AppDynamics Reviews

87 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

AppDynamics lets you see!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

AppDynamics has been really helpful to assure uptime with our environment. The best future is the graphic interface.
Read this authenticated review
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Gives Total View of Infrastructure Components and Applications.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have successfully deployed AppDynamics to Solaris, Linux, and Windows servers - both physical and virtual. After we overcame our learning curve we were able to deploy to our entire suite of applications which span about 32 technologies.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

A perfect tool that allows me to manage and monitor the performance of all the applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I like AppDynamics very much because it helps me to control in a more efficient way the apps that I am [deploying] in the cloud. It offers detailed data, it has a light load on the server, it helps to find errors easily and it constantly monitors the stability and the performance of the apps. it allows me to follow the interactions on our website and APIs and improve with this data the processes of sales, production and marketing.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2019

AppDynamics Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We execute various types of performance testing such as load testing, stress testing, endurance testing, and spike testing on the daily basis in various environments. It was tough to detect and monitor the performance issues for each type of performance testing, but using AppDynamics, it is possible to create a trend in bottleneck detection. When the performance testing projects integrated with CI/CD pipeline, then the AppDynamics plugin helps a lot. for example, if there is a performance degradation, it allows the job to be failed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Think your application has no issues? Think again and try AppDynamics APM tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As it pertains to monitoring database transactions, as our application relies heavily on SQL, AppDynamic's monitoring tool made an immediate impact on sorting which ones are slow. The business transactions that we can capture are limited in the sense that our application works where it can't be limited to 200, so we ended having to setup service endpoints to account for it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2019

the best investment you can make

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's useful if you find it difficult to find the origin of the problem or if you have those problems that seem to come and go constantly.
Read this authenticated review
Tyler Twitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

AppDynamics - A deep dive into your application data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Using AppDynamics to gain insights into our application through the view of the endpoint which can be a web server, SQL Database or our storage systems, has provided our support teams the ability to narrow in on problems very quickly by looking at our application from a holistic view. We have been able to isolate a specific error and determine where in the application stack that occurs to determine if there is a coding problem or an issue with how the server communicates with other subsystems.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2019

Easy adaptation, easy monitoring at one glance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

AppDynamics supports all the major technology stacks (end to end) which is a great advantage and also, the alerts, health rules, email/SMS integration is simple to use and it requires less expertise to manage.
Read this authenticated review
Rich Mephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2017

The Rolls Royce of APM

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

AppDynamics is clearly well suited for monitoring e-commerce applications and I can see where it adds huge value for organisations with this application. It is less suited as an entire suite for our application but we do get value from the parts of the application which do suit our application.
Read Rich Mephan's full review
Adam Rooney | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2016

AppDynamics, it's got you covered.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Errors ranging from JavaScript errors to database errors are shown within the dashboard. The only problem is that setting up the alert for all the different kinds of possible errors isn't always as straight forward as it could be. For example the JavaScript errors, a way to document and report on all of them over a set period of time should be an easy one to set up.
Read Adam Rooney's full review
Ian Macintosh | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2016

Performance Sleuth

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's great for monitoring production code and performance if you want or, as we do, try to get the issues identified and worked out BEFORE going into production.
Read Ian Macintosh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2018

Great at finding bottlenecks and easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We had slowness, but didn't know where. We quickly would find out if it was the network, database, app server, webserver, or otherwise. They don't like me saying this, but it's a great "finger-pointer".
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2017

Appdynamics review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

[It's] trying to solve the gap between driver and end of application and customer and end of application and its integration and synchronisation so the status of a vehicle can be known to a client at any moment of time during the journey.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2016

The future of monitoring!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The database monitoring piece of the application is not something I would recommend to people mainly because there are far better database monitoring agents available in the market.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2015

New user and new environment implementation.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

AppDynamics is well suited for environments where tolerance for latency is low. Identifying latency and where it is coming from early can make the difference in mean time to detect (MTTD) and mean time to resolve (MTTR).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (18)
8.7
Database monitoring (18)
8.7
Threshold alerts (17)
9.1
Predictive capabilities (18)
7.5
Application performance management console (17)
8.7
Collaboration tools (12)
8.4

About AppDynamics

AppDynamics delivers real-time access to every aspect of an organization's business and operational performance, so they can anticipate problems, resolve them automatically, and make smarter, more certain business decisions. The vendor says application intelligence provides the user with business and operational insights into application performance, user experience and business impact of their software applications.

AppDynamics Features

Application Performance Management Features
Has featureApplication monitoring
Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureThreshold alerts
Has featurePredictive capabilities
Has featureApplication performance management console
Has featureCollaboration tools
Does not have featureOut-of-the box templates to monitor applications
Does not have featureApplication dependency mapping and thresholding
Does not have featureVirtualization monitoring
Does not have featureServer availability and performance monitoring
Does not have featureServer usage monitoring and capacity forecasting
Does not have featureIT Asset Discovery

AppDynamics Video

Jyoti Bansal, CEO and Founder of AppDynamics, lays out how the company provides the certainty you need to be confident in the performance of your software applications, even in the most demanding condition.

AppDynamics Competitors

New Relic, CA Technologies

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

AppDynamics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry