Oracle Analytics Cloud Reviews

74 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Shifa Nazumudeen | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2020

OAC: Proven solution for your analytics needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Organization is in Oracle Saas Cloud for ERP. Oracle Analytics Cloud is the reporting and integration solution that sits on top of Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse for our data warehousing needs from the fusion ERP cloud. We are piloting OAC for just one department within our organization. Our goal is to make it an enterprise-wide solution for our summarized reporting needs.
  • Available without of the box connectors for Salesforce and oracle Saas Cloud. This is a huge plus for our business since we don't need another middleware solution just for this sake.
  • We are able to connect to our on-prem SQL Server database where we have our RMA database and other applications seamlessly without writing custom APIs.
  • OAC writes directly into ADW which is another advantage for loading Excel files into ADW after dataflow transformations.
  • OAC allows replication of the database from fusion ERP and lets us create subject areas using the data modeler.
  • OAC should allow writing back into Oracle Saas Cloud.
  • OAC Canvas view has some limitations in terms of choosing colors for the chart objects and other objects.
  • It doesn't allow the drill to detail options like that available in classic view for drilling to analysis from canvas view.
Oracle Analytics Cloud is well suited for an environment where the data warehouse is well defined with star schema structures. It may not work if the data structure is not well defined in terms of complex reporting. OAC's Day By Day app is a clear win and a cool addition to executives whether it is integration with Slack or for identifying issues in realtime.
Right now I use Data Sync to extract data from Oracle Fusion Saas Cloud to load into OAC. The issue here is that now we implemented single sign-on, we cannot use data sync to extract files from the UCM content management server. This is one of the biggest challenges for us right now. Otherwise, the out of the box connectors are super helpful and make our experience of connecting disparate sources a breeze.
Yes - I am part of the OAC group. I would like to be part of the Oracle Machine Learning and predictive analytics groups if there's one. I am also working to get into the Analytics and Data Summit to meet some of the best people in the industry in the Analytics Space. I would also be interested in being part of Oracle Fusion ERP Cloud space.
Read Shifa Nazumudeen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2020

Powerful Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Analytics Cloud in our IT, human resources, procurement and solutions group departments for data storage, data analytics, reporting and forecasting. We incorporated BI to have data, reporting, analytics, forecasting, etc., in one tool, as opposed to more manual efforts that used multiple platforms. Some data is structured and some is unstructured.
  • Easy to learn and navigate
  • Real time reporting
  • Easy to import any type of data
  • Easy to customize
  • Statistics dashboard
  • Takes a long time to generate a data model
  • Servers are busy sometimes
Best for large data analysis and reporting. Mainly in today's social world, analyzing a big crunch of data in a short amount of time is crucial. Currently this is the best in the market. It has some room for improvement but still better than its competitors. The initial setup is easy and Oracle has great customer support when it comes to Oracle Analytics Cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Vishal Shivdasani | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Oracle Analytics - Under the covers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OACS is used on a distributed reporting platform in the US for reporting to the UK parent. It is a global organization in the infrastructure and construction space. OACS solves the consolidation issues posed by large global organizations on different GL / ERP platforms, time zones, currencies and sizes. Not the entire organization uses OACS, however, given the Oracle universe an appropriate product for size and utility is definitely available.
  • Financial Consolidation (Actuals)
  • Financial Consolidation (Forecast)
  • Financial Consolidation (Budget)
  • Divisional reporting
  • Management reporting and distribution
  • Integration with Excel
  • Ease of Cloud / Web reporting development
  • Exporting and building forms for either cloud use or Excel
Well suited for large, global, multi -currency, multi -departmental deployments, where timezone, language and consolidations is a challenge.

Departmental reporting can take various forms. The key is the seamless roll up and easy drilling into reporting details makes the process much more convenient and time saving
Currently all sources of data within OACS comes from the Oracle universe. We use JDE for the GL and even so have had persistent difficulties integrating the two sources. It is definitely not real time, as we have a team of consultants working on this and other integration projects.
Read Vishal Shivdasani's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Switch to Oracle Analytics Cloud for Better Decision-Making

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We began using Oracle Analytics Cloud across our whole organization, but only our Marketing and Product Pricing teams have had access to it in the last 12 months. We have plans to implement it across the whole organization in the next year. We use it to marry our sales call data, web traffic analytics, and internal IT applications. Oracle Analytics has made our sales call data preparation and reporting a much smoother and more organized process. We are excited to introduce it to our other departments to use as well.
  • Natural Language Processing (NLP)
  • Cloud/Desktop/Mobile accessibility
  • Data Visualization and Reporting
  • Advanced Analytics
  • User-friendly
  • Mobile/Tablet Compatibility
  • Offline access
  • Language translation
Oracle Analytics is improving how easily we, as a team, can access specific information and visualize and report our analytics. Our company focuses heavily on analytics and the artificial intelligence behind that data. Oracle Analytics has helped us stay at the forefront of telecommunication competition. We are now embracing analytics and systematic statistical reasoning to make decisions that improve efficiency, risk management, and profits in our organization.
Oracle Analytics Cloud allows our team to work remote and generate valuable customer insights that can be used to direct marketing expenditures. This has tremendously helped our marketing department better reallocate budgets during our planning phase. Oracle Analytics Cloud has enabled our market managers to gain competitive intelligence on their specific market conditions, target consumers more successfully, and optimize their sales processes.
No - Independent Oracle Users Group (IOUG)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Benefits of Oracle Analytics Cloud - How it stacks up against other data visualization products

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Analytics Cloud is used to address various data visualization and reporting requirements. The recent use of Oracle Analytics Cloud was with the PeopleSoft system. Oracle Analytics Cloud was used to show the reports from asset management in PeopleSoft. Also, it was used in a proof of concept for a customer to integrate with PeopleSoft HCM to show the employee data in a report.
  • Reporting
  • Data visualization with data prep
  • Ease-of-use by end-users
  • We'd like to be able to show the reports in the other ERP dashboards.
Some specific scenarios where Oracle Analytics Cloud is well suited for financial reports, employee-related reports, sales reports, forecasting, narrative description, and many more. In general, it's well suited for all areas where data visualization impacts decision making with forecast and narrative description with language processing feature. A specific scenario where Oracle Analytics Cloud is less appropriate is where complex data visualization is not needed and a simple report could do the job.
The data visualization is better than the other data analytics reporting tools have. Integrating data sources is easy. The slice-and-dice of data for filtering purposes is better. Both Oracle and non-Oracle product suites can be used and integrated with Oracle Analytics Cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Shiva Krishna | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Best Cloud Analytics Platform in the Market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Analytics Cloud is used across the organization. It has powerful data visualizations and self-service discovery for management reporting. Essbase is part of Oracle Analytics Cloud, which is useful in what-if and scenario management. Our departments can co-develop datasets and share insights via interactive storytelling. It can highlight, abnormalities (variances from norms), like a supplier changing bank accounts one day before the due date.
  • Data can be fed by any source, via Oracle ERP Cloud, Oracle HCM, Oracle Sales Cloud etc. This gives a holistic and comprehensive view of the data.
  • Apart from applications from Oracle, data from third-party sources can also be accessed, namely Google Analytics, Salesforce, Dropbox etc.
  • Oracle Analytics Cloud is mobile and tablet friendly.
  • It can handle large data sets in visualizations.
  • Oracle has lots of features in its roadmap and continuously coming up with new features. One has to watch out for the features in the roadmap.
  • There are a couple of known issues in the product. It is a good idea to go through them in the Oracle documentation.
  • Advanced analytics function does not work with Essbase data sources. Oracle is working on resolving it.
  • There are a couple of known issues with Mongo DB connection and data sources.
Oracle Analytics Cloud is an enterprise-scale application. It is of great help if you use applications from Oracle and third parties like Salesforce. Oracle is integrating machine learning and artificial intelligence in their analytics cloud. It comes with next-generation Excel integration which includes cube design, dimension modeling, and key process indicators. Oracle Analytics Cloud can be scaled up and down with a click of the mouse.
Oracle Analytics Cloud can be connected with native sources. Mongo DB, Google Analytics, Dropbox, Salesforce, Amazon Redshift, MySQL etc. are supported. Many other sources are listed in the roadmap and will become available soon. All the supported sources can be integrated easily there is no major development effort. Oracle Analytics Cloud is offered as a PaaS. It is elastic which means easily scalable based on the need.
Yes - I am part of Oracle Technology Users Group and attend their annual events. This helps in networking with other Oracle customers and understand how other customers are leveraging the technology across industries. It also helps in understanding different use cases. These events are a good place to meet experts in the field.
Read Shiva Krishna's full review
Joanna Marks | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle Business Intelligence Needs Improvement

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HR reporting data. Our client groups complaints about our HR reporting data are not in real-time.
  • Easy to build.
  • Easy for end-users to run.
  • Friendlier dashboards with more aesthetic features for our end-users.
  • Prettier exporting options for our client groups to insert nicely into a presentation.
  • A mobile reporting app to park reports for executives who do not like to log into Oracle Business Intelligence to see reporting data.
It's suited to scheduled reporting needs. It could use improvement in providing real-time data for ad-hoc reporting needs.
Currently, there is a 1 hour lag time between Oracle Business Intelligence and Taleo. Our clients are not happy with that when they need to run real reports at the last minute.
Yes - We are members of OHUG and the Oracle Communities.
Read Joanna Marks's full review
jyoti shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

OAC: A Strategic reporting tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OAC is the BI tool on Cloud. Tremendous features and enhances the user interface. Apt for reporting for strategic decision making.
  • Robust features
  • Ease of use
  • Apt reporting structure
  • OAC is a new tool that is still being explored.
  • It is not directly integrated to DBs on Privet subnet, this is an enhancement required.
  • It does not carry its reporting DB.
This tool is for reporting to the management level to arrive at strategic decisions. It is easy to use and offers enhanced features.
DB access to Privet subnet to could possiblely be direct, needs enhancement.
Yes - Oracle. This group update helps us get the latest information on new releases and new features accompanied by new releases.
Read jyoti shah's full review
kiran Manne | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2019

Business Intelligence Cloud Service Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BICS and OBIEE as part of the OBIA to address the business analytics needs for various departments.
  • Building a robust model for our sales department.
  • Firm modeling on physical and logical layers.
  • Publishing the dashboards.
  • Speed.
  • Lacks visualization features compared to Tableau or Looker.
  • IT-centric (more dependent on IT for modeling and development).
  • Self-service.
Business Intelligence Cloud is well suited for all our business units including sales, finance, marketing, and HR operations.
Read kiran Manne's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

True Cloud Enterprise Analytics Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Analytics Cloud is being used in our HR organization to perform various reporting and decision functions. Its heavily used by our corporate HR department to perform various HR functions like Leave Accrual, and other HR management functions. It provides our user groups more real-time information so that the right decisions can be made on time.
  • From the user's perspective, the ease of using the interface is very intuitive.
  • Easy to use and set up in Oracle PAAS.
  • The autonomous feature really removes the traditional burden off our organization.
  • The implementation of the Oracle Analytics Cloud esp the ODI installation that goes with it should be streamlined so that we can install the product with ease.
  • The whole patching process should be streamlined so that there is minimal disruption to the service.
  • The whole backup and recovery process should be made more intuitive.
The user interface to design the reports and dashboards is very intuitive. The normal user can learn the product with ease without any technical knowledge. For the technical team, it's very easy to use the interface. The whole patching process is where there is a disconnect.
We are able to connect all our data sources with Oracle Analytics Cloud with ease.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2019

Oracle Analytics Cloud Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Analytics Cloud will be used across the whole organization including for Financial Planning and Analysis as well. This is playing a key roll in company-wide day to day operations to upload the budget/forecast and making the decisions based on the reporting out of Oracle Analytics Cloud. It will be really helpful for business users that they don't need to provide the password as it has the capability to use their network ID and password.
  • Oracle Analytics Cloud has a more powerful processing engine. We are seeing tremendous improvement in processing huge data/files.
  • Oracle Analytics Cloud is more stable and no more hiccups for updates/patches as it will be taken care of by Oracle.
  • Oracle Analytics Cloud's multi-layer security will add a bonus to this product. It is more secure.
  • Oracle Analytics Cloud performance is great and business users are very happy about this great product.
  • It will be great if they can do some UI improvements for Oracle Analytics Cloud, though the functionality is working perfectly.
  • It will be great if we can get some more access to the file system. Currently, we are limited to few objects related to applications and it will be difficult to address few issues quickly though we can address those issues using other methods(but time taking).
  • Apart from the above 2 concerns, we don't see any issues and everything is perfectly working and business users are impressed with the performance of their retrievals/reports.
We are using this product company-wide and it is well suited across the applications. For user uploads, it is quick and great for huge data/file loads. Another interesting thing is we are able to use our current on-prem scheduler for Oracle Analytics Cloud without any changes.
Currently, we need to use third party or Oracle plug-ins to connect to specific data sources, hope these will be embedded in Market Place.
Yes - Member of Oracle user groups and will be getting suggestions and better enhancing ideas from these groups.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Is Essbase Cloud the future for you?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Essbase Cloud (Now stand-alone previously in OAC) is used internally and at clients for a variety of analysis. From financials to sales to marketing. It allows us to quickly do analysis, find trends and create actionable decisions. We can create reports, and dashboards from the data to allow the executives to make better informed decisions and get a quick detailed analysis and forecast of the information.
  • Hybrid cubes allow for quick aggregation of data so users don't have to wait for calculations to occur
  • Embedded Drill to both on-prem and Cloud sources. This allows us to extend the analysis and provide greater research capabilities.
  • Sandboxing allows for quick efficient what-if analysis without a ton of data replication.
  • It is lacking an internal scheduler so external schedulers must be used in automation.
  • The outline editor does not allow for some of the on-prem functionality like copying hierarchies between cubes using cut and paste.
We use it often during close processes to allow the accountants to see how the process is going, what entries might be missing. We also use it heavily for sales analysis to see how we are doing and to forecast where we expect to be.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Essbase Cloud is Good

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Essbase Cloud is being used as a Enterprise Performance Management Solution to handle the company financials, planning, forecast and budgeting purposes. It is being used across various departments like Finance, Planners, and Sourcing. Essbase is very useful for users who love Excel as it is interfaced via Oracle Smartview installed on Excel. Essbase also provides a multidimensional OLAP database which helps in faster generation of enterprise reports.
  • Essbase uses Excel as a user interface, which in itself is user-friendly.
  • Essbase as a multidimensional database is a very fast querying engine to generate reports faster.
  • Essbase provides a user write back feature for users to input data via Excel.
  • Essbase Cloud is a Sequel of its on prem version. For Essbase developers used to Essbase on prem, the interface can be much more user-friendly. Essbase on prem users are used to classic interfaces like EAS which will be missed.
  • The migration from Essbase on prem to Essbase on cloud can be made much more seamless.
Essbase Cloud has new features where users can spin up their own Essbase database from Excel (with some prior knowledge of Essbase). This is a very exciting feature for users with an appetite of learning and doing something more.

Essbase can perform various business calculations and operations faster than other tools available in the market.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Transition to Oracle Essbase Cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Essbase Cloud is being used to replace our on-prem Essbase system which caters to many functional areas including finance, planning, sourcing, HR, etc. It is being used for reporting purposes at both the granular level and executive level. It solves the analytical, reporting, and what-if scenarios. Planners also use it for data input and scenario analysis.
  • No on-prem maintenance
  • Performance is better than on-prem
  • Drill through capabilities
  • The transition of on-prem to cloud
  • Support could be better
Essbase Cloud is well suited for data analytics. It could be better at providing more user-friendly reports, charts, and graphs report integration. Would like the capability to drill through more robustly with various databases not only limited to Oracle databases. Essbase Cloud is well suited for a medium level of tech-savvy users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

We are satisfied with Oracle!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BI for developing financial reports within our organization.
  • We are able to use BI to develop our financial reports really quickly.
  • Not sure, nothing that I can think of!
We like Oracle Business Cloud because we are able to develop the reports quickly with summaries as well as detailed data.
Read this authenticated review
Keith Kent | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Oracle SCM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using it as a case management system for HR transactions. It is used by total force (DoD USAF), Active, Reserve, Guard, DoD Civilians, and retirees. It allow HR processes from hire to retire.
  • Configurable HR processes.
  • No more customization! The app we had built was 90% customization. We've moved from configuration to customization.
  • Improved way to integrate with other DoD systems.
Well suited for building HR processes. Difficult with DoD red tape.
It's difficult with DoD policies, but Oracle works well with govt.
Read Keith Kent's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2019

OBICS sets the market standard for business intelligence tools!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service (OBICS) is used by the data team in my organisation as the primary tool for data integration, data extraction, reporting, business intelligence, and data visualisation. OBICS works well even with a large quantity of data, and also handles integration of data from multiple source well. It is easily a market standard in this domain.
  • Handling data from multiple sources
  • Dealing with large volumes of data effortlessly
  • Easy to onboard new users, even those who are not familiar with SQL
  • Performance of the tool: While Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service (OBICS) can handle large volumes of data as well, it becomes quite unstable and slow when number of concurrent users is high.
  • Limited visualisation options for reporting.
  • Difficult to integrate with other non-Oracle tools. This is especially needed since visualisation options are limited.
Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service (OBICS) works well if you wish to work with just data and your requirements do not center around reporting or business intelligence for business users. It gives you a one stop shop for all data management. However, if you wish to generate reports and provide graphical insights, then this is not the tool you should be looking at.
Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service (OBICS) handles data integration well and it would be safe to say it is one of the best tools in the market for this. If your business uses several Oracle products and services (especially an Oracle database / warehouse), you might want to consider switching to Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service (OBICS) as your data management tool. Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service (OBICS) integrates especially well with other Oracle products.
Yes - I am a member of the All India Oracle User Group.

The best takeaway from being a member of an Oracle user group is the discussion that technologists have across companies and often across industries as well. It is fascinating to learn and share how the same tool can be used differently across various companies and across different industries. It shows you a wide spectrum of opportunities that your own business can capitalise on.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

Basic

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used in Finance and Accounting for financial reporting for both closing the books and managing external reporting to shareholders, regulators (SEC).
  • Cube on the fly
  • Financial reporting
  • Ad hoc analysis
  • n/a
It is well suited for traditional essbase functionality.
Data source connectivity is not an issue. Aside from Oracle databases, non-financial (statistical) data are entered manually.
Read this authenticated review
Gabriel Chiararia | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2018

OBICS - Standard for many companies

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service both at P&G and at Whirlpool. At P&G: it started being a tool to track shipments related data from SAP. Then they started using to track POS data. It was being used by Supply Chain, Marketing, IT, Sales and Finance. At Whirlpool: They conglomerate most of their business data there from different sources. It's great because you can joint different databases in the same place and have an outcome table fast and easy.
  • 1: Data Integration: I love that at Whirlpool we have several different databases in the same place and we can extract and combine data easily.
  • 2: Connection with multiple systems: A lot of companies use Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service, so it means that they are seeing a lot of different use cases and improving the tool constantly.
  • 3: Data extraction: Extracting data is much easier than writing a SQL code. So many different types of users can take advantage of that.
  • 1: User-friendliness: As I said, you don't need to write a SQL code to extract data, but I've seen some other tools (the previous Oracle Cloud system for example) that were easier than this new one.
  • 2: Speed: The tool is not slow, but when multiple users are trying to query information in the same database, it might get pretty slow. It's very common for people to run queries during the night since it's faster at that period once no one is using the tool
  • 3: Data visualization: The main output is basically a table, if you want to get fancy graphs or other types of output, you might want to export it to Tableau/Power BI/Spotfire.
Well suited:
Perfect for organizations where they have multiple databases and they have to damp everything in a single tool. This is helpful not only to joint databases together (shipments with POS data for example) but also for employees to learn only ONE tool to get all the data they from different sources.

Less appropriate:
If you need to go deep into analyzing the data beyond a table. The data visualization properties are pretty limited compared to Tableau/Power BI/Spotfire.
As I said before, Whirlpool connects a lot of different sources to Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service. I was surprised! It seems that 80%+ of the data I need is seating on this platform. I'm not sure how easy it is to set up to different data sources, I remember that at P&G they were struggling with it.
Read Gabriel Chiararia's full review
Joseph R. Sweeney | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2018

OAC Server is the glue for all things Oracle

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OAC is a necessity if you are using other Oracle products and are managing a lot of data (larger companies, I'm talking to you). OAC was being used across most of the departments at my former company to collect data and access it from anywhere. It was efficient and obviously connected well to Oracle programs, but also to other sources.
  • Fantastic end-to-end business solution with OAC acting as the glue to hold it all together.
  • Customer service was phenomenal and we were able to get everything up and running in a short period of time.
  • Quick, reliable data that seamlessly integrated with our existing BI tools as well as external vendors.
  • Ease of use needs to be more heavily emphasized. Without some sort of IT background this will be virtually impossible to work with.
In my opinion, OAC works best to support operations across multiple departments, programs, and even countries as well as for integrating with legacy systems. It's all about extracting the right data from the right sources and having that information easily accessible from various endpoints. If you are centrally located with a small operation then there is little to no need for such a large BI tool that can sometimes be a bit overwhelming even in a larger company.
We primarily used Oracle programs and software and so needless to say the connectivity and usability between MySQL and other such programs with OAC is fast and efficient. Pulling data, running reports, accessing information remotely, and sending updates works really well with a server such as OAC.
Yes - I am a member of the Boston Area Oracle Service Cloud User Group.

We routinely referenced this group to request help as well as brainstorm ideas for more efficient means of working with Oracle programs. Database management is no joke and so it helps to have a community to work with.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2018

Oracle business intelligence cloud takes your business beyond the cloud and over the skies.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Business Cloud creates a platform for business intelligent applications that helps in marketing and advertising products and services in the organization. It's being used by a department. It has enabled access to business at any given time and place on the cloud. It has also helped in analysing and visualising business data and also enabled sharing of data on any device.
  • Analyses data very well and in the simplest way of understanding.
  • Gives a nice user experience with its user interface, full of guidance and tutorials to help its users.
  • Easy to set up and at a low cost, that is, you set up what you want to use for your business.
  • Integration of data is easy due to variety of options.
  • Add more tutorials for users to be conversant with this software.
  • Reduce the price of various premium services offered by Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud.
  • Extend the trial period for this software.
It is well suited for large businesses in terms of staff size and duties.
It's also appropriate for analysis and studying various business patterns of products and services.
Sometimes merging in real time over the cloud may lead to vulnerability to malwares and other attacks. Some data sources may be incompatible with merging into the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2017

Oracle BICS - Oracle BIEE + Cloud - A solution built on Cloud keeping only Oracle BIEE in mind

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently migrated our internal reporting services from on-premise OBIEE to BICS. We want to use our internal project as a reference to our customers. BICS can address all the problems that a traditional OBIEE can address, with some limitations on the data model. One has to choose the right solution for data model development and this is the key to success.
  • Oracle BICS is a first debut of Oracle BI in cloud. BICS is designed to provide lot of flexibility. BICS provides three solutions - 1. Completely deploy all BI services (data model, Catalog and DB) in Cloud using BICS. 2. Deploy Catalog in Cloud. RPD and DB reside on-premise (Hybrid Solution) 3. Deploy Data Model and Catalog in Cloud. DB stays on-premise (Hybrid Solution). No other cloud offers this flexibility. BICS design is centered on BIEE and advantages of Cloud.
  • Oracle BICS provides industry standard security. For on-premise applications, SSL has to be implemented manually but now, it is part of the BICS package. We get SSL encrypted. When implementing BICS Hybrid Solution with DB on-premise, Oracle BICS provides Public Key to deploy in on-premise. BICS, having the private key, is the only authorized tool to access this database and run queries. No spoofing possible.
  • Oracle BICS provides flexibility to Developers. If the data model is simple, they can do the development over the BICS cloud. If the data model is complex and need advance features of RPD, they can do development on-premise using RPD tool and can deploy this RPD to BICS. BICS will then convert that RPD to data model.
  • Oracle BICS is a Cloud Solution. It is very important for many organizations on the location of the data center. It should be, at least, in the same region as the Organization is. This is important for performance as well. Oracle BICS has multiple locations across the world and especially, multiple locations with in the USA. These locations grow based on demand.
  • In an implementation where developers do their work on-premise RPD and deploy it to BICS, Oracle BICS will convert that RPD to data model before deployment. Developers can take a snapshot of that data model and download that data model. But, can't convert / extract that data model to RPD. This is one limitation that I would like to see some improvement.
  • Oracle BICS has no BI Publisher integration. BI Publisher is used by many customers and is one of the reasons that they are delaying BICS migration.
  • Oracle BICS lacks iBots (Scheduler). This is one of the most used feature in traditional OBIEE, where we can schedule reports to run and email to us / set of users. Lack of this feature is a major drawback of BICS.
  • Oracle BICS lacks the forward migration path, as of today. If we want to migrate to OAC (Oracle Analytics Cloud), there is no way to extract RPD out of data model. We may have to develop RPD from scratch, if we used BICS solution to develop data model. Oracle is planning to release a fix for this in the future.
Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service is well suited for customers who want to move to start their first Business Intelligence Reporting Tool (over the cloud). Also, this is a good option for customers who use Traditional on-premise OBIEE and don't have a use case for iBots and BI Publisher. And, for customers who don't want to upgrade often. Oracle BICS will push the latest updates from backend. BICS is a perfect solution for small companies that don't have a BI Administrator to do patching and updates.
Oracle Business Intelligence Enterprise Edition is known for this connectivity to multiple data sources. Business Intelligence Enterprise Edition can connect to any database that supports ODBC and JDBC. Almost all the major databases today support ODBC and JDBC. Visual Analyzer, which is a part of Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service is a game changer as it allows users to generate reports directly from Microsoft Excel / CSV - which is the most used format after relational databases to store data. Oracle Business Intelligence Cloud Service can connect to all data sources that an on-premise Oracle Business Intelligence Enterprise Edition can connect to.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2018

Oracle Analytics for Enterprise Businesses

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Oracle's Analytics cloud service as a visualization tool for our data sets. Oracle's Analytics cloud service helps us identify and analyze device functionality and user behavior. We also use the tool to keep each department up to date and understand the progress of certain projects. The application helps us understand pain points of the customer experience and how we can improve those.
  • Ability to analyze large data sets and ability to create intuitive, easy to understand reports.
  • The vast number of connectors. We have the ability to pull in data from a number of other tools for deeper analysis.
  • Great set of out of the box reports/templates, however; tool provides the ability for customizating and building reports that pertain to specific issues an organization is trying to find.
  • Like any application, when you begin using it there is a steep learning curve. UI can be a bit cumbersome.
  • Even though Oracle's solution can handle large data sets, rendering of reports can take a fairly long time if the parameter set is large.
  • Oracle tool provides a wealth of capabilities and features, however; this comes with a heavy price. The tool can become expensive quickly.
  • Warranty support
  • Customer/sales tracking
  • Understanding user and device behavior
  • User location and distribution
Variety of different data sources can be pulled into their analytics tools:

  • Extensive documentation on how to connect (makes it extremely easy to reference something if you run into an issue) specific data sources. Ability to pull data from multiple sources
  • Easy to install and create parameters
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2017

New Beam for Oracle Cloud Data Analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being currently used by one of the departments (Sales Dept) in the organization. It is helping to report sales operations data and it helps to make proactive decision by creating a trend analysis in the Oracle Analytics Cloud application.
  • Oracle Cloud Analytics Service is now just a 3 step process to complete the setup on the cloud and it becomes available for your analytics/bi reports purpose.
  • Oracle Analytics Cloud gives really great performance even for low capacity as 2 core cpu with 15gb memory.
  • Oracle Analytics Cloud also provides flexibility to have ESSBASE set-up with few simple steps.
  • Oracle Analytics Cloud Services comes with regular classic obiee and data visualization features, this gives lots of variety of graphical chart view/report views.
  • It does not have more options for emailing the reports as compared with what on-premise provides.
  • Once you upload the rpd metadata/data model there is no easy option to retrieve the uploaded rpd/data model from Oracle Analytics Cloud.
  • GUI for Oracle Analytics Cloud application still looks same as on-premise obiee, it would be good if they do some changes on look and feel for Oracle Analytics Cloud application.
Oracle Analytics Cloud is best suited where an organization is planning to move to Oracle Cloud Service with most of its application present in the enterprise architecture. This gives flexibility to have data load into Oracle Cloud data warehouse and makes it easy to report in Oracle Analytics Cloud. Oracle Analytics Cloud also imparts benefits by adding Essbase in it, where organization also wants to do some multi-dimensional analytics.
It pretty much covers all range of data sources to merge from different data sources. This gives flexibility of data virtualization and report on it.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (14)
7.7
Customizable dashboards (16)
8.7
Report Formatting Templates (16)
8.8
Drill-down analysis (19)
9.1
Formatting capabilities (19)
8.9
Integration with R or other statistical packages (14)
8.1
Report sharing and collaboration (17)
8.8
Publish to Web (15)
8.7
Publish to PDF (16)
8.7
Report Versioning (15)
8.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (14)
8.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (10)
8.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (16)
8.2
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (13)
7.8
Predictive Analytics (12)
7.8
Multi-User Support (named login) (19)
8.8
Role-Based Security Model (19)
8.4
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (20)
8.8
Single Sign-On (SSO) (16)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (14)
8.4
Dedicated iOS Application (6)
9.0
Dedicated Android Application (7)
9.0
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (15)
8.0
REST API (12)
8.3
Javascript API (11)
8.4
iFrames (5)
6.7
Java API (11)
8.5
Themeable User Interface (UI) (11)
8.5
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (6)
7.8

About Oracle Analytics Cloud

The Oracle Analytics Cloud service is a public cloud service that provides a full set of capabilities to explore and perform collaborative analytics.

Oracle Analytics Cloud Competitors

Oracle Analytics Cloud Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No