IBM Cloud File Storage Reviews

20 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

Nicolas Hubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Currently the best cloud file option on the market

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud File Storage is being used to store large amounts of data across the organization. We use it to retrieve data easily and store it in different chunks. It is not used by all departments, just IT-related departments, and mostly by engineers. It addresses problems related to big data, data processing, and analysis.
  • Adjustable/extensible volume of stored data - You can really scale up.
  • You pay for what you use and it is very transparent.
  • Hard to master because of a lot of different functions.
  • Documentation is not so helpful.
IBM Cloud File Storage is well suited for storing and retrieving data in large organizations. In smaller organizations, I would recommend choosing another solution that is lighter and easier to administrate.
For example, I had to retrieve all the financial transactions from Jan 2018 to August 2018 that had some specific features, so that I could run my ML algorithms on it. It was pretty quick to retrieve that data even though it was stored in different locations.
Read Nicolas Hubert's full review
Georgios Samaras | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Amazing options and great customer support!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EMISIA has been using IBM for all its data storage needs to secure privacy within its own network and take advantage of all file-sharing options companywide. The whole organization has been involved in its implementation and so far our work network runs it to support day-to-day operations, such as NFS shares and constant backup needs. So far so good!
  • Backup options.
  • Performance provisions.
  • More flexibility in storage option, although the limit of 12 TB is quite good.
  • A more detailed manual when it comes to the implementation of the software in the company.
It depends on the size of the company, or the needs of management to run day-to-day things on massive or small storage packages. The most important thing to keep in mind is the durability and amazing connectivity of IBM's storage options, so with that being said if you need to run massive amounts of data on a daily basis and use file sharing then you can safely try it and see if it works well with you. Its interface is also extremely good.
Read Georgios Samaras's full review
Sandeep Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

IBM Cloud File Storage Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud File Storage to manage and access unstructured data solutions based on S3-compatible interfaces. It offers very high performance and is easy to manage. It also offers easy data migration and backups.
  • Easy migration.
  • Great for backups.
  • Hard to manage access for uploaded files.
  • Migration of data is a little tricky.
IBM Cloud File Storage is well suited for backups and transferring files. It offers huge data storage, of up to 15TB.
Read Sandeep Singh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Worth every penny!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud File Storage is currently being managed and ran by the Information Technology Department. The entire organization's file structure is housed here though. It allows us to easily store, manage, and access our secure information in a stable and reliable environment. Using this platform gives us the flexibility and assurance that our valuable data is safe, secure, and ready when we need it.
  • Easy to use management tools.
  • Secure access to files.
  • Price is steep for new users before trying it out.
  • I'd like to see automatic exports to local drive storage.
IBM Cloud File Storage is useful for storing large amounts of private, sensitive data as a means of securing it and keeping it backed up to prevent data loss. It is not as useful yet in terms of accessing documents and files that you would be using daily or weekly. It takes getting used to the interface, but once you do, it is pretty simple.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Safe and reliable storage for your files

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The control over both capacity and total IOPS per storage volume is a great feature of IBM Cloud File Storage that my company recognized. It is used to share information among the departments of the college. As we work with clients, it is very useful to share files, modify, and comment when developing the materials. It helps with a great deal of managing the different kinds of applications and storage of files as well as archiving.
  • Great price for storage.
  • Faster loading.
  • The navigation could be more user-friendly.
  • Features like sharing outside cloud.
The endurance level and capacity are great in IBM Cloud File Storage. The name of the company is already making it reliable. You won't be unsatisfied with its performance, but it has to be linked with everything in the workplace to make things easier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

A true cloud ready storage solution for businesses large and small

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple departments used IBM Cloud File Storage to sync documents, training material, and sales presentations. It was fast and easy to access from all areas within the business. The amount of storage was also wonderful as we could upload GBs of video training content.
  • Optimize speed for fast file access
  • Easy to integrate and access through Windows/Mac workstations
  • Better disaster recovery options
  • Ability to set up multiple RAIDs within arrays across different networks
Well Suited:
A business wanting to take a lot of important/critical content and host it in the cloud for all areas of a business to collaborate and share files with. This could be from a small business for simple backups or enterprise for multiple departments. I highly recommend this solution for those needing to upload video content as we did.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Great product and would highly recommend!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud is being used across our entire organization as way to organize and consolidate business needs. It truly helps keep track of everything and helps employees better serve our clients. We have tried other programs but IBM Cloud File Storage seems to be the best option for all our client needs.
  • Helps organize all our files with easy access
  • High-speed access to all our needs
  • Cost is high for smaller companies
  • Every now and then there are glitches
Our organization works with clients across many functions and being able to have all our employees access all different types of files is very helpful. We are able to share documents across sectors and can access them from anywhere. I wouldn't recommend this if you just need internal file sharing.
Read this authenticated review

IBM Cloud File Storage Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (6)
8.4
Dynamic scaling (7)
8.2
Elastic load balancing (6)
8.6
Pre-configured templates (5)
6.6
Monitoring tools (7)
7.5
Pre-defined machine images (4)
7.2
Operating system support (5)
7.8
Security controls (5)
8.2

About IBM Cloud File Storage

IBM Cloud provides a File Storage service allows the user to deploy and customize flash-backed NFS-based file storage from 25 GB to 12,000 GB capacity with up to 48,000 IOPS.

IBM Cloud File Storage Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No