IBM Watson Studio

IBM Watson Studio

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
IBM Watson Studio on Cloud Pak for Data

Overview

Recent Reviews

Early review of IBM Watson

6 out of 10
February 04, 2021
We mostly use IBM Watson Studio for its Notebook features for running Python codes. It allows us to work on the code together and generate …
Continue reading

Beginner Guide Review

7 out of 10
December 01, 2020
IBM Watson studio is being used to host Juypter Notebooks. These notebooks contains analyses for various projects. The primary project …
Continue reading

Review on IBM Watson

9 out of 10
November 25, 2020
I have been using IBM Watson [Studio (formerly IBM Data Science Experience)] for the purpose of Data science course which was offered by …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • Interactive Data Analysis (21)
    7.7
    77%
  • Visualization (21)
    7.6
    76%
  • Connect to Multiple Data Sources (21)
    7.5
    75%
  • Extend Existing Data Sources (21)
    7.2
    72%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of IBM Watson Studio, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is IBM Watson Studio?

IBM Watson Studio enables users to build, run and manage AI models, and optimize decisions at scale across any cloud. IBM Watson Studio enables users can operationalize AI anywhere as part of IBM Cloud Pak® for Data, the IBM data and AI platform. The vendor states the solution simplifies AI…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

11 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Mathematica?

Wolfram's flagship product Mathematica is a modern technical computing application featuring a flexible symbolic coding language and a wide array of graphing and data visualization capabilities.

What is Rational BI?

Rational BI provides analytics, data science and business intelligence in an analytical platform that connects to databases, data files and cloud drives including AWS and Azure data sources, enabling users to explore and visualize data. Users can build real-time notebook-style reports directly in a…

Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Platform Connectivity

7.1
71%

Data Exploration

7.6
76%

Data Preparation

7.5
75%

Platform Data Modeling

7.3
73%

Model Deployment

6.5
65%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is IBM Watson Studio?

IBM Watson Studio enables users to build, run and manage AI models, and optimize decisions at scale across any cloud. IBM Watson Studio enables users can operationalize AI anywhere as part of IBM Cloud Pak® for Data, the IBM data and AI platform. The vendor states the solution simplifies AI lifecycle management and accelerates time to value with an open, flexible multicloud architecture.

IBM Watson Studio Competitors

IBM Watson Studio Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Amazon SageMaker and Azure Machine Learning are common alternatives for IBM Watson Studio.

Reviewers rate Interactive Data Analysis and Built-in Processors highest, with a score of 7.7.

The most common users of IBM Watson Studio are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 64)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Kapil Bansal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used IBM Waston for learning and helping other fellow members learn some concepts of machine learning. We learned about IBM Waston through Coursera Specialization and then continue experimenting with IBM Cloud for some time. Whether it is using their services or storing objects in a bucket, it was an amazing experience.
  • IBM Watson Services like speech to text, etc. are just some clicks away. You just need to specify some basic details like location etc and the resource will be ready for use.
  • IBM DB2 engine is a fully managed relational database for all your needs.
  • There are a lot of services available from which users can choose what suits his/her needs.
  • In starting, I found navigating through different services a bit difficult and overwhelming.
  • IBM dashboard should be redesigned to make it simple.
  • Rest all looks good.
IBM Waston Studio is well suited if you wanna use some well-known services without investing much of your time there. There are a lot of services that can be used and experimented with. These services are just a few clicks away. Also, there is a free plan if you want to try before actually using the product.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Watson Studio on Cloud Pak for Data helps me bring in multiple data streams in Batch and streaming mode and helps me to run ETL processes and then run ML algorithms on top of the processed data. The beauty is I don't need to think about managing resources like CPU, storage, and processing elements and focus all my efforts on the data analytics.
  • Data ingestion
  • ETL processes
  • Integration with Python notebooks for ML algorithms
  • Support to run SQL queries on Cloud
  • Support for streaming data
  • Streaming data support
  • Connecting with existing Hadoop systems
  • Data visualization on top of the data
Well suited for
  • Data Storage
  • Data Warehousing
  • Data Ingestion
  • Data Analysis using Python

Less Suited for things like
  • Streaming Data
  • ETL tools area
  • AutoML algorithms out of the box
  • NoSQL Database support
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I am a student and I do not have any idea how many students studying and practicing along with me are using IBM Watson Studio on Cloud Pak for Data. Mostly, this platform might be used by the students under the computer science and information technology department. I use it mostly for my projects by learning to implement several concepts, helping me build and strengthen them.
  • Data security
  • Choice of the amount of computation power
  • Providing an option for sharing the files while hiding the sensitive content present in them
  • Checking if it is under use or not because for free users who cannot afford to pay, it is hard to manage the amount of computation periods provided
  • When there is nothing to execute, the run time should be paused to prevent wasting resources
  • Please try to provide the lite pack with a few more resources to help those who cannot afford to pay
It provides a lot of professional services which are not provided by other platforms
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IBM Watson Studio is mainly used for one single department, the data science team. It mainly addresses the devops overhead of heavy jupyter notebooks and provides an integrated interface for people who are not familiar with infra and storage. It also provides a point of integration with other IBM services.
  • Sharing with team
  • GitHub integration
  • Free pricing plan if you want to try things out
  • Loading times can be slow
  • Tabs can be hard to navigate
  • not enough out of box examples
IBM Watson studio on Cloud Pak for Data is well suited for medium sized teams. It allows for collaboration between technical and non-technical users. It is less suited for companies who already has large built production ML pipelines, as the cost of migration could be high and the initial overhead of learning the tools still remains
Venugopal Dontaraboyana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Storing data in the form of Worksheets and CSV files so that multiple users can use the data partially irrespective of location.
Running and deploying ML and AI Models. It helps - no need to have local hardware. We are able to achieve all the tasks over the cloud.
Used in different parts of the organization.
  • Deployment of ML Models.
  • Use of sharable data.
  • Multiple users can be added to a project.
  • UI difficult.
  • Use of Microsoft tools like Visio for flow.
  • In built Excel editor.
I am not sure whether can use Watson for Robotic process automation. I like the ease of usage of Watson for ML Models and Image processing. I love the way the Project is associated with Assets. I like the different data connectors.
February 04, 2021

Review of IBM services

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am into mentoring services, so I teach and assist learners on this technology.
  • Data Visualization - IBM Cognos.
  • Jupyter notebooks- Python Coding.
  • Speech to text recognition.
  • AI Bot can be better for IBM Cognos.
Watson is good when you do not have applications and software locally variable on your laptop or PC.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mostly use IBM Watson Studio for its Notebook features for running Python codes. It allows us to work on the code together and generate neat reports.
  • Kind of slow to launch
  • Not industry standard
  • Too many tabs to navigate through
If you are a small company with insufficient funding, it would be better to go with open source resources because they are free and do the same job. If you are a bigger company with enough resources, then IBM Watson Studio could be better in terms of security and accessibility.
John Robert Uy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to test prototype applications for clients. Mostly used for creating predictive data models, descriptive models, and basic ETL. There are plans to test new speech-to-text and image-to-text applications for new clients in 2021. Cloud storage is a secondary use since it is the only platform that supports older or legacy databases
  • Auto AI makes creating predictive models so much easier and faster. It creates several models and ranks them according to precision (or accuracy) allowing us to rapidly select the most optimized model. While the models are not perfect at the first run, it gives us an idea on which models to focus on cutting the turnaround times from 3 days to less than 4 hours.
  • The cloud structure allows us to reuse datasets that are in different projects. This cuts down the need to create new pipelines or ETL steps.
  • Auto AI allows us to select the best models to use when creating predictive models. The app ranks and lists down the models according to accuracy (or precision0. This alone is worth the subscription as it cut down our turnaround times from 3 days to 1 day.
It is well suited for mechanistic models such as time series and descriptive analysis. There is almost no code necessary when creating these models, as it takes the guesswork out of setting up the parameters. There are also models that we've never before even tried because of its complexities but AutoAI shows that these models are sometimes best for the given problem.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This system is currently being used with a few students on a data science degree within the School of Computing at our University. We are using IBM Watson as a means to overcome the hardware limitations we have within the our work setting. IBM Watson provides student with access to high powered machines allowing them to run complex machine learning algorithms without having to worry about hardware negatively effecting the performance of said algorithms. It is also a relatively simple system to use, making it a useful teaching tool which requires minimal support for academics. Students have provided positive feedback regarding the use of this service and we plan to expand our use of Watson Studio throughout our other degree options.
  • Clear distinction between services provided.
  • Jack of all trades without being a master of none.
  • Complex processing without an major latency.
  • Some aspects of the UI can be overwhelming for a novice user.
  • Integration with some non-Watson Studio services is limited.
IBM Watson Studio is very much suitable for data scientists when running a variety of analytical models using various languages such as R, Python and Scala. If you are planning to use data science driven languages in a cloud setting then IBM Watson Studio is a good option as it combines lots of relevant tools such as Notebooks, RStudio and Spark in a single environment. If you are looking to work in these environments as a group then Watson Studio also works well with the distribution and sharing of workspaces. This service however, isn't always the best solution as it can become costly if you are consistently running a large amount of intensive projects.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use IBM Watson Studio (formerly IBM Data Science Experience) as training for developing analytical skills in Coursera courses.
  • The platform offers the ability to integrate with other platforms.
  • The interface is intuitive and easy to use.
  • The interface allows you to use different tools as needed like Jupyter notebooks and DB2.
  • It can be difficult to navigate at times.
  • The platform does not offer as much educational material as I would like.
IBM Watson Studio (formerly IBM Data Science Experience) is very useful for using different analysis techniques to import and interpret data sets. Converting and cleaning data is easy using IBM Watson Studio (formerly IBM Data Science Experience), so it is very helpful in scenarios where you know what you're trying to achieve. From an educational standpoint, it would be nice if the platform offered more instance-related material, but the platform is very useful for experienced analysis.
NARESH SAMPARA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using IBM Watson studio for my personal interest. Since it is not involved a lot of programming, I am creating my own website with a chatbot whereas the chatbot will be answering about my research and carrier. I am using the IBM Watson Studio for analyzing the visual data.
  • No programming skills.
  • Well structured.
  • Proper instructions.
  • Takes time to integrate Watson.
  • High switching costs.
  • IBM Watson studio desktop.
The IBM Watson Studio is suited for everyone in the organization including a data scientist (who can do the in-depth coding), to a business analyst. Especially when the organizations have to analyze the unstructured data. It has the flexibility in the use of different data science development environments including R, Python and SPSS.
December 01, 2020

Beginner Guide Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Watson studio is being used to host Juypter Notebooks. These notebooks contains analyses for various projects. The primary project being a ML algorithm that can detect fraud in PPP loans. This is specifically being used in the Engineering department at SJSU. It addresses the problem of users having the capable hardware to run the required software programs, since everything is now cloud based.
  • Usability - The Cloud Object Storage is fairly easy to implement with a Juypter Notebook
  • Design - After some initial learning curve, it becomes easy to navigate through the site.
  • Features - IBM is adding more and more features to their existing architecture.
  • Layout - There is a learning curve learning how to navigate the site, it's not as straightforward at it may seem.
  • Documentation - There is not that much good documentation available about how to setup various Watson Studio projects (configurations, etc.). Third-party resources provide a set of documentation and guides.
  • Bugs - There are some small bugs when using Watson Studio. One issue is when inviting collaborators to a project, depending on which computer you are using and what OS you have as well as your screen size, the invite button is "hidden". The invite button can only be noticed when zooming out far enough.
Watson Studio is suited for quick data validation checks. It's fairly simple to upload data resources and to get something up and running.
(Less Appropriate )I have not seen or had experience with Watson Studio services that can handle a large amount of data.
November 25, 2020

Review on IBM Watson

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using IBM Watson [Studio (formerly IBM Data Science Experience)] for the purpose of Data science course which was offered by IBM on coursera. As part of that I had come across IBM Watson . It helped a lot for learners who want to do things practically . But I felt that the interface can be made much better so that people can use it in a more flexible way . Also some times there are issues when using jupyter notebooks with python . I felt that can be improved for better user experience
  • More variety of applications
  • More Flexible
  • Better compatibility
  • User Experience
  • Functionality issues with some applications
  • Speed
It is well suited for building applications using AI,ML etc..
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Watson Studio [formerly IBM Data Science Experience] helps my business unit to make some business decisions concerning management of cash and keeping stocks of debit cards. Generally it help us predict the amount of cash and debit card we would be needing to meet up the demands of the customer at the time.
My organization as a whole use it to predict the profitability of Automated Teller Machines (ATM) and to find insights while there are higher traffic on some machines.
  • Helps to predict profitability of terminals at any of our locations
  • Helps to predict peak and off-peak periods, hence, it aids preparation
  • Help us to plan and improve on cash management efficiency by relying of past data
  • IBM Watson studio needs to improve on its mobile experience
  • A help chatbot would go a long way to guide users
This depends on your application. I believe IBM Watson Studio [(formerly IBM Data Science Experience)] is agile enough to carry out most of my basic business intelligence tasks
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently I'm using IBM Watson as part of my Professional development via Coursera. IBM Watson to my knowledge isn't being used by my colleagues. I plan on using it to gather data and analytics to better support my customers. As an example I'm a Logistic Assistance Representative with a specialization in Tactical Radio communications thus if I can analysis the Army equipment readiness data and parts requisitioning backlogs I can better pin-point the average turn around time to assist my supported units and the respective parts managers to increase the parts availability and thus improving their readiness.
  • Helpful get started tutorial videos in Watson Studios.
  • Lots of notebooks to choose from.
  • Github push is a great way to share and collaborate with others.
  • I'd like to have more CHU's on the lite version.
  • When using Python environment it would be great when I make an error coding that corrective suggestions would be available.
  • Being very new it's a learning curve maybe a I'm new to coding tutorial class would help.
The sheer amount of services from DB to many others is more than one would expect especially being a lite user.
The assumption that every user is well versed in coding or just maneuvering around in Watson studio is definitely no true. Thus having said that a process of instruction or maybe a better tutorial might be appropriate.
November 04, 2019

Watson Studio Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in the form of value chain at a macro level to drive optimization value and manage unplanned upsets. It is used by my department.
  • It is very user friendly.
  • Secure and can have federation security.
  • Very quick and high-resolution visual graphics.
  • Advanced modeling techniques.
  • It should have the capability to utilize thermodynamic models and extract key values.
Watson Studio is great for visualization and model computing, however, it doesn’t have error handling capability inbuilt.
Christopher Penn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Watson Studio is the first third of IBM's new Watson machine learning data pipeline. It's a powerful, reasonably intuitive, low-code environment for building machine learning models and integrating IBM's machine learning APIs (speech recognition, image recognition, etc.) into your ML pipeline. If you already consume Watson APIs, Watson Studio will help streamline current and future deployments.
  • Integration of IBM Watson APIs such as speech to text, image recognition, personality insights, etc.
  • SPSS modeler and neural network model provide no-code environments for data scientists to build pipelines quickly.
  • Enforced best-practices set up POCs for deployment in production with a minimum of re-work.
  • Estimator validation lets data scientists test and prove different models.
  • Watson Studio's UI is not always intuitive, especially when it comes to requirements and specific settings.
  • Documentation is not strong; tutorials and walkthroughs are noticeably light.
  • Tight integration with IBM APIs also means less well-made integrations to third party data sources and APIs—MySQL support notably absent.
Watson Studio is optimal for experienced data scientists and machine learning professionals to develop and deploy models quickly while enforcing best practices that set up projects for deployment and management down the road. It's not appropriate for people without a data science or machine learning background for production use; the ease of the visual modelers does not mean it makes machine learning easy or intuitive.
February 22, 2019

Analytics for the Masses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are working to leverage data analytics using an on-premises deployment to aid in predicting faults for our customers in a proactive/reactive manner. We are looking to leverage efficient and regularly trained algorithms in our Diagnostics Engine/BPMS to reduce our overall time to handle and potentially eliminate tickets opened by our customers
  • Ease of use and quick to explore
  • Guided experiences and ability to leverage multiple algorithms to identify the best one
  • Great support and sales teams
  • There isn’t much I think I can provide critical or improvement feedback on
The guided nature of the front end of DSX/WS truly enable an “easy-button” for casual business analysts/scientist, and the advanced functionality using SPSS is a fantastic blend if easy/advanced AI/Statistics
ashish devassy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently used by the data analytics department. It is used to address cost analysis and actuarial analysis.-

  • It is relatively easy to use
  • It works seamlessly with multiple languages.
  • Its administration is surprisingly easy
  • And it's easy to install / upgrade / maintain
  • Need better training materials for data scientists. Especially the ones who are not formally educated as data scientists.
  • The videos in the tutorials are all on Youtube which are usually blocked on most work campuses.
  • And the IBM Think campus training could have been better as well
Well suited for my organization's claim diagnosis level analysis across the years. Less suited for lower level data analysis which does not add much value.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have rules based applications that help airlines make real time decisions. We are to embed Watson studio to use historical data and optimize the outcomes of those decisions.
  • Intuitive GUI for us to begin using the studio
  • It works well that we can embed the decisions into our existing offering without a lot of changes
  • The pricing model is flexible
  • Like the opportunity to embed more data
  • Provide hint to use services based on verticals
  • Suggest how it could be embedded into mobile apps
  • Would like to understand the deployment model better
Well suited for:
1. Offering ancillary upgrades to airline passengers
2. Predicting flight delays based on historical patterns coupled with live feeds like weather
February 14, 2019

Watson Studio review

Van West | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Watson Studio for NLP/NLU purposes in our client environments. It addressed problems in physical space interactions between front line associates and customers. We also leverage tonality and sentiment models in addition to transcription to effectively process large amounts of voice interactions in the physical world. Watson Studio has proven useful in addressing these problems in these environments, but we are limited in our capacity to roll it out further due to edge compute limitations with the platform.
  • Speech to text
  • Keyword analysis
  • Tonality
  • Sentiment
  • Architectural support team to get up and running
Well suited for cloud-based environments, and less suited for edge-based processing.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Watson Studio is a wonderful product. Currently, I am a SPSS Modeler user and we are looking at migrating to Watson Studio Local. Watson Studio offers a great development and deployment platform for data scientist.
  • Flexibility in the use of different data science development environment, e.g. R, Python and SPSS modeler
  • Deployment capability in miroservices
  • Nothing at the moment
It offers an end to end solution for data science analytics
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to create products to detect diseases from skin images so that the doctors can monitor the progress of the diseases and deliver the best therapy. It is being used by the whole organisation as we are a medical AI company and the use of AI is integral to our product.
  • It is easy to use and I don't need to have a team full of data scientists to use them
  • It is easy to deploy when the models are trained and we don't need to hire many software engineers to take care of deployment
  • It allows us to test different models rapidly and so helps to accelerate the product development process
  • The cost is steep and so only companies with resources can afford it
  • It will be nice to have Chinese versions so that Chinese engineers can also use it easily
  • It takes a while to learn how to input different kinds of skin defects for detection
If a company is well resourced, I would recommend it as it allows the software developers to build products quickly and test them, on top of the many features available for advanced users to try. If a company is less well resourced, then it may be more challenging and in this case, the total TCO needs to be analyzed.
May 08, 2018

Watson vs. DATA

Isaiah King | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Watson Studio is used within Manifest Life Inc to help gather, process, and visualize various amounts of data. We use Watson Studio throughout our data management lifecycle and view it as the best all-in-one data management offering within the market. Watson Studio has helped our organization manage our data operations more fluidly through the offerings ease of use and minimal learning barrier. This product from IBM works like a charm and is flexible in small and/or large business environments. Data sets of all size can be easily cleaned, processed and leveraged in order to help meet our business objectives and create new opportunities.
  • Cloud-based file sharing helped our organization stay up to date when managing assets, new or old.
  • Watson studio does a fantastic job visualizing outcome data which enabled our organization to easily create a narrative based on what we were able to see.
  • Particularly within our organization, Watson Studio strength was noticed in its ability to processes enormous amounts of data in such a short amount of time.
  • Watson Studio could used improvement in its user-based community. I'd like to see more local and remote events showcasing its potential.
  • Watson Studio could improve by providing its users, use-cases that leverage data in unusual ways.
  • We think Watson studio could also improve by decreasing its price in order to capture new talent in the data industry.
We would highly recommend Watson Studio to any of our colleagues interested in combining machine learning and data management due to its wide range of capabilities and ease of use.
Dr. George Ng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used to teach with Watson Studio, but not anymore. It is inconsistent in many ways it breaks and when I ask for help, no one seems to be bothered.

When I do get a response, it doesn't solve my problems. IBM needs to get it's act together or risk losing out.
  • Good UI
  • Easy of use
  • Incorporates both Python and R
  • Could be more holistic
  • Have a look at Microsoft Studio, it's well integrated
  • Not very well thought out
Abundant use cases in the community section are very helpful.
Using R and Python interfaces on the same platform has great flexibility.
Drop down menus are great! Nothing needs changing there!
Apache Spark connection seems to be unstable.
The H2o package in R is erratic.
Apache spark in R could use some documentation - solid documentation.
Return to navigation