Travis CI Reviews

24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Great tool that is easy to get started and doesn't involve too much configuration

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our CI/CD pipeline for testing and deployment of our codebase to production and non-production environments. It helps our developers to improve our codebase and helps us avoid unnecessary issues that we might encounter when deploying our applications, like merge issues and bugs because of code change in related services.
  • Integrates well with GitHub, you can get all your information from GitHub itself.
  • Has great integration with other third party tools like Slack and VS Code.
  • Builds sometimes take more time than they should because the images are bloated.
  • Using Travis CI outside of GitHub isn't as user friendly as with GitHub.
If your company embraces open source and uses a lot of the workflows that are prevalent in startups, Travis CI is indispensable. It comes with a lot of tools that thrive in that ecosystem.
It probably won't be appreciated by companies that are traditionally more closed where everything is behind a firewall.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

CI/CD pipeline management software for enterprise

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TravisCI is being used as a legacy deployment system by a few of our teams in our organization. The business problems it intended to address was an automated deployment process for our project. It is used by a few teams but slowly has simmered down because of our transition to other tools that are still being innovated upon.
  • deployment management and statistics
  • automated deployment
  • image building
  • product design
  • graphical user interface
  • more innovative/new features
TravisCI is suited for workflows involving typical software development but unfortunately I think the software needs more improvement to be up to date with current development systems and TravisCI hasn't been improving much in that space in terms of integrations.
Read this authenticated review
Oscar Morrison | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2017

Why we use Travis CI

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Travis CI for both our main app build and all the UI assets. It's set up to run on every commit, and a failed build will stop any merges to master.
  • Simple to set up.
  • Good documentation.
  • Clean interface.
  • Good level of customization.
  • Speed.
  • Job scheduling.
  • Integrations.
[Travis CI is well suited for] Any software build requiring automated testing.
Read Oscar Morrison's full review
Ryan Brewster | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2017

No excuse to not write tests anymore!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Travis CI has proven to be extremely valuable for projects with tight budgets or resources. It is very easy to define a variety of environments to run your test suite against, and its integration with your Git repo lets you test in parallel. Personally, I use GitHub, and when a test fails, the results show up directly in a pull request. It will also send me an email when tests fail, with all the details, and then again when tests pass again. Travis CI prevents you from having to install different environments and different versions locally and does so in an incredibly intuitive, and visually pleasing [way].
  • It is very simple to configure a range of environment versions and settings in a simple YAML file.
  • It integrates very well with GitHub, Bitbucket, or a private Git repo.
  • The Travis CI portal beautifully shows you your history and console logs. Everything is presented in a very clear and intuitive interface.
  • Travis CI is a fairly mature platform now, and most, if not all of the common complaints have been improved. This includes documentation and logs with color support.
  1. Continuos Integration (obviously)
  2. Unit/Integration Tests
  3. Build/Pipeline Integration
  4. Code Deployment
Read Ryan Brewster's full review
Eduardo Sampaio | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2017

The best hosted CI service available, IMHO

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Travis CI for the automation of builds of all pull requests so we can be sure all tests from our test suit are passing, before we start code review.
Continuous integration of our projects, testing and automatically deploying into production upon successful merge of pull requests onto our master branches.
  • I love the ease of use, the UI is very simple and well thought out, and it is still powerful enough.
  • It integrates with Slack and keeps us informed of all build's status.
  • It is easy to integrate with Heroku for deployment once builds have passed all tests.
  • I think they could have a cheaper personal plan. I'd love to use Travis on personal projects, but I don't want to publish them nor I can pay $69 a month for personal projects that I don't want to be open source.
  • There is no interface for configuring repos on Travis CI, you have to do it via a file in the repo. This make configuration very flexible, but also makes it harder for simpler projects and for small tweaks in the configuration.
I really recommend it for any open source software, there is no service like it out there. Unfortunately, due to the high price, MVP level startups and personal projects cannot use it, but once you reach a level where you can afford it, you should make the jump immediately, I believe it is the best CI out there.
Read Eduardo Sampaio's full review
Mathias Fonseca | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2017

Great tool for TDD, CI and CD

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using Travis CI from day one. We believe continuous integration and continuous deployment are great ways to build a great product for our clients while keeping the quality standard high. Every feature we develop has its own set of tests, and if they fail in Travis CI, everyone's mission is to fix them as soon as possible so that we are back on track. As per the deployment process, we are releasing a new version of our API almost once a day. This is extremely easy if you have the assurance that Travis CI gives you.
  • Smooth integration with our GitHub account.
  • Test environment easy to configure.
  • Quick and useful notifications when build fails.
  • Integration with other repositories.
  • Support for other languages.
If you are developing software using test driven development and want to leverage the use of your cloud platform by deploying quickly and easily with continuous integration and continuous deployment, Travis CI is a great tool for you. I have been using it for many years now and cannot start a new project without it.
Read Mathias Fonseca's full review
Jonathan Yu, P.Eng. | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2016

Doesn't get any cheaper than "free" for open source projects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the open source installation of Travis CI (https://travis-ci.org/jawnsy) for public GitHub projects. It's the de-facto continuous integration tool for public GitHub repositories, as it's free and works pretty well. It's used by a number of organizations that I'm a member of, including Kubernetes (https://github.com/kubernetes/kubernetes) and OpenShift (https://github.com/openshift/origin), though many larger projects also use Jenkins to provide a more customizable build environment. This can be useful for things like building Amazon Web Services AMIs, integration with external services that Travis doesn't support, etc.
  • It's simple and easy to get started (it can detect the language being used based on build configuration files like a Maven pom.xml).
  • It's free (as in beer) for open source projects.
  • It has a responsive staff (you can file issues on GitHub to ask for new languages or packages to be supported, and the turnaround time isn't too bad for the free offering).
  • The user interface is beautiful and easy-to-use, including features like live-tailing in-progress builds.
  • It supports specifying private environment variables and encrypted credentials, so that you can safely automate deployments (for example, pushing built docker images to DockerHub).
  • It only supports Linux and OS X, so other vendors (like AppVeyor) have to be used for Windows support.
  • The build matrices can be difficult to set up in the travis.yaml file.
  • Build queues can be long sometimes, since the open source offering has limited infrastructure. This problem does not affect the commercial offering, however.
  • Builds are limited to various versions of OS X and Ubuntu; other operating systems can be used for teh build via the Docker support.
If you have an open source project on GitHub, Travis is the best option available, and it's in widespread use. There are many examples of usage in open source projects of varying complexity, so it's simple to copy bits and pieces from those. The Travis Build Status badges are beautiful and easy to add. The user interface is great if you need to manually retry builds or check logs. It automatically builds all pull requests in a secure way, so that you can check contributions without paying for your own build infrastructure, and without having to configure/manage it.
Read Jonathan Yu, P.Eng.'s full review
Yasmany Cubela Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2017

A powerful CI/CD Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At nodetrine (my opensource project) TravisCI is being used to automatically test the releases and notify users so all of them know if that release its good enough to be used on their projects. It does not use deployment strategies since it does not need to deploy the releases to any platform but TravisCI provides a really good platform for it.
  • Automate testing
  • Integration between modules
  • Automate deployment
  • Build artifacts for project consumption or community
  • Integration with other CVS systems like bitbucket
It's well suited for CI/CD.
Read Yasmany Cubela Medina's full review
Kevin Patrick Westropp | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2017

CICD pipeline for software development

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it while consulting on a webpage for a client. It allowed us to set up a solid CICD pipeline for rapidly making changes and ensuring a higher level of quality.
  • Easy to setup and customize. It uses a yml file for configuration that lives inside your repo. The yml options are very straight forward and easy to learn.
  • The web interface is very easy to use and navigate.
  • It offers lots of different ways of being notified when something in the pipeline fails or succeeds.
  • Highly integrated with GitHub, might be more difficult if not using a GitHub repo but haven't yet done such.
[Well suited for] Contractors, consultants, independent developers, enterprise software development, open source software development.
Read Kevin Patrick Westropp's full review

About Travis CI

Travis CI is an open source continuous integration platform.
Categories:  Build Automation

Travis CI Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No