TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/I7/QA/8ZR094ZD6OE0.pngProjector PSA, not so badProjector PSA is used as a project management platform for my company. We use it to keep track of budgets, enter time and cost and generate customer invoices.,Projects have a lot of flexibility in customizing your budget. You can generate any type of reports to fit your needs. Technical Support is on point - very responsive and follow through on every problem.,Naming convention of fields can be confusing or misleading at times. Resource dashboard is not user friendly. Budget in Projector PSA sometimes does not tie to actual budget due to the timing of billing time and material. Projector PSA should include an option to account for the time and material billed and un-billed.,7,Positive: Allowed us to maintain a somewhat accurate budget and expenditure for proper billing to our clients.,Mavenlink,Mavenlink, Microsoft Dynamics CRMSatisfied customerProjector PSA was used to manage the project, resource, and accounting processes for all our customers' projects for the company. It was primarily used for time tracking, billing, and reporting. The major business problems addressed were improving time to revenue by timely invoicing customers, and tracking of utilization and profitability for projects and customers.,Fast and easy time sheet entry for consultants - the web interface is well designed and provides enough validation to help prevent incorrect entries. The approval process for time sheets was very flexible, and allowed for simple multi-level approvals. The reporting capabilities were strong and detailed, with good access to detail and summary data.,The split between the desktop and web environments was awkward at times. While the reporting modules are powerful, creating reports can be complex and required a fairly deep knowledge of the product. The appearance and interface of the desktop application appears somewhat dated.,8,Faster time entry and reporting Shorter time to invoice More visibility into utilization and profitability on a per-project, customer, and business unit basis,Tenrox Professional Services Automation,NetSuite OpenAir PSA,Implemented in-house,Time sheet entry Time sheet approval Expense approval,Complex reporting Customized invoices,Yes,7Flexible, easy to use PSA and T&E systemWe use Projector across all of the organization to manage the staffing of our consultants (analysts through partners), record their time and expenses, run reporting based on this data, invoicing, and interface with QuickBooks Online. We use this software to understand our utilization and support processes for increasing our utilization, as well as provide automated recording of expenses and invoicing.,Very easy to use, intuitive, efficient web portal for users to put in time and expenses. In our previous system, the UI was very painful to use - this one requires almost no training. Very flexible configuration that allows use in a 'simple' way through to a 'complex' way. This is helpful for us to use it in a way that makes sense for our organization and to turn on specific features as we roll them out. The reporting module (and the data model underneath) is very powerful. We have managed to create our own reports very easily, that have been very useful to us and met our objectives.,The application is currently split into two: the web portal (which users record time and expenses, and can do some reporting), and the management console (PC only). The console works really well, but it would be nice to have it all in one place. While the mobile website works well, some users would like to see a dedicated app that allowed for offline time and expense entry (say, on a plane).,10,Our utilization appears to have gone up, and appears to be more even amongst the overall team - we have great transparency into what our people are doing We have much less 'noise' from our staff on their pain on having to enter time and expenses. This system makes it very easy.Projector PSAProjector PSA is used by our entire organization. It gives us visibility to better forecast and plan for our consultants and their projects.,Budget forecasting Project planning,A mobile app would be helpful,9,Better ability to forecast resources and budget,Mavenlink Project Management Software,Clarizen,Replicon PSAProjector PSA delivers quantifiable business benefitsProjector PSA is used in the Professional Services and Managed Services businesses within my organization. It allows us to effectively manage resource allocation, resource utilization and delivers improved task management capabilities. Since the implementation of Projector we have increased the amount of billable time available to engineers and consultants, we have reduced the amount of time spent on administrative activities and have better management of projects which contributes to improved profitability.Although Projector PSA has project management capabilities my organization do not use it in this regard. We continue to use MS Project and if required import (and export) the data from MS Project into Projector.As a Professional Services organization it is key that we have access to accurate, real-time information on projects, resource availability, projected and actual project revenues and more. Projector PSA has comprehensive reporting capabilities which have recently been enhanced through the introduction of an advanced analytics module. We also use Salesforce as our CRM and are currently working on enabling the "out of the box" interface between the systems to allow for a more complete forecasting (resource availability and revenue forecasting).,Resource Management - we are a national business and Projector provides us with the capability, in real time, to identify resource availability to meet current and upcoming project requirements. It allows us to Reporting,Release management process needs to be improved. Currently no facility is provided to test the impact of new releases in a sand-box. This introduces business risk if there are interfaces into Projector PSA as part of it's use in the business.,9,Increased employee efficiency. Implementing Projector PSA delivered a reduction in admin time for billable resources. Improved revenue and cost control of budgets Reduction in administrative support required to manage a growing delivery team Non-tangible benefits such as reduced staff turnover, improved capacity planning, improved the identification of skills (capability) requirements and improved customer satisfaction,Salesforce.com,433,1,Manage billable resource utilization Track costs and expenses Review actual and forecast billing,We have in place a model where revenue for engagements is split across regions (based on the location of the resource). Projector PSA enhanced their system to include this functionality for all users based on this requirement. We have worked with Projector PSA to enhance the functionality based on our requirements in relation to cost management and reporting.,10,Vendor implemented,7,10
Windows
Projector PSA
13 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

Projector PSA Reviews

Projector PSA
13 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 13 vetted Projector PSA reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Tom Tran profile photo
March 24, 2016

User Review: "Projector PSA, not so bad"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projector PSA is used as a project management platform for my company. We use it to keep track of budgets, enter time and cost and generate customer invoices.
  • Projects have a lot of flexibility in customizing your budget.
  • You can generate any type of reports to fit your needs.
  • Technical Support is on point - very responsive and follow through on every problem.
  • Naming convention of fields can be confusing or misleading at times.
  • Resource dashboard is not user friendly.
  • Budget in Projector PSA sometimes does not tie to actual budget due to the timing of billing time and material. Projector PSA should include an option to account for the time and material billed and un-billed.
Projector PSA has the ability to open and close past periods which can be useful at time. One way in which it's less appropriate is if you change the expense type or task type, it will affect invoice time and material. In other words, there is no hard close, one must be very careful when modifying dimensions.
Read Tom Tran's full review
Jim Harter profile photo
November 11, 2015

Projector PSA Review: "Satisfied customer"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projector PSA was used to manage the project, resource, and accounting processes for all our customers' projects for the company. It was primarily used for time tracking, billing, and reporting. The major business problems addressed were improving time to revenue by timely invoicing customers, and tracking of utilization and profitability for projects and customers.
  • Fast and easy time sheet entry for consultants - the web interface is well designed and provides enough validation to help prevent incorrect entries.
  • The approval process for time sheets was very flexible, and allowed for simple multi-level approvals.
  • The reporting capabilities were strong and detailed, with good access to detail and summary data.
  • The split between the desktop and web environments was awkward at times.
  • While the reporting modules are powerful, creating reports can be complex and required a fairly deep knowledge of the product.
  • The appearance and interface of the desktop application appears somewhat dated.
Projector PSA handles rate cards and project based rates very well for organizations with flexible rate structures. Organizations with multiple business units and locations can benefit from the ability to account to time and billing across different units.The organization using projector should be large enough to support the identification of one or more power users in order to take advantage of the depth of the product.
Read Jim Harter's full review
Stuart Andrew Clark profile photo
May 21, 2015

Projector PSA Review: "Flexible, easy to use PSA and T&E system"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Projector across all of the organization to manage the staffing of our consultants (analysts through partners), record their time and expenses, run reporting based on this data, invoicing, and interface with QuickBooks Online. We use this software to understand our utilization and support processes for increasing our utilization, as well as provide automated recording of expenses and invoicing.
  • Very easy to use, intuitive, efficient web portal for users to put in time and expenses. In our previous system, the UI was very painful to use - this one requires almost no training.
  • Very flexible configuration that allows use in a 'simple' way through to a 'complex' way. This is helpful for us to use it in a way that makes sense for our organization and to turn on specific features as we roll them out.
  • The reporting module (and the data model underneath) is very powerful. We have managed to create our own reports very easily, that have been very useful to us and met our objectives.
  • The application is currently split into two: the web portal (which users record time and expenses, and can do some reporting), and the management console (PC only). The console works really well, but it would be nice to have it all in one place.
  • While the mobile website works well, some users would like to see a dedicated app that allowed for offline time and expense entry (say, on a plane).
We think Projector PSA is a great tool to track and manage people in a professional service environment like management consulting. This system is easy to set up, easy to understand and should easily suit the needs of smaller and medium sized firms.

It may be less appropriate for firms that rely very heavily on project management through another system (like MS Project) or firms that rely very heavily on a sales pipeline tracking system. While still very much possible to use, you would (I believe) have to do some re-keying between systems.
Read Stuart Andrew Clark's full review
Debbie Davis profile photo
May 27, 2015

User Review: "Projector PSA"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projector PSA is used by our entire organization. It gives us visibility to better forecast and plan for our consultants and their projects.
  • Budget forecasting
  • Project planning
  • A mobile app would be helpful
Projector PSA is well suited for large companies looking for help in project planning or budget forecasting.
Read Debbie Davis's full review
No photo available
March 16, 2016

Review: "Projector PSA delivers quantifiable business benefits"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Projector PSA is used in the Professional Services and Managed Services businesses within my organization. It allows us to effectively manage resource allocation, resource utilization and delivers improved task management capabilities. Since the implementation of Projector we have increased the amount of billable time available to engineers and consultants, we have reduced the amount of time spent on administrative activities and have better management of projects which contributes to improved profitability.

Although Projector PSA has project management capabilities my organization do not use it in this regard. We continue to use MS Project and if required import (and export) the data from MS Project into Projector.

As a Professional Services organization it is key that we have access to accurate, real-time information on projects, resource availability, projected and actual project revenues and more. Projector PSA has comprehensive reporting capabilities which have recently been enhanced through the introduction of an advanced analytics module. We also use Salesforce as our CRM and are currently working on enabling the "out of the box" interface between the systems to allow for a more complete forecasting (resource availability and revenue forecasting).

  • Resource Management - we are a national business and Projector provides us with the capability, in real time, to identify resource availability to meet current and upcoming project requirements. It allows us to
  • Reporting
  • Release management process needs to be improved. Currently no facility is provided to test the impact of new releases in a sand-box. This introduces business risk if there are interfaces into Projector PSA as part of it's use in the business.

Projector PSA is a key business tool in my Professional Services (IT Consulting - design and deployment of infrastructure related IT solutions). It is strong in the areas of resource management - utilization/availability, billable/non-billable time, task management, expense management, actual and forecast revenue and project profitability. It allows for the management of multiple resource types (levels) across multiple (concurrent) projects, being sold at different rates.

Projector PSA has extensive reporting available and this has recently been further enhanced by the introduction of an advanced analytics module which provides for even more flexibility in how data is presented. There are a wide variety of invoicing options available and these cover standard templates for T&M and Fixed Price engagements with summary level or resource by resource, task by task level detail available.

I do not use Projector PSA for Project Management. Although it has functionality in this area we continue to use MS Project and when required input data into Projector.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 30, 2016

Projector PSA Review: "A Project-based System to Maximize Profitability"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projector PSA is currently used as our project management system. We input budgets, assign RDCs, forecast time, pull variance reports and use all the system's tools for much more. All resources are required to input time and expenses through the system so we are easily able to determine our projects' profitability and track costs. All vendor invoices are processed through the system and all client invoices are generated out of it. This is a vital tool for our entire organization across all departments.
  • Time tracking. For a service company that typically bills retainers, it is very important to be able to assign a direct cost to your resources at all levels and analyze your profitability.
  • Expense reporting. Projector easily tracks expenses of all types and allows you to categorize them under non-billable projects, client billable projects and/or client development ventures.
  • Reporting. Projector has a large list of standard reports right at your fingertips. These reports can be extracted as Excel docs, mdp files and other useful formats. They are intuitive, clear and easy to analyze. For those you need on a standard basis, you can set them up to pull on a recurring basis. It should be noted that all reports are easily customized and Projector's support team is always there to help get you the information you need.
  • For companies with offices overseas, there is no place to denote your VAT.
  • Aesthetics. Projector's web based view is fantastic, but the management portal is still a bit outdated and gray.
I think Projector PSA is well suited for service companies.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 23, 2016

User Review: "Projector PSA for Mid-Size Businesses!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Projector PSA is used across the whole organization.
  • Great for reporting expenses
  • Great for entering time
  • Great for processing invoices
  • Good for pulling reports
  • Needs improvement with GL integration
  • Needs improvement with Project organization
  • Needs improvement with expected amount of time submitted per day
It is well suited for accounts payables and receivables.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 18, 2015

Projector PSA Review: "Great PSA tool with deep focus on project management and resourcing, and much more!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ProjectorPSA to project mange, resource and invoice our professional consulting services. We use it to track time & expenses, project timelines, forecasting revenue and resourcing - basically every aspect of our PS firm's operations aside from sales & marketing.
  • Projector is a very well designed tool for project management. It has allowed us to eliminate a number of auxiliary tools for project timelines and WBS for the vast majority of our projects.
  • Time and expense entry is intuitive and quick for our staff.
  • Our forecasting and resource management capability has improved greatly with Projector and allows us to grow our team efficiently with minimal additional administrative burden.
  • Reporting is extremely robust. It does require some time to really get a handle on the full functionality of the reporting tool, but once you do, you can get almost any kind of report you want out of the system!
  • One challenge has been the user interface of the management portal, but that is currently being overhauled. The new design is being rolled out incrementally, and so far we've been very impressed with it, both visually and functionally!
  • Projector is first and foremost a project management tool. Because of this, we had to come up with some workarounds for customized accounting tasks we needed that were not part of the native Projector logic, but we were able to get what we need done.
  • One thing we did have with our previous PSA tool and that isn't available in Projector is an integration with MS Outlook calendar. That would be a great feature for our team.
Projector is a great tool for professional services firms looking to be able to project manage, resource, forecast & invoice out of their PSA. While it is certainly more than capable of handling very simple projects and timelines for small project teams, I think that firms with more complex timeline & WBS tracking needs will get the full benefit of using this tool. It is also an excellent tool for revenue forecasting & reporting. The reports module takes a little bit of getting used to, but it is very robust and once you understand how best to utilize it, the data can be manipulated almost in every way possible. The main thing to keep in mind though is that to get the most out of the system, you have to put and effort into putting the pertinent information into the system. This may require an internal process overhaul (which could be a very good thing!) and depending on the size of the team and scale of projects, a dedicated person tasked with a lot of the "admin" functions of getting data in. The Projector team is fantastic! They're very knowledgeable, responsive and always open to suggestions for improvement. They were great in helping us get started, never pushed us to get more than what we needed and were very transparent about what may be possible but not worth the investment to do.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 18, 2015

Projector PSA Review: "Looking to Manage Projects Efficiently? Projector is the tool you need!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our organization Projector is used as a project management and project accounting tool. We use it starting for managing various client projects, scheduling resources, managing time and expenses, invoicing, revenue recognition and reporting. We have several business units across US and Europe and over 800 users use it for various functions. We also manage sub contractors, employees, vendors and customer information through Projector.
  • Projector is a very user friendly product and customizable to the business needs. Time and expense entry is very simple and easy to use. Their mobile app is also very user friendly.
  • The reporting is very robust and has a lot of customizable reports. The best part is all of the data can be exported to Excel or other formats so you can create your own reports.
  • The accounting interface is very good and we have had a great experience with it. There are many tools available to reconcile the details of transactions which makes it easier to complete period end processing.
  • Projector interfaces with several major accounting systems and also with Salesforce which is very helpful to our organization.
  • I think overall Projector has a great set of tools and is pretty good but some enhancements to the look of resource scheduling would make it very helpful.
  • It has a lot of good features but needs a more user friendly help feature that allows for self learning.
I believe Projector PSA is a very good software for any business looking for a project management/project accounting software. Depending on what your company is looking to get out of it, the questions would vary. In our case, it was important to have a software that would provide good client profitability reporting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 14, 2015

User Review: "My experience with Projector PSA"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was in charge of orchestrating the implementation of a web-based project management tool. I tested three different products and based on my experience using the system and generating the reports the department needed I recommended Projector PSA. I was then in charge of orchestrating the implementation of Projector PSA for my department. After it was deployed, I was laid off and I am not sure if this company is still using it. When I was there, we were able to generate multiple type of reports geared at marketing, operation and accounting efforts. Prior to Projector PSA, the department was much basing their business decisions with multiple sources of date or no data which made it very difficult to target problem areas. Furthermore, there were workers and clients wanted to access information over the web to input and monitor information on their projects.
  • Projector is easy to use and understand. It is web-based so the information is seen in real time. The cost was reasonable for a beginning project management tool.
  • Once set up and implemented properly Projector was able to produce all type of operational reports with real-time information.
  • It also had many useful built-in reminders for people responsible for inputting their project data.
  • The support I received from Projector PSA was outstanding.
  • Most of the problems I experienced using Projector PSA for the department I selected it for, had more to do with management and the buy-in of a tool that required up-to-date input from project managers than the tool itself.
Projector PSA is more suited for small departments. I see it more of a web-based project management tool for beginners. There is more than the tool, when it comes to getting the whole department to get used to a web-based project management tool. The environment where the tool is going to be used is very important. The department has to be "ready" to embrace a project management tool. There were more expensive and more sophisticated products in the market when I tested and suggested the signing in with Projector. What I considered, in addition to functionality and cost, was product support and ease of use for the department. So, the scenario where it would be less appropriate would probably be a department bigger than mine, which was about 50 people.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (8)
7.4
Resource Management (8)
8.0
Gantt Charts (3)
6.0
Scheduling (9)
8.0
Workflow Automation (6)
6.9
Team Collaboration (7)
7.5
Support for Agile Methodology (2)
5.8
Support for Waterfall Methodology (3)
5.2
Document Management (7)
8.5
Email integration (5)
7.6
Mobile Access (7)
3.7
Timesheet Tracking (9)
9.3
Change request and Case Management (3)
5.2
Budget and Expense Management (9)
8.1
Invoicing (2)
7.0
Project & financial reporting (2)
8.5
Integration with accounting software (3)
8.0

About Projector PSA

Projector's cloud-based Professional Services Automation (PSA) software helps project-based services organizations track time and expenses, invoice clients, schedule resources, and manage projects. Its three modules span a more comprehensive set of uses than typical project management software. The Accounting module helps the user track time and expenses and manage invoices and billing. Also it syncs with the company's accounting systems as a sub-ledger. The Resource Scheduling module matches people to projects, allowing managers to match available resource parameters to needs, supporting hiring needs. The vendor says this helps managers maintain workforce profitability. The Project Management module provides project workspaces, the familiar hub of project management software which facilitates communication and collaboration efficiency across team members.

These modules can be integrated with other programs (e.g. Microsoft Project, Salesforce, Quickbooks). Online demos and a free trial period are available.
Categories:  Project Management

Projector PSA Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Has featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Does not have featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Has featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Does not have featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Does not have featureChange request and Case Management
Has featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Does not have featureQuotes/estimates
Has featureInvoicing
Has featureProject & financial reporting
Has featureIntegration with accounting software

Projector PSA Screenshots

Projector PSA Integrations

Projector PSA Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Team Edition$15per user
Professional Edition$25per user
Enterprise Edition$30per user

Projector PSA Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Projector PSA Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No