TrustRadius
Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/tH/rx/4APKV7V3F5EA.JPEGA great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players.We rolled out Pentaho within one of our business units as a way to get at trapped data from an old home-grown CRM system that had been recently updated to .net. Pentaho quickly got us access to the data and the built-in ETL tools were easy and quick to use and learn. It enabled a team of two to provide enough data, reporting and analytical dashboards to support over $1.5B in sales.,The built-in ETL tools are easy to learn, and can quickly import and transform any data you have. The excellent visualizations and charts are pleasing to the eye, and looks are important in sales and marketing presentations. The rollout was fast, we installed the software and were building dashboards within minutes.,I think the relative obscurity of the tool is a downside, not as many developers, consultants or peers you can tap into. Lack of a solid user community held us back, looking at Power BI and Qlik, they have huge user communities that help each other out. Would have liked that here. Smaller company means smaller sales force, and the lack of a local presence made it hard to only interact online with the account rep. Other companies have someone local who often stops by with pre-sales developers to just pitch in free of charge when they have time.,6,Qlik Sense, Microsoft Power BI and Tableau Server,8,7,Qlik Sense, Azure SQL Database, Informatica Cloud Data IntegrationPentaho for your businessCurrently, Pentaho was using it for our internal IT Department. We are using Pentaho to address more specific needs to integrate and analyze the company data that resides on all systems. It is necessary to have a secondary system that runs for the same purpose to run small and simpler modeling tools for Data Warehouses and Business Intelligence. It also acts as a comparison system to build simple jobs and transformations.,Easy to create simple jobs and transformations Mature data access and data transformation capabilities Suitable for complex analytic use cases Consume data from many sources,At first, one needs to learn the basic concept of this software before going for the implementation. Once you are an expert on this then you will rock it. Some of the basic features need to be enhanced such as sharing and collaboration capabilities Needs to support automatically generated analytic visualizations or models,8,Microsoft BI, Oracle BI Foundation Suite and SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform,8,7,Joomla!Pentaho can be a great solution for a companyWe are currently using this application for all the companies. We have managed to develop a lot of reports and dashboards and also bursting reports. Until now we have been able to meet the requirements of reporting in the company in all departments. Pentaho is a good BI solution to also provide the option of creating many operational reports if you don't have a good option in your ERP.,SQL query + scripting will help you design different objects, tables, pivots, dashboards, linked t other reports. Organizing in which way you want, synchronizing with AD is very helpful to set security/folder/group of users/single users. By using Eclipse you can set another layer of security by filtering information users's need to access. Sending reports y email also can be set up by security, by groups or list of users. Design seems pretty secure, from time to time can fail when there is too much design.,Would like to have a format copy for different objects, tables, cross-tabs, grids, it would make design much more easier. Of course, we use template and CSS design for these objects, from time to time we design something different and it makes it much harder to do this manually for each similar object. Possibility to use multiple DB in the .xaction.,9,direct query in excel,8,8,Kyubit Business Intelligence, BOARDPentaho was just OK as an OEM solutionWe made a decision to use Pentaho to OEM into the analytics feature of our software and the developers had a much harder time getting it integrated than we were expecting. The Mondrian code was hard to learn and the number of qualified applicants who already knew how to use it was limited.,Being able to use the OLAP Analyzer tool saved our organization a lot of time in not needing to develop an OLAP tool on our own. The ability to customize the tool and integrate all the internationalization we required was pretty straightforward.,The Mondrian code was hard to learn. The availability of resources that had experience with Pentaho and Mondrian was limited for us. The dashboards were slow and we found that it ended up being easier to remove the Pentaho pieces of the dashboard.,5,,4,7Pentaho: A great DW/BI soultionPentaho is the primary source for the Business Intelligence in my company. We have many Pentaho users across the whole organization that are making a good use of Pentaho Analyzer to create the reports. At the report side, it helps the business users to evaluate all the work that has been done by the different teams across the organizations. By seeing the reports they can check, for example, how many issues are open, how many bugs have been fixed in a specific duration, how many builds failed in which phase etc.,First thing what I have experienced about Pentaho is that it is user friendly. The best thing about Pentaho is Pentaho Data Integration. I have never used more user friendlier ETL tool like PDI. All the jobs and transformation steps are easy to understand. And I like the sample transformations and jobs that are provided with the package. It is so user friendly that, even if you don't know SQL, it will generate it for you. If you don't want to write scripts, that's fine, you can do it in PDI. I have found that Pentaho can be integrated with any technology or framework. I have easily and successfully integrated it with HDFS, EMR, S3, CouchDB, many different RDBMSs. I would consider it as a strength of Pentaho. Also if you are stuck or you find any error, the type of logging will have an answer for you. I found the logging mechanism very effective. I have mostly used Pentaho Analyzer and Schema Workbench at the BI side. It is user friendly too and we have a very few users who come to the developers to help them understanding the UI of PUC.,Most of the companies use star schema in their Data Warehouses but they are not the pure star schemas. There are the bridge tables, group tables but when using Schema Workbench to design a cube, it gets very painful for the developers to accommodate such schema in it. To do this, I have to go to the XML file and add the new elements. I would love to see the feature where Schema Workbench can accommodate the bridge tables as they are the part of star schema too. When it comes to ETL, I have found PDI to be the best tool, but at the report side, it is not as good as the other tools available in the market. Especially the users always complain about the graphs in the Pentaho Analyzer. I think. the UI needs a lot of improvement. PDI is slow reading the JSON files. There is a fast JSON input step available in the marketplace but I think I would be great if Pentaho can make the JSON reading even faster. When I export the repository, I see the files names are encoded with UTF-8 encoding. It would be great, if the spaces and the special characters can be preserved while exporting a BA repository.,9,Pentaho has improved our overall business process. Pentaho has helped the Managers and Directors to analyze the numbers going up and down from time to time. We have a started a big project using Pentaho that is going to include all the business processes in the organization.,Informatica Enterprise Data Integration,PostgreSQL
Unspecified
Pentaho
100 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

Pentaho Reviews

Pentaho
100 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 24 of 100 Pentaho ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 28, 2018

Pentaho Review: "A great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The built-in ETL tools are easy to learn, and can quickly import and transform any data you have.
  • The excellent visualizations and charts are pleasing to the eye, and looks are important in sales and marketing presentations.
  • The rollout was fast, we installed the software and were building dashboards within minutes.
  • I think the relative obscurity of the tool is a downside, not as many developers, consultants or peers you can tap into.
  • Lack of a solid user community held us back, looking at Power BI and Qlik, they have huge user communities that help each other out. Would have liked that here.
  • Smaller company means smaller sales force, and the lack of a local presence made it hard to only interact online with the account rep. Other companies have someone local who often stops by with pre-sales developers to just pitch in free of charge when they have time.
Read this authenticated review
March 19, 2018

User Review: "Pentaho for your business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to create simple jobs and transformations
  • Mature data access and data transformation capabilities
  • Suitable for complex analytic use cases
  • Consume data from many sources
  • At first, one needs to learn the basic concept of this software before going for the implementation. Once you are an expert on this then you will rock it.
  • Some of the basic features need to be enhanced such as sharing and collaboration capabilities
  • Needs to support automatically generated analytic visualizations or models
Read Ilham AB's full review
February 23, 2018

Review: "Pentaho can be a great solution for a company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • SQL query + scripting will help you design different objects, tables, pivots, dashboards, linked t other reports.
  • Organizing in which way you want, synchronizing with AD is very helpful to set security/folder/group of users/single users.
  • By using Eclipse you can set another layer of security by filtering information users's need to access.
  • Sending reports y email also can be set up by security, by groups or list of users.
  • Design seems pretty secure, from time to time can fail when there is too much design.
  • Would like to have a format copy for different objects, tables, cross-tabs, grids, it would make design much more easier. Of course, we use template and CSS design for these objects, from time to time we design something different and it makes it much harder to do this manually for each similar object.
  • Possibility to use multiple DB in the .xaction.
Read Mihaela Olariu's full review
June 30, 2017

User Review: "Pentaho was just OK as an OEM solution"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Being able to use the OLAP Analyzer tool saved our organization a lot of time in not needing to develop an OLAP tool on our own.
  • The ability to customize the tool and integrate all the internationalization we required was pretty straightforward.
  • The Mondrian code was hard to learn.
  • The availability of resources that had experience with Pentaho and Mondrian was limited for us.
  • The dashboards were slow and we found that it ended up being easier to remove the Pentaho pieces of the dashboard.
Read this authenticated review
November 03, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho: A great DW/BI soultion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • First thing what I have experienced about Pentaho is that it is user friendly. The best thing about Pentaho is Pentaho Data Integration. I have never used more user friendlier ETL tool like PDI. All the jobs and transformation steps are easy to understand. And I like the sample transformations and jobs that are provided with the package. It is so user friendly that, even if you don't know SQL, it will generate it for you. If you don't want to write scripts, that's fine, you can do it in PDI.
  • I have found that Pentaho can be integrated with any technology or framework. I have easily and successfully integrated it with HDFS, EMR, S3, CouchDB, many different RDBMSs. I would consider it as a strength of Pentaho. Also if you are stuck or you find any error, the type of logging will have an answer for you. I found the logging mechanism very effective.
  • I have mostly used Pentaho Analyzer and Schema Workbench at the BI side. It is user friendly too and we have a very few users who come to the developers to help them understanding the UI of PUC.
  • Most of the companies use star schema in their Data Warehouses but they are not the pure star schemas. There are the bridge tables, group tables but when using Schema Workbench to design a cube, it gets very painful for the developers to accommodate such schema in it. To do this, I have to go to the XML file and add the new elements. I would love to see the feature where Schema Workbench can accommodate the bridge tables as they are the part of star schema too.
  • When it comes to ETL, I have found PDI to be the best tool, but at the report side, it is not as good as the other tools available in the market. Especially the users always complain about the graphs in the Pentaho Analyzer. I think. the UI needs a lot of improvement.
  • PDI is slow reading the JSON files. There is a fast JSON input step available in the marketplace but I think I would be great if Pentaho can make the JSON reading even faster.
  • When I export the repository, I see the files names are encoded with UTF-8 encoding. It would be great, if the spaces and the special characters can be preserved while exporting a BA repository.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
November 02, 2016

"Rookie Pentaho review from an ETL veteran"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great visualizations. Much like SSIS, the component-based model of ETL is easy to see at-a-glance in order to understand what is going on.
  • Easy roll-ups. It is very easy to encapsulate logic into separate jobs (KJBs) and transforms (KTRs), in order to group code into bite-size chunks.
  • Wide selection of tools. There are several dozen ETL steps to choose from, in a variety of different categories. Everything from file management to XML and scripting.
  • Lack of support. Unlike many Microsoft products, there is not a great wealth of support out there for Pentaho on the web. It is much harder to track down solutions.
  • Non-intuitive. There is a learning curve, and there are subtle nuances to Pentaho that even experienced ETL developers will take a while to get used to.
  • Less reputable. Despite all of Pentaho's benefits, it just hasn't gotten to that critical mass in the marketplace. Thus it does not garner as much respect as Microsoft or Oracle, which in turn makes it harder to find online support. It's a vicious cycle.
Read this authenticated review
November 04, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho - Yay or Nay?"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User friendly interface
  • Easy and quick report generation
  • Great report customizing features
  • Heavy software to install
  • Requires licensing to enable all features
  • Difficult to integrate with other servers
Read this authenticated review
June 27, 2016

Review: "Pentaho - Enhancing our ETL Capabilities"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use!
  • Reliable for small jobs
  • Open source
  • Easy to learn
  • Great community online
  • Fast
  • Open sourced
  • Running on our vendor's VM... could be the reason why we are seeing some data limitation issues
  • Future friendly
Read Gordon Yeh's full review
February 23, 2016

Review: "Pentaho powerful backend BI tooling, hit-and-miss data visualization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pentaho Data Integration (PDI), which is Pentaho's ETL tool, is a powerful visual scripting tool. It is a very mature ETL tool that can process large quantities of data quickly when provided with appropriate hardware.
  • Pentaho Analyzer which is Pentaho's Enterprise browser-based analysis and pivot table tool is powerful and intuitive. When provided with a well defined data warehouse schema it is easy for even non-technical users to quickly generate reports and graphs.
  • Pentaho allows you to connect to virtually any datasource provided there exists a JDBC connector, REST API, or some other API end point.
  • Pentaho has an open-source Community Edition which provides much of the functionality of the Enterprise Edition without any licensing fees.
  • A major problem we have had with Pentaho is their enterprise licensing. As a client who understands very well what is offered within the free Community Edition we felt their mark up on their enterprise features was much too high. They wanted to charge us for migrating from MySQL to Amazon RedShift since RedShift is an "analytical database" while nearly every other database could be connected to for free. Due to licensing concerns we terminated our enterprise license.
  • Pentaho's visualization tools are very capable, but have a very steep learning curve and engineering cost. Due to this we ended switching from Pentaho for the majority of our internal dashboarding and reporting to purchasing Tableau licenses. If Pentaho could improve their visualization and dashboarding capabilities, they could truly be an end-to-end BI solution.
Read Jordan Squire's full review
March 01, 2016

Pentaho Review: "A powerful ETL tool which is open source"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Populate relational database
  • Transform and clean data
  • Create periodic job and generate report
  • Aggregate data
  • It will be helpful to have modules supporting Google Adwords and Facebook API and Twilio API
  • It has "add constant", but does not have "multiply constant" module.
  • Unit transform module
Read Yinghua Hu's full review
February 26, 2016

Review: "Pentaho- An adequate BI solution for users on a budget!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • ETL, fairly wide support for a number of different data sources, a good API for writing plugins, and great out-of-the-box functionality.
  • Community support and great documentation for using their tooling.
  • Mondrian/OLAP, great engine for processing MDX queries.
  • pentaho's analyzer tool/front-end. This doesn't come close to competing with products like Tableau.
  • Pentaho Report Designer, this looks like something that was built in the early 90's and is extremely clunky to use for new-users
  • Schema Workbench, would be nice to see better support for snowflake type schemas
Read Ivan Miller's full review
February 16, 2016

Pentaho Review: "One of the best BI solutions for start up companies or those looking for a highly customizable tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • automated reports
  • dashboards
  • data-integration
  • Big Data
  • Poor support
  • few books published in relation to Pentaho
  • Pentaho User Console could be more user friendly
Read Anderson L.A.'s full review
June 03, 2015

User Review: "B.I. made simple. Pentaho rocks!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The Data Integration tool is fantastic. A novice user can get up to speed quickly with it and the GUI is intuitive
  • Support. As an enterprise customer, I am always thrilled with the fast turnaround on support tickets that I open.
  • Job Scheduling. The Job scheduler is easy to use and very reliable
  • Data Analyzer Tool in "User Console". The drag and drop UI makes it easy for me end users to see the data in whatever way suits them. They can even GEO-MAP the data instantly!!
  • Speed on ETL. Without a very complex setup, the ETL Job runs single threaded and can be slow for BIG jobs.
  • The "Report Designer" is decent, but lacks a lot of control that you might get from more mature products (like Business Objects, for instance). Sometimes to want to rotate or reformat a chart label, and it can't be done. In other cases, it can. It is not consistent. Also, 3D charts don't work in certain circumstances. Finally, charts mapped over time, in some cases, don't have the X Axis auto-scale and so all the data points are not readable.
Read Sandro Frattura's full review
August 19, 2015

Review: "Pentaho - Fast and Furious Data Integration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Data Integration. PDI handles pretty much any type of data source and can transform data and conform it to any type of business logic.
  • Object Oriented ETl Coding. Code developed in PDI can be shared across numerous jobs/transformations. This allows for resusable and maintainable code.
  • Flexibility and plugins. If the function that you are looking for is not built into the tool, it's fairly straightforward to either download or develop plugins. There is a huge community of users that build new functionality all the time.
  • Scaleable and cloud ready. PDI is able to cluster and scale out to handle huge data sets.
  • The speed at which some trouble issues get resolved could be improved.
Read Alex Meadows's full review
March 16, 2015

User Review: "Pentaho - Jumping On The Band Wagon"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A data analyst has quick access to data that would otherwise need to be pulled straight for the database. Additionally, the data dictionary is tied to an object so up keep is easy and users can scroll over the object to exactly what that measure or object represents.
  • Report presentation is clean and professional. Pentaho comes with a pretty extensive set of charting and graphing functionality out of the box that in other tools would have to be developed. Easy file output with sufficient types available to choose from. (.pdf, .xlsx, .csv)
  • The Data Integration tool is without question the best tool in the set. There is no limit to your transformation options. You can transform virtually any text file, excel file or script into a table, spreadsheet or even report. Many times we are given list of patients and file formats vary from practice to practice. With Pentaho DI we have the flexibility to take what has been provided and standardize.
  • Pentaho could use some improvement of the integration of ldap into the User Console. We have unsuccessfully been able to deploy the Pentaho User Console to partners because it does not support a federated ldap model. Even attempts at integrating to our primary ldap has proven fruitless.
  • The Pentaho Suite as a whole tends to be a resource hog. Since we work with such large data sets we often find that large requests hang up or get an "oops error" which is a standard Pentaho error when the data set is too large. It would be nice to have some indication of our limits so that we are not guessing or we can limit the data set up front.
  • Upgrades on the Suite are a bit cumbersome for our Administrators. There is not a standard backup and install package so upgrades often involve our administrator on the phone with Pentaho during the upgrades to walk through a custom install.
Read Stephanie Dozier's full review
November 05, 2014

Review: "Three Years with Pentaho and No Regrets"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pentaho works as advertised -- it provides a truly drag-and-drop customizable interface for your data.
  • The Enterprise Suite has everything you need to start working and showing results right away.
  • Pentaho's customer support has been responsive and timely when we've had issues.
  • The Report Designer interface can seem clunky at times when trying to perform additional calculations on previously calculated fields or pass values to subreports.
  • There is inconsistency within the tools in Data Integration -- it is clear the various tools were authored by different engineers at different times. It is not always obvious what goes where.
  • There is inconsistency between all the products within the Pentaho Suite. Each has a different look and feel and none work the same way.
  • The product is not without flaws, but so far none have been insurmountable.
  • Upgrading to the latest version has proven to be EXTREMELY challenging for both us AND Pentaho customer services.
Read Kenneth Panacy's full review
November 04, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho the best BI integrator"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Data Integration. Pentaho wins hands down. You can read huge data using a Hadoop process, do your encirchment, load it to a Netezza database afterwards, finally input the data to your WEKA model to predict which Customer will churn or what offer should be made to the customer so that he/she stays put.
  • BI Server. If you want to schedule a data read operation of your clickstream data, to finally burst out recommendations of next best actions to end users, Pentaho's BI Server performs this integration seamlessly.
  • Mondrian. This layer provides Cube based Hierarchical data modeling on the front end and at the back end converts this OLAP structure to a ROLAP, SQL based model. Hence any relational database becomes a ROLAP engine seamlessly.
  • Data Visualization. Provide richer library of data visualization capabilities. Ultimately the dashboards are the end result of all the hard work done at the back office. Yes, Pentaho has a lower TCO compared to other Products but richer data visualization capabilities would make it a winner! Pentaho has overcome this limitation by allowing external charting engines to be integrated with their product suite, but more needs to be done to strengthen core Pentaho Data Visualizaiton capabilities. Alternatively the external charting engine capabilities need to be documented and evangalized.
  • Alternative to Mondrian. In our case we needed to analyse data for a million subscribers over key performance areas like Churns, Activations etc. In these scenarios semi additive measures needed to be calculated and presented in a report across days to years grains of time. In such scenarios the Mondrian based ROLAP capability did not scale up to our expectation. Pentaho needs to address such issues and fast.
  • In the world of R/SAS/SPSS its hard to find use cases where WEKA was used in Production environments to solve a business problem. We would have needed some hand holding to replace our R/SPSS code to WEKA and help us build newer alogorithms on this platform ground up.
Read Deepak Paramanand's full review
September 16, 2014

Review: "Pentaho Report Designer Integated with Odoo v7!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Connect via JDBC
  • Integrates with Odoo (formerly OpenERP)
  • Grouping, summing seem to work well even though they are not intuitive as far as set up goes.
  • The multiple report output types are great (PDF, CSV, Excel, Word, Text, etc)
  • Connect via the web client of Odoo
  • Easy to build in parameters for filtering in the report
  • Report designer seems to be buggy on Windows 7
  • The interface for the report designer is out dated and difficult to navigate or use.
  • I would like to see a tool tip when hovering over options
Read Adam O'Connor's full review
December 05, 2014

"Data Integration with Pentaho Kettle review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pentaho Kettle gives you a great graphic user interface to plan your transformation and jobs.
  • Pentaho Kettle makes it easy to handle errors, logging and performance.
  • Pentaho Kettle has dozen of great steps like: lookup and SCD functionality.
  • Several steps have performance issues like the Json input.
  • The community edition does not include scheduler and job manager so you need to figure it out yourself, unless of course you buy the Enterprise edition.
  • I think that web service should be easier to operate.
Read Itamar Steinberg's full review
November 05, 2014

Pentaho Review: "My Favorite Data Integration Tool is still Kitchen"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The data integration tool is very strong. It is easy to use and very accessible to business users
  • The data integration component provides ability to connect to almost any data source as input as well as output - quick and easy
  • The data integration component allows quick preview of the data in a pivot view type format which enables data analysis at an early stage of development
  • The BI server front end does not seem to be very appealing to the end users. In my experience the end users wish for a prettier display and easier navigation
  • Schema workbench is not easy to develop with, I know there were some plans of integrating the tool with the data integration component
  • Data integration server does not seem to be as useful. For example, while it provides some source control, the files are only controlled separately one by one. If the developer changes several files at the same time, they cannot commit them all in one go. Often the changes across different files need to be kept in sync.
Read Julia Gusman's full review
November 04, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho: a strong open source BI suite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The Pentaho Data Integration tool is extremely versatile. I find it easier to use than comparable tools like SSIS.
  • The reporting engine delivers reports in multiple formats, including Excel and PDF.
  • It is easy for users to subscribe to reports for delivery by email.
  • The report parameterization is very flexible, and I find it easier to use and more versatile than parameterization in Crystal.
  • If using the community edition, be prepared to invest some effort in learning the product. Documentation can be vague.
  • The new pivot table viewer is part of the enterprise edition. Fortunately there is a nice open source plug in called Saiku that can replace the old, difficult to use jPivot pivot table interface.
  • I wish there were easier ways to audit user activity, especially to see which items have not been accessed for a long time and could be retired.
  • There are not as many people who know how to use Pentaho in the market as there are people proficient in other BI tools. There is a learning curve and design patterns are not necessarily the same from one BI tool to the next.
Read Nathan Smith's full review
February 23, 2016

User Review: "An implementor view on Pentaho tools."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The main strength of Pentaho (PDI) is that it is free. No need for additional license approvals to implement something quickly using the UI tool.
  • It has Pentaho Reporting - the ability to use reporting on top of PDI transformations is a powerful feature. PDI can handle data extraction, and with reporting you can create a simple report on this data. They all just work with each other without additional integration required.
  • And most of Pentaho projects are open-source. That helps a lot when debugging something.
  • Help documentation is an area for improvements. A lot of features and side effects just not documented.
  • PDI uses swt. It has a lot of troubles with this dependency. It is run on Java, but with swt - and you are stuck with a platform that supports swt. ARM architecture does not have swt support out of the box.
  • Online jobs/transformations creation. Jobs/transformations are just xml. So the lack of online editor is just 'it was not implemented yet'.
  • Strange /Pentaho-solutions placement. Application is not deployed on a server in a standard way. Instead - a server should be embedded into a 'Pentaho solution' - very strange architecture.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2016

User Review: "Pentaho for Quality Assurance"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pentaho allows for migration from one system to another system without much trouble.
  • Minimum code or almost no code expertise is required. Just get your SQL and Pentaho will do rest.
  • It is difficult to verify millions of rows. But with Pentaho you can do that, this makes the QA task easier.
  • Pentaho does make comparison of data between two systems fairly easier compared to other systems, but it lags in terms of output you get. The output has a merge difference option which will show a difference transaction only but if you have large data set columns it is not easy to find issues.
  • Date formatting and number formatting is again an issue, both the systems should have the same datatype. It was difficult for us to compare as a new system had updated data types and pentaho failed to compare these.
Read this authenticated review
June 10, 2014

User Review: "Pentaho Open Source"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • For an open source tool the documentation was fairly good and the support reasonable
  • The tool was relatively easy to learn without a lot of training.
  • We did have some issues getting the automation to work. I believe this was 'Kettle'. Other than that, not too many bugs.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (12)
6.3
Customizable dashboards (11)
6.7
Report Formatting Templates (12)
6.6
Drill-down analysis (12)
7.0
Formatting capabilities (12)
6.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (7)
6.1
Report sharing and collaboration (11)
4.9
Publish to Web (11)
6.2
Publish to PDF (13)
7.4
Report Versioning (8)
6.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (11)
6.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (3)
6.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (10)
6.1
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (10)
6.3
Predictive Analytics (9)
5.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (13)
7.4
Role-Based Security Model (12)
7.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (12)
7.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (4)
7.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (6)
5.3
Dedicated iOS Application (3)
6.5
Dedicated Android Application (3)
6.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (7)
5.6
REST API (3)
6.5
Javascript API (3)
6.2
iFrames (3)
4.9
Java API (3)
5.8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (3)
5.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (3)
6.4

About Pentaho

Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.

Pentaho Integrations

Pentaho Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No