Oracle Autonomous Database Reviews

33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 10, 2020
Johnny Wu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Database is used by our central IT organization to support a number of enterprise / administrative systems. It provides a managed cloud solution to provision, manage, backup and patch the DBs. It can also scale up or down easily to meet workloads. The idea is to free up DBA resources from doing operational tasks and provides a high of level of consistency and availability across our environment.
  • Significantly reduces the amount to provision a new database
  • All routine tasks (installation / patching / backup / scaling) are handled by the DB-as-a-service.
  • Built-in security framework that prevents unauthorized access.
  • Provide out-of-the box High Availability and DR.
  • There is no access to the physical host of the DB. This is expected from a managed DB. Everything must be done through the console or via API calls. This is a new learning curve for the DBAs.
  • Due to the lack of physical host access, certain features are not supported, such as Transportable tablespaces and Oracle LogMiner.
  • Certain special data types, (such as XMLType) are not allowed; be sure the app vendor certifies their product on this platform.
[Oracle Autonomous Database] is well suited if you already have an vested interest in the Oracle Cloud, since Autonomous Database will closely integrate into the Oracle Cloud. It will able to deliver faster, simplified, and consistent Oracle deployments. On the other hand, if you're currently using another Cloud provider such as AWS or Microsoft Azure and has no plan to change in the near-term, it's probably not a good idea to invest in the Oracle Cloud. Multi-Cloud integration strategies are often more costly and often have architectural design issues and/or incompatibilities that will be difficult to overcome.
Read Johnny Wu's full review
December 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have explored Oracle Autonomous Database features using our cloud credits.
  • It is very easy to spin up
  • Easy to manage
  • Reliability and security
  • Better support
  • Affortability
  • Response
Oracle Autonomous Database is very well suited for online transaction processing but may be less appropriate for large scale enterprise analytics systems including unstructured data.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2019
Manish Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Oracle Autonomous Database for quite sometime now. It has been a very good overall experience. Oracle Autonomous Database has been widely used across the board with multiple applications and he overall performance is great. Oracle Autonomous Database helps the organization, provides a great way to hold the data and the retrieval is simple as well.
  • Robust - this product doesn't have a lot of downtime. It's less prone to errors than some other tools I've worked with.
  • Scalable - we can keep adding more things to it. We haven't hit any roadblocks when we've tried to do more with our database.
  • Performance - this is true of a lot of databases as you grow. As you get bigger, the performance of the database takes a hit.
Oracle Autonomous Database supports and provides a great deal of data analytics features. It helps with simpler application development and provides fraud detection.
Read Manish Garg's full review
November 20, 2019
Michael Hu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We integrate it as SaaS solution for others.
  • Autonomy is the key to this product.
  • Serverless saves you money.
  • Smooth usage for the same UI.
  • DB should provide private IP rather than public IP only.
  • It should provide one-click to import from other DB rather than using object storage.
If you want DB as service, this is the best. It has better pricing with great performance due to its serverless mode, meaning no pay if no use. However if you don't need a large relational database or have a legacy DB application, another non-SQL DB might be a better option.
Read Michael Hu's full review
September 16, 2019
Thomas Lam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is by our IT department to support cloud users logins and to collect data to learn user behavior and adjustment of login hours.
  • Very robust and adaptive to changing conditions.
  • Easy to manage.
  • SImplified procedure for backup and load balance.
  • Reporting capability can be improved.
  • Remote users from smartphones need to be supported.
Oracle Autonomous Database is well-suited for large amounts of users.
Read Thomas Lam's full review
September 16, 2019
Sergiy Slobodyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Stores data for a big organization that delivers excellence, security, and performance to the end-users, so that they can achieve their goals faster and easier. We want to utilize an autonomous database so we don't have to worry about burdens like patching and maintenance.
  • Performance
  • Analytics
  • Patching
  • Maintenance
  • Network speed
  • Reliability
  • Affordability
No need for patching, no need for updates. It's always up-to-date. It saves a lot of money because there is no need to pay for database engineers and other clouds to support databases. It is easy to replicate and duplicate databases. We like it for provisioning new databases and replicating old databases. Would like to see more innovation in this field.
Read Sergiy Slobodyan's full review
September 16, 2019
Maiwand Ludin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has been very helpful for our company's internet banking as well as mobile banking.
  • Stability.
  • Memory optimization.
  • Administration.
  • Indexing and archiving could be better.
Autonomous Database gives us easy administration and great customization.
Read Maiwand Ludin's full review
September 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Database is used to host different applications databases including ERP, Human Resources, Pension Information system and other smaller systems. We faced some issues related to Oracle Autonomous Database performance during the last year and would like to get benefit of Oracle Autonomous Database self tuning and added management features. We think that this new version is really solve the performance issues.
  • Memory Management.
  • Storage Management.
  • Performance Tuning.
  • Integration with other storage providers.
  • Training.
Oracle Autonomous Database is good when you need the database to tune itself, create resource plans and gives indexing recommendations. Storage management is also important aspect that Oracle Autonomous Database is providing. We used to have an error messages when one table space is full, or the users are disconnected from the system when the memory is full. I think that this database is appropriate and more features are very welcome.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Database has been able to solve our RDBMS needs with performance, scale and stability. It contains all the required enterprise features like RAC, Golden Gate and Data Guard. This helps us getting the zero data loss and active/active solutions. The partitioning feature is great for solving data retention and scale problems.
  • Active Active
  • Auto Indexing
  • Partitioning
  • Simplicity of operations
Simplicity is missing big time.
Read this authenticated review
November 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our organisation and we have also implemented it for our customers. It is the next generation automated aspect of creating and managing things. From setup to operation, patching and performing tuning , the whole gamut of administration is automated thereby making it a robust DB system.
  • It is purely autonomous.
  • All maintenance tasks are taken care of by Oracle.
  • Better performance.
  • System is robust and resides on Exadata platform.
  • Monitoring console is also provided. Least intrusive by an external DBA.
  • Different modes of connections are available - high, medium, low, TP, TP Urgent, making it easier to select the connection service to the DB and making for optimum use of resources.
  • Autonomous DB integration with PeopleSoft. Issues noticed in the application.
  • More flexibility of user access to DB OS.
  • External connections using DB link is not possible .
  • Appears sophisticated as a majority of the controls reside with Oracle in terms of security, patching, maintenance, tuning. Less responsibility to a proficient DBA.
Oracle is easy to use and not many resources are required. The base version is available free.
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Oracle Autonomous Database in our innovations department in order to ensure maximum uptime and performance of our database solution via automation. Our business goal is to save money by reducing the number of database administrators. The more we use it, the more it becomes obvious that the whole organization will greatly benefit from introducing the autonomous database.
  • Great uptime and performance of the database engine.
  • Number of manual management tasks reduced.
  • Security fixes and updates can be deployed with no downtime.
  • Self-driving database is a new concept that has not been present on the market for too long.
  • Administrators have to learn to use their expertise to higher-level functionalities.
Perfect choice if growing or shrinking compute or memory resources are needed. Works well if high reliability and high availability are necessary to minimize planned or unplanned downtime which is often the case for enterprise type of products. For smaller projects, classic relational databases will be enough and will perform efficiently with a limited number of database administrators.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, the Oracle Autonomous Database is being used to run most of our frontend systems for our ticketing and team management systems. They are all running on Linux based systems using the Oracle Database to store all our data. We are using it across the whole organization for tracking tasks and getting the word out about our event and the community work we do. We use it to address the speed necessary in querying massive collections along with running our servers as a whole.
  • Speed
  • Huge Collections
  • Reliability
  • Cost
Online stability of our platforms and overall process speeds. We have been able to use Oracles solutions in a wide range of places and it has made a massively positive impact on our day to day usage. Along with that, the sheer speed we have on parsing our databases is immensely positive.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Autonomous DB to provide the most secure DB to our banking customers as we move from an on-prem to hosted solution. We have also noticed significant improvement in the efficiency of our DBA team running the solution as we no longer have to run manual tasks.
  • Security
  • Efficiency
  • Credibility
  • Training DBA's to use new tools
  • Communicating internally value prop to management team
Best suited to high intensity applications with loads of data managed on the instance that will also be high risk transactional data. Suggest this is used to give banks the guarantee that the solution we provide hosted will hold the requirements for legal reasons. Less suited for low latency situations.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The database is used for central storage of corporate data for multiple departments across the organization. The problem it solves is to consolidate disparate data from the organization. I design applications and approaches for our development team. With my teammate, we come up with approaches for data modeling.
  • Simple data retrieval using standard SQL
  • Capable of supporting many simultaneous users/connections
  • Fast loading of data in batch processing
  • Improved connection abandonment detection would be useful. I occasionally encounter situations where a query becomes unresponsive due to deadlock, volume of data being queried, or other. It would be beneficial if there were better support for client-side cancellation events.
The database is very well suited for online transaction processing as well as offline batch processing. It may be less appropriate for large scale analytics when using the same data models used for OLTP.
Read this authenticated review
September 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle autonomous database is being used by our organization in all environments, like dev.qa and prod. The capabilities are yet to be tested in all aspects, and we are evaluating the product and planning to upgrade all of our Oracle 11g and 12c databases to 19c in the next couple of quarters.
  • Availability.
  • Scalability.
  • Autonomous.
  • Good transactional and data warehouse processing database.
  • It's easy to implement.
  • TDE integrations: today TDE set up needs a lot of environmental setup, and with different configurations, like cdb, pdb, data guard, and golden gate. The product should integrate the TDE by default into the product, and also the Golden Gate is a separate install which also should be integrated, and people will decide based on the use.
Oracle is good OLTP and DSS, but this product needs to improve in the IN-Memory and NO SQL areas. They should make patching easy. With the current process, applying patches has been such that every time we apply a patch, we need to request a new patch for the current version, and then keep repeating this every time, and this needs to be improved. The patch utilities should have the ability to roll back the patches or skip the conflicts and continue forward without human intervention.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using for our OLTP system and for our patient data and information. Since it is our core database, we look for a high performing system, which is our Autonomous database. Our various databases range from 10 TB to 25 TB and Autonomous database helps with providing superior performance.
  • Performance tuning.
  • Automatic index creation.
  • Backup.
  • Patching.
  • Provide APIs for interacting with databases.
  • Ability to port GCP.
Oracle Autonomous Database is good for online transaction processing systems. It is well suited for mission-critical applications. Suited for applications where performance is most important. I like the many automated features like patching, backup, and optimization. I don't think it is well-suited for warehouses in the range of 25 Terabytes and up in size.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Oracle Autonomous Database in our in house applications. Oracle Autonomous Database is currently being used for a certain department and we definitely looking forward to using it company wide. It's for daily application based processes that involve users to go online and content managed applications that requires users to lookup some data live.
  • Self patching.
  • Version update.
  • Maintenance tasks.
  • User management.
  • Single sign on.
Oracle Autonomous Database is good if you to try out a solution that need short term resources like a new feature in database. It has new application functionality that can be used for short term before implementing into the solution provider site or in real time. The solution offers will are good when used.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Autonomous Database is secure and highly easy to use and is a great database product. Complex yet fast, Oracle Autonomous Database gives access to data needed to handle the organization business needs. It provides users with easy mapping, link and join on query and informative reports. The database schema divides in a way to meet business and security needs.
  • Easy data extracts.
  • Fast data returns.
  • Systematic database structure design.
  • It is a complex database.
  • Support is not as easy.
  • Troubleshooting is not as easy.
When users have limited database knowledge, it is difficult to get started accessing the business data they need. For sensitive data filtering, Oracle Autonomous Database may need to have more skills on implementing the security data access. The company needs to have strict data access policy that limits the uses of the database access power for users.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It does solve simple database admin tasks, which otherwise would need manual operation work. Index creation accepting better plans is something which can be automated and has been finally automated.
  • Access path advisors
  • Allow more than 30 characters for object names
Good for read heavy databases but not so perfect on OLTP databases where auto index creation can break app. Some mission critical apps are not the best use case.
Read this authenticated review

Oracle Autonomous Database Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Version control tools (13)
6.4
Test data generation (15)
6.0
Performance optimization tools (18)
7.9
Schema maintenance (17)
7.5
Database change management (16)
7.0
User management (18)
6.9
Database security (18)
8.0
Database status reporting (18)
7.2
Change management (17)
6.1

What is Oracle Autonomous Database?

Oracle Autonomous Database provides a self-driving, self-securing, self-repairing cloud service that eliminate the overhead and human errors associated with database administration. Oracle Autonomous Database takes care of configuration, tuning, backup, patching, upgrading, encryption, scaling, and more. It allows customers to innovate more, pay less, and ensure that their data is more secure.

Oracle Autonomous Database supports workload-optimized cloud services with multiple deployment choices Shared, Dedicated and Cloud@Customer:
  • Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse: ADW uses adaptive machine learning to deliver unprecedented simplicity, performance, and highly elastic data management that enables data warehouse deployment in seconds.
  • Oracle Autonomous Transaction Processing: ATP provides simpler application development, real-time analytics, personalization, and fraud detection for complex mix of high-performance transactions, batch reporting, and Internet of Things (IoT) applications.
  • Oracle Autonomous JSON Database: AJD makes it simple to develop JSON-centric applications with document APIs, serverless scaling and high performance ACID transactions. AJD offers comprehensive security, low latency CRUD operations and low pay-per-use pricing.
Oracle Autonomous Database offers customers multiple deployment choices: Shared, Dedicated, Cloud@Customer

For more information please visit:
Oracle Autonomous Database

Oracle Autonomous Database Features

Database Development Features

Has featurePerformance optimization tools
Has featureSchema maintenance

Database Administration Features

Has featureUser management
Has featureDatabase security
Has featureDatabase status reporting
Additional Features
Has featureReal Application Clusters for scale-out, failover, and online patching
Has featureActive Data Guard for database aware Disaster Recovery
Has featureParallel SQL for high throughput
Has featureDatabase Containers for agility
Has featureDatabase In-Memory for high performance
Has featureTransparent Database Encryption for data protection
Has featureDatabase Vault for role separation
Has featureScaling via the REST APIs or via the built-in Auto-Scale feature
Has featureRolling Upgrades without downtime and Application Continuity for seamless session execution
Has featureAutomatic Database Backups and Supplemental Database Backups
Has featureAutomatic Security Updates, Encryption Key Management,Auditing Database Access
Has featureProactive Fault Detection and Resolution of both hardware and software

Oracle Autonomous Database Screenshots

Oracle Autonomous Database Videos (3)

Oracle Autonomous Database Downloadables

Oracle Autonomous Database Integrations

Oracle Autonomous Database Competitors

Oracle Autonomous Database Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Oracle Autonomous Database Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

Oracle Autonomous Database Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global