AppDynamics Reviews

86 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Gives Total View of Infrastructure Components and Applications.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AppDynamics for app performance monitoring of our suite of applications. We also monitor critical business transactions. It is installed on all of our server devices. We can proactively monitor the apps to make sure we are meeting our key performance SLAs.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

A perfect tool that allows me to manage and monitor the performance of all the applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The IT operations department uses AppDynamic. It provides synthetic monitoring of our applications, allows us to see in real time how the various applications installed by server communicate with others. This helps us to have control of the connections and allows us to have extract metrics of the amount of possible errors between connections. It is very valuable to monitor web services and their connections.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2019

AppDynamics Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Single pane viewing of what matters most. The simple click of a button and I can view infrastructure response, user "click thru" i.e. completes in a weekly/monthly report that takes minutes instead of hours to create. We were able to view what percentage of users visited/clicked thru with the device and time of day. We were also able to see their drop point. Immediately saw a trend and got our app team on it. After that, we saw an almost immediate uptick with our business partners.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Think your application has no issues? Think again and try AppDynamics APM tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our application is costing and contracting modeling software. The application involves very extensive calculations that are very CPU intensive on the app server-side as well as on the database server. These calculations are pretty complex queries that needed optimization as they generally take several hours. We brought in an APM tool to look further into these transactions to improve the performance. After exploring a couple of products, we decided to go with AppDynamics. It is currently used by just our department.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

AppDynamics lets you see!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using it to control some services that we have in the cloud. It has been really helpful, and saved us from some problems.
Read this authenticated review
Tyler Twitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2019

AppDynamics - A deep dive into your application data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use AppDynamics to gain insight into our application through the view of the endpoint which can be a web server, SQL Database or our storage systems. Since AppDynamics relies on an agent to process the information it can access the network, and application stacks, to give us in-depth information about the way traffic is being passed to/from each server and allows us to dig deep into errors that we cannot find any other way.
Read Tyler Twitchell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2019

Easy adaptation, easy monitoring at one glance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our application is very data intensive and straight out of the box, AppDynamics was able to pinpoint some pain points we hadn't noticed. Certain queries required optimization as they were being called several million times, essentially doing a lot of I/O on the DB server.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2018

Great at finding bottlenecks and easy to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used AppDynamics originally for application performance monitoring of our custom websites and applications. We didn't know where the slow-downs were happening. The up/down way of monitoring wasn't enough for us, so the slowness, machine learning and baselining was really nice. Seeing successful, yet slow transactions really helped us find problems. It was nice to see the "inside-out" view of our apps.

This was an added service, so though it wasn't fully deployed, we used it across various departments for a variety of applications.

Seeing user experience was also very helpful. We purchased the end-user monitoring portion of it to capture "outside-in" and marry that with the previous view from the APM portion.
Read this authenticated review
Rich Mephan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2017

The Rolls Royce of APM

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics is being used as an application performance monitor spanning a multi tier cloud based environment which serivces up to 2000+ end users. AppDynamics is used to identify bottle necks and performance issues within our application as well as provide real time hardware stats for each of the constituent pieces of hardware within our cloud environment.

Read Rich Mephan's full review
Adam Rooney | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2016

AppDynamics, it's got you covered.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics was introduced to help point out any parts of our products that might not be running as smoothly or as efficiently as possible to help maintain a 100% up time of our products and provide the best possible service to our customers. AppDynamics is designed to be as user friendly as possible for people of any any level of proficiency with technology. This allows for different departments within the company to utilise AppDynamics for things from analytics to monitoring hardware to potential threats.
Read Adam Rooney's full review
Ian Macintosh | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2016

Performance Sleuth

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics is used by our application developers to check the performance of their code before it goes into production. They can check if there are any issues, and if found, find out exactly in the code where they are. That targeting provides for very quick resolution, and thus quicker time to market.
Read Ian Macintosh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2017

AppDynamics - excellent application monitoring with a steep(ish) learning curve

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics is used to provide application performance monitoring for our ecommerce booking website and external APIs, providing a valuable tool to ensure the application is working as it should, particularly in terms of performance - especially response time, etc. Alerting from AppDynamics is used to ensure any production issues are dealt with swiftly and it is also used for error monitoring and analysis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2017

Appdynamics review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Kedron partners with appdynamics to deliver application performance monitoring and business transaction monitoring for modern application architectures in both cloud and data centre. [We are] delivering solutions for highly demanded distributed, dynamic and agile environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2016

The future of monitoring!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppDynamics is a great application. It has helped us detect application bugs, hardware problems (based on trends) and network issues within our network. Currently, our supply chain is using AppDynamics.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2016

AppD Great Features Poor Support and Stability

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AppD is used by our operations department to track and identify issues in our SOA web services stack written in .Net. Prior to AppD we had no insight into performance or health of our environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2015

New user and new environment implementation.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Production support and dev ops use AppDynamics primarily to troubleshoot issues in our production environment. Additionally we have created custom graphs which provide telemetry on our crucial tiers. This is composed of error rates, response times and load for our middle, web and backend tiers.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (18)
8.7
Database monitoring (18)
8.7
Threshold alerts (17)
9.1
Predictive capabilities (18)
7.4
Application performance management console (17)
8.7
Collaboration tools (12)
8.3

About AppDynamics

AppDynamics delivers real-time access to every aspect of an organization's business and operational performance, so they can anticipate problems, resolve them automatically, and make smarter, more certain business decisions. The vendor says application intelligence provides the user with business and operational insights into application performance, user experience and business impact of their software applications.

AppDynamics Features

Application Performance Management Features
Has featureApplication monitoring
Has featureDatabase monitoring
Has featureThreshold alerts
Has featurePredictive capabilities
Has featureApplication performance management console
Has featureCollaboration tools
Does not have featureOut-of-the box templates to monitor applications
Does not have featureApplication dependency mapping and thresholding
Does not have featureVirtualization monitoring
Does not have featureServer availability and performance monitoring
Does not have featureServer usage monitoring and capacity forecasting
Does not have featureIT Asset Discovery

AppDynamics Video

Jyoti Bansal, CEO and Founder of AppDynamics, lays out how the company provides the certainty you need to be confident in the performance of your software applications, even in the most demanding condition.

AppDynamics Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

AppDynamics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry