Pure Storage FlashBlade Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
38 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Nathan Chitwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

If you want a 'Purely' superior experience!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primarily, we use Pure Storage Flashblade as a backup target for high priority data. IT is the only department utilizing this. The main problem we wanted to address with backup, was actually the restoration. Many storage targets tout they are a great option for backup, but when it comes to restoring data, they fall down hard. The data is highly compressed and de-duped on slow low-tier storage. Getting it 'rehydrated' takes FAR too long. Pure Storage Flashblade solved that problem!
  • NFS target
  • Large data analysis processing
  • High performant block and object storage
  • Data protection target
  • Windows environment based NAS support
  • Block level de-dupe
  • Smaller storage options
In our situation, the primary use for Pure Storage Flashblade is data protection. We wanted a performant backup target. Most of these options are slow, and data restoration is abysmal. This is not the case with Flashblade.

NFS works great. We use NFS between the Flashblade and our backup environment.

I personally don't care for it as a NAS in a Windows heavy environment. It does support basic Windows SMB, but not well. If IT is well suited for Linux/Unix sysadmin, then Pure Storage Flashblade is highly recommended.
In our use cases, we wanted to avoid more spinning disks, even though it was being used for a backup target. Pure Storage Flashblade was a very affordable option for us in this use case. We don't use it for data analysis. Industry support is part of the package here. So implementation in your environment should be simple.
Read Nathan Chitwood's full review
Julie Ulrich | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a bit different than others. We got on early and were using Pure Storage FlashBlade as a tier 2 type storage. So we don't use it for analytics. It has served as file server storage, it has been used for backup archive, and it has been used to hold our security data.
  • NFS mounts to VMware
  • It's a solid Pure product in support basis
  • A lot of things promised early on didn't come to fruition.
  • No replication
Pure Storage FlashBlade is well suited for tier 2 high data dump situations or NFS shares.
Truthfully, it failed for us and our need for tier 2. They went the analytics route, which is not where we wanted to see Pure Storage FlashBlade go.
Read Julie Ulrich's full review
David McKinney | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Overkill

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The device is used for backups in conjunction with Commvault. It is connected via NFS to windows physical machines and it the main storage library.
  • Ease of use
  • Speed
  • Cost
  • Use case scenario
This would probably be good in niche environments or maybe for DB caching.
Read David McKinney's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2020

Follow-up from a happy FlashBlade user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our FlashBlade is an evaluation unit. My team tests storage arrays from various vendors to determine compatibility & performance with our software. We share results with our internal storage team and write white papers on how to best config an array for optimal performance without software.
  • Ease of manageability. A manual isn't needed to navigate the GUI. Config options are easy to locate.
  • The FlashBlade helps to overcome some of the performance limitations built into the NFS protocol.
  • Quick and simple installation.
  • Granular control of alerting.
  • Inability to serve FC block storage.
  • Performance analysis feature needs the ability to quickly pull up the heavy-hitters.
Shared file systems are needed in nearly all large environments. most options are considered exotic & many of SAS's customers do not want to run them. Everyone knows NFS, but traditional NFS lacked performance. Pure offers a performant NFS with their FlashBlade
Pure's FlashBlade was brought in-house for the sole reason of testing NFS. Object storage capability was icing on the cake. Although we did not plan to test it, we did receive a request for object storage and decided to utilize the FlashBlade for this request. The engineer who made this request was blown away by the performance after being conditioned by under-whelming object stores in the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

FlashBlade review from a POD perspective (PCF, Kubernets, VRA)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashBlade is primarily used in PCF and Kubernetes POD design. It is used in these POD designs for object storage and has been very reliant in uptime and has a very easy use to interface for external users.
  • Easy to use interface.
  • Very customer eccentric upgrades with virtually no down time needed.
  • Performance and space savings through Dedupe and compression.
  • Synchronous replication functionality to DR sites.
  • More denser and price effective arrays for mass market.
  • Ability to perform Host migration using Pure tools.
Pure Storage FlashBlade has been really useful in POD designs in our environment because of being very denser and small but providing the same performance and resilience. Its space savings through Dedupe and compression also helped us oversubscribe the array and helped us reduce power and rack usage. FlashBlade being a 1RU panel has helped us be in 1 rack but serve multiple AZ (availability )zones.
One of the most beneficial features of FlashBlade is that object storage and provides capabilities for the users to connect to external cloud platforms such as AWS S3. It is also being deployed as an internal cloud provider by being able to create buckets and have users access their specified data securely.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

FlashBlade, Always On, Always Up and Always Running at Lightning Speeds

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure FlashBlade is used solely as a backup target for our enterprise backup solution. It stores all of our server backups both physical and virtual. We utilize two FlashBlades for this purpose, one at our primary data center and a second one at our offsite for long term retention and archiving.
  • Reliable backup storage.
  • Quick backups.
  • Quick restores.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Increased analytics and reporting.
Since we only use our FlashBaldes for backup storage, I can only state that it is well suited for that purpose.
One of the major reasons that we went with FlashBlade is its unparalleled speed and ease of management. FlashBlade is incredibly fast, which is a must-have in our industry, as we have very large backups and we needed a storage system that could provide us with lightning-fast restores.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade: No other solution needed

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We required a robust and fast file storage array for our engineering staff across the enterprise. It allows us to easily manage directories, quotas, and have real-time visibility into the various aspects of its usage and health.
  • Very efficient.
  • The dashboard provides useful information.
  • We can utilize the dashboard to manage quotas, setup new snapshots, make adjustments, and review the health of the system.
  • When reporting out a user has exceeded there quote, it only references the UID. It would certainly be nice it calls out the UID name that is clearly present in the Dashboard.
  • The ability to determine a snapshot total size would be helpful.
  • Proactive reachout to discuss new versions and assist in planning the upgrade would be a key win.
It's a very easy system to manage and monitor. The speed and efficiencies have completely stifled our previous issues with the previous system we had in play. Adding blades can be done in minutes, requires no downtime and no maint window. We have had a couple of NFS response issues, which were not founded, so we had to reset the unit.
Honestly, we needed a fast unified file server that performed. It has met this need for me. It's very simple to use and very agile, esp when adding capacity. We've really had no issues with this and my engineering staff now has a reliable environment they don't have to think twice about.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2020

FlashBlade is almost ready

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We intend to replace our current storage infrastructure for a particular carrier in 2 data centers with FlashBlades due to our requirement for fast NFS storage with encryption at rest. We are still in the process of integrating and are possibly at a point of implementing. Until release 3 came out, the snapshots did not suit our needs and we were unable to integrate it with our 389ds LDAP, but after a bunch of RFEs, it's finally usable. We are still not out of the woods in that the new replication, it doesn't yet meet our needs. On the positive side, Pure is good to work with, my account managers and support engineers have been receptive to my requests and I think their product is improved by this process. The hardware and support are good, but it's very focussed on what it does and needs a better feature set.
  • Performance
  • Simple to use
  • Non-disruptive upgrades
  • Encryption at rest
  • Scalability
  • NFS version support, v4.1 is not fully featured to the RFC and v4 support would be nice.
  • Simple feature set, need to be more enterprise focussed.
  • No tool to clear NFS locks.
  • No expert mode for troubleshooting no ping, trace route, etc.
  • Logs are passworded.
  • RBAC roles are limited and not granular enough.
  • No local user options other than pure user LDAP/AD only.
  • No SSH key trust, so no ansible automation possibilities.
  • Replication needs work, can't manage bandwidth without involving support.
  • Replication can't mount replica as it only reads normal filesystems, only snapshot view.
FlashBlade is well suited to performance NFS applications that require encryption at rest, it is good with metadata and scale-out, it would make a good backup target. Integration requires a bit of work since the infrastructure like LDAP servers, etc. are required since the features are external to the device. Compared to my other arrays like NetApp, Oracle, etc., it lacks features that mean I have to log support calls where I could otherwise reasonably troubleshoot or fix the issue myself. I think this is a Pure Storage design choice that has been taken a little bit too far. In my case, this means it has taken a lot longer for me to be productive with the array. We had to rewrite backup scripts to use REST since that was the only option, etc.
We purchased the array for its fast NFS capabilities as we are targeting significant throughput with no additional overhead for encryption. Our other platform consumes additional CPU resources when encryption is used. The scalability, and the fact that adding blades adds redundancy and performance in a linear fashion is significant, as is the fact that a bladed architecture simplifies remote support actions at our lights out data centers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team manages a large number of Pure Storage FlashBlade systems that provide storage services to all departments in the company.
  • Very easy to administrate
  • Highly performant
  • Excellent support
  • I have a requirement for inexpensive on-prem archival storage. Partnering with another platform or developing an in-house solution to use cheaper storage for cold data would be a great benefit for me.
We're currently using Pure Storage FlashBlade to provide high-speed storage for our container environments.
I'd like to expand its use more widely, but with no option to tier out to less performant storage for cold data, I have not been able to expand the footprint.
Pure Storage FlashBlade was purchased to provide high-speed support for some aspects of our container environment, and it has met or exceeded our performance requirements.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Calcamuggio | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

Flasharray review of awesomeness

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Flashblade as backend storage for VMs, utilizing NFS exports. Flashblade is only installed at our primary datacenter, so remote sites with local VMs are using local storage (non-Flashblade).
Additionally, we are working on proof of concept projects to use Flashblade for future analytics workloads.
Primary business problems solved by Flashblade:
  • secondary storage that is very fast and scalable (our primary storage is Pure Flasharray).
  • consolidating storage vendors and platforms to a single vendor Pure Storage.
  • Eliminates any storage latency troubleshooting we used to do on other platforms for virtual machines.
  • Massive throughput!
  • Simple interface.
  • Eliminates volume sprawl as we can present much larger volumes and still enjoy very low latency and high throughput.
  • Need replication capability.
  • HTTP functionality to use Flashblade like an HTTP server with directory browsing would be great. For storing common content for internal use like package repositories, installers, system images, etc.
  • Syslog support for system logs and audit logs.
It's not appropriate for storage workloads that need replication to another site, for instance, disaster recovery.
It's also not appropriate for storage processes that rely on cloning and snapshot capability, for instance, database server volume cloning for refreshing data between application environments.
Every interaction we've had with Pure support has been refreshingly straightforward and well handled. The upgrade process is very easy and well-orchestrated by support. To date, we haven't had a problem that support wasn't able to solve and quickly.
Read Jeremy Calcamuggio's full review
Todd Crouse | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

FlashBlade EDA review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Its high performance has allowed our EDA environment to run much more efficiently.
  • Reduced data center footprint from previous storage
  • Extremely fast
  • Easy to administer
  • SMB support
  • Backup capabilities
  • Sell direct
EDA scratch workloads. Less appropriate for our software side of the house where SMB is required and mix mode authentication between NFS and SMB is not mature.
They always respond immediately and work through issues completely.
Read Todd Crouse's full review
Chris Stotler | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

FlashBlade for NFS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FlashBlade is primarily used as an NFS target for log archiving, Database backups, and VM image-based backups. FlashBlade is used exclusively by the infrastructure team to facilitate backups at our remote data center. We had a business requirement to backup data in our remote data center, and it fit the bill.
  • NFS Target.
  • Allows for fast 40GB uplinks.
  • Storage is resizable on the fly with no downtime.
  • The user interface is a little clunky.
  • Monitoring is a challenge - The flash array does send disk space alerts but proactive system monitoring is lacking.
NFS Target is hands down the best use of this product. It can be utilized by almost any technology that supports NFS.
The interface, while clunky, is easy to use. It is extremely fast to provision NFS shares.
We only utilize it for NFS and the setup for NFS is easy and fast to configure.
Read Chris Stotler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

Pure Storage Flashblade is easy and expensive

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used for high-speed cross-platform unstructured file storage.
  • Ease of connectivity
  • Fast storage
  • Great Deduplication
  • Security options are limited
  • SMB connectivity was limited
If you need fast storage with easy setup with a simple environment, this excels.
Without exception, the contacts with support have been quick and extremely knowledgeable. I do not fear getting an underqualified engineer to assess or work on my arrays. In addition to this support structure, the sales engineers are top notch as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2019

FlashBlade: Lots of potential

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use FlashBlade as a standard NFS share. It mainly houses large log data for security reporting and analytics. While the FlashBlade is capable of much more, it fit this small use case need very nicely.
  • NFS: for NAS use cases the FlashBlade excels/
  • Backup target: dumping SQL files to the FlashBlade is simple and fast.
  • The lack of CIFS support is a real shortfall.
The FlashBlade is well suited to NFS only NAS workloads.
FlashBlade support is very helpful when issues do arise. The only issue we ran into is an issue not being resolved in the code-level support indicated it was.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

New to FlashBlade

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pure Storage FlashBlade is being used primarily for our research department for certain data sets. It will also be used for digital imaging storage for certain clinical department. We were looking for something to provide reliable and fast access with attached storage to some applications.
  • High performance storage
  • Highly scalable solution
  • Simple management
  • SMB file sharing should be more user friendly and have more Windows file system-like features.
  • When turning on Window mode, it should impose limitations for future volume expansion to the next units.
  • Configuration screen for Directory service is confusing and difficult to setup.
It's well suited for high-performance storage requirements used to support NFS. Windows SMB share is less flexible than other NAS storage.
The engineer we worked with had been helpful in providing extra help in implementation which made us more comfortable to proceed.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Cannella | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

A day in the life of a Flash Blade array @ SSTK

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As of now, we use it for all our NFS mounts to store production customer facing data. For us, speed and agility is key and UPTIME. Since deployment in 2016, we have had 0 downtime and upgrades have all gone successfully.
  • Speed. We are seeing large transactions take very little time.
  • Upgrades- In-place upgrades of both hardware and software are extremely easy.
  • Ease of use- I have several engineers working on this and from setup to day to day operations it is extremely easy to maintain.
  • Replication- I know it is on the roadmap, but that needs to happen sooner rather than later.
  • Object-oriented Storage (ECS)- When we first brought it on board you had it but it needs to function in a more efficient capacity and have replication built into that also.
  • We would also like to see the VAAI interface to be more appealing and user-friendly. We have several operational support staff that view the GUI on a daily bases and for me to give them access via the VMware VAAI would be much easier if it were more user-friendly.
The product really ROCKS. We handle all of our FTP front end traffic via the FBA and we never have any bandwidth issues. It handles very high IOPS in a short period of time. I wish we could also use it as a traditional array. As of now we are ONLY using the NFS mounts. If we could use it as a flash array also, it would improve productivity.
Like I said before, it is our best performing system and we never have any issues with it. Support is excellent, in place upgrades are easy, the user interface is easy.
Read Michael Cannella's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Flashy, but don't be fooled by all the glitz

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At this point, it is used only internally by a few teams mainly as an endpoint for DB backups. The Flash Array is a larger (capacity only) endpoint that provided us with more room to grow into and better scale. The connectivity options, as well as drive speed, allowed us to significantly reduce backup times.
  • Supports CIFS, NFS, and S3 for storage options.
  • Top level folder quotas for CIFS helps keep usage under control.
  • For basically secondary storage, it's very fast.
  • CIFS support is definitely an afterthought.
  • Inability to sort shares by quota utilization makes easy resizing via web UI difficult.
  • Some might care about or see the lack of fiber channel or FCoE as a problem. I don't believe it does iSCSI either.
First and foremost, it's a NFS and/or bucket storage, implementing S3 for the latter. It does those well. If you want CIFS, don't expect to run many shares on it. It works. It is supported. But not the primary use case.
Pure Support is amazing.
Read this authenticated review
David Thornton, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Exceptional Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by a specific financial department to address performance issues in the virtualization space. We have over two thousand users who use the system on a regular basis. We need secure systems that enable encryption at the drive level with high performance and redundancy that enable high availability.
  • This is a great product that addresses our security concerns
  • We are very pleased with the performance of the system
  • the system is highly available and we have no issues with it
  • We have found no issues with it, we just wish other vendors had products of equal quality.
The product is well suited for Data centers with space issues -- a high density of racks and lack of space to install equipment. The size of the Pure Storage Flashblade units, combined with the de-duplication features, helps to effectively use rack space while having great performance. While the product is somewhat expensive, if it is needed, it has great value.
When we have to do upgrades, support works around our schedule to fix and maintain the system. It is very nice having another company monitoring your system and effectively notifying you when issues occur. I would rate it second to none as far as support. They are very helpful and identify issues with our storage before we even find them.
Read David Thornton, CISSP's full review

Pure Storage FlashBlade Scorecard Summary

About Pure Storage FlashBlade

Pure Storage offers FlashBlade, a scale-out file and object storage – architected to consolidate complex data silos (like backup appliances and data lakes) while accelerating tomorrow's discoveries and insights.

Pure Storage FlashBlade Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No