Taboola Reviews

28 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 02, 2021
Uddeshya Rana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're leveraging Taboola for demand generation. Our customers have good content inventory, which we're using to advertise over Taboola's placement network. Our AdOps team is exclusively managing Taboola accounts. Taboola is helping us in engaging with relevant audiences.
  • Taboola is an easy-to-set-up ad delivery platform
  • Taboola's audience selection feature is very exhaustive and detailed
  • Taboola's cherrypicked placements help advertisers experience quality traffic
  • Display is vast--Taboola can certainly work on enhancing quality of traffic
  • In programmatic advertising, I saw limitations which Taboola shall overcome
  • Attribution is another key area Taboola should work on
Well suited:
  • If the brand is in initial stage or startup
  • If the brand has a lot of content on their website

Not suited:
  • Strict lead generation goals
  • Less media spend
Read Uddeshya Rana's full review
May 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Taboola to run native advertisements to generate website traffic and lead generation. I am the sole media buyer for our account but I work with another co-worker to maintain the account and the relationship with our Taboola account representative. They address 2nd-tier quality web traffic and provide some insights into who's clicking on our ads.
  • It's easy to set up campaigns.
  • The interface isn't too difficult to navigate.
  • Account Reps are quick to answer questions.
  • Many options for targeting
  • Easy pixel implementation
  • Helpful UTM tracking macros
  • Supports look-alike audiences
  • The UI is clunky navigating between managing campaigns and viewing performance.
  • The lack of performance whitelisting makes it difficult to zero-in on the best traffic.
  • Lack of ability to block websites in bulk
  • Creative approval is arbitrary and vague when denied.
  • Creative approval is slow.
  • I still get traffic outside of the US even after setting up a campaign only in the US.
If you want to have your company advertised on news websites across the United States then Taboola is perfect. If you're looking for clicks and impressions but not so much interested in traffic that is highly engaged and converting often then I'd suggest Taboola as an option to run traffic, too. This is the perfect platform for grey-hat offers and similar ideas. I wouldn't suggest it for running ads on your website due to some strict conditions and the fact that it might not necessarily play nice with traffic coming from Facebook.
Typical reps; Whenever I had issues they would say to raise my bids to be more competitive or to keep blacklisting websites--action items that I already was performing. I felt like their job was to push us to spend more money but not in a way that was mutually beneficial. I could never get a straight answer for why ads would be flagged or denied and when I did it would be because it's something very easy to catch, like a broken link. But never anything on what policy issues they had.
Read this authenticated review
August 25, 2020
Garegin Baghdasaryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Taboola is used by our SEM team to run display/native campaigns to target a wider audience. It helps us target users that we otherwise would not be able to show ads.
  • Custom targeting
  • Remarketing
  • Easy to use user interface
  • Great customer service
  • I would like to see an easier way to exclude irrelevant sites that our ads received impressions or clicks on.
  • Being able to bid on specific sites only.
I think Taboola is great for either lead gen or for shopping product sites. I would definitely have a full-time person running the campaigns. If not managed properly, things can get out of hand with costs going up and conversion rates dropping.
Support on Taboola has been great. We have always been in constant communication with their team and they have answered all of our questions and helped us when we had any issues or concerns.
Read Garegin Baghdasaryan's full review
June 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I rarely leave reviews, but using Taboola has been a horrible experience for me. I initially signed up for their trial, and suddenly I wasn't able to log in. I created a campaign with a daily budget of 100USD, but since I wasn't able to log in, I couldn't check up on the campaign, or pause it. I reached out to the customer support several times, who of course waited 10 days with replying to my email. They told me to log in and pause it myself, but since this wasn't possible, I emailed them again and asked them to pause it for me. After countless days of back-and-forth emailing with their support team, I was able to log in and see that I had been spending hundreds of USD on a campaign with only a few clicks.

I will not recommend using Taboola to anyone.
I cannot imagine any scenario where Taboola is well suited.
The worst customer service I have experienced in 11 years.
Read this authenticated review
August 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Taboola as a recommendation tool, as it was originally intended. We strive to create high-quality content that engages our readers, and Taboola has an ever-growing reach all over the world. The invaluable insight that trends.taboola.com provides can be useful for other networks as well. It provides a glimpse into what humans currently like to click on.
  • A good value on clicks -- they have visitors for all CPCs!
  • Worldwide reach and relatability -- so many providers use Taboola. It's very easy to reach your audience wherever.
  • High quality -- their policies ensure that only enjoyable, modest content is provided.
  • Account managers -- some of them underestimate the effort that goes into creating the creatives and the landing pages, and suggest abandoning them instead of helping (with a simple instruction of a few words) to make them acceptable.
  • Strict content policies and human preferences being mixed up. Inconsistency sometimes sneaks into the review process.
  • Deleting campaigns created in error -- with a bin function even! That would be great.
I recommend you read their extensive policy, and decide if their conditions and your needs match. I cannot give specific scenarios, as Taboola is mainly what you make of it. It all depends on what you want to show and to whom. The targeting isn't nearly as precise as on Google's or Facebook's network, so if you want to sell dog coats to local chihuahua owners, you probably won't love Taboola, but you might!
We had some awesome customer support/account manager experiences, but lately we are having issues -- not only me, but coworkers too. The technical part is working fine, the implementation of the content policy and the lack of support for mysterious rejections is really discouraging lately. They surely have a hard time managing campaigns that target the whole world in trying hard not to offend anyone, but repeating the same meaningless instruction is really not supportive.
Read this authenticated review
January 11, 2019
Devina Heriyanto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Taboola is used by my company's social media team -- which handles all social media accounts and other digital marketing tools needed to reach out more readers. As a member of the social media team, I am currently responsible for managing Taboola for the company. My responsibility ranges from targeting the audience to curating the news articles that we want to promote across Taboola's platform.
  • Taboola's network is made up of high-quality websites that are similar to our own. This means that we can attract high-quality readers and that the impressions are not wasted on just any other internet user.
  • The pricing is great. There are two bidding systems: smart and fixed bidding so that you can choose according to your need and budget, of course.
  • Related to the first point: since the users are high-quality, they spend more time on your website and end up reading more pages. When you consider this, Taboola's pricing is way cheaper than other similar platforms.
  • Easy to use dashboard. The dashboard puts everything you need to know upfront, from CPC, spending, and results.
  • Uneven performance across one campaign. I usually curate 10 to 15 news articles to be promoted in Taboola, and usually, only two or three perform really well and eat up a huge piece of the budget. Sometimes you have to separate contents into different campaigns so that you'll have more even performance.
  • Since Taboola caters to all kind of websites, it is sometimes hard for news media to compete and follow their content best practice. It takes a while to have a grasp on what kind of contents perform well on Taboola.
  • Also, being a news website, we have varying contents including that which is related to pornography or violence. Sometimes Taboola doesn't allow us to promote these kinds of contents, even though the materials do not promote pornography or violence.
Taboola is well suited when you want to reach out new audience and you have a grasp on what kind of audience you want. Taboola allows you to choose where your promoted contents will be displayed and where they should not (blacklist and whitelist), hence you have the ability to target an audience from similar websites.

I personally use Taboola to promote contents that have longer shelf-life, because it takes a while for a content to perform on Taboola. If you're on tight schedule, you might want to tinker your spending setting on each campaign.
We have a point of contact in Taboola and he has been really great in supporting our campaign. He helped us set up the initial campaign, answered our questions related to the campaign and even agreed when I asked for a lower CPC. Also, while he tried to encourage us to spend more, he never pushed us to the point that it gets annoying.
Read Devina Heriyanto's full review
February 13, 2018
Kelly Saux | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Taboola is a native advertising platform that I've used to reach top of funnel traffic effectively and on the cheap. You can expect to pay CPM rates below $1 and if you retarget those users via their platform, the CPM rates are usually between $1-$3. It is pretty much a self-serve platform, but I found the Taboola support responsive and well trained.
  • Target top of funnel traffic on the cheap.
  • Transparency when it comes to placements, rates, etc.
  • Ability to exclude underperforming segements, placements, devices, etc.
  • Introduce view-trough and click-through reporting
Generating top of funnel traffic. If premium site targeting is your main goal, this may not be the best platform to reach your goals. You will be able to reach some big publishers (e.g., MSN, Huffington Post, Bloomberg), but a lot of traffic comes from smaller publishers. You have the ability to bid up on specific publishers and/or block specific publishers from your campaigns.
Read Kelly Saux's full review
June 16, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Taboola in the marketing and client programs department. We also use Taboola as a revenue driver on our site. The main use for us is as a marketing tool to drive users with similar interests to our content. Since the users are already reading similar content the engagement is pretty high.
  • Platform is very user friendly.
  • Reports are easy to generate.
  • Engagement from users is high.
  • I have noticed that customer support has decreased in the past year as Taboola has grown. It sometimes takes four days or more for a campaign to be approved. It used to be immediate and always within 24 hours.
  • Credit card billing with high fees is now mandatory. If a company is going to make credit card billing mandatory don't charge fees. Our expense has increased by around 2.5% which I need to always keep in mind when comparing the CPC of campaigns on competing platforms.
  • Our customer support rep used to give us a lot of help with optimization. We stopped getting support from her over eight months ago and we recently got an email that we now have to contact support@taboola.com even though our spend had almost doubled! However, we just were informed that we will now have a new rep, hopefully we will get more support now. When I say support I mean a rep that contacts us with optimization ideas.
It really varies depending on the content we upload to taboola. Some campaigns are less expensive than the competition and some are more [expensive], but have the same level of engagement. You can not know unless you try your content with each platform. The Taboola widget on our site is very effective not only for driving revenue but showing our users other articles from our site.
Read this authenticated review
March 22, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Taboola is used to increase and promote specific content and bring traffic to websites. This tool is used by the search and content marketing teams.
  • Taboola ads blend in with the sites they are shown on so users are more likely to click to the content.
  • I find the interface somewhat difficult to navigate.
  • You are unable to drill down to the article level to view data.
Taboola is a great tool to promote specific content in a native ad.
Read this authenticated review

What is Taboola?

Taboola is a native advertising platform from the company of the same name in New York for publishing "recommended" content in a variety of popularly visited news sites and spaces. Taboola is partnered with many publishers (the Atlantic, Tribune, MailOnline, Business Insider, etc.).
Categories:  Native Advertising

Taboola Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Campaigns$10.00Starting Price Per Day

Taboola Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Taboola?

Taboola is a native advertising platform from the company of the same name in New York for publishing "recommended" content in a variety of popularly visited news sites and spaces. Taboola is partnered with many publishers (the Atlantic, Tribune, MailOnline, Business Insider, etc.).

What is Taboola's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 4.2.

Who uses Taboola?

The most common users of Taboola are from Mid-size Companies and the Marketing & Advertising industry.