TrustRadius
Amazon Aurora is a MySQL compatible relational database system from Amazon Web Services.great RDBMS that can scale up and replicate very wellI use Amazon Aurora as a relational database in the cloud in the aws eco-system mainly as a SQL data-store for transaction analytics. Find it really superior for its sheer faster performance as a relational data base - much faster than a traditional RDBMS data base and is much cheaper than some its competitors. It is offered as 'database as a service' and hence the worries of finding hardware to provision is not there and can get quickly started.,used as a supplement to mySQL database in the business for SQL sheer power of performance is much faster supports data growth/data storage and having replicas of databases very well,ability to read faster from the replicas in the event that there is a problem with Amazon Aurora - there is a latency involved and this can be reduced supports only a particular version of mySQl 5.16.10 and hence does not work with older versions,9,good RDBMS at a much cheaper price than some of the older/bigger competitors able to support large workloads,,Apache Kafka, Hadoop, SAP HANAAmazon Aurora ReviewAmazon Aurora is a PaaS database product from AWS that is a drop-in replacement for existing workloads utilizing either a MySQL or PostgreSQL backend that improves upon the database engine performance of those open source projects. We leverage Aurora for its simple scaling without having to take a cluster down, and find its auto-scaling storage to be a better fit for our workloads than having to guess ahead of time and over-provision.,Performance: We utilize Aurora as a PostgreSQL replacement, and Aurora's throughput is up to 3 times higher. Simple Instance Auto-Scaling: We can scale the underlying database engine up or down with no down time. Auto-Growing Storage: Rather than having to over-provision, Aurora automatically adds blocks of 10GB to your storage cluster up to multiple terabytes of storage.,Support for additional engines: Right now, Aurora is limited to MySQL and PostgreSQL. PostgreSQL-specific Instance Types: The PostgreSQL has high minimum instance type variants; while MySQL can take advantage of t3 instances, the minimum PostgreSQL instance is too large for lower-budget workflows and tests/debugging.,9,Has enabled us to not pay for over provisioned database storage that we may or may not need thanks to auto-scaling features. Per-second replica ability gives us peace of mind.,Amazon Relational Database Service,Amazon Relational Database Service, MongoDB Atlas, FirebaseAmazon's opensource relational database serviceAmazon Aurora is a relational database as a service which supports MySQL and Postgres DBs on AWS. My organization uses a lot of serverless features on AWS for developing microservices. In this regard, we use AWS Lambda for microservices and Amazon Aurora for a relational database. This is a lightweight maintenance-less option of providing microservices without having to maintain the infrastructure including AMI rehydrations on AWS.,Aurora is a relational database as a service on AWS which is MySQL and Postgres compatible. So if you are looking for a serverless option which going through need to host and manage a database then Aurora as a service is great. It is a simple and cost-effective open source database which is much cheaper than a normal database cost. Hence very efficient for microservices database where you do not need one very large centralized database but many small databases that are available and low latency. Aurora provides high performance and low latency. Last year they also announced multi-master in the same region and read replicas in multiple regions. This is very convenient if you are trying to design and build a highly reliable application.,Just like AWS DynamoDB which is a not a SQL solution and is truly a global DB, it would be great if AWS Aurora can become a global DB. What that means is that it is multi-region multi-master. That way writes to different regions of AWS would all be in sync and available in replicas on different regions.,9,The costs of Aurora is 5x and 3x less than RDS MySql and Postgres on AWS. Hence tremendous cost savings. Bring up your database in a matter of minutes. This is very crucial for quick solutions on the cloud. Best suited for serverless backend solutions for microservices. Highly secure for banking applications with AWS KMS.,Amazon Relational Database Service, PostgreSQL and MySQL,Amazon Relational Database Service, Kubernetes, DatadogA Serverless Future for a Database from the PastThe engineering team uses Amazon Aurora Serverless to rapidly build services that are inexpensive to operate and maintain. Aurora Serverless is an ideal datastore for low-volume or bursty services that can tolerate its cold starts; services consumed by batch jobs are an example. Amazon Aurora Serverless is a fast MySQL 5.6-compatible datastore; it helps our small team because it is managed and very inexpensive.,Aurora's throughput is great compared to MySQL and MariaDB. Aurora Serverless's pay-per-use makes it very inexpensive when used for services that are idle most of the day. This helps us adhere to the one-database-per-microservice pattern; cost is no longer a concern. Aurora is mostly managed. Administering databases will never be a competitive advantage for my company. Aurora has great integration with other AWS products, like DMS.,Cold-starts are part of the Aurora Serverless compromise, but they are painful nonetheless. We're accustomed to sub-second metering for AWS Lambda; Aurora Serverless has 1-minute minimums for resources. Aurora Serverless is compatible with MySQL 5.6. MySQL 5.6 lacks many of the features PostgreSQL users will expect.,9,Aurora Serverless has allowed us to inexpensively implement best-practices for our microservices architecture. Aurora is mostly managed; our engineers can focus on features instead of database administration. Aurora is capable of high throughput. Speed is not our first priority, but we still benefit from it.,Amazon Relational Database Service, Amazon DynamoDB, MySQL, MariaDB and PostgreSQL,MySQL, PostgreSQL, PyCharmGreat performance and easy transition from MySQLWe use Amazon Aurora as our primary data store which underlies the bulk of our system operations - primarily via web APIs. Its used beneath a PHP stack as a MySQL compatible cluster in a master-slave configuration. We also have master-only clusters for our development and test environments.,The MySQL compatibility meant we didn't have to change anything in our system which used to run on a MySQL database. It was a very simple configuration change to point at the new instance once set up Much better performance than our previous MySQL database (hosted on AWS RDS) for lower costs due to the way storage is managed Storage management is much more simple as it grows and shrinks with you without having to allocate and deallocate storage to the database,Without direct access to the instances it isn't possible to do a few things you'd be able to do if you were running your own database server, but this is rarely an issue,10,Moderately reduced database running costs Improved performance of database cluster which in turn has had a positive impact on the response times of our API services,Amazon RDS, Amazon Relational Database Service and MySQL,AWS Lambda, AWS OpsWorks, Amazon API Gateway, Amazon CloudFront, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon ElastiCache
Unspecified
Amazon Aurora
47 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Amazon Aurora Reviews

Amazon Aurora
47 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 47 vetted Amazon Aurora reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Shiv Shivakumar profile photo
December 14, 2018

Amazon Aurora Review: "great RDBMS that can scale up and replicate very well"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Amazon Aurora as a relational database in the cloud in the aws eco-system mainly as a SQL data-store for transaction analytics. Find it really superior for its sheer faster performance as a relational data base - much faster than a traditional RDBMS data base and is much cheaper than some its competitors. It is offered as 'database as a service' and hence the worries of finding hardware to provision is not there and can get quickly started.
  • used as a supplement to mySQL database in the business for SQL
  • sheer power of performance is much faster
  • supports data growth/data storage and having replicas of databases very well
  • ability to read faster from the replicas in the event that there is a problem with Amazon Aurora - there is a latency involved and this can be reduced
  • supports only a particular version of mySQl 5.16.10 and hence does not work with older versions
It works very well with mySQL and can supplement it very nicely with much faster performance and its ability to scale up as well as replicate data across multiple clusters. In addition it is very well suited for large workloads of an enterprise that is looking to get up and running quickly on a managed RDBMS service without worrying about licenses/provisioning and the like.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
No photo available
March 11, 2019

"Amazon Aurora Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Aurora is a PaaS database product from AWS that is a drop-in replacement for existing workloads utilizing either a MySQL or PostgreSQL backend that improves upon the database engine performance of those open source projects. We leverage Aurora for its simple scaling without having to take a cluster down, and find its auto-scaling storage to be a better fit for our workloads than having to guess ahead of time and over-provision.
  • Performance: We utilize Aurora as a PostgreSQL replacement, and Aurora's throughput is up to 3 times higher.
  • Simple Instance Auto-Scaling: We can scale the underlying database engine up or down with no down time.
  • Auto-Growing Storage: Rather than having to over-provision, Aurora automatically adds blocks of 10GB to your storage cluster up to multiple terabytes of storage.
  • Support for additional engines: Right now, Aurora is limited to MySQL and PostgreSQL.
  • PostgreSQL-specific Instance Types: The PostgreSQL has high minimum instance type variants; while MySQL can take advantage of t3 instances, the minimum PostgreSQL instance is too large for lower-budget workflows and tests/debugging.
For workloads that already use, or plan on using, MySQL or PostgreSQL, Aurora is our new go-to favorite deployment option for projects on AWS. The best use cases for Aurora will be substantial workloads that are well-suited to the simple scaling controls (both from an instance type perspective, as well as storage perspective), and will benefit from Aurora's simple, very low latency read replicas. Aurora is extremely fault tolerant and has improved self-healing ability.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 08, 2019

Amazon Aurora Review: "Amazon's opensource relational database service"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Aurora is a relational database as a service which supports MySQL and Postgres DBs on AWS.
My organization uses a lot of serverless features on AWS for developing microservices. In this regard, we use AWS Lambda for microservices and Amazon Aurora for a relational database.

This is a lightweight maintenance-less option of providing microservices without having to maintain the infrastructure including AMI rehydrations on AWS.
  • Aurora is a relational database as a service on AWS which is MySQL and Postgres compatible. So if you are looking for a serverless option which going through need to host and manage a database then Aurora as a service is great.
  • It is a simple and cost-effective open source database which is much cheaper than a normal database cost. Hence very efficient for microservices database where you do not need one very large centralized database but many small databases that are available and low latency.
  • Aurora provides high performance and low latency. Last year they also announced multi-master in the same region and read replicas in multiple regions. This is very convenient if you are trying to design and build a highly reliable application.
  • Just like AWS DynamoDB which is a not a SQL solution and is truly a global DB, it would be great if AWS Aurora can become a global DB. What that means is that it is multi-region multi-master. That way writes to different regions of AWS would all be in sync and available in replicas on different regions.
Many places where Aurora is well suited:

  • If you are trying to build a serverless backend.
  • Amazon hosted relational database service (RDS). So we do not have to manage the database maintenance.
  • Backup and archival can be done to AWS S3, which is very convenient.
  • It provides high performance and scalability.
  • It's very secure. You could use AWS Key management service (KMS) to encrypt and store data on AWS Aurora.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 17, 2019

Amazon Aurora Review: "A Serverless Future for a Database from the Past"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The engineering team uses Amazon Aurora Serverless to rapidly build services that are inexpensive to operate and maintain. Aurora Serverless is an ideal datastore for low-volume or bursty services that can tolerate its cold starts; services consumed by batch jobs are an example. Amazon Aurora Serverless is a fast MySQL 5.6-compatible datastore; it helps our small team because it is managed and very inexpensive.
  • Aurora's throughput is great compared to MySQL and MariaDB.
  • Aurora Serverless's pay-per-use makes it very inexpensive when used for services that are idle most of the day. This helps us adhere to the one-database-per-microservice pattern; cost is no longer a concern.
  • Aurora is mostly managed. Administering databases will never be a competitive advantage for my company.
  • Aurora has great integration with other AWS products, like DMS.
  • Cold-starts are part of the Aurora Serverless compromise, but they are painful nonetheless.
  • We're accustomed to sub-second metering for AWS Lambda; Aurora Serverless has 1-minute minimums for resources.
  • Aurora Serverless is compatible with MySQL 5.6. MySQL 5.6 lacks many of the features PostgreSQL users will expect.
Amazon Aurora Serverless is great for micro-services and serverless. If DynamoDB's pricing structure and management appeal to you, but you want a RDBMS, consider Amazon Aurora Serverless. If you have a microservices architecture and are apprehensive about the cost of one-RDS-instance-per-service for every test cluster, consider Amazon Aurora Serverless. Aurora MySQL lacks many features you'd expect from PostgreSQL; the absence of these features may be more tolerable for OLTP use-cases than OLAP use-cases.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Raines profile photo
April 20, 2018

Amazon Aurora Review: "Great performance and easy transition from MySQL"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Aurora as our primary data store which underlies the bulk of our system operations - primarily via web APIs. Its used beneath a PHP stack as a MySQL compatible cluster in a master-slave configuration. We also have master-only clusters for our development and test environments.
  • The MySQL compatibility meant we didn't have to change anything in our system which used to run on a MySQL database. It was a very simple configuration change to point at the new instance once set up
  • Much better performance than our previous MySQL database (hosted on AWS RDS) for lower costs due to the way storage is managed
  • Storage management is much more simple as it grows and shrinks with you without having to allocate and deallocate storage to the database
  • Without direct access to the instances it isn't possible to do a few things you'd be able to do if you were running your own database server, but this is rarely an issue
When already using a relational database, either MySQL or PostgreSQL, the change to Amazon Aurora should be very straightforward. The main benefits you get are cost efficiency and ease with regards to the storage, as it scales with you, and managing clusters including failovers are made very straightforward for you.

If you are looking for a database which can scale up and down quickly with demand, Aurora may not be the best fit. However, there is now an Amazon Aurora Serverless service which attempts to address this requirement. I do not have any experience with it, so cannot comment further - but it is possible it will fit your use-case.
Read Andrew Raines's full review
Vasco Mendes profile photo
October 26, 2017

Review: "Amazon Aurora - A Boost on Standard MySQL"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cloud services are the trend. No infrastructure costs and no worries. Cloud databases are also the trend, as they can be easily scalable and upgraded.

As a senior consultant I recently configured an Amazon Aurora database to serve as the back-end of an organization software. This software included a main server providing services for mobile applications and also as a back-office web application to manage transaction information. These services relied on the Amazon Aurora database to collect and save information. Customer needed a database accessible from everywhere, with high availability, fast, always up to date and scalable as it was expected the business to grow as well as its storage needs. The Amazon Aurora turned out to be a stable solution with high performance when compared with in-house solutions like MySQL.
  • Amazon Aurora has high availability, since the customer started to use it, the database never had to be left out of service.
  • Amazon Aurora provides frequent and automated upgrades, which makes our database system always up to date on the latest features and security practices
  • Since Amazon Aurora uses MySQL as its core database, it is very easy to find specialized people to work. Amazon’s relational database management system also makes it very easy to expand and create new databases
  • The cost of Amazon Aurora when compared to a simple MySQL instance is considerably higher, so we really need to look at and run some performance tests to compare if the performance improvements are worth the extra cost.
  • Although backup restores are a rare feature to use, when we need them it is always painful to restore our data. We are always searching for a database service to provide new and innovating features in terms of data recovery. For instance, being able to search on backup information to see if the needed data is there. It is a very common need to compare the hot data with the backup data, for example to fix some database data that a malfunction application wrongly updated.
  • Since aurora is an Amazon relational database service there is no way to run a dev database on a local storage for tests and development.
Amazon Aurora should be considered for those who need a fast and reliable cloud database service. It includes the main features of a MySQL database, using the latest trends in architectural principals. It ensures out-of-the-box fault-tolerance and high scalability. It is also very important for those who don’t want to worry about features and security updates. As the price is higher than a standard MySQL for instance, it should only be considered for higher applications where performance and scalability is really important.
Read Vasco Mendes's full review
No photo available
May 02, 2017

Review: "Using Amazon Aurora to better your software and development team!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Aurora is used by my organization as the backend for our software. Previously, we hosted our own MySQL servers which inevitably due to lack of resources ran behind on updates and thus performed more poorly than it should. Moving to Amazon Aurora has improved performance for a database that was poorly designed at the start and was operating on a slowly outdated MySQL version. Moving to Amazon Aurora not only improved performance, but allows my company to continue with fewer resources but yet have the advantage of a database that is more stable and stays up to date with the latest features. Since moving to Amazon Aurora, we also have fewer replication errors since Aurora does this flawlessly.
  • Automated maintenance for upgrades is by far the most superior feature of Amazon Aurora. Never be behind on upgrades again!
  • Performance improvements for poorly structured schema due to enhancements added by Amazon.
  • Replication works flawlessly due to added security measures added into Amazon Aurora which prevents admin users from "accidentally" breaking the slave instance.
  • Amazon Aurora is hosted on Amazon's RDBMS which also includes quick and easy setup of new database instances.
  • I'd like to see Amazon Aurora get ahead of the curve on MySQL and introduce their own improvements to MySQL to make it a superior database so that I don't need to use SQL Server or Oracle to get performance improvements. For example, improve performance of views.
  • Amazon Aurora needs to improve the ability to restore backups as needed. Currently, the user can only restore an entire instance to a new or existing RDBMS instance. If you need to retrieve data from a single table, this can be tedious after waiting hours for an entire restore to complete. Instead, allow the user to select a database to restore. Better yet, allow the user to restore a database backup to ANOTHER database - which would allow you to restore a database on the same instance.
  • Again beat MySQL to the punch and introduce REAL server to server communication since they have disabled the "Federated Engine" which was the only way previously to do this. I'd like to be able to setup MySQL instances to talk to other MySQL instances.
Amazon Aurora (as is MySQL) is better suited for light to medium applications considering it still has some performance limitations from MySQL. I would not recommend it for enterprise level use without a carefully constructed backend system (code and database). My company's current backend architecture was not mapped out very well and this leads to performance problems that even Amazon Aurora has not been able to completely sort (although it has been a huge help).

Another area where I am finding it beginning to lack is for use in data warehousing. The more rows added, the less performant I'm finding the data warehouse. Although to be fair, Amazon has another product (Redshift) that we are looking to migrate data warehouses into.
Read this authenticated review

Amazon Aurora Scorecard Summary

About Amazon Aurora

Amazon Aurora is a MySQL compatible relational database system from Amazon Web Services.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Amazon Aurora Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No