TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/R7/rr/LNDFLO4LP6O9.JPEGKendo UI Helps Us Work EasierNoblis has a team that supports government acquisitions and provides a comprehensive web-based collaboration and documentation tool tailored to support any acquisition. Kendo UI helped us build the software to allow collaboration, track workflow and securely manage massive amounts of documentation while also allowing us to quickly develop new 'on-demand' solutions that typically arise from each individual acquisition process. Without Kendo UI, we would have had to spend countless hours creating our own tools or trying to patch together disparate components into a cohesive framework.,Like many developers, we rely heavily on grids to display data. One of the real strengths of Kendo UI is the grid component. It provides immense flexibility and allows us to quickly and easily provide almost any kind of requested data view. Recently, Kendo UI has expanded from being strictly jQuery based to include an Angular, React or Vue based version. By embracing this, we now have more options for developing software and are better able to utilize developer skills. Did I mention these versions are all free with the Kendo UI pro license? Definitely, a great thing not to have to hassle with licensing. Kendo UI has over 70 components with a rich API set. The documentation for all of this, from API properties and methods to component overviews to 'how to use' examples is a truly great resource. In addition, there are now 'Getting Started' videos for all flavors of Kendo UI. All of this has made bringing new developers into the mix fairly easy as they have a huge ecosystem from which to learn Kendo UI.,Kendo UI is always moving forward and staying current with latest development trends. While that is beneficial, that can cause some issues when supporting customers (particularly government) that don't move their IT infrastructure along nearly as fast. A prime example is web font icons. Great and easy to use, but where Kendo UI utilizes web font icons as the sole means of displaying an icon, not all organizations (again, especially government) allow the use of these. There have been times where Kendo UI became unusable and we had to downgrade to a version a few years old. Makes continued payment for licenses sometimes feel wasted as we may not be able to always use the new releases Kendo UI has a wonderful feedback system and they do indeed listen to the community. However, there do seem to be some instances where there is large support for a new feature/component and it never gets addressed. It is easy to understand that not all ideas are easy or even prudent to implement, but would be nice to see a better follow-up on ideas with a current status Refreshing Kendo UI grids is simple, yet the standard API method causes the grid to return to the default state. We have many use cases where we would love to update the grid data but need current grid state (such as expanded detail rows, sorts, filters, etc) preserved after the grid is updated so that users do not have to perform grid actions again to return to the desired state.,10,The core product we use to support government acquisitions is built with Kendo UI and this has been the primary reason we have been able to create several 'spin-off' projects, such as a grant management application and technical document libraries, with minimal effort. This new lines of business have been created due to the ease of use when developing with Kendo UI Kendo UI has allowed to greatly speed up development. By utilizing the same framework across multiple projects, we can spend more time on requirements and requested features and less time on developing the same UI components repeatedly. In terms of numbers, we have been able to prototype new features in days rather than needing an entire sprint. This is very valuable to our customers who are often requesting new functionality while they are actively using our acquisition tools and speed is of importance.,As previously mentioned, Kendo UI has expanded from being strictly jQuery based to include an Angular, React or Vue based version. By embracing this, we now have more options for developing software and are better able to utilize developer skills. Beyond this, there are also .net versions and PHP/JSP versions as well. We have not had occasion to utilize any of these to date, but knowing they are available and we can take our Kendo UI skills to other platforms is nice to have in our back pocket.,The core mission of my team at Noblis is to provide software, tailored to need, to help document government acquisitions. Using Kendo UI to help build this has most certainly helped us develop new features for this product very quickly; sometimes in days vs weeks. An even greater benefit is that we have been able to pull pieces from one application to help build new ones. For example, we have built a grant submission and review application from core pieces of our acquisition application and only had to spend minimal time dealing with the things that Kendo UI provides for us; data grids, data entry components, data exports, etc. The entire application took less than 60 days to build, test and get to production. Kendo UI was a big part of that.Don't roll your own if you don't have to. (Pro Tip: You really don't have to.)We currently use Kendo UI for a few web apps both internally and within some commercial web applications. The customer facing products are used by numerous organizations and internally there are a set of Kendo UI components that are in use every day within a custom CRM solution that we have engineered. Kendo UI has a suite of widgets that cover many use cases that fill gaps in most web apps from rich data grids to simple things like event notifications.,Widgets have a simple API Documentation is very good and easy to follow They stay relevant with modern framework support for their components (e.g. Vue, React) in addition to Angular and jQuery They have a steady stream of webinars and social events that keep you up to date with their latest and greatest,Documentation, while good, is only available for the latest release If you lag behind the releases, it can be hard to be sure which API docs are still appropriate and relevant for your version Can be pricy as a library of components when other free, open-source alternatives exist (although Kendo Core is free),6,Kendo UI has saved us a ton of time in development. We were able to get certain things to market faster due to the fact that we didn't have to piece multiple libraries together like is so common with modern web development. Because of the price of the library, however, we have not been able to purchase upgrades every year.,We have been able to utilize the Mobile and Desktop frameworks for Kendo UI. Both have been very well liked and helpful in structuring our app and keeping things maintainable and easy to troubleshoot bugs. We have only scratched the surface of using Kendo UI, but we found it's jQuery flavor of widgets and apis quite flexible in how you chose to use them. Whether you wanted to use the MVVM patterns or not, the widgets work well. I imagine that the new React/Vue components offer even more flexibility in building a UI.,When I was tasked with building a custom CRM solution for our company, some elements were no brainers. The Kendo Grid, for example, is a solid piece of javascript. It binds to the Kendo DataSource effortlessly and allows filtering and sorting functionality out of the box that worked great for a way to display returned query data and other list data. Through the years they have extended support for this particular widget with excel export functionality that allowed me to expand upon our basic implementation without much effort on my end. That is something I won't take for granted coming from building certain solutions myself in the past. When you don't have to roll your own <insert any component>, it's a win. Incorporating Realtime-data driven technologies wasn't a pain either. Kendo UI plays nice with most modern technologies... Even without the new and shiny React/Vue components.,Sencha,MongoDB, MailChimp, MandrillKendo UI - Amazing Framework.We have some of its core components, mainly the calendar, integrated as the UI for our product, Jarvis CRM. We have used charts and the Gantt, as well as the editor to enhance our core solution that is delivered on the FileMaker® Platform.,The User Experience and the User Interface have been very thought out and are consistent across the product. Writing code to connect to our FileMaker Database has been very easy to integrate. Tech Support is great when presenting them a challenge you are facing. So far they have always had an answer.,I would like to see a way to build the calendar events screen in a simpler fashion. Smaller code set especially like charts to make it easier to work offline.,10,Time savings in having to develop similar interfaces and tools. Consistent and predictable code.,We deploy the calendar, charts, and editor on Mac and Windows. Works great across both platforms and looks the same.,The Calendar as a prebuilt application has saved us countless hours in integrating it into our application. We are easily able to distribute the necessary libraries in a drag and drop fashion.,,FileMaker Pro, Adobe Photoshop, Teamwork Projects, Adobe Acrobat DCOur experience with kendo UI so farWe are implementing Kendo UI for our main web products since we've been working with WebForm and implementing Kendo UI Ajax was the best option. Currently, it is being used only by the IT department. We needed to upgrade our applications in a way that would be cost-efficient and fast. Kendo UI help with that transition.,Fast and reliable. Kendo UI is a powerful tool that accelerates development time. It is widely tested and not difficult to implement on current projects. Theming is really well provided by Kendo UI without being obtrusive with your own styles. Telerik is focused on new businesses and they pull resources to develop new products and bring new features with Kendo UI.,We would like better Telerik reporting integration for Kendo UI, especially when client and back-end are in separate domains.,8,Development time has been severely reduced which is always a huge advantage for ROI.,We haven't experimented on all Kendo UI's characteristics yet, but we are planning to do so in the near future.,We can build very complex UI. We started to code our own framework, but ever since we acquired Kendo UI, we can save a lot of time and focus on what our application is supposed to do and not on how we have to build components. There are a lot of available components. You can integrate them into different programming languages and frameworks. They are well documented. The support is very efficient. You can customize the UI easily, based on pre-defined templates, to fit your overall UI guidelines. It decreases development time. Kendo UI has the best controls and we can depend on it to develop large business projects.,DevExpress Universal,Telerik, Visual Studio IDE, Azure SQL DatabaseA powerful web component libraryKendo UI is used by the R&D department to develop the platform for our ezasic project. We are trying to provide a UI for our website widgets and Kendo UI is used for the same.,Easy to use Very customizable Lots of different types of widgets Good documentation,Hard to implement custom features Some inconsistencies in the API,9,Enabled us to get our site up and running pretty quickly Gave us simple widgets which we could build our application on top of,We have taken some limited advantage of Kendo's platform flexibility. We primarily develop for the Chrome browser but do support Bootstrap underneath for multiple form-factors. Kendo UI worked well with Bootstrap and enabled us to do this well.,Yes, we were able to use pre-built widgets to our benefit. For example, we wanted to build a user generated table which had custom widgets. Normally this would have taken us a lot of time to build from scratch but we were able to leverage the Kendogrid for the same.
Windows, Linux, Mac, All
Kendo UI
107 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
TRScore

Kendo UI Reviews

Kendo UI
107 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 107 vetted Kendo UI reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 76)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 30, 2018

User Review: "Kendo UI Helps Us Work Easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Noblis has a team that supports government acquisitions and provides a comprehensive web-based collaboration and documentation tool tailored to support any acquisition. Kendo UI helped us build the software to allow collaboration, track workflow and securely manage massive amounts of documentation while also allowing us to quickly develop new 'on-demand' solutions that typically arise from each individual acquisition process. Without Kendo UI, we would have had to spend countless hours creating our own tools or trying to patch together disparate components into a cohesive framework.
  • Like many developers, we rely heavily on grids to display data. One of the real strengths of Kendo UI is the grid component. It provides immense flexibility and allows us to quickly and easily provide almost any kind of requested data view.
  • Recently, Kendo UI has expanded from being strictly jQuery based to include an Angular, React or Vue based version. By embracing this, we now have more options for developing software and are better able to utilize developer skills. Did I mention these versions are all free with the Kendo UI pro license? Definitely, a great thing not to have to hassle with licensing.
  • Kendo UI has over 70 components with a rich API set. The documentation for all of this, from API properties and methods to component overviews to 'how to use' examples is a truly great resource. In addition, there are now 'Getting Started' videos for all flavors of Kendo UI. All of this has made bringing new developers into the mix fairly easy as they have a huge ecosystem from which to learn Kendo UI.
  • Kendo UI is always moving forward and staying current with latest development trends. While that is beneficial, that can cause some issues when supporting customers (particularly government) that don't move their IT infrastructure along nearly as fast. A prime example is web font icons. Great and easy to use, but where Kendo UI utilizes web font icons as the sole means of displaying an icon, not all organizations (again, especially government) allow the use of these. There have been times where Kendo UI became unusable and we had to downgrade to a version a few years old. Makes continued payment for licenses sometimes feel wasted as we may not be able to always use the new releases
  • Kendo UI has a wonderful feedback system and they do indeed listen to the community. However, there do seem to be some instances where there is large support for a new feature/component and it never gets addressed. It is easy to understand that not all ideas are easy or even prudent to implement, but would be nice to see a better follow-up on ideas with a current status
  • Refreshing Kendo UI grids is simple, yet the standard API method causes the grid to return to the default state. We have many use cases where we would love to update the grid data but need current grid state (such as expanded detail rows, sorts, filters, etc) preserved after the grid is updated so that users do not have to perform grid actions again to return to the desired state.
Kendo UI is well suited for grid-based applications. Additionally, dashboards, scheduling, and content management are also excellent applications where Kendo UI shines. You can even do online spreadsheets via a component. Where we struggle with Kendo UI is scenarios where users update data that is displayed in the grid, but we cannot always keep the current grid state intact once the grid update has been performed.
Read Alan Hurt's full review
March 28, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Don't roll your own if you don't have to. (Pro Tip: You really don't have to.)"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Kendo UI for a few web apps both internally and within some commercial web applications. The customer facing products are used by numerous organizations and internally there are a set of Kendo UI components that are in use every day within a custom CRM solution that we have engineered. Kendo UI has a suite of widgets that cover many use cases that fill gaps in most web apps from rich data grids to simple things like event notifications.
  • Widgets have a simple API
  • Documentation is very good and easy to follow
  • They stay relevant with modern framework support for their components (e.g. Vue, React) in addition to Angular and jQuery
  • They have a steady stream of webinars and social events that keep you up to date with their latest and greatest
  • Documentation, while good, is only available for the latest release
  • If you lag behind the releases, it can be hard to be sure which API docs are still appropriate and relevant for your version
  • Can be pricy as a library of components when other free, open-source alternatives exist (although Kendo Core is free)
If you want a more comprehensive library of components and widgets, Kendo UI offers quite a competitive advantage. Their licensing is a little pricey, but you get a ton for the one-time price. What you get will allow you to build an entire front end to a web app without needing to look outside of the scope of Kendo, generally speaking. There are answers to even more utilitarian tasks like string manipulation and date/time manipulation methods that can be a substitute for moment js. Routing, color utilities, templating, local data stores, mobile phone ui, a plethora of widgets are all present.
Read Joshua Weaver's full review
June 05, 2018

User Review: "Kendo UI - Amazing Framework."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have some of its core components, mainly the calendar, integrated as the UI for our product, Jarvis CRM. We have used charts and the Gantt, as well as the editor to enhance our core solution that is delivered on the FileMaker® Platform.
  • The User Experience and the User Interface have been very thought out and are consistent across the product.
  • Writing code to connect to our FileMaker Database has been very easy to integrate.
  • Tech Support is great when presenting them a challenge you are facing. So far they have always had an answer.
  • I would like to see a way to build the calendar events screen in a simpler fashion.
  • Smaller code set especially like charts to make it easier to work offline.
Kendo UI was the best thing that ever happened to us. We found it while looking for a simple prebuilt calendar interface and it far exceeded our original requirements from day 1. Having a framework like Kendo makes it very easy to add additional components to our core product.
Read Joe Scarpetta's full review
May 31, 2018

User Review: "Our experience with kendo UI so far"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are implementing Kendo UI for our main web products since we've been working with WebForm and implementing Kendo UI Ajax was the best option. Currently, it is being used only by the IT department. We needed to upgrade our applications in a way that would be cost-efficient and fast. Kendo UI help with that transition.
  • Fast and reliable. Kendo UI is a powerful tool that accelerates development time. It is widely tested and not difficult to implement on current projects.
  • Theming is really well provided by Kendo UI without being obtrusive with your own styles.
  • Telerik is focused on new businesses and they pull resources to develop new products and bring new features with Kendo UI.
  • We would like better Telerik reporting integration for Kendo UI, especially when client and back-end are in separate domains.
There is always a scenario where the development needs to go faster. With Kendo UI you don't only go faster but also better. The price is a bit high so I would only recommend in cases that development time is more appreciated than budget.
Read juan cerrillo's full review
May 24, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "A powerful web component library"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is used by the R&D department to develop the platform for our ezasic project. We are trying to provide a UI for our website widgets and Kendo UI is used for the same.
  • Easy to use
  • Very customizable
  • Lots of different types of widgets
  • Good documentation
  • Hard to implement custom features
  • Some inconsistencies in the API
KendoUI is great if you want a fairly mature API set to generate web components on your website or webapp. It has a large set of built in widgets which are easy to use and fairly well documented.
Read Bhaskar Bharath's full review
May 21, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "KendoUI is the right fit for us for a great web UX"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI to deliver a rich web-based responsive custom software package for several clients. Have used Kendo with jQuery for a number of years and am pleased with the library, features, and compatibility the product offers. Telerik/Progress is constantly updating and expanding the product to address features and issues requested and found by the community. Training and support are excellent and the user community is very active and helpful.
  • Kendo is often being updated with new features which makes it easy to stay on top of emerging technology.
  • jQuery is fully supported in Kendo - it is easy to drop in Kendo widgets and access elements of the widgets through jQuery
  • Great Training, Support, and User Community involvement. Lots of great resources to use when learning and implementing the product.
  • In the past, we have had issues where updates to Kendo break existing code. This has become less common in the last few years with the power of Progress helping out Telerik.
  • Have had some occasions with high memory usage with Kendo, but Telerik is addressing these issues.
  • The product is not fully open-sourced. They have a base (core) version available on Github, but developers will need to purchase a full license for all features and enhanced support.
Any web-based responsive project would benefit from dropping in Kendo UI widgets for a quick, functional, and attractive enhancement.
Read Michael Yereniuk's full review
February 27, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Small Scale Custom Solutions, Expedited!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is utilized to add value to our customized solutions for our customers. We are a small consulting firm, and frequently deliver tailored solutions on top of on-premise business systems such as TMWSuite.

These solutions are dynamic, and frequently address a specific business need internally for their organization or externally for their own customers. Kendo UI allows us to quickly develop dynamic solutions that are very flexible and refined, and deliver them on schedule and with reasonable cost.
  • Kendo has a huge library of controls that provide incredible depth. There is almost always a control or setting for what you want to do.
  • Kendo Support is very rapid to respond when you do have a question, and there is a huge library of end user solutions to dig through for more insight.
  • Kendo integrates seamlessly with major development products and environments. We use Visual Studio and develop in ASP.NET MVC, implementing Kendo took only a few clicks to get started.
  • While Kendo supports MVC declarations, not all features are exposed through this approach. Sometimes Javascript is required to take full advantage of the controls.
Kendo is extremely well suited to rapid web development, and useful for its integration to existing IDEs such as Visual Studio. The depth of the library makes web development a breeze.
Read Scott Applefeld's full review
June 01, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Handy module"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI for our ASP.NET MVC project. Just one team is using it. Kendo is accelerating the dev process.
  • KendoGRid is awesome and accelerates the dev process
  • Kendo Treeview is so handy
  • The Kendo tab strip is helping us to split the views
  • More API to access the data source element
  • The new versions should not affect CSS of the legacy version
  • Kendo Editor can be improved
I think with MVC you can use it easily and with client frameworks, it's not that easy.
Read Alireza Omidian's full review
April 16, 2018

Review: "Buy Kendo UI, even if just for the grids!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used a component library to augment and speed up development of web applications. Biggest problem it solves is easily creating complex grids.
  • The Kendo UI Grids are very powerful, and really unmatched by other libraries.
  • Kendo UI comes with a nice Bootstrap theme that keeps the app looking consistent if you already use Bootstrap.
  • Kendo UI can be used with almost any platform you are already using like React, Angular, Vue, ASP.NET, etc.
  • Kendo UI for React is still not feature complete, but development is progressing very quickly with new features every month.
  • Kendo UI Grids with SignalR leaves a bit to be desired.
You want to build a huge CRUD app, definitely use Kendo UI!
Read Paito Anderson's full review
March 23, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Reliable controls across multiple technologies with frequent upgrades and good support."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is the main library we use to build our applications. It is a library of reliable controls across multiple technologies with frequent upgrades and good support.
  • Strong support
  • Relatively easy to understand how to implement
  • Customizable
  • Online documentation is sometimes hard to navigate.
Relatively a time saver still allowing customization options with high quality professional controls and support.
Read Mark Bulleit's full review
March 16, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Development made easy with Kendo"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use many features of Kendo UI such as grids, lists, tree and tab strips in our CMS. It makes development very easy and allows for many features out of the box such as filtering, paging and sorting.
  • The grids are done very well and allow for hiding columns, filtering and paging.
  • The lists are also done well with the ability to page.
  • The tree view also makes an easy organizing of data in a hierarchical way.
  • The grid and list view could be improved to allow for an easier way to add infinite scroll.
  • Support for touch could be improved for drag and scrolling at the same time. We found this to be clunky.
  • It would be nice to control the holdToDrag duration on Kendo Sortable.
It was well suited for scrolling through data.
Read David Capredoni's full review
May 30, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "The Scheduler is great!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is part of the front-end of our commercial software product. Scheduling is an important part of our business, and the Kendo UI Scheduler helps us do that.
  • Scheduler is intuitive and the view scales easily across devices.
  • The Listview and charts are easy to program and looks great across devices.
  • Too much of Kendo UI is dependent on the developer customizing CSS to alter look & feel. More properties of many Kendo objects should be added.
  • A multiselect control that worked well across all devices would be a huge improvement. In iOS for example, scrolling or filtering a multiselect often causes the list to hide partially or entirely.
If the developer has good CSS and jQuery skills, and patience, the product is great, but it often takes too much time to make the product look like a clean mobile app (especially).
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2018

"Accelerate Development with Kendo UI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI on our public facing websites for a smooth user experience. The grids work great for displaying customer orders and account information.
  • Easy front end implementation using the MVC controls in the views on the front end.
  • Simple to create MVC controllers on the backend which can easily provide a meaningful context of the incoming HTTP request.
  • Wide variety of tools available on the platform with good looking skins to choose from.
  • The .js files and .css files can be a little heavy on page load.
  • Customizing the CSS and icons on the skins can be changing.
I've used it successfully for implementations that are within a web page. Not sure if it is the best platform for building a Single Page App.
Read this authenticated review
June 04, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "A+"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI for our backend software UI. One team is currently using it and has been for many years.
  • Solid Grids
  • Flexible CSS
  • Customizable coding
  • None. We are satisfied.
  • Very good for fast search results in grids.
  • Navigates well.
Read this authenticated review
June 04, 2018

Review: "Kendo UI helps you build complex GUI quickly"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is used to design complex widgets that display data in a grid, chart formats. It provides a complex graphical user interface controls out of the box. For example, graphs, bar charts, grids and multi-level grid are the most common widgets used. It also provides some simpler cross-browser widgets out of the box so we can utilize theming.
  • The grid widgets are very fast.
  • The widgets are built well in the "angular way"
  • Their css is not responsive and you will have to do work to extend it.
It is great for complex GUI's such as those required by financial internal apps where grids, graphs and GUI's are required.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Focus on your business solution and let Kendo address interface complexity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo as components integrated in our software platform. We use it mainly for addressing front and UX issues
  • Reducing total development time and time to market
  • Provides UX components wich makes your development easier
  • Roadmap with Permanent Evolution
  • Issues with Responsiveness
  • Issues when you decide to upgrade the platform version
Well suited for business applications like sales or customer service.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2017

Review: "Kendo UI, Awesome Control Library for All Your UI Control Needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm a software engineer that develops projects for many users and organizations. The company I work for also currently utilizes Telerik controls and (Kendo UI) for projects we build for clients. We use Kendo UI to have a single, supported and functional UI framework that looks great and performs great. It's always a joy to use and cuts development times and efforts by large margins.
  • JQuery integration is top notch. The ability to quickly add ready to use controls to a web is extremely valuable when getting concepts up to show clients.
  • Angular 4 integration is awesome! We are moving full steam ahead with Angular 4 and finding ready to go controls that can be used in our Angular 4 apps had been problematic. many companies say they are coming, but Kendo UI is ready and working!
  • Lots of properties to allow greater functionality. Most controls have the ability to get them up and running using bare bone code, or you can really get into the weeds and expand it alot. I love this about Kendo UI
  • Pricing, it is a bit pricey compared to other frameworks. I'm not one to complain about prices, but if I had to find a con here, I would say I wish it was cheaper.
  • I wish there was easier ways I could css / theme the controls. I can theme them just fine, but wish it was a bit easier to do so
Its a great all-in-one control set that allows users to have a single control framework that functions and looks professional. Kendo UI easily works with a variety of project types such as jQuery projects, and angular. Getting a quick proof of concepts up and running has been a blessing due to Kendo UI's ability to integrate with using bare configuration and then Later allowing us to expand the controls functionality with minimal code changes.
Read Cedric Gaines's full review
October 26, 2017

"Senior Software Developer's Kendo UI Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo solved a significant problem for us. We use DotNetNuke as a CMS for our client's websites, but the focus is on data served outside of the normal data sources of DNN. Using the WebAPI engine of DNN, but the broad options of the Kendo UI controls, we have made numerous data displays and even entry portals that refresh in a smooth, timely fashion. Every site has evolved into a unique style so much that at first glance they don't even use the same controls, but they do. They work reliably across different platforms and browsers. The CSS is well structured and flexible. Support from Kendo is amazing. Few products have ever been as well documented as this. Using the Dojo environment, we tested every new implementation and can even throw a visual sample up in minutes for the sales process. A few lines of code and we can say, "Should it look like this?"
  • The DataGrid is where we live and breathe. It always looks like it fits within site skinning and device experience. Formatting and templating mean that the data looks as it is desired to look.
  • The DataSource binding to our WebAPI calls is a seamless pairing with the background engine. Nuget packages provided from Kendo complement that engine. Data is always clean and reliable.
  • The full range of controls supplied means that we're not adding multiple frameworks to each page just to have all the tools required. A few lines of references to minified files and we have access to every tool we might need.
  • The one thing that would make our tools function better for our clients is a row change event for auto update. We often cannot allow a partial row to write back inserts or updates. That's a difficult thing to ask for in the web environment, but it's something the users miss from the winforms days.
  • More options for and document support.
  • Page breaks on the grid for printing could be more smooth. That's an issue when exporting grid based data to pdf.
If you have data-centric web needs, this is the tool for you. Data creation and editing is strong, but not yet suited for transaction creation or full reporting output. Visualizations are robust and provide a variety of tools. Kendo UI and Kendo Mobile are capable of sharing the same data sources in the backend. Kendo is easily adapted to build from scratch and build from template or CMS provider websites. If you have access to JavaScript and CSS references then this tool can be slipped right in.

Text-based information might require some other editing tools at this point.
Read Kevin Bladsacker's full review
September 22, 2017

Kendo UI Review: "A great UI framework for .Net full stack developers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the UI library to develop our product's front end web application. That includes, dashboards, Grids, etc...
  • The UI grid is very sophisticated and gives you a lot of customization capability.
  • The UI library is very cutting edge as the features are often only found in leading UI libraries in the industry.
  • Allows you to work with a lot of other UI frameworks like bootstrap so that the entire application has a consistent look and feel.
  • Dropdowns within the grid are limited in functionality.
  • The filter for boolean columns in the grid could be a lot better. Currently only allow for true false. But that is not very user friendly. I would like to be able to show yes/no for example as an option.
Kendo UI is great of application that are B2B because they can provide advanced users powerful capabilities.. Not as great probably for B2C as they are not as slick looking.
Read Mick Hermiz's full review
September 19, 2017

User Review: "Kendo UI - an excellent product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a self employed developer I use Kendo UI to build web applications, particularly Single Page Apps. I needed the best Scheduler control I could find that worked with the Aurelia framework and Kendo UI was the best choice by far.
  • The controls are reliable and powerful. I am always able to achieve what I set out to achieve.
  • I needed to extensively customise the popup "Add Event" form for the scheduler control and found that it supported all the changes I needed.
  • I like that I can customise the appearance with themes .
  • I like having the choice of using same controls either in an MVC app (with MVC helpers) or in a SPA using Javascript.
  • An area that could use more documentation is the different ways of connection to the server. There are lots of options but finding documentation on this takes perseverance.
  • Probably the weakest area I found was patchy support for Typescript. Interfaces and classes for Typescript are available, and they do work nicely, however I have run into a number of methods that are available in Javascript but not in Typescript. So far it has been possible to solve this by editing the Typescript source file to add the missing methods or properties.
  • I use Kendo UI with Aurelia which means the use of the Aurelia-Kendo UI bridge which is a third party product. Ideally I'd like the Kendo UI team to support Aurelia directly.
I have no reservation about recommending Kendo UI. It is ideal for building great web user interfaces and comes with lots of useful controls, thorough documentation and excellent support. It is under active development and the team makes sure the controls stay relevant, e.g. by providing integration with Angular and other Frameworks. I have contacted their support team for a number of issues and found them to be helpful, professional and very knowledgeable. I have not used the mobile widgets so can't comment on them.

Having used Kendo UI for over a year for web development I have built up a confidence that I can do whatever needs to be done with these excellent controls.


Read Alastair McDonald's full review
August 31, 2017

Review: "Cost-Effective Approach to Using Kendo UI"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Kendo UI in the subscription product line of our flagship products. Kendo UI allows us to render a nicer UI at a low-cost level. The online tutorials and documentation are getting better as the product has matured, though it would be lice to see a library of step-by-step tutorials, as well as, additional how-to videos in the Pluralsight library.
  • The Kendo UI Components demo page gives a lot of great examples that make it easy to get started.
  • Once you FIND the Getting Started page on the web getting up to speed becomes easier.
  • For developers, as long as you have admin rights to your machine, the ability to update Kendo UI is EXTREMELY easy. Its built into the installation and you get notified when updates are available.
  • Progress needs to create an educational dashboard for developers. They need a single page where developers can see a list of step-by-step tutorials, videos, links to documentation and demos for each of their products.
  • While Kendo UI is an awesome product, headaches start rolling in when the business users decide to change colors and tweak the CSS. Kendo is very-cost-effective until you need to change it to fit the look of your UI.
  • The wide array of products in the Progress line can be overwhelming and its not always easy to figure out which UI product you really should use.
I'd definitely recommend the Kendo UI to a colleague as long as they can get their business owners to agree to use the components without trying to tweak the UI. Pick a style and move on is the key to success with the Kendo UI.
Read Mark Orlando's full review
August 31, 2017

Kendo UI Review: "Ultimate configurability vs standard controls."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI in a variety of our products. We had been using ASP.NET for our client side development and it was just too limited and slow to develop. We started to look for something that would be good for productivity and was going to progress. We have replaced a lot of our old ASP.NET code with Kendo and have developed a lot of new products using only Kendo UI for the front end. I have found support spotty at times, but overall, I am quite pleased with the product.
  • I really like the editor control. It just makes having WYSWYG input easy to implement.
  • At first, the Kendo Grid was a bit light on features, but it has grown over the years and is quite full featured.
  • The Window control is really quick to implement and is quite flexible as well.
  • We also found the carts control nicely flexible. Our software is highly configurable and we put the kendo charts into a product that can show any kind of chart and the Kendo chart control was a perfect fit.
  • I have found support to be lacking at times. Sometimes my questions just haven't been answered.
  • I do find the datasource a bit challenging to use. It works well if you don't try anything wierd, but after that I feel like I am on my own.
Kendo UI is great if you need flexible components that have a standard look and feel. If you are looking for something with a more distinct way of interacting with the user, then you should probably roll your own.
Read Clay Horste's full review
November 20, 2017

Review: "Kendo UI saves development time while delivering robust controls."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo is used as a rapid development tool to deliver a useful and robust UI to administrative staff as well as public website users. It has saved countless development hours while bringing a rich set of features forward we never would have coded manually.
  • Kendo allows creation of robust UI controls very quickly.
  • Kendo's foundation is based on state-of-the-art technology and methodology.
  • Nothing really, except maybe a bit less expensive.
Any web developer that needs to quickly and easily expose dynamic data grids should consider this tool. That's just one of the most common - there are tools for rapid deployment of spreadsheets, graphs, upload functions, etc.
Read Jim Ingwersen's full review
November 17, 2017

Kendo UI Review: "Great product!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is being used in our project to get user input /comments in a UI grid corresponding to other data. The user is allowed to enter his contribution with formatting using Kendo UI and we use fire saving to save user input at regular interval so that he can return to writing his comments.
  • Integrates well with other components
  • Provides tools for formatting text in the editor
  • Great user community
  • Could provide better/more configurable options
  • Would like to give the option to open auto-detected links in new tab when saved (set target to blank)
  • Would be good if some issues with copy/paste could be addressed (like sometimes new line spaces are removed)
We find it well suited to our business needs where we capture user comments in the form of rich text.
Read Shefali Shewaramani's full review
November 10, 2017

Review: "How Kendo UI helped us to improve our software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Kendo UI in the development of some of our products and it helped us a lot with user experience, multi browser development support, and multi-device development.
  • It is very easy to use, and understand, and they have good documentation to support development.
  • The support services are really good.
  • Don't have any cons right now for us.
Kendo UI is well-suited for hybrid scenario development, where you have the need to develop for the web and to have a good user experience on a mobile device as well.
Read Rodrigo Werlang's full review

About Kendo UI

Kendo UI is a complete JavaScript UI toolkit that allows users to quickly build eye-catching, high-quality, high-performance responsive web-based apps integrated into their framework of choice (jQuery, Angular, React, or Vue). The vendor’s value proposition is that Kendo UI offers a large library of popular and configurable components ranging from sophisticated grids and charts to basic buttons, so users don’t have to waste development time building their UI. The vendor also says the large library of customizable themes means users can easily deploy a consistent look and feel across the entire user experience.
Categories:  App Development

Kendo UI Features

Has feature70+ UI Components available
Has featureBlazingly fast Grid
Has featureBuilt on JavaScript
Has featureIntegrates with Angular
Has featureExport Excel, PDF and PNG
Has featureWorks with all browsers
Has featureDozens of ready-to-use themes
Has featureHands-on Training Courses

Kendo UI Screenshots

Kendo UI Integrations

Kendo UI Competitors

Component One, DevExpress, Syncfusion

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Kendo UI Professional$999per developer, royalty-free
Kendo UI Complete$1,149per developer, royalty-free
DevCraft Complete$1,499per developer, royalty-free
DevCraft Ultimate$2,199per developer, royalty-free

Kendo UI Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Kendo UI Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, All
Mobile Application:Kendo UI is a development framework for building mobile and web applications. Can be used on any operating system.
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: All Languages