Prophix Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
179 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 130)

Paul Ryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

Prophix is a very good alternative for flexible reporting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix as our main Financial Reporting tool. It's being used by our entire finance and corporate accounting team. We were previously using Microsoft's FRx (which has long been unsupported by MS), and we found the combination of price and functionality of Prophix were very hard to beat. In choosing Prophix, we looked at not only a good replacement for FRx, but a product that would be able to enhance our reporting tools.
  • Flexibility to include accounts that are not part of the accounting software gives us the ability to include non-financial information on our standard reports. Examples that we use in our industry are unit count and $ volume (we are in financial services, so each product has a $ amount that is not necessarily tied to revenue).
  • The way the account model is set up allows us to add accounts to all reports at once - we don't need to recreate each report just because there's a new account being used.
  • The ability to slice reports on any combination of account, department, company code, etc. gives us flexibility in reporting that was never possible in FRx. We sometimes need a store-by-store report, which in FRx was never practical. In Prophix, it's as simple as dragging "StoreID" into a column or row.
  • We have had some difficulty in setting up the link to our general ledger. This has led to some project delays, but we have been able to resolve all of our issues to this point.
  • It's not really easy to set up a report where comparative months are in columns. We do have a report set up, but it's not as intuitive as I would like to see.
  • It's really hard to think of any real drawbacks or areas for improvement, especially since Prophix is continuing to provide additional functionality with new releases.
Any company that has multiple entities and/or stores would see an immediate benefit, as Prophix has the ability to slice and dice the financial and non-financial data on any dimension (whether it's company code, store code, etc.) Multiple entity reporting is extremely easy, and also very flexible. Our organization has 140 stores in 1 entity, and 3 other entities that don't have stores. With Prophix we are able to generate reporting that gives us both consolidated and consolidating financials with 1 click.
We had some initial difficulty in setting up automated data imports. But once we got the queries working, the import routine runs quite well. We set it up to run 3x a day (once overnight and twice during business hours). There is also a way to "import now". So during the month-end close, we can refresh the data on demand as many times as necessary (it usually takes 5-10 minutes to refresh).
I mentioned that we had some initial difficulty in setting up automated import routines. Prophix support did everything in their capability to make sure that we would be able to make the import routines work. This included having the Prophix support team on a conference call with our ERP support team, so that they could directly get the info needed to make the import routine work.
Read Paul Ryan's full review
Denise Feece | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

Prophix - providing flexibility to the office of finance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Urschel Laboratories, Prophix is used for multiple applications including financial reporting to all department heads within the division, global consolidation of 18 foreign sales offices, Currency Exchange using 11 difference currencies, budgeting/forecasting, and analytics of the financial and non-financial results of the organization. Outside of the finance area, Prophix will be used for quoting, order, and shipment analysis by customer, product, sales representative, and region. Prophix is our analytical tool to solve all business reporting and analytical needs. Additionally it allows us to combine this information in a common set up metrics for management of all levels to monitor business performance.
  • Prophix is extremely flexible. Anything you can do in Excel, can be done in Prophix only 100% more efficiently while allowing additional analytics that an excel version would not easily allow.
  • The business processes within Prophix are easy to use and applicable across multiple types of business data. Users can analyze, flex, adjust, forecast, and use actual data to develop quick "what if" scenarios for a future time frame. Driver based forecasting becomes easy to create and monitor.
  • The user interface is easy to learn. Template designers and ad-hoc analysis tools are an "Excel" like feel that provides comfort for many users. Formulas and formatting within report templates are easy to learn because of their consistency with Excel.
  • Report templates can be easily bound into any type of output that is required; an Excel work book, Word document, PowerPoint presentation, PDF file, or SharePoint site. This allows for easy creation of management presentations on a recurring basis.
  • Clean looking visual dashboards can be created using the template designer and charting capabilities. These visual displays are drillable, which allow you to link multiple templates into a user driven experience to start with a visual and drill into the details behind the visualization.
  • Prophix is always improving their product and striving to provide those features that customers want. Prophix utilizes a feed back forum that allows customers to provide input into future features that will become available in the product.
  • Items that may have been a struggle in the past have been resolved...for example, a recent release featured a re-design of the template designer. The new functionality made it easier to create template formatting and retain that formatting when adding rows or other data sets.
Everyone can benefit from utilizing the features within Prophix. The only limitations are the creativity of your mind. Key questions to ask during the selection process include understanding the training that occurs during implementation. Prophix is focused on making this a product that is expandable by the end user, meaning users don't have to contract professional services every time a new model is desired. Understanding from the competition what is required to expand the use of models is a key differentiator in this space. Companies that encourage end users to take full ownership of the product provide more ultimate value. If necessary, Prophix can assist with model expansion, but they want the end user to be able to be self sufficient, if that is desired. Another key question to understand in the selection process is the amount of IT involvement. Prophix can be a product wholly owned by the finance office. Required IT involvement in using or creating new models within Prophix is extremely low, which allows finance to be self sufficient and provide value to the business without relying on the IT department for support.
Over my 13 years of using Prophix at 3 different organizations, I've been able to pull data in from many disparate systems including, AS400 based systems, Windows applications, SAP, JD Edwards, Infinium GL, flat files, and many other sources. All data has been able to be easily integrated within Prophix.
Prophix does a really good job of training support staff and ensuring that personnel have the skill set required to meet the customer needs. Support is difficult to do well given the variety of ways that customers can use Prophix. Good support is important to Prophix management, which is evident by the emphasis and effort they put into providing quality and timely support.
Easy user interface allows end users to learn how to use the application quickly. Time to get up to speed with the application is short and the functionality is straightforward and intuitive.
Read Denise Feece's full review
Narine Chalumyan MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Prophix User for Budget Purposes

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used company-wide for budgeting purposes. It helps us to move from Excel and at the same time we budget it "Bottom-to-Top."
  • Line item details per department and region.
  • Sales detailed planning per SKU and item and calculations for Gross Sales and Cost.
  • Detail planning per department and headcount and benefits.
  • GL updates from ERP systems (we need to add the new accounts manually).
For a manufacturing company ,if you have multiple level items per category, this is a very fluid and adoptable system to use.
Import data is easy, however if we have an item not in Prophix it will reject it. We need to add rejected items manually before import is successful 100%.
Support for Prophix is excellent.
Read Narine Chalumyan MBA's full review
Linda Lowery | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Prophix - great people / great product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is primarily used for our consolidated corporate reporting. It is used primarily by our Finance teams. Our main cube performs consolidations and eliminations entries for high-level corporate reporting. Budget and forecast are input into the main cube for reporting against. We have an additional cube to track WIP for capital projects. A DPM cube is used for tracking personnel changes and planning.
  • Easy format for quick query of data and analysis through Adhocs
  • Ease of use in building processes to manipulate larger sets of data
  • Consolidation and eliminations process need improvement - not great visibility for audit
  • Report building can be messy for formatting. Small changes can break formats easy when updating reports.
I believe there is a lot of flexibility in the setup and design that can be used for building forecast models within Prophix although we are not currently using this functionality. The ability to build out workflows for inputs from various departments through Excel files is a great design. It allows users to contribute without the need of having to be users of the system and have in-depth knowledge of Prophix.

I think that the consolidation of financials is not as robust as it could possibly be. In hindsight, it might be handled better by an ERP depending on the system one is using.
95% of our data is imported from our ERP on a nightly basis. It seems to work quite seamlessly and is relatively easy to maintain. We also import from Excel sources. We do not import from other external sources at this time.
We recently went through a full rebuild. The Prophix consultants we worked with were extremely knowledgeable, very supportive, and helped us to rebuild in a short time frame on schedule. The support team ongoing respond very quickly to tickets and seem very knowledgeable. Our overall experience with support has been a very positive one.
Read Linda Lowery's full review
Tom Samuelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

How Prophix Has Helped Us

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for the entire company. We use Prophix for reporting, forecasting, and planning. It is used for all of our financial reporting, for our quarterly forecasting process, and for our yearly planning process. It is also used for any ad hoc reporting that our management team requests.
  • It is our one source of truth.
  • It allows users to monitor their expenses as the month progresses.
  • It allows the management team to monitor sales plan progress throughout the month.
  • Our experience with Prophix has been very good. Any problem that we have encountered they have helped us correct it.
Prophix has helped us to get away from Excel spreadsheet management of our company and allowed us to have one source of truth for our Financials. It also allows the users to pull and review the information that is important to them. Prophix gives them the power to review numbers on a daily basis.
The Prophix team did a nice job during the implementation process helping us set up data connections to pull the necessary data from Sage. They are also available when needed to answer our questions about setting up additional data connections or answering questions about flat file importing into Prophix.
Their CSP package has been very helpful to us. If we have a question or problem that we cannot figure out we simply put in a support ticket, line up an appointment with a member of the CSP team, talk through the question or problem, and in every case so far we have resolved our question or problem.
Read Tom Samuelson's full review
Rob Strothkamp | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2020

Long-time Prophix Admin and User

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for our global monthly financial reporting, budgeting, forecasting, and financial analysis.
  • Consolidating data across multiple ERPs.
  • Budgeting & forecasting across multiple ERPs.
  • Analyzing results.
  • Improved dashboarding functionality.
Prophix is well suited for a company with multiple ERPs and/or a company making acquisitions.
We integrate data from 6 ERPs currently.
Sometimes it takes multiple calls to get a response from the Prophix support line.
Read Rob Strothkamp's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

Prophix - great for budgeting and forecasting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for the whole organization. It is the budgeting system that we use for each department to check, daily, their budget to actuals spending/variances. We also rely on it during the development of our fiscal year budget. And we also use it to forecast the cost of our labor.
  • Drill Across, feature that allows users to access underlying details of actuals, even with links to the actual scan of an invoice in our ERP system
  • Line Item Schedule, feature that allows us to detail budget lines
  • Infoflex, allows us to target specific data to test scenarios
  • Cell comments are currently not able to be viewed in a report or downloaded
  • It is currently not possible to copy and paste from excel to Prophix in the Line Item Details
  • It is currently not possible to know what Cube you are in from viewing the report or adhoc
Prophix is well suited for companies that develop budgets at the line item level. It is also well suited for forecasting and developing different scenarios. Prophix is a robust, versatile system for people who like to get into budget details and develop custom reports.
It was very challenging to set up the data integration for our budgeting system because we have a 12-month fiscal year cycle for our operating budget and ongoing budget changes for our capital funds, not restricted to a start and end month. Prophix seems to be limited in staff resources to help with integration.
Prophix support has been very responsive. Every staff person has been genuinely nice, knowledgeable, and helpful. We use the Customer Support Program, which is costly, but it has been worth it so far.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Modernized Budgeting, Planning, and Reporting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used across the organization for budgeting, planning, and reporting. It provides a single location to house all financial budgets and plans, as well as supporting information for those plans. It is also our company's financial reporting tool. It integrates well with our current ERP system, Great Plains. It is easy to maintain, not requiring support from our Technical Services department.
  • Allocation of costs between departments and across divisions is made easy. Once the initial setup has been completed, the logic is applied across the company for budgeting and planning.
  • Personnel planning is very straightforward and easy to maintain. All calculations are set up and applied as new personnel are added. It is easy to update rates, without having to update for each staff member individually.
  • The system is very flexible for report creation. Basic parameters are required. Actual financial data is provided via a data view, rather than pulling data into the solution and storing it. This is great as it is not taking up additional storage for data that exists elsewhere.
  • When clients are signed on and implementation begins, clients should be given access to Prophix Academy and told they should complete the pre-implementation training prior to starting implementation. This would provide the client with some basic structure of the system allowing them to ask educated questions throughout the implementation process.
  • Given that we have only been using the system for approximately 7 months, I do not have any other suggestions for improvement at this time.
Budgeting and planning of personnel is made easy with tax calculations done in the background by Prophix, requiring only rate updates annually. Prophix makes it easy to plan for staffing changes, without needing to recreate basic data. Companies needing to create multiple scenarios for various reasons can easily do this. There is no need to create the set-up from scratch. You are able to build upon previously created versions or scenarios easily. This is a great time saver. Once you select the scenario you would like to use as your plan, it is easily saved and applied to reporting. Workflows are easy to set up and maintain in Prophix.
Importing data from systems that are not directly integrated is very easy. The user is able to select the data fields they wish to import and then align them to data fields in Prophix. We do this for payroll data as the cost for direct integration was too high. We have not integrated with any systems other than our ERP. Data is not imported from the ERP; it is only a viewpoint.
From day 1, Prophix support has been excellent. We are currently in the process of moving our ERP to a hosted cloud environment and have been working closely with technical support so that we do not disrupt the daily use of the system. Their customer support team provides excellent service and are quick to answer all questions. You are provided with multiple areas to seek help if you do not think you require the assistance of a full session with customer support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2020

Fantastic

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization uses Prophix for budgeting, forecasting, financial reporting, and to provide non-Accounting employees financial insight. By adding Prophix, we have automated the annual budget process and removed issues around formula errors and multiple spreadsheets.
  • Automate the budget process by utilizing workflows.
  • Ability to drill down into the details of a line item on the financial statements.
  • Mitigates keying/formula errors in spreadsheets.
  • The tool is similar to Excel, however, it has some differences that take time to get used too.
  • Building the model usually takes consulting hours that are an additional cost.
Prophix is great once you have the model built and want to run different scenarios. The tool can easily copy data, tweak a few inputs, and re-run in minutes. The better your company is setup for divvying out responsibilities by departments, the easier it will be to use the workflow functionality.
Integration was seamless compared to other IT projects. We use Microsoft GP and were able to connect our SQL tables to the tool. It took a few hours of conference calls and by the end of the week, data was flowing into Prophix.
Support uses tickets like most software companies. They usually respond in a timely manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2020

Deep diving into financial data is quick and easy

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Only used by the Finance Department. Used to replace our old legacy FP&A tool that no longer has any vendor support in 2 major areas:
  • Adhoc Reporting
  • Budgeting
  • Ease of maintaining account dimensions in hierarchical relationships within the Data Cube AKA Model Manager without requiring too many technicalities IT department intervention.
  • Adhoc Analysis provides fast slicing and dicing of information in a Pivot table style Finance users are accustomed to.
  • The ability to reuse/modify existing data views to redeploy in new reports makes creating new reports easier.
  • Dashboarding features and aesthetic options are quite limited compared with PowerBI.
  • Template Studio (Report Designer) tries to mimic Excel look and feel but lacks many Excel shortcut keys and formatting options.
  • Report loading performance may deteriorate substantially when a report template is derived from multiple data views.
They emphasize clients transitioning away from trying to manage too many spreadsheets. But from our experience in our budget implementation, we have budget information that must be referenced to offline spreadsheet sources which is not a feature currently supported by Prophix if the intention was to have users try to enter budget information using the cloud version.

They currently have a workaround for such clients for this particular scenario by introducing an Excel-Add on plug-in. What this does is it can import/export existing data views created from the cube onto a local spreadsheet. However, this feature only works for the data view, and not for Template Studio Reports, which is where the bulk of the Excel formatting/functionalities are required by users.

If clients are not fussy about the limited dashboard options and don't care too much about Excel functionalities when trying to replicate Excel-like reports within Prophix environment, then I would recommend it. Tries to replicate the look and feel of Excel but lacking.





Uploading of data via CSV format can be done within a front-end functionality in Prophix called Process Manager. It was quite straight forward and easy to import data into the Prophix data cubes.

I fumbled around a bit trying to do the opposite. The export of data from Prophix to a user's local proves a bit of an effort. They initially DISABLE this functionality and require you to submit a change request ticket with Product Adoption/Support as a safety reminder against the potential security risks of doing so.
Support would be improved if they received more background information about the clients coming off of a recent implementation. Does not appear that Implementation Consultants communicate effectively with support when transitioning them over to post implementation support. clients are expected to exercise patients and reiterate the same issue that with the support team as with the Implementation Consultant(s).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2020

HR Business Partner

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix to organize and develop our yearly budget for the whole organization. We are an open book so having a system help us to organize our budgets and share them has been great. It helps us to fine-tune our labor plan all the way down to variable labor. Our company is using so many different channels to organize our sales plans and labor plans, so having software that helps us to bring them together and to run reports from it truly helps.
  • Customer Service
  • Labor Planning Structure.
  • Cash Flow Planning
If you have a very detailed structure when it comes to planning your budget, whether it is 6 months or 12 months, Prophix is able to support any scenario. They can copy what you have done in the past so you don't have to duplicate your work.
We don't currently use this feature.
When I had issues, I could get in contact with Prophix support right away and they would work with them to solve the issues at hand. They truly wanted us to succeed by helping us figure out what it was that we needed. They dove into our account and tried to understand who we were as a company and understand the information we were trying to obtain in our report. Just great guest service!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Satisfied and Worth It

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is being used for our financial reporting, budgeting, forecasting, and personnel planning needs. We have a unique user for each department within the organization. The initial business problem addressed by Prophix was a need for financial reports to seamlessly get to our end-users. Prior to Prophix, our reports would be ready within 3-4 days after closing the month. Today we cut that down to 1 day!
  • Less time formatting reports equals more time analyzing.
  • Unique dashboards for groups of users.
  • Personnel planning allows for various scenarios.
  • More color options for charts.
I would recommend Prophix for an organization that still utilizes Excel or un-supported reporting tool and has over 50 reports to format for end-users each month, Prophix will become a huge asset in cutting that time and allowing for more useful data analytics to be done. Also the ability to create a forecast or budget from multiple users using the workflow is a valuable tool.
The imports from our ERP and other 3rd party sources are done with a click of a button through the Process Manager feature. This was set up at implementation and has been a great experience seeing how quickly the data transfer over. If there are any discrepancies the error log will inform you if there is a newly created GL code and is easy to reconcile.
The initial support provided through the on-site implementation consultant is invaluable. This person basically helps create your system from scratch. Once that is complete the online support is very easy to use and they reply within a few hours or day depending on when you put the support ticket. Once they reach you and discuss your issue they are very helpful in getting it resolved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

Great system for reporting and planning

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is used as our main internal reporting tool which houses plan and forecasts along with actual data from ledger. The system is mainly used by Accounting and Finance but insight from department heads is gathered regularly. Reports are sent out on a monthly basis for review so all members of our support center are familiar. We are also looking to drive accountability by adding our general managers to the system.
  • Reporting.
  • Planning.
  • No IT needed.
  • Glitches in areas like process manager.
  • Not overly customizable.
  • No offline user for cloud customers.
  • No Microsoft integration.
  • Not able to make data connections without Prophix.
Prophix reporting is dynamic and a huge time saver. The implementation left much to be desired. We paid a bunch of money to have Prophix come to our office, and I had more knowledge through my experience. The cost is also a prohibitive factor. Planning logic can be used to save a ton of time, but it does take time to learn. Prophix has major flexibility and is wide open to the imagination, but it does require a lot of training or good old trial and error.
We currently have one integration to our ERP. It did not go smoothly at all and took several months to complete after saying Prophix was a gold star partner. All implementations have been bumpy and costly. We were planning on adding other systems, but it cost too much. Since we are cloud, we need Prophix to handle all integrations which is frustrating given the annual fees we pay. We would make other connections if we could make them ourselves and not have an added fee. It was a functionality we asked about from the start and were misled.
The actual support team is fantastic. The only downfall is timing occasionally. Any corporate support has left much to be desired. I only had one person from maybe a dozen who was helpful and responsive even during implementation. Prophix touts its support, but it is definitely two-sided between corporate and support team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Exactly what we needed!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix is used mainly in our finance department at this time. It's used for monthly financials, board reporting, budgeting, personnel tracking, etc. We are planning to purchase more licenses to roll out to our sales group in the next month. Prophix has helped our company become much more efficient and allowed us to have more consistency of reporting. Ad hoc reports that would have taken a couple hours to do now take five minutes!
  • Ad hoc reporting: This has made a significant difference in the turn around time of reporting.
  • Budgeting: We were able to cut out 2 1/2 months of our budget cycle because of all of the efficiencies we gained from Prophix.
  • I would like to see the ability to view reports similar to an Excel file. Within Prophix, you cannot view a report with different tabs; however, you can create a report binder that will take several different reports and combine them into one as an exported file.
  • Sometimes I have wanted to be able to link one report to another, and you cannot do that in Prophix.
Prophix has been great for ad hoc reporting, monthly reporting, board reporting, budgeting, etc. I am still in the process of exploring all that Prophix can do, but over the last year that our company has used Prophix, I can't recommend it enough! We had requests for data that would take two days to pull together. With Prophix, it would take maybe five minutes to gather all the data. The ability to drill across and view transaction level detail when I'm reviewing the monthly statements has been invaluable. I would spend so much time going back and forth between different platforms to try to look something up, and it takes no time to view the drill across detail.
Our company has integrated our MAS500 system with Prophix. We have not had any issues with the integration over the last year. I do frequently use flat files to upload data into Prophix from Paycor, for example. I also am able to take some internal reports that track stats that I now can upload into Prophix to help calculate KPIs.
I truly cannot say enough about the support you get through CSP. They are available for any questions you have. If they don't know the answer right off, they have always followed up with me until there was a solution or answer. I appreciate all the help and guidance they have provided me!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 31, 2020

Prophix "The Super CPM" tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix, being a corporate performance management tool, comes in very handy and helps our organization on many fronts with financial reporting, budgets, & forecasting capabilities across the whole organization. It address and solves our monthly reporting requirements, our year budget consolidation, & collaboration efforts and assists with our forecasting adventures. It also helps us with better decision making.
  • Ease of Use
  • Flexibility
  • Easy to manage
  • Online community
  • Dashboards
Prophix is very good for internal financial reporting and bottom-up budgeting. It is not appropriate for changing forecasts with a lot of variables.
They are decent. We have a daily data import from our ERP to Prophix. Once set up, it's easy to manage and refresh.
They answer back quickly and are available.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Balmes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

User-friendly, multi-use software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company mainly uses Prophix for financial reporting, budgeting, and forecasting. However, we do use Prophix for other smaller projects. The accounting and finance teams are the majority of our users. Few members of the operations team use the software to review financial information on a monthly basis.

Prophix was originally purchased to solve a budget need for one of our divisions. It was then implemented across the company for all budgeting needs. Since then, we have discovered that there are multiple other uses for the software, and we have expanded over the years.
  • Customer Support.
  • Implementation and updates.
  • Better exporting of large quantities of data.
Prophix would be well suited for any company that is using Excel for their budget or forecast. The software will reduce the amount of time that is required year to year. Also, it will reduce the probability of human error.
Importing data has come very easy, and has greatly reduced the concern for missing data. Our company imports data via Excel for annual budgets, and imports data directly on a daily bases from Great Plains. Our processes have been created and need very little updating. The process that has been created for bringing actuals over from Great Plains is set up to run automatically daily as well as on-demand.
The Prophix support team has been one of the best support teams that we have worked with. Ticket response time is minimal, and the support team is very knowledgeable.
Read Jennifer Balmes's full review
Tom Samuelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Our One Source Of Truth

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for all of our financial reporting, forecasting, and budgeting across the whole organization. It is used for all of our month-end reporting, our quarterly re-forecasting, and our yearly budget process. It is also used for any ad hoc reporting requested by our executive/management team. It is our one source of truth for all financial data.
  • It allows us to compile ad hoc reporting easily for execs/management.
  • Monthly reports can be set up to distribute automatically.
  • Setting up a report in Prophix to match something that you were doing in Excel can be a challenge sometimes. The CSP team helps us with those things though.
  • Setting up data connections between Sage and Prophix can be a challenge for those of us that are not IT gurus. Prophix team has to help us out with those connections.
Prophix does a nice job on the reporting, forecasting and budgeting side. It allows us to get information in a report form to our executives and management team very quickly. Where we found a challenge was on the personnel and headcount side. Planning compensation increases for the out years has been a bit of a challenge for us.
We have a data feed from Sage every hour for our revenue, expenses, depreciation, etc. We have it set up so if there is a problem with the data feed that it alerts us with an e-mail. This allows us to address that error if and when it occurs.
We have been using Prophix for a little over a year. The implementation team was great to work with. They understood the capabilities of Prophix and how to incorporate it with our needs. Once we were up and running the customer service team was a great resource to bounce questions off.
Read Tom Samuelson's full review
Emily Anauo | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2019

Non-Profit Health Care Related Prophix Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Barber uses Prophix in the Finance Department to support other departments such as Programs and Human Resources. Prophix helps us to address business problems such as wage analysis, dashboard metrics, time savings at month-end, etc.
  • Multi-tiered Allocations
  • Variance Analysis
  • Budget Streamline
  • Dashboarding: ability to be able to filter within the dashboard and have all dashboards change at the same time.
Prophix is well suited for variance analysis. We use it for a wage analysis by job because it's pretty much impossible to be able to analyze the data by employee in Prophix. If we do want to look at wage analysis variance by employee, we still need to use Excel.
We import data automatically on a nightly basis from Great Plains into Prophix. We can also import as needed. This works seamlessly.
Prophix Support is always there for when I have a question. I don't have any issues with their services.
Our organization loves Prophix. We also love that they are always enhancing the product and take user feedback seriously.
Yes - No issues
Read Emily Anauo's full review
Ashleigh Arand | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2019

Prophix is a great budgeting tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophix for our budgets and reporting. Our entire organization uses Prophix for budgeting. Each department puts together their entire budget in Prophix and then I am in charge of all departments. I make sure their budgets were created and approved and then I monitor throughout the year. Prophix has helped us tremendously with staying organized and getting our budgets done timely.
  • Line item Detail is one of my favorite functions. It is such a simple, easy thing but helps a lot with staying organized.
  • Workflows are super easy to create and make the budget kickoff effortless.
  • Processes - I love being able to create a process that will flip all data from one version to the next. This is so helpful for companies like mine that do multiple forecasts per year.
  • Detailed Planning Manager could be a little more precise for our purposes. I wish it could easily calculate taxes based off of employee locations.
  • Detailed Planning Manger - wish I could set people up with different merit increases easily.
  • I wish Prophix and Workday spoke well to each other. We have Workday for accounting and it is a chore to get data from Prophix into Workday.
Prophix is a fantastic system and I really enjoy using it. However, some accounting systems don't work too well with Prophix logic and it can be extremely difficult at times to get the two systems to work together. I would just make sure Prophix integrated well with my accounting system before using. :)
Prophix worked very well with our old accounting system. Data integrated with ease. Now that we changed accounting systems and have Workday, we have found it very difficult and manual to integrate data between the two systems. It takes a lot more time now than ever before. I have to do uploads instead of just having an easy integration with a click of a button.
Everyone from Prophix always seems ready and willing to help out when needed.
Read Ashleigh Arand's full review
Sharon Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

KISS with Prophix

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Wilderness Society uses Prophix for budgeting revenue and expenses, reporting, allocations, and one unique process where we allocate staff salaries based on planned time allocations to projects and tasks. We also use Prophix for staff planning. We have one administrator and one advanced user. Budget to actuals reports are sent out to budget managers monthly, and Prophix is used throughout the year for adhoc analyses and for producing reports for Finance, the Executive Team, and the Governing Council.
  • The flexibility of being able to create cubes to model your organization is a strength.
  • The ability to create allocations in Prophix is a strength.
  • The ability to create templates for standard reports makes producing report fast and easy.
  • Fast implementation time is a plus for Prophix
  • In the future, it would nice to be able to preview an adhoc query result before committing to it. Sometimes waiting for the query results to finish rendering is a pain, especially if you realize that you need to change the view once you finally see it. This only applies to very large adhoc results however. 90% of the time, the wait time is very short.
The ability to create cubes specific to your organization along with the ability to create multiple budget versions, makes Prophix a terrific tool for budgeting and forecasting. The software is easy to use, and the adhoc tool makes analyzing data a snap, especially if you like to dump data to Excel and play with pivot tables. Where we found Prophix less appropriate is for managers who develop detailed project plans using lots of words or descriptions. Our conservation managers develop detailed project plans with dollars attached to them which then have to be translated into a format with can import into Prophix.
We've gone through a few different scenarios with data importing, all of which worked just fine. The only thing I wish were different in the cloud version is that I had more control over the API directly. I used to be able to create data views using SQL on the GL side, and then create the connections in Prophix myself to import the data from the created view. But now any new data pulls I might like to create requires Prophix to create the connection (at a cost).
Prophix support, hands down, has been the most knowledgeable and competent group of support folks I've ever worked with in my career. Really. They know their product inside and out, and with a little explaining from me, "get" what I am trying to do and have solid solutions. And every support person I've ever encountered at Prophix (as well as their sales staff, customer relationship folks, etc.), have just been really nice people to work with.
Read Sharon Hess's full review
Stephen Kirschenmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

Prophix is a proven financial software with many strengths.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix was initially rolled out just within the Finance department. Key users in other departments also have access to Prophix. It is being used for the annual budgeting process, mid-year forecasts, and we will begin using it as a primary budget-actual variance reporting tool. Additionally, we're currently beginning to develop automated management reports.
  • Management of data within Prophix is easy. It's simple to load/view/delete/manipulate the data.
  • Building reports and data-entry templates is intuitive and quick.
  • The user interface is easily understood by all levels of users.
  • We have the Continuous Success Plan, which provides 2 hours a day of phone support. It often takes a week to schedule calls. I wish I knew how how to speed that process up.
I've yet to encounter any scenarios, or people who have had problems getting Prophix to do what is needed. It seems quite flexible & powerful.
Integration with our ERP, MS Dynamics 365, is the one problem we've had. During the sales process, we were told that Prophix integrates with the cloud version of D365 and many many integrations have been done. Once implementation time came, it was realized that there have been no integrations down with the cloud version of D365, but many on-premise implementations have been done. This caused significant delay in getting the integration done. We loaded data manually into Prophix while this problem was sorted out, and this was very easy to do within Prophix. I have spoken with multiple people within Prophix, and they really made an effort to apologize and take corrective action in the sales process. The entire rest of the sales process was good, and I truly believe it was an honest mistake.




Support has been great. We pay for the Continuous Success Package, and it's great to have that level of support, and not worry about going over budget to receive support. Support has always been able to fix my issue or provide the needed guidance. The one thing I wish they would improve, or I would learn how to do, is to be able to get faster response times on support. Generally, I have to schedule something 3-5 days out. That's not always ideal.
Read Stephen Kirschenmann's full review
Camila Zapata | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Great Product!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophix currently being used by the entire Finance department for budgeting, forecasting, financial and utilization reporting. Thanks to Prophix, we have decreased the number of days spent doing these tasks.
  • Financial reporting- quick and very clean reports that can be easily accessed by all users
  • Forecasting- simple processes that allow us to do more consistent and accurate projections
  • Budgeting- great tool to budget based on historical data and also from the bottom up
  • Right now, it’s more internal training that our company needs in order to fully take advantage of the application
Any organization that has several users accessing financial and utilization data can greatly benefit from Prophix.
Prophix easily integrates to other systems. It only requires a one-time set up and very little to no maintenance.
Prophix support quickly responds to our questions and tickets submitted.
Yes - Everything went very smooth. We didn't have unexpected impacts to our normal operations.
Read Camila Zapata's full review
Amy Sallee | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

And it's Prophix for the win ...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have just finished with our implementation of Prophix. As we continued through our model development, the seemingly limitless potential of Prophix was astonishing as compared to our previous budgeting software. To 'reframe the usual', we incorporated our entire job cost module including metrics for analysis. This allows both a macro view of our financial data and enhances the analytics by including visibility at a granular level.
  • Due to the complexity of our model, the OLAP functionality allows me to slice and dice the data as needed.
  • The implementation process and team were phenomenal to work with. It was an on-site collaborative effort in which our specific needs were recognized, then strategized and ultimately developed into our model exactly as we requested.
  • The reporting functionality and flexibility in Prophix is far superior to our main ERP.
  • At this time, there are not enough hours in the day to fully explore using this application to its full extent.
Prophix has significantly reduced staff time manually assembling reports and analysis from varied sources. Financial reporting provides more depth to division managers with much better visibility into financial performance indicators. Budgeting and personnel planning are easily comparable to actuals with the broad reporting tools offered by Prophix. The possibility of future functionality is infinite.
Prophix connects directly through SQL to our ERP on a nightly basis in which several automatic updates are scheduled through process manager. Our dashboards and report templates have been designed specifically to drive advanced analytic behavior. The ability to have accurate, on-demand data is immeasurable at both a macro and micro level.
The support of Prophix is something that other companies should strive to achieve. It has been absolutely phenomenal. The level of attention that is given to your build, the expertise and vision to develop and deliver a solution in a highly efficient timeframe has been the success story to brag about. We switched from Adaptive Insights to Prophix for a multitude of reasons. Customer service and/or support or lack thereof was of great importance and therefore a serious consideration when deciding to transition to Prophix.
Read Amy Sallee's full review
Rob Perry | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Great system!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Being used by the finance department for clinic managers and regional VPs. It is also being used by the accounting department for the pre-close processes and used by executives and ownership for month-end and year-end reporting.
  • Planning
  • Reporting
  • Forecasting
  • Easier mastery - better online training?
  • Fix web version bugs
Prophix is great for anything financial - we are still learning how we can use it for data beyond the financial.
A little complicated, takes some maintenance in our instance, but very easy once you get it.
Always very responsive - great at introducing new features that are helpful and requested by power users.
Read Rob Perry's full review
Don Comston | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2019

Prophix is great tool for the business that wants to own their data.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Prophix for monthly financial reporting, planning, and forecasting sales for use in production planning. Prophix is being used by the management team for reviewing monthly financials. Sales and Marketing use the system to forecast sales and review changes in purchasing patterns of customers. The use of Prophix has enabled the Accounting department to get financial data in the hands of management timely and provide drill down analysis to answer questions on variances.
  • Prophix is very easy to get up and running. Very little IT involvement is needed to maintain the system.
  • Jobs to update the cubes can be set to run at night, so when you arrive in the morning, financial data has already been updated. During the monthly close, we also manually update cubes during the day without issues.
  • Security can be set on the cube, or dimensions within the cube.
  • Web version does not have the same functionality as the smart client. Prophix continues to add additional functionality to the web version, but currently not the same.
Prophix is easy to design and implement. Can implement in weeks, not months. Pricing is affordable, and very IT involvement needed. Business is the owner of the software, which allows for controll of financial data.
We have nightly jobs set up on a schedule that update multiple cubes each night. During the monthly financial close process, we also run import processes to review financial data.
Product is very flexible and allows the business user to be the owner of the system. We started with 3 cubes and have grown to 8 cubes. The implementation time for the 1st 3 cubes was 6 weeks using Prophix consulting group. With the knowledge gained on the 1st 3 cubes, we have created the additional cubes without IT or Prophix consultants.
Read Don Comston's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Long-term financial planning (86)
8.6
Financial budgeting (105)
9.0
Forecasting (99)
8.4
Scenario modeling (86)
8.3
Management reporting (107)
9.4
Financial data consolidation (73)
8.3
Journal entries and reports (41)
7.5
Multi-currency management (32)
7.4
Intercompany Eliminations (34)
7.1
Minority Ownership (13)
7.4
Local and consolidated reporting (59)
8.4
Detailed Audit Trails (46)
7.2
Financial Statement Reporting (90)
9.3
Management Reporting (101)
9.1
Excel-based Reporting (91)
7.9
Automated board and financial reporting (76)
8.2
XBRL support for regulatory filing (2)
4.5
Personalized dashboards (78)
9.0
Color-coded scorecards (62)
7.0
KPIs (65)
7.6
Cost and profitability analysis (70)
8.1
Key Performance Indicator setting (55)
7.6
Benchmarking with external data (35)
7.8
Flat file integration (77)
9.1
Excel data integration (86)
8.0
Direct links to 3rd-party data sources (72)
9.4

About Prophix

Prophix’s Corporate Performance Management (CPM) software promises to help users achieve goals more successfully.

Key capabilities and benefits include:

  • Improve profitability and minimize risk when you automate repetitive tasks and focus on what matters.
  • Budget, plan, consolidate and report automatically.

Whether in the cloud or on-premise, Prophix promises to support the user's future with a platform that flexes to suit strategic realities, today and tomorrow. For more information, visit www.prophix.com.

Prophix Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features
Has featureLong-term financial planning
Has featureFinancial budgeting
Has featureForecasting
Has featureScenario modeling
Has featureManagement reporting
Consolidation and Close Features
Has featureFinancial data consolidation
Has featureJournal entries and reports
Has featureMulti-currency management
Has featureIntercompany Eliminations
Has featureMinority Ownership
Has featureLocal and consolidated reporting
Has featureDetailed Audit Trails
Financial Reporting and Compliance Features
Has featureFinancial Statement Reporting
Has featureManagement Reporting
Has featureExcel-based Reporting
Has featureAutomated board and financial reporting
Does not have featureXBRL support for regulatory filing
Analytics Features
Has featurePersonalized dashboards
Has featureColor-coded scorecards
Has featureKPIs
Has featureCost and profitability analysis
Has featureKey Performance Indicator setting
Has featureBenchmarking with external data
Integration Features
Has featureFlat file integration
Has featureExcel data integration
Has featureDirect links to 3rd-party data sources
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Does not have featureCustomizable dashboards
Does not have featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Does not have featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Does not have featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Does not have featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Does not have featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Does not have featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Additional Features
Has featureProfitability Analysis
Has featurePersonnel Planning
Has featureSales & Revenue Planning
Has featureCash Flow Planning
Has featureCross Company Planning
Has featureCapEx Planning
Has featureReporting
Has featureProject Planning
Has featureScenario Planning
Has featureFinancial Consolidation & Close
Has featureAnomaly Detection
Has featureAI (Artificial Intelligence)
Has featureVisual Analytics

Prophix Screenshots

Prophix Videos (4)

Prophix Integrations

Direct links to 3rd-party data sources, Any ERP including Microsoft Dynamics, Sage, Epicor, Maccola

Prophix Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Prophix Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
25%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
75%

Prophix Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Prophix Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Denmark, United Kingdom, Germany, Brazil