Google Data Studio Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Rajat Khatri | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

Google Data Studio

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio was mainly used by the Analytics team to create Dashboards using data from Google Analytics. These Dashboards were shared with the product team, CPO, business team, CBO, marketing team, CMO, and other teams also through which the decisions were made by the product, marketing, and business teams.

It helps to see the trends of conversion, engagement, funnels, flows, etc. and thus check whether we need changes in product, marketing, or business strategies.
  • Easy integration with Google Analytics
  • Very easy to use and implement.
  • Training easily available online and google training academy
  • Variety of features to use
  • From features point of view, still a lot has to be done
  • In comparison to its competitors like Tableau, Data Studio still needs to have advanced features
Google Data Studio is a free product and easily integrates with Google Analytics. It's a very easy to use product and needs no extensive training or sessions to understand. It works on real-time databases.

From a design and features point of view, it's lagging at a few points, otherwise it's a phenomenal product to use.
As and when there was any issue with the product, Google and supporting teams were ready to provide support and listen and work on the features required in this product
Read Rajat Khatri's full review
Natalie C. Winslow | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 29, 2020

A Good, Free Tool to Aggregate and Visualize Data for Client Reporting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Data Studio to create reports for our clients using several data sources, including Google Ads, Google Analytics, and Facebook Insights, Facebook/Instagram Ads. It allows us to easily customize how we show the data from the various sources and allows us to filter, highlight, and customize the color palette.
  • Combines data sources into one report.
  • It's free.
  • Filtering is easy.
  • It's intuitive if you understand analytics and ads.
  • Allows you to send automated reports from your own email rather than from Google.
It's great for most of what we need to run reports on, but buying connectors could probably get expensive. If you need to connect more than five data sources, it might be cheaper to use another third-party Analytics reporting tool. However, in most cases, we find that it allows us to show data in various types of graphs and charts, and add our own color palette, logo, etc.
Google's support is terrible, no matter what product you're using. A four is generous, and only because I've never had to use their support.
Read Natalie C. Winslow's full review
Danielle Barthelemy | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Google Data Studio is a Great Tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a professional services organization, so we use Google Data Studio product to support our clients. We use it for a variety of use cases - simple web analytics reporting dashboards, SEO performance, cleaning up data via regex statements, executive dashboards of key metrics across a variety of platforms and custom spreadsheets. We also use this internally for the same needs, in addition to operational tracking and data visualization.
  • Efficiently displays data that you need to refer to regularly.
  • Makes data less intimidating to non-analytics stakeholders.
  • Custom calculations
  • More variety of graphs
Displaying direct data from any analytics tools is excellent, complex analysis or calculations is difficult directly in Google Data Studio.
I've never reached out for support.
Read Danielle Barthelemy's full review
Rayk Richter | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Google Data Studio: all in one package

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is a Suite wich combines relevant data of web, app, campaign, and search. So it is used across the whole organization. With a good visualization, it is possible to manage all online data.
  • Good visualization
  • Perfect for all Google data tools.
  • Ease to integrate
  • Data privacy, GDPR
  • Expensive for companies.
  • Need to be used with other Google products.
Google Data Studio is a great tool to manage data, build dashboards for C and management level.
Google has a nice community, but it is hard to get personal support.
Read Rayk Richter's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2020

Perfect Free visualization tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it in our marketing department to visualize data from our websites.
We connected the platform with Google Analytics, so we are able to create graphs and dashboards super easily, compared to exporting the data and creating graphs in PowerPoint as it was done before. It allows us to focus on the data, rather than fetching the information.
  • General user friendliness of the platform.
  • Straight forward integration with Google Analytics - no table manipulations needed.
  • Easy to add filters on a page or graph level.
  • Integration with Facebook ads and LinkedIn ads is not super easy. We need to go through a third party tool.
  • Sometimes it takes time to load the data.
  • Doesn't work super well on all browsers - although never had issues using Chrome.
I actually recommended Google Data Studio to other departments in our company. I think it's a great tool to easily create visuals out of data from Google analytics. No major technical skills are needed.

I wouldn't say less appropriate, but maybe a bit harder to integrate with the ads platforms, we need to go through a third party.
There's a lot of documentation online and a big community of users that could be helpful.
I never had to contact their support team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Marketing Analytics Dashboard Wizard

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is used by my organization to create dashboards for marketing, merchandising, and customer support teams. So, managers and marketing or category specialists can measure the impact of their campaigns to acquire or engage more customers and sell more products to them. Additionally, Google Data Studio reports enable category and marketing teams to measure return on their investment into an email, paid social, and online ordering campaigns by comparing sales driven from those campaigns to the average run rate of products purchased. Since Google Data Studio integrates seamlessly with Google Analytics and BigQuery as well as allows integration with other data sources such as MicroStrategy or Data Warehouse. It makes it easy to correlate clickstream data to transactional data so that start-to-end customer journeys can be analyzed in it.
  • Google Data Studio enables analysts to create quick charts and tables of marketing or merchandising data. So, stakeholders don't have to wait for long to track their ads.
  • Google Data Studio enables analysts to integrate marketing or merchandising data from multiple sources into one platform and correlate them. So, stakeholders don't have to log in to numerous analytics to access their business data.
  • Google Data Studio enables analysts to create custom calculated dimensions and metrics. So, stakeholders can measure the ROI of their campaigns while analyzing drivers of those campaigns.
  • Google Data Studio doesn't offer the same style of data segmentation as Google Analytics provides: session-based or user-based. So, analysts have first to create that kind of segment in Google Analytics and then import them to Google Data Studio. It will be more efficient for analysts to have the session or user segments in Google Data Studio itself.
  • Google Data Studio analytics doesn't always match with Google Analytics reported data when reproducing the same web analytics report. This could be due to Data Studio using hit based segments and Google Analytics using a user or session-based segments or the way the data is aggregated when the date range is changed from daily to weekly or monthly. Google Data Studio will become a more trusted analytics source if its data matches with Google Analytics.
  • Google Data Studio has a list of sources with which it seamlessly integrates, and most of them our Google-owned. If a tool is not Google-owned and needs to be integrated with Google Data Studio, it takes extra SQL code or ETL effort. If Google Data Studio integrates with more business intelligence tools that are not Google-owned, for example, Microstrategy, it will make its adoption and value to analysts much higher.
Google Data Studio is well suited in scenarios where analysts are trying to create quick visual dashboards using Google Analytics and BigQuery sources of clickstream and transactional data. So, analysts can share those dashboards with their marketing managers or category analysts. Google Data Studio is not well suited in scenarios where analysts are trying to correlate vast amounts of datasets from sources that don't talk to each other, or a data lake doesn't exist. The reason is: Google Data Studio is not an ETL tool. So, unless a data model has been created and an ETL process is running against that data model and is managed by an architect, Google Data Studio should not be used to correlate.
I rated the overall support for Google Data Studio a five because it offers limited real-time chat of phone support. The best resource available to get analyst questions on Google Data Studio reporting and integration capabilities answered, is an online Google support portal with text and video tutorials: https://support.google.com/datastudio. But the analyst needs to know the correct keyword(s) to find accurate answers to his or her technical questions. Or be in the correct category of questions: Connect, Visualize, Share or Manage. So, the existing self-help portal works fine to answer basic questions on metrics, dimensions, how to integrate a data source, or how to create a custom report. It doesn't do a great job of answering advanced questions on why data doesn't match between Data Studio and Google Analytics. Why data is not showing up even though the dashboard sources have been refreshed, or how to create a custom Google Sheets to auto-update dashboard every month.
Read this authenticated review
Tegan Jenner | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Google Data Studio: Easy to pick up, and super powerful

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is being utilized by our media and analytics departments. There are 3 users in our office that are fluent in using this tool. Together, we create reports for our clients to summarize performance. The reports (in view-only mode) are shared with our clients so they have an interactive way to look through reporting. Having the reporting be interactive is where the real value comes from --versus static reports like PDFs or Excel files with a finite period of data available.
  • Extremely customizable. From colors to font sizes to adding images, you can make your reports look like they were specifically created for your clients.
  • Constantly innovating. In the year that I have been using GDS they have released lots of new features, and it seems like they really listen to the user feedback through the customer service portal.
  • Data source flexibility. You can use Excel files, Google Sheets, CSV, etc.
  • Ease of onboarding. If you are familiar with Microsoft Excel, it was really intuitive to pick up without a long period of onboarding/watching tutorials.
  • Once data files start getting large, it can be finicky. We currently don't have a database solution set up to use, and have been trying to use Google Sheets as our data sources, but once the Google Sheet files get large, it can affect the quality of the Google Data Studio report
  • This is still a relatively new product, so there are several little bugs you will find while using it. You just have to be patient and wait for the product team to fix the issues.
  • Some of the visualizations are limited. Once you get used to the full power of a tool like Excel, you run into occasions where GDS is missing a specific visualization feature you are used to seeing in Excel.
It's well suited if you have a report that you want to automatically refresh with new data. I.e. if you have a monthly report, in the same format from month to month, you can keep appending new data to your source data file, and refresh the report with minimal effort. This also allows you to collect historical data too, so you can always reference previous time periods, or change the date range of your report to answer any historical performance question that comes up.
Read Tegan Jenner's full review
Brittney Collier | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Visualize the data that matters - for free!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is solely being used by myself to present data and statistics mainly for marketing presentations within the organization, but also for external use when presenting to potential and current clients. Using the platform helps our organization to use data to make strategic marketing decisions, share real-time data with other employees, and communicate product value to our audience.
  • Google Data Studio is great for companies who need to keep track of data that is constantly changing. For example, my organization uses it to track click-through rates in our PPC campaigns. In Data Studio, we can add a “running calculation” of click-through rates as the campaign goes on and the graph displaying the campaign results will continuously change to reflect the most current interactions.
  • Google Data Studio has saved the marketing team time while enabling us to effortlessly improve communication with other departments. We often create PPC Campaigns for other departments like our training team who needs us to promote their training sessions and webinars. Rather than constantly exporting data and creating new graphs like we’ve done in the past to provide updates, we can set up Data Studio to continuously pull data from our Google AdWords Campaigns or Facebook Campaigns and automatically update the graphs. Since we can also create a shareable link to these graphs, any department we create campaigns for can see real-time campaign results and quickly understand whether potential clients are engaging with the content or not.
  • Google Data Studio is great for displaying data that comes from multiple places. Like most marketing teams, we have data from social media accounts, Google Analytics data measuring our web traffic, email click-through rates, etc. In the past, I’ve had to merge data into one application before I could even begin to make a graph. In Google Data Studio, almost every platform is compatible and data can be automatically fed into the graphs you create on the platform.
  • My only con for Google Data Studio is that it can be very difficult to understand how to import data. Despite the marketing team taking courses on Google Data Studio, we still often require assistance from the IT department for some web data imports. I can see this incurring additional costs for anyone who wants to use Google Data Studio - especially small businesses. Sometimes, it hinders my own team members from using Google Data Studio and they may use another platform, which limits how streamlined/organized our data reporting can be if it lives in several other places.
I would recommend Google Data Studio to a colleague who works for a larger company with robust marketing and IT teams. The platform could be overwhelming for smaller teams and would be more effectively used by professionals with experience in analytics, marketing, and web development. The ROI would be quite low if used in smaller businesses.
I personally have not utilized support on Google Data Studio. If it means anything, I have not needed it.
Read Brittney Collier's full review
Jordan Comstock | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Google Data Studio is 👌

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the beginning stages of implementing Google Data Studio. It is currently being used in the Marketing department. We have connected our google apps, Google Analytics, search console, Google Ads to Data Studio. In marketing, it is giving us automated reports from all of those sources. We can combine the data sources for great-looking dashboards. We have run into issues with adding our site database data to Data Studio, which has been a hang-up for us to fully implement the software across all departments.
  • Dashboards that combine data sources.
  • Customization with design and branding.
  • Easy to use interface. Simple to get started with.
  • This is an issue that our Dev team is dealing with, so I can't speak too much to it, but we have had issues integrating our database with GDS. Those issues have held us back from fully using GDS the way we wanted to.
  • Missing data can be a hassle to make look good on a dashboard.
  • Adoption has been slow across my team, they haven't seen the value the same way I do.
It is the best free tool for data visualizations. Especially if you stick to native google apps connecting to it. I've built some pretty looking data viz and it has helped us to automate marketing reporting.

It has been a hassle with external data sources. I know it has those capabilities, but setting it up hasn't been easy.
I give it a lower support rating because it seems like our Dev team hasn't gotten the support they need to set up our database to connect. Seems like we hit a roadblock and the project got put on pause for dev. That sucks for me because it is harder to get the dev team to focus on it if they don't get the help they need to set it up.
Read Jordan Comstock's full review
Jasmeet S Babra | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Very promising and easiest tool in market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is used as a tool for developing dashboards and ad hoc reports. It is used by various members of the team as a way to showcase data insights and automate reports which were previously being distributed in the form of Excel sheets or Powerpoints.
Currently It is being used by our department only. The business problem it solves is the need for automated reporting dashboards and being able to create flexible reports.
  • Selection of filters
  • Being able to connect to a variety of live data sources
  • It lives as a live document
  • Easy to build
  • Easy to learn
  • Easy to share
  • Conditional formatting
  • Being able to share it inside of emails
  • Being able to make a custom layout with good downloadable options. PDF download came very late
  • Live text integration
  • Dynamic image insertion which changes with dates
Google Data Studio (GDS) is best used when the need of the hour is a single live document with data over time. The usage of date filters and other filters is very useful. The place where it doesn't excel is that it's still in beta phase and sometimes reports break for no reason.
Read Jasmeet S Babra's full review
Art Bukowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Data Studio: GA based reports at your fingertips.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio delivers daily, weekly and monthly updates on our KPI. Saves my time as I don't have to import/export data from a number of sources and combine the data into reports. It has a nice-looking report available online which also can be downloaded as a PDF if needed. My daily routine starts with Data Studio and coffee. Lacking one of them make me nervous.
  • Import data from GA and display in comparison to a previous time period
  • Prepare nice-looking high level report of sales that can be shared to stakeholders
  • An online report can be shared via a link with stakeholder
  • A report can be split by segments (like device type, campaign, date or landing page) dynamically
  • A report has many sources build in OOTB
  • You can blend date from a number of sources without using a single line of code!
  • Data studio (as same as GA) is not the fastest, and sometimes you need to wait for a data.
  • Would be good to have the possibility to schedule an automatic export a PDF and send via email.
  • Amount of themes is rather low and there is no possibility to save your brand styling and use it in the next report.
No more manually checking different info about your store from a number of sources. Everything is combined in one place.
I don't have any experience with Google customer support, but there is a really big society that is happy to help with your issues.
Read Art Bukowski's full review
Lindsay Halsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

Google Data Studio Saves Your Agency Time & Money on Monthly Reports

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Data Studio to power our monthly client reports at our search engine marketing agency. It's used by our whole organization. It solves the need to provide our clients with actionable, insightful monthly reports that pull from multiple data sources.
  • Customizable — The options are endless on how to build and customize your reports.
  • Fast — For as much data as we access, the reports load pretty quickly.
  • Integrations — You can integrate with a wide array of data sources.
  • Learning Curve — It took our team a bit of time to get up to speed with Google Data Studio. The reports are so customizable, it can be hard to know where to get started. We found success in starting with pre-built templates and learning from there.
Marketing agencies who provide their clients with monthly, quarterly, or annual performance reports.

Businesses who want to create a marketing dashboard for their organization.
Read Lindsay Halsey's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Google Data Studio Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is currently being used by my organization to support both Internal Marketing operations and our Consulting operations since I work for a consultancy. Many of our clients use it and we must have the ability and knowledge to be flexible and use their home systems. We also have used it internally. We use Google Data Studio in a variety of ways. We use it to organize our data, compile multiple sources and connect to other data systems.
  • Free so this is a very low lift investment.
  • Connectivity to all other Google platforms.
  • Connectivity to many other platforms.
  • Easy to use & understand.
  • Better instructions would be helpful.
  • Better tutorials for someone who is untrained in marketing operations.
Google Data Studio is a fantastic investment. I honestly recommend investing in all of the free Google marketing tools. They offer great connectivity to each other and other platforms. They compile a large variety of outside data along with internal data from a company website or marketing assets they have deployed on the internet.
Google does not have the best help line or support system. It can be difficult to get help, get on the line, have issues be resolved or get in contact with a real human being at all.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Good challenger for Tableau

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Google Data Studio is being used only by our organization's I.T. Dept. They initiated the analytics initiatives at our organization using Tableau Desktop then added the server. Google Data Studio is in an early phase with IT to compare against Tableau. Our organization is standardized on G Suite, so Google Data Studio would be a more natural fit compared to Tableau, plus it would save a significant amount of money on licensing.
  • Web-based, no local software to install.
  • Access control via existing G Suite accounts.
  • Processing all in the cloud, not locally.
  • Not as well developed/mature compared to other products.
  • Horrible marketing, not well advertised by Google. We found it by accident.
  • Room for improvement when connecting to data sources.
One year into use, Google Data Studio seems to be really well suited for organizations already in the G Suite ecosystem. It has a very similar feel/use to other Google tools like Drive and Sheets. Access control is also easy if the organization is already on Google. It is also affordable since it is free. That makes it within reach of small organizations who cannot afford products like Tableau.
Google Data Studio is supported in the same way its other products are supported. In practice we have hardly needed support from Google because the products are so easy to use. The help available online is very useful and meets our needs. Long-term hopefully the user community will continue to grow, which will be even better for support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

A great analytics visual tool for teams on a budget

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing team uses Google Data Studio to visualize our marketing data. We use it for everything from blog traffic, website signups, to social media engagement and user demographics. Google Data Studio is a great tool for us because it's free, but it has some of the advanced features an enterprise software tool would have.
  • Charts and graphs are very easy to create and read.
  • Data sharing: it's easy to export a data set and share it with the people who need to see it.
  • Collaboration: it's simple for our team to hop on and edit a report someone already worked on.
  • The report is only viewable online. You can't export in a PDF or anything like that.
  • No automated delivery (like google analytics).
  • Errors: it's pretty common to get errors with your data, and it's not super clear what the issue is.
Google Data Studio is a great tool if you're on a budget. For a free tool, it's amazing. It has some great features, the kinds of things you might find in a very expensive product, and it's completely free. We've used Google Data studio to visualize a lot of our marketing data. If you want basic reports, you don't need to pay for a product.
For a free tool, there isn't much you can do for support. Similar to Gmail, there isn't a support line or email you can reach out to, but that's to be expected with a free tool.
Read this authenticated review
Sam Lepak | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

Looking for a FREE Data Visualization tool? Then Google Data Studio (P.S. Free For a Reason)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is our organization's current aggregate data visualization tool for all organic media (Instagram, Facebook), marketing analytics tools (Firebase, Google Analytics, Google Search Console), and other user information software (Cooper - CRM, PostgresSQL, Google Sheets).

Our team's marketing department frequently looks at reports and dashboards to see leading and lagging KPIs across each platform.

Google Data Studio allows us to view all our data sources in one location, track A/B multivariate tests with WoW and MoM data, and makes it easy to make decisions and conducts tests as the data is presented in an easy-to-consume format.
  • Pre-loaded Report Templates: Without a data visualization experience/training it's most likely difficult to set up the desired dashboard you envision. Fortunately, Google Data Studio offers pre-loaded reports for the most common data source connections. These common connections include: Google Ads, Firebase, Google Search Console, Google Analytics, and more. They save a lot of time and are easy to substitute data variables.
  • Being a remote company, it can be difficult to share in real-time... not with Google Data Studio. If our team is viewing the data on a call, we are able to update the dashboard in real-time and everyone is able to see the changes made without refreshing. Subsequently, as one user is able to change data parameters (dates, labels, etc) and the rest viewing the data are able to follow along.
  • It can be difficult to get ideas how you should prepare your data - which KPIs should I include? In what order? Should I use a pie graph or bar chart? Thanks to Featured Data Studio reports I'm able to look at shared reports generated by others to get ideas on how to set up similar data.
  • While Google Data Studio has a resources (video tutorial) tab, it's very basic. The tutorials state navigational answers to exploring around the site, setting up data connections, and creating calculated fields. The videos are outdated 2016 and older and rarely dig into the actual building of reports and dashboards, especially with Google-owned products.
  • In order to connect solutions outside Google's products such as 3rd party tools, you need to pay a subscription to a 3rd party service to connect the data. The two main companies (Supermetrics, Power My Analytics) help you connect these 3rd party tools through their subscription services.
  • Notification of data connections being removed. On a few occasions, I will enter Google Data Studio only to find out there is missing data and that I need to reconnect a data source. While this doesn't happen too often it would be ideal to be notified so I can fix this right away rather than be notified by a team member that the connection is broken.
If you are looking for a free data visualization tool or are a smaller business that uses mainly Google entry products and a few outside analytical tracking tools, then I would highly recommend Google Data Studio. Instead, if you evaluate data from a lot of third-party tools or you have an enterprise software solutions, it would be better suited to look into a paid data visualization tool like Tableau.
Read Sam Lepak's full review
Brian Hartley | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Lightweight tool, perfect for a small organization looking to scratch the surface of data visualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is currently being used to share client metrics with our internal stakeholders. We have other third party systems push data into Google Sheets and from there Google Data Studio can ingest the data set. Admittedly it is currently a free tool which makes it simple and easy for our organization to utilize and interact with regularly. I enjoy the different data visualization tools and I don't encounter too many bugs/errors.
  • Data visualization
  • Library of data visualization templates
  • Intuitive
  • Easy to share results especially if you already use G Suite\
  • Like any tool, it would be nice to spend time learning and leveraging everything it has to offer
  • Adding additional third party data connections
It is well suited if Google supports the data connections you need or if you can push data into Google Sheets and leverage the information directly from there. It is less suited for a company with a desire for many data connections to pull in and/or a company that doesn't leverage the G Suite in general.
Read Brian Hartley's full review
Miguel Petit | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

View and analyze data effectively

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is being used throughout the company to visualize and analyze data in a simple and intuitive way to share or edit reports with colleagues in real time and send them via email to customers in order to make the best decisions for the organization. It also allows you to track your reports with the Google Analytics tool and the ability to combine different data sources.
  • It allows us to collect all the necessary data so that it can be visualized in a simple and intuitive way.
  • It supports the creation of interactive dashboards and quite visual reports that are very easy to use.
  • You can use data from different sources through the connectors available on the platform.
  • Custom metrics and dimensions can be created directly within the platform.
  • The reports are interactive and can be shared quickly and easily.
  • The integration with the data is very limited to Google products, only the connection with Google Analytics. That is very basic.
  • It does not offer the option to print or download directly.
Data studio allows the company to analyze data obtained, to perform simple reports that present data with high-quality graphics. It is convenient to use Data Studio to analyze data that can generate strategies that improve the productivity of the company.
Read Miguel Petit's full review
Leah Jakaitis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Perfect for Rapidly Prototyping/Testing Dashboard Designs & Layouts

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is used on a per-user basis within the organization to import, manipulate, and visualize datasets. Google Data Studio functions as a dashboard for displaying data analysis to a variety of audiences: internal presentations and client-facing purposes. It was used primarily within the data and analytics department (who gathered specs and built/deployed the dashboards) and accessed by account managers and clients. It is a useful platform for quickly prototyping/designing different dashboard/visualization strategies without investing the resources on a comprehensive or especially sophisticated solution.
  • Quickly build and prototype dashboards to test proof-of-concepts for data visualization.
  • Hosted on Google which means it's accessible internally and externally to different parties (dev, data/analytics, client reps, account management).
  • Well-maintained community connectors and documentation for extensive platform/data source support.
  • Community connectors are developed by third parties and sometimes cost money, which can disrupt building free dashboards
  • Reconciling disparate / multiple file types can be a hassle and usually requires doing it off-site (in SQL) to create a master data set for ingestion and viz in the Data Studio platform
I really love Google Data Studio and highly recommend it, with the understanding that it is a limited, free dashboard program, and does not have the robust analysis capability of an enterprise-level dashboard platform like Tableau or Power BI. It is perfect for dashboarding Google Suite data -- from Sheets, Ads, DCM/DBM, Analytics, etc. -- and readily ingests data from those sources.

If robust analysis on large datasets (>150,000) is a requirement, Data Studio is best deployed as a test-case or proof-of-concept before implementing a more comprehensive, powerful solution. It can ingest CSV and XLSX files, and community connectors/automation. This allows for data ingestion to come from platforms outside the Google Suite -- and while these connectors are generally reliable, they aren't maintained by Google and therefore can break, go out of date, etc.
Read Leah Jakaitis's full review
Meredith Walter | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2019

Google Data Studio - A good data viz starting point.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is used mainly in our marketing analytics department. It serves various purposes ranging from post-campaign reporting to general data pulse checks. It expedites the process of collecting data so that we can focus more on insights drawn from the data and action items created from the insights.
  • Ease of creating data visuals - you don't need to be an expert to manipulate the charts
  • Ease of adding and removing data sources from a wide range of sources - google products, spreadsheets, etc
  • Ease of sharing your reports with a URL link that anyone can access and use
  • Ease of reproducing reports and templates for client-like work or recreating the same report for a different data source, like GA property
  • The ability to calculate custom metrics is limited. Unfortunately, you can't apply a "filter" to a custom metric, which has been a major road block for our org lately
If a user is looking for a free data visualization tool, I'd highly recommend using Google Data Studio as a starting point. As you use GDS, you'll gain a better understanding of the features you'll actually use and perhaps some that you wish GDS had. You could then take that insight into your purchase decision of a more robust data viz software like Domo or Tableau.

If a user is looking for a tool that will connect several custom data sources or making very advanced data visualizations, GDS is more than likely not a good option. It is limited with its connections and calculated metrics, as well as the type of visualizations you can create.
Read Meredith Walter's full review
Ali Zakeri | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

Google Data Studio - Great data visualization tool for simple data sets!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Data Studio as a data visualization tool to build dashboards and create reports. It easily integrates with other Google platforms such as Google Analytics and Google Ads (AdWords) which saves me time from having to export my data from each of these platforms and then import into a 3rd party data visualization tool.
  • Data integration -- Connects easily with GA, Adwords, Search Console, Facebook Ads, GMB and many more!
  • Live Data Connection -- It can pull data in real time from GA, Google Ads, GSC etc in real-time without having to refresh data.
  • Dynamic controls -- Ability to interact with charts and widgets make the dashboards more appealing and informative.
  • Increase support for connectors -- Currently, only about 150 data connectors are available.
  • Limited data visualization options and widgets -- Something that can definitely be improved.
  • Ability to slice and dice the data.
If you have a clean data set that requires no/little manipulation, and you want to look at KPIs on a recurring/continuous time frame, then Google Data Studio would a good option for you. However, if that's not the case, then you might want to consider other tools such as Tableau or Power BI.
Read Ali Zakeri's full review
Francois Salvert | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Google Data Studio: a half-baked product with good potential.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data Studio is used on and off for really specific needs such as following closely a web site KPI for example. Currently, Data Studio works great with Google Analytics (GA) data. You can create OK looking dashboards using GA and make calculations between metrics. However, it's not yet ready to include outside source files and it becomes very complex to inject targets for example and calculate such KPIs as % Monthly sales vs sales targets. For this reason, we use Data Studio mainly as a quick access to GA data more than anything else.
  • Quick visualization for real-time Google Analytics numbers.
  • Calculations between GA metrics.
  • Easy report distributions.
  • Having green/red arrows to show how a metrics is fluctuating vs a defined period.
  • Having control box or dials to switch between weekly and monthly views or filtering lists on different levels.
  • The module to control external sources is awful and very complex and unreliable. Stick to GA data for now or use another tool such as Klipfolio to gain time.
Really depends on the need. If it's to produce a dashboard that needs to look good and is reliable, I would use a different tool. However, if that colleague is an analyst, I think Data Studio is a quick and free tool you need to have in your analytics toolbox.
Read Francois Salvert's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

Google's BI tool is slowly capturing the market

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our reporting needs. We connect our Google Analytics to Data Studio through the connector. Data Studio helps me to do much more in-depth analyses than what is presented in Google Analytics. We use it currently in our department and we are planning to expand it throughout our region. Apart from Google Analytics, we connect it to our database to do analysis and reporting.
  • Drag and drop your metrics and dimensions and you will get the report, the interface is super clean and it calculates real quick.
  • Scheduling the report: you can schedule the process of downloading the report in PDF and sending it to you or your customers weekly/monthly.
  • Frequent updates from Google makes this tool a go-to tool compared to other BI tools. You can also try the free version and it is amazing.
  • One of the biggest drawbacks is that it requires connectors. Data Studio is a great tool as long as you connect Google products/separate files (Excel ), but when it comes to connecting third-party integrations, it's either complicated or not yet available.
Well Suited: Simple/complex reports as long the source is from a Google app; for super quick reporting with an Excel file; If you are not a data professional but still want to start with reporting. Less appropriate: If you have used an enterprise reporting tool such as Power BI or Tableau, you might not see this as an equivalent tool or replacement tool.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Nothing to hate with Google Data Studio

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio was used in the interim before Tableau became our tool of choice. Google Data Studio is a versatile, low-cost alternative to Tableau for data visualization. In addition to having a low cost of entry to visualization, it can be relatively easy to set up for any user with little to no experience.
  • Initial setup is well supported by Google.
  • Versatile, especially if utilizing other Google marketing products.
  • Clean visualizations courtesy of Google's material design.
  • Connecting to databases wasn't as easy to set up as Tableau.
  • Not as customizable as other BI programs.
  • Browser only.
Google Data Studio is well suited for those that aren't ready or willing to make the leap to an enterprise solution, as such solutions tend to demand a larger price commitment, usually require a year-long contract, and also require someone with some background with BI tools.
Read this authenticated review
Ben Rubenstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

A great way to automate reporting tasks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Data Studio to create a marketing dashboard, reporting on all active campaigns and how they're performing against key business objectives. This is being used within a single team right now, but based on our experience we may expand the use to other teams within our larger department. For us, it's really helped to automate reporting tasks and spend more time on analysis rather than pulling numbers. It's also enabled us to bring multiple sources into a single place for easier sharing.
  • Connects seamlessly with Google products (Analytics and Ads) and allows you to quickly update reports with a click (or on a scheduled basis, depending on what's being pulled.
  • Templates that provide a good starting point for common reports (like Google Ads effectiveness)
  • Offers the ability to connect to a wide range of other products via connectors/Google Sheets, to bring all sources under one dashboard view
  • Flexibility to blend data from sources together, create custom metrics, and customize reports in ways that you can't do easily within Google Analytics
  • Sometimes a chart won't display in the way that I want, or won't show data at all, and it can be difficult to understand why. Error messaging/blank data could be more clear for troubleshooting purposes.
  • It's nice to have the opportunity to bring in other data sources, but many of the connectors cost money, so it's easy to hit roadblocks in reporting.
  • The limit of data points on a page can be challenging when trying to bring in a lot of different metrics - for example, I've run into scenarios where I want to add a new metric scorecard but am blocked from doing so, and need to split my report to a different page. I understand this is probably necessary for processing reasons (and processing can be an issue when presenting), but it can be frustrating.
I think Google Data Studio is great for teams that are reporting on complex websites and/or have multiple traffic sources and campaigns, and want to pull key data into one place. It's especially useful if you don't have a dedicated analytics staff, as it does cut down on reporting time. You do need to have some analytics knowledge to use the tool, however; otherwise what's being displayed could be misleading or confusing. The takeaways are just as important as the data itself.
Read Ben Rubenstein's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (20)
7.7
Customizable dashboards (31)
8.6
Report Formatting Templates (31)
8.0
Drill-down analysis (25)
7.6
Formatting capabilities (29)
7.8
Integration with R or other statistical packages (14)
7.2
Report sharing and collaboration (32)
9.1
Publish to Web (27)
8.8
Publish to PDF (25)
8.2
Report Versioning (18)
7.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (19)
8.3
Delivery to Remote Servers (10)
7.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (31)
7.7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (28)
7.7
Predictive Analytics (13)
6.7

About Google Data Studio

Google Data Studio is a data visualization platform that transforms data into meaningful presentations and dashboards with customized reporting tools.

Google Data Studio Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No