TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/R7/rr/LNDFLO4LP6O9.JPEGThe most trusted applications development add-on suite!Kendo UI is the choice UI suite for both the IT department as well as other units that develop line of business applications for accounting, hazardous waste management, compliance training, and research compliance. We are primarily using the ASP .NET MVC suite of wrappers which provide highly functional implementations for our variety of user interfaces. Among those, we have used the Kendo Grid, Kendo Scheduler, Kendo Dropdown list the most, and we are writing some custom JavaScript on top to assist with functionality that might not be available right out of the box.,Kendo Grid for presenting a timeline of research grants as they are being approved. Our users love the ability to export the data to various mime formats. Kendo Scheduler for presenting the upcoming calendar events in the available conference rooms in a building. This is used together with a 3rd party vendor API for appointment booking. Kendo Treeview is used to present a hierarchy of topics that our users can navigate through easily.,Still some accessibility issues in some of the controls, we have to occasionally modify the markup to get past our accessibility requirements.,10,One of our applications is providing complementary functionality to a major ERP system that is used system wide. One of the interfaces saves our fiscal officers between all the units several hundreds of hours each month.,DevExpress Universal and ComponentOne Studio,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Adobe Illustrator CC, Microsoft SQL ServerKendo UI may be the most complete set of UI components on the planet!The IT Development team uses Kendo UI to develop in house Line of Business web applications. These applications collect and report on transportation accidents + incidents across Canada. Kendo UI enables us to provide a powerful and consistent UI across all applications for the organization. Components such as the Grid and the Combobox are used and customized extensively. Users enjoy a consistent experience across all applications.,The grid control provides a powerful way to present tabular data. This includes sorting, grouping, customizing the grid content/headers, and export to Excel spreadsheet The combobox is powerful and easy to customize based on need (server filtering, in-line images, predictive text) The dataviz components make it ridiculously easy to visualise data. Using a JSON source, it will produce beautiful graphs and charts.,The AngularJS controls lack some features Certain UI components have not been updated in a while, or are more difficult to customize. The CSS themes are somewhat lacking.,9,Reduce development time dramatically. Provide consistent UI's across all applications. Users have become familiar with the functionality.,Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft SQL ServerKendo UI is a great product for to save developer timeWe use Kendo UI components in our business process management platform to free up developer time and allow them to focus on other development areas. We decided to use Kendo because of the strong support and the ability to customize to our needs. We initially were just looking for a grid but over time have incorporated a number of Kendo UI components into our application.,Customizable Support Range of offerings,Clarify of offerings,8,We have freed up considerable development time We use the Kendo UI examples as ideas for modern UI approaches.,Telerik,Salesforce Lightning, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Microsoft Office 365Kendo UI Helps Us Work EasierNoblis has a team that supports government acquisitions and provides a comprehensive web-based collaboration and documentation tool tailored to support any acquisition. Kendo UI helped us build the software to allow collaboration, track workflow and securely manage massive amounts of documentation while also allowing us to quickly develop new 'on-demand' solutions that typically arise from each individual acquisition process. Without Kendo UI, we would have had to spend countless hours creating our own tools or trying to patch together disparate components into a cohesive framework.,Like many developers, we rely heavily on grids to display data. One of the real strengths of Kendo UI is the grid component. It provides immense flexibility and allows us to quickly and easily provide almost any kind of requested data view. Recently, Kendo UI has expanded from being strictly jQuery based to include an Angular, React or Vue based version. By embracing this, we now have more options for developing software and are better able to utilize developer skills. Did I mention these versions are all free with the Kendo UI pro license? Definitely, a great thing not to have to hassle with licensing. Kendo UI has over 70 components with a rich API set. The documentation for all of this, from API properties and methods to component overviews to 'how to use' examples is a truly great resource. In addition, there are now 'Getting Started' videos for all flavors of Kendo UI. All of this has made bringing new developers into the mix fairly easy as they have a huge ecosystem from which to learn Kendo UI.,Kendo UI is always moving forward and staying current with latest development trends. While that is beneficial, that can cause some issues when supporting customers (particularly government) that don't move their IT infrastructure along nearly as fast. A prime example is web font icons. Great and easy to use, but where Kendo UI utilizes web font icons as the sole means of displaying an icon, not all organizations (again, especially government) allow the use of these. There have been times where Kendo UI became unusable and we had to downgrade to a version a few years old. Makes continued payment for licenses sometimes feel wasted as we may not be able to always use the new releases Kendo UI has a wonderful feedback system and they do indeed listen to the community. However, there do seem to be some instances where there is large support for a new feature/component and it never gets addressed. It is easy to understand that not all ideas are easy or even prudent to implement, but would be nice to see a better follow-up on ideas with a current status Refreshing Kendo UI grids is simple, yet the standard API method causes the grid to return to the default state. We have many use cases where we would love to update the grid data but need current grid state (such as expanded detail rows, sorts, filters, etc) preserved after the grid is updated so that users do not have to perform grid actions again to return to the desired state.,10,The core product we use to support government acquisitions is built with Kendo UI and this has been the primary reason we have been able to create several 'spin-off' projects, such as a grant management application and technical document libraries, with minimal effort. This new lines of business have been created due to the ease of use when developing with Kendo UI Kendo UI has allowed to greatly speed up development. By utilizing the same framework across multiple projects, we can spend more time on requirements and requested features and less time on developing the same UI components repeatedly. In terms of numbers, we have been able to prototype new features in days rather than needing an entire sprint. This is very valuable to our customers who are often requesting new functionality while they are actively using our acquisition tools and speed is of importance.,As previously mentioned, Kendo UI has expanded from being strictly jQuery based to include an Angular, React or Vue based version. By embracing this, we now have more options for developing software and are better able to utilize developer skills. Beyond this, there are also .net versions and PHP/JSP versions as well. We have not had occasion to utilize any of these to date, but knowing they are available and we can take our Kendo UI skills to other platforms is nice to have in our back pocket.,The core mission of my team at Noblis is to provide software, tailored to need, to help document government acquisitions. Using Kendo UI to help build this has most certainly helped us develop new features for this product very quickly; sometimes in days vs weeks. An even greater benefit is that we have been able to pull pieces from one application to help build new ones. For example, we have built a grant submission and review application from core pieces of our acquisition application and only had to spend minimal time dealing with the things that Kendo UI provides for us; data grids, data entry components, data exports, etc. The entire application took less than 60 days to build, test and get to production. Kendo UI was a big part of that.Kendo UI provides excellent user experienceOur organization uses Kendo UI for a wide variety of applications. My team uses it for a cloud based application which captures country-specific requirements. Kendo UI has allowed us to provide our users with a simple and clean user interface, which makes training users much easier, and has provided our analysts with effective tools to analyze the data we receive. The sorting and filtering that Kendo UI provides are excellent.,Filtering and sorting data. Providing messages to the user.,10,We have been able to gather more accurate and actionable requirements, reducing the number of gaps and back and forth with the user.,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, MS SharePoint
Windows, Linux, Mac, All
Kendo UI
142 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
TRScore

Kendo UI Reviews

Kendo UI
142 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 142 vetted Kendo UI reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 101)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sergiu Pascutiu profile photo
November 12, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "The most trusted applications development add-on suite!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is the choice UI suite for both the IT department as well as other units that develop line of business applications for accounting, hazardous waste management, compliance training, and research compliance. We are primarily using the ASP .NET MVC suite of wrappers which provide highly functional implementations for our variety of user interfaces. Among those, we have used the Kendo Grid, Kendo Scheduler, Kendo Dropdown list the most, and we are writing some custom JavaScript on top to assist with functionality that might not be available right out of the box.
  • Kendo Grid for presenting a timeline of research grants as they are being approved. Our users love the ability to export the data to various mime formats.
  • Kendo Scheduler for presenting the upcoming calendar events in the available conference rooms in a building. This is used together with a 3rd party vendor API for appointment booking.
  • Kendo Treeview is used to present a hierarchy of topics that our users can navigate through easily.
  • Still some accessibility issues in some of the controls, we have to occasionally modify the markup to get past our accessibility requirements.
In any complex interface working with tabular data, where you need to have a variety of ways to edit/manage the data at the record level. The suite has a very mature documentation and support system, implementation is highly standardized.
Read Sergiu Pascutiu's full review
Marc Sirois profile photo
November 06, 2018

Review: "Kendo UI may be the most complete set of UI components on the planet!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT Development team uses Kendo UI to develop in house Line of Business web applications. These applications collect and report on transportation accidents + incidents across Canada. Kendo UI enables us to provide a powerful and consistent UI across all applications for the organization. Components such as the Grid and the Combobox are used and customized extensively. Users enjoy a consistent experience across all applications.
  • The grid control provides a powerful way to present tabular data. This includes sorting, grouping, customizing the grid content/headers, and export to Excel spreadsheet
  • The combobox is powerful and easy to customize based on need (server filtering, in-line images, predictive text)
  • The dataviz components make it ridiculously easy to visualise data. Using a JSON source, it will produce beautiful graphs and charts.
  • The AngularJS controls lack some features
  • Certain UI components have not been updated in a while, or are more difficult to customize.
  • The CSS themes are somewhat lacking.
It's well suited for smaller development teams looking to deliver on a tight schedule.
As for any toolkit, it's important to establish development standards that everyone adheres to.
Less appropriate for teams that need to control every detail of the UI. The CSS is not super intuitive to tweak, and sometimes near impossible. If you require 100% control of the look and feel, this product may not be right for you.
Read Marc Sirois's full review
Steve Barrett profile photo
September 27, 2018

Review: "Kendo UI is a great product for to save developer time"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI components in our business process management platform to free up developer time and allow them to focus on other development areas. We decided to use Kendo because of the strong support and the ability to customize to our needs. We initially were just looking for a grid but over time have incorporated a number of Kendo UI components into our application.
  • Customizable
  • Support
  • Range of offerings
  • Clarify of offerings
It's very well suited for situations where you want to focus your development efforts on business functionality rather than building low level controls.
Read Steve Barrett's full review
Alan Hurt profile photo
May 30, 2018

User Review: "Kendo UI Helps Us Work Easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Noblis has a team that supports government acquisitions and provides a comprehensive web-based collaboration and documentation tool tailored to support any acquisition. Kendo UI helped us build the software to allow collaboration, track workflow and securely manage massive amounts of documentation while also allowing us to quickly develop new 'on-demand' solutions that typically arise from each individual acquisition process. Without Kendo UI, we would have had to spend countless hours creating our own tools or trying to patch together disparate components into a cohesive framework.
  • Like many developers, we rely heavily on grids to display data. One of the real strengths of Kendo UI is the grid component. It provides immense flexibility and allows us to quickly and easily provide almost any kind of requested data view.
  • Recently, Kendo UI has expanded from being strictly jQuery based to include an Angular, React or Vue based version. By embracing this, we now have more options for developing software and are better able to utilize developer skills. Did I mention these versions are all free with the Kendo UI pro license? Definitely, a great thing not to have to hassle with licensing.
  • Kendo UI has over 70 components with a rich API set. The documentation for all of this, from API properties and methods to component overviews to 'how to use' examples is a truly great resource. In addition, there are now 'Getting Started' videos for all flavors of Kendo UI. All of this has made bringing new developers into the mix fairly easy as they have a huge ecosystem from which to learn Kendo UI.
  • Kendo UI is always moving forward and staying current with latest development trends. While that is beneficial, that can cause some issues when supporting customers (particularly government) that don't move their IT infrastructure along nearly as fast. A prime example is web font icons. Great and easy to use, but where Kendo UI utilizes web font icons as the sole means of displaying an icon, not all organizations (again, especially government) allow the use of these. There have been times where Kendo UI became unusable and we had to downgrade to a version a few years old. Makes continued payment for licenses sometimes feel wasted as we may not be able to always use the new releases
  • Kendo UI has a wonderful feedback system and they do indeed listen to the community. However, there do seem to be some instances where there is large support for a new feature/component and it never gets addressed. It is easy to understand that not all ideas are easy or even prudent to implement, but would be nice to see a better follow-up on ideas with a current status
  • Refreshing Kendo UI grids is simple, yet the standard API method causes the grid to return to the default state. We have many use cases where we would love to update the grid data but need current grid state (such as expanded detail rows, sorts, filters, etc) preserved after the grid is updated so that users do not have to perform grid actions again to return to the desired state.
Kendo UI is well suited for grid-based applications. Additionally, dashboards, scheduling, and content management are also excellent applications where Kendo UI shines. You can even do online spreadsheets via a component. Where we struggle with Kendo UI is scenarios where users update data that is displayed in the grid, but we cannot always keep the current grid state intact once the grid update has been performed.
Read Alan Hurt's full review
Suzanne Luciano profile photo
September 18, 2018

Review: "Kendo UI provides excellent user experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Kendo UI for a wide variety of applications. My team uses it for a cloud based application which captures country-specific requirements. Kendo UI has allowed us to provide our users with a simple and clean user interface, which makes training users much easier, and has provided our analysts with effective tools to analyze the data we receive. The sorting and filtering that Kendo UI provides are excellent.
  • Filtering and sorting data.
  • Providing messages to the user.
Kendo UI is great for applications that require a form/interface that has a lot of data requirements. With Kendo UI it won't look cluttered which can overwhelm the individual entering the data.
Read Suzanne Luciano's full review
Rony Vargas M. profile photo
September 06, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "100% Javascript Experience and easy to Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Kendo UI to develop an internal solution and an external [option] for our customer solution. We are integrating Kendo UI for our business software solution in RHH, retail business etc. All our solutions are using the Progress UI Tool Set for web applications and smart device apps. Kendo UI has a platform of different flavors of JavaScript: jQuery, react, NativeScript, Angular and Xamarin too.
  • With Kendo UI it's easy to build an Angular solution.
  • Kendo UI is easy to install.
  • With Kendo UI it's fast to build simple Android apps.
  • Kendo UI is easy to integrate with Microsoft IDE and others.
  • The Progress Tool Set easily integrates with Kendo UI.
  • Kendo UI can improve the Chart Controls with a more modern style like 3D or 2D models.
  • Kendo UI can improve integrating the Camera Controls Android an iOS, for example, to scan documents.
  • Kendo UI can improve working collaboratively with a design prototype together with stakeholders.
Kendo UI is well suited:
  • When you need fast results
  • When you need to minimize a CL (Curve of Learning)
  • When you need answers across a project if you have some problems or mistakes

Kendo UI is also well suited for companies that need to improve digital transformation with less cost and less time.
Read Rony Vargas M.'s full review
Diego Fonseca Marín profile photo
September 05, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Good components and easy implementation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI in our research and development department for new frontend solutions developed in Angular. There are many components that we use, for example, the grid, the calendar, the inputs, and charts. Our solutions are customer oriented and address analytical and transactional needs; our main business sector is banking, credit cards, and smart customer service assistance.
  • The technical customer service is really good; they attend to the questions in a short time.
  • The product updates are often and valuable.
  • The technical documentation and examples.
  • The price scheme results expensive for a growing company.
For us, Kendo UI is well suited for web applications like MVC transactional and non-transactional projects, and for new frontend consoles developed in Angular because there are many components that we can use to improve the user experience. But for mobile apps, we feel that the integration is a little hard and not as natural as we wish.
Read Diego Fonseca Marín's full review
Brett Ward profile photo
September 05, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Do you want work smarter and faster? Use Kendo."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Speed of development is number one. Out of the box features and ease of implementation allow me to suggest functionality to clients that otherwise would not approve because of the time and money it would take to do a custom implementation. Most fancy/slick UI interactions or advanced data views on a grid, for example, Kendo offers straight out of the box.
  • Datagrids - viewing tabular data in pretty much anyway is easy.
  • Although sometimes hard to find, the documentation and support is key and very detailed.
  • Since they make a ton of different versions of the same control, a combobox for example. Made for a myriad of different different tech stacks/libraries, finding the documentation for the one you are using can be annoying.
Kendo is great for internal corporate applications that deal with lots of data. I probably wouldn't use it on a public facing application where data is not a huge part of the website.
Read Brett Ward's full review
Kyle Wormsbacher profile photo
September 05, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Amazing products and support."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used the Kendo UI framework in a number of applications and internal products. We have two back-end developers that use the product on a regular basis. Kendo has allowed up to add a bunch of really cool features without needing a bunch of different libraries.
  • Their documentations is one of if not the best in the industry.
  • They are always adding and improving features.
  • Customer support and community support is outstanding.
  • It's hard to find something that could improve on.
We have used Kendo in web-based applications as well as mobile applications... it's great anywhere you want to quickly add a feature-rich user experience without a ton of extra code.
Read Kyle Wormsbacher's full review
Mike Collison profile photo
September 05, 2018

User Review: "Kendo UI - A fantastic Solution!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI in nearly all development in IT and the applications it's used in are used throughout the company. We use it for our time and attendance system, as a web front end for our vehicle tracking system, in our quality control application, and many more.
  • Aids in rapid development.
  • Produce amazing looking UIs that speed user workflow.
  • Continue to update the product with new features.
  • Listen to their user community about changes and additions.
  • I can honestly say that anything that I would put here would be nit-picking so I'm going to say I can't' think of any.
It's an amazing set of tools that create a beautiful and functional UI for our users as well as providing a solid platform for our developers to accomplish what's required.
Read Mike Collison's full review
Kyle Untersee profile photo
September 05, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Handles large data sets with ease"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we have implemented KendoUI in a single department on a single product. The product is a web application with internal and external users. It has helped us solve the issue we had with providing an easy way for the end user to view, sort, filter large amounts of data in a single view.
  • Flexibility to customize components to meet business requirements
  • The support for the product is very robust - the documentation, coding examples and tech support department
  • Very broad component tool set
  • Backwards compatibility issues have been a problem in the past. This seems to be getting better with the more recent versions.
Building solutions to help display, organize, sort and filter large amounts of data.
Read Kyle Untersee's full review
Patrick Morris profile photo
September 05, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Great set of tools to quick develop useful applications."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use a variety of Telerik/Progress tools for our application development. This includes WPF and Kendo (jQuery/Angular).

I have found the WPF tools to be quite helpful and a massive time saver. The Angular tools seem to be very immature in comparison to the jQuery ones however what it there is very helpful.
  • Their Angular JS integration makes using their tools on the web quite easy.
  • Their comprehensive WPF tools and similar APIs for all components makes learning the tools quite easy.
  • Their support for many platforms and environments means the tools can be used in almost every situation.
  • It is sometimes difficult to find meaningful documentation for certain components. This means if you want to do something that they don't have a prebuilt example for then it make be difficult to figure out how.
  • Unless you file a support request they are sometimes slow to respond in the forums. Some response is frankly better than no response.
  • Sometimes the approved way of doing things is in contradiction to the approved way of the framework itself. For instance originally their WPF tools required non-standard ways to get them working correctly.
Overall Kendo/Progress tools are a definite time saver and give us a leg up on our application development. I have used them for many years and will continue to do so.

Other tools have similar features, in some cases, however, I believe Telerik is the best choice in terms of cost and overall usability.
Read Patrick Morris's full review
Ruben Olvera profile photo
November 14, 2018

Review: "It's easy to develop web applications with Kendo UI"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is being used to update an existing application and because of the ease of implementation it has, we are thinking about updating all our applications (to improve the view of the queries and reports of our financial systems.)
  • We can now include graphics in our summaries
  • Help in exporting information to PDFs and spreadsheets
  • Improves the visuals of reports so that we can include more graphic elements
  • At the moment I have no comments about it
It is excellent for web applications
Read Ruben Olvera's full review
Gary Davis profile photo
November 01, 2018

"Gary's Kendo UI Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Kendo UI controls on our ecommerce websites. For example, the checkout pages use the grid for showing and editing the user's cart. Other controls we use include increasing or decreasing a cart item's quantity using the numeric textbox control. Uploading files with the upload control allows drag and drop functionality. Controls are relatively easy to use, though they can get complex for some features of the grid such as master/detail, templates, etc.
  • The grid control previously mentioned
  • The editor control to add a content manager feature
  • The TreeView control is useful for a familiar UX
  • Documentation is good but more would be better
  • Examples of implementation are helpful - include more diverse examples for an array of scenarios. As mentioned, I used a grid for my site's shopping cart. A full-featured checkout experience using the grid and other controls would have helped. For example, changing the quantity of a line-item could automatically adjust the extended price, subtotals tax, totals, etc.
  • Additional descriptions of how controls could better be accessible (Aria, form labels, etc.)
The Kendo suite is full-featured, documented, and a useful forum and sample code are all available.
Read Gary Davis's full review
Joe Scarpetta profile photo
June 05, 2018

User Review: "Kendo UI - Amazing Framework."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have some of its core components, mainly the calendar, integrated as the UI for our product, Jarvis CRM. We have used charts and the Gantt, as well as the editor to enhance our core solution that is delivered on the FileMaker® Platform.
  • The User Experience and the User Interface have been very thought out and are consistent across the product.
  • Writing code to connect to our FileMaker Database has been very easy to integrate.
  • Tech Support is great when presenting them a challenge you are facing. So far they have always had an answer.
  • I would like to see a way to build the calendar events screen in a simpler fashion.
  • Smaller code set especially like charts to make it easier to work offline.
Kendo UI was the best thing that ever happened to us. We found it while looking for a simple prebuilt calendar interface and it far exceeded our original requirements from day 1. Having a framework like Kendo makes it very easy to add additional components to our core product.
Read Joe Scarpetta's full review
juan cerrillo profile photo
May 31, 2018

User Review: "Our experience with kendo UI so far"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are implementing Kendo UI for our main web products since we've been working with WebForm and implementing Kendo UI Ajax was the best option. Currently, it is being used only by the IT department. We needed to upgrade our applications in a way that would be cost-efficient and fast. Kendo UI help with that transition.
  • Fast and reliable. Kendo UI is a powerful tool that accelerates development time. It is widely tested and not difficult to implement on current projects.
  • Theming is really well provided by Kendo UI without being obtrusive with your own styles.
  • Telerik is focused on new businesses and they pull resources to develop new products and bring new features with Kendo UI.
  • We would like better Telerik reporting integration for Kendo UI, especially when client and back-end are in separate domains.
There is always a scenario where the development needs to go faster. With Kendo UI you don't only go faster but also better. The price is a bit high so I would only recommend in cases that development time is more appreciated than budget.
Read juan cerrillo's full review
Visala Nekkanti profile photo
September 18, 2018

User Review: "Telerik Upgradation and Kendo UI"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
- Using Telerik controls for ASP.Net application
- Using Kendo controls for MVC application
- Upgraded the Telerik application with latest version
- Most of the Telerik controls are used throughout the application

This is used by our department.
  • Grid Filters.
  • Combobox out of box features.
  • One single DLL for all controls with latest version.
  • Kendo Treeview.
  • Upgrading to latest version is painful.
  • When releasing new versions, there should be backward compatibility.
Export to Excel, Grid Filters, and combobox features.
Read Visala Nekkanti's full review
Bhaskar Bharath profile photo
May 24, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "A powerful web component library"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kendo UI is used by the R&D department to develop the platform for our ezasic project. We are trying to provide a UI for our website widgets and Kendo UI is used for the same.
  • Easy to use
  • Very customizable
  • Lots of different types of widgets
  • Good documentation
  • Hard to implement custom features
  • Some inconsistencies in the API
KendoUI is great if you want a fairly mature API set to generate web components on your website or webapp. It has a large set of built in widgets which are easy to use and fairly well documented.
Read Bhaskar Bharath's full review
Michael Yereniuk profile photo
May 21, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "KendoUI is the right fit for us for a great web UX"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI to deliver a rich web-based responsive custom software package for several clients. Have used Kendo with jQuery for a number of years and am pleased with the library, features, and compatibility the product offers. Telerik/Progress is constantly updating and expanding the product to address features and issues requested and found by the community. Training and support are excellent and the user community is very active and helpful.
  • Kendo is often being updated with new features which makes it easy to stay on top of emerging technology.
  • jQuery is fully supported in Kendo - it is easy to drop in Kendo widgets and access elements of the widgets through jQuery
  • Great Training, Support, and User Community involvement. Lots of great resources to use when learning and implementing the product.
  • In the past, we have had issues where updates to Kendo break existing code. This has become less common in the last few years with the power of Progress helping out Telerik.
  • Have had some occasions with high memory usage with Kendo, but Telerik is addressing these issues.
  • The product is not fully open-sourced. They have a base (core) version available on Github, but developers will need to purchase a full license for all features and enhanced support.
Any web-based responsive project would benefit from dropping in Kendo UI widgets for a quick, functional, and attractive enhancement.
Read Michael Yereniuk's full review
Héctor Miguel Castro Cervantes profile photo
September 06, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Best cost/benefit balance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Kendo UI in order to improve our user experience and our development effort. Kendo UI is one of our tools that makes a great improvement in our processes.
  • Performance is great and the components are lightweight.
  • The design is customizable with CSS is as easy as applying templates.
  • Price is so good.
  • Documentation should include a link for common user's requirements, not only their examples.
Kendo UI is awesome for responsive web applications; we can use this in order to reduce programming effort and focus on functional requirements.
Read Héctor Miguel Castro Cervantes's full review
Oberdan Nunes profile photo
September 05, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Best components for developing lightweight, responsive and beautiful web applications"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally use Kendo UI as an important tool to help in productivity and quality of web applications.

  • Helps with building lightweight web applications
  • Helps with building web applications faster
  • Helps with creating beautiful and responsive applications
  • I don't have any issues or things they need to improve to list right now
Fantastic to create responsive, lightweight web applications, using inteligent and well made components.
Read Oberdan Nunes's full review
Alireza Omidian profile photo
June 01, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Handy module"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI for our ASP.NET MVC project. Just one team is using it. Kendo is accelerating the dev process.
  • KendoGRid is awesome and accelerates the dev process
  • Kendo Treeview is so handy
  • The Kendo tab strip is helping us to split the views
  • More API to access the data source element
  • The new versions should not affect CSS of the legacy version
  • Kendo Editor can be improved
I think with MVC you can use it easily and with client frameworks, it's not that easy.
Read Alireza Omidian's full review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Review: "Kendo UI for Fast Front End Applications"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT department develops multiple websites for departments across the firm, the majority of which utilize Kendo UI. The ease to create filterable, searchable, exportable, and orderable tables using the MVVM method quickly has been invaluable when presenting data to the front end user. We also utilize the form elements for a unified looking UI, however, find the autocomplete feature to search for users, and date pickers for selecting date ranges particularly useful to make complex inputs simple and quick to implement.
  • Tables
  • Autocomplete
  • Documentation
  • Charts/Graphs
  • Ease and speed of implementation
  • Testing tools
  • Date handling with timezones
  • Extremely well suited for building UIs quickly, uniformly, and with complex functionality.
  • The tool is probably major overkill for simple applications without the need for complex UI elements, that require a custom style.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Review: "Telerik's Kendo UI is a great tool for the Dev team!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization is using Kendo UI. We have used the framework in all of our web-based applications. The developers find the framework easy to use, looks nice and has been a solid piece of coding standard in our environment. We also use the MVVM framework which has greatly improved the speed of development and quality of work and makes the javascript coding much more standard and easy to understand.

  • Provides a standard way of working with user controls
  • Provides a standard way of working with data models in the View Model
  • Provides a consistent look and feel to all of our applications
  • Perhaps Kendo UI could make their controls looks more crisp like a WPF application, but for a web app it's great!
Kendo UI is great for any web-based application and even for mobile sites. We've been using Kendo UI for MVC applications as well as mobile websites for a number of years and it's been a staple in our environment. Starting an app is easy with their themes and we've created standard common libraries for working with Kendo components.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 05, 2018

Kendo UI Review: "Saves time, money and makes me look good."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kendo UI across a broad range of product teams within the Americas business.

It's niche in our development stack is related to reusable components that dev teams can leverage to reduce development time and allow them to focus more time on business outcomes. We spend less time reinventing the wheel on each project with a standardized component library.
  • Consistent look, feel and quality across development UI components
  • A huge amount of components that can be leveraged in different ways for building applications
  • Continuous enhancement and product roadmap
  • Full customization of UI is sometimes difficult
  • Our design team occasionally resists "cookie cutter" components and wants to build something more unique and custom
  • Need more rapid and expansive SPA options
If you are building line of business applications for internal use, this is a no brainer as it allows a lot of time saving and cost reduction in the long run.

If your end use cases/scenarios require ultimate flexibility and custom ui experiences - you may want to avoid standard libraries such as Kendo UI. But that isn't necessarily a knock against Kendo - you'd have the same issue with any component library.
Read this authenticated review

About Kendo UI

Kendo UI is a complete JavaScript UI toolkit that allows users to quickly build eye-catching, high-quality, high-performance responsive web-based apps integrated into their framework of choice (jQuery, Angular, React, or Vue). The vendor’s value proposition is that Kendo UI offers a large library of popular and configurable components ranging from sophisticated grids and charts to basic buttons, so users don’t have to waste development time building their UI. The vendor also says the large library of customizable themes means users can easily deploy a consistent look and feel across the entire user experience.
Categories:  App Development

Kendo UI Features

Has feature70+ UI Components available
Has featureBlazingly fast Grid
Has featureBuilt on JavaScript
Has featureIntegrates with Angular
Has featureExport Excel, PDF and PNG
Has featureWorks with all browsers
Has featureDozens of ready-to-use themes
Has featureHands-on Training Courses

Kendo UI Screenshots

Kendo UI Integrations

Kendo UI Competitors

Component One, DevExpress, Syncfusion

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Kendo UI Professional$999per developer, royalty-free
Kendo UI Complete$1,149per developer, royalty-free
DevCraft Complete$1,499per developer, royalty-free
DevCraft Ultimate$2,199per developer, royalty-free

Kendo UI Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Kendo UI Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, All
Mobile Application:Kendo UI is a development framework for building mobile and web applications. Can be used on any operating system.
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: All Languages