Prophix Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
206 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 158)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 05, 2021
Mark Russell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ohio Northern University (ONU) uses Prophix for reporting and budget development across its entire campus. We have also been able to utilize Prophix to perform analyses involving data over multiple years. These analyses are not possible with our ERP system, Ellucian Banner. Utilization of Prophix for budget development has allowed ONU to develop its budget in a decentralized fashion since its implementation. This has resulted in better engagement from the nearly 100 Prophix users across campus and has enabled ONU to develop better and more accurate budgets. Budget managers appreciate the ease of use of Prophix.
  • ONU has benefitted by moving away from a centralized, Excel-based budget process by implementing Prophix to a decentralized process that engages budget managers in the development of the University's budget.
  • Prophix offers tremendous flexibility in reporting that is not available through our ERP system.
  • Prophix is very adaptable to many different types of industries. Its flexibility and adaptability is one of its biggest strengths.
  • The ability to set up workflows for a variety of tasks within Prophix is very beneficial for tracking purposes.
  • Prophix is very Excel-like in its functionality. It would be nice to see Prophix adopt some additional Excel functionality in its product
  • While the workflow process is helpful within Prophix, I would like to see some additional functionality added
Prophix is adaptable to many different types of organizations. It is an exceptional tool for budget development, even across complex organizations. Prophix also allows a much more flexible approach to financial reporting and analysis than is offered in most ERP systems. An added bonus is the ability that Prophix has to handle long-range planning and forecasting.
Prophix has allowed Ohio Northern to transition from a very centralized budget process to one that involves nearly 100 budget managers across campus. This has improved communication and transparency in the budget development process. Budget managers now feel far more ownership of their budgets, which has helped improve overall financial performance. Senior leadership has been able to review budget requests in a much more efficient manner.
Read Mark Russell's full review
April 01, 2021
Ben Swinney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for our company level reporting and planning as well as department reporting.
  • Automating processes.
  • Flexibility of design. You can easily make changes.
  • Efficiency. It save lots of time.
  • Designing reports could be more streamlined
  • It could run faster
  • Capacity to scale can be an issue
Prophix works well for companies that want flexibility but also want to build standardized, efficient processes. It does great for management reporting, forecasting and budgeting. If you have a lot of data elements (number of fields and number of data items), it can reach some capacity issues.
It has completely solved this issue for us. We were able to convert from our Excel-based reporting, forecasting and budgeting model and no longer have to maintain that file. We were able to reduce our need to maintain multiple data files and account mappings.
Read Ben Swinney's full review
April 01, 2021
Marcia Jo Frazier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is used by the whole organization. The finance department does utilize Prophix more than any other department. It has allowed us to improve our budgeting process; we were able to eliminate duplicate work and hours combining spreadsheets. We have saved so much time that can now be dedicated to other tasks or analyzing data instead of just gathering it.
  • Automates repetitive tasks
  • Allows us to analyze hundreds of thousands of lines of data within seconds
  • Streamlining budgeting processes that cut down on the human error aspect
  • More flexibility needed in dashboard chart design
  • More flexibility in how accounts roll-up (children added together = parent total; sometimes I need to average the children to get the parent, but that is not a current feature)
  • I wish ad hoc analysis was available for standard users
Prophix helps any business (regardless of size) that is having trouble analyzing large amounts of data. It allows you to focus on the big picture instead of having to comb through every single detail. Prophix can also guide your organization to a more disciplined approach, however, if you are not currently disciplined as an organization it can be a painful transition.
Oh, wow. I may run out of words for this one. We went from combining multiple versions of excel templates for 60+ offices and/or departments. Every year there were complaints about the end result not containing their most updated submissions. There was a mistrust of the finance team for "changing their numbers" when in reality it was usually that in combining the 60+ spreadsheets a mistake was inevitably made. Not only has the process been shortened by at least 1 month, but we are also able to show who inputted what numbers and when. There is a transparency that was not there before Prophix and that has been huge in building trust between our end users and the finance team.
Read Marcia Jo Frazier's full review
April 01, 2021
Alex Kaiser | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is currently being used to budget, report profit and loss statements, and do variance analysis for over 20 programs. We also use Prophix for reporting on personnel planning and cross charging between departments. We integrate Prophix with our production databases to show real time production trends. Over 20 program managers interact with Prophix and make business decisions using the most up to date, relevant data. Prophix saves a lot of time for our company and helps provide the most relevant data for business decisions.
  • Prophix helps tremendously with the budgeting process. It allows scalability when we add new programs. The flexibility of Prophix allows for an accurate and efficient budgeting process.
  • Prophix does an excellent job at building data integrations, which helps feed the most recent data into Prophix with no manual processes.
  • Prophix's customer support team is amazing and is always willing to help you build more functionality into the product as time goes on and additional needs are identified.
  • I can't identify any areas where Prophix has room for improvement. The product works great!
I think Prophix is best suited for budgeting, reporting actuals, and looking for variance analysis. Prophix is also great at showing real time production data to managers and the executive team. Prophix is amazing to use when changes occur within your organization and flexibility is desired. I would highly recommend Prophix to any organization.
Prophix is much more flexible and robust than excel. I recommend every organization uses Prophix for budgeting/reporting to ensure the data is accurate and to save time. The Board Report and other reports can be done automatically every month by Prophix, which ensures accuracy and saves a tremendous amount of time.
Read Alex Kaiser's full review
April 01, 2021
Michael Senchuk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix in three ways: (1) as an integral part of our budgeting/forecasting process; (2) to report monthly financial results; and (3) for other reporting purposes, like headcount and turnover, and operations-related information.
  • Budgeting and forecasting; it's built with a workflow and input capabilities to make these 10X more efficient than through collecting spreadsheets.
  • Reporting financial results; it's vastly improved our reporting capabilities, both in terms of looks and ease of use for the end-user, and the capability to distribute them on a much quicker basis.
  • Their dashboard capabilities are very impressive; we use this on a regular basis as well, and I'm regularly tweaking the dashboard for different parts of the organization.
  • Some Excel feature aren't available in their templates, or are a slightly different format.
  • I'd love to see template reporting be able to focus in on specific cross-combinations.
  • The dashboard graphs aren't as flexible as excel graphs.
Probably a 9. I don't know if it would be the best solution for EVERYONE, but it sure would be a great solution for most in my opinion. I think most small-medium and medium-sized organizations would be perfect for it.
This was our prime reason we got it, and it delivered perfectly. We have a number of terminals across the country, and the terminal manager used to input into an excel spreadsheet along with the assistance of my predecessor. we've now spun out input templates in prophix to each of these terminal managers, and loaded in 'starting data' for them, such that they only have to go in and look, and then make any changes they see fit. from there the data of course is available real-time, rather than having to go through some crazy process to consolidate 20-30 excel spreadsheets. that old consolidation process was at least 3 days. now it's instantaneous. plus it enables us to slice and dice in 1000's of ways to the data to make sure it makes sense, and to see how we're tracking through the year.
Read Michael Senchuk's full review
April 01, 2021
Raymond Weigand | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is available across the whole organization and is currently set up for real time reporting of actual results vs budget ... the Prophix platform is web based and is accessed via the internet ... financial results are now more available and more timely for the decision makers and their direct reports.
  • Prophix platform creates a more open and collaborative budget process
  • Real time reports identify customer service issues quicker
  • Real time reports are custom to the decision maker and his direct reports
  • The web based platform is readily accessible
  • Would like to see more Cloud 365 abilities
  • Prophix online learning should be more available to all the users with subscription
  • Prophix could have more interactive choices within the reporting platform ... a distributed dynamic "read only" type report for Decision Makers with multiple responsibilities ... a PDF type report with drop down choices that auto upload the read only report.
Prophix is well suited for accessibility and real time information sharing ... the report users receive the most benefit ... the key for the admin and the super users is to see something more familiar in the report creating process ... would be wonderful if the Cloud 365 capabilities are more similar where the reports could be generated in another program (Cloud 365) and Prophix provide the portal to translate the shared platform into the Admin Prophix account. Data visualization in the Daily Dashboard could also be an area for improvement if the Cloud partners have better capabilities for visual reporting ... these same capabilities should already be available.
Excel is the preferred, however, not everyone has a historical background in the Excel abilities ... for the non financial manager ... a very simple way to access information in the current. Instead of Excel templates (decentralized info sharing) the more stable and scheduled Prophix templates creates better communications in the scheduling and the tracking and tracing of timeliness. A well documented process that is centralized and easily observable by the decision makers.
Read Raymond Weigand's full review
April 01, 2021
Wendell Schmidt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for our financial reporting and to construct our company budgets.
  • Reporting output is excellent - what you see on the screen will print the way you see it or if you send it to excel, it will look in Excel like you view on the screen. This saves time from having to manipulate reports.
  • It is easy to navigate and find what you are looking for. The learning curve was less than I have experienced with other software and the training was great so that I understand how the software works. This is helpful when trying to configure the software to your needs.
  • Their process manager works well for moving and copying data from one cube to another. We changed our department numbers in our ERP and so I had to create the new departments in Prophix and move the data to these departments and delete the old one. It was a bit of a process to setup but running the process went well and accomplished the task.
  • Prophix doesn't do well when it comes to balance sheet and cash flow budgeting. Their support staff doesn't seem to know much about them either, so you have I have had to try to figure a lot of it out myself.
  • Drilling in to find details of a number you have in a report is difficult and time consuming. When you analyze it pulls up all the data in your report and then you have to find the number you want more detail on to explore more there. Rather than just pulling in data that pertains to the number you want to explore. However, they do have drill across and for some reason this didn't get setup in our install. This is supposed to help but I have not used it yet.
  • Copying a budget is cumbersome and time consuming. In my previous software all I had to do was click copy, select a few options, and it would copy ALL the parts of my budget and create a new one. Prophix has so many pieces I have to update or copy each piece, so it is quite a process create a copy of a budget. I like to create a copy of a budget, make a few tweaks and I have a new budget fairly quickly.
Prophix is well suited for reporting, easily getting reports to display as you want them, and easily distributing reports to users.
We use Prophix solely for our budgeting. We do still use Excel when it is easier or less time consuming to configure a solution in Excel rather than try to build it in Prophix.
We have not been using Excel for budgeting but just for a supporting tool.
Read Wendell Schmidt's full review
March 28, 2021
William Van Hulzen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Prophix is being used for our financial reporting, planning/forecasting and hopefully on down the road for dashboards, detail sales reporting, etc.

The finance department is the main user of prophix, however, line departments are asked to input plan and forecast data for review and consolidation.

Prophix allows us to maintain current and historical data that was previously being handled by excel spreadsheets. Monthly consolidation of multiple entities, planning and forecasting are now done more quickly with detail and commentary that can be made part of the record.

  • Financial reporting and consolidations - flexible!
  • Planning and Forecasting - detail planning for headcount, capex, fixed assets, etc. and department mgrs. can input data.
  • Ad Hoc Analysis - ability to slice and dice data and drill down to transaction level.
  • Prophix needs to have a better interface with Excel for downloading, uploading, and analysis of data. Moving to the cloud (SaaS) and using web client solves this problem.
  • Report writing with smart client has a long learning curve, web client may be better but we are just getting started with web client.
  • Due to its flexibility Prophix requires dedicated training and use of consultants for implementation.
I can speak for a mid-sized company, once prophix is implemented and users are trained (requires consultants and dedicated effort by users) it can be a very useful tool to eliminate the use of excel spreadsheets and standardize reporting, planning and forecasting. It is flexible enough for "super" users to take it into areas of analysis and reporting that may not be possible for many such products, such as human resources, capex, fixed assets, commissions, anywhere a database or cube could hold data for analysis and reporting. Prophix is also cost effective, mid-market level, and opens up opportunities for companies that can't afford HFM or the like.
Prophix allows managers access to their departmental data to easily see trends, review comparatives to plan and forecast, last year, etc. It has drill down capability as well. Data can easily be downloaded or copied and pasted into excel and vice versa. Data can be spread via a number of different methods and % applied to increase or decrease results. Line item detail and notes can be added to fully communicate reasoning behind financial figures. Templates are used to input data and personnel can be budgeted using the detail planning module.

We actually set up a new chart of accounts in prophix, which is different from our legacy system due to how bad it was initially set-up. We have automated the mapping and integration of data from our main system and use flat file uploads from Excel templates for consolidated entities. Automating the import of data from our main system required an investment in time and resources on initial implementation. This is not a product you can have your IT team install and set-up! Things are running smoothly now that IT does understand how the staging of data occurs. Flat file uploads from consolidated entities is quick and simple.


Prophix is necessarily complex because it is a very flexible tool that can be used to solve just about any data analysis or reporting need. There is always a disconnect between the initial presentation of a software product and actual implementation and use. Be sure to allocate the necessary investment in time and money for consulting help and user training.
It has been easy to add users, entities and departments as needed. The software seems very stable and reliable. We have had no downtime due to bugs, etc.
Availability of outstanding consultants and excellent support from the prophix help desk and other contacts within prophix has been top notch. They are an excellent company to work with and genuinely care about their clients.
Read William Van Hulzen's full review
January 24, 2021
Ashleigh Arand | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for our budgets, forecasting and reporting. Our entire organization uses Prophix for budgeting. Each department puts together their entire budget in Prophix and then I am in charge of reviewing all departments. I make sure their budgets were created and approved and then I monitor throughout the year. Prophix has helped us tremendously with staying organized and getting our budgets done timely. I really enjoy the workflow that the software has to offer. It keeps me organized and lets me know who has and hasn't finished their budgets. Keeping everyone on task is extremely important and I feel the workflow helps with this. With so many hands in the pot it can be overwhelming sometimes with going through a budget process but with the workflow it makes it a breeze and our budget owners love it as well. The budget owners get reminders and the approvers receive an email when the budget owner has submitted their budget and it is ready for review. I'm not sure where I would be without this amazing feature. I can't thank Prophix enough for the help it offers in keeping things organized and helping with timeliness.
  • Line item Detail is one of my favorite functions. It is such a simple, easy thing but helps a lot with staying organized.
  • Workflows are super easy to create and make the budget kickoff effortless.
  • Processes - I love being able to create a process that will flip all data from one version to the next. This is so helpful for companies like mine that do multiple forecasts per year.
  • Detailed Planning Manager could be a little more precise for our purposes. I wish it could easily calculate taxes based off of employee locations.
  • Detailed Planning Manger - wish I could set people up with different merit increases easily.
  • I wish Prophix and Workday spoke well to each other. We have Workday for accounting and it is a chore to get data from Prophix into Workday.
Prophix is a fantastic system and I really enjoy using it. However, some accounting systems don't work too well with Prophix logic and it can be extremely difficult at times to get the two systems to work together. I would just make sure Prophix integrated well with my accounting system before using. :)
Prophix worked very well with our old accounting system. Data integrated with ease. Now that we changed accounting systems and have Workday, we have found it very difficult and manual to integrate data between the two systems. It takes a lot more time now than ever before. I have to do uploads instead of just having an easy integration with a click of a button. This has definitely added a lot of admin work I was not anticipating.
Everyone from Prophix always seems ready and willing to help out when needed.
Read Ashleigh Arand's full review
April 15, 2021
Gavin Scott-Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team utilizes the Prophix software for monthly forecasting for our financials. It acts like a large check and balance for communications between operations and accounting.

We have found that without a proper forecast, it’s hard to maintain budgets or accuracy on expected revenue and profit on each of our projects. That is where Prophix steps in as we are able to sync it with our other databases and software.
  • Ease of use and understanding.
  • Submittals process for review.
  • Flexibility for organizations.
  • Older versions had issues with syncing and slow down during loading times.
  • UI is fairly basic.
  • Sometimes items UI items can be left up to interpretation, which can muddy data we get back.
Prophix is designed for its flexibility and communication. It’s acting for us like a backlog tracker or a revenue and profit tracker. It helps at our end of the month reports and meetings so everyone can be on the same page with that needs to be done for the following month.

It would be less appropriate for simply using like a spreadsheet without a bunch of predetermined formulas and data being pulled from our database.
We no longer use Microsoft Excel for any of our financials are forecasting. All of this is done through Prophix which helps increase track ability, multiple users, and forecasting. It’s the middle approval process between management, and the day to day operations team. The transition was fast and easy and most users are able to understand its purpose.
Read Gavin Scott-Miller's full review
April 08, 2021
Joe Scheidecker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for financial reporting and planning, We use DPM as well for fixed asset planning. All department heads and managers use Prophix for budgeting/planning purposes.
  • Budget process streamlining.
  • Customer Support - top notch and responsive.
  • Once you get the hang of template creation and understand how Prophix cubes are structured, creating reports is a breeze.
  • Having their employees understand financial consolidations and how to accomplish it either within Prophix or our ERP, and ensuring everything ties out.
  • We've had some struggles with Implementation Consultants giving us bad guidance and costing us time and money. Stuff that was easily preventable and should have been caught ahead of time rather than after.

Works great for budgeting and reporting. Most users use the web client because of the dashboard availability, which is great but also limited. I do look forward to Prophix expanding the dashboard capabilities in the future as there are many improvements that can be made, but they are off to a good start.

At this point I would not recommend doing consolidations in Prophix.

Data integration is complex but easier if you can write SQL queries. We have myriad data sources we use to import into Prophix - SQL queries, Excel files, text files, etc. Data Connectors are easy to setup once you've done a few. You can setup processes to automate the import of data which really is a nice feature.
I've worked with multiple support people at Prophix and they are easily the most knowledgeable and helpful support team of any partner we work with. They are usually quick to respond and diligent about finding a solution to our issues. Prophix also has a feedback forum where you can submit ideas, and vote on others' ideas as well. If an idea gets enough votes, Prophix will consider adding it to their software, and has done so many times. That's pretty great!
Read Joe Scheidecker's full review
April 01, 2021
Michelle Ferris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for budgeting/forecasting, personnel planning, and financial statements. We are able to pull data out of our data warehouse, have one source of the truth, and make better decisions based on this. The finance team is the main user of Prophix, but we are expanding its use for budgeting/forecasting. It solves the problem of disparate systems and allows for more efficient budgeting/forecasting, closing the books, and reporting.
  • Personnel planning allows you to plan employees and burden rates in a detailed way
  • Reporting--flexibility and customization of data within reports
  • Security and permissions for users is customizable to the department and account level
  • Budgeting/forecasting--taking this process out of Excel saves time and money
  • Investment in training during implementation
  • Improvements to the software have been focused on things we don't use
Prophix provides a flexible alternative to standard reports available in our software. It allows us to create and customize modern financials with a limited amount of work. Prophix saves us time during the budgeting, close, and reporting processes.
We have moved away from Excel for personnel planning, budgeting/forecasting, and financial reporting. It was error prone and cumbersome doing this work in Excel.
Read Michelle Ferris's full review
March 25, 2021
Rebecca Evans | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Prophix for budgeting and forecasting. We have rolled out the tool to all department managers. They love the line item detail feature. They are able to list each vendor/expense individually to ensure nothing is missed.

In addition, we use the Detailed Planning Manager to track payroll expenses by person and by department. It assists us in tracking employee turnover costs and to manage our expenses throughout the year. It allows us to calculate payroll tax from a variety of different countries.

The Ad Hoc function gives us the flexibility to "slice and dice" the data in numerous ways to provide quicker analysis.
  • The number one reason that I love Prophix is the customer support. Each person that I have come in contact with has been pleasant and most helpful. They will not quit until the customer is completely satisfied.
  • Cost analysis - the flexible design makes it easy to perform all sorts of analyses quickly.
  • Managing personnel costs due to employee turnover.
  • Calculate payroll taxes - Prophix database is a lot easier to manage than an Excel spreadsheet.
  • Reporting options are limitless with Template Studio. Prophix frees us from standardized reports that may not be appropriate for our business. We are able to tailor reports to our specific needs.
  • We love to be very accurate with our payroll costs and the personnel module that we built will not allow us to terminate employees mid-month.
Prophix is well suited for a company of our size. It is a great tool for forecasting and budgeting as it allows for flexibility. In addition, the cost of the product is not prohibitive and it is easy to learn and use.
Prophix has freed us from multiple workbooks, broken links, and circular references. The line item detail feature gives us all the detail we need.
Very user friendly.
Read Rebecca Evans's full review
March 24, 2021
Dean Spencer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Prophix for consolidated management reporting across all of our business units. It has helped us move from an extremely manual Excel based process to a much more automated monthly reporting process. The system is also helping individual business units with their reporting needs.
  • Combining data into meaningful reports
  • Scheduling of reports to auto-generate and send PDF's to the users.
  • Consolidate financials
  • Budgeting and Forecasting
  • It can be a little difficult to learn and slightly confusing when creating reports.
  • New product releases can sometimes use additional testing before being released.
It has worked well for our organization but has been adopted at a slower pace than we originally envisioned. The Accounting staff using the system needs to have a good understanding of report writing to get the full benefits of using the product.
We have used it to integrate with our Excel models for much faster and more accurate budgeting and forecasting. The system once fully implemented has saved us a tremendous amount of time.
Read Dean Spencer's full review
March 18, 2021
Tom Samuelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for all of our financial reporting, forecasting, and budgeting across the whole organization. It is used for all of our month-end reporting, our quarterly re-forecasting, and our yearly budget process. It is also used for any ad hoc reporting requested by our executive/management team. It is our one source of truth for all financial data.

We have just started using Prophix to review our customer profitability. It allows us to analyze each customer and how we can improve their profitability and in turn the companies profitability.
  • It allows us to compile ad hoc reporting easily for execs/management.
  • Monthly reports can be set up to distribute automatically.
  • Allows us to get more people involved in the planning/re-forecasting process
  • Setting up a report in Prophix to match something that you were doing in Excel can be a challenge sometimes. The CSP team helps us with those things though.
  • Setting up data connections between Sage and Prophix can be a challenge for those of us that are not IT gurus. Prophix team has to help us out with those connections.
Prophix does a nice job on the reporting, forecasting and budgeting side. It allows us to get information in a report form to our executives and management team very quickly. Where we found a challenge was on the personnel and headcount side. Planning compensation increases for the out years has been a bit of a challenge for us.
It has allowed us to do away with almost all of our Excel based budgeting. As I said before it also gives us one source of truth so you do not have to worry about who has the most current version of an Excel spreadsheet. Prophix does allow you to export files to Excel or PDF for non-Prophix users.
We have a data feed from Sage every hour for our revenue, expenses, depreciation, etc. We have it set up so if there is a problem with the data feed that it alerts us with an e-mail. This allows us to address that error if and when it occurs. This data feed allows Prophix to be updated with actual data every hour so it is about as close as you can get to real time system.
Once you learn the system, it is quite easy to use and develop further within your organization.
We have found it easy to add new departments, new sites and develop scenarios at any level of our organization.
We have been using Prophix for a little over two years. The implementation team was great to work with. They understood the capabilities of Prophix and how to incorporate it with our needs. Once we were up and running the customer service team was a great resource to bounce questions off.
  • in-person training
Yes - Prophix puts out a new release quarterly. Our IT works with Prophix to do the update. They go off with out a hitch with only about 15 minutes of down time.
Read Tom Samuelson's full review
February 17, 2021
Emily Anauo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Barber uses Prophix in the Finance Department to support other departments such as Programs and Human Resources. Prophix helps us to address business problems such as wage analysis, dashboard metrics, time savings at month-end, etc.

We also use Prophix to help our Clinical program with their productivity reports. Prior to using Prophix, they were using very cumbersome process using excel. They also had very limited functionality for the reports that they were using. Now they are able to see details and the data in graphical format which is appealing to everyone!

We also use the Dashboarding functions for our monthly and quarterly meetings. This has replaced another excel based cumbersome process. The dashboards allow users to look at the big picture to understand operations and then can drill down as needed to the areas that need more focus.
  • Multi-tiered Allocations
  • Variance Analysis
  • Budget Streamline
  • Dashboarding
  • Non financial data analytics
  • Flexibility
  • Security & Workflow
  • Dashboarding: ability to be able to filter within the dashboard and have all dashboards change at the same time.
  • Reports can be slow to open.
Prophix is well suited for variance analysis. We use it for a wage analysis by job because it's pretty much impossible to be able to analyze the data by employee in Prophix. If we do want to look at wage analysis variance by employee, we still need to use Excel.

It's also well suited for non financial data analysis. We are able to conduct a rate variance and unit variance in the same report which is extremely helpful to explain the big picture.

Speaking of big picture, Prophix can provide you with the tools to showcase the data in a big picture format (Dashboards) and also provide the tools to narrow down the areas that need more specific focus.
We have gone from working 50+ hours for our accountants during budget season to instead working our traditional 37.5 hours

We have increased end used collaboration and accountability.

We have decreased our month end close due to being able to run multi tiered allocations much quicker.

We have the ability to really understand both big picture and fine detail because we spend less time creating data and reports and more time analyzing.
We import data automatically on a nightly basis from Great Plains into Prophix. We can also import as needed. This works seamlessly.
Our organization loves Prophix. We also love that they are always enhancing the product and take user feedback seriously. Prophix has enabled our organization for more accountability and cross function budgeting. Prophix has also saved our finance team approximately 15 hours every month end, allowing more time for proper analysis.
Prophix Support is always there for when I have a question. I don't have any issues with their services.
Yes - No issues
Read Emily Anauo's full review
January 14, 2021
Albert Kurtz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for Capex planning and project management including variance analysis budget vs actual, internal reporting (formal quarterly reports, ad hoc management reports, with variance analysis year-on-year), consolidated external reporting (several entities across multiple countries and currencies), other external reporting. Prophix replaces time-consuming Excel processes to compile complex reports. Workflows streamline monthly processes and support multi-level approvals.
  • Flexible--reports on almost anything in any format
  • Powerful--analyzes huge volumes of data, deals with lots of complexity
  • Great customer support and community/forum of users
  • Big investment in time and training
  • Length of time to fully understand, implement, and realize benefits
  • Software-specific jargon
Prophix is appropriate for almost any reporting requirement, internal or external. It deals with data from multiple sources. It has worked well for us. It's less appropriate for General ledger, P2P, and AR. Being cloud/ web based, you will of course need a very good internet connection or performance will be very slow.
Prophix reports can easily replace periodic replicating of spreadsheets. Actual performance is easily tracked and compared against budgets. budgets can be easily flexed and/ or rolled forward. Workflows can optionally be set up which formalise the process and allow for appropriate levels of review and approval as required.
Prophix is a highly powerful product capable of reporting on data from multiple sources. We hae multiple systems automatically importing into Prophix every night and additional imports can be manually scheduled as required. Implementation of such systems is complex; for best results invest in one of their customer success packages for full support.
The European presence is smaller than North American presence, smaller customer-base and support team here.
Read Albert Kurtz's full review
January 08, 2021
Jennifer Balmes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company mainly uses Prophix for financial reporting, budgeting, and forecasting. However, we do use Prophix for other smaller projects. The accounting and finance teams are the majority of our users. Few members of the operations team use the software to review financial information on a monthly basis.

Prophix was originally purchased to solve a budget need for one of our divisions. It was then implemented across the company for all budgeting needs. Since then, we have discovered that there are multiple other uses for the software, and we have expanded over the years.
  • Customer Support.
  • Implementation and updates.
  • User friendly atmosphere
  • Better exporting of large quantities of data.
Prophix would be well suited for any company that is using Excel for their budget or forecast. The software will reduce the amount of time that is required year to year. Also, it will reduce the probability of human error.
Prophix has allowed our company to transition 95% from excel workbooks to the system. We now are able to have templates and ad hocs that allow for easy data entry along with calculations. In addition since we are not relying on excel to house our budget we no longer have to be concerned with files not open, data being lost or accidently changed.
Importing data has come very easy, and has greatly reduced the concern for missing data. Our company imports data via Excel for annual budgets, and imports data directly on a daily bases from Great Plains. Our processes have been created and need very little updating. The process that has been created for bringing actuals over from Great Plains is set up to run automatically daily as well as on-demand.
The system is very user friend and easy to navigate. There is a home page that can be customized depending on what a user needs and there is a main drop down that navigate everyone to where they want to go in the system.
The Prophix support team has been one of the best support teams that we have worked with. Ticket response time is minimal, and the support team is very knowledgeable.
Read Jennifer Balmes's full review
January 06, 2021
Dan Hamzic | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for budgeting and volumes forecast.
  • Multiple users can enter information.
  • Intuitive product.
  • Esthetically pleasing.
  • Could be faster for complex templates with complicated formulas.
  • Updating time periods could be made to be easier.
  • Graphs are okay, but could be nicer.
Perfect for large organizations where inputs from multiple people across organization is needed. This can be done with accountability which is a big plus. Also, Excel templates can be used for those users that do not like to learn new software.

Less appropriate for complex statistical analysis. Also, graph visualization could be nicer.
We are using Prophix for forecasting/planning. Furthermore it is a better software than Excel when multiple inputs are needed from many people across the organization.

Data is housed efficiently and it is easy to drill down and do analysis.

Interface is easy to navigate. However, if there are users who do not like to learn a new software, Excel templates can be available.
Great for budgeting when multiple inputs are required across the organization. It is very helpful to have possible Excel templates for people who refuse change and are not into learning a new software.
Data is housed efficiently and it's easy to do ad hoc analysis.
Prophix is very easy to use and it has a nice interface.
We are still in touch with the consultant who helped my company implement complex forecasting models. This models are very specific and it helps that we have every possible person on the job if something needs to be changed. Their support team has a quick response and are pleasant to work with.
Read Dan Hamzic's full review
March 29, 2021
Amie Roach, CMA, CSCA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used for corporate financial budgeting, as well as month-end financial reporting and analysis. All corporate, branch and discipline leads use the data from Prophix for review. Prophix has helped to streamline the budgeting process and also allows for quick updates to monthly reports and annual forecasts.
  • Ease of data access - Prophix makes actual data easy to access and use in many ways.
  • Streamline processes - Prophix is great at helping to streamline processes and ensure good calculations.
  • Quick updates - Prophix allows for quick updates for monthly reporting, etc.
  • Report templates - All reports have to be built and without proper training they can be difficult to start.
  • Forecast updates could be a bit more streamlined if you had better access to updating current financial versions.
Prophix is great if you need flexibility in how to use and analyze data. You can virtually do anything with your actuals once you have them in Prophix.
I no longer use excel at all to do our budgets! Prophix has integrated our personnel and financial data in to one system for easy access to make adjustments, review and update for budgeting!
We import data from two other disparate systems with ease. Prophix runs an automatic process nightly that is very efficient for updates.
Support is great. You are able to speak to the same support staff members on a regular basis which is helpful based on the fact that they know your data and how you use the program.
Read Amie Roach, CMA, CSCA's full review
April 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used by our organization for financial reporting and annual planning/forecasting. The F&A team is the main user base, but we also have other departments that are users and input planning and forecasting data.

Prophix allows us to maintain historical financial reports -- both actuals and budgets/forecasts. It is the main "hub" for our annual planning process, and is considered as the source of truth when it comes to company financials.
  • Financial Reporting
  • Planning
  • Ad Hoc Analysis
  • Time and Resources necessary to train end users
Prophix is a great resource for any company looking for a robust CPM software. It has been a mainstay at our company for numerous reasons and once the end user is well trained on the power it has, it can be a great benefit overall.
Our company deals with 20+ departments, all of which have some sort of annual budget. Having the ability to consolidate all of these budgets into one source has been immensely helpful as a Finance team make sure we are able to account for everything during the annual planning process.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Prophix within the finance department for financial reporting, ad hoc account inquiries, and budgeting. We are in the process of migrating to the cloud and once there will begin to selectively deploy across the organization.
  • Flexible - it can do just about anything you can think of for reporting and analysis and planning.
  • Easy to learn and use
  • The Prophix team is great to work with
  • Missing some font types
Great at creating company and account hierarchies. We have easily consolidated reporting from several different entities which use separate ERPs.
We are still working towards leaving excel behind for budgeting but moving in the right direction.
Read this authenticated review
March 31, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Prophix for all our financial planning and reporting. It is used primarily only within the finance department. Our main use is the Prophix for Excel plugin as we tend to do all our reporting and analysis in excel and use that plug in to read/write data to and from the system.
  • Financial Reporting
  • Version Control
  • Ad Hoc Analysis
  • Prophix for Excel Stability
  • Data Import Functions
  • User Interface
Prophix is great for slicing and dicing data that is available but perhaps not in the form or function required. It allows me to see the same data that is in my ERP system but from a different angle. My only hesitation to fully recommend the product would be their apparent reliance on O365 going forward. All new builds/updates are for the cloud based system and the use of O365 as your office interface. Totally leave us that want On Prem, and own our own MS licenses out in the cold.
It has made our excel models more powerful and allows us to read/write data between those models and the system. We live and die with the excel plug in.
Previously we used MS Navision and Prophix would pull the data directly based on an automated nightly job (both systems use SQL). We recently changed to SAP as our ERP and Prophix does not play well with SAP... we are now required to manually dump data in 2 files from SAP, and then perform manual loads using about 13 different jobs to get the data into Prophix. It has definitely set us back 2 days per month. I don't fault Prophix, but it would be nice if it played better with SAP given SAP is the biggest thing out there.
About the same as other packages I've used
It's pretty flexible. I can see the value in rolling it out to other functions or departments.
I find a lot of times we require a ticket the answer we get is "that is how the system works, or the system can't do that" etc. We moved to 64bit machines years ago and it took Prophix forever to catch up. The system was not stable and would crash regularly and the support group simply said it is not compatible yet. I never received an update about when it was I had to keep looking until finally I found they fixed it.
  • in-person training
Yes - Yes but it is something that you need Prophix support to do for you. I have in house IT that knows what he's doing, however, every time there is an issue or an error message that only Prophix would know how to troubleshoot. We just got into the process of paying the fee to have them do it for us.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix across our business to assist with budgeting and forecasting as well as producing financial reporting. Our company reports in multi currency, so the software is used to convert across the currencies we use quickly and efficiently, allowing us to focus our time on analysis rather than production of the numbers. The ability to consolidate multiple branches and locations quickly is really changing the way we work
  • Consolidation
  • Currency conversion
  • Multi currency reporting
  • Budgeting
  • MDX requirements
  • Report formatting
Prophix is really easy to use once set up. It can take a while to understand things, but once up and running it is an intuitive piece of software and makes financial reporting much quicker for the company. Sometimes it can be frustrating that the reporting features do not completely mimic excel, but product exchange nets are always being released which allows users to work with the software in a way they are comfortable with.
We are still adjusting to using Prophix more, but the move from excel to Prophix for most users has been relatively smooth. The software allows version control and the ability track changes easily, which cannot be done in excel. Templates can easily be created, meaning information is submitted in a structured way allowing for multiple departments to be consolidated to a master budget quickly
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being implemented for budgeting and forecasting. It is being used in Finance and Accounting Department. It helps to address detail budgeting and forecasting processes, like Operational expenses line items, Personnel related costs (Salaries, Bonuses, Commissions, T&E, and so on), Depreciation and Amortization for Fixed Assets, as well as Balance Sheet and Cash Flow, etc.
  • Personnel Cube allows you to well budget for employee related expenses - salaries, bonuses, etc.
  • CapEx Cube helps to track capital purchases was well depreciation and amortization.
  • Personnel Cube is also a good tool when there are a lot of new hires activities.
  • When updating data, sometimes I forgot to put zero's in the account which no longer needed to have values. With "replacing existing" feature, I assume those accounts would automatically become 0, but they need to be assigned with 0's.
  • It is hard to apply seasonality for sales trend, the formulas are not easy as Excel.
  • Sometimes it is hard to identify the errors since the downloads are values and hard to trace back the formulas.
Prophix is a nice tool for budgeting, forecasting and reporting. As long as all the individual cubes or modules are set up in Prophix, there is no worries that someone will accidently changed the formulas in Excel models. But often you need to run multiple processes, not like Excel, which you just change the input and get the result right away.

Multiple cubes - revenue, cogs, personnel, capital expenses, and so on, were set up in Prophix by mimicking our Excel Budget model. However, due to the data integration issue between Prophix and QuickBooks, the monthly actual data can't be automatically pulled. So Prophix hasn't been implemented for monthly forecast process yet.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Drill-down analysis (39)
8.1
Formatting capabilities (38)
7.2
Report sharing and collaboration (36)
7.9
Publish to PDF (33)
8.2
Report Versioning (25)
7.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (29)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (12)
7.2
Multi-User Support (named login) (34)
8.5
Role-Based Security Model (35)
8.5
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (37)
8.6
Responsive Design for Web Access (16)
8.5
Long-term financial planning (116)
8.0
Financial budgeting (135)
9.0
Forecasting (129)
8.3
Scenario modeling (111)
6.4
Management reporting (135)
8.3
Financial data consolidation (93)
8.5
Journal entries and reports (56)
7.6
Multi-currency management (40)
6.8
Intercompany Eliminations (48)
7.3
Minority Ownership (18)
6.8
Local and consolidated reporting (76)
8.3
Detailed Audit Trails (59)
7.3
Financial Statement Reporting (120)
8.3
Management Reporting (130)
8.5
Excel-based Reporting (117)
8.5
Automated board and financial reporting (99)
8.5
XBRL support for regulatory filing (2)
4.5
Personalized dashboards (104)
9.0
Color-coded scorecards (76)
6.9
KPIs (81)
8.2
Cost and profitability analysis (86)
8.0
Key Performance Indicator setting (68)
7.6
Benchmarking with external data (46)
7.6
Flat file integration (103)
8.2
Excel data integration (114)
8.2
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (95)
7.5

What is Prophix?

Prophix’s Corporate Performance Management (CPM) software promises to help users achieve goals more successfully.

Key capabilities and benefits include:

  • Improve profitability and minimize risk when you automate repetitive tasks and focus on what matters.
  • Budget, plan, consolidate and report automatically.

Whether in the cloud or on-premise, Prophix promises to support the user's future with a platform that flexes to suit strategic realities, today and tomorrow. For more information, visit www.prophix.com.

Prophix Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting

Analytics Features

Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data

Integration Features

Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Additional Features
Has featureProfitability Analysis
Has featurePersonnel Planning
Has featureSales & Revenue Planning
Has featureCash Flow Planning
Has featureCross Company Planning
Has featureCapEx Planning
Has featureReporting
Has featureProject Planning
Has featureScenario Planning
Has featureFinancial Consolidation & Close
Has featureAnomaly Detection
Has featureAI (Artificial Intelligence)
Has featureVisual Analytics

Prophix Screenshots

Prophix Videos (4)

Prophix Integrations

Direct links to 3rd-party data sources, Any ERP including Microsoft Dynamics, Sage, Epicor, Maccola

Prophix Competitors

Prophix Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Prophix Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
5%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
95%

Prophix Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Prophix Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Denmark, United Kingdom, Germany, Brazil

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Prophix?

Phophix offers a Corporate Performance Management (CPM) software that enables budgeting, planning, and reporting. Prophix emphasizes the software’s ability to automate data management and reporting tasks.

What is Prophix's best feature?

Reviewers rate Financial budgeting and Personalized dashboards highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Prophix?

The most common users of Prophix are from Mid-size Companies and the Hospital & Health Care industry.