Astera Centerprise

Astera Centerprise

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Astera Centerprise

Overview

Recent Reviews

Centerprise-10/10

9 out of 10
November 08, 2021
We use it in part of our automation process to extract data from PDF's and deliver to our clients. It allows us to utilize time we …
Continue reading

Loving Cenerprise

9 out of 10
November 01, 2021
We are currently using Centerprise to transform incoming files from vendors. The files are transformed and uploaded into our homegrown …
Continue reading

Astera: ETL in the cloud

9 out of 10
May 01, 2020
Astera streamlines our data integration process by doing all the work through a workflow. It enables our analysts to connect to virtually …
Continue reading

Astera Review

10 out of 10
April 30, 2020
It helps us in the massive storage of data and the resolution of intelligence problems of our business. It simplifies complex …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 10 features

Simple transformations (25)

8.6
86%

Connect to traditional data sources (25)

8.6
86%

Business rules and workflow (23)

8.4
84%

Complex transformations (23)

7.9
79%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Astera Centerprise, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Centerprise Enterprise

Contact rep

On Premise
Lifetime License per Seat

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://www.astera.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Data Source Connection

7.9
79%

Data Transformations

8.3
83%

Data Modeling

7.5
75%

Data Governance

8.2
82%

Product Details

What is Astera Centerprise?

Astera Centerprise is a complete data integration solution that includes data integration, data transformation, data quality, and data profiling capabilities in a code-free environment, and promises to enable business users to handle data with minimal IT support. Centerprise enables users to exchange data with a wide range of supported applications, databases, and formats.

Astera Centerprise Features

Data Source Connection Features

  • Supported: Connect to traditional data sources

Data Transformations Features

  • Supported: Simple transformations
  • Supported: Complex transformations

Data Modeling Features

  • Supported: Data model creation
  • Supported: Business rules and workflow
  • Supported: Testing and debugging

Additional Features

  • Supported: Integrated development environment
  • Supported: Data quality and profiling
  • Supported: Job flow, scheduling, and execution
  • Supported: Extensibility and openness
  • Supported: Performance and scalability
  • Supported: Ease of use for business users

Astera Centerprise Screenshots

Centerprise features a highly intuitive UI that is designed to enable business users to work with data easily.Our ever-expanding library of Centerprise Connectors is preconfigured to provide a plethora of integration options.Centerprise's  data profiling feature ensures that you deliver only quality data to your en users.Choose from a variety of write strategies for your workflows.Easily define how you data moves and behaves with the workflow component

Astera Centerprise Video

Astera Centerprise Integrations

Astera Centerprise Competitors

  • Informatica
  • Adeptia
  • Talend

Astera Centerprise Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)11%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)47%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)42%

Astera Centerprise Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesUSA
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Astera Centerprise?

Centerprise Data Integrator is an integration platform that includes tools for data integration, data transformation, data quality, and data profiling.

What is Astera Centerprise's best feature?

Reviewers rate Connect to traditional data sources and Simple transformations and Data model creation highest, with a score of 8.6.

Who uses Astera Centerprise?

The most common users of Astera Centerprise are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Insurance industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (44)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Historically we have built a number of integrations and small tasks manually through various languages and processes - having to track what we used, who built it, and what server it's running on. Astera Centerprise has been a breakthrough in this regard in a few ways. The first is that it required almost no training to use. I have given someone a 15-minute demo and left feeling confident they could do simple processes with it moving forward. The drag and drop GUI is generally very intuitive and while nothing is perfect, I rarely am fighting against it. The second is there is a wealth of data connections and functions to use. When I talk to peers about this product, I just ask how they are moving data - any data. Do you have an excel sheet that someone updates that need to join its data to a database and from an API and then write these as a CSV file that you import with a PowerShell command? This is literally a task I built in a few hours in Astera Centerprise. If I need to interact with disparate data, Astera Centerprise is the tool I move to first today.
  • ETL, ELT - moving and integrating data
  • easy UX/Gui for interacting with the application
  • Installation and setup
  • Data Source Choices
  • Complex Transformations
  • Occasional Bugs
  • Documentation could be better, more clear
  • A premium priced product
You have to pick 2 of 3 - Good, Fast, Cheap - Astera Centerprise is Good and Fast. If you have a smaller team, need low administrative burdens, and need something that doesn't require a big learning effort Astera Centerprise is a fantastic fit for these situations. It's a tool that even non-technical people could use to build ETL pipelines and do so well. If you use a number of disparate data sources, Astera Centerprise shines but holds its own even if you are moving data around like to like or even on the same server with its pushdown capabilities. I think if you had a strong need to have a large group work on your ETL, you could do it with Astera Centerprise, there are source controls available, but they aren't very robust, and keeping track of versions, what's deployed, what's changed is not as tight as it could be.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use it to transform data to replace current manual processes. Also, use it to generate files from a data warehouse to send to vendors in proprietary formats.
  • Transform data between data sources.
  • Creation of HIPAA 834 files.
  • Ability to deliver files based on a number of destination types.
  • Better logging and error handling.
  • Better support for MS Azure file repositories.
As a typical ETL tool, Astera Centerprise will perform most core functions. The ability to create a HIPAA 834 file as an established module is a huge benefit. We have yet to integrate with RESTful services but that is something we are looking forward to as a use case for Astera Centerprise.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Astera Centerprise is being used to map incoming pdf files that contain payroll data This tool allows us to automate certain payroll related processes. We are also re-writing SSIS jobs because it’s easier and faster when change request come in
  • Easily create and map to many incoming data sources
  • Centerprise had an array of connectors
  • Transforming data is very graphical UI based and requires little if any programming
  • We’d love to see a share point connector.
  • I’m not sure if a users group exists but would join if so.
Astera Centerprise has allowed us to accept virtually any incoming data stream and with little effort we are able to automate many processes that were once done manually. you do not need programmers to use this software.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Astera Centerprise is being used by different organizations here in our company. As a user or developer, it is really helps me to do a back-end program a lot easier without using of numerous codes, just a logic. It has a big impact on our business problems especially on data automation moving forward to the systems. By introducing this application as one of the solutions on the issues we experienced before regarding the labor and time, in manual entry, it gives wholly keyboarding process in order to create and finish a record, but with the help of Astera it can make the keyboarding in just a click and it can only takes a second or a minute. When it comes in data quality, due to manual it can cause human errors and inconsistent of data, instead of adapting this error, Astera can resolve this by using transformations which fitted to captures the needed data from the files with correct and accurate values. This system can be used efficiently in many organizations that involves gathering and processing of a large number of data.
  • Codeless
  • Data Automation
  • Data Integration
  • Easy to Manipulate
  • Good User Interface
  • Additional formulas in expression
  • Set maximum number of emails per run
This software is easy to understand and manage. Each query or transformations are easy to use and manipulate due to the interface of this software, it also includes the explanations of each transformation which help the users to be familiar with. It will benefit the users and the developers of this software. For the users, their manual data entry turns into auto data entry, time consuming turns into just a second or a minute and data quality are accurate. This software is very useful on any data automation, data validation, data manipulation and data integration that is why it is a must application to deal with.
November 08, 2021

Centerprise-10/10

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in part of our automation process to extract data from PDF's and deliver to our clients. It allows us to utilize time we would manually transcribe this data into excel sheets, saving time and money.
  • Versatile
  • Scalable
  • Outstanding Customer Service
  • Continued improvement/updating on Reportminer documentation
  • Window management on smaller screens can be very difficult. I often have to rescale the the tool windows to use.
  • Sometimes the data preview will glitch out and not display anything but I'm able to generate a .csv.
We use the software for a very specific purpose. I'm not well verse in all it has to offer, but if it functions extremely well for what we need.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently re-writing our organization's ETL processes using Astera Centerprise. Most of those processes were written using VB.net. We are also creating some new ETL processes using Astera Centerprise. Most of my current work involves extracting claim data from databases for each State, format it as per State requirement and FTP the data. Once State receives the data, it sends us acknowledgement files. We then extract the data from the acknowledgement files and load it into our database. We are using Astera Centerprise for this process. There are other IT teams at our organization using Astera for many other company's ETL processes.
  • Astera support team is very knowledgeable, helpful and very prompt to answer any question.
  • Their product is very simple to use.
  • Astera Centerprise Help documentation/training videos are very detailed.
  • Astera Centerprise rolled out new version 8 recently. During our conversion from version 7 to version 8, we encountered couple of issues with new Astera version. Once notified, they fixed the issue and sent us the patch within days.
  • I think Centerprise Server register feature in version 7 was much simpler than version 8.
It is well suited for any simple or complicated ETL process. It can pull data from various sources and can send it to multiple destinations. Expressions feature in Astera Centerprise is very helpful for data formatting and implement business rules. Database connections are simple and seamless. Project Build and deploy feature was made very easy to use.
November 04, 2021

Astera Centerprise Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Astera Centerprise is being used by the IT Application Department in Aspen Medical Products. It is being used to integrate the Magento eCommerce platform to host the company's website with ERP Application (IQMS). I've been using the Astera Centerprise for the last 5 years to create Integration Dataflows, Workflows, Scheduled jobs to integrate the Magento and IQMS APIs. These jobs run round the clock from 4 am till midnight 7 days a week to keep the data flowing between the applications. The data includes customers orders, customer's account setups, address information updates, Credit limit updates, Customer's product pricing updates, etc...
  • API integrations vis REST Web Service transformation
  • Stored Procedure integration via SQL statement Lookup transformation
  • Bulk imports and exports to and from tables
  • Data dumps from SQL tables to excel, csv, text files etc...
  • I would say Server Monitor is not very user-friendly. Astera [Centerprise] can add sorting features on different columns to make it more intuitive
  • The search box in server monitor doesn't display the the way I expect.
Suited scenarios: 1) It is really good in integrating the REST APIs 2) Data preview feature is really good which helps in debugging of dataflow easier and faster. Per my knowledge, Astera Centerprise is not very well suited for very large data loads.
November 02, 2021

Astera Software

Hassan Gorgani, CEng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used the Astera software package to process existing data for one of the famous clients in Qatar. Several types of file e.g. EXCEL, PDF, WORD, TXT has been used as input to the Astera software. Once the report model and data flow diagram [have] been [designed] properly to analyze the non-structured data, we connected them to a SQL DB and also in an MS-Excel format for other software i.e. AVEVA Engineering uses.
  • Designing report models and dataflow diagrams are very simple and understandable for users.
  • Various type of output could be generated from the Astera package.
  • Process thousands of files in a few second.
  • Very supportive team from Astera which are ready to help our users
  • We already communicated those issues which we believe could be useful for future development with your support team.
no comment. we are happy about this product.
November 01, 2021

Loving Cenerprise

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Centerprise to transform incoming files from vendors. The files are transformed and uploaded into our homegrown application. The files are dropped on a shared drive and then is picked up by Centerprise for processing.
  • Monitor folders for new files
  • Workflow processing
  • Data transformation
  • Excel Formatting
Centerprise is ideal for situations where you're receiving files that are formatted for internal use. Centerprise is an easy-to-use ETL tool that can be easily utilized by end-users.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to transform data from legacy systems to newer systems. It addresses the problem of moving data across the enterprise. It also provides centralized management of the jobs created for the transportation of this data. We use the graphical interface to include the business in the design of solutions.
  • Makes designing ETL jobs quick
  • Able to include business users in the design
  • Centralized job management
  • Job management interface could use some work
  • Some procedural functionality would help in certain situations
  • It would be nice for the complied package to detect the environment in which it's running; Prod, Test, Development, and use those parameters accordingly.
Designing and deploying low to medium complexity ETL process are easier to complete as compared to something like SSIS. But, I wouldn't design a full blown enterprise data warehouse with it. I don't think it's up to that level of complexity or performance.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it primarily for publishing to a data warehouse. Another production application creates and exchanges XML files with a federal regulatory agency, and as a 1-off, we are using Centerprise to validate an Oracle-to-SQLServer migration.
  • Of the six mid-tier ETL/DI tools I studied, Centerprise is the most intuitive to use.
  • Customer support is email-centric, but nonetheless solid. Astera happily does conference calls when the need arises.
  • Wide range of features.
  • Expression transformation uses SQL-ish (as opposed to Java-ish or MS-ish) commands. Simple to use, and select/paste helps.
  • Love the PowerCenter-style expression transformation.
  • Documentation explanations are in video and text format. While most explanations are relatively clear (or even very clear), in my opinion, the documentation is a bit haphazardly-organized. It takes me longer than I'd like to find something, although I usually do.
  • Look-ups transformation certainly works, but it could be more robust. (There are ways around that.)
It does not have the horsepower of much more expensive Fortune-200 tools like PowerCenter, Ab Initio, DataStage, and that ilk. And it is much too sophisticated and powerful for a mom/pop shop. Our organization is in the 500-1000 user range, so it's a good fit. It scales to organizations larger than ours—t's a matter of licensing more co-processing threads and having servers to support it. It supports a wide (and gradually growing) range of sources and targets. It's a good choice for combining the data of heterogeneous data sources.
I wish support was less email-centric, but I have to agree that response is adequately prompt, usually a few hours or less. They certainly are courteous, and they try hard to make sure that our questions are answered.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Astera Centerprise is being used by two teams that are responsible for onboarding data for new or existing customers. Those teams work in conjunction to ensure that proper workflows are set up to review and qualify the data prior to ingestion to our downstream systems. It has helped to centralize our data loading and transformation efforts, and provide visibility into data issues or patterns that we didn't have insight into before. Quality of data is key for our process, and we are TB scale, so performance and scalability were a factor as well.
  • Handles large volumes of data well!
  • Centralizes and simplifies data management loading!
  • Provides insight into data anomalies and patterns that weren't previously visible!
  • Like any tool, it has a learning curve and is somewhat proprietary in how they approach things.
  • It can be clunky to train others who aren't familiar with such tools or concepts, not so intuitive that it can be picked up by any engineer.
It handles large volumes of data well and has the ability to transform and play with data in ways you wouldn't even deem imaginable or necessary. However, that can sometimes be a bit overwhelming or cumbersome until you get used to the tool. However, compared to other comparable tools, it has a reasonable learning curve and can be picked up by an engineer that is used to handling and manipulating data.
I haven't had to use this much, but it has been great in the limited experience we have used it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Astera streamlines our data integration process by doing all the work through a workflow. It enables our analysts to connect to virtually any data source and combine, transform, and map data, including statistical and predictive tasks.
  • Supports numerous data sources.
  • Integration with AWS services.
  • Individual statistics per record.
  • Visualization intended for debugging.
  • Attractive user interface.
  • Streaming facilities.
  • There is no reusable JDBC configuration.
  • Processor configuration changes require stopping all data flow.
It is a software for the integration and replication of data in real-time in IT environments. The Astera Centerprise suite of products offers high availability, replication, data integration, and ETL process solutions operating in an end-to-end configuration.

We have chosen Astera because it helps us to have a very agile and functional operating environment and for its high performance in data processing both in parallel and with scalability.
April 30, 2020

Astera Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps us in the massive storage of data and the resolution of intelligence problems of our business. It simplifies complex integrations: Apache Spark, Databricks, Qubole, AWS, Snowflake, Google Cloud Platform and NoSQL ..., and offers us integrated data quality to transform big data into reliable information. It provides us with clean and filtered data structures, which are exploited by the different end-user tools, increasing the quality and value of data, and allowing the optimization of our decisions.
  • Ease of managing large volumes of data.
  • Good integration with Mainframe platforms.
  • The Data Stream Programming Concept is straightforward.
  • Good integration with Data Provenance and auditing.
  • Possibility of handling binary data.
  • Simple user interface.
  • Lack of statistics per processed record.
  • High resource consumption.
Astera provides SQL Server integration services to connect SQL Server to different databases, it also allows easy migration to data structures that guarantee data consistency, thus eliminating the risks that can occur when performing this type of operation.
It is a business platform focused on building and executing batch processes and streaming data flows. It can be deployed on premise and in the cloud and is ready to scale comfortably. Astera is divided into several components that can be configured and deployed separately.
It is a little-known tool but of extraordinary quality, with a diversified proposal in different versions that facilitates the generation of ETL processes and analytical design and reporting.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We streamline the transfer of our business data in file formats, securely and at scale, from local and cloud sources (Amazon S3, Azure Blob and HDFS) to data warehouses and data warehouses. We extract and transfer massive volumes of changed data from transactional systems to relational databases, avoiding redundancies by leaving intact unchanged data and storing it in the cloud. We update our databases and host the data on the spot.

  • Astera allows us to use connectors that support any type of data (structured, unstructured and complex), any pattern (between batches, ETL, ELT, real-time, Big Data processing, APIs, events and transmissions) and advanced functions such as optimization pushdown, data change capture, advanced search, partitioning and error handling.
  • We create very simple and complex data integration loads in a mapping designer with time-consuming advanced data integration as standard.
  • The software is available at all times and from virtually anywhere.
  • Using the built-in task wizards to replicate and synchronize batch data at scale we occasionally encounter design flaws.
It is an enterprise-grade solution that can be quickly deployed on-premises or in the cloud. The ability to containerize the application, along with its compatibility with Linux and Windows machines, makes it a truly platform-independent solution.
It is a software that allows a good and optimized integration without coding with hundreds of applications and data sources in the systems of the local environment in the cloud.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use the Astera Centprise and ReportMiner products to create automated scheduled tasks that: retrieve, extract, and process financial information for reports and data integration with other enterprise-level systems. We specifically use the ReportMiner product to extract data from a PDF format for easier integration with other systems. The Centprise product allows our business analyst to easily manage and create a custom workflow and models to automate the complex data integration between systems regardless of file formats.
  • Centerprise simplifies data modeling and workflow creation. The product has a very user-friendly UI, business users with no technical background need very little training.
  • Extracting data from a PDF and other proprietary formats.
  • The Centerprise product is very scalable and can handle robust volumes.
  • I would like to have integrated source control and better change management tools. Often workflows and data models are updated or modified and the history or original files are not tracked or easy to follow in the history.
  • Licensing a new instance can be difficult.
The Centprise product is very well suited for business analysts to easily manage and create custom workflows and models to automate complex data integration. The Astera products make extracting data from a PDF a simple and straight forward process, which makes ingestion and integration with other systems a breeze that simplifies workflows and complexity.
The customer support at Astera is amazing. The support team is always friendly, quick to respond, and very knowledgeable of the product and features. Mike O'Quinn went above and beyond and provided great technical assistance when we migrated to a new version of Centerprise. Munira Lalani was also very helpful in answering any licensing and product questions our team encountered.
April 29, 2020

Worth it!

Amanda Moede | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our data reporting and solutions team to create solutions and complete corrections to EDI issues that arise when submitting healthcare EDI files to the Wisconsin State Medicaid program. We also use this tool to load data to our SQL data warehouse so that all company SQL users have access to the data received from the state and other outside vendors.
  • Astera's customer service and help team are quick to respond and have always found solutions to my questions or problems. They also follow up after completing a support request to make sure everything was working correctly. If it's not something the current version allows, as far as functionality, they develop a solution for the next version because they assume if one company has that need that others will as well.
  • I've never lost touch with our sales representative. She checks in at least twice a year, if not more, to make sure that we are happy with their product and to see if we need anything. I've rarely needed anything, but when I did she made sure to have the correct person contact me regarding what I asked for and she followed up to make sure the request was resolved.
  • EDI is a very complex language and making any changes can cause errors in other areas that you aren't aware of. Astera Centerprise creates an environment that is much easier to understand than looking at a raw data file. The functionality allows us to make changes to each transaction within a file in under a minute with no errors created. Making these changes before we had Astera Centerprise took a week for one file. We can now get to more files to create clean data for the state and have reached 97% acceptance.
  • Centerprise's functionality can be applied at any level. It can be a broad change to an entire segment, or it can be a single digit that is changed. You can program the system to look for specific items within a file and change only the records that need to be changed. It can sequence items, it can remove items and it can add items when specifically programmed to. And if you run into a wall creating the program, Astera's help desk will help you get past it. And the program language used is easy to understand as well. If you understand functions in Microsoft Excel or SQL statements, you will be able to use this product.
  • When purchasing Astera Centerprise you are given options on how you would like to be trained and each option comes with a different price tag. We chose to be trained using online meetings over several days. The training went too fast and it was not always easy to understand until I started using the product.
  • I am a person that wants to learn how and why something works so that I can use the knowledge in the future. When contacting the support team they take the problem, create a solution for you and send it back. The solutions always work, but when I get the solution I have to review every field and function to understand how it works so that I can re-create it for another solution I need. I would much rather have the support team explain what I had done incorrectly and what they changed or I would like to find a solution with them instead of having it handed to me.
  • Astera uses license keys to allow their customers rights to only the functionality that was purchased. Each user and server has its own key and each key is only good for one year. There have been 2 different times that we received keys that had less functionality that we purchased. It wasn't until it created problems that we noticed and had to request new keys. This year our sales representative made sure she was available when we updated our keys so that if there was a problem she could fix it right away; however, there were not issues this year. I believe this is something they pay closer attention to now.
Astera Centerprise is specific to EDI files. From what I've seen it can be used on EDI files across multiple industries. We use it specifically for healthcare EDI files. We do not create any files using this software because we do not have that need at CCHP, but I know the software could be used for that. CCHP uses the software to correct EDI errors and to import EDI data to our SQL data warehouse. EDI files have a layered structure so they need to be broken down in order to be loaded into the data warehouse. Without this tool we would not be able to import the files. Also, with the layered structure, fields, segments, dependencies and hierarchy, making changes manually is both risky and time consuming. Centerprise reduces the amount of time used to correct files and removes the possibility of creating other errors.
Astera's support team responds quickly and will always provide a solution. If something is not understood they set up a quick conference call to get clarification. There has never been a time where they told me there was not solution to my issue. However, the solution is created by the support team and given to you without explanation of what was changed or what was done incorrectly to begin with. I need that knowledge to create other solutions in the future.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Astera allows us to monitor the database software at all times. It does not help to manage through data extraction, transformation and loading (ETL) tools. We monitor the disk usage of the database server. This allows us to track Big Data data at the moment and respond to our users and anticipate their needs.
  • It has a wide range of platforms, including Oracle, SQL Server, MySQL, PostgreSQL, and more.
  • Efficient workflow.
  • Granular coverage for each database platform.
  • Advanced SQL optimization.
  • Test of performance.
  • Real-time performance diagnostics.
  • Detection and protection of our confidential data.
  • Backing up the database takes a long time.
  • Testing backups to make sure the database can be recovered is difficult.
  • Recovering lost data in the event of an incident is time consuming.
Provides a single database schema fully managed by Astera. Simplify the management and integration of data from different sources thanks to the multiple ways it offers to load. Helps ensure data integrity and availability while improving efficiency by eliminating time-consuming tasks.

April 29, 2020

Astera Centerprise

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for syncing data between ecommerce solution and ERP system.
  • EDI integration.
  • API integration.
  • ETL batch updates.
  • No issues encountered so far.
Works well for our intended use which is for ETL, EDI integration and data sync workflows.
We can work directly with support/developers to address new enhancements to the software as well as general learning/troubleshooting.
April 29, 2020

Astera rocks!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using it in Data Migration project to move data from legacy applications to state of the art applications. It is being used by projects under the Data Migration programs. Being used to migrate HR data, CRM data, ERP data, etc.
Data Sources: Oracle DB, SQL Server DB, XML, CSV.
Targets: Oracle DB, XML
  • Very simple installation and configuration.
  • Easy to learn.
  • User Interface (UI) is very intuitive.
  • Simple licensing.
  • Expert product support services.
  • Performance with large dataset (50 million+ rows) can cause some issues. But there are ways to work around that.
  • Generating XML using CSV source - adding additional header elements in the XML was not available in the product. Needed to do some post processing. Should be included in the product feature.
  • Data Accuracy - 38 decimal places (i.e NUMBER data type in Oracle type) not supported by Astera in the version we used. Newer version may have addressed this issue
  • Needs more pre-built connectors for well-known cloud apps (Dynamics, SFDC etc.).
Small to Medium size companies, or even large companies (with not large volume of data, e.g. 50 million+ rows in data transformation) can very well use this tool. For any traditional batch ETL, Astera is the best (I have used SSIS, Informatica as well).

However, Astera may not best suited for real-time, API-based integration. One can make it work (it has REST/SOAP client), but it may not be as good as Mulesoft, etc.
Very prompt, pro-active, 24/7 support.
April 27, 2020

My Astera experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the software development department. We are using this for the ETL process to move and transform the data from one data source to another based on the business rules.
  • It is easy to use. Does not required too much technical background to learn.
  • It can quickly transfer the data across different data sources as it supports the multi-thread processes.
  • It supports many different data sources.
  • Better support for SQLite, as it is only partially support it.
  • Supporting the spatial functions. For example, connection SDE or geo databases.
  • More user-friendly error message reporting.
If you are working with the large data and try to do validation/transformation, this is good to have. Also, if you do not have a programming or database background, I think you will find this is very easy to use. I think you can use this to do any data validation and massage with it.
I like their support a lot. They are quick. Normally, I get a response back within one or two hours, which other companies cannot do. Also, I can see they are trying hard to help us to resolve the issues. They even spend the time to create the example projects for us to help us understand and fix the issue.
Ashwin Marwah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business intelligence group uses it to run our ETLs to pull data from over 10 source systems to our enterprise data warehouse. We also use it to generate data feeds to other systems from EDW.
  • Simplistic in standing up a complex ETL process in days.
  • Low maintenance.
  • Fast execution time.
  • Better normalization functions.
  • Shouldn't have to adjust to daylight savings.
Low maintenance, quick and easy development.
May need better response time.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Astera Centerprise currently is used in two of our sub companies. Centerprise plays the major role in integrating Microsoft Dynamics AX, Salesforce and other in-house built applications.
  • It offers simplicity in building simple to medium integrations really fast.
  • The integration flows are mostly easy to read and hence can be shown to and understood by many non-technical people.
  • Any kind of feasible built-in security framework was something that was badly missing up till version 8. And even in version 8 it is still doing just the first baby steps. More effort should be invested from Astera to build a secure framework ideally with Active Directory integration.
  • Better debugging options are needed. Sometimes the flows are failing and it is hard to trace the problem. Ideally we could have a debugger that step by step highlights the elements in the flow and thus shows where the data is currently being transformed in that step (just like when you debug source code).
Astera Centerprise works well with all kinds of file interactions, with several native connectors, with web services... It has a great benefit of being simple to read and hence for building simple flows and for troubleshooting simple to medium flows, you don't even need someone with deep Centerprise knowledge - many advanced business analysts and consultants should be able to read and act on simple Astera flows, so you don't always need a developer for such tasks.

On the topic of less appropriate usage scenarios - we have seen Astera struggling with vast amounts of data. Also if you have a huge system architecture, there is a good chance that some of the systems will not have any kind of native connectors. When compared to competition, Centerprise is definitely not that rich in terms of native connector collection for different systems. Should you choose Astera Centerprise, for some target systems you might need to opt for workarounds with webservice calls or file exchange to set up your interfaces.
Support has been great so far. In most of the cases the response was there in just a few hours. Also all the reported problems have been solved up till now. A definite 9+ for support service!
May 24, 2018

Great data tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Centerprise is an integration tool we use for data manipulation and transfer. The tool makes it easy to transform database data from one endpoint and deliver it to another. This is an excellent tool that makes things like writing hard long SQL scripts into just a click and drag press the go button and done process. Centerprise saves us a huge amount of time when integrating legacy databases data into our application.
  • Slick drag and drop UI is easy to learn and get started with
  • Customer service is friendly and responsed quickly
  • Large array of built in functions makes data manipulation easy
  • Sometimes when previewing the data output or even running complex dataflows it can take a long time.
  • Occasionally crashes after long use
  • Could use some more functions like row number
Great for anything with databases. Moving data from one table to another, one database to another you name it. You can even pull data out of text files. Really can be used for big and small projects. I wouldn't use it for things I can do faster in SQL but overall I would use this for almost everything.
Andre Beaumont | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a large federally qualified health center that serves approximately 70,000 patients per year. Recently we began implementing a data warehouse and analytics platform, and have started a project to integrate our electronic health record system into other systems. Centerprise Data Integrator has become an essential toolkit for us in translating and moving our data. We use this as our main ETL tool to load our data warehouse from a variety of sources. We also use the product to transfer semi-structure data from Citrix SecureForms into our electronic health record system. We are able to develop tablet-based electronic forms that a patient can fill out, and then use Centerprise Data Integrator to validate the data and load it directly into the patient's chart. This saves on the overhead involved in paper processes. Since the tool is so user-friendly, we have multiple teams and users that do not have a extensive SQL or SSIS training creating high quality solutions.
  • The user friendly interface to develop integration packages means that you don't need to be highly trained in SQL code.
  • There is a huge variety of out-of-box functions, translations, and connectors. This means you can get up and running with using these different components right away.
  • Centerprise Data Integrator can mine data from unstructured and semi-structured data sources like pdf files and csv's. It means that virtually anything you have can be moved into a SQL database or fed into other systems.
  • Centerprise Support has been excellent and responsive to our needs.
  • We had some issues in getting the software running with their licensing model on our Citrix Desktop. They were very helpful in working with us on this issue.
  • With any product that creates SQL code in the background, I am skeptical of how optimized that will be for our specific environment. We have not yet had problems related to this, but customers may want to monitor closely.
  • They do not yet seem to have a large customer base and robust user community.
Centerprise Data Integrator is well-suited for creating ETL packages to load a data warehouse. The product makes it easy to insert data in a variety of ways into a SQL table. It can create a new table-structure, append to existing tables, or reload data in any number of ways. If an organization is already highly skilled in SSIS, this may not be the product for you, but if you're just getting started in having a data warehouse as business practice, this may make the implementation faster and easier for your IT team. You may also find that its easy enough to use that you don't need extensive IT training to use it. We've also found that Data Integrator makes a useful bridge between various database applications. We can easily use it to create automated scripts that run, or to transfer data between systems. Without a team of highly trained software developers, some of these options would've been out of reach for us.