SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
691 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Dariusz Zyskowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2016

SAP Business Objects: Review by a Grumpy Old Customer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

5
We are still debating the SAP BO license renewal. We want to make sure (by comparing it to other tools) that BO has kept up with its competition with features and general product development direction. One major point for the established BO customers (like us) is Desktop Intelligence (Deski) reports support. Back when the product was purchased this was the only reporting tool offered by BO, so great majority of reports have been created in Deski. Now, new BO release 4.1 officially does not support it, but SAP recently made some concessions to at lease extend its life and make it easier to convert them to Webi.
Read Dariusz Zyskowski's full review
Kevin McManus | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

The New SAP BusinessObjects RESTful SDK: What It Means to You

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Its the future! The old SDK's are no longer being enhanced and the new Restful API's are being updated in an agile way that sees many updates per release. We are now looking forward to the similar increase of flexable API calls to the Design Studio, Lumira and Explorer applications in future releases
Read Kevin McManus's full review
Len Bartlett, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2014

SAP Business Objects XI 3.1: Super-Sized Business Intelligence

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
After the initial investment, the renewal for support and new releases is extremely reasonable. Our entire reporting platform is built around SAP BO, all of our data leads to those servers, our clients are happy and we are looking to upgrade in the next six months to take advantage of its mobile reporting platform, so of course we are going to renew!
Read Len Bartlett, MBA's full review
Joel Pick | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2014

Give Business Objects another look

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We currently have a strong user base, and the Des Moines area is a strong BO community so it is easier to get talent. The value is very good for the money you pay. SAP is a leader in the industry. though it is playing catch-up in some areas, it has the money to quickly resolve that.
Read Joel Pick's full review
Phil Hackman, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2014

SAP Business Objects: Easy-to-Deploy Great Looking Management-Level and Routine Enterprise-Wide Reporting

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
It provides the functionality we need to create management level reporting to our C-level suite of users. Additionally, it is a very stable product and there is ample technical support from the vendor and from third party consultants skilled in the implementation, training and support for this product suite.
Read Phil Hackman, CPA's full review
Carrie Brate | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2014

Quick, Intuitive System

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
I may want to explore what else is out there just to see how it compares, but overall I am satisfied with Business Objects, and I would want to renew usage. It requires little training to get acclimated with, which allows new employees to get up to speed very quickly. I feel it is a reliable and quick system, which results in increased productivity.
Read Carrie Brate's full review
Meg DeBoer | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2014

Good for accessing information, bad for data visualization

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

5
I would renew if there was nothing better in the same price range. However, the difficulty of data manipulation and dashboard creation can be a bit frustrating. I would look for a tool in this price range that can be a warehouse of information that is also easy to customize.
Read Meg DeBoer's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2015

SAP Business Objects excels against similar competition, but against the likes of Spotfire, Tableau, Qlik, and Si Sense, it's just plain old "BO"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

5
This is not really applicable, as I am no longer with the company that selected and implemented Business Objects. However, if I were still there, I think there would be a reasonably high chance of renewal. Once the initial investments have been made in procuring, implementing, training, etc., it would be somewhat prohibitive NOT to renew.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2014

Fast, Accurate, and Effiencient (but not so user friendly)

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
I am satisified with the use of SAP Business Objects and therefore have no need to switch to another software (not to include the cost of moving to a new software). It is fast, accurate, and efficient so there is no reason for us not to renew the product. The product also works well for our company as we often have internal reorganizations and have to change the parameters of our data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2012

Problems reporting against an OLAP database.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
We will likely make this decision at the end of next year. We have 2 paths. We have to determine how we consolidate our various data warehouses, and what are the enterprise promoted tools.

Most of the operations reports are in the WebI ad-hoc reporting tool, and we don't have any complaints about them.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (39)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (40)
7.3
Report Formatting Templates (41)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (41)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (41)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
6.9
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
8.2
Publish to Web (34)
8.0
Publish to PDF (39)
8.2
Report Versioning (35)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (39)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (21)
8.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (34)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (33)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (31)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (40)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (39)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (39)
8.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (25)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (27)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (21)
6.6
Dedicated Android Application (19)
6.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (24)
7.5
REST API (16)
7.7
Javascript API (14)
7.2
iFrames (12)
6.4
Java API (16)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (15)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (16)
6.6

About SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence (BI) platform is a flexible, scalable information infrastructure that aims to help you more easily discover and share insights for better business decisions. According to the vendor, the integrated, unified infrastructure enables scalability from one to many tools and interfaces on premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Features

Has featureReporting and analysis
Has featureData visualization and analytics applications
Has featureOffice integration

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Competitors

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
Mobile Application:No