TrustRadius
Microsoft Dynamics SL is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family. This product was acquired from Solomon 2000. The product is typically used by SMBs, particularly in project-based businesses (e.g. construction). It has strong accounting and project management capabilities.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Sr/7i/OTCTGZAJ1NQF.pngPerfect financial software for your small to mid-size businessMicrosoft Dynamics SL is our primary financial software. We use this program for invoice entries, vendor information, purchase orders, inventory management, weekly check runs, bank reconciliation, journal entries, general ledger management, profit and loss, trial balance reports, cash forecasting, annual 1099 forms, and all related monthly financial reporting. This program is predominantly used by our Accounting and Accounts Payable teams.,Easy to understand. The program can be taught t new users with no prior experience with minimal effort. Very thorough modules for all areas of financial reporting and analysis. Uncomplicated layout and maneuverability. The screens can be personalized for easy access to most frequently used modules.,Reports are created as Crystal Reports. These are not as dependable or dynamic as PDFs. The standard package can be somewhat limited. Modules can be added but are often cost prohibitive and simply don't seem to perform dependably. Tech support is costly and there is no sense of urgency. It would be helpful if there was an online user forum.,7,We have been able to downsize our Accounting Department, creating more efficiencies and less "downtime" within that department. We have been able to eliminate the need to outsource our IT department, thereby reducing a large budget item. We have the ability to create and modify custom reports within our package. We are "paper free" since all vendor documents, contracts, financial reports and purchase orders are digitally maintained in the program allowing us to archive as necessary.,Microsoft Dynamics GP, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions and Sage 50 Accounting,Bitdefender Network Traffic Security AnalyticsDynamics SL 2011 - more to be desired!We currently use Dynamics SL as our sole accounting software. Only people within the accounting department have access to the software although we have a department who runs their own checks because of a unique specific function. However this department is reviewed and monitor by the finance department to ensure proper internal control. I have found Dynamics to be not very user friendly. The GL analysis function is quite lacking when comparing to other systems I've used in the past. In addition, the report writer again is not very user friendly and intuitive. Lastly, the sorting function uses coding language for the filters which makes training new users quite cumbersome.,Adequate layout of detailed general ledger report. Easy copy and paste feature for general ledger from Excel. Interacts well with certain Microsoft products and functionality.,Reporting features to provide more robust flexibility. Import features can be improved to be more user friendly. Interface can be improved to provide more access and edit to basic functions like print setup, setting up templates for reports, and user preferences. Better support packages and more training at reasonable pricing.,4,More time is spent on manipulating reports which can and should be automated. Lack of electronic invoicing process and other green technology features creates more cost on printing and storage costs. The lack of a user friendly interface requires more training and a bigger learning curve for staff.,Abila MIP Fund AccountingNon-profit's review of Microsoft Dynamics SLIt's used as our financial system. Used for functions like accounts payable, inventory, billing and general ledger.,Simple Configurable Affordable,Reporting is weak Not modern Security is complex,6,Nothing significant,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM and Oracle PeopleSoft SCMProject AccountingMicrosoft Dynamics SL is used for project management and financial reporting. It is used across the organization. The financial modules provide general ledger details and reporting along with payroll being processed for projects and management.,Project accounting is linked to the Financial modules - there is no need to duplicate data entry. Reporting in Project Modules is extensive. Validation of fields for data entry and solid integrity of data. Customizations of screens for data entry for users and addition of fields.,Purchasing does not have a budget validation to warn or stop a purchase from going over budget on a project level. Project budgeting does not have an interface with inventory ids. Financial modules could have more quick vewing screens for example a quick way to find the check no. of an invoice.,9,Project data is updated quickly and reporting tools available for management daily.,,1,1,Vendor implemented,1,1,1,1Dynamics SL For Project and Crew Based AccountingWe are using it for project and crew based cost accounting in one of our utility contracting companies and are in the process of rolling out the system to another one of our largest companies. Eventually, all companies under the holding company will deploy Dynamics SL as their ERP system as well as the parent company. The parent company will perform cross company consolidations.,Provides flexibility for complex project based cost accounting Strong and flexible allocation processer for cost allocations, markups, and pricing A "Flexible Billing" module under the project controller series that allows for multiple billing formats ranging from fixed price schedule of values, T&M or Cost Plus, and scheduled billing. Flexible reporting with options using Crystal Reports, SSRS, a Quick Query tool, and ability to tie into MS Office tools such as MS Access and MS Excel Tight integration with Financials, but also the ability to integrate with modules such as Sales Order, Inventory, and Field Service Customization abilities ranging from a VBA (visual basic for application) foundation to allow customizing existing forms to the ability to use the SDK (Software Development Kit) to build more complex customizations that integrate with Dynamics SL.,Incorporate some functionality provided by third party products into the core product. Since Dynamics SL has strong multi company capabilities, incorporate functions to secure projects within a company to certain groups. Improve the budgeting, forecasting, and change order interfaces so that the tools are more online. Improve the forecasting capabilities to include more robust and integrated tie in to the project EAC/ETC (Estimate at Completion/Estimate to Complete) numbers. This would allow project revenue/margin/cash forecasting. Expand on the subtask concept Improve the interface for multi level rate entry for pricing and cost allocations such that more security can be applied and reduce risk of inadvertent changes.,9,Faster Closing Cycle Improved Reconciliation Tools Accurate and Timely Revenue Recognition,,Implemented in-house
Unspecified
Microsoft Dynamics SL
53 Ratings
Score 6.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Microsoft Dynamics SL Reviews

Microsoft Dynamics SL
53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 17 of 53 Microsoft Dynamics SL ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Pamela Dalton profile photo
May 13, 2019

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Perfect financial software for your small to mid-size business"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For a small to mid-size business, MS Dynamics SL is effective. We are capable of managing our finances with a very low risk of error. We have worked with MS Dynamics for almost 15 years and have more than doubled the size of our business in that time with very few issues from the program. We have exponentially increased our revenue and reporting demands and have found SL to be very dependable and stable.
The program does have the occasional glitch and those are sometimes outside of the realm of expertise of our IT department. SL support is excellent, but their timeliness is not as urgent as ours.
Read Pamela Dalton's full review
No photo available
December 03, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL 2011 - more to be desired!"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Dynamics is definitely designed for a manufacturing or smaller companies who is looking to transition to all Microsoft products. There are project and allocation features that may work well with companies who have cost allocations. However, that also depends on the reporting needs and how robust of an allocation.

The program is not very appropriate for non-profit accounting environment because it does allow for fund accounting very appropriately. Any organizations that require complex reporting structure should also look at other software that has more robust reporting features.
Read this authenticated review
John K. Hodge, CPA profile photo
December 25, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL For Project and Crew Based Accounting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In the service series, there is a weakness in applying revenue recognition concepts which are a strong point of the project series. It is difficult to get a period sensitive WIP that could be recreated at any time for a point in time (fiscal period).
Read John K. Hodge, CPA's full review
Mark Schrier profile photo
September 30, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL - A strong product for Now and the Future"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's extremely useful in a multi-company environment. Service Dispatch, Contracts and Equipment are very useful to our company. The project reporting modules are very powerful. We do not currently use them, but we have plans to add them in the future. If you are in the Service, Construction and Professional Services fields, then this product deserves consideration.
Read Mark Schrier's full review
Jerry McLellan, CPA profile photo
August 19, 2015

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics SL - Power through Flexibility"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The key strength is the ease of adapting to ever-growing operations. Designing the setup with both the short and long-term goals in mind will allow the best setup/configuration to be completed. As growth requires changes, the flexibility of the system and reporting will grow with the company. Internal knowledge should be gained to allow for the ease of utilizing the system to accomplish this growth in addition to the reseller/consultants used.
Read Jerry McLellan, CPA's full review
Jeffrey Morin profile photo
April 03, 2015

"My 17 year review of Microsoft Dynamics SL is nothing but POSITIVE!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Does the out of the box version of Microsoft Dynamics SL meet our needs? Many companies have rituals and functions that were established to accommodate what they have to do in the software they use. Take a good look at standard SL in the modules needed, if those functions meet your core needs go with it. Customizations can be done, but keeping a streamlined product allows for quicker and painless upgrades. With that, you gain the benefits of the product that Microsoft Dynamics has put in place to improve the product. Think about reworking internal procedures to meet a standard software.
Read Jeffrey Morin's full review
Jack Boyer profile photo
December 18, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL-The Right Choice for the Project-Based Organization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Organizations that have challenging project accounting needs should definitely review this product. Very few products come close to Dynamics SL in handling these broader project accounting needs as well as Dynamics SL. We have had clients insist on buying Dynamics GP because someone in their firm already knows it-only to learn that they should have gone with SL as we suggested. Organizations that need extremely robust Order Management features should also look at Dynamics SL closely. Not only are the features very strong-they are also project-centric so if you need 5 different lines on a sales order to update 5 different projects-no problem. You can even enter a project on the fly while entering a sales order-assuming you have permissions.

Dynamics SL, like Dynamics NAV has a tremendous toolset for customizing. If you allow the customizing to occur-make sure that you have the staff or budget to support lots of customizations as the mods do make support and upgrading a bit more challenging.
Read Jack Boyer's full review
Bill Aiton profile photo
June 27, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL: "Dynamics SL Partner Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We see this as a great fit for the right company. I would say easily a 9 out of 10 and I don't have another 10 product in mind. It really depends on customer needs. Many times, it is an excellent solution for many companies.
There are other distribution solutions that are easier to use, so it might not be the first choice for that type of firm.
Payroll and HR are not the strongest in this product so a company that needed the best in that area, might look at Dynamics GP.
For Professional Services firms, it is an excellent choice!! One of the best.
Read Bill Aiton's full review
No photo available
March 27, 2015

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics SL is quite dynamic!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I worked within finance and accounting and I feel like for the most part it is extremely user friendly. Despite a few bugs/glitches in the system, it was very straightforward and easy to use. It gives you what you are looking for. Definitely recommended to keep track of the books.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 24, 2015

Review: "Don't Just Sit There, Use Microsoft Dynamics SL Now!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are in general accounting or even different financial positions, I recommend using this software. I have used QuickBooks in the past and although I did enjoy it, I would prefer Microsoft Dynamics SL over this. It is broken out in categories which makes it easy to find what you are looking for. Once you get used to where everything is (does not take too long), you will not be disappointed and your daily routine will be much easier and accurate!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 21, 2014

Review: "Aside from Integration and Reporting, Microsoft Dynamics SL is a Good Small Business Solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If someone is looking for a true accounting system for a small to mid-sized company, then I would definitely suggest looking into Microsoft Dynamics SL. For a very small company, a solution like QuickBooks might be the way to go, but only if you do not need tight audit controls. You also have to really know what you're doing or have an accountant that's easily reachable since the system will allow you to do things that a true accounting system would not. For a larger company, or someone that is looking for a system that integrates well with other systems, or a system that will be used by multiple departments, I would suggest looking into an ERP system or a suite of systems that are all run on the same platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL: "SL Review for Direct Sales Companies"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It really depends on the type of business that is using SL. If it's more project heavy for say, construction, it's usually a pretty good fit. In cases such as my company, we are in direct sales. It's not really set up to be as accommodating for the retail type of environment that we need and are looking for.

If the customer is looking for mobile solutions there are better options out there. If they are looking for basic order processing, warehouse functions, and accounting, then SL may be a good fit.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (2)
9.6
Direct deposit files (1)
9
Reimbursement management (1)
7
API for custom integration (6)
6.0
Plug-ins (4)
6.0
Single sign-on capability (9)
6.0
Role-based user permissions (8)
6.2
Dashboards (5)
5.0
Standard reports (9)
5.3
Custom reports (9)
4.3
Accounts payable (10)
6.9
Accounts receivable (7)
6.0
Global Financial Support (1)
6
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (3)
6.1
Intercompany Accounting (3)
5.2
Localizations (2)
3.2
Journals and Reconciliations (3)
6.3
Enterprise Accounting (2)
7.0
Configurable Accounting (2)
6.6
Centralized Rules Framework (1)
8
Standardized Processes (2)
5.5
Inventory tracking (5)
6.0
Location management (2)
1.0
Manufacturing module (2)
6.0
Pricing (2)
6.0
Order entry (3)
6.0
Credit card processing (2)
7.0
Cost of goods sold (2)
7.0
End-to-end order visibility (1)
8
Order exception Resolution (1)
6
Automated Invoice Processing (2)
3.6
Shared Services Payments (1)
6
Billings Management (1)
6
Customer Receipt Applications (1)
5
Customer Collections (1)
6
Revenue Recognition (2)
4.2
Cash Management (3)
5.4
Asset Management (3)
5.5
Travel & Expense Management (1)
5
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (2)
4.5
Period Close (3)
6.0
Transactions Tax (2)
7.0
Subledger Reconciliations (3)
5.2
3rd Party Accounting Systems (1)
7
Budgeting and Forecasting (3)
5.6
Project Costing (3)
4.9
Cost Capture (2)
3.6
Capital Project Management (1)
8
Customer Invoicing (1)
5
Project Revenue Recognition (1)
2
Project Financial Performance Analysis (2)
4.2
Project Financials Dashboard (1)
2
Real-time Financial Reporting (3)
4.6
Award Lifecycle Management (1)
6
Spending Control (1)
6
Billing (1)
7
Production Management (1)
6
Inventory Planning (1)
6

About Microsoft Dynamics SL

Microsoft Dynamics SL is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family.

This product was acquired from Solomon 2000.

The product is typically used by SMBs, particularly in project-based businesses (e.g. construction). It has strong accounting and project management capabilities.

Microsoft Dynamics SL Integrations

Microsoft Dynamics SL Competitors

Microsoft Dynamics SL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No