TrustRadius
Blackboard Collaborate is an online collaborative learning platform with both screen sharing and application sharing, web conferencing, and integration with Blackboard Learn, the primary learning management offering.Blackboard Collaborate for Virtual ClassroomsAcross the whole college, we use Blackboard Collaborate for virtual classrooms.,The ability to break students out into smaller groups and then bring them back to the main room Having all tools (chat, participant management) all on one page,Quality of video in large meetings Price is high compared to competitors,4,Positive in that its easy to use and integrates with our LMS well Negative in that it is more expensive than competitors,Zoom,Zoom, McGraw-Hill Connect, Google DriveBlackboard Collaborate- a big step up from SkypeThis program is used in academic support services for online tutoring and academic coaching, which are increasingly needed as more and more degree programs are offering online-only options and the number of students outside a commuting radius increases. While Skype and Google Hangouts are useful for video chat, they aren't designed for academic purposes and lack many of the tools available in Bb Collaborate.,Training,The Whiteboard feature is perfect for tutoring. We use it to write out formulas, draw diagrams, etc while in video chat to enhance explanations. The file attachment feature is also very handy. This means we don't have to do a follow-up with a student using their email to send files of handouts, etc. It's great that we only have to share a classroom access link for a student to enter a session. With other products, they had to set up a username and log-in with an account. Link access means 1 less hassle. We are currently beginning to use the "record session" feature video sessions to use as training for new employees.,I recently tried to use the Share Screen feature, which would be extremely valuable for online tutoring, but despite installing the additional Blackboard Screensharing app, it won't work. I have not yet contacted support to get help with it, but it seems this should work when one follows the instructions. It's not incredibly intuitive in its setup. For example, to get the "share video" icon to appear (the only way you can activate the camera to start video feed), you have to do a sound and video test first.,7,Our implementation has been gradual over the last 2 semesters. Students who have used it to access live academic support despite being unable to drive in for face to face sessions have been extremely happy. It is gradually boosting student morale for offsite students, who have long felt they were unable to access services that were paid through fees with their tuition. Multiple support services who have wanted to provide online support but were unsure how they could are more empowered to do so now. The current mood is "what else can we offer online through this, workshops, advising, live broadcast of student org meetings"?,Google Hangouts and Skype,BlackboardCollaborate in Education with Blackboard Collaborate (Ultra)We've been using Blackboard Collaborate since back when it was Elluminate (then Blackboard Collaborate, and now Blackboard Collaborate Ultra). The Ultra version is browser-based and very simple to use. It is typically used for office hours for our online instructors, handling virtual training sessions our team administers to our faculty, and other times people on our campus may want to meet virtually. Collaborate is also an easy way to have a guest speaker join a classroom remotely. Collaborate Ultra is integrated with our LMS (Blackboard, though they support other integrations), so essentially there is no setup involved for the faculty member. Students just click a link, type in their name, and they are able to join the session, simple as that. Smartphones and tablets are also supported. The Collaborate team has been aggressively working on making the tool more and more accessible.,Internal communications Lead generation Training,Very simple to use. While not overbearingly rich with features, there are a lot of features available to get workflows done. Allows for several options to make a session accessible, while the developers are working on even more ways. Mobile friendly.,Takes advantage of features available in Firefox and Google Chrome browsers for application sharing; these features are not yet available in Safari or Microsoft Edge.,10,Collaborate Ultra has been the most effective for us for training faculty virtually. Faculty have been excited that they can have a remote guest speaker in their classroom, and all they need to do for set up is to e-mail that guest speaker a link to join the session. Collaborate Ultra is beyond useful for faculty to meet with online students who are either across the country, or even in other countries, with tools that really help to focus on course work.,Google Hangouts and Skype,Ubuntu Linux, Oracle VM VirtualBox, IntelliJ IDEA, Blackboard, Docker, Microsoft Office 2016, LibreOfficeGreat for small groups of online studentsBlackboard Collaborate is generally used across our e-school. Teachers use the software to present live and recorded lessons to our students across the state of Florida. It allows us to deliver instruction in a more interactive method, reaching all types of learners and incorporating audio, video, and interaction.,Internal communications Training,Enables teachers to upload PowerPoint presentations and display them for the class Allows multiple people to be present at one time Has adequate tools for teachers to be able to engage class in interaction (polling, raising hand, allowing microphone and video camera sharing),Blackboard Collaborate frequently causes us to see "Exception errors" Students and teachers regularly get "kicked out" of the online classroom/lose connectivity PowerPoints are static. Does not support animations unless using another program to upload.,7,We've been better able to engage students in their learning opportunities We can host reviews, allowing students to prepare better for exams, and thus boosting test scores We can get to know our online students in a personal way,Elluminate,Snagit, Mozy Pro, Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe PhotoshopBlackboard Collaborate for Optimal Company Communications!Blackboard Collaborate is utilized by my company for teachers to hold office hours for students within the online courses provided by the company. It is also used to hold virtual department meetings. This addresses our need for communication between teachers and students, teachers and other teachers, and teacher and management staff.,The ability to host a number of people in a meeting and manage their participation via text and audio. The screen sharing features allows presenters to demonstrate procedures exactly as instructed on the screen. This also allows the presenter to permit others to share their screens if they need clarification of something or to share further ideas. The software gives you the freedom to use a whiteboard to draw/demonstrate concepts to students and other employees.,Some of the newest computer high resolution screens are not as compatible with the interface. The font and windows are much smaller and the user is not able to increase the size of the windows to make it easier to read/navigate. The audio can sometimes be inconsistent and tune in and out when someone is speaking. This is not every time though and many times the audio is clear. The login process takes a bit longer to get into the program. You have to go through a few step process and loading time to get into the application.,8,The program has allowed enhanced communications between teachers and students so that students can get real time tutoring and not rely on back and forth emails. The program gives teachers a platform to come together and participate in professional development activities together and ask questions/make suggestions in real time. Has created an "office" like atmosphere online to help simulate a brick and mortar classroom teacher office where students can feel comfortable communicating with teachers about their concerns.,,Skype, Google Drive, Adobe Acrobat DC
Unspecified
Blackboard Collaborate
89 Ratings
Score 7.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Blackboard Collaborate Reviews

Blackboard Collaborate
89 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Showing 24 of 89 Blackboard Collaborate ratings and reviews.
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Becca Guler profile photo
April 23, 2018

"Blackboard Collaborate- a big step up from Skype"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This program is used in academic support services for online tutoring and academic coaching, which are increasingly needed as more and more degree programs are offering online-only options and the number of students outside a commuting radius increases.
While Skype and Google Hangouts are useful for video chat, they aren't designed for academic purposes and lack many of the tools available in Bb Collaborate.
Read Becca Guler's full review
Joseph Axenroth profile photo
December 18, 2017

"Collaborate in Education with Blackboard Collaborate (Ultra)"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We've been using Blackboard Collaborate since back when it was Elluminate (then Blackboard Collaborate, and now Blackboard Collaborate Ultra). The Ultra version is browser-based and very simple to use. It is typically used for office hours for our online instructors, handling virtual training sessions our team administers to our faculty, and other times people on our campus may want to meet virtually. Collaborate is also an easy way to have a guest speaker join a classroom remotely.

Collaborate Ultra is integrated with our LMS (Blackboard, though they support other integrations), so essentially there is no setup involved for the faculty member. Students just click a link, type in their name, and they are able to join the session, simple as that. Smartphones and tablets are also supported.

The Collaborate team has been aggressively working on making the tool more and more accessible.
Read Joseph Axenroth's full review
No photo available
February 01, 2018

Blackboard Collaborate Review: "Great for small groups of online students"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackboard Collaborate is generally used across our e-school. Teachers use the software to present live and recorded lessons to our students across the state of Florida. It allows us to deliver instruction in a more interactive method, reaching all types of learners and incorporating audio, video, and interaction.
Read this authenticated review
Carly Pietrzyk, PhD profile photo
September 29, 2016

"Blackboard Collaborate for Optimal Company Communications!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackboard Collaborate is utilized by my company for teachers to hold office hours for students within the online courses provided by the company. It is also used to hold virtual department meetings. This addresses our need for communication between teachers and students, teachers and other teachers, and teacher and management staff.
Read Carly Pietrzyk, PhD's full review
Rahul Shinde profile photo
November 07, 2016

Blackboard Collaborate: "Blackboard Collborate: Best for Online classes"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackboard Collaborate (Classic and Ultra) is being used by our university for professors to conduct online classes and to hold office hours for the distant students. It provides lots of interactive features like Whiteboard, create groups, share documents, share desktop and many more. Blackboard Collaborate is bit difficult to understand for non-technical faculties. So we have to provide training on how to use Blackboard Collaborate.
Read Rahul Shinde's full review
Laura Abercrombie profile photo
February 05, 2016

Blackboard Collaborate: "Stop! COLLABORATE and Listen!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently at Polk State College, Blackboard Collaborate is used as a synchronous learning environment in online and hybrid courses. Students are able to interact with professors while they (the students and/or the professors) are off campus and at odd hours. Students participate in guided online course orientations, study sessions, and workshops via Blackboard Collaborate.
Read Laura Abercrombie's full review
Mallory Rice profile photo
May 03, 2016

"Blackboard Collaborate -- Great for teaching or being taught!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used it both as a continuing education student, and as a site-manager for classes that my colleagues teach. Blackboard Collaborate makes it easy to connect students with professors and teaching assistants. As a student, the features make it easy for our professor to screen share, draw, and do presentations for us. On top of that, it is easy to work and coordinate with other students who are also using Collaborate.
Read Mallory Rice's full review
T. Alex Manly profile photo
February 05, 2016

Blackboard Collaborate: "Looking Forward to Collaborate Ultra"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, we enable the Blackboard Collaborate tool in courses only upon request due to the complexity of its interface. However, with the upcoming implementation of the new UI, we are going to be opening up the tool to all courses system wide. The new UI is so much easier to understand and use, and I am confident that the adoption rate is going to drastically increase.
Currently, some instructors use it for virtual office hours, some use it for lecture capture and still others use it for remote lecturing back to their class when they are off campus. Some of our organizations use it for web conferencing as well. With the greater availability of the tool next semester, I figure the use cases will at least be the same but more likely new ideas for using it will come about.
Read T. Alex Manly's full review
Bridget Powell profile photo
December 14, 2015

Blackboard Collaborate Review: "Collaboration at the next level"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I can't answer as to how it's used organization-wide, as we are a large state university. However, our small department uses it primarily for meetings where we need to share something visual, usually a course. It's very helpful, because it allows us to control access to our courses by being able to demo them rather than grant guest access.
Read Bridget Powell's full review
Christine Paige profile photo
December 04, 2015

"Happy Blackboard Collaborate User"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used Blackboard Collaborate at a previous institution as well as the current institution I am at. My current school uses Blackboard Collaborate across our whole campus as a tool for meetings of various groups. We are a distributed institution so it is very heavily used. We also use it with our students since we are primarily an online college.
Read Christine Paige's full review
Allison Kallo profile photo
November 23, 2015

"Blackboard Collaborate is best when collaborating with other Blackboard Products"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I helped evaluate if Blackboard Collaborate was a good tool for the academic community of a previous position. In then end, the team did recommend that our school purchase and use Blackboard Collaborate in sync with Blackboard Learn, the LMS we were using. In the end, my organization decided to hold off on implementing Blackboard Collaborate because they wanted to confirm that Blackboard was still the best LMS for the school.

However, in many ways I wish the organization would have adopted Blackboard Collaborate as it allows students and faculty easy ways to connect and since LMS evaluations take a long time the lack of having a tool like Blackboard Collaborate is highly noticed.

In our evaluation, we suggested that Blackboard Collaborate would be used solely for academic purposes and in addition to other stuff, it would solve the problem of remote meetings, team collaboration and online office hours.
Read Allison Kallo's full review
Kristine Rosales profile photo
November 20, 2015

Blackboard Collaborate Review: "50 shades of Black...board"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackboard Collaborate is being used across the whole organization to host both synchronous and asynchronous sessions with students and staff. It helps our organization, which is greatly dispersed with remote employees and students across the US, maintain contact with one another.
Read Kristine Rosales's full review
Katie Sabourin profile photo
November 18, 2015

"Blackboard Collaborate - A great fit for the academic setting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackboard Collaborate is an essential tool for us to allow for synchronous communication among our online instructors and students. It has been a valuable tool to support this real-time communication in these courses, especially for things like office hours and student presentations to the class.
Read Katie Sabourin's full review
Jeremy Bond profile photo
November 17, 2015

"Blackboard Collaborate is a solid choice for integration, feature set, and usability."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackboard Collaborate is used chiefly as an online real-time course environment. Online and hybrid classes meet in Blackboard Collaborate sessions, leveraging it as a virtual classroom for instructional purposes, student presentations, small group collaboration, and other interactivity purposes. The platform is also used regularly as a training and development environment, providing online hosting for webinars and other events.
Read Jeremy Bond's full review
Brandon Cluff profile photo
March 08, 2016

"Blackboard Collaborate Student Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used Blackboard Collaborate when I was going to community college. It was used with online classes which I usually took during intermission. It makes the online experience more like an actual classroom and it makes it a lot easier to interact with classmates and the instructor. It really helps visual learners, like myself.
Read Brandon Cluff's full review
No photo available
October 03, 2016

Blackboard Collaborate: "Collaborate with Ease"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Blackboard Collaborate for meetings and for tutoring students, one-on-one or in groups. Our department, the instructional department, is the only department that uses it. Many of our employees work remotely, so being able to communicate in a virtual setting is a beneficial alternative to email. Also, we tutor our students remotely, and using Skype, email, or phone is not conducive to what we need to do.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 03, 2016

"Blackboard Collaborate"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Collaborate is a excellent online and remote classroom training tool that allows students to connect to class via a remote session. Features like: whiteboard, sync across devices, ability to make timed quizzes, and the ability to upload assignments and docs are some nice features.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 17, 2015

"Blackboard Collaborate creates virtual classroom."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackboard Collaborate is used to deliver real-time, synchronous, educational content to our users. Specifically, online classes use Blackboard Collaborate to deliver online lectures and presentations using the audio and video components within Blackboard Collaborate as well as the fully interactive whiteboard. Instructors load presentation materials and slides on the interactive whiteboard while student participants follow everything that occurs on the screen. Many classes also use Blackboard Collaborate for group study sessions -- often times without instructor participation. Students are able to share desktop applications, use the interactive whiteboard, and communicate with each other through the built in text chat tools as well as through the audio and video modules.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 26, 2016

Blackboard Collaborate Review: "Makes a Student's Life much Easier - Improves Communication Skills"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Blackboard is being used by the whole Campus of the University, and it is helping students to catch up on their course work and also be punctual on all their assignments as well as their lectures.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 16, 2015

Blackboard Collaborate: "Stop COLLABORATE and listen"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Well, it varies by department. But Blackboard Collaborate is used to hold virtual meetings, professional development sessions, parent and student conferences, and virtual office hours, and for student projects.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

High quality audio (24)
7.1
High quality video (24)
6.9
Low bandwidth requirements (23)
5.8
Mobile support (4)
8.4
Desktop sharing (24)
7.1
Whiteboards (24)
8.1
Calendar integration (10)
9.9
Meeting initiation (17)
8.1
Integrates with social media (5)
8.2
Record meetings / events (23)
8.5
Slideshows (6)
8.7
Live chat (24)
8.9
Audience polling (22)
9.1
Q&A (6)
8.8
User authentication (17)
6.6
Participant roles & permissions (22)
8.8
Confidential attendee list (12)
8.4

About Blackboard Collaborate

Blackboard Collaborate is an online collaborative learning platform with both screen sharing and application sharing, web conferencing, and integration with Blackboard Learn, the primary learning management offering.

Blackboard Collaborate Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No