AppDynamics Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
115 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 13, 2021
Anuj Rai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics is one of the best application performance monitoring tools out in the market which gives you end to end visibility about application stack, infrastructure. Since it is been used by different teams for troubleshooting different issues like performance tester for identifying bugs like memory leakage, performance enhancement. For developers code optimization before realising it in the production environment and for production support folks it's quite handy tool for resolving critical production issue hence reducing mean time to resolution (MTTR). AppDynamics is a single platform with different modules to discover the stack of application or infrastructure.

Read Anuj Rai's full review
May 03, 2021
Jared Jacobson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We created a database platform window for specific databases that we need to monitor. This application [will] monitor the current activity, provide statistics relating to the data base, and provide info on the total number of executions that have been preformed. It monitors activity on our Oracle Database.
Read Jared Jacobson's full review
May 03, 2021
Kishan Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Monitoring the application parameters is a problem, but with AppDynamics I am able to resolve it. AppDynamics has great UI through which we can easily monitor the different things. Also we can easily configure and deploy the software. We can easily raise alert[s] and many more things though it.
Read Kishan Patel's full review
April 30, 2021
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AppDynamics for app performance monitoring of our suite of applications. We also monitor critical business transactions. It is installed on all of our server devices. We can proactively monitor the apps to make sure we are meeting our key performance SLAs.
Read Gene Baker's full review
May 06, 2021
Randi Yeaman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Helps us track any issues or bugs and lets us know how or why we have gotten them. Helps us educate and stay involved in our employees via helping them use and understand how to use and navigate the internet without harming the system.
Read Randi Yeaman's full review
May 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics from Cisco is being utilized by primarily our IT/Tech Team, however, the information and statistics that we gain from this program are shared with our entire company and whichever departments the metrics can help. This program is a great help across many different departments and allows us to see campaign-critical data that helps us make informed decisions.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to monitor one core application. It's being used by [the] IT department, but it benefits the entire company. It simply helps us to have a completely different view of our environment. It's amazing how AppDynamics display[s] problems and different viewpoints. Better than any application that I tested before.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

- It is being used in my department to manage the performance of applications in cloud environment.
- It helps in detecting issues while performing real-time monitoring so that the issues can be highlighted and resolved before they impact the customers.
- It makes migrating to cloud easier and the process can be validated also to check the accuracy.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We at our company use this software across the board as it is one of the leading softwares that help application performance management.
A tool that not only gives you code level visibility, but also monitors your application infrastructure.
Our[s] is a management consulting firm so we work on a lot of tech platforms like dot net, node, php etc. Wherein we manage customer's microsites, Write code, maintain all these applications through AppDynamics.
Read this authenticated review
May 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AppDynamics software for app monitoring of our products and servers. We monitor user interactions with our applications. It is installed on all of our servers (hosted and on-prem). We can proactively monitor the apps to make sure we are meeting our key performance SLAs and checking for where the slowness occurs.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics is used by our support, reliability and development teams to monitor performance of our tenants. It allows us to see performance in real-time and break it down to the minute. Being able to zoom in on specific aspects of our platform and investigate everything that intertwines with it makes troubleshooting so much more efficient and accurate.
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Single pane viewing of what matters most. The simple click of a button and I can view infrastructure response, user "click thru" i.e. completes in a weekly/monthly report that takes minutes instead of hours to create. We were able to view what percentage of users visited/clicked thru with the device and time of day. We were also able to see their drop point. Immediately saw a trend and got our app team on it. After that, we saw an almost immediate uptick with our business partners.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using it to control some services that we have in the cloud. It has been really helpful, and saved us from some problems.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2019
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The IT operations department uses AppDynamic. It provides synthetic monitoring of our applications, allows us to see in real time how the various applications installed by server communicate with others. This helps us to have control of the connections and allows us to have extract metrics of the amount of possible errors between connections. It is very valuable to monitor web services and their connections.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
October 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our application is costing and contracting modeling software. The application involves very extensive calculations that are very CPU intensive on the app server-side as well as on the database server. These calculations are pretty complex queries that needed optimization as they generally take several hours. We brought in an APM tool to look further into these transactions to improve the performance. After exploring a couple of products, we decided to go with AppDynamics. It is currently used by just our department.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This product allows us to have a complete vision of the situation and to be very precise when solving for our cases.
Read this authenticated review
March 19, 2019
Tyler Twitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AppDynamics to gain insight into our application through the view of the endpoint which can be a web server, SQL Database or our storage systems. Since AppDynamics relies on an agent to process the information it can access the network, and application stacks, to give us in-depth information about the way traffic is being passed to/from each server and allows us to dig deep into errors that we cannot find any other way.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
August 01, 2017
Rich Mephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics is being used as an application performance monitor spanning a multi tier cloud based environment which serivces up to 2000+ end users. AppDynamics is used to identify bottle necks and performance issues within our application as well as provide real time hardware stats for each of the constituent pieces of hardware within our cloud environment.

Read Rich Mephan's full review
July 21, 2016
Adam Rooney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics was introduced to help point out any parts of our products that might not be running as smoothly or as efficiently as possible to help maintain a 100% up time of our products and provide the best possible service to our customers. AppDynamics is designed to be as user friendly as possible for people of any any level of proficiency with technology. This allows for different departments within the company to utilise AppDynamics for things from analytics to monitoring hardware to potential threats.
Read Adam Rooney's full review
September 19, 2016
Ian Macintosh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics is used by our application developers to check the performance of their code before it goes into production. They can check if there are any issues, and if found, find out exactly in the code where they are. That targeting provides for very quick resolution, and thus quicker time to market.
Read Ian Macintosh's full review
April 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our application is very data intensive and straight out of the box, AppDynamics was able to pinpoint some pain points we hadn't noticed. Certain queries required optimization as they were being called several million times, essentially doing a lot of I/O on the DB server.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used AppDynamics originally for application performance monitoring of our custom websites and applications. We didn't know where the slow-downs were happening. The up/down way of monitoring wasn't enough for us, so the slowness, machine learning and baselining was really nice. Seeing successful, yet slow transactions really helped us find problems. It was nice to see the "inside-out" view of our apps.

This was an added service, so though it wasn't fully deployed, we used it across various departments for a variety of applications.

Seeing user experience was also very helpful. We purchased the end-user monitoring portion of it to capture "outside-in" and marry that with the previous view from the APM portion.
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics is used to provide application performance monitoring for our ecommerce booking website and external APIs, providing a valuable tool to ensure the application is working as it should, particularly in terms of performance - especially response time, etc. Alerting from AppDynamics is used to ensure any production issues are dealt with swiftly and it is also used for error monitoring and analysis.
Read this authenticated review
June 21, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Kedron partners with appdynamics to deliver application performance monitoring and business transaction monitoring for modern application architectures in both cloud and data centre. [We are] delivering solutions for highly demanded distributed, dynamic and agile environments.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (28)
8.8
Database monitoring (28)
9.0
Threshold alerts (27)
8.7
Predictive capabilities (27)
8.4
Application performance management console (26)
8.8
Collaboration tools (20)
8.4

What is AppDynamics?

AppDynamics delivers real-time access to every aspect of an organization's business and operational performance, so they can anticipate problems, resolve them automatically, and make smarter, more certain business decisions. The vendor says application intelligence provides the user with business and operational insights into application performance, user experience and business impact of their software applications.

AppDynamics Features

Application Performance Management Features

Has featureApplication monitoring
Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureThreshold alerts
Has featurePredictive capabilities
Has featureApplication performance management console
Has featureCollaboration tools

AppDynamics Video

Jyoti Bansal, CEO and Founder of AppDynamics, lays out how the company provides the certainty you need to be confident in the performance of your software applications, even in the most demanding condition.

AppDynamics Competitors

New Relic, CA Technologies

AppDynamics Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

AppDynamics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry