Redis Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
178 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 55)

Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

REDIS great as K/V cache

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Redis vs. Aerospike ... Aerospike is way BETTER. But very expensive.
  • Between Redis and MemCacheD, Redis outright is better than it.
  • Couchbase is better than Redis, but CouchB is expensive
  • Cockroach is really nice, but still kind of relatively new compared to redis.
  • rethinkDB is comparatively better than redis. But misses out on geolocational info which redis supports.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Redis Solves many application caching problems.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

All are good products. MongoDB is a great NoSQL DB but didn't seem to have the high performance caching of Redis. Coherence and Xtreme Scale are expensive. In my opinion for our particular use case, Redis was the clear winner.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Emiliano Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Gets the job done!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ElastiCache also offers Redis, but it's quite cryptic and you have to pay for support separately (it's quite expensive as well). With Redis Enterprise we were able to set-up our cluster with constant support from their team, and we were even able to set-up a particular set of nodes, cluster, and shards that we needed when we migrated from our in-house solution to the cloud.
Read Emiliano Perez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Redis is awesome!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

DynamoDB is a fully managed key-value store by Amazon. It provides more powerful indexing to the tables, which certainly increases the performance if searching is what you need. However, it is also a lot more expensive to use compared to Redis. If your use case is more on the basic side, Redis would be good enough and save you a lot of money.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Redis, a fast, reliable and well supported data storage system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We initially used Memcached for some of the caching and locking solutions we now use Redis for; we found that for the purposes of our system Memcache could not match up to Redis for performance. We also found Redis to be a bit more reliable, but that could have just been down to our different vendors.
Read Eric Mason's full review
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Get a cache server on steroids with Redis and get rid of those Memcached instances

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Every time you don't need a document DB, you can't go wrong with Redis over MongoDB.
Google Cloud Pub/Sub may have solved one use case, but we'd still have to deploy Redis instances for other use cases, and adding another tech stack would only add complexity to our infrastructure management.
The main competitor for Redis in the cache server space is Memcached, but it falls short on some features like data persistence and data types.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
prakash ps | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2019

Redis on high scalability world

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Redis was initially in the list of competitors like Aerospike, Cassandra, MongoDB.The major point that outset all others is that it provides a number of read and writes to the database that no one can match. Another major factor is Redis really knows the basic components that we need these days, e.g. we can take mpas for geolocation, and they provide a rich set of datatypes that becomes handy.
Read prakash ps's full review
Guljar Prasad | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2019

Redis makes your application super fast.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have also done lot of research over NoSQL databases to find what is a good fit for our application. We finally decided to use Redis because:
  1. It requires very minimal hardware to set up.
  2. Supports key-value structure.
  3. Easy data structure.
  4. Great performance compared to MongoDB and CouchDB.
  5. Redis can be used multiple ways in a single application.
Read Guljar Prasad's full review
Roberto Luna Rojas | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 18, 2019

Redis is the DB you didn't know you need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Couchbase doesn't keep up with what they offer and what really does.
MongoDB just doesn't scale out, reads are performed across multiple nodes but writes still go to the single master.
DynamoDB is good overall but just way too expensive.
Read Roberto Luna Rojas's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Redis is the backbone of our ephemeral data, from web page caching to session storage.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We are big users of MySQL and PostgreSQL. We were looking at replacing our aging web page caching technology and found that we could do it in SQL, but there was a NoSQL movement happening at the time. We dabbled a bit in the NoSQL scene just to get an idea of what it was about and whether it was for us. We tried a bunch, but I can only seem to remember Mongo and Couch. Mongo had big issues early on that drove us to Redis and we couldn't quite figure out how to deploy couch.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

The Redis Imperative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Redis over Memcached because Redis provided more client processing options and better server handling with its computations.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (66)
9.2
Availability (66)
8.6
Concurrency (65)
8.5
Security (60)
6.9
Scalability (66)
8.5
Data model flexibility (59)
8.0
Deployment model flexibility (59)
8.2

About Redis

According to the vendor, Redis is an in-memory multi-model database that supports multiple data structures such as strings, hashes, lists, sets, sorted sets with range queries, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes with radius queries. Redis has built-in replication, Lua scripting, LRU eviction, transactions and different levels of on-disk persistence, and provides high availability and automatic partitioning with Redis Cluster.

Redis combines in-memory, schema-less design with optimized data structures and versatile modules that adapt to your data needs. The result is an adept, high performance, multi-purpose database that scales easily like a simple key/value data store but delivers sophisticated functionality with great simplicity, according to the vendor.

Redis also enables data persistence and high availability through replication and backups. Redis Enterprise is built from the ground up to serve as a system of record for any application.

Redis Features

NoSQL Databases Features
Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility
Additional Features
Has featureIntegrated modules
Has featureActive-Passive Geo Distribution
Has featureCluster Architecture
Has featureLinear Scaling
Has featureDurability
Has featureBackup and Disaster Recovery
Has featureReliability

Redis Screenshots

Redis Video

Redis Downloadables

Redis Integrations

Apache Spark, OpenShift, CData, Pivotal Cloud Foundry

Redis Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Redis Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Redis Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: https://redis.io/clients