TrustRadius
India-based BrowserStack offers a platform for live, browser-based functional and usability testing of applications.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/8M/m1/ZKSFO07EG7GL.PNGEssential Tool for TestingWe use it across our development teams to check our dev work on different desktop browsers and mobile devices. When a developer needs to check their work before sending to QA, in a browser they don't have installed, they use BrowserStack to open that browser and test their code. Then they assign the work to QA where we use BrowserStack to check more platforms more thoroughly. When a dev needs to recreate a bug found in QA, they will often use BrowserStack to see who is broken on a particular browser or device they don't have.,It's great for finding a popular browser on desktop or mobile It's reliable and runs without glitches It has useful options for customizing how you view the browser or device you are working with,Response time is not as good as a locally installed VM Would like it to be easier to see a device fill the screen so it's easier to use Sometimes connection is glitchy and I have to reconnect,10,It has saved us from investing in computers and devices because it has everything we need for testing It has sped up QA by offering al the platforms in one place It is available to all users in my company so anyone can verify a bit of code or replicate a reported problem in any platform,Sauce Labs,Slack, Atlassian Confluence, JIRA SoftwareBrowserStack ReviewWe use BrowserStack to test website, by the IT, Marketing and Art Departments. It shows design versions for all popular devices and browsers.,Range of available devices allows you to test pages on all views and catch mistakes before pushing live. Range of available browsers allow you to find browser specific design elements. Pairing Devices with browsers,Works a little slow sometimes depending on network speed Can run only one site at a time. It's not very flexible to switch from one page/site to another. Have to restart the view each time. Some complicated functionality may not work on the rendered screen, like complex design elements on pages may not render correctly.,8,Helps catch errors before website deployment Helps avoid negative user feedback Helps address technical issues that may occur on more popular devices and browsers,BrowserStack - Simply the BestWe use BrowserStack to help in the cross-platform testing of all the websites we develop either internally or for clients. This saved us countless hours trying to test all variations of OSs and browsers.,You can test backwards compatibility with older versions of browsers You can test Apple based Safari browser on a Windows PC and vice-versa You can test all major browsers from a single control point,It would be nice to test multiple browsers at the same time Also have the ability to set up automated testing scripts/steps,10,We have saved countless hours testing various browsers Saved us from having to purchase several machines to load different browsers and even buying expensive Apple computers,Visual Studio IDE, Chrome DevTools, RackspaceA great support tool for your testers team.BrowserStack is used in our company by multiple departments, IT, UX and Marketing. We utilize it for testing prototypes, doing cross-browser testing while developing new functionalities and products and also to test and identify live issues. It's a supporting tool in the whole testing process where primarily we still rely on the actual devices. The main exception is IE9 which is quite difficult to run without any additional hardware or software so we mainly rely on Browsersatck in that matter.,Cross-browser testing. Debugging existing issues. Testing environments sitting behind a network.,Speed! It takes a long time to spin up especially if your company's network sits behind a firewall. An easier way to take screenshots and share them. Capturing videos would be very useful.,7,It lets you access multiple platforms and devices so we can cover all our user base easily. Limits the number of the physical devices we need to purchase and store. We can do proactive testing, i.e. when a new version of a browser or OS comes out, so we can reduce the impact of the new releases.,CrossBrowserTesting,Qubit, CrossBrowserTestingBrowserStack reviewIt is being used by a department. It helps us test on devices and operations systems that we do not have access to.,Synching up with automation tests Testing on devices you do not have access to Testing on operating systems you do not have access to,I think it could load a little quicker I'd like to see supporting of downloading native applications,8,It saved us money because we didn't have to buy different devices It helped us improve quality on our products through testing,,Sauce Labs
Unspecified
BrowserStack
39 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

BrowserStack Reviews

BrowserStack
39 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 39 vetted BrowserStack reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Matt Emge profile photo
December 27, 2017

BrowserStack Review: "Essential Tool for Testing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our development teams to check our dev work on different desktop browsers and mobile devices. When a developer needs to check their work before sending to QA, in a browser they don't have installed, they use BrowserStack to open that browser and test their code. Then they assign the work to QA where we use BrowserStack to check more platforms more thoroughly. When a dev needs to recreate a bug found in QA, they will often use BrowserStack to see who is broken on a particular browser or device they don't have.
  • It's great for finding a popular browser on desktop or mobile
  • It's reliable and runs without glitches
  • It has useful options for customizing how you view the browser or device you are working with
  • Response time is not as good as a locally installed VM
  • Would like it to be easier to see a device fill the screen so it's easier to use
  • Sometimes connection is glitchy and I have to reconnect
BrowserStack is perfect for viewing your URL in all the leading browsers and many legacy versions. It performs really well for being an online service with the quick refresh rate (better than VNC for me). It has a Chrome plugin where I can open a menu and choose from a pre-defined list of browsers to view the current URL. It's always come through for me.
Read Matt Emge's full review
No photo available
June 08, 2018

"BrowserStack Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BrowserStack to test website, by the IT, Marketing and Art Departments. It shows design versions for all popular devices and browsers.
  • Range of available devices allows you to test pages on all views and catch mistakes before pushing live.
  • Range of available browsers allow you to find browser specific design elements.
  • Pairing Devices with browsers
  • Works a little slow sometimes depending on network speed
  • Can run only one site at a time. It's not very flexible to switch from one page/site to another. Have to restart the view each time.
  • Some complicated functionality may not work on the rendered screen, like complex design elements on pages may not render correctly.
Testing/viewing web pages on different devices and browsers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 23, 2018

User Review: "BrowserStack - Simply the Best"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use BrowserStack to help in the cross-platform testing of all the websites we develop either internally or for clients. This saved us countless hours trying to test all variations of OSs and browsers.
  • You can test backwards compatibility with older versions of browsers
  • You can test Apple based Safari browser on a Windows PC and vice-versa
  • You can test all major browsers from a single control point
  • It would be nice to test multiple browsers at the same time
  • Also have the ability to set up automated testing scripts/steps
BrowserStack is designed for the developer to test their products against various OSs and browsers and it does this very well. The addition of the mobile app testing is just another great example of the commitment BrowserStack makes to making the life of a developer easier.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

BrowserStack Review: "A great support tool for your testers team."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BrowserStack is used in our company by multiple departments, IT, UX and Marketing. We utilize it for testing prototypes, doing cross-browser testing while developing new functionalities and products and also to test and identify live issues. It's a supporting tool in the whole testing process where primarily we still rely on the actual devices. The main exception is IE9 which is quite difficult to run without any additional hardware or software so we mainly rely on Browsersatck in that matter.
  • Cross-browser testing.
  • Debugging existing issues.
  • Testing environments sitting behind a network.
  • Speed! It takes a long time to spin up especially if your company's network sits behind a firewall.
  • An easier way to take screenshots and share them.
  • Capturing videos would be very useful.
Browserstack is a great supporting tool for cross-browser and cross-os testing. However, at the moment it can't beat testing on the actual devices. Getting the most popular ones and filling in the gaps with Browserstack is the best setup that worked for us. Alternatively, if you are on a limited budget, a small company or a one-man-army developer this tool might be right for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 22, 2017

"BrowserStack review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by a department. It helps us test on devices and operations systems that we do not have access to.
  • Synching up with automation tests
  • Testing on devices you do not have access to
  • Testing on operating systems you do not have access to
  • I think it could load a little quicker
  • I'd like to see supporting of downloading native applications
It is good for hooking up automation suites and testing on devices and operating systems that you do not have access to. I think the more it simulates the real experience the better. For example, I still think it is easier to use a physical device than to use browserstack.
Read this authenticated review
Nick Jastrebski profile photo
June 10, 2016

Review: "Browserstack - Premium Cross Browser Compatibility Testing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Browserstack is used specifically for development purposes by our development team. We're a manage services provider specifically using this in our business software solutions department. It assists in quality assurance for our cross browser compatible web applications. It provides us with a simple tool to test usability across all the major browsers we support. Safari, Opera, Firefox, IE, and Chrome all can be tested seamlessly using one tool. Before we used browserstack for usability testing we were limited to browsers available on each platform, whether our personal computer was an Apple computer, or Windows PC. The same was true for any mobile testing whether we had Android or Apple devices available. With browserstack we're not limited to the platform we're on for testing, there's constant access across numerous platforms available at all times for usability testing. Another major obstacle it allowed us to overcome is different browser versions. A major challenge with building cross browser compatible web applications is determining whether to be compatible with the latest version during development, or maintaining compatibility across previous versions of the browser. This tool provided us with an easy way to make our decisions and test based on the selected support browsers and browser versions. Any user can test from anywhere any time on a full development environment that's very close to the real thing. In terms of mobility, responsiveness across many different devices is becoming extremely important. Browserstack also assists in solving this issue by allowing you to test across various different responsive screen resolutions and sizes. All of this is accomplished as if the user is in a native environment with native browser behavior and development tools available to our staff to assist in troubleshooting any cross compatible issues. The one major drawback we ran into at times is the performance of different servers when testing across platforms, but this can be overcome by the flexibility Browserstack allows. If you're looking for a solution to replace your test labs and provide access to any platform across numerous devices anytime Browserstack is a great solution to consider!
  • Provides popular screen resolutions for quick responsiveness testing without manually setting everything up yourself.
  • Allows easy cross browser compatibility testing across all different browser versions.
  • Achieves responsive design testing across all the key mobile and desktop platforms.
  • Server performance when many users are testing seems to degrade over time.
  • Cost depending on your team size and needs can grow higher than some teams are willing to dedicate for device testing.
  • Less expensive options put caps on usage that can limit what can be accomplished on the testing platform.
Anytime automated cross browser testing is needed Browserstack can be a big help to getting a team to quickly test across different devices. The main constraint on development teams is the budget involved to invest resources into a testing platform. If responsive cross browser compatibility isn't a top concern for solutions you develop, the investment may not be necessary.
Read Nick Jastrebski's full review
Alec Dibble profile photo
August 04, 2016

BrowserStack Review: "Great cross-browser tester"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Browserstack extensively as a cross-browser compatibility testing tool for my whole professional career. It is the best testing platform that I am aware of, and does its best to give you real hardware or VM simulations for every platform. It also includes many automation capabilities I have not yet harnessed.
  • It has great device and operating system coverage. I don't think I have ever been in a situation where Browserstack didn't offer the configuration I was looking for.
  • Offers a plethora of automation tools involving testing and screenshots using the API.
  • Offers tools to automate responsive testing like their Responsive tool.
  • When doing manual testing, it can be slow and cumbersome to start up VMs, especially Windows VMs.
  • In some of the operating systems, copy and pasting as well as clicking can be slightly buggy at times.
I think that BrowserStack is well suited for many different situations, from one-man contracting teams to large front-end development agencies needing a formalized testing workflow. BrowserStack offers a simple interface for doing manual testing. It also offers many different ways to automate your web testing both functionally and testing for regression using screenshots.
Read Alec Dibble's full review
Chris Coppenbarger profile photo
July 17, 2015

Review: "BrowserStack devices your websites so you don't have to."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BrowserStack helps us to test our websites across a whole slew of devices and browsers in order for us to test the responsiveness and viewing that different users might see. Every website goes through extensive testing. There are quite a number of websites developed and being developed by the whole organization. I use it for most freelance sites I do and other company websites.
  • With responsiveness, you can view your site on a wide range of devices. There are so many devices, that to view them is nearly impossible without a tool like BrowserStack.
  • In Live view, you can enter your website and select the various browsers you would like to test on. If even want to test on older browsers, you can. This helps you to view various browser tweaks that you may have to make.
  • BrowserStack keeps its features up to date so that you can test on upcoming browsers and operating systems as well. This helps with future development.
  • BrowserStack tends to be rather expensive and the free option is very limited. I'd like to see a unlimited free option if even for one person.
  • I'd like to see faster response times on bringing in the site screenshots.
If you have a website where you know a lot of people will be viewing it on mobile, it is very well suited. As for general desktop use, it might not be well suited unless you still have a lot of Internet Explorer 6 or Windows XP users.
Read Chris Coppenbarger's full review
Andrew Palios profile photo
December 09, 2014

Review: "BrowserStack a Digital Designer's Dream"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BrowserStack is a valuable tool for our workflow. As devices and browsers change, BrowserStack is a valuable design tool. With BrowserStack, our clients can rest assured that a digital design from us functions and renders properly across all browsers and devices consistently. Before a digital design is released to a client, our team uses BrowserStack to test the design across all browsers and devices until it is completely ready to go live.
  • The ability to test remotely on your machine, or test live sites in real-time across all devices and web browsers, saving money for your company.
  • Test across the latest operating systems like Windows and Mac, without the cost of owning those operating systems.
  • Solve cross-browser and device compatibility issues right out of the gate, saving you time and money down the road by eliminating programming issues after a project is completed.
  • Provide a quality product for your customers right-away, improving your brand promise and solidifying your position as an expert in the field of digital design.
  • Improves workflow as the last word in the quality of a digital design, allowing you to test site links and navigate as if you had the actual device in your hand.
  • BrowserStack is missing the ability to listen to audio.
  • There are times when testing sessions will crash in BrowserStack, especially when testing sites that are not live from your desktop.
  • There is no monitor compatibility for the Samsung 4K monitor being pushed by Apple right now.
BrowserStack is perfectly suited for design, marketing, or technology companies that provide digital design services. If your company needs a product that is able to provide testing across a wide variety of operating systems, browsers, and devices including mobile and tablet products BrowserStack is a must have. With the ability to test your designs through all of the scenarios previously described, this product will increase your productivity and improve the image of your company with your clients. BrowserStack will do this by eliminating any programming edits after a site is live and proving to your clients that when you say you test your website across all browsers, mobile devices, and operating systems, you truly mean it.
Read Andrew Palios's full review
Claire Lovell profile photo
December 09, 2014

BrowserStack Review: "Great for in-browser quick testing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BrowserStack has been deployed at PredPol for QA testing purposes. It is used by our entire development and customer care teams to test new features and products on various browsers and operating systems. As most of our team uses OS X, and most of our customers use Windows 7 or 8, this provides an invaluable resource to confirm our web apps work well on all browsers and operating systems. It's quick, easy, and much more inexpensive than having physical machines for all combinations.
  • Ease of use
  • Low Cost
  • Quick Setup
  • Slower than VPN
  • Only able to test in-browser
I think this solution would be best for testing web based apps only and not desktop apps. SaaS companies in particular could benefit from their service.
Read Claire Lovell's full review
Eric Karkovack profile photo
May 05, 2014

Review: "If you work on the web, you need BrowserStack"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a web designer, I use BrowserStack to test my creations using multiple web browsers (and sub-versions of those browsers) on various platforms and devices. BrowserStack allows me to test sites and assess how well they will work. This is particularly important when it comes to mobile devices and older versions of popular web browsers like Internet Explorer or Safari.
  • It's a very well thought out service and quite easy to use. Different versions of browsers are grouped together by their operating system.
  • BrowserStack goes way back, including ancient browsers like IE 6 (if you really want to see what your CSS/jQuery looks like in IE 6).
  • Their plans allow for unlimited testing, which is a big advantage. Some similar services I've seen want to limit you to a certain amount of minutes.
  • There is a nice selection of major mobile devices to use for testing.
  • While I haven't used the local testing option, I can see how it would be useful for a lot of folks.
  • Occasionally I've run into issues with their mobile emulators crashing before fully loading a page.
  • I'd love to see the ability to test your site on a screen reader. Think of how much that could do for accessibility concerns.
  • The Issue Tracker feature is nice in that you can take screenshots from a specific browser/device, but can sometimes be a bit buggy.
With the sheer number of desktop browsers and mobile devices out there, it would be darn near impossible to have them all loaded on your system. Sure, you could install some virtual machine software, but why? BrowserStack is just a click away, and they have done all of that work for you. I've recommended them to anyone who will listen. It's such a helpful tool. Now, when a client says they're having an issue in a specific browser (if for some reason I didn't catch the glitch in prior testing), I can pull it up in BrowserStack and see exactly what's going on. It's a must have for any designer/developer.
Read Eric Karkovack's full review
Adam Kenyon profile photo
April 16, 2014

User Review: "Browserstack on the Benefits"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used by more than one IT groups to test our applications across various OS, browsers, devices and versions of each as an indication of whether or not our software behaves consistently across these platforms.
  • Easy to use
  • Convenience of not having to manage each environment and multiple conditions of each
  • Intuitive
  • Speed
  • A way to simulate 2-finger pinch in and out on phones and tablets
Anywhere it's important to view sites through various browsers, OS and devices would be an appropriate scenario.
Better suited to run from a desk top as opposed to a VM or sandbox due to the fact that the speed was significantly reduced through the VM.
We found the speed factor improved noticably when running Browserstack directly from desktop.
Read Adam Kenyon's full review
No photo available
April 19, 2016

Review: "Test your website on (almost) every device with BrowserStack"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BrowserStack, with its ability to test multiple devices and browsers from a single PC, helps us test our websites in numerous ways. The entire digital development team uses it for product testing where we don't have the real device available. We use it for QA testing against multiple versions of Internet Explorer. We also use it for quickly finding reported bugs that might be specific to a browser version. Without BrowserStack, we'd test against fewer devices and would have to do more frequent (and expensive) hotfixes.
  • BrowserStack enables testing against real browser versions - not just emulated user/agents screen sizes on different rendering engines that you get with browser debugging tools. Gives a real experience.
  • BrowserStack allows for quick switching between devices and browsers. At the click of a mouse, you can jump between devices and the webpage you're looking at will be transferred to the new device. Speeds up testing.
  • BrowserStack gives access to an entire device library for a simple subscription fee. Maintaining a collection of devices this big would be hugely expensive too. It saves money.
  • BrowserStack allows automated testing, using familiar Selenium, to help speed up more involved testing programmes.
  • Some mobile devices are emulated through desktop-level virtual machines.
  • Running in a browser is helpful, but such complexity comes with occasional glitches which can be annoying.
If you're part of a digital development team, BrowserStack is invaluable. If your team is on a tight budget, this tool is essential to get full device coverage. If you've got to test across a large number of devices with limited testing resources, then it will hugely speed things up. If you've got an involved testing process, BrowserStack will enable you to automate your testing to improve your release cycles.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 15, 2016

Review: "BrowserStack is a great tool for any front end developer looking to support multiple Browsers/Devices"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. Helped a lot with implementing pixel perfect designs on multiple browsers and devices. During the testing phase, Browserstack helped a lot with organizing feedback and fixing/testing issues that came up during development for developers.
  • Implement and view designs across various browsers and devices
  • Test throughly any broken features
  • Making sure designer to developer flow was seamless and without any delivery issue
  • Would tend to get slow at times. Could be the machine/network. Overall never had any big issues.
  • Easy for organization to pay the costs. There could be a better subscribe method for individual developers outside of working at an organization.
  • Can't really think of anything else.
Pretty good tool to test your designs. Especially on various Android devices. Makes life much easier for a front end developer to know what devices/browsers work and what needs fixing (Looking at you, IE).
Read this authenticated review

About BrowserStack

BrowserStack is a cloud web and mobile testing platform, which is used by more than 2 million developers across 135 countries. The product's value proposition is to help teams speed up release cycles and deploy websites and mobile applications that work seamlessly on any user interface.

Users can choose from more than 1,200 on-demand real mobile devices, browsers and operating systems and rely on a secure, stable and scalable infrastructure to support thousands of concurrent manual and automated tests. The goal is to reduce the time, cost and maintenance overhead associated with testing.

More than 25,000 global companies use BrowserStack, including Microsoft, ING, Mastercard, Dow Jones, Garmin, National Geographic, Volvo, NRK, HubSpot, Walt Disney and AngularJS, to name a few. BrowserStack has offices in San Francisco, Mumbai and Dublin, and is privately held and backed by Accel.

BrowserStack Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

BrowserStack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No