Synoptix

Overview

Recent Reviews

Synoptix Review

10 out of 10
August 11, 2017
Synoptix is currently our main system for building and reporting financial data. We have created nearly all of our internal and external …
Continue reading

Easy to use!

10 out of 10
November 08, 2016
We currently use Synoptix for most of our internal financial reporting and tracking of orders. We have written many Advanced Reporting …
Continue reading

Synoptixs

7 out of 10
May 31, 2016
The product we are using is called Synoptixs and it is a report writing tool. It is used by the accounting office but reports are shared …
Continue reading

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Synoptix, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Synoptix?

Synoptic provides ERP financial reporting tools and analysis. This solution is designed to deliver real-time data. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution empowers users to create financial and operational reports with spreadsheet ease of use.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is Workday Adaptive Planning?

Workday Adaptive Planning(formerly Adaptive Insights) is a financial planning and reporting tool. It includes automated budgeting and forecasting, financial reporting, and other active planning capabilities, including integrations with third-party products like Salesforce.

What is SAP Analytics Cloud?

The SAP Analytics Cloud solution brings together analytics and planning with integration to SAP applications and access to heterogenous data sources. As the analytics and planning solution within SAP Business Technology Platform, SAP Analytics Cloud supports trusted insights and integrated planning…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Synoptix?

Synoptic provides ERP financial reporting tools and analysis. This solution is designed to deliver real-time data. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution empowers users to create financial and operational reports with spreadsheet ease of use.

Synoptix Integrations

  • Colleague
  • Oracle
  • Sage
  • SAP

Synoptix Competitors

Synoptix Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)60%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)30%

Synoptix Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry
Supported CountriesVarious
Supported LanguagesEnglish, Spanish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (14)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-12 of 12)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Finance department is using Synoptix to better work with budgets and spending around the institution.
  • Has a lot of flexibility
  • It is customizable
  • Hard to setup and install
  • Requires a lot of training as it could be confusing
It is excellent if set up well, and users are well trained on how to use it as it is not very user-friendly. But to achieve that, you have to go through the hell of a setup. Support is not knowledgeable in some areas of the software, it is tough to set up and install, and when presented by salespeople, it is all great, but you need to invest a lot to pay it off.
Support does not know much about software solutions. As an example, I have struggled for weeks just to set up LDAP that should be fairly simple.
Tracy Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Synoptix is a tool which pulls financial info from our ERP software (Made2Manage) to provide better reports and visibility of our accounts.
  • Provides a single pane of glass for all accounting and GL reporting.
  • Easy to pull reports in a simple manner.
  • Fairly easy to train new employees on how to pull the information needed for their day to day jobs.
  • It has a poor install procedure which is not standard. It almost requires copying folders from an existing computer to the new install.
  • The update process is less than desirable. It seems like Compusoft needs to do a better job of testing before releasing updates.
  • The interface is a bit archaic. It looks more like a program from 20 years ago than one used today.
Synoptix really has only one purpose and while it has some shortcomings, it does adequately perform its job.
August 11, 2017

Synoptix Review

Logan Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Synoptix is currently our main system for building and reporting financial data. We have created nearly all of our internal and external financial reports using their system and scheduler to push reports to individual departments in HTML or CSV formats.
  • Easy report building interface with an query interface that allows financial users the ability to conduct complex queries without difficulty.
  • The ability to create reporting that allows us to review in-depth financial review by drilling down into accounts to find transnational data easily.
  • Easily maintained and monitored with simple upgrade installations and end point installation.
  • Great knowledge base for review and trouble-shooting.
  • Highly knowledgeable and easy to work with staff.
  • End point installations are a little confusing for some of our support staff. There's no direct installation wizard.
By supporting our business office and utilizing Synoptix we have been able to reduce our Y/E closing procedures greatly and improve on our campus communication of account activities.
Jesse Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Synoptix is being used by the accounting and finance team for transactional reports, analysis reports, and preparing the financials each month. Synoptix allows us to create reports in a more flexible and time efficient way to get the data we need.
  • Financial Statements
  • Analysis Reports (including historical data)
  • Transactional reports
  • The scheduler could use improvement (the company is working on a new version)
  • Occasionally there is a bug in running the report
Synoptix is a great tool for anyone who is running the financials manually from their ERP system and then manipulating them into the proper format. This tool can take hours (if not days) of work and turn it into a 5 minute job. I have also found a lot of value from running analysis reports. The ability to drill into the system to see individual transactions is incredibly valuable. While there are occasionally bugs with the system, the customer service team at Synoptix is very responsive and always ready to help. I enjoy working with them and would buy the software again.
December 05, 2016

Synoptix Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It is being used] to assist in accounting.
  • It provides detailed account analysis
  • Excellent at creating reports for all aspects of accounting and budgeting
  • Of course any software could be made to work easier and be more intuitive to non-computer people. Synoptix has made significant changes to make their product more user friendly
It works excellent as a report tool for Elucian products.
Mariano Monzu, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Synoptix takes care of all of our financial reporting needs from financials statements, to monthly/daily/hourly budget reports, account analysis, etc. My CFO relies and uses these reports on a daily basis. We also share reports throughout the organization via a web portal. It is positively surprising how users, with little training involved, can build comparatives, multi-years reports in a matter of minutes. This tool requires little to no IT intervention once set up. Very user friendly.

  • Complex, time consuming reports can be quickly produced without the need of a special skills set.
  • Organizes and provides for better access and distribution of data from your ERP.
  • Can’t emphasize enough the IT independence! You don’t really need them!
  • The web portal could be improved both in its presentation and organization of data and speed of delivery.
  • It would be ideal to run and publish reports for multi-departmental users in one report. In other words, have a single report with multiple tabs representing each department and not have multiple reports (one for each department).
  • When new production filters (under financial setup) are added these should automatically appear in order.
Again, this tool is well suited to address all of your financial type needs from financial statements, to budget reports, to account analysis, etc. This is not a data mining tool like Tableau.
November 08, 2016

Easy to use!

Jeramy Mackie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Synoptix for most of our internal financial reporting and tracking of orders. We have written many Advanced Reporting reports to show our backlog and open orders for all of our salespeople. Advanced Reporting allows us to have all the information in Made2Manage at our fingertips and much faster than the reports in Made2Manage. Synoptix allows us to better manage our time and information.
  • Advanced Reporting allows you to write various reports with ease...even for the technologically challenged people.
  • Information is obtained faster thru Advanced Reporting than Made2Manage.
  • Financial analysis is much easier!
  • I would like to see the report builder of Advanced Reporting have more of the capabilities of Microsoft Excel.
Advanced Reporting is well suited for companies with many lines of businesses. Reports can be written to break out the information with ease. I would say the benefit for small companies may be limited.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Synoptix at Alvin Community College to create financial reports more efficiently than we previously had. After getting initial training from Synoptix, we found their product very user friendly and completely capable of handling our reporting issue (where other third party software had fallen short). As of right now, only our business office department is using Synoptix, but we hope to expand reporting to other departments in the future.
  • User friendly software.
  • Professional, on-site training.
  • Excellent customer support.
  • Sample fonts in all areas that can be chosen.
  • More error based explanations.
  • Save and Transfer feature (all-in-one).
Synoptix is really geared toward our financial reporting, but we would like to see them expand into other areas that we could work with, such as our purchasing department.
Traci Hemmerlin  CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the advanced reporting software. This is fully integrated with our ERP solution, (M2M) and used mostly for financial reporting. It is used by our general managers, plant managers, purchasing, and accounting. This product works well - consistently! It is very unusual that we need tech support, but when we do, they are right on! We use the product for multiple locations and do comparative statements locally. You would NEVER know that the data wasn't stored on the machine sitting next to me as quick and reliable as this solution is to pull in the data from separate servers in separate states! (Including the drill-down detail.) Love it!
  • Very easy to write reports.
  • Upgrades process has been automated and requires almost zero effort! (no IT involvement required).
  • Drilldown function a breeze and provides instant results to the layperson for our financials.
  • I'd love to see a drill down by the financial statement line-item that provides all the detail for that line item immediately, rather than drilling down on individual transactions within the account.
I have actually recommended the product many times. Once the reports are written, it just works. Zero effort. The financials were easy to write. If only the month end closing process were this simple.
Pete Mandell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use Synoptix to create custom financial reports that get distributed to all those who manage departmental budgets. Each department receives a monthly report that shows the performance of their areas so they can review their area's financial performance.
  • Excellent job rolling out the product and training the key user community.
  • Integrates with our general ledger system seamlessly.
  • The report scheduler is great so that reports can run without having to manually run them all the time.
  • Would like a little more functionality that dovetails with Excel such as fonts etc.
  • If you change a report in the scheduler but only as a one time change and want to keep the normal scheduling, it appears you have to wait until the report is run and received before you can go back to save the report with the old scheduling parameters.
  • In the training that we had there were a few items that were pointed out that were "nice to have".
Synoptix is very good at creating custom standard financial reports.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Synoptix to access and look at data from different angles that Made2Manage currently doesn't offer. It allows us to quickly make custom reports easily and efficiently. Currently it is being used to examine manufacturing operations that help determine scheduling and work flows.
  • The report writing works very similar to an Excel spreadsheet, very user friendly.
  • You can make reports quickly - within a couple minutes for less complex reports.
  • You can drill down into data after running a report to see underlying data that drives the top number.
  • Sometimes you run into a glitch in the software that makes it seem as if the report won't run the way you think that it should. One example, is when you delete a cell and then add a different value the software seems to have some "memory" of the old data cell that was there previously. The key is to start fresh with new columns or rows.
  • There are many features within the Made2Manage ERP database that are not directly available to use in the software. However, the Synoptix techs will try to help find a work around or add some customization if needed.
The software is best utilized in scenarios where a current ERP system isn't set up to create customized reports efficiently and in a user friendly way.
May 31, 2016

Synoptixs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product we are using is called Synoptixs and it is a report writing tool. It is used by the accounting office but reports are shared throughout the college. We installed Synoptix during our year end audit taking precious time for a 3 day training. We walked out of the training with actual reports we needed for the audit and with the tools to create reports on the fly. I use Synoptix almost as much as I use Excel. I can create budget to actual comparatives spanning many years in just a few minutes. I can disseminate these reports quickly and easily and provide my end user transaction level detail with a click. I have never worked with a more user friendly report writer.
  • Allows us to create reports that used to take programmers to do. Can run them much quicker and gain access to information in our general ledger at any time.
  • Synoptixs is formatted like Excel but does not have the capabilities of Excel in many cases. Does limit what I can do to manipulate the data.
Synoptis is well suited to help build financial reports and get information out to departments. Once they are created, they can be scheduled to run every day if needed without any further work on anyone's part