TrustRadius
Microsoft Dynamics GP is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family. This is the original Great Plains product acquired by Microsoft in 2001, and has strong financial management and HR capabilities. Customers tend to be professional services, finance and public sector companies.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/mv/Dh/1TTNUV8GTFL7.pngGP is Generally Passable ;)We use GP to manage our GL, AR and AP. We don't use it to its full potential as we use a home-brewed system to do our invoicing, which integrates to GP. We are currently looking to use it more fully to solve some problems (spreadsheets!) that we are facing.,Generally things flow pretty logically - if you don't have previous experience with GP you can figure it out. Rock solid - we rarely have errors or unexplained weirdness pop up. Handles our multicurrency environment just fine.,Might be a limitation of our older version, but it only allows us to run and have open one report at a time. Seems like a pointless limitation. The documentation in some areas is less than clear. Thankfully, answers can usually be found with enough Googling.,7,Frankly, we haven't leveraged it properly, so this is a difficult question to answer. I'm sure our ROI could be much stronger.,XeroMicrosoft GP for your financial needsWe use Microsoft Dynamics GP to manage all finances, payables and receivables, for every department and company. It helps us maintain a clear and concise location for all accounting information, as well as enables us to research financial items and examine our spending trends and anomalies.,A really nice user interface that allows individuals who may not be familiar with financial platforms to easily learn processes. Catches mistakes made in payables and receivables uploads so you can correct them before they become a problem. Quick access to uploaded journal entries so you can look into problems quickly.,At times, GP slows down because of a large upload that is occurring. It would be nice if there could be a way to fix this. A way to void payments and transaction entries at the same time so there are less steps. A clear way to see who entered what in transaction entries and JE's so we don't have to run an IDS every time.,8,We've been able to track travel expenses to see where we are overspending and cut costs. It is the sole way we record all financials and has really been a fairly simple interface to use.,KiSSFLOW,15,3Microsoft Dynamics GP is not my first choiceMicrosoft Dynamics GP (MDGP) is being directly used by our accounting department for all our financial reporting. MDGP is being indirectly used by our Parts Department, Sales Department, and HR Department by having the information flow through exports into GP for all costing and customer billing purposes. I use it to input journal entries for payroll and journal entries for project costing twice weekly.,It doesn't allow for easy access as it has restrictions placed on users. This allows for inputted information to retain it's integrity. It can be scheduled to import or export information from other systems cutting down on time spent configuring data.,It is not very user-friendly. Very costly especially for customer support. Processes are complex with too many steps for completion.,5,Ceridian Dayforce,Ceridian Dayforce, Microsoft Office 2016Microsoft Dynamics GPWe primarily use the Financial, Sales, Purchasing modules. We easily integrated Microsoft Dynamics GP with our in-house equipment rental and event reservation system to speed up sales invoicing and PO processing to ensure accuracy. We rely on GP for all of our financial reporting, fixed asset management, and project job costing. We've been using GP since 2014.,Integration with Microsoft Excel for reporting and analysis Easy to navigate Great tools to pull and review financial information,I love that they're starting to listen to the users more and incorporate changes based on what we ask for. There are a few quirky things but nothing that stands in the way of getting the job done. I would love to be able to control the size of the text within the entry windows.,10,Efficiency from easy integration with other systems Reporting and budgeting have improved,mas90, solomon and QuickBooks Pro,Paychex Accounting OnlineDynamics GP for ManufacturingWe use Dynamics GP mostly as an accounting software to count for our raw materials and finished good products that are made and sold. We capture the cost of goods, customers, goods sold, etc. We utilize the system for manufacturing orders as a way to capture the cost of goods. Our customer service team places orders in GP through customer accounts. We also use a lot of custom reports to get additional information about goods and materials we have on hand and for planning for manufacturing and material ordering.,Supply chain management - keeps track of materials and goods on hand and the demand planner is simple and easy to use. Manufacturing - material requirements planning is always keeping tabs on the inventory and what may be needed; bill of materials is easy to use; manufacturing order processing gives us an easy way to track materials consumed.,Certain areas can only be accessed by one individual at a time (Material Requirements Planning) which can cause some issues when an individual leaves the screen open and then another person is unable to work on something if needed. Reporting is not intuitive. It can be difficult to find what you are looking for in a report. When updating items (ex: if you discontinue an item) you have to go through several different screens to actually have the item discontinued and removed from planning.,6,Positive impact - it empowers our users to research inventory and dig deeper to find information It is not intuitive and difficult to use until you have learned the system over several months.,Microsoft Dynamics CRM
Unspecified
Microsoft Dynamics GP
138 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
TRScore

Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Microsoft Dynamics GP
138 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 139 vetted Microsoft Dynamics GP reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 31)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Travis Campbell, CPA, CA profile photo
February 19, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "GP is Generally Passable ;)"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GP to manage our GL, AR and AP. We don't use it to its full potential as we use a home-brewed system to do our invoicing, which integrates to GP. We are currently looking to use it more fully to solve some problems (spreadsheets!) that we are facing.
  • Generally things flow pretty logically - if you don't have previous experience with GP you can figure it out.
  • Rock solid - we rarely have errors or unexplained weirdness pop up.
  • Handles our multicurrency environment just fine.
  • Might be a limitation of our older version, but it only allows us to run and have open one report at a time. Seems like a pointless limitation.
  • The documentation in some areas is less than clear. Thankfully, answers can usually be found with enough Googling.
The product has enough modules and third-party add-ons that you can pretty much fit it to fit any use case. However, having used cloud-based Xero accounting for another task, I have come to appreciate the functionality and convenience of a well-executed cloud solution. My understanding is that GP's cloud solution is to have your instance hosted by someone else, which strikes me as a bit pointless.
Read Travis Campbell, CPA, CA's full review
Catherine Miller profile photo
December 12, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "Microsoft GP for your financial needs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Dynamics GP to manage all finances, payables and receivables, for every department and company. It helps us maintain a clear and concise location for all accounting information, as well as enables us to research financial items and examine our spending trends and anomalies.
  • A really nice user interface that allows individuals who may not be familiar with financial platforms to easily learn processes.
  • Catches mistakes made in payables and receivables uploads so you can correct them before they become a problem.
  • Quick access to uploaded journal entries so you can look into problems quickly.
  • At times, GP slows down because of a large upload that is occurring. It would be nice if there could be a way to fix this.
  • A way to void payments and transaction entries at the same time so there are less steps.
  • A clear way to see who entered what in transaction entries and JE's so we don't have to run an IDS every time.
In a company with a large AP and AR need, it's very helpful to streamline the processes and have the flexibility to meet the needs of each.
Read Catherine Miller's full review
No photo available
April 12, 2018

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics GP is not my first choice"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics GP (MDGP) is being directly used by our accounting department for all our financial reporting. MDGP is being indirectly used by our Parts Department, Sales Department, and HR Department by having the information flow through exports into GP for all costing and customer billing purposes. I use it to input journal entries for payroll and journal entries for project costing twice weekly.
  • It doesn't allow for easy access as it has restrictions placed on users. This allows for inputted information to retain it's integrity.
  • It can be scheduled to import or export information from other systems cutting down on time spent configuring data.
  • It is not very user-friendly.
  • Very costly especially for customer support.
  • Processes are complex with too many steps for completion.
MDGP is well suited for accounting purposes. It is not suitable for payroll.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 29, 2018

User Review: "Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use the Financial, Sales, Purchasing modules. We easily integrated Microsoft Dynamics GP with our in-house equipment rental and event reservation system to speed up sales invoicing and PO processing to ensure accuracy. We rely on GP for all of our financial reporting, fixed asset management, and project job costing. We've been using GP since 2014.
  • Integration with Microsoft Excel for reporting and analysis
  • Easy to navigate
  • Great tools to pull and review financial information
  • I love that they're starting to listen to the users more and incorporate changes based on what we ask for.
  • There are a few quirky things but nothing that stands in the way of getting the job done.
  • I would love to be able to control the size of the text within the entry windows.
It is the right accounting system for our small to mid-sized company and can handle all of the functions and integrations with other systems that I require to do my job efficiently. There is a large GP User Group for support, ideas, training, etc. that help users get the most out of the product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 22, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "Dynamics GP for Manufacturing"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynamics GP mostly as an accounting software to count for our raw materials and finished good products that are made and sold. We capture the cost of goods, customers, goods sold, etc. We utilize the system for manufacturing orders as a way to capture the cost of goods. Our customer service team places orders in GP through customer accounts. We also use a lot of custom reports to get additional information about goods and materials we have on hand and for planning for manufacturing and material ordering.
  • Supply chain management - keeps track of materials and goods on hand and the demand planner is simple and easy to use.
  • Manufacturing - material requirements planning is always keeping tabs on the inventory and what may be needed; bill of materials is easy to use; manufacturing order processing gives us an easy way to track materials consumed.
  • Certain areas can only be accessed by one individual at a time (Material Requirements Planning) which can cause some issues when an individual leaves the screen open and then another person is unable to work on something if needed.
  • Reporting is not intuitive. It can be difficult to find what you are looking for in a report.
  • When updating items (ex: if you discontinue an item) you have to go through several different screens to actually have the item discontinued and removed from planning.
As an accounting software, GP does a decent job. I personally do not use the accounting functions (strictly working with the manufacturing and supply chain side of things). I think there are other programs where ERP is better suited than GP. If you know the ins and outs of how to use GP, you can get a lot accomplished, however there is a very large learning curve and it is not an intuitive system at all.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 08, 2017

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics GP - Great for Small Businesses!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

It is used across the entire organization. One of the problems that I have experienced is that it does not allow for users to delete previous entries into cards in direct deposit, and other areas like deductions. The accounts or information just shows as "inactive".

Also, it does not allow users to delete previous supervisor names and we are left with a list of names of managers that have been promoted, moved to a different department or are no longer with the company.

  • I like that I can switch between employees when there are different windows open.
  • I like that I can run various reports and save them for future viewing.
  • I like the customization of GP and how it fits our organizations needs.
  • The tax data entry is unnecessarily difficult.
  • Having to click save and enter hire date and reason for change after each entry is very time consuming.
If you are looking for an easy to use, and very user-friendly program, Microsoft Dynamics GP would be a good fit. Data fields can be customized to fit your needs and it can easily be utilized throughout your organization. It's not glitchy, and very rarely has any crash issues.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2017

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics GP - Improved information"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS Dynamics is primarily used by the accounting department. It is a huge upgrade from our previous Green Screen DOS based software. Smartlist and the Excel button are some of our favorite features.
  • Get information out though Smart List -- super easy.
  • Import large data such as purchase card detail.
  • Copy and paste short journal entries.
  • Sometimes system gets hung up and takes a while to troubleshoot.
Microsoft Dynamics GP is well suited for a medium sized company. It can handle multiple companies and large amounts of journal entries and reporting. It is easy to export information and send to a requestor.
Read this authenticated review
Jay Moore profile photo
March 21, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "GP - Solid, Scalable, Secuirty"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics GP is our accounting platform. It is responsible for all accounting functions within our organization. GP is used solely by our finance department. GP is responsible for all accounting/inventory/sales order processing functions within our company.
  • GAAP Accounting system
  • Process large amounts of transactions
  • User security
  • Reporting
  • Account history views - difficult to see complete customer account history
  • User interface
Microsoft Dynamics GP is well suited for an enterprise environment. Depending on the business case, [it's] probably not the best solution for small businesses. GP integrates well with other Dynamics products. It is recommended to have a good VAR to support your GP instance.
Read Jay Moore's full review
Dixon Pettengill profile photo
March 07, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics GP: "Microsoft GP Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rainbow uses GP to house our general ledger, track orders, and sales, and to generate smart lists for expenses/revenues across all business units. It is a key product in our day-to-day business operations, with great customization abilities.
  • Generate smart lists for tracking expenses & sales
  • User controlled accounting transactions - it does what you tell it to do
  • It would be great if it was easier to apply accrual percentages to existing JEs
  • Easier exports to Excel/other reporting tools
  • Easier integration with payroll software
Great for businesses with 50+ employees working with multiple revenue streams.
Read Dixon Pettengill's full review
Tricia Wolfe Jarvis profile photo
June 08, 2016

Review: "Decade long user of Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics GP is used by all employees in our organization for time and expense entry. It is also used by our Finance and HR teams for most accounting functions - billing, general ledger, payables, bank rec, safe pay and EFT for payables, financial reporting and management of paid time off.
  • User friendly interface
  • Able to be extended into multiple areas of your business
  • One feature we have been using for a few years is EFT for payables - it has significantly reduced the time spent paying vendors and reduced our check printing and mailing costs. It is very easy to setup and use.
  • search functionality could be improved within native GP functionality - we use Rockton Smartfill to improve search capabilities.
GP is very flexible and can be used in a wide variety of industries.
Read Tricia Wolfe Jarvis's full review
Candi Southall profile photo
November 11, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "Chief Financial Officer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Microsoft Dynamic GP to process our payables, track our expenses by entity, and run monthly and annual financial reports. We have eight different Tax IDs and eight different bank accounts which require us to have separate, distinct sets of books. GP is a great, easy-to-use tool that helps us keep track of each of our entities and run complete sets of financials for each one. We also have some very complicated allocations we have to do for our leasing company. This requires us to set up allocation accounts so each expense only has to be entered once, and the system will do the allocations behind the scenes. I've worked with several other GL packages, including QuickBooks, and none of them had the ability to perform complicated allocations.
  • FRx is a very simple third party report writer that makes report running so easy and straight forward. But it can also use more advanced features such as reporting trees so multiple sets of financials can be chained together.
  • The allocation accounts are a great feature of GP. It makes the process of allocating salaries and other expenses when necessary a breeze. If your organization does any type of expense sharing across entities, departments, etc, consider using GP to do that.
  • Overall ease of use. I absolutely love GP. I am a Microsoft Certified Professional in Version 9. It is very intuitive, extremely easy to navigate, simple to set up, and easy to maintain. It has great reporting features, has a simple budget import/export feature, and is truly the best GL package on the market.
  • With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts.
  • I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.
I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.
Read Candi Southall's full review
Constance Quigley profile photo
November 11, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "GP isn't perfect, but it is a very good product for its space!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I use Dynamics GP internally for the accounting of my consulting business. I am also a Microsoft reseller dealing exclusively in Dynamics GP and affiliated 3rd party products. The product is in use as a core accounting product as well as a full ERP system for several customers. Modules include general ledger, payables management, receivables management, inventory, sales order processing, purchase order processing, project accounting, manufacturing, and a broad variety of tools for reporting and data extraction.
  • Core accounting functionality is exceptional - for processing A/P, A/R, and G/L transactions, this product is the best mid-market solution available.
  • Reporting has improved significantly over the years. The product has many tools developed by Microsoft and in conjunction with accounting specific needs, such as SQL reporting services, smartlist builder, and Excel reporting.
  • The user-interface is user-friendly and easy to learn - very similar to other Microsoft products.
  • Supply chain management is adequate but not exceptional, and there are challenges tying the product to a website front end. These features are present and work fine in many environments but are often lacking for customers who need more robust systems.
  • Reporting tools often require consulting expertise or an internal business analyst to develop. Many smaller companies don't have this skill set, so it can be costly to upgrade to GP from a smaller packages like QuickBooks.
  • Some features that are available in competing products are still not present in GP, such as full copy-paste functionality and more intelligent workflow/batch processing functions.
I would say Microsoft Dynamics GP is in the beginning stages of functionality for a hosted solution. The web client is complicated and not fully functional compared to the desktop client. For companies that have complex supply chain requirements, the product requires additional third party solutions or custom development, which can be costly.
Read Constance Quigley's full review
Eric Mereen profile photo
March 31, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "Great Plains Can Do Amazing Things"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Dynamics GP for Accounting, A/R, A/P, Payroll, and HR functions. The whole organization uses it except for any operational departments that don't deal with money or accounting. One issue using Great Plains has solved is having all the departments using one system instead of many.
  • It's ease of use is a plus for many people in my organization, the layout of the software is well received.
  • The software is very flexible. We have a few 3rd party add-ons we have purchased and Microsoft is very supportive of having these add-ons to meet our needs.
  • Great Plains offers a software developer kit (SDK) called eConnect that allows extensive importing through .Net programming into Great Plains. This flexibility has been great when the need to import large files on a regular basis.
  • The support tools from an Admin stand point is great. Check links and reconcile are very good at fixing issue when they come up.
  • Microsoft support is great. They fix the issue quickly and describe why it happened.
  • A lot of document amounts can't be changed or updated, you have to delete them and recreate them if the total is wrong. This can cause a lot of extra hand keying of transactions if they mistyped them.
  • Integration Manager is limited and would benefit in have more options available to the end user.
  • Having a client application that ties into the server would be good. Currently we either remote into the server to access GP or use Citrix. It would be nice to have a way for users to access GP without Citrix or Remote Desktop.
It does accounting really well, it does payroll not so well. I say this because when you get into states that have complicated payroll laws like California, overtime calculations are hard to setup and get right. Same goes for other states when they do out of the normal pay structure like piece rate pay. It does HR, A/P and A/R really well and we have had no issues on that side; just payroll when it comes to certain states and how we do anything that is not salary or hourly.
Read Eric Mereen's full review
Brad Price profile photo
May 18, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "Considering Microsoft Dynamics for your distribution business?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for GL and AR & AP. A third party module is used for advanced planning and inventory management.
  • Simplicity of exporting smartlists directly to Excel in order to quickly analyze data
  • Ability to quickly import large journal entries as well as other data using integration manager
  • Printable manuals make it easy when you want to look for how to do something specific
  • Reporting and the ability to export reports to Excel; like a historical AP or AR aging; inventory reports
  • Regarding inventory management GP is only adequate to support a distribution type of business or the most basic high level manufacturing
  • It cannot be used in an advanced manufacturing environment; our company currently uses a third party inventory and planning module and will be searching for a replacement; as controller of the company I cannot defend the opinions from our Operations group that GP cannot handle our business without requiring a third party interface
Microsoft Dynamics GP is very well suited for distribution but it cannot be a solution for complex manufacturing.
Read Brad Price's full review
Kent Johnson profile photo
May 05, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "Great valueand functionality"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use the software in the Finance/Accounting department. We use the GL and AP modules extensively. We use the AR module for a small area of our company.

It is a very solid, flexible product that can be adapted to any company or industry.


  • We send some vendor payments by ach. We used another add on product to send an email remittance so they would know what was being paid. The software now has a built in area for this which makes set up and execution easy.
  • We have a few subsidiaries that are involved in different kinds of businesses. We can tailor the software to fit each business but still consolidate the results.
  • Distributing information to other departments is very easy, even though they don't have direct access to the software. We have created many reports and download them in various formats.
  • We like the functions that we use.
The software is robust enough to handle most situations but not so expensive as some of the solutions used by big companies.
Read Kent Johnson's full review
BYRON RAMBO profile photo
May 05, 2015

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics GP With Office 365 AND CRM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics GP is being used for internal accounting and for client accounting. We act as the outsourced CFO for them. The client module integrates with every accounting CS module seamlessly and allows us minute-by-minute total knowledge of the financial affairs and conditions of the client.
  • Real time accounting between us and the client
  • Saves all work papers emailed, faxed, or scanned to the client folders for financial statements and taxes on our schedule
  • No client calls about "the computer made a mistake?'
  • Easier training on installation and integration
  • Cost to install - varies widely between the Microsoft Partners

Microsoft Dynamics GP must be set up by a trained accountant the first time it is implemented. The old Great Plains was not an easy program for new users and it does have a longer learning curve than other packages.

For medium to larger clients, its great and can be great for newer, fast growing companies.

Read BYRON RAMBO's full review
Charles T Toomey profile photo
May 05, 2015

"Microsoft Dynamics GP Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics GP is being used by the accounting department as the books of records for all financial reporting. Its our accounting system of record.
  • Ability to integrate files
  • Smart Lists reporting
  • Cannot run a combined trial balance for 2 companies
  • FX functionality is lumpy
Need to ask how Microsoft Dynamics GP can handle foreign subsidiaries and how you will want the reporting established.
Read Charles T Toomey's full review
Jimmy Garces profile photo
April 08, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "GP good for the user and the systems Integrator"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamics GP is currently being used by our comapny as the the Accounting, Finance and Logistics teams. It provides a common tool that can be used across multiple departments. Its easy to use and provides many ways to integrate with the company's ERP system. We also use the Analytic Cubes, Management Reporter along with the out of the box SSRS reports for reporting.
  • The Inventory module integrates smoothly with the Accounting module. Along with the our third party Logistics addin, we can use handheld scanners to maintain our inventory.
  • Writing reports for use within GP is easy. I have written reports and published to GP within 30 minutes
  • The econnect API is easy and straight forward. We use it for many custom integrations such as automatic Invoice and Payables document generation.
  • More out of box reports that can be exported to excel in tabular form. There are to many text based reports that even though they can be exported to excel, are still not in a form that allows easy used.
  • Easier setup of the Web Services,
  • More workflow capabilities
Out of the box, GP offers a solution that can be used by many of the internal functionality groups. This includes logistics, Payables, Collections, Receivables and Purchasing. When you add the ability to drop third party tools into GP, you now have a flexible application that can be extended well beyond its original boundaries.
Read Jimmy Garces's full review
Gio Lima profile photo
May 14, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "GP Dynamics for the Restaurant Industry"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by the entire organization as the principal accounting and reporting system.
  • SQL database back-end
  • It is stable
  • There is a wide range of small to medium sized business users and support network
  • It is more user friendly than some top tier ERP systems
  • Cost center tracking
  • Financial reporting system
  • Cloud functionality
Microsoft Dynamics GP is suited for small and select medium sized businesses with cost sensitivities. It is not ideal for industries that require cost center tracking.
Read Gio Lima's full review
Joel Rodencal profile photo
December 18, 2014

Review: "Midwest Partner uses and sells Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
The company I work for (Summit Group Software) is actually a reseller of the Microsoft Dynamics GP product, along with Microsoft Dynamics CRM. Having worked with GP for 15 years and seeing it grow from version 5.0 to the currently release of 2013, I can say that I am pleased with the progression that GP has made with Microsoft and I always look forward to future releases to see what they have added. The next release is due out in December (GP 2015) and really looking forward to what I have heard will be great enhancements.
  • GP is a great application to integrate other financial data to. The robustness of SQL helps GP adapt well to being able to integrate information.
  • GP with SQL is great to be able to provide Business Intelligence and get that information out to the related parties instead of relying on your accounting team to get you that information.
  • GP is always getting more functionality and moving with the times. Example in GP 2013 they released a web version so that you can access GP from any where, even a coffee shop!!
  • The internal reporting to GP is very old school and would like to see a tighter integration to SSRS or other reporting tools. (There are add-ons that do this well, but having it built into GP would be great)
  • Sometimes software packages put together by "developers" miss some of the simple things that "accountants" think of, and there are just some of those simple things that one has to just work around.
Microsoft Dynamics GP usually is a pretty good fit for most businesses. It has a great flexibility with all of the ISV add-ons out there as well as its own customization tools. To keep costs down one of the main questions is: "Who really needs to be in the actual GP application"? Can one get their job done by getting "real-time" reporting provided to them without having to take up a user and being in the application?
Read Joel Rodencal's full review
Melissa Brown profile photo
June 30, 2014

Review: "Become Passionate About your ERP Solution with Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
My organization utilizes Microsoft Dynamics GP for all our accounting needs. We process timesheets against projects to record consultant's time, convert this into payments to the consultants and invoices to customers. We collect cash from our customers and reconcile the bank statements. Financial statements are easy to produce and all payables transactions are handled through GP as well. It is our only solution and it fits our needs perfectly.
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP is completely integrated. There is no need for additional products to handle payables, receivables, project accounting, field service, payroll, etc.
  • The drill back capabilities within Microsoft Dynamics GP are phenomenal! There is no need to write down a journal entry number and then go find it, you let the system doing the drilling back for you to go from a journal entry all the way back to the initial transaction in the subledger.
  • The reporting options from Microsoft Dynamics GP are endless. You can utilize any of the hundreds of reports built into the application or easily utilize SmartList to perform ad hoc queries of your data. If more robust reporting is needed, then SQL Reporting Services is available.
  • Having an integration between Project Accounting and Field Service would be amazing! There are so many companies that have service technicians that perform work on a customer's contract but also have a need for project accounting functionality within that customer's contract. Right now those modules are separate so you either need to use one or duplicate some efforts if you need to use both.
  • Microsoft Dynamics GP could do a better job documenting their new enhancements to the product. They realize great enhancements but the documentation about them, or new products, is lacking so it is difficult as a consultant to know everything a new feature can do for me and my customers.
  • They could enhance their forecasting capabilities with a new forecasting tool within Management Reporter.
I need to fully understand the client's needs in an ERP solution but I have not run into a situation where Microsoft Dynamics GP could not work for the client. It really comes down to what is most important to the client and if that area of Microsoft Dynamics GP is extremely feature packed and a strong suit, then it's a great fit.
Read Melissa Brown's full review
Amber Bell profile photo
July 07, 2014

User Review: "Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I train and implement companies on using the product. We use it internally for billing customers and paying vendors and for internal payroll and project accounting.
  • Reporting - Connecting data to Excel via Live Excel (Database Connection) that is a free part of GP, or via SmartList. The exports are clean and easy to use for calculations and charts.
  • Collaboration - Multiple users have access to the same data via reports and inquiries. Users can see the data in Excel as it is being entered and saved via the connection to Excel. Multiple users can also add data to the same batch. This is great for billing or other large processes.
  • Data Integrity - GP is GAAP compliant. If someone makes a change, you will see it. Unlike some solutions that allow deleting and changing of posted transactions.
  • Navigation - Users can customize the navigation to quickly access Frequently Used screens and reports.
  • Help Features - The built in Help Features and free access to manuals and online training is AMAZING
  • Integrated 3rd Party Products - many companies build specialized products that integrate seamlessly into the solution. This allows for companies to address specific needs without paying for and maintaining costly custom solutions.
  • Requires expert help for implementation. Clients who try to implement on their own miss many key setup windows.
  • Some built in reports do not open in a clean version in Excel (Historical Aging). This would be a great feature to add.
GP is a robust and stable product. It is worth investing in a good company for support and implementation. Ask the company how long they have been working with GP. Show them copies of the critical reports and make them show you how to run these using GP. Their idea of an acceptable new report might not work for you. However, be open to change if they have a good idea.
Read Amber Bell's full review
No photo available
April 27, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "Fundamentally OK but lacking for manufacturers needing traceability."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product is being used as our ERP solution and is used by most in the organization. We have contracted with a preferred vendor for the manufacturing and sales estimating/quoting module as the standard module does not meet our specific needs for material traceability. We also use third party services for payroll, HR and timekeeping which we are currently looking into bringing in-house using this product. Quality and expense reporting are also add-on modules.
  • ACH payment processing works well.
  • Smart list capabilities
  • Dashboard capabilities
  • Reporting is insufficient.
  • Manufacturing module insufficient.
  • Costing features don't seem to be well configured. Landed cost is particularly problematic for us.
  • Seems to be easy for records to go astray. Difficult to clear items from reports in AP and purchase receipts.
  • Would like to see a workflow purchase requisition solution resident in GP.
Manufacturing module insufficient
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 30, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "Basic general ledger needs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics GP replaced an older system. It is used across the organization and supports the main accounting and payables functions. Due to the highly specialized billing requirements of our business we use a custom billing software.
  • Detailed expense tracking
  • Unitary accumulation and reporting (operating statistics)
  • Statistical reporting is troublesome, not very robust
  • Management Reporter can cause challenges to getting the data required; requires a super expert user to figure out. We have been fortunate in having a personal friend as an expert, otherwise we would end up paying exhorbitant prices to design what should be routine reports.
Microsoft Dynamics GP seems to be fairly stable and robust for the majority of businesses. Integration of specialized applications that fit industry-specific requirements goes well. However, it requires a super expert user to accomplish that timely and efficiently.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 20, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics GP Review: "Microsoft GP"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Dynamics GP for AP, payroll and finance. Our AP is managed through the system as is our payroll and time management. We have an integrated time clock as well. Additionally, we generate financial statements with GP. We do not use across departments. Our sales order entry, AR and manufacturing uses different software and interfaces to GP.
  • Financial reporting is easy and can be done with the reports that are set up in the system.
  • Payroll and time management is easy to manage in GP. The integrated time clock posts hours directly into GP. The steps to generate the payroll are short and easy.
  • We found the sales order entry process to be cumbersome and requires too many steps to get the invoice posted and the documents for customer generated. We process many sales orders in a day and need a system that allows for quick entry and processing. This system did not meet that need.
  • We have a fairly simple manufacturing process. The manufacturing module seemed to be geared to more technical and in depth processes and we were not able to find a way to fit it to our needs. We wanted a system that would allow the accounting to be as straightforward and basic as our manufacturing process is.
I recommend asking for estimates on the time required and the number of steps required to process something from start to finish (sales order, manufacturing an item). The difference across software can be significant. In some areas we found that it matched our needs. In other areas, it was not manageable with our current operation.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (7)
7.0
Benefit plan administration (6)
7.0
Direct deposit files (8)
7.5
Salary revision and increment management (8)
7.5
Reimbursement management (6)
7.0
API for custom integration (12)
8.1
Plug-ins (10)
8.6
Single sign-on capability (18)
9.1
Role-based user permissions (21)
8.8
Dashboards (14)
7.6
Standard reports (20)
7.8
Custom reports (20)
8.2
Accounts payable (25)
8.3
Accounts receivable (18)
8.0
Cash management (18)
8.2
Bank reconciliation (22)
8.2
Expense management (13)
7.8
Time tracking (6)
6.0
Fixed asset management (14)
7.6
Multi-currency support (7)
7.7
Multi-division support (13)
7.9
Regulations compliance (3)
7.0
Electronic tax filing (3)
7.0
Self-service portal (3)
8.0
Global Financial Support (1)
8
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (4)
8.7
Intercompany Accounting (3)
7.3
Localizations (1)
8
Journals and Reconciliations (5)
8.1
Enterprise Accounting (3)
8.6
Configurable Accounting (3)
8.3
Centralized Rules Framework (3)
9.3
Standardized Processes (3)
9.3
Inventory tracking (13)
7.2
Automatic reordering (4)
6.0
Location management (9)
7.5
Manufacturing module (6)
7.0
Pricing (7)
8.5
Order entry (10)
8.4
Credit card processing (6)
8.3
Cost of goods sold (12)
8.4
Order Orchestration (1)
8
End-to-end order visibility (1)
8
Branded client dashboards (2)
5.0
Client data roll-up capabilities (2)
5.0
Client data consolidation for benchmarking (2)
5.0
Configurable alerts (1)
7
Client template cloning (2)
5.5
Single sign-on (3)
8.3
Configurable client onboarding questions (2)
8.0
Cross-client workflow management (2)
8.0
Industry-specific versioning (1)
1
Legacy system data migration (3)
10.0

About Microsoft Dynamics GP

Microsoft Dynamics GP is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family.

This is the original Great Plains product acquired by Microsoft in 2001, and has strong financial management and HR capabilities.

Customers tend to be professional services, finance and public sector companies.

Microsoft Dynamics GP Integrations

Microsoft Dynamics GP Competitors

Microsoft Dynamics GP Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No