Prophix

Prophix

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.8 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
Prophix

Overview

Recent Reviews

Flexible Reporting Tool

9 out of 10
March 04, 2022
Prophix is being used across the entire organization, from Corporate to R&D. It streamlines the budgeting, forecasting and reporting …
Continue reading

Easy to Administer

10 out of 10
February 28, 2022
Used as data aggregation & reporting tool. We're utilizing this to export Multi-tab workbooks & provide reporting to executive level …
Continue reading

Prophix usability

10 out of 10
January 31, 2022
Used for internal reporting, budgeting and is used across the whole organization. It addresses reporting.
Continue reading

Another Review

9 out of 10
January 28, 2022
Within Prophix, we house all of our data within it. This includes Budget and Actuals. We pull reporting templates and analyze most of our …
Continue reading

Love Prophix

10 out of 10
January 25, 2022
We use Prophix to produce our monthly and yearly financial statements. Our completed ad-hoc reports can include as much or as little data …
Continue reading

Prophix New User

10 out of 10
January 04, 2022
Prophix is being used by the finance department. It is used for budgeting, monthly financial statements, analyses and reporting as needed …
Continue reading

Prophix

8 out of 10
September 21, 2021
Prophix is being used in the insurance services division of our organization. It is being used by multiple products but only this …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Customer Support 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Usability 2021

Popular Features

View all 37 features

Financial budgeting (143)

9.2
92%

Management Reporting (138)

9.0
90%

Management reporting (143)

8.9
89%

Forecasting (137)

8.9
89%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Prophix, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Prophix?

Phophix offers a Corporate Performance Management (CPM) software that enables budgeting, planning, and reporting. Prophix emphasizes the software’s ability to automate data management and reporting tasks.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

19 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Workday Adaptive Planning?

Workday Adaptive Planning(formerly Adaptive Insights) is a financial planning and reporting tool. It includes automated budgeting and forecasting, financial reporting, and other active planning capabilities, including integrations with third-party products like Salesforce.

What is Oracle Cloud EPM?

Oracle’s complete EPM suite is designed to give users the agility needed to respond to change faster. Combined with the simplicity of the cloud, it enables companies of any size to drive accurate and agile plans across finance and operational lines of business, accelerate financial consolidation…

Features Scorecard

Ad-hoc Reporting

8.5
85%

Report Output and Scheduling

8.5
85%

Data Discovery and Visualization

7.7
77%

Access Control and Security

9.3
93%

Mobile Capabilities

8.8
88%

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting

8.7
87%

Consolidation and Close

7.8
78%

Financial Reporting and Compliance

8.0
80%

Analytics and Reporting

7.7
77%

Integration

8.3
83%

Product Details

What is Prophix?

Prophix’s Corporate Performance Management (CPM) software promises to help users achieve goals more successfully.

Key capabilities and benefits include:

  • Improve profitability and minimize risk when you automate repetitive tasks and focus on what matters.
  • Budget, plan, consolidate and report automatically.

Whether in the cloud or on-premise, Prophix promises to support the user's future with a platform that flexes to suit strategic realities, today and tomorrow. For more information, visit www.prophix.com.

Prophix Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

  • Supported: Long-term financial planning
  • Supported: Financial budgeting
  • Supported: Forecasting
  • Supported: Scenario modeling
  • Supported: Management reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

  • Supported: Financial data consolidation
  • Supported: Journal entries and reports
  • Supported: Multi-currency management
  • Supported: Intercompany Eliminations
  • Supported: Minority Ownership
  • Supported: Local and consolidated reporting
  • Supported: Detailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

  • Supported: Financial Statement Reporting
  • Supported: Management Reporting
  • Supported: Excel-based Reporting
  • Supported: Automated board and financial reporting

Analytics and Reporting Features

  • Supported: Personalized dashboards
  • Supported: Color-coded scorecards
  • Supported: KPIs
  • Supported: Cost and profitability analysis
  • Supported: Key Performance Indicator setting
  • Supported: Benchmarking with external data

Integration Features

  • Supported: Flat file integration
  • Supported: Excel data integration
  • Supported: Direct links to 3rd-party data sources

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Supported: Drill-down analysis
  • Supported: Formatting capabilities
  • Supported: Report sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

  • Supported: Publish to PDF
  • Supported: Report Versioning
  • Supported: Report Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

  • Supported: Predictive Analytics
  • Supported: Support for Machine Learning models

Access Control and Security Features

  • Supported: Multi-User Support (named login)
  • Supported: Role-Based Security Model
  • Supported: Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
  • Supported: Report-Level Access Control

Mobile Capabilities Features

  • Supported: Responsive Design for Web Access

Additional Features

  • Supported: Profitability Analysis
  • Supported: Personnel Planning
  • Supported: Sales & Revenue Planning
  • Supported: Cash Flow Planning
  • Supported: Cross Company Planning
  • Supported: CapEx Planning
  • Supported: Reporting
  • Supported: Project Planning
  • Supported: Scenario Planning
  • Supported: Financial Consolidation & Close
  • Supported: Anomaly Detection
  • Supported: AI (Artificial Intelligence)
  • Supported: Visual Analytics

Prophix Screenshots

Prophix software is the right balance of simplicity and depth of functionality, delivering a CPM solution that is easy, powerful and enables collaboration. Prophix provides a single, unified CPM solution for budgeting, planning, forecasting, reporting, and financial consolidation.Prophix Visual Analytics makes working with data easier and more intuitive for CPM users. With one click information access and structured visual data discovery users can easily see the value in their data.

Uncover powerful insights with stunning interactive charts and graphs
Accelerate the path to analysis
Quickly see data from various viewpoints and perspectives
Enable many users to interact and adjust data on-the-flyAd hoc analysis and templates with Prophix have search capabilities for quick analysis and template creation so that you can interrogate and navigate across multidimensional data to get to exactly what you need in just a few clicks.Workflows with Prophix provide a quick, interactive overview of the tasks you are responsible for, either as a direct owner, or something that you have to approve. Workflow allows you to filter and show you all the tasks that are in progress, past due or finished with a clean interface, showing you relevant, important items right away.

Prophix Videos

Prophix develops Corporate Performance Management (CPM) software that integrates financial budgeting, planning, reporting, forecasting, consolidation, analytics, scorecards and dashboards in a single, unified application budgeting software tool.
Move beyond spreadsheets for budgeting with Prophix. Watch this short 1.5 minute overview about how Prophix will make your annual budget process more efficient.
In less than 2 minutes see how Prophix gives you the ability to tailor your financial statements and management reports so that information is delivered in a way that’s both insightful and meaningful. Prophix provides structure reports around business requirements in an error-...
 Show More
See a short 1.5 minute overview about how Prophix gives you a clear picture of all your operational costs and connects them with key factors that are driving your revenues. That increased line-of-sight is made possible because Prophix tracks and monitors all day-to-day operati...
 Show More

Prophix Integrations

  • Direct links to 3rd-party data sources
  • Any ERP including Microsoft Dynamics
  • Sage
  • Epicor
  • Maccola

Prophix Competitors

Prophix Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)5%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)95%

Prophix Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Mac
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web
Supported CountriesDenmark, United Kingdom, Germany, Brazil

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Prophix?

Phophix offers a Corporate Performance Management (CPM) software that enables budgeting, planning, and reporting. Prophix emphasizes the software’s ability to automate data management and reporting tasks.

What is Prophix's best feature?

Reviewers rate Multi-User Support (named login) and Role-Based Security Model highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Prophix?

The most common users of Prophix are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Hospital & Health Care industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 166)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used across the entire organization, from Corporate to R&D. It streamlines the budgeting, forecasting and reporting process which allows for faster closing times. We also use Prophix for personnel planning and cross charging between departments.
  • The user interface is easy to work with.
  • Budget streamlining.
  • Flexibility.
  • Large reports with multiple data views can be slow to open.
  • Requires dedicated training and use of consultants for initial implementation.
  • MDX can be challenging.
Dashboards allow you to provide the data as a big picture. Prophix can deal with data from multiple sources and we are able to drill across to see more detailed transactional information from our ERP system.
Prophix allows for the integration of financial and personal data which makes it easy to review and make adjustments during the budget process. It is also better than Excel as multiple inputs can be made at the same time and the changes can be seen reflected in real time.
The interface is laid out in a clear manner and is easy to find the information that you are looking for. Switching between ad-hocs and reports and navigating the system is quick and painless.
February 28, 2022

Easy to Administer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as data aggregation & reporting tool. We're utilizing this to export Multi-tab workbooks & provide reporting to executive level staff. This tool allows us to very flexibly change the Chart of Accounts, add new entities and quickly report and find outliers in the month-end closing process
  • Ease of use
  • Takes KPI Dashboarding to a new level
  • Simple to administer
  • Interface adjustments & configuration
  • Dashboards need more configuration for Charting
Prophix is terrific consolidation application. If you need to source data from multiple places - you can do it very easily with no other tools using the Process Manager.
It's added lots of flexibility in creating models & organizing our workforce for keeping track of where we are in the month end close process and planning cycle. The monthly planning cycles are much easier to close and ensure all formulas are accurate & consistent
We import data from 10 different sources, easily. The flat files let us provide non-standard data feeds from various places (HR, Operations teams). The direct SQL lets us query simply & efficiently. Excel Imports let us bring data in from all the other places we need. The scheduler work great, and has many flexible features. Would love to be able to just right click & re-run a process - but it's not too difficult to open the original file & run it on demand.
Prophix web interface is so tremendously easy to use, especially compared to some of the competition. Interfaces are laid out in a very intuitive manner.
so easy to customize and flexibly implement changes.
I built a totally new revised Income statement cube and populated it under 3 hours!
Have had many interactions with the support team,they are quick to response and very professional. Very easy to engage in conversation, but efficient in resolutions.
  • Online training
  • in-person training
Yes
the directions provided with each release are clear & concise. using MS base layer products makes it easy to back-up, restore & ensure the products upgrade easily.
Chaya Astekar, CMA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for Financial Reporting and Forecasting. Within Financial Forecasting it is used to do Personnel Planning, Capex Planning, and planning all or Leases, Loan Liabilities, and Loan Assets.
  • DPM Planning helps us plan at an object-level which makes the numbers more accurate.
  • Dashboards help the Leadership team get a snapshot of the Financial Performance and are well appreciated.
  • We have started using it as Retirement Planning Model as well which helps us plan our Hiring Strategy
  • When posting values from DPM into Finance Cube it would be nice to see have the flexibility to post to only a few accounts and not all without having to change the target accounts in the Calculations tab.
  • The Publishing and Posting Process could be made more faster.
  • The Design Studio for Reports can have more Excel like features.
  • There should be an easier way to export Line Item Details.
Based on my experience DPM is a great tool to do bottom-up Planning which makes Forecasting so much more accurate and helps the Executive team make better decisions. Having separate Cubes to plan Different Financial Assets and Liabilities and consolidate all in the main Financial Cube gives you the flexibility to see the data in a consolidated and detailed way based on how you want to see it. The Drawback is that Report Studio can be sometimes frustrating to use if you have used Excel before. The Charts created in Dashboard Studio are little more than basic and no way compared to Charts you can create in Excel.
We have not completely moved away from Excel-based Forecasting, the only reason being that our Revenue Cube is still under construction. We use DPM to plan our Personnel and CAPEX Planning and that has helped us considerably. We use Generic cubes to Forecast our Lease Expenses, Loan Liabilities, and Loan Assets. However, as soon as our Revenue Cube is built we can say that we have completely moved out from the Excel-based Budgeting.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is used within our organization as a consolidation and budgeting software solution. It does both of these very well. We found it difficult to find a software solution that addressed our needs and was user-friendly until we found Prophix.
  • Budgeting
  • Forecasting
  • Consolidation
  • Reporting
  • Dashboards
  • More Chart options
Prophix is very good at forecasting, the ease of use is unmatched. It is also very good at reporting. Building reports in Prophix is very user-friendly and easy to learn.
With our first-year budgeting completed in Prophix, we are starting to see employees buy into the reliability of the software. Users are starting to move away from excel and asking for reporting to be made in Prophix. This is helping with planning and budgeting ensuring fewer human error mistakes that were often seen on excel spreadsheets.
January 31, 2022

Prophix usability

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for internal reporting, budgeting and is used across the whole organization. It addresses reporting.
  • Ease of Use
  • Flexibility
  • Easy to manage
  • Online community
  • Dashboards
It is very good for internal reporting and bottoms up budgeting. It is not appropriate for changing forecast with lot of variables.
It helped with bottoms up planning with business units and instead of using excel template, we were able to use the tool to get the budgeting summited by them and roll up the budget at a faster pace.
They are decent. We have a daily data import from our ERP to Prophix. Once set up its easy to manage.
Its easy to learn and adaptable.
N/A
Once you log a ticket, prophix does reach out, but there have been times where they didn't have an answer.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
Yes
Yes the upgrade was seamless
January 28, 2022

Another Review

Justin Wentz , MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within Prophix, we house all of our data within it. This includes Budget and Actuals. We pull reporting templates and analyze most of our information from Prophix. We use this information for Board Meeting Slide Decks, Analyze department to department trends, and many other report techniques. We store this information both at a product level and a business unit level too.
  • Easy use report building
  • Easy uploading data
  • Customer Service Quality
  • Drill Down on certain intersections
  • Statutory Ledger Building
  • Ability to go back in Ad Hoc Analysis
Being able to build reports easily that you can use month to month is a huge advantage with Prophix. This makes out month to month report a lot easier, faster, and able to analyze the information a lot quicker. Within Ad Hoc analysis, if you drill down on a certain section, you do not have an option to return to the original report unless you saved it as a template which is less than desirable.
This is not applicable to us as an organization really. The most we use Prophix at this level is to pull prior actuals for them to get an idea of trends
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix extensively for budgeting and variance analysis; it allows us to quickly execute both processes in a timely and efficient manner, while being effective. We are able to perform variance analysis on a monthly basis fast enough to enable leaders to make important decisions based on recent performances of the company.
  • Multiple scenarios for budgeting.
  • Automatic reports.
  • Analysis dashboards.
  • ERP integration.
  • Formatting changes when modifying a report.
  • Needs more user friendly interface for navigation to/from pages.
Well suited for budgeting and forecasting - allows for multiple scenarios to be created and analyzed also well suited for variance analysis as automatic reports can be created and generated on a timely basis. Allows for insights across the organization and details can be drilled into easily less appropriate for business case development.
We continue to use Excel, however integration with Prophix is easy since it can be integrated and even can copy and paste from Excel into Prophix. That being said, [from my experience] Excel is used across the organization and comes with unlimited licenses for our organization and therefore it is still more of a universal tool to use compared to Prophix
January 25, 2022

Love Prophix

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix to produce our monthly and yearly financial statements. Our completed ad-hoc reports can include as much or as little data as we need for different districts, buildings, or states. We also use Prophix to complete our yearly budgeting process across the company.
  • Month End Financial Statement Binders
  • Budgeting
  • Ad Hoc reporting
  • More detailed error messages
We love the financial statement binders because we can tailor them to meet our needs. For example, we can input an income statement by state and/or district and consolidated it to include the whole company. We can do the same for balance sheets, cash flow statements, and trial balances. Prophix gives us a clear view of the company from all angles.
We have not used Microsoft Excel for budgeting yet but this year will be the first year we do so. Our employees out in the field are looking forward to it!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We predominantly use Prophix for budgeting and to manage multiple budget cycles for our calendar fiscal year and multiple grants fiscal years. Budgeting via Prophix allows us to automate allocations and maintain original versions in addition to revision versions. Workflows help us to manage input and approvals from more than 40 users. Prophix is also becoming our main resource for reporting as we continue to learn the capabilities of the platform.
  • Detailed Planning for employees
  • Customer Service
  • Ease of updating member properties as reporting needs arise
  • Product education is available in multiple environments
  • Although Prophix has drill-down capabilities to both budget and actuals, the budget drill-down does not work when using an alternate hierarchy for reporting.
  • Line Item Schedules have some functionality constraints that sometimes cause end-users to take extra steps during the budget process.
  • Detailed Planning schedules are not available to end-users within Prophix after they submit their budgets. End Users have to download to Excel before submitting, or a Global Administrator must do that for them after submission.
Most appropriate for gathering budget data for a variety of different needs, and the calculations have always proven to be accurate - if they have not been, it is because we set up the formula incorrectly! For example, we can have different allocation methods and rates depending on the budget cycle or stipulations of the funding source. Prophix is also well-suited to assist with budget cycle management and offers many options for workflows besides just sending out workbooks, such as task reminders. This platform is for the team that wants to be able to manage their own system without always having to engage with outside assistance. One of the reasons we chose Prophix is its commitment to teaching its clients how to use the product and maintain it themselves through multiple education mediums. They offer a Prophix Academy with online courses, an extensive online help manual, product webinars that include demos and Q&A sessions, an annual summit, and quarterly product updates, and a Customer Success package. Prophix actively solicits feedback for product improvement through their Feedback Forum and Prophix Red Carpet. Our IT department indicated this platform as the preferred platform among the platforms in our top 3 list based on the cloud vendor utilized by Prophix, direct API connection to Microsoft Dynamics SL, Single-sign-on capability, supported multi-factor authentication through VPN, Active Directory integration, and our requirements for a secure connection to the web application.
Prophix has helped us completely move our annual operating budget and major grant budgets out of the Excel Workbooks and into their cloud-based platform, which provides easier access for our end users and a central location for the most current, up-to-date budget. no more wondering if everyone is working off the same version! Some smaller budgets for grant applications are still worked in Excel, after just over a year of using the product, but we anticipate that eventually, even those will be in Prophix.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Financial planning for major capital assets as well as profit and loss statement lines. The scope is to provide a reporting and planning platform all in one place.
  • Customer support
  • Managing p&l
  • Working with retrospective adjustments
  • The user interface
  • The dashboarding capabilities
  • Working remotely and delays that get created
It is ideal for anyone in planning and forecasting roles. It may not be necessary if your only requirement is reporting. The management of Prophix is also a role in itself as there are glitches, issues, and speed bumps that occur daily for which one administrator needs to be properly educated and prepared.
Excel is now a thing of the past when maintaining reports and presenting them to management. Prophix has conveniently overtaken the responsibilities and become the go-to system of choice for most ELT members in our organization.
January 04, 2022

Prophix New User

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used by the finance department. It is used for budgeting, monthly financial statements, analyses and reporting as needed throughout the organization.
  • Organizes data quickly
  • Accurately displays data
  • Makes data manageable
  • Not all areas of our GL can be imported
  • Naming of the data sets is hard to grasp
Prophix makes data manageable. The drill across feature is great for seeing detailed transactions quickly. Dashboards make files easily accessible rather than combing through files of where you think it might be.
Rather than multiple tabs and spreadsheets, prophix has helped us consolidate our information. We are able to only send relevant information to the directors, which is easily accomplished. Dashboards can be updated for quick access to specific users.
I find report building difficult, but they do offer many training course through prophix academy and also a support system.
We use this software for budgeting, leases, and volume reports.
Prophix support is readily available and a solution provided timely.
  • Online training
Yes
We upgraded to the cloud, and were able to run both systems simultaneously.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Prophix as a tool to consolidate and present out our global financials. It is managed by our finance team with minimal involvement from IT. Our users are located throughout the globe in our network of agencies. We also use Prophix for global forecasting and budgeting. We use both on premise and cloud interfaces. Prophix has enabled us to use a single platform for our global planning activities and consolidated financial reporting.
  • The Web Client is great for a distributed user base.
  • The user interface is relatively intuitive and easy to work in.
  • Once implemented, the system is easy to administer so IT assistance is minimal. Potentially not needed at all in Web version (depending on config/design/business needs).
  • Processes sometimes slow down the server (on prem).
  • Creating, updating and formatting templates can be tedious.
  • Excel based interface is good but can be quirky when using formulas.
Consolidating financials and forecasting and Budgeting. The input templates are relatively easy to create and maintain. With good design (template and process), it can be a seamless tool to gather forecast and budgeting data from end-users and summarize for top-level reporting. Works well for multi-location/country organization (handles fx well). Versioning works well as long as you don't need too many versions (20+ especially if using calculated versions). Good functionality and excellent value for mid-market solution.
We were able to move from spending an inordinate amount of time collecting and consolidating Excel files to a single unified platform for ledger consolidation, reporting and analysis. It greatly increased the quality of our data, time to turn around budgets and forecasts and streamlined our annual financial statement preparation.
Integration is possible. We used a Prophix consultant to set up a links to the local systems our company uses. We have connected to 3 different systems which we import ledger data daily. It is also possible to import data files if a direct connection is not possible. Once established, the process runs smooth. We did however have to purchase a 3rd party license for systems that didn't have a compatible driver.
Ease of use.
Easy to scale.
Although you do need to log a ticket, support is timely and thorough. The support personnel are extremely knowledgeable and helpful.
  • in-person training
Yes
It went fine. No unexpected issues.
September 21, 2021

Prophix

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used in the insurance services division of our organization. It is being used by multiple products but only this division. We use it for reporting, forecasting, and budgeting. Additionally, our administrative department owners use Prophix for headcount budgeting and regular budget vs. actuals reporting.
  • Allocation logic
  • Template studio
  • Drill accross
  • Work Flow - allowing multiple users to submit forecast/budget information and roll-up to total
  • Better integrated with Microsoft (excel)
  • We had a difficult transition to the Cloud version and were less than thrilled with our customer support throughout the process. The entire process took over a year.
I've used other budgeting/reporting tools and I do think Prophix has been easy to learn, is dynamic, has multiple levels of details/drill across functions available, etc. We do not use Prophix for our month end close, but we do use it for all of our reporting, budgeting, and forecasting. My team collects budget and forecast data from multiple areas and Prophix makes it possible for these users to submit their product line forecasts/projections within Prophix, and then we can roll up the data into our totals and analyze at the system-wide level.
We're able to open processes to multiple users (finance owners of each of our multiple product lines) so that they are able to submit budgets and forecasts within Prophix. My team then consolidates all submissions within Prophix and works through high level adjustments/consolidating changes. It's easier than asking for excel templates from all areas and can all be done within Prophix. We can also save prior versions so that we can do detailed level comparisons of prior version vs. current version to be able to explain the changes from one month to the next.
Our data from our general ledger (PeopleSoft) sometimes runs into errors/issues when importing after month-end close. We often have to contact Prophix for assistance. We'd prefer to be able to troubleshoot ourselves, but sometimes are not given a thorough explanation as to what went wrong in the first place.
We've had positive and negative experiences. The consultants that assisted us in the cloud migration were not helpful and often condescending. It really felt like we were responsible for knowing everything about the back end of Prophix in order to have a successful migration - instead of Prophix being the experts and leading us to success.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix across our business to assist with budgeting and forecasting as well as producing financial reporting. Our company reports in multi currency, so the software is used to convert across the currencies we use quickly and efficiently, allowing us to focus our time on analysis rather than production of the numbers. The ability to consolidate multiple branches and locations quickly is really changing the way we work
  • Consolidation
  • Currency conversion
  • Multi currency reporting
  • Budgeting
  • MDX requirements
  • Report formatting
Prophix is really easy to use once set up. It can take a while to understand things, but once up and running it is an intuitive piece of software and makes financial reporting much quicker for the company. Sometimes it can be frustrating that the reporting features do not completely mimic excel, but product exchange nets are always being released which allows users to work with the software in a way they are comfortable with.
We are still adjusting to using Prophix more, but the move from excel to Prophix for most users has been relatively smooth. The software allows version control and the ability track changes easily, which cannot be done in excel. Templates can easily be created, meaning information is submitted in a structured way allowing for multiple departments to be consolidated to a master budget quickly
September 13, 2021

Our One Source Of Truth

Tom Samuelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for all of our financial reporting, forecasting, and budgeting across the whole organization. It is used for all of our month-end reporting, our quarterly re-forecasting, and our yearly budget process. It is also used for any ad hoc reporting requested by our executive/management team. It is our one source of truth for all financial data.

We have just started using Prophix to review our customer profitability. It allows us to analyze each customer and how we can improve their profitability and in turn the companies profitability.
  • It allows us to compile ad hoc reporting easily for execs/management.
  • Monthly reports can be set up to distribute automatically.
  • Allows us to get more people involved in the planning/re-forecasting process
  • Setting up a report in Prophix to match something that you were doing in Excel can be a challenge sometimes. The CSP team helps us with those things though.
  • Setting up data connections between Sage and Prophix can be a challenge for those of us that are not IT gurus. Prophix team has to help us out with those connections.
Prophix does a nice job on the reporting, forecasting and budgeting side. It allows us to get information in a report form to our executives and management team very quickly. Where we found a challenge was on the personnel and headcount side. Planning compensation increases for the out years has been a bit of a challenge for us.
It has allowed us to do away with almost all of our Excel based budgeting. As I said before it also gives us one source of truth so you do not have to worry about who has the most current version of an Excel spreadsheet. Prophix does allow you to export files to Excel or PDF for non-Prophix users.
We have a data feed from Sage every hour for our revenue, expenses, depreciation, etc. We have it set up so if there is a problem with the data feed that it alerts us with an e-mail. This allows us to address that error if and when it occurs. This data feed allows Prophix to be updated with actual data every hour so it is about as close as you can get to real time system.
Once you learn the system, it is quite easy to use and develop further within your organization.
We have found it easy to add new departments, new sites and develop scenarios at any level of our organization.
We have been using Prophix for a little over three years. The implementation team was great to work with. They understood the capabilities of Prophix and how to incorporate it with our needs. Once we were up and running the customer service team was a great resource to bounce questions off.
  • in-person training
Yes
Prophix puts out a new release quarterly. Our IT works with Prophix to do the update. They go off with out a hitch with only about 15 minutes of down time.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for Capex planning and project management including variance analysis budget vs actual, internal reporting (formal quarterly reports, ad hoc management reports, with variance analysis year-on-year), consolidated external reporting (several entities across multiple countries and currencies), other external reporting. Prophix replaces time-consuming Excel processes to compile complex reports. Workflows streamline monthly processes and support multi-level approvals.
  • Flexible--reports on almost anything in any format
  • Powerful--analyzes huge volumes of data, deals with lots of complexity
  • Great customer support and community/forum of users
  • Big investment in time and training
  • Length of time to fully understand, implement, and realize benefits
  • Software-specific jargon
Prophix is appropriate for almost any reporting requirement, internal or external. It deals with data from multiple sources. It has worked well for us. It's less appropriate for General ledger, P2P, and AR. Being cloud/ web based, you will of course need a very good internet connection or performance will be very slow.
Prophix reports can easily replace periodic replicating of spreadsheets. Actual performance is easily tracked and compared against budgets. budgets can be easily flexed and/ or rolled forward. Workflows can optionally be set up which formalise the process and allow for appropriate levels of review and approval as required.
Prophix is a highly powerful product capable of reporting on data from multiple sources. We hae multiple systems automatically importing into Prophix every night, and additional imports can be manually scheduled as required. Implementation of such systems is complex; for best results invest in one of their customer success packages for full support.
big learning curve, but excellent product. Don't underestimate the investment in time, training, staff, and support required from them. But it will pay off.
The European presence is smaller than North American presence, smaller customer-base and support team here. But this aspect is improving and they are expanding their global reach. As a whole they remain very responsive to feedback and suggestions and their product and overall service are constantly improving. We are a satisfied customer.
Emily Anauo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Barber uses Prophix in the Finance Department to support other departments such as Programs and Human Resources. Prophix helps us to address business problems such as wage analysis, dashboard metrics, time savings at month-end, etc.

We also use Prophix to help our Clinical program with their productivity reports. Prior to using Prophix, they were using very cumbersome process using excel. They also had very limited functionality for the reports that they were using. Now they are able to see details and the data in graphical format which is appealing to everyone!

We also use the Dashboarding functions for our monthly and quarterly meetings. This has replaced another excel based cumbersome process. The dashboards allow users to look at the big picture to understand operations and then can drill down as needed to the areas that need more focus.
  • Multi-tiered Allocations
  • Variance Analysis
  • Budget Streamline
  • Dashboarding
  • Non financial data analytics
  • Flexibility
  • Security & Workflow
  • Dashboarding: ability to be able to filter within the dashboard and have all dashboards change at the same time.
  • Reports can be slow to open.
Prophix is well suited for variance analysis. We use it for a wage analysis by job because it's pretty much impossible to be able to analyze the data by employee in Prophix. If we do want to look at wage analysis variance by employee, we still need to use Excel.

It's also well suited for non financial data analysis. We are able to conduct a rate variance and unit variance in the same report which is extremely helpful to explain the big picture.

Speaking of big picture, Prophix can provide you with the tools to showcase the data in a big picture format (Dashboards) and also provide the tools to narrow down the areas that need more specific focus.
We have gone from working 50+ hours for our accountants during budget season to instead working our traditional 37.5 hours

We have increased end used collaboration and accountability.

We have decreased our month end close due to being able to run multi tiered allocations much quicker.

We have the ability to really understand both big picture and fine detail because we spend less time creating data and reports and more time analyzing.
We import data automatically on a nightly basis from Great Plains into Prophix. We can also import as needed. This works seamlessly.
Our organization loves Prophix. We also love that they are always enhancing the product and take user feedback seriously. Prophix has enabled our organization for more accountability and cross function budgeting. Prophix has also saved our finance team approximately 15 hours every month end, allowing more time for proper analysis.
We are able to use our system in 4 different regions, multiple end users, and various other license types.
Prophix Support is always there for when I have a question. I don't have any issues with their services.
  • Online training
  • in-person training
Yes
No issues
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used for our financial reporting, budgeting, forecasting, and personnel planning needs. We have a unique user for each department within the organization. The initial business problem addressed by Prophix was a need for financial reports to seamlessly get to our end-users. Prior to Prophix, our reports would be ready within 3-4 days after closing the month. Today we cut that down to 1 day!
  • Less time formatting reports equals more time analyzing.
  • Unique dashboards for groups of users.
  • Personnel planning allows for various scenarios.
  • More color options for charts.
I would recommend Prophix for an organization that still utilizes Excel or un-supported reporting tool and has over 50 reports to format for end-users each month, Prophix will become a huge asset in cutting that time and allowing for more useful data analytics to be done. Also the ability to create a forecast or budget from multiple users using the workflow is a valuable tool.
Prophix has helped significantly shorten our budget process to complete in just under 2 months. Budget managers are able to utilize the Prophix workflow to input their specific areas and the results consolidate automatically and populated onto our financial reports for further analysis. Budget approvers can easily pull up individual or roll-ups and drill down to the GL level if needed.
The imports from our ERP and other 3rd party sources are done with a click of a button through the Process Manager feature. This was set up at implementation and has been a great experience seeing how quickly the data transfer over. If there are any discrepancies the error log will inform you if there is a newly created GL code and is easy to reconcile.
The initial support provided through the on-site implementation consultant is priceless. This person literally helps build your system from scratch. Once that is complete the online support is very easy to use and they reply within a few hours or a day depending on when you put the support ticket. Once they reach you and discuss your issue they are very helpful in getting it resolved in a timely fashion.
  • Online training
  • in-person training
Gavin Scott-Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team utilizes the Prophix software for monthly forecasting for our financials. It acts like a large check and balance for communications between operations and accounting. We have found that without a proper forecast, it’s hard to maintain budgets or accuracy on expected revenue and profit on each of our projects. That is where Prophix steps in, as we are able to sync it with our other databases and software.
  • Ease of use and understanding.
  • Submittals process for review.
  • Flexibility for organizations.
  • Older versions had issues with syncing and slow down during loading times.
  • UI is fairly basic.
  • Sometimes items UI items can be left up to interpretation, which can muddy data we get back.
Prophix is designed for its flexibility and communication. It’s acting for us like a backlog tracker or a revenue and profit tracker. It helps at our end of the month reports and meetings so everyone can be on the same page with that needs to be done for the following month. It would be less appropriate for simply using like a spreadsheet without a bunch of predetermined formulas and data being pulled from our database.
We no longer use Microsoft Excel for any of our financials are forecasting. All of this is done through Prophix which helps increase track ability, multiple users, and forecasting. It’s the middle approval process between management, and the day to day operations team. The transition was fast and easy and most users are able to understand its purpose.
April 09, 2021

Prophix Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used for our quarterly budgeting and forecasting process as well as weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual reporting. It allows us to complete a rolling 3 year plan and forecast quarterly. It allows us to account for personnel planning, capital planning and operating expense planning. It allows us to gather input from each department to compile a complete 3 year rolling forecast.
  • Forecasting for any time frame
  • Weekly, Quarterly and Annual Reports
  • Multiple dimension and version capabilities.
  • Dashboards - More chart options
  • Calculation flexibility from version to version.
  • Processing speed
Prophix can be very useful for any company of any industry. The Prophix platform is very flexible. Allows for multiple users to enter and manipulate data.
Prophix has definitely helped our company reduce the amount of excel workbooks that we are using. Since Prophix uses an excel like platform for reporting and calculations, it's quite simple to recreate processes that would have normally been done in excel in Prophix.
Joe Scheidecker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for financial reporting and planning, We use DPM as well for fixed asset planning. All department heads and managers use Prophix for budgeting/planning purposes.
  • Budget process streamlining.
  • Customer Support - top notch and responsive.
  • Once you get the hang of template creation and understand how Prophix cubes are structured, creating reports is a breeze.
  • Having their employees understand financial consolidations and how to accomplish it either within Prophix or our ERP, and ensuring everything ties out.
  • We've had some struggles with Implementation Consultants giving us bad guidance and costing us time and money. Stuff that was easily preventable and should have been caught ahead of time rather than after.

Works great for budgeting and reporting. Most users use the web client because of the dashboard availability, which is great but also limited. I do look forward to Prophix expanding the dashboard capabilities in the future as there are many improvements that can be made, but they are off to a good start.

At this point I would not recommend doing consolidations in Prophix.

Data integration is complex but easier if you can write SQL queries. We have myriad data sources we use to import into Prophix - SQL queries, Excel files, text files, etc. Data Connectors are easy to setup once you've done a few. You can setup processes to automate the import of data which really is a nice feature.
I've worked with multiple support people at Prophix and they are easily the most knowledgeable and helpful support team of any partner we work with. They are usually quick to respond and diligent about finding a solution to our issues. Prophix also has a feedback forum where you can submit ideas, and vote on others' ideas as well. If an idea gets enough votes, Prophix will consider adding it to their software, and has done so many times. That's pretty great!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ohio Northern University (ONU) uses Prophix for reporting and budget development across its entire campus. We have also been able to utilize Prophix to perform analyses involving data over multiple years. These analyses are not possible with our ERP system, Ellucian Banner. Utilization of Prophix for budget development has allowed ONU to develop its budget in a decentralized fashion since its implementation. This has resulted in better engagement from the nearly 100 Prophix users across campus and has enabled ONU to develop better and more accurate budgets. Budget managers appreciate the ease of use of Prophix.
  • ONU has benefitted by moving away from a centralized, Excel-based budget process by implementing Prophix to a decentralized process that engages budget managers in the development of the University's budget.
  • Prophix offers tremendous flexibility in reporting that is not available through our ERP system.
  • Prophix is very adaptable to many different types of industries. Its flexibility and adaptability is one of its biggest strengths.
  • The ability to set up workflows for a variety of tasks within Prophix is very beneficial for tracking purposes.
  • Prophix is very Excel-like in its functionality. It would be nice to see Prophix adopt some additional Excel functionality in its product
  • While the workflow process is helpful within Prophix, I would like to see some additional functionality added
Prophix is adaptable to many different types of organizations. It is an exceptional tool for budget development, even across complex organizations. Prophix also allows a much more flexible approach to financial reporting and analysis than is offered in most ERP systems. An added bonus is the ability that Prophix has to handle long-range planning and forecasting.
Prophix has allowed Ohio Northern to transition from a very centralized budget process to one that involves nearly 100 budget managers across campus. This has improved communication and transparency in the budget development process. Budget managers now feel far more ownership of their budgets, which has helped improve overall financial performance. Senior leadership has been able to review budget requests in a much more efficient manner.
April 02, 2021

Prophix

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used by our organization for financial reporting and annual planning/forecasting. The F&amp;A team is the main user base, but we also have other departments that are users and input planning and forecasting data.<br><br>Prophix allows us to maintain historical financial reports -- both actuals and budgets/forecasts. It is the main "hub" for our annual planning process, and is considered as the source of truth when it comes to company financials.
  • Financial Reporting
  • Planning
  • Ad Hoc Analysis
  • Time and Resources necessary to train end users
Prophix is a great resource for any company looking for a robust CPM software. It has been a mainstay at our company for numerous reasons and once the end user is well trained on the power it has, it can be a great benefit overall.
Our company deals with 20+ departments, all of which have some sort of annual budget. Having the ability to consolidate all of these budgets into one source has been immensely helpful as a Finance team make sure we are able to account for everything during the annual planning process.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for budgeting/forecasting, personnel planning, and financial statements. We are able to pull data out of our data warehouse, have one source of the truth, and make better decisions based on this. The finance team is the main user of Prophix, but we are expanding its use for budgeting/forecasting. It solves the problem of disparate systems and allows for more efficient budgeting/forecasting, closing the books, and reporting.
  • Personnel planning allows you to plan employees and burden rates in a detailed way
  • Reporting--flexibility and customization of data within reports
  • Security and permissions for users is customizable to the department and account level
  • Budgeting/forecasting--taking this process out of Excel saves time and money
  • Investment in training during implementation
  • Improvements to the software have been focused on things we don't use
Prophix provides a flexible alternative to standard reports available in our software. It allows us to create and customize modern financials with a limited amount of work. Prophix saves us time during the budgeting, close, and reporting processes.
We have moved away from Excel for personnel planning, budgeting/forecasting, and financial reporting. It was error prone and cumbersome doing this work in Excel.
Ben Swinney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for our company level reporting and planning as well as department reporting.
  • Automating processes.
  • Flexibility of design. You can easily make changes.
  • Efficiency. It save lots of time.
  • Designing reports could be more streamlined
  • It could run faster
  • Capacity to scale can be an issue
Prophix works well for companies that want flexibility but also want to build standardized, efficient processes. It does great for management reporting, forecasting and budgeting. If you have a lot of data elements (number of fields and number of data items), it can reach some capacity issues.
It has completely solved this issue for us. We were able to convert from our Excel-based reporting, forecasting and budgeting model and no longer have to maintain that file. We were able to reduce our need to maintain multiple data files and account mappings.