MySQL

MySQL

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.6 out of 100
Top Rated
MySQL

Overview

Recent Reviews

MYSQL review

9 out of 10
December 23, 2021
It was earlier difficult to manage a large amount of data on excel and it was time-consuming to maintain a spreadsheet. But with the use …
Continue reading

My review of MySQL

9 out of 10
May 01, 2021
Most of our internal applications use MySQL as their database. For example, our team owns a JVM tuning & testing platform will need to …
Continue reading

MySQL is useful

8 out of 10
April 12, 2021
MySQL gets used for the most part in our infrastructure. If it is a website, an API, or something else, MySQL is the most used. It's used …
Continue reading

MySQL works well

9 out of 10
April 12, 2021
MySQL is used as our relational data store for information in support of our software platform - software as a service for internal …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of MySQL, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is MySQL?

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

6 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Access?

Microsoft Access is a database management system from Microsoft that combines the relational Microsoft Jet Database Engine with a graphical user interface and software-development tools.

What is SingleStore?

MemSQL is a NoSQL database offering from the company of the same name in San Francisco.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is MySQL?

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle. For more information visit https://www.mysql.com

MySQL Videos

What is MySQL?
MySQL is one of the most popular database software options for businesses of all sizes. The software is open source, and highly customizable, so users can set up an instance that meets their needs.
While MySQL is a specific product, NoSQL is a type of database that includes a number of available products. Whether a NoSQL (nonrelational database) product or using MySQL (relational database) is right for you greatly depends on the data you are storing, queries, and flexibility.

MySQL Integrations

MySQL Competitors

MySQL Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MySQL?

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.

What is MySQL's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses MySQL?

The most common users of MySQL are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (905)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 116)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
December 23, 2021

MYSQL review

Tanika Chhabra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was earlier difficult to manage a large amount of data on excel and it was time-consuming to maintain a spreadsheet. But with the use of SQL, all our job has become so easy and we are able to manage everything so easily. We just have to use some simple DML queries and we could easily fetch a good amount of data so easily.
  • Easy to use the queries
  • Superfast in fetching the data
  • Easy to learn and apply
  • Data joining can become lot more easier with data view tabs
It is well suited for Organizations relying on large data sets or big spreadsheets. One can easily use a few queries and get desired output so easily. MYSQL is much easier and has better interphase than many of the other SQL applications which are present. I would highly recommend it to new learners and also people with SQL knowledge, as it is so easy to use
Rishabh Khanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by 90% of products that my organization has developed. All the products that are in the development phase or in production are using MySQL. The project that I'm working on is an IoT-based ERP system and we are using MySQL to store the machine data coming from the production site.
  • It is easy to understand.
  • It works well with most of the popular programming languages.
  • It is better and cheaper than other relational database services available in market.
  • I would love to see some updates in the UI part of it.
  • They should work on their documentation. Make it more readable by changing fonts.
It is a great product. It can be used with many types of web applications. However, it is not suitable for data analytics. We are using it with an IoT-based ERP system. In case if you decide to move to cloud, oracle provides full support to use MySQL as a cloud database service.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MySQL in a few of our microservices application databases. We chose MySQL because its easy to use, has a lot of documentation both official and non official, has a large userbase, os easy to maintain and quick to install with fairly minimal configuration. The last bit is arguably most important for us since at the mooment, we need something that can be done quickly to make our application available to the user.
  • Beginner friendly
  • Quick and easy to set up
  • Has a massive userbase
  • Lack of advanced features compared to PostgreSQL or SQL Server
  • Doesn't scale as well as PostgreSQL or SQL Server for large databases
MySQL is really suited for a beginner who wants to use an RDBMS-type database that doesn't need any advanced features. It's also great if you want to spin up something quickly with only a few steps of installation and security configuration.

It might not be for you if you need something that needs to be massively scalable or if you need advanced features.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL Database multiple departments across the organization as an RDMS(relational database management system) for small-medium projects, easy to implement, cost-effective, easy to make changes, easy test, and supports millions of records. MySQL supports multiple database engines and we use mostly InnoDB to store the data, organize the data, and reporting purposes.
  • Multiple database engines.
  • Open source
  • Supports millions of records.
  • User interface to manage DB.
  • Data replica or auto sync between two servers.
MySQL is free to use under the GNU license so most of the open-source, non-profit organizations can use it for free, it is easy to adapt and implement, and most cost savings compare with other SQL providers in the market. It is most suitable for small to medium projects and not recommend for banking and enterprise projects.
Alena Burda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL has helped me to excel in my field of deploying cloud-native applications and provided me a smooth route to carry on my everyday work. I did not face any difficulty getting started, and it offers a customizable interface so that one cannot get stuck in the high burden of the programs. This tool is providing me better data integrity along with better customer service. It is helping me in my online business to a great extent, as I never faced any difficulty in any transaction and it provides a high-speed transactional processing system.
  • It has hit every nook and corner of my entire organization and I am very much satisfied with its high availability, self-healing, provisioning, monitoring, and much more.
  • It works faster and gives effective services.
  • My team is at ease to work on such a reliable platform that is concerned with security. It provides me full control over all aspects of MySQL through its comprehensive set of advanced features, management tools, and technical support as well.
  • It is the most reliable database management tool that collaborates really well with WordPress, Drupal, Joomla!, etc., and equips me with all the necessary tools that could be beneficial to meet database challenges of next-generation web and cloud services.
  • This is a very costly tool that really does not fit well with small business setups.
  • There are still many complications (e.g., I faced difficulty in its licensing and its UI/UX could be improved too). Also, it is complicated in understand, as too much of the information is available--it becomes difficult to understand.
There are different plans available, so it offers you diversity to choose the one that fits your needs. Furthermore, I believe that through this tool, you will have a transparent idea about the entire processing of your daily work. For me, it’s a universal platform and provides you great security along with data management, so I will recommend you to use it, especially if you deal in e-commerce. This superb tool gives you a clear-cut idea about the processing of your work.
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it from time-to-time, as the database solution for our smaller projects which requires a relational database. Usually used by the whole team, integrated into the production chain, and nearly everybody uses it for testing, smaller modifications in the data model, or when installing for a localized development environment.
  • Storing relational data.
  • Quick management.
  • Integration with different development tools, for instance with IntelliJ Idea.
  • I had some stability issues in the past.
  • SQL requirement.
  • Hard to find support for special cases.
When a classic, small relational database (I mean small as a small number of tables, not records necessary) needs easy to install database with easy to find tutorials, that's free, robust, and very well documented.
May 01, 2021

My review of MySQL

Xialin Zhu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our internal applications use MySQL as their database. For example, our team owns a JVM tuning & testing platform will need to store each request coming to the platform and their status. We choose MySQL as our database.
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to learn for beginners
  • Multi-language support
  • Scalability.
  • Not efficient to handle big data sets.
MySQL is the best choice when you are not dealing with big data.
Jose Manuel Ortega | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL mainly as a database management system for small applications oriented to the management of resources of the different projects that store information related to the employees, either for the management of tasks or to allocate the hours that each employee registers in the project. We generally use it together with the PHP programming language and Apache Web Server using the LAMP distribution (Linux + Apache + MySQL + PHP).
  • Easy integration with development tools and environments, as well as connection with different programming languages
  • The support for handling transactions allows recovering from failures in operations and thus maintain data integrity.
  • Efficient use of resources at the memory and CPU level
  • Cross-platform support for different operating systems
  • Lack of documentation for a large percentage of MySQL utilities, for example the aspect of data replication for certain cases there is no documentation.
  • Some experience is required to configure and tune it to the project requirements.
  • Migration from standard SQL is sometimes not automatic and requires manual migration.
  • It is a suitable database for web applications where we have a large size of users. It is also easily scalable and provides good user management and access controls at the security level.
  • MySQL is a very fast database to read when using the non-transactional MyISAM engine, but it can cause integrity problems in high-concurrency environments when modifying. Thus, for applications with many parallel transactions and modifications, MySQL is probably not the best solution
Adolfo Maltez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL as a RDBMS in a variety of web systems across the entire organization. It's very easy to use, install, and support multiple configurations for a variety of use cases. MySQL has helped us to improve our response time in providing database infrastructure to a wide variety of projects.
  • Easy of use
  • Fast installation
  • Support for replication and backups
  • Free software
  • Standard GUI
  • Blueprints of configuration
  • Better tutorials
MySQL fits use cases that require fast responses, like transactional websites when the user requires a response in no time. Another use case is when we need replications master/slave or multi-master.

The use cases I don't recommend it for are when we need a strong relational database. In that case, MySQL can be a little slow.
April 16, 2021

MySQL--Best RDBMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my team, we are using MySQL as a relational database management system for internal software development projects. It helps us to store data in a well organized and systematic format, which, in return, results in better management, less utilization of resources, and time savings.










  • Very easy and simple to learn and apply
  • Robust and secure
  • Compatible with almost all types of programming languages, like C#, Java, and PHP, which provides flexibility to deploy databases for different applications
  • Not suitable for large data management
  • User interface can be improved
  • Support for non-relational data will be an added advantage
  • Security updates are not that frequent
MySQL can be used easily for web applications and small to medium-sized desktop applications for data management. It is fast, secure, and reliable, which offers easy data management.
Yaniv Vararu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is serving more than one department in our organization. In the R&D department, it's being used as part of our software development. Other departments such as product, customer success, support, business development, and more are using it for managing the customers, for getting analytics, for creating reports and dashboards, and acting by this data.
  • Since MySQL is open source, it is free to use under the GNU license
  • Before any update to data, it pops up a summary for approval, which lowers the risk of making a mistake
  • Performance is great if you need a relatively small DB
  • Compatible with many operating systems and integrates with many development tools
  • If you need a big/huge RDBMS, MySQL is probably not for you (performance-wise)
  • Complex joins/transaction handling causes temp hangs and performance issues--this can be improved
  • Fine tuning is not that easy--you'll probably need an expert (in-house or outsourced) for it
MySQL is best suited for us in managing our customers' definitions, accounts' structures, configurations, etc.--anything that is being set up once and updated only once in a while (and grown at low scales). The data of our customers' actions in the system is not saved in the MySQL DB since this changes in real time every second and this type of DB is less suited for so much data and such frequent changes.
April 12, 2021

MySQL is useful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL gets used for the most part in our infrastructure. If it is a website, an API, or something else, MySQL is the most used. It's used for data storage and user management. Our MySQL instance is available to every developer who needs to save something in a database, which is one of the reasons why it has so many use cases for us.
  • MySQL is very fast, so a request doesn't take long
  • MySQL has many configuration options
  • We had never any problems like a destroyed database
  • MySQL has a problem when databases are getting too big
  • Support for NoSQL
I recommend MySQL for everyone who needs a fast database for use cases like user management, APIs, and some data storages, but I don't recommend MySQL for large data and projects with very special use cases or if you don't have any clue about SQL language because it can be hard to get into sometimes.
April 12, 2021

MySQL works well

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used as our relational data store for information in support of our software platform - software as a service for internal communications and employee experience. It is used across the entire product offering for frequently accessed and transactional data with multiple instances including master, failover, and read replicas.
  • Very quick to get up and running - easy to use.
  • It can run on very small virtual machines
  • It performs well and is flexible
  • MySQL always consumes all the memory available on a box and sometimes releasing resources can be an issue.
  • There are certain commands that can get you into trouble and create corruption which is not easily remedied.
  • Transaction handling is not the most efficient and larger databases can take some performance hits.
MySQL is well suited for anyone who needs a relational database and is working within a budget. Since it is open source, it is free to use and has most of the features of something like Oracle or MS SQL Server. MySQL can struggle a little with larger applications and storing the data cache in RAM requires fairly robust machines.
Manav Goel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used by the whole company. This is a very useful structured database managing tool which helps us in our day-to-day data mining and creating excel with this huge data. The best part of it is if we accidentally make any wrong inputs while capturing any of the data details in our day-to-day activity it can be very easily fixed for a long list of sheets in a single go with a set of queries. MySQL provides the best way to interact with the SQL database. It offers the best available security toward SQL database and maintenance also it takes care of large databases to be optimised and responsive to every action.
  • Data security- MySQL provides a very high-level of security.
  • High performance-MySQL provides very high performance in terms of data mining . A huge amount of data can be easily extracted in couple of seconds.
  • Easy management - This is very easy to manage and easy to demo to employees so they can get hands on quicly.
  • I would say it has few stability issues. It crashed for me, but this is very rare.
  • Another thing is definitely a user cannot start using this right away without any training.
MySQL is best suited in extracting and storing data in different databases and I feel this is a very easy-to-use tool.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used by our department to interact with the database. We basically use it for database manipulation and security. Since there are large database, this software really comes in handy. Coding is very straightforward and new team members are easily able to grasp things. Also helps in working with big data.
  • Data security
  • Data manipulation
  • Data management
  • Insecurity at some instances
  • Data loss in some cases
  • Data mismanagement for larger data
It is efficient and capable of handling large datasets in the form of tables, which comprise of rows and columns. Data can easily be retrieved. Provides a smooth workflow and reduces the workload because of its data manipulation abilities. It is easy to configure and manage. You also get few custom tools to manage the database.
Maria Cristina Dela Pena | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL engine is currently being used in some of the business unit systems in my current organization. This is being considered as the first option when creating new applications or systems if there are low-budget projects and if the application is web-based driven.
  • Cost constraints
  • Web based applications deployments
  • Small to mid-enterprise projects
  • Tools for performance insights.
  • Easy to do the manual failover.
  • Easy detection of errors.
  • Easy to check index fragmentations.
Being with huge cloud migration projects, one of the tops concerns is the cost of using the right database engine for the right application to run in a cost-efficient way.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL as our primary database system for all of our application backends.
  • MySQL has the ability to place a breakpoint with the debugger which is a huge feature
  • It offers a reliable data store
  • MySQL Workbench works extremely well as a GUI for MySQL
  • Replication is easy to configure
  • It could benefit from wider adoption and more forums with answers to questions
  • It doesn't have the same level of support as Microsoft
Well suited for a free to use database storage system as well as enterprise level
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is a great Open Source Relational Database Management System(RDBMS). It has a lot of features. It is very stable. It provides an easy to use GUI with options for DDL, DML and DCL operations. One can easily create/alter tables, views, procedures, triggers, functions, indexes and much more. Writing queries, sub queries and joins are easily possible with MySQL.
  • MySQL is compatible to run on many OS like Windows, Unix, Linux.
  • MySQL allows transactions to be rolled back, commit, and crash recovery.
  • MySQL is very secure as it keeps passwords encrypted
  • MySQL does not support a very large database size as efficiently as other databases do.
  • Transaction handling is not very efficient.
  • SQL check constraint is not supported by MySQL.
MySQL will be most suited when the database size is not going to be very large. MySQL is a very fast, reliable, secure and stable database. When it comes to commercials, MySQL is open-source and free software under the GNU license. It is free to use, we can download it from MySQL official website without any cost. MySQL provides high performance when compared to other databases.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used within the whole organization as one of the two primary RDMBS. It is the underlying RDBMS database for the internal and external company records, hosted on Oracle PaaS.
  • Best in breed in open-source RDBMS databases.
  • Portability with our secondary database Oracle Database without much scheme changes.
  • Scales well with IaaS.
  • Some restrictions on the table sizes and schemes (unlike IBM DB2, Oracle DB, etc).
  • Issues with some of the SQL operations ( merge join, hash join, etc) that degrades the overall performance of the queries.
  • Licensing from Oracle for MySQL use can be improved.
MySQL is best suited for environments where the datasets are not large and there are no critical performance constraints. It is less appropriate for extremely large relational datasets and/or where performance guarantees are needed in the applications.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used in my company to store transactional data of modern applications that have been developed with an SOA architecture oriented to services and microservices, since these require multiple databases that are stable, light and have high availability.
  • Excellent response times when consulting data
  • Easy to learn, use and manage
  • It is necessary to invest time and effort to implement additional functionalities that are required in business environments, such as data replication.
  • When acquired by Oracle, its innovation speed has decreased, which opens the way for other competitors.
The strengths of MySQL can be exploited when it is necessary to store relational data in small, medium-sized applications or those in which its architecture is service oriented. I see it less appropriate for it to be used in monolithic applications with complex database structures.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used at the organization level but mainly for web applications in the organization.
  • Very good for basic to enterprise-level needs.
  • Cost-effective
  • MySQL has some limitation with complex data types.
  • Limitations with common table expressions.
MySQL is the best and simple open source Relational Database Management System that provides ease of use. MySQL supports many interfaces and programming languages, and also it is easier to learn for a newbie.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is being used for many software in my company development for specific departments and software for all employees across the organization like human resources forms, Content Management Systems for website and intranet, health forms, satisfaction survey software.
  • Easy to learn.
  • Easy to use and manage.
  • Easy to backup and restore.
  • Have a community version open source.
  • More documentation.
  • Efficiently manage big amount of data.
I recommend MySQL for small and medium companies. MySQL is a strong database and you can store your company data, and connect your software easily.
November 04, 2019

MySQL - Old User's Review

Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used MySQL across different companies, mainly as a DB for web pages (along with Apache and PHP) and web-based applications (internal and external). It provides a fast, reliable and efficient DB solution.
  • Very fast and reliable DB
  • Innodb tables are a huge improvement
  • Works very good with the open-source ecosystem, even though it was adquired by Oracle
  • InnoDB tables performance could be improved
  • Tuning is a little bit complex
  • InnoDB tables do not support full-text searches
MySQL is well suited when you are using web pages or web applications in an open-source ecosystem (i.e. Php, Apache) and/or CMS as Joomla, Drupal, WordPress, etc. Not recommended for core or critical-mission applications (it stills need a higher maturity level).
October 11, 2019

mysql review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As I know, we use it only in a department of our company. Most of the time we use this database as a development database. We store less complex data structures in it, small and few tables, as we know it's better to store small amount of data then other relation databases.
  • Data Security, MySQL is globally renowned for being the most secure and reliable database management system used in popular web applications like WordPress, Drupal, Joomla, Facebook and Twitter. The data security and support for transactional processing that accompany the recent version of MySQL, can greatly benefit any business especially if it is an eCommerce business that involves frequent money transfers.
  • High Performance, Whether it is an eCommerce website that receives a million queries every single day or a high-speed transactional processing system, MySQL is designed to meet even the most demanding applications while ensuring optimum speed, full-text indexes and unique memory caches for enhanced performance.
  • Complete Workflow Control, With the average download and installation time being less than 30 minutes, MySQL means usability from day one.
  • It’s Got A Few Stability Issues
  • It Suffers From Relatively Poor Performance Scaling
  • Its Functionality Tends To Be Heavily Dependant On Addons
As I said before we use it as a test database, with small amount of data. It has a nice performance with it, so i recommend it, however i if you should handle large amount of data you are probably find another database with better performance. So it's well suited in small apps. :)
October 08, 2019

I like MySql

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used across the whole organization internally. It was picked because of the easy integration, great support, and stability. For internal usage, they needed a cost-effective but trustworthy solution. Also from experience, the developers are familiar with MySql the most, they would able to use the juniors to work on the internal solutions first and learn the way.
  • Easy to get started.
  • Lightweight, but scalable.
  • Well known, well supported.
  • Owned by oracle.
  • Limitations of fine-tuning.
  • Lack of failover.
For internal usage for medium-size companies, for startups, and for demo projects, it is more than well suited. However, as it is scalable to a point, it is no match after a point to Oracle DB or IBM/2 as they were created to provide huge performance and to support big company's needs.