Zeplin Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Christopher Fritz | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Zeplin - collaboration and user management at a glance.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zeplin is being used between several departments and in collaboration with clients. It's primarily a valuable piece of software for our design department who can share and create designs and style guides with our project managers. It's a great tool to work alongside Adobe and Sketch etc. The collaboration between the apartments is the key to success here. The rest of this review will be written from an IT point of view.
  • Collaboration between departments
  • Excellent user management
  • Better definition of roles within user management.
  • Better options for versioning.
Zeplin is an excellent tool for collaboration between departments. Designers, developers, and project managers. From an IT point of view, we'll find a manageable user interface where we can encourage our end users to invite clients where they work as an Alien. If they need more than viewing access, we can set it for them quite easily. I would have loved a more natural way to integrate the access with other IT systems together with a better definition of user roles.
Read Christopher Fritz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Zeplin takes away the friction of design hand off to developers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zeplin acts as a bridge between the design teams and developer teams to assist in the handoff of the finished design artifacts. Once the design is done, it is exported to Zeplin and Zeplin parses the screens to enable assets and delivers specifications to the developers. This relieves designers to manually deliver the assets in multiple folders or files and explain those to the dev team. Zeplin saves a ton of time in manual work and makes it easy to update the assets when the design changes.
  • Code and design specifications help developers to quickly access colors and dimensions and also code snippets like CSS if required.
  • Commenting features are great for getting feedback and answering questions.
  • User interface design could use some better treatment.
  • Better tutorials to teach how to efficiently use the software.
Zeplin helps with asset management and design artifacts delivery. It enables conversations like InVision with its commenting features. It can help maintain collections of design works in custom sections. Various inspection features support the developers to build pixel perfect interfaces. This is not useful for clickable or rapid prototyping. It is only helpful as an archive bridge between design and development.
Read this authenticated review
Ray Flores | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

As Pretty as it gets!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zeplin between two departments ( content and tech ). For the tech team to show off their best work, we need to know what the desired results are to be displayed. With Zeplin, the tech team can collaborate with the content team via notes directly on the mock-up. This is ideal for questions and answers that will not get lost in the shuffle, but rather are pinned directly where the question stems from ( point on the design ). This allows for very minimal miscommunication.
  • Allows note to be dropped and pinned directly on the design where the question stems from
  • Removes questions about exact styles with the CSS box
  • Loads extremely fast with the Windows App on a PC
  • Encourages collaboration between team members and departments
  • In the UI, the menu is a bit misleading by not showing all the pages available within a single project
  • Offline notifications are missing ( a must when the app is closed )
Zeplin is well suited for web developers to understand what the marketing team is desiring. For me, Zeplin is the desired resulting display from the code that I am writing. Zeplin takes the guessing of styles, guessing of size scale, out of the equation. Zeplin would be less appropriate to use if I were a beginner web developer, as it does not include any actual code ( other than styles ) in the project.
Read Ray Flores's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2019

Zeplin: A Design-to-Development Lifesaver!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my UX design contract work with several organizations, Zeplin is being used by me and other designers to efficiently share designs with other teams, particularly development teams. Zeplin makes it incredibly easy to do this, as it enables us to share these designs without spending a ton of time marking up each screen with every single design specification. Developers can independently inspect elements to view these specs, avoiding the all-too-common issue of having to go back and forth over Slack or email to clarify points of confusion, solve issues around missing assets, or fix typos. Zeplin has also proven to be very helpful in eliciting feedback from other stakeholders, as it’s very easy to export designs for internal and external people to review and provide feedback on.
  • Ease in automatically building design style guides, saving time that might be spent on building style guides in another tool (such as InDesign).
  • Users can use Mac, PC, or web versions of this app to collaborate on a single project, enabling us to work with a wider pool of contractors.
  • Accelerates the design-to-development workflow, as it’s very easy to import Sketch or Photoshop files through plug-ins, and HTML/CSS codes are automatically created based on designs.
  • Provides cross-platform specifications for web, iOS, and Android, which can save developers time in figuring out specifications beyond the “main platform" on their own.
  • The tool is rather expensive given that it doesn’t have a ton of functionalities.
  • The tool is a little complex, which requires us to spend significant onboarding time on this product for new team members.
  • The tool can add more styles than necessary, adding the extra step of double-checking each line of the code to ensure that nothing new has popped up that might affect development.
Zeplin is, overall, really great for what it’s known for: design handoffs to development teams. Thus, it’s an excellent tool for scenarios in which the design and development teams do not work very closely. Because it allows users to use the tool on various platforms, it’s also great for teams in which there are in-house and remote (or contract) staff working on a single project.

The tool is pretty lightweight once users are on-boarded, so it’s also great for larger teams. However, it can take significant time to onboard people to it, so it might not be great for more rushed projects. It also doesn’t have a ton of functionality beyond supporting design handoffs, so one might choose a more inclusive tool, such as Figma, to support more steps in the design process. Finally, Zeplin is costly and its rates are pretty inflexible, so this might not be the most ideal tool for more cash-strapped teams who want to use Zeplin for more than one project at a time.
Read this authenticated review
Prashant Mahajan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

Zeplin: Worth the Price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zeplin to share design assets with developers. It is used across the organization. We use this to reduce the communication gap between the teams, specially design and developers. This also lets you get feedback from other stakeholders by sharing the board with them and they can comment there. Before Zeplin, designers had to create PDFs with design specs and then share the design assets separately in a drive or email. If any asset was missing or if any clarification was needed, there was a long chain of emails, now it is very smooth and quick, happens on Zeplin and both the design and dev teams are happy. As a product manager, this has immensely helped me to get feedback, improve the process and make people accountable.
  • Its integration with Sketch is great, it just completes everything. You create the design and in one click it is there on the Zeplin board.
  • The notes and comments help to be more precise with questions and clarify on the Zeplin board itself.
  • One of the best things I liked about Zeplin was its simplicity, anyone who doesn't even come from a design, tech or product background can understand the product in just a couple of minutes.
  • Zeplin still is not on par with other tools like Figma, which help to transfer the code from design. It is the next step in machine learning.
  • Zeplin doesn't have a prototyping feature, which will be great for developers to understand the motions and animations.
  • Zeplin currently doesn't have version history, which would be good to have, since if a design is updated by the designer the developer could see what was updated.
It is a great tool if your design and development teams are separate. It is also great for freelancing or remote scenarios. The tool can be taken up by a company of any size, we have used it for 1000+ size companies with ease. I think, if you are using Sketch, then this is good to go. If you are using Figma, you can skip it.
Read Prashant Mahajan's full review
Carlos Eduardo de Souza | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Great way to improve the workflow between design and development teams

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using Zeplin for a few years and it has proven to be one of the best tools for User Experience and User Interface Design. Furthermore it helps us, while working as developer partners for agencies, to better understand layouts provided and be more assertive since it offers ways to export assets and even CSS code to better specify little details like colors, font size, margins and much more.
  • Has both a web app and desktop app
  • Great integration with Sketch
  • If you're developing the front-end, it really helps providing assets and layout specs
  • The web application doesn't offer ways to create new projects like InVision or Marvel
  • It could have a prototyping tool to navigate between screens
  • The mobile website doesn't work as well as it should
It's great if you need to work with interfaces created by partners or agencies, since it offers a great way to inspect and understand the specifications. Also, it's a great way to create style guides to create a really solid user interface. On the other hand, it doesn't offer a fluid way to navigate between screens like other prototyping applications like InVision and Marvel.
Read Carlos Eduardo de Souza's full review
Brad Henderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Love Zeplin! Zeplin has saved us hundreds of hours implementing designs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zeplin for collaboration between our designer and developers. Both of my companies have built very design/user experience centric products and we set a high bar for the implementation of the designs we create. However, developers are generally poor implementers of design and don't have a very good eye for design. Zeplin solves this problem and since we've started using it we've saved a lot of back and forth between developers and designers.
  • Provides dimensions across iOS, Android and Web which saves developers from a lot of guess and check when implementing designs
  • Allows for easy download of digital design assets for developers to easily organize and implement
  • Great user experience in terms of the product itself and a great value for your money
  • Automatically generates CSS for web designs which is AMAZING!
  • The uploading and syncing of assets is great for sketch and photoshop but we use illustrator and that can be cumbersome/tedious at times.
  • There are certain elements that have been a bit confusing to navigate at times, but for the most part, it's pretty user-friendly
  • More integrations
Adobe XD is more seamless across products but it's still being built out and lacks a lot of functionality. So for right now, what Zeplin does for the whole process of implementing designs between designer and developer it's the best product on the market. It has literally saved us hundreds of hours of back and forth between developer and designer and it's seriously been a gamechanger for that process. Can't say enough good things about Zeplin!
Read Brad Henderson's full review
Ronald Melendez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2018

Zeplin: The tool of the designer who is a programmer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zeplin is a very practical tool for prototypes and layout of web applications. It is very interesting for frontend development because it allows you to capture the CSS styles of the screens. This is a very comfortable job since you can optimize the work of frontend In terms of interface design. You can also import screens from Photoshop or SketchUp. Facilitating this task for the designer, you can also attach assets so that it is convenient for the developer to have all the references when it comes to diagramming.
  • You can get the CSS style code
  • You can import files from Photoshop and SketchUp
  • You can not define internal navigation by linking the screens
Zeplin is very well at developing prototypes of applications. Also, you can base the development of frontend and layout, on the screens that are uploaded to the project. Besides the very good function of being able to upload assets separately so that the developer can have both the images and the assets in the project, I like that it is a pretty light tool. I like that it is much cheaper than other tools such as Marvel.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
Hernán Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Awesome tool for UI and UX designers interacting with technical team members.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zeplin to share design specs with our clients and discuss UI changes. Zeplin provides us with a succinct but great set of features that lets us see, share, download and discuss design assets.
  • Share design screens: being the core of the service, uploading design screens from design software is as easy as it gets
  • Share and see design specs: Zeplin offers a really handy way to share design specs such as colors, fonts, CSS directives and rules
  • Prototype navigation: Zeplin offers navigation between screen using prototype navigation where you can link a screen and draw on top of the screen's elements. However, this is a very basic feature compared to similar apps and services. For instance, you can not assign transition effects or timeouts for transitions.
For UI and UX designers, Zeplin is a great tool that allows them to share design screens and specs with other members of their team. For project owners, developers and stakeholders, Zeplin comes in handy when in need of a fast, reliable tool to preview and review design assets and screens.
Read Hernán Silva's full review
Matthew Gardner | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

Great software - Definitely not the Hindenburg!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zeplin solves the problem of product/design teams interfacing with engineering. It provides a clear and easy way for engineers and designers to share, discuss, and question designs in a very user-friendly and easy-to-manage way. Both teams heavily enjoy using Zeplin versus a million PDF files being sent around the org. Zeplin saves us time, headache, and mistakes due to miscommunication.
  • Sharing
  • Collaboration
  • Discussion/Commenting
  • Relies on artboards
  • Photoshop plugin issues sometimes
  • Updates too frequently
  • Designers sharing things to build with developers
  • Discussions around designs
  • Questions from developers about designs
  • Iterating on designs based on feedback
  • Integration with Sketch and Photoshop
Read Matthew Gardner's full review
Tariq Virani | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Zeplin Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by our digital product team. Our design team delivers specs for new website and App features to the developers using Zeplin.
  • Zeplin provides detailed specifications, allowing for the guesswork to be taken out of developer's work.
  • Zeplin allows for files to easily be shared via links.
  • Zeplin's allows for tagging of files which makes organizing very easy.
  • Slack integration is very helpful!
  • There is no way to make comments on files within Zeplin (or at least no clearly visible way).
  • The UI is not the most intuitive.
Zeplin is well suited for lean teams in which developers and designers may not be working in the same location.
Read Tariq Virani's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2019

Beautifully seamless design hand offs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zeplin is used by our product, UX design, and content strategy teams to hand off designs to the dev teams. Zeplin allows our dev teams to pull specs, assets, and code snippets directly from the design itself, which makes the cross-department collaboration and communication so easy. Zeplin contains our design system which keeps our UI components consistent across the product.
  • Beautiful, clean, easy to use, easy to navigate interface. Zeplin looks great and feels intuitive from the start.
  • Zeplin is especially fantastic as a collaboration tool. You can easily annotate designs with unobtrusive comments, allowing teams to ask questions and make suggestions easily.
  • Zeplin keeps our designs very consistent. For example, it remembers colors and font styles and makes it easy to build a style guide.
  • Our design team uses Sketch to make mockups, which must then be imported to Zeplin. Basically, it adds another tool to the chain and more accounts to keep track of.
  • The plans are a bit expensive. The product ultimately feels worth it, but I think it could be priced more cheaply.
  • Internal navigation is sometimes difficult to figure out (e.g., the order of different screens and overall user flow).
Zeplin is really a wonderful tool for handing off designs to more technical teams. It makes it super easy to share specs and collaborate on designs at a high level. Zeplin's integrations make it especially great for teams that already use Sketch, Slack, etc. While Zeplin feels clean and easy to use, it might be too lightweight for very large / complex teams.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

Awesome software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zeplin is being used by the Product, Design and Engineering teams to share designs between design and engineering. It solves the problem of easily sharing screen designs, as well as allowing engineers to "inspect" the screens so designers don't need to mark up every measurement on every screen. It also allows for easy share links to other departments.
  • Sharing screen designs.
  • Allowing engineers to inspect the elements on the designs.
  • Runs as a web app or as a standalone desktop app.
  • Requires each user to have a login.
Zeplin is well suited to Product Design teams that need to share designs with engineering and product partners. It is well suited to designs for any sort of screen — desktop, mobile, apps, TV. Zeplin is probably suited mainly for print or physical design and is only relevant for product design organizations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 09, 2019

Super slick hand off between design and product teams

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zeplin to manage the handoff between product, design, and marketing. We used to struggle with unruly file systems and competing copies, missing assets, and disorganized product launches. Now, our designers can establish projects and guidelines for asset use, passing off product shots, and more.
  • Zeplin makes it super simple to share locked design assets across the organization, whether you're on the product, marketing, or support team.
  • Zeplin's integration with Sketch streamlines design.
  • Project organization is a breeze.
  • The user interface isn't as intuitive for those just beginning to learn the system—something simple, like leaving a comment, isn't always clear as it could be.
  • We do wish Zeplin integrated with more of our other tools.
  • Prototyping is pretty limited.
If you need a system for simpler handoff between design and product, or product to marketing, Zeplin's a great solution. On the development side of things, being able to see properties is extremely useful. And for those who simply need to grab colors or logos, using Zeplin as a style guide is incredibly useful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2018

Great tool for designers and developers!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zeplin is used by our designers and developers, as well as by product managers. It's a great tool to share design mock-ups or final UI designs and easily communicate with comments and notes on each of the files. It's pretty nice that you can directly import files from Sketch to Zeplin. Developers also love Zeplin, as it gives them the ability to see the measurements of pixels between components, select and see properties for each of the components, CSS code, etc.
  • Great way to import files directly from Sketch to Zeplin
  • Shows properties for all the components and elements and makes the lives of developers much easier
  • Allows developers to comment and write notes on the files
  • Has nice design and overall UX
  • Sometimes updates from Sketch don't work as fast as expected, but overall we are very satisfied
It's a great tool to share design mock-ups with the team. Developers love it, as it allows them to see properties for each of the elements in the design and makes their lives much better.
Read this authenticated review

About Zeplin

Zeplin, from the company of the same name, is a platform supporting collaboration in application development by engineers and designers by providing an API with popular collaboration, development and prototyping tools and creating a space where productions can be shared and reviewed.

Zeplin Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No