TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Ji/QU/PSLA297N9OQF.JPEGSpotfire - the best kept secret in Business Intelligence & Analytics!The depth and extensibility of the Spotfire platform is being used to provide instant access and insight across multi-million row data sets with hundreds of data elements per row instantly to a complex organisation of multi foci users. We are able to provide a beautiful, intuitive and rich user experience through the deep technology layers of IronPython and out of the box functionality that we have not seen in Tableau, SAS or even Qlik. Underpinned by the T.E.R.R statistical engine for calculations and analytical modelling, we are helping to identify efficiencies and opportunities to improve the clinical service delivery, efficiency and cost across more than 90 hospitals.,Outstanding statistical underbelly based upon R without a bolt-on addition. Beautiful interface and visual design out of the box with a lot of flexibility in embedding HTML and javascript. Great and simple management of data and calculated/binned data columns. Really simple security integration and configuration with in-house ICT infrastructure. Very cost-effective in our experience, again much more so under the TOA for procurement compared to other platforms.,Tooltips require significant work in their flexibility of use compared to Tableau and Qlik e.g. Cannot easily customise value formats, cannot add any custom tooltips on text area elements, cannot interact with tooltip e.g. insert a checkbox in a tooltip that you can click. Cannot individual style charting objects/visualisations i.e. if you dont want a line chart to have axis lines - then when setting the global themes... all axes have to be enabled/disabled - so theming is very limited and individual visualisation formatting is limited - but look and feel thankfully good out of the box so can get by on good looks... for a while. Printing from the web player is almost unuseable - it fails completely with a dark themed analysis. Inadequate session sharing - Qlik does this very well Hierarchies are not drill through and you must show all values at each level AND this in the levels above which makes the axes labels unreadable when all expanded. SAS VA does the drill through the best of all the BI platforms on chart viaualisations in my opinion. Tables are very poorly thought through. Cross tables have no deill down - all levels of the crosstable are always expanded which is hopeless for alot of data. All tables look and feel is poorly implemented - no width as a percentage, no proper dynamic auto width, no column min-width, issues with conditional formatting. But spotfire isnt alone in poorly implemented tables. And different styling features and options on each table - very inconsistent.,10,SAS Visual Analytics, IBM Cognos, Yellowfin, SAP Lumira, SAP Business Objects, MicroStrategy Analytics, Microsoft BI, Tableau Server and SAS Enterprise Data Integration Server,Microsoft SQL Server, SAP Business Objects, SAP Crystal Reports, IBM SPSS, SAS Enterprise Data Integration Server, Visual Studio.NET, Redgate SQL Monitor, SAS Visual Analytics,10,8Spotfire well worth the investmentWe use Spotfire to quickly analyze large data sets. We start by combining the data from multiple public and private sources. The majority of the current business use has been for oil and gas M&A evaluations for clients. In the past, I have used it for oil and gas production engineering and well surveillance activities.,Connects to a wide variety of data sources quickly and easily for non- IT personnel. Simple but powerful data transformation and cleanup tools. Quick and easy visualization setup. Built in tools to customize visualizations, process automation, and perform complex analytics.,No manual for new users converting from other platforms like Microsoft Excel. However, Tibco has over the last year significantly improved the availability of how tos through the Tibco Community forum, Blog, and Tips & Tricks web page. Not able to correct or change data in the Spotfire environment. You must go to the data source to make corrections. Tools and features offerings vary from Spotfire platforms (Desktop, Cloud, Enterprise, Web Client). So if you are working with different clients or departments that are on a differing platform, they may not be able to see or perform certain functions in an analysis.,10,,Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Power BI,In-person training Self-taught,9,Yes, but the training accelerated the learning. Yes, I would recommend the training to quickly utilize the software in your workflows.Great online training for basicsTIBCO Spotfire is used for data analysis within my organisation. Mostly my department is using TIBCO Spotfire. During the engineering phase, it is used to analyse the behaviour of a chip, e.g. at different temperatures or for corner lots. In the mass production phase, it is used in case of problems. In [our] daily work, we use TIBCO Spotfire to provide weekly and monthly product data.,It can deal with a huge amount of data. Different graphic charts can be chosen related to the data you want to show. TIBCO Spotfire provides a good filtering system in order to show specific data.,Sometimes I cannot tell if the data shown is right. The possibility of tracking data would be good. Some tables cannot be exported to MS Power Point. When importing data from clipboard the automatic matching is wrong sometimes and if you do not realise this you have empty tables later.,9,,Microsoft Office,Online training,10Big data made easyWe are using it to manage big data to analyze our assets.,Makes it very easy to manage large amounts of data. Interactive dash boarding for effective visualization. Allows linkage to database information for quick timely data access.,I would like to see the ability for more robust formatting for visualizations with the ability to format using right click rather than having to pull up properties every time. I think more robust graphical interfaces to representing data and the associated labelling for those graphs. For example an easier way to provide cluster graphs. On the visualization it would be nice to have the ability to hide the headers for the respective choice particularly the 'colour by' options.,10,Tableau Desktop,Tableau Desktop, SAP Business Warehouse, SAP Business Objects,Online training Self-taught,7,It is easy for the general learning. For expressions and more complicated items, some level of training or online research was required. I would recommend in classroom and online combined. Learn, practice, learn practice approach.Using Spotfire to create analysis on the spotI am currently using Spotfire to analyze incident data within my organization. It helps to bring data analysis to management in a clear visual way that tells a story of how the organization is performing by being able to merge data from multiple sources into one file using common fields to form the relationship.,Spotfire is great at letting you see the changes within the visualizations as you make them giving you the opportunity to be sure you are creating exactly what you want to see. Having the ability to allow users to view your visualizations over an internet connection and still modify their view without actually making changes to the file is a great option. The ability to use links to bring multiple data sources together helps to provide data that is useful to the end user.,There is a function limitation that does not allow you to create table visualizations/details on demand if your data is in a cube format. Property controls are a great feature but creating a control that will limit the data is not always intuitive so you have to be very familiar with how to create the property controls and assign them. It would be nice to have a little more control over how table/cross-table/summary tables are created, such as being able to create a table that has the same look and feel as if it were created in say Excel with the functionality of Spotfire.,10,Microsoft Access,Online training In-person training Self-taught,10,9,It was easy to learn the basics of the software without training but it limits the ability to create the ideal visualization if you don't know what functions are available or if you don't know how to merge or limit data it keeps you from creating an analysis that is truly useful.
Windows, Linux, Mac
TIBCO Spotfire
537 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TIBCO Spotfire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
TIBCO Spotfire
537 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 537 vetted TIBCO Spotfire reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (201-225 of 233)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
September 03, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - the best kept secret in Business Intelligence & Analytics!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The depth and extensibility of the Spotfire platform is being used to provide instant access and insight across multi-million row data sets with hundreds of data elements per row instantly to a complex organisation of multi foci users. We are able to provide a beautiful, intuitive and rich user experience through the deep technology layers of IronPython and out of the box functionality that we have not seen in Tableau, SAS or even Qlik. Underpinned by the T.E.R.R statistical engine for calculations and analytical modelling, we are helping to identify efficiencies and opportunities to improve the clinical service delivery, efficiency and cost across more than 90 hospitals.
  • Outstanding statistical underbelly based upon R without a bolt-on addition.
  • Beautiful interface and visual design out of the box with a lot of flexibility in embedding HTML and javascript.
  • Great and simple management of data and calculated/binned data columns.
  • Really simple security integration and configuration with in-house ICT infrastructure.
  • Very cost-effective in our experience, again much more so under the TOA for procurement compared to other platforms.
  • Tooltips require significant work in their flexibility of use compared to Tableau and Qlik e.g. Cannot easily customise value formats, cannot add any custom tooltips on text area elements, cannot interact with tooltip e.g. insert a checkbox in a tooltip that you can click.
  • Cannot individual style charting objects/visualisations i.e. if you dont want a line chart to have axis lines - then when setting the global themes... all axes have to be enabled/disabled - so theming is very limited and individual visualisation formatting is limited - but look and feel thankfully good out of the box so can get by on good looks... for a while.
  • Printing from the web player is almost unuseable - it fails completely with a dark themed analysis.
  • Inadequate session sharing - Qlik does this very well
  • Hierarchies are not drill through and you must show all values at each level AND this in the levels above which makes the axes labels unreadable when all expanded. SAS VA does the drill through the best of all the BI platforms on chart viaualisations in my opinion.
  • Tables are very poorly thought through. Cross tables have no deill down - all levels of the crosstable are always expanded which is hopeless for alot of data. All tables look and feel is poorly implemented - no width as a percentage, no proper dynamic auto width, no column min-width, issues with conditional formatting. But spotfire isnt alone in poorly implemented tables. And different styling features and options on each table - very inconsistent.
The more we explore the platform, the more scenarios we are finding we can use it for - from beautiful dynamic infographics through to complex statistical analyses. I would recommend it for almost any scenario where large data volumes, centralised governance, true analytics and beautiful look and feel is required! I do wish TIBCO would showcase these features in their demos - most of which are quite ugly! C'mon TIBCO... let the Spotfire butterfly shine just as bright as Tableau's pretty yet shallow interface!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 21, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire well worth the investment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Spotfire to quickly analyze large data sets. We start by combining the data from multiple public and private sources. The majority of the current business use has been for oil and gas M&A evaluations for clients. In the past, I have used it for oil and gas production engineering and well surveillance activities.
  • Connects to a wide variety of data sources quickly and easily for non- IT personnel.
  • Simple but powerful data transformation and cleanup tools.
  • Quick and easy visualization setup.
  • Built in tools to customize visualizations, process automation, and perform complex analytics.
  • No manual for new users converting from other platforms like Microsoft Excel. However, Tibco has over the last year significantly improved the availability of how tos through the Tibco Community forum, Blog, and Tips & Tricks web page.
  • Not able to correct or change data in the Spotfire environment. You must go to the data source to make corrections.
  • Tools and features offerings vary from Spotfire platforms (Desktop, Cloud, Enterprise, Web Client). So if you are working with different clients or departments that are on a differing platform, they may not be able to see or perform certain functions in an analysis.
  • Quickly and easily aggregating and visualizing simple or complex data sets into an analysis.
  • Provides both historical and real-time analytical capability.
  • Ability to visualize data on a map or custom diagram is a powerful tool.
  • Combine multiple data files into a single data file fast with the ability to transform the data in numerous ways.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 19, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great online training for basics"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire is used for data analysis within my organisation. Mostly my department is using TIBCO Spotfire. During the engineering phase, it is used to analyse the behaviour of a chip, e.g. at different temperatures or for corner lots. In the mass production phase, it is used in case of problems. In [our] daily work, we use TIBCO Spotfire to provide weekly and monthly product data.
  • It can deal with a huge amount of data.
  • Different graphic charts can be chosen related to the data you want to show.
  • TIBCO Spotfire provides a good filtering system in order to show specific data.
  • Sometimes I cannot tell if the data shown is right. The possibility of tracking data would be good.
  • Some tables cannot be exported to MS Power Point.
  • When importing data from clipboard the automatic matching is wrong sometimes and if you do not realise this you have empty tables later.
TIBCO Spotfire can be used in case you know what result you want to get. You just feed Spotfire with necessary data and then it provides all kinds of graphical solutions [for] presenting your data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 16, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Big data made easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to manage big data to analyze our assets.
  • Makes it very easy to manage large amounts of data.
  • Interactive dash boarding for effective visualization.
  • Allows linkage to database information for quick timely data access.
  • I would like to see the ability for more robust formatting for visualizations with the ability to format using right click rather than having to pull up properties every time.
  • I think more robust graphical interfaces to representing data and the associated labelling for those graphs. For example an easier way to provide cluster graphs.
  • On the visualization it would be nice to have the ability to hide the headers for the respective choice particularly the 'colour by' options.
[TIBCO Spotfire is well suited] When trying to view drivers and costs for a company where you want to compare the impacts of a change in one driver on the impacts on cost and on other drivers/costs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 16, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Using Spotfire to create analysis on the spot"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Spotfire to analyze incident data within my organization. It helps to bring data analysis to management in a clear visual way that tells a story of how the organization is performing by being able to merge data from multiple sources into one file using common fields to form the relationship.
  • Spotfire is great at letting you see the changes within the visualizations as you make them giving you the opportunity to be sure you are creating exactly what you want to see.
  • Having the ability to allow users to view your visualizations over an internet connection and still modify their view without actually making changes to the file is a great option.
  • The ability to use links to bring multiple data sources together helps to provide data that is useful to the end user.
  • There is a function limitation that does not allow you to create table visualizations/details on demand if your data is in a cube format.
  • Property controls are a great feature but creating a control that will limit the data is not always intuitive so you have to be very familiar with how to create the property controls and assign them.
  • It would be nice to have a little more control over how table/cross-table/summary tables are created, such as being able to create a table that has the same look and feel as if it were created in say Excel with the functionality of Spotfire.
I recommend Spotfire frequently to coworkers as it provides a lot of options for viewing data in a way that really allow you to make an analysis when the data is straight forward. I don't think it works as well when you have customers that are requesting a specific view that is not a part of the standard Spotfire package.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 16, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: great to use, easy to learn. Luckely, because the trainings are of poor quality"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the moment we are in a start-up of TIBCO Spotfire. We make daily reports about our production results, OEE, etc. Also [we use] dashboards for management. We are using it through the whole organization from CEO to Teamleader.
  • The drill down of data works very well. No static reports anymore, but fancy reports, from which you can check the details (by the drill down).
  • We haven't worked with it yet, but I expect the relations which can be found in the data can be very helpful.
  • I find it very useful that we can make one report with several datasources underneath. (I'm used to Business Objects, you couldn't do that very easy in that too.)
  • The courses aren't good. No documentation and I think it's called 'robotcourses'. You get to know what you can do with Spotfire (how to click), but principles, pros and cons aren't explained.
  • TIBCO could pay more attention to the dataset, how it's best organized to get the best results from your reports.
  • It would be helpful if the course could be held in Dutch.

Making trends is very easy to do with this tool in short time.

Making a kind of reports which you can make very easily with Business Objects ( a lot of numeric values on a page, with a small lettersize) is not easy to do and it doesn't look nice. It's not 'pixelperfect'.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "A Spotfire (not Spitfire) Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TIBCO Spotfire for our internal analytics and are just about to roll out the access to our clients so they can see real time data. This tool is currently being used by 2 departments and within the next year will be rolled out across the firm to all divisions. We use it to make sure that our data is accurate and complete and to keep track of trends and staffing and financials. I personally did testing among several applications and Spotfire fits us the best. I highly recommend it and already have to friends that work for other companies who perform the same business function I do at companies where they work.
  • Drill Downs, the visualizations within Spotfire are fantastic. Our management and staff absolutely love the power it provides to really drill down into data to get more details on the information they are looking at.
  • We pull in data from several different tools on different platforms into one visualization. This was a must have for us.
  • User friendly - with simple training our users were able to be up and running to view and navigate any visualizations that were created for them. Creating the visualizations took more training. However the online training was really fantastic. Very well done and that is a huge plus with any new tool.
  • Pie chart labels, it would be great to get more options for sizing and placement.
  • It would be great to have some pre-defined themes. Right now you can have a white background or black for the visualizations which is really nice, but it would be great to have a few more options.
  • On the bar chart labels, it would be great to be able to maneuver or change those as well as the pie chart labels. I am duplicating this one as its not so easy to come up with Spotfire complaints, I really like this tool and am thrilled that we have it.
I think that for anyone who really wants to delve into their data they need TIBCO Spotfire. If anyone wants to make a really great presentation of data, Spotfire is the perfect tool. You can absolutely use this tool for something simple but it has so many capabilities I couldn't find any reason to not use this tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 09, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TIBCO Spotfire for our analytics department. It is a very helpful tool for visualizing data. It helps the organizations to understand their data patterns and take corrective actions to improve their outcomes.
  • Easy to use
  • Fast data retrieval
  • Very stable
  • Easy to colloborate with other users
  • Does not understand complex SQL queries
  • Can not write stored procedures
  • No email bursting option in desktop version
It is very easy to learn. The data can be transformed easily. The only hurdle I see is the meta data model between the SQL server and Spotfire. If we connect data from Spotfire to SQL server it lowers the sql server performance. Hence Spotfire created information tools which acts as a interface between Spotfire and SQL. The problem is every time the SQL data is refreshed or changed the information links are broken.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire - software for data analysts"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Spotfire is very simple to learn and to understand.
  • Spotfire is great to use as a tool to share patterns and trends and allow others less familiar with Spotfire to be able to simply search the data.
  • Data can be imported from external sources such as an ERP like SAP, Excel, or Access.
  • The simplicity of the software sometimes causes limitations to users not familiar with coding.
  • Online resources for learning and problem solving are sometimes few and far between.
Anyone with large quantities of data can make use of Spotfire. The data should be properly organized in a tabular format to begin with. Each line of data needs to have common columns or properties that define the data. I know many people in the oil and gas industry use Spotfire to track things ranging from work order compliance to well pressure and flow rate tracking.
Read this authenticated review
Siddharth Matta profile photo
October 03, 2013

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire: Bringing Business on the right Spot"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Reports that take hours to refresh data can be scheduled, making them available to users on a click.
  • Users can change filters on the fly, and get their answers in no time.
  • One visualization can cater to different types of user roles. A Store Manager would be interested to see store level details; an area manager would want to see all stores under his area, and likewise for Region/Zone managers. We can create one visualization that shows summary based on what level users choose from drop down - store or area or region or zone.
  • One can compare trending for sales of a product across all states, for example, by breaking down a visualization by state using the Trellis feature of Spotfire.
  • Defining hierarchy levels in Spotfire is very easy. One doesn't need to do any dimensional modelling, or build cubes for this.
  • Checkbox Filters: Filters just trigger report refresh the moment there is a change is list of values. This sometimes become painful in case of Checkbox filters. Suppose there are 10 values in a checkbox filter, and one wants to view data for only 3 out of 10 values. The moment one unchecks a value, spotfire starts loading the data. There is no way to control the loading/refresh of data only after all 7 values have been unchecked.
Read Siddharth Matta's full review
No photo available
November 29, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is a top performer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Importing Excel files was fantastically easy compared to other BI tools. Other tools required selecting the range of data in Excel and creating a table out of that prior to import. Others had multi-step processes. Accessing an Excel file in Spotfire was the easiest.
  • The recommended visualizations are fantastic for users who aren't as comfortable exploring data that they have possession of. This feature automatically suggests ways to visualize data enabling users to start exploring much sooner rather than figuring out how they could possibly 'see' their data.
  • Filtering schemes are one of my personal favorites. I often walk groups of people through several scenarios as we explore data together. To prepare for these sessions I like to have filtering schemes set up so that I can quickly choose a scheme that includes several filters that get instantly applied to a page. This is fantastic because it saves time and often provides a dramatic change to the visualization depending on the scheme I select. It's a really cool feature.
  • I feel that the overall look and feel of Spotfire can be improved. When put up against some close competitors, Spotfire beats them all in function but it's a bit lacking in polish. This isn't important to a user like myself but when projected on a huge display it doesn't look as modern as some competitors.
It's well suited to users who want a powerful visualization tool with proper analytical capabilities. It's less appropriate for users who want a super simple UI simply for data exploration and visualization.
Read this authenticated review
Avinash Yerra BOCP, OCA profile photo
January 16, 2014

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire-Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The Capital Markets and Credit Loss Management areas both use Spotfire and we have proven results. Essentially we access big data from other systems like Bloomberg databases and then end users analyze this data to make business decisions. We have two or three dashboards are active for capital markets decision making.
  • Spotfire can access databases and build dashboards very well. Performance is good, because the data is cached. There are also excellent statistical tools.
  • Visualizations are generally good.
  • Scheduling and Distribution: Tools like Business Objects or Cognos have excellent distribution mechanisms. Tibco Spotfire does not allow you to distribute a report directly. You have to first create an XML file and then distribute it. It's possible to see and open the reports, but it does not have scheduling flexibility like other tools.
  • Excel Export and Enterprise support: Most people use Excel to analyze data but it's not possible to export the data to an Escel format.
I think the API needs to be updated in the tool.
Read Avinash Yerra BOCP, OCA's full review
No photo available
October 23, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Better than PowerPoint"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I like the sum tables and the bar charts. I use it to input shapefiles and Excel files. It allows me to review large data and look for key elements. I use this in oil and gas. This program saves me time. I recommend it to ever customer I work with and help show them some demos online.
  • The Sum Tables. It allows great data review.
  • The bar charts help show totals and easy compare by date ranges
  • The map helps see the location of the data. I work with lease and mineral data.
  • User manual in pdf form.
  • Sometimes the program is a little advanced and I don't understand it.
  • I would like to see more teaching videos linked to each type of chart styles to help explain.
It works great with Excel data and large files. When working and comparing different elements I can not think of another software package that beats it. The only thing I wish it did a little better was link to ArcGIS directly and then I could edit the data in Spotfire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 17, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire: "Spotfire - versatile BI tool for corporate reporting on data insights"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you consider the most recent version, then I have used a trial version of 7.5 to compare with a Tableau implementation. The earlier Spotfire version used on a detailed project level was 6.5. Version 7.5 in the cloud is easy to handle and provides an impressive quick dashboard that I like in terms of quick development and clarity in the design of a dashboard. This tool is good for corporate people in particular for KPI reports and dashboards. This is used to provide business solutions e.g., certain KPIs that are heavily dependent on data and insights generated out of data. We used it in a metric design for various pharma business milestones: trends, volume, speed, etc.
  • Easy to build dashboard instead of creating a metalayer unlike a universe design in Business Objects.
  • This tool can be handled by various types of users (not only by developers of Spotfire), to design a few quick analytic reports.
  • Analytics can be good with visualizations.
  • If you know SQL you can create any db query and put it into an information link then design the dashboard upfront in Spotfire desktop.
  • The server supports different databases and big data I guess.
  • What I could not find here is any specific dimension or measure being defined in a Spotfire layer.
  • Not sure yet - Does do the dimensional model internally or just consider the numeric as a measure and the non numeric as a dimension?
  • It would be nice if this tool could generate a design of a data model after the developer has created or defined the data points in the report.
  • Data visualizations are stronger in tableau than in Spotfire.
  • Dashboards can be rapidly developed in Spotfire.
  • If the report design needs more security and a long term consistent design of data layer then this may not be ideal.
  • I do not have much knowledge in server level information/configuration and in memory practice with this tool, so I can not comment on that now.
Read this authenticated review
phani balagam profile photo
June 25, 2013

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire Mania"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We are an advertising company, and Spotfire has helped our business in many ways. Its visualizations are very rich and of its data crunching abilities features have provided data insights very rapidly.
  • We use it primarily to track advertising campaign performance on behalf of clients. We are able to see at a glance which are the top-performing campaigns and which are performing less well. Based on this, we can then take necessary action plan for the campaigns.
  • We also use the product heavily to provide us with audience insight. We can track user impressions and clicks and re-target ads to people as they visit other websites. Ultimately we can crunch through lots of data to better understand what triggers a purchase decision.
  • Tibco Spotfire is good at handling big data, but I would like to see it handling the very biggest data. Data volumes are growing as there is more and more customer analysis and segmentation information and it's important to keep up with these volumes.
Read phani balagam's full review
No photo available
December 16, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Great platform for everyday/live analytics."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in all departments of the company. I have gathered all our back end data through SQL in a central facility with Spotfire. We have everything from our accounting, land, operations, production, geology, asset, & reservoir [data in the system].
  • Automation of live data is very quick.
  • Easy to get used to.
  • Many ways to manipulate the data.
  • Some limitations on several visualizations that cannot be done with Spotfire.
  • Can create charts in Excel that cannot be replicated in Spotfire at this time.
  • Speed and efficiency with large data-sets is somewhat lacking.
It is well suited for oil & gas. I've used Spotfire in the last 4 companies I've worked for in O&G. It isn't necessary when dealing with simple/quick charts.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 06, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Highly visual proximity to the data for an advanced analyst"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Spotfire was used to provide transparency to our ERP data for marketing/sales support, purchasing, and inventory management.
  • Spotfire provides a lot of proximity to the data. I can quickly throw up a dozen different visualizations to evaluate the data from multiple perspectives, with drill-down visualizations easily created and defined by data "markings" rules.
  • My favorite is the on-demand link capability, which enables me to easily trawl through data sets (where I've pre-defined a connection.)
  • Spotfire has excellent drill-down capability. Two clicks and you have set up a secondary visualization that explores a sub-set of the data from a different perspective.
  • Spotfire has a system of markings that can define what data shows up in what visualization or circumstance. It is very handy to rapidly explore the "corners" of your data, if you will, to see the odd features or characteristics of the data.
  • Flow of data. What I mean is, I end up with these large files with a dozen tabs where I'm splitting off a chunk of data, performing calculations in a cross-table, exporting and saving it as a .csv, re-importing it, doing more calculations, and then merging these results back into another data set. And then I'm only interested in a subset of this new data, but I'm opening up the entire massive report and adding a new tab to view it.
  • Tibco Enterprise Runtime for R. This isn't a "try-it-you'll-figure-it-out-as-you-go-along" application. At least, I never could.
  • Getting questions answered. The community, availability of experts, and easily-googled reference questions. Getting "OVER" statements correct can be tricky. Understanding how to approach a particular situation within Spotfire can be uncertain. The paid training, I thought, was excellent -- but it was relatively expensive, and (at least a year ago, maybe it's gotten better, because this has been consistent feedback) it seemed there should have been far more training freebies.
  • Spotfire is a nice all-in-one package (extraction, visualization, and heavier-hitting advanced capabilities) but we've hit a point where we want a dedicated ETL tool, and easier-to-use visualization tools for non-quant, non-analytics people. (But quantitative analysts like myself are the losers in this transition-- we really like our Spotfire!)

TIBCO Spotfire excels with providing proximity to data for visual exploration by advanced analysts. For this reason I like to use it for cleaning data sets --- I'm not just relying on some summary statistics, but I can rapidly highlight the unusual data points or kink in the graph and explore with several visualizations and then look at the underlying data rows. It's also highly extensible, including a pretty impressive range of management through relatively simple IronPython scripts.

In my experience, the people who prefer Spotfire are the more advanced analysts. They really like to explore what is happening and poke it from a bunch of angles. Regular business people, and simpler analysts, find it a little too complicated and not as "beautiful" in the graphics.

Read this authenticated review
Jesse Block profile photo
September 16, 2013

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire is here to stay"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use the product daily to proactively monitor performance of our clients. Analysts log in, and the data is automatically populated for them. This has saved us many hours of filing through spreadsheets, and lengthy queries to look at data. The graphs, the drill-downs, the functionality, and the features have grown our ability to do a lot more without adding resources.
  • Excellent tool to visualize the data. The user experience is great as well, and the novice user is able to navigate with minimal training.
  • The speed with large datasets is a drawback. We have large amounts of data that flow through Spotfire every day, and would like to see Spotfire process the data faster.
Our use of Spotfire has expanded, and we continue to promote the use of the product within our company. The value is there, and we will continue to use this product.
Read Jesse Block's full review
No photo available
October 07, 2016

User Review: "Tibco Spotfire - 2016"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my function, we use Spotfire for data analytics and real-time monitoring of operational, financial, and market data. We have a team of 5-6 that are strong users of the tools and have integrated the functionality across our systems that we utilize for our master databases, whereby integrating our analysis and not just looking at it functionally.
  • Ease of integration (open source)
  • Variety of 'out of the box' analytic techniques and setups
  • In application training/help is limited
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 15, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Spotfire, Simple and Visually Aesthetic"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TIBCO Spotfire Platform is being used to find relationships between seemingly unrelated data. Currently, Spotfire is only being used by a specific department. Spotfire allows my team to provide our clients with great visuals that make the data mean something.
  • Simplicity. Spotfire is very user friendly and easy to navigate.
  • Create Details Visualization. This button is used tremendously. It allows for controlling one graph from another.
  • Manipulation. The charts and tables can be filtered and manipulated to get at the exact information you're looking for.
  • A filter ability where the date will stay current and update another filter date to always be X amount of days before.
  • The coding language isn't the easiest. I don't know if using a more well known computer language is possible.
  • The modeling features could have more notes about them.
The create details visualization button makes Spotfire well suited. It may be less suited when having to perform a lot of equations - in this case Excel may be preferred.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 01, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Very robust visualization system!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had problem with sharing data between the management team. Usually financial statements were sent monthly via email and that was it. We decided to use Spotfire's platform to streamline the data sharing, and see more metrics that were getting lost in our systems. We basically design various visualizations in Spotfire, and run reports in our systems, save it to a shared location, and Spotfire does the rest when updating the data. Users consume the data via the Spotfire Cloud.
  • Visualizations are very nice looking and sleek.
  • A lot of different kinds of ways to import data.
  • Very nice web interface to create visualizations on the go.
  • Limited functionality on the "graphical table" visualization.
  • Hard to rename columns. It often shows the name of the column that comes on the report (Ex: Avg (Planned Hours))
  • When data is updated, sometimes it loses the formatting.
It is well suited when displaying trending data, and comparing values. You can also build very complex formulas to accomplish difficult calculations. It is not well suited to display single values, or form type of visuals. If you need to display a single value, it must be on every single row of your data set, and then take the average of that column.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 22, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Excellent software for data analysts /scientists and for reporting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, Spotfire is used only in our "data science" department to perform complex business analyses to see how some KPIs evolve over time; simulate impacts of slight contractual adjustments, and finding the root causes of disruptive events. We also plan to use it as a live dashboarding tool for a production environment.
  • Analyst friendly: a lot of functionalities are implemented to help analysts/developers in their work. This is a good mix between ease of use and advanced capabilities. For example, it is very easy to join data tables, to clean data, to compute new columns, and to define complex aggregations.
  • Fast: even locally, Spotfire is able to handle large amounts of data.
  • Nice looking interface: the desk top client, the web interface or the export look both professionnal and detailed.
  • The labels on the graph appear/disappear in an uncontrolled way, depending on the size - not very convenient
  • A very specific point: when adding 4 columns or more to a bar chart (for example for different aggregations), I did not find how we could change the display name on the x axis - not very convenient.

When you have small amounts of data (< 1000 lines), Spotfire might be too heavy for what you intend to do.

When you have medium amounts of data (10 000+ lines), Spotfire is great if you need some advanced computations/aggregations features. Excel pivot tables are very limited and Spotfire helps with building very advanced filters/aggregations/formulas and displays. It is also much faster, especially for join requests.

When you have large amounts of data, Spotfire can help you by provinding both complex analyses and dashboards, in a scale that Excel will never be able to catch up with.

In a nutshell : Spotfire is very useful either if you want to do advanced computations, if you need user friendly dashboards and also if you need to quickly handle a large amount of data.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 11, 2016

TIBCO Spotfire Review: "Like owning an Italian sports car: high performance and high maintenance"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most recently I was using Spotfire to analyze clients' data, and to prepare reports and interactive presentations to the clients. I made it part of my regular meetings with my clients to give them as much opportunity to interact with their data and my analyses. I also set them up with the web client so they could interact with the data themselves.
  • Easy to set up analyses and visualizations.
  • Easy for novices to interact with data, analyses, and visualizations.
  • Visualization software runs fast, allowing good real-time interactivity with data.
  • Engineering, marketing, sales, and customer support don't seem to be talking with one another. There were many instances where I was promised one thing and got something else, and it often took weeks to resolve--if it got resolved at all.
  • What finally killed it for me was when I did a mandatory update of the software, and the updated software introduced a bug which made it impossible for me to continue my work with one of my clients. Getting them to even acknowledge the bug was slow and painful, and it took weeks of teeth pulling before they finally admitted they have no plans to fix the bug.
I'm having such a better experience now that I've switched to Tableau. Frankly I find Spotfire more intuitive to use, but I cannot recommend it given my experiences.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (28)
7.2
Customizable dashboards (197)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (169)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (193)
8.4
Formatting capabilities (202)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (150)
7.7
Report sharing and collaboration (181)
7.9
Publish to Web (151)
8.3
Publish to PDF (177)
8.0
Report Versioning (18)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (112)
7.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (208)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (184)
8.3
Predictive Analytics (158)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (160)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (133)
8.2
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (149)
8.2
Responsive Design for Web Access (119)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (83)
7.0
Dedicated Android Application (11)
3.7
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (99)
7.0
REST API (29)
6.6
Javascript API (30)
6.7
iFrames (19)
6.2
Java API (23)
6.2
Themeable User Interface (UI) (29)
6.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (22)
6.5

About TIBCO Spotfire

TIBCO SpotfireⓇ is a data discovery and business intelligence tool with capabilities that range from colorful graphic visualizations for the entry-level user to in-depth statistical analysis. According to the vendor, their built in analytical engines help users utilize the results of data mining, help in-house intelligence analysts crunch proprietary numbers, and drive new business growth. The vendor also says they help anticipate opportunities and risks by seamlessly integrating predictive models and real-time event streams into user-friendly business intelligence solutions that work.

TIBCO Spotfire® Cloud provides the same business intelligence tools as Spotfire Desktop, with the addition of web authoring and unlimited sharing. Because it is software-as-a-service, it requires no installation.

Spotfire Platform is designed for larger deployments within organizations. According to the vendor, its differentiating hybrid in-memory/in-database analytics architecture supports the most demanding enterprise needs, easily scaling to thousands of users and limitless rows of data.

Spotfire is is deployed in companies in energy, financial services, manufacturing, consumer packaged goods, and life sciences industries.

TIBCO Spotfire Features

BI Platform Features
Has featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Has featureETL Capability
Has featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Has featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Has featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Does not have featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Has featureJavascript API
Has featureiFrames
Has featureJava API
Has featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Has featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)
Additional Features
Has featureSmart Recommendations for Visualizations
Has featureConnectors: OData, Mongo DB, Apache Cassandra, Apache Spark, Attivio
Has featureEmbedded R Runtime Engine
Has featureK-Means Clustering, Holt-Winters Forecasting, Line Similarity
Has featureMulti-Layer Map Charts and Support for Shape Files

TIBCO Spotfire Videos (3)

TIBCO Spotfire Downloadables

TIBCO Spotfire Integrations

Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, Attivo Networks, TIBCO Simplr, Wordsmith by Automated Insights

TIBCO Spotfire Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire PlatformPlease contact TIBCO sales
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Monthly$200Per Month, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud - Annual$2,000Per Year, Per Authoring Seat
TIBCO Spotfire for Amazon Web Services$0.99Per Hour (Starting)
TIBCO Spotfire Cloud EnterprisePlease contact TIBCO sales

For Enterprise engagements, please contact TIBCO directly for a custom price quote.

TIBCO Spotfire Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
Web

TIBCO Spotfire Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Available in all regions