is "on-site" builds confidence and security in new users.
  • Sometimes the terminology inside SPSS does not exactly mirror the research language a student or novice researcher finds on other websites. If SPSS provided a glossary of research terms and interchangeable meanings etc it would be a great support.
  • I have found many resources to support or explain SPSS integration into research courses. I think it would be a tremendous benefit to have some of these ancillary support websites or services noted and recommended from within SPSS. Although this offering may require collaboration or partnership with other organizations or products, I see the relationship as an opportunity to enhance the user-friendly nature of SPSS and also improve SPSS's reputation as a software for educators.
Not to be cliché, but SPSS suits ALL MY RESEARCH NEEDS. It is advanced enough to manage the most complicated quantitative parametric or non-parametric analysis and also clear enough to run a simple t-test for a graduate homework assignment. I have used it departmentally to run metrics on student interactions and academic progress as well as to determine department functionality in working with our students etc. I suspect it would not be suited for someone without any research basics as the menu choice would not make sense at all. I just returned from a week long national conference and everyone I talked to uses SPSS. It is the "go to" in educational research!
Read Anissa Harris's full review
February 27, 2018

User Review: "IBM SPSS - Great data analysis tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my workplace, we tend to gather as much data as we can about our coworkers. By doing so, there's plenty of data to be analyzed. Even more, I also do research and data analysis regarding client's briefings. As such, SPSS helps me analyze relationships among variables, by performing regression analysis, ANOVAs, etc.
  • SPSS is a pretty easy to use software.
  • It comes with many available actions that will allow you to do many analysis.
  • It you feel like something is missing, you can always do some coding on the syntax in order to "tell" SPSS specifically what you are looking for.
  • It allows you to download and use addons that make it an even more complete software.
  • The data visualization options are really poor. The software is great for data analysis, but when you think about making a presentation or something like that, you will have to rely on other softwars to do so.
  • It can take a while for a newbie to master it.
  • The price is a bit high, specially for a single customer.
SPSS is well suited for work in which you have to establish several relationships among variables (regressions, ANOVAS, MANOVAS). It is also suited to work side by side with Excel, since they complement each other. Therefore, SPSS is suited for both academic and professional/organizational setups, as if provides different ways to solve many problems.
Read Bernardo Cavalheiro's full review
January 25, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS is essential for quality data analysis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM SPSS is used by our organization for data analysis and reporting procedures. We evaluate various social programs and use data to support social programming across the state and nationally. This gives us the tools to easily summarize data and find statistically significant information to share with our stakeholders, policy makers, and social service providers.
  • Summarizing descriptive statistics
  • Labeling variables and input data
  • Utilizing programming language to easily generate reports
  • Learning curve is steep for some users
  • Interface can be complex at times
  • Does not run well on older computers we sometimes have to use
IBM SPSS is well-suited for summarizing large data sets, comparing data and variables, and finding correlates between and among data sets. SPSS allows individuals to share data sets and work collaboratively. SPSS is not well-suited for analyzing qualitative data or data sets that have not yet been coded, except for small variable changes. SPSS also does not have real-time editing so collaboration cannot occur at the same time.
Read Ember Urbach, LMSW's full review
January 08, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS is okay. Better alternatives out there for the price"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used SPSS for a semester as a student and explored it, as an individual, as an alternative to the current analytics software we are using. The business problems it can address are similar to other analytics software. SPSS is overall a powerful tool that can be used to for segmentations and regression analysis with their own 2-step segmentation analysis for segmentations.
  • Segmentation
  • Regression
  • Tech support
  • Very clunky in the user interface. Old.
  • Creating value labels
  • Very expensive
SPSS is great for segmentations and provides a robust platform using the 2-step clustering providing great insight on significance of the clusters. The regression function is great too though. One of the pitfalls of SPSS is that the user interface is rather "old" and could use an update compared to other competitors such as JMP.
Read Si Wong's full review
March 21, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "Reliable companion"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to use
  • Compatible with IT infrastructures
  • Cheaper to own
  • Requires good knowledge of statistics
  • It requires users to learn how to write CLEM codes
  • Outcomes not as well appreciated like that of SAS
  • It is used by the research and development department for the entire benefit of the organisation. Some other individuals outside the research and development department also have it.
  • It is mostly used for data preparation, including coding and data migration; It is also used for data presentation.
  • It is used to prepare staging tables and platforms for other applications.
  • Above all, it is used for various statistical data analyses.
Read Olayinka Awoyemi's full review
January 18, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS for the health care researcher"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to statistically analyse clinical research data for publication. I teach doctors to use it as well as academic researchers. I teach SPSS statistics to PhD students in a number of graduate schools, in the UK. SPSS is great entry to statistics and data manipulations for non-statisticians. It is simple to use with its online help manuals, only a click away.
  • The menu driven functionality makes it easier for non-statistician to use the software.
  • Easy to import Excel files into SPSS, for powerful analysis.
  • The built-on tutorials using the sample files and scenarios, are useful for self learning.
  • The newest version has so many choices to choose from that may intimidate a new user.
  • The landing page of the newest version 24 is less crowded.
For learning and teaching statistics using scenarios. Non-statisticians, learning to read in data, editing, importing, manipulating and running summary statistics. Also for advance user, using the syntax to run repetitive routines.
Read Elizabeth Wiredu - Data Solutions Services's full review
January 13, 2018

IBM SPSS: "Easy to use, good for basic to moderate research purposes"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a researcher and instructor at a large midwestern university. IBM SPSS is used across the campus by various disciplines for research. I use it for communication research to run statistics for content analyses, experiments, and survey studies. Overall, it has been a useful tool for running the tests that I have needed to run. It takes a few runs at it to fully understand the layout and functions, but it is easy to use once you get the hang of it.
  • Correlations are easy to run.
  • Labeling of variables.
  • Great charts and tables.
  • It is easy to import from Excel and export to Excel.
  • There are a few things that I know you can do in other statistical software like STATA that you can't do in SPSS. But it's a give and take. ANOVA is better in SPSS than STATA, but I hear from my friends in a different discipline that STATA is better for more complex survey research and regressions.
  • It takes a long time to run tests because there aren't many shortcuts.
  • Can be a little slow at times.
SPSS is good for researchers that are in the humanities and are conducting basic research. I have found it useful for analyzing data that I have collected through content analyses, basic survey research, and simple experiments. For people that will be running a lot of regression analyses and structural equations, they may want to look at using STATA.
Read this authenticated review
January 08, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS for biology"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SPSS to analyze my research data and help students learn to use SPSS through student research projects. It is a very simple interface which makes it easy to use. The only complaint is the the graphs are not great and I use a different software to make graphs for my publications. Otherwise you can find it cited as the statistical package used in all of my work.
  • Straight forward and user friendly for simple analysis
  • The split file feature allows for rapid analysis of large data sets separated in different ways with a simple click
  • Copy and past of tables into excel makes it easy to edit them to make the publication ready
  • Graphics are not usable for publication
  • Sometimes struggles with really large data sets
I primarily run regressions, ANOVA's, linear mixed models and non-parametric correlations. Works well for all of these. I also have use the split file and select cases functions very frequently.
Read this authenticated review
January 08, 2018

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS - Everything the market researcher needs for data analysis"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS is used widely by the marketing research department, which supports the entire organization. It is used for extensive data analysis of survey data, including descriptive statistics, cross-tabulations and other ways of slicing the data, and statistical analysis. It is often used to supplement the analyses done by survey vendors as a way to do deeper dives and respond to follow-up questions by business managers.
  • Deeper dives into the data - We often like to slice data into various segments, and SPSS cross-tabulation capabilities make this easy.
  • Statical analysis - Identify the variable that are most impactful in generative overall results. For example, what aspects of customer service drive overall satisfaction.
  • East of use - I like how the SPSS data structure is so well suited to people who use Microsoft Excel. In particular, taking an Excel data file and importing it into SPSS is easy. It does take a bit of work in defining variables and response categories, but you end up with a very powerful dataset for deeper analysis.
  • I would like to see the ability to control print outputs better. The data is all there but it's not easy to format the printouts for ease of reading them.
  • I'd love to see the ability to generate a lot more data in cross-tabulation output, e.g., the 20+ banner points we often like to see.
  • More powerful graphics, such as those in Tableau or even PowerPoint, would be very nice to have.
It is really the "go to"product for anyone doing surveys, who wants to do more than just a top-line overall responses) report. Perfect for analyzing data and doing deeper dives to drill down into the data.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2017

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS a frequently utilized system among research"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS was used as the sole source of data collection, management, tracking, and analytics. It was used in the research setting, anyone needing to conduct or manage a research project was given access to the software. It addressed all issues of data management for research. All users were also provided learning materials and resources on the capabilities of the software.
  • The data analytics are far beyond the common capabilities of Excel or other more simple software packages.
  • The graphing capabilities are stellar. There are plenty of customization options.
  • The syntax has kept relatively consistent across various versions and updates, making it easier for the user to use various versions if needed without a large learning curve.
  • The overall use of the syntax is not especially user friendly to learn. However once a user takes the time to learn the functionality of the program is becomes very easy to make large changes or calculations to the data.
  • Easier integration with other systems, i.e. excel. Would make this software easier for project management. Uploading or downloading data sets can be difficult sometimes.
Anything with research or a need for running advanced statistics presents a great opportunity to use IBM SPSS. If you have a less involved need for analytics or data management then I would recommend a software program that is not as robust and is less costly. This is a great program to use, as it is historically popular in many industries.
Read Abby Steele's full review
May 19, 2017

IBM SPSS Review: "Use SPSS for your data-driven decision-making"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM SPSS is used by the staff of the department of research for analysis of data from our surveys and educational activity (program) evaluation projects. RSNA is a medical association of radiologists in the business of providing continuing education to our members and the radiology community in general. We conduct numerous surveys throughout the year (needs assessment surveys, journal readership surveys, member benefit surveys, educational activity pricing surveys etc.) and use SPSS to analyze the data. SPSS is also used to analyze the participant feedback surveys from our continuing education activities.
  • Ease of pre-analysis data manipulation (including data cleaning) activities such as the easy of restructuring data, identifying duplicate cases, merging files, recoding variables, selecting cases for analysis etc. Helps expedite the data analysis process.
  • A very comprehensive online help that include easy to follow Tutorials. the Statistical Coach that guides you through the process of finding the appropriate procedure and Case Studies, that provide hands-on examples of statistical analyses and how to interpret results. You have a constant companion while using SPSS.
  • Ability to work with multiple data sources, compare the contents of various files and move easily between the data sources.
  • A powerful menu-driven statistical analysis system. I still write syntax out of habit but I can also accomplish all my tasks through the menu-driven system.
  • Would like to receive information on software patches and updates - especially on patches.
Well Suited:
Selecting of proportionally representative samples from various subsets of a population.
Quick tabular and graphical summary of variables in a data file.
Simple univariate to complex multivariate data analysis.

Read Francis Kwakwa's full review
May 17, 2017

IBM SPSS Review: "SPSS Made My Analytic Career"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SPSS is only used in the Market Research department at this time. The business problems it addresses are: used as a data warehouse, used as a reporting tool, used as an analytical tool, calculates market size and market share, tracks and reports on construction activity at micro and macro levels, forecasts business KPIs and Leading Economic Indicators, tracks and reports on business activity from across the entire enterprise, feeds the GIS and sets up the datasets used for spatial analysis, general reporting of tables, charts and graphs.
  • Help desk with SPSS is PHENOMENAL. All of my questions, regardless of what it might be, get answered promptly.
  • I feel that IBM has done a good job of keeping SPSS affordable for cash strapped research departments.
  • I feel that IBM has done a good job of integrating SPSS statistics desktop and Modeler with their products.
  • I wish the help files were still bundled with the software and not "online" as you need to have internet connection to access the software's help files. Please make it an option at least during the install, or download package.
  • Like the answer previously, this is also tied to the internet, and the webpages for SPSS typically make me cringe when I have to use an online tool. IBM should have simplified this aspect of software a long time ago... perhaps Watson can help?
  • I don't like the trend where software is going into the cloud, and I know that IBM wants to push SPSS there. I prefer software installed on my laptop! I would consider keeping with whatever the last version of SPSS desktop was released and using that until I retire in the next 20 or 30 years.
SPSS can do everything you need it to in a data science roll in a production environment. We are running our business on information processed via SPSS. I think IBM needs to get out there a lot more and aggressively push SPSS desktop and Modeler. It's simple AND powerful, you really do get it all when you use SPSS.
Read Lance Huntley's full review
May 12, 2017

IBM SPSS Review: "Confessions of a First Time Statistics Student"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many of the professors who teach Introduction to Statistics at Grinnell College choose to use IBM SPSS as the primary statistical package for the course. SPSS is a software that fits very well with the curriculum of Introduction to Statistics. In particular, as an intro course, students enter the class from a variety of different academic disciplines. Since students are encouraged to explore their own interests in relation to topics covered in class, it is essential that SPSS is able to give them an accessible platform to do so. Furthermore, the learning curve for SPSS is relatively quick. As a student in the course, within the limited time of a semester, I learned to comfortably manage a data set in SPSS and even began to use it for my own research interests.
  • The Variable View tab of SPSS is extremely useful. It is helpful to have one location where it is possible to not only look at the variables in the data set, but also manipulate characteristics of each variable, add new labels, and even do some troubleshooting.
  • The menu-driven layout of the analysis functions makes the learning curve relatively quick. Additionally, after selecting a test, there are checkboxes that allow you to customize the output you will receive.
  • The drag and drop method of creating graphics is very intuitive and allows for users to be visualizing the graphic as they are creating it.
  • The aesthetics of the graphics created by SPSS are not easy to manipulate. Thus, it would be great if SPSS could allow you to export a graphic to another program like excel, where headings, colors, spacing can be more easily edited.
  • SPSS sometimes gives the option to generate a graphic automatically as part of the statistical test. However, the graphic created is not always accurate. For example, the automatically generated clustered bar chart for a cross-tab mistakenly clusters around dependent not independent variable.
SPSS is particularly well suited for quantitative data. More specifically, it is most useful for any type of hypothesis testing: comparing proportions, means, ANOVA, etc. The program also naturally allows for calculation of a variety of basic descriptive statistics. It is not well suited for qualitative data, because the specifications for what kind of characters can occupy a cell are very strict. That is, unlike in Excel, one could not write a note or a sentence in a cell.
Read Brianna Wilson's full review
March 31, 2017

Review: "IBM SPSS is a user friendly option to easily analyze all sorts of data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by a limited number of individuals in the department. It enables us to electronically organize, store, and analyze all sorts of data. It's fairly user friendly, especially for individuals that don't know how to code in programming languages. You can run high levels of statistical analyses using SPSS, test hypotheses for your research using SPSS, create graphs, etc. You can learn valuable descriptive information about an entire data set or about a single variable. Also, it's easy to create new variables using your existing data or perform transformation on problematic variables. You can use SPSS to see if existing data meets basic assumptions in order to conduct certain statistical analyses on the data.
  • IBM SPSS provides user friendly drop down menus.
  • If you hit "paste" it creates code for you based on what you have selected from drop down menus.
  • IBM SPSS easily organizes large data sets.
  • IBM SPSS keeps data secure with password protected databases.
  • IBM SPSS is not as flexible as R, for example, when analyzing data.
  • It is difficult to move data back and forth from IBM SPSS and Excel.
  • It's hard to manage very large (30,000+) data sets in IBM SPSS.
IBM SPSS is well suited for analyzing several different types of data. It is very well suited for psychology-related data or data associated with mental health. It's well suited for academics who have a basic foundation in statistics. It's also well suited for individuals who do not have coding experience. It's not very well suited when you need to analyze data collected from surveys - like SurveyMonkey, for example. It's not well suited for individuals who do not know basic statistics.
Read Ariana Tart-Zelvin's full review

About IBM SPSS

IBM SPSS is a predictive analytics software solution that aims to provide users with more meaningful insights from their data and predict what is likely to happen next. This solution offers advanced techniques designed to help companies find new opportunities, improve efficiency and minimize risk.
Categories:  Predictive Analytics

IBM SPSS Competitors

IBM SPSS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No