SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
691 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 58)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) overall satisfaction

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP BO BI is widely used in my organization since it is a tool that does not require an understanding of coding and provides a good supplement to support tools such as Excel and pivot tables. It is a good tool for a business analyst to do reporting and data visualization.
Read this authenticated review
Martin Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform - The corporate on-premise solution from SAP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform in countless companies and covering different types of industries with excellent results. It allows you to solve all the reporting needs as well as the development of boards and the massive distribution of information automatically. It you allows to meet the needs of different types of users, as many as the management area as the power users.
Read Martin Lopez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Great tool to access and analyze SAP BW data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The main part we use is SAP Analysis Office. It's a great alternative way to access reports/queries in SAP BusinessWarehouse compared to the web version. It offers more flexibility for further calculations, analysis, and formatting. The best function for me was creating a format/template and then just refresh the data in it with prompts every month. It saves a lot of time in preparing reports.

Also, it is capable of running with Excel VBA: many reports with the same format can be generated automatically with VBA and SAP Analysis Office.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

A good tool for a business analyst

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used SAP BO BI in my previous job as an energy market analyst. It is a good supplement to embedded with Excel tools such as VBA, Pivot Tables, etc. Because of that, it is fairly flexible to extend its ability in analysis and calculation. However, since I moved to be a data scientist, I have barely used this tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

SAP offers a sufficient tool with their BI Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Business Objects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform was used for analytical reporting within the Strategy, Marketing, Operations, and Finance departments. It is used like a front-end tool to data ware systems in the back-end to query data and make analysis. It has a built-in reporting display mechanism but we have been using it for generally extracting data. Even though the report displays are getting
better and better every day, Excel, MS Power BI reports are better.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

BusinessObjects Business Intelligence for Data-informed decision making.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the whole organization to make data-informed decisions. Human resources, Finance and various schools use BusinessObjects for their daily activities and also do the ad-hoc reporting.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Get over the set-up hump and you are in the clear!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

When working in pharma marketing there are a lot of different platforms that produce massive amounts of data from many different locations, SAP Business Objects BI Platform acts as the centralized hub for the synthesis of all of that information and spits out easy to digest reports containing insights that can be shared with all levels of the business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Good choice for providing business reports from a variety of data sources

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Business Object Business Intelligence (BI) Platform is used widely in our company across departments like Finance, Planning and Sales. Due to the different software solutions have been implemented in different business units, a tool should be available to combine different data sources to produce management and operational reports. Currently this tool is SAP BI in our organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

SAP BI Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using SAP BI for analysis and reporting purposes. We use this within the insurance industry. We had some issues with a client regarding reporting and used SAP BI to help solve this problem so we could stop doing this manually.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

On-Demand Reporting Made Easy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use the SAP BusinessObjects BI platform for our reporting and dashboard data analysis. GP Dynamics and our custom ERP are the data sources we need analyzed. It is being used across all departments for real-time reporting, which is used to manage our daily activities of registration, airline flight data, resource booking and forecasting, budgeting and program execution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

SAP BI Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP BusinessObjects BI is used as the reporting tool. We have SAP BW as our business warehouse system and SAP BO is on the top. We also have other reporting tools as SAP Lumira.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Possibly the best reporting tool you can have.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform in several companies. I used it successfully in different kinds of industries (retail, manufacturing, etc.) to manage different reporting areas (basically financial and sales reports). The most important feature of this solution is its availability to adapt to any requirement.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Diaz-Suarez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Why SAP? Why?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP BI was used for our office to gauge manufacturing and product analytics. It was supposed to solve the problem we had with our business portion of our software. However after deployment, we quickly found out it was not so easy. It was used in manufacturing and parts management.
Read Michael Diaz-Suarez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

SAP BO - Top rated BI system in a multinational organization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used BusinessObjects for over 2.5 years now. It is great tool for scripting and developing reports. It has easy drag and drop options to select what variable you want in your final report. If you have large number of facilities and have data stored in multiple universes, it allows you to create a combined query and get final report from multiple universes. You can send your scripts to other individuals within your team. For any recurring reports, you can schedule them and they run whenever you've set them to run. It has some amazing quick filters that can be used while writing your script that allows you get tailored results.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

SAP Business Objects is a complex but valuable tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP Business Objects platform is currently in use by two departments across our enterprise with a total of about 200 people. These departments take requests from businesses across the enterprise and work with them to generate reports based off of criteria that the business decides. The whole organization benefits from Business Objects.
Read this authenticated review
Tim Dorscher | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2019

SAP Business Objects Intelligence: I wish I was allowed another way

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use it to gather data from our SAP Warehouse to report out our financial information and high and low performing/selling products. It allows us to gather that data and put it into Excel where we can then use other tools to create visualizations of the data in our monthly, quarterly and yearly reports.
Read Tim Dorscher's full review
Ben Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

SAP BO and I: A love story

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP is currently used by a single department but for data that is pulled business-wide. We integrate the date of various departments and create reports in order to find out any casuality issues across the business as well as to determine if changes in one area are having the desired effect across the business. It addresses an issue we had with data being difficult to link together across large areas of the business to see if the data held by one department could be used to make savings in another.
Read Ben Williams's full review
Rodolfo Pinera | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

A wonderful tool that has evolutionized to the new needs in business.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Recently, I did for production a report sales in WebIntelligence, which started with 30 users and the main heads in company, and now are in process for 100 users. Additionally I am in a project for Finance users, the objective is to create a set of reports in Web Intelligence and a dashboard in Design Studio.
Read Rodolfo Pinera's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

SAP Business Objects to Empower the Enterprise Data Consumption

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use SAP BOBJ to extract data from our ERP (SAP ECC6 EHP6) thru some Pre-defined Rapid Mart schemas. Once data is loaded, we created Universes and do the required ETL (Extract Transform and Load) to model the data to be consumed to all organization from Finance and Costs to Maintenance, Production, Sales a, d Purchasing. Users have either BI reports ready or they use Microsoft Power BI to consume the data.
Read this authenticated review
Josh Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2018

Great capabilities but complex and the future will soon make it obselete

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform is being used to host reports created in Lumira and Analysis for Office, to enable the creation, storage, and sharing of data and reports. Our most comfortable state is having someone centrally refreshing reports, saving them to a share point and then sending the link to their organization, so the BI Platform has a big opportunity for productivity savings and a better UX! It's being used globally across all areas of Business Planning and some accounting.
Read Josh Anderson's full review
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

A solution that will grow with the company

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The SAP BO BI has been used for several years within the company in the areas of production planning and reporting, budgeting, market data analysis. The main source data comprise in-house data (ordering system, production plan, production performance) and external data (market data, dealer/distributor data]) and social media data. The main tasks of the solution are in a regular reporting as well as ad-hoc analytics. Examples of business problems are production reporting, trend analysis, competition analysis. The platform is used in a multinational environment of a large production firm.
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Jason Westenskow | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

SAP BusinessObjects BI - the budget killer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP BusinessObjects BI (BOBJ) is used across the organization. Access to reporting is the main problem it addresses however it's limited by the number of licenses available to our end users. It also addresses our need for pixel-perfect reporting and distributed reporting.
Read Jason Westenskow's full review
Shiv Shivakumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2017

SAP BusinessObjects review from an early adopter

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SAP BusinessObjects is the transaction level detail query platform within the organization - we have trained and continuously train users on BusinessObjects for self-service mode so that they can generate and customize their own queries without depending on a central IT team. It is very prolifically used within the organization as we are a highly analytics driven organization.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (39)
8.0
Customizable dashboards (40)
7.3
Report Formatting Templates (41)
7.8
Drill-down analysis (41)
8.7
Formatting capabilities (41)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
6.9
Report sharing and collaboration (39)
8.2
Publish to Web (34)
8.0
Publish to PDF (39)
8.2
Report Versioning (35)
7.9
Report Delivery Scheduling (39)
8.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (21)
8.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (34)
8.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (33)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (31)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (40)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (39)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (39)
8.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (25)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (27)
7.1
Dedicated iOS Application (21)
6.6
Dedicated Android Application (19)
6.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (24)
7.5
REST API (16)
7.7
Javascript API (14)
7.2
iFrames (12)
6.4
Java API (16)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (15)
6.8
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (16)
6.6

About SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence (BI) platform is a flexible, scalable information infrastructure that aims to help you more easily discover and share insights for better business decisions. According to the vendor, the integrated, unified infrastructure enables scalability from one to many tools and interfaces on premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Features

Has featureReporting and analysis
Has featureData visualization and analytics applications
Has featureOffice integration

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Competitors

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Apple Safari, Firefox, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Windows: Server 2008 and 2012; Suse SLES 11 x86_64; Red Hat EL 5 and 6 x86_64; AIX 6.1 and 7.1 Power; Solaris 10 and 11 SPARC
Mobile Application:No