Google Data Studio Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
146 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 47)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 14, 2021
Kevin McGuire | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is used across departments at our company. We have daily active users within Operations, AdOps, Product, Engineering, IT, and various Business teams. Self-service GDS dashboards are used extensively for reporting and analysis of various KPIs. We also utilize GDS for email reports. Dashboards are also shared externally with partners. GDS is easy to use for standard and ad-hoc reporting and BI insights and analysis to understand trends and performance.
  • Self-service
  • Easy to use, point and click
  • Little to no training required
  • Easy to share internally and externally
  • Rich visualizations
  • Canned reports
  • Easy to copy/paste/dupe existing reports
  • Ability to join data sets
  • Easy integration with various data sources
  • Flexible data integrations, including lowest common denominator (CSV, XLS, G-Sheets)
  • Wide range of APIs
  • Secure / authentication via Google SSO
  • Easy to share / re-assign ownership of reports and data sources
  • Limited data joining / merge options
  • Limited ETL
  • Limited calculations / regex configs
  • Limited data labels and presentation reporting settings vs. alternatives
  • Can be slow to update (dreaded "GDS is not available, please try later")
Pros:
-Cost
-Easy to use
-Self-service
-Flexible visualizations out of the box
-Data sources, plug & play
-Easy to share (internal and externally)
-Easy to export and import data
-Easy to clone, edit, manage dashboards

Cons:
-Can be slow / not reliable
-Date ranges and sorting defaults can sometimes get messy
-Data joins/mergers can be challenging
-Limited to joining 5 different data sources
-Some quirky limitations on UI, labels
-Getting help / support can be a challenge from Google, generally on your own


Read Kevin McGuire's full review
May 11, 2021
Gareth Beer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio (GDS) is used by the University to perform advanced data analysis and visualisation work across our marketing and faculty teams.

Google Analytics (GA) has been used for sometime, however until recently we haven't had an effective way of providing compelling visuals of the data from GA.

Working in the marketing team, it's imperative that we are able to articulate our data in a visual way and that is were GDS has come into its own.
  • It's free to use!
  • Seamless integration with GA
  • A selection of connectors to import data from other channels (Facebook, LinkedIn etc)
  • Having to pay for third-party connector access.
  • Limited in terms of the number of recipients that can be included in the scheduled reporting.
  • Lots of information on some pages making it hard to understand from time-to-time. Could be cleaner from a UX perspective.
GDS is a dashboarding solution that allows us to perform advanced data analysis and visualisation work for stakeholders and peers. It might not be suitable for large-scale data projects, but for us at the UoN, it’s the ideal solution. It is free and provides an excellent and ever-increasing list of connectors.

Additionally, with it being a Google product, it has a large community of users who are often on hand to lend advice and creative solutions.
Read Gareth Beer's full review
April 30, 2021
Tegan Jenner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is being utilized by our media and analytics departments. There are 3 users in our office that are fluent in using this tool. Together, we create reports for our clients to summarize performance. The reports (in view-only mode) are shared with our clients so they have an interactive way to look through reporting. Having the reporting be interactive is where the real value comes from --versus static reports like PDFs or Excel files with a finite period of data available.
  • Extremely customizable. From colors to font sizes to adding images, you can make your reports look like they were specifically created for your clients.
  • Constantly innovating. In the year that I have been using GDS they have released lots of new features, and it seems like they really listen to the user feedback through the customer service portal.
  • Data source flexibility. You can use Excel files, Google Sheets, CSV, etc.
  • Ease of onboarding. If you are familiar with Microsoft Excel, it was really intuitive to pick up without a long period of onboarding/watching tutorials.
  • Once data files start getting large, it can be finicky. We currently don't have a database solution set up to use, and have been trying to use Google Sheets as our data sources, but once the Google Sheet files get large, it can affect the quality of the Google Data Studio report
  • This is still a relatively new product, so there are several little bugs you will find while using it. You just have to be patient and wait for the product team to fix the issues.
  • Some of the visualizations are limited. Once you get used to the full power of a tool like Excel, you run into occasions where GDS is missing a specific visualization feature you are used to seeing in Excel.
It's well suited if you have a report that you want to automatically refresh with new data. I.e. if you have a monthly report, in the same format from month to month, you can keep appending new data to your source data file, and refresh the report with minimal effort. This also allows you to collect historical data too, so you can always reference previous time periods, or change the date range of your report to answer any historical performance question that comes up.
Read Tegan Jenner's full review
April 27, 2021
Scott Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[I used Google Data Studio to] create a dashboard for each of my clients that combines all their data sources (social, ad networks, Analytics, etc.) into one easy to read report for them. I download a PDF for them to view each month, but I also send the link to the dashboard in case they want to view it or play around with the metrics. I've found that many clients are often asking for updates on the performance of the campaigns or site performance, so giving them an easy one-stop-shop where they can find all their performance data is very convenient.
  • Easy to design/brand
  • Native data support for all Google products such as Adwords, Search Console, and Analytics
  • Constantly improving and growing
  • No native support for many outside sources like Facebook or Twitter (must build own or use third party software)
  • Many features that are available in Tableau or other dataviz solutions aren't available yet
  • Available templates aren't styled using default colors, so you have to update the color palette of each module by hand.
  • Data Score boxes are very limited in what they can report
[Google] Data Studio is a great tool for someone who is starting out with Dataviz software or doesn't have the budget to purchase Tableau or something more powerful. I personally like using it because the bulk of my data sources are Google related (adwords, analytics, search console, etc.). So the native support is very convenient.

If you have to pull a lot of CRM data or outside connectors, you'll need to build the API yourself or purchase a connector from a third party. If doing so, you may want to seriously look at the all-in costs of the software stack; you may find that other (more supported) dataviz programs will be worth the cost. This is especially true if your pulling from 5 or more sources or if you need to query large amounts of data. But, if you're a SMB or a small agency creating a value-added report for your clients, then Data Studio is definitely a great place to start!
Read Scott Walker's full review
May 01, 2021
Akhilesh Arya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Create robust and interactive marketing dashboard for free using Google Data Studio. It makes data visualization better with the help of graphs and charts. Easy GUI makes it more user friendly.
And live data connectivity provide you the feature where you can connect to real time data though this feature is slow and the refresh rate is slow but its there.
  • This platform is free.
  • Can connect to verity of databases easily.
  • Live data connection is one of the most powerful feature which is not there in other BI tools.
  • Data range filter settings are amazing.
  • Excel can not be imported you have to convert it into csv file before use.
  • On premise deployment facility is not available.
  • Cannot handle complex relationships between datasets.
If your architecture is based on Google services, [Google Data Studio] is the best tool to use. Also if you are not dealing with complex data analysis.
Read Akhilesh Arya's full review
April 30, 2021
Rafael Grandizoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is used across some departments in the company to create dashboards and reports to help the team have insights and analyze performance from multiple advertising campaigns. In a quick and easy way, any of our users can access the data and create charts, tables and compose dashboards for their work.
  • Simple data integration from files.
  • Create calculated fields using data (for metrics).
  • Plot charts and tables quickly.
  • Organize everything in a dashboard.
  • Easy sharing.
  • Data preparation.
  • Custom integrations.
  • Combine sources with recurrent process.
For a daily basis use, Google Data Studio can provide almost everything you need to generate a simple data visualization that can be easily updated (with an automated integration or manually). It can help create a basic BI analytics dashboard, but not complex ones since it would need more development skills.
Read Rafael Grandizoli's full review
April 27, 2021
Christopher Penn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is used both inside our organization and on behalf of clients. It's our primary reporting and visualization tool, and the primary method we communicate data to clients. Because of its robust integration capabilities and ease of use, it's our first go-to for any basic data visualization from cloud-based data.
  • Free.
  • Easy to use, like the rest of Google Docs.
  • Integrates with hundreds of data sources.
  • Calculated fields are clumsy.
  • No variables/data storage.
  • Not a BI/computational tool, visualization only.
Google Data Studio is a visualization tool. It's mandatory for anyone using the Google Marketing Platform, especially Google Analytics 4. It's essential for low-cost, lightweight visualization applications where live data and reporting is needed.

Google Data Studio is not a BI tool. It doesn't pretend to be one either, but that means you need to carefully think through what kinds of data you're going to be visualizing, and doing that pre-processing BEFORE your data gets to Google Data Studio.
Read Christopher Penn's full review
April 26, 2021
Janaye Steadman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Data Studio to send our clients weekly and monthly analytics reports for their social media profiles. It has made this process significantly easier and less time-consuming since we are able to schedule the reports to send automatically.
  • Easy to schedule automatic emails
  • Completely customizable
  • Can connect to almost anything to pull data
  • Honestly Google Data Studio does really well. The improvements I would like to see have to do with connectors, not Google Data Studio itself.
For our purposes (sending and receiving consistent reports) it is perfect. We use it specifically for social media, and the only drawback is that I can't always pull all the data I want (for example, I wanted to know how many applications we had on Facebook, but this is not a metric provided by Facebook, therefore I couldn't put it in a Google Data Studio report either).
Read Janaye Steadman's full review
April 22, 2021
Jordan Comstock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the beginning stages of implementing Google Data Studio. It is currently being used in the Marketing department. We have connected our google apps, Google Analytics, search console, Google Ads to Data Studio. In marketing, it is giving us automated reports from all of those sources. We can combine the data sources for great-looking dashboards. We have run into issues with adding our site database data to Data Studio, which has been a hang-up for us to fully implement the software across all departments.
  • Dashboards that combine data sources.
  • Customization with design and branding.
  • Easy to use interface. Simple to get started with.
  • This is an issue that our Dev team is dealing with, so I can't speak too much to it, but we have had issues integrating our database with GDS. Those issues have held us back from fully using GDS the way we wanted to.
  • Missing data can be a hassle to make look good on a dashboard.
  • Adoption has been slow across my team, they haven't seen the value the same way I do.
It is the best free tool for data visualizations. Especially if you stick to native google apps connecting to it. I've built some pretty looking data viz and it has helped us to automate marketing reporting.

It has been a hassle with external data sources. I know it has those capabilities, but setting it up hasn't been easy.
I give it a lower support rating because it seems like our Dev team hasn't gotten the support they need to set up our database to connect. Seems like we hit a roadblock and the project got put on pause for dev. That sucks for me because it is harder to get the dev team to focus on it if they don't get the help they need to set it up.
Read Jordan Comstock's full review
April 10, 2021
Omar Gutierrez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a digital marketing agency, we use Data studio to give on-demand reports to our different customers. We created a template where they can log in and see every metric regarding their online activity and campaign performance. It has been very useful because we can generate quick reports with highlights of each website performance and each of our clients can go into more detail using their links to the data studio reports.
  • Reports on demand. My clients can log in at any moment and adjust parameters to see details on particular dates or periods of time.
  • Templates can be created very easily and with a lot of detail.
  • Connection to Google Ads is a very easy way to track campaign performance, by showing the most important metrics.
  • The amount of information you can add to the reports is great, you can go into as much detail as you need in regards to website online performance.
  • Connection to social media would be a great addition.
  • New GA4 uses different kinds of metrics or names to the same metrics, so it has been an issue when trying to use the same template for new customers.
  • Having a just view option for non-Gmail users would be very helpful so my clients can open the link and see the report even though they are not Gmail users.
I always share my experience with Data Studio with my colleagues as a useful tool to generate quick, useful, data-driven reports for their businesses and clients. I think that the platform is easy to use, either by using one of the basic templates or by creating a tailored report with the most important and relevant information for their businesses. Once you've created the report, the information is just a click away, which is a very useful way to keep track of the performance of any website.
Read Omar Gutierrez's full review
May 20, 2021
Rachel Walters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is an awesome tool with great graphics that we use to visualize data for client reports. Our whole organization uses this tool to some extent. We love that it is a free data visualization tool.
  • I love that this tool is free.
  • The reports and dashboards are very customizable.
  • Pivot tables and combinations are easy.
  • The platform can be slow at times.
  • There can be bugs.
  • Setting it up initially can be a little tough.
Google Data Studio is free so almost any company can use it and benefit from it.
Read Rachel Walters's full review
April 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio allows me to pull all the information from my Google Analytics and Google Ads and create simple reports. What I love most is that I can visualize my results on Google Data Studio. This makes sharing reports to teammates super easy. There are many templates on Google Data Studio that makes this very easy.
  • Pull all the data I need from Google Analytics
  • Visualize the information to create beautiful reports
  • I can easily share reports with teammates
  • I wish there were more templates to choose from
  • I wish it was easier to pull information from other sources
  • I wish there was more syncing with our ecommerce platform
Google Data Studio is really great for anyone who needs help understanding and communicating the information on Google Analytics concisely. If you are a small business that needs to do weekly reporting on website performance or website sales, Google Data Studio makes this super easy to do with your teammates.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our Marketing reports, specifically for our Mobile Apps Reports and Google Analytics reports. We use this report to understand the Mobile App downloads (which country had more downloads, which app had more uninstalls, etc.) and Visitors information on our webpages. Currently we use it in our Marketing department and we are planning to implement in other departments soon.
  • Ease of use: All it takes to create a report is just drag and drop the features/tools and get the report instantly. One great advantage compared to other similar tools such as power bi or Tableau is sharing the report instantly.
  • Sharing the Report: You can share the report within your organization and outside the organization with just an URL. You don't need to be a Google user to open the report.
  • Embed the Report on a Sharepoint with just a code. Never thought it would be so easy.
  • Seamless connectivity with Google Products.
  • As this is a free tool, definitely you would miss some features when compared with other BI tools ( for example prediction capabilities etc).
Well Suited:
If you are an beginner in reporting and looking for a less cost or free tool, this is the tool you should go for.
If you are a person with non technical background, but still want to create a BI report.
If your data is less (or not very huge) and create a report instantly.
If you are an avid Google user.

Less Appropriate:
If you are an avid user of Power BI and Tableau and want to report with the same functionality on Google Data Studio.
If your database has millions of records, this tool is for small to medium datasets.




Read this authenticated review
May 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is being used by our organisation to track all website analytics and conversion metrics. We are able to determine, month on month, what kind of exposure we are getting from website visitors and what pages of the website they are visiting the most. It also helps seek out the countries and conversion pages they've been on to, which is useful when creating more lead generation campaigns. A lot of our data comes in from Google Analytics and LinkedIn, which is extremely helpful to have the information all in one platform. It's helped us improve our reporting on a monthly basis and given us a nice dashboard that is easily digestible for the leadership team.
  • Implement multiple metrics.
  • Show month-on-month view.
  • Collaborate multiple source information.
  • Available templates.
  • Ease of use.
  • Support when building your dashboard.
Google Data Studio is particularly useful when I am having to present the monthly website findings to the wider team, allowing me to have one dashboard I can use for reporting as opposed to going to multiple screens from multiple sources. Information that is found on Google Analytics can often be difficult to comprehend from someone who isn't an analysis or doesn't deal with numbers, so to have information nicely spread out on a dashboard really helps people understand the metrics better. It isn't appropriate when having to delve deeper into the findings, as it is more of a overview rather than a detailed report, so if people have questions, you do find yourself having to go to the source material anyway.
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We make use of Google Data Studio in order to can insight into large amounts of statistical data we have stored in BigQuery. We run reports and generate some visualizations to allow people to better understand the data. This allows non-technical people to get the benefits of the data without too much trouble.
  • Ability to define reports.
  • Report against a large amount of data quickly.
  • Data visualizations.
  • More difficult for non-technical people to use.
  • It can be a little cumbersome to get everything setup and running.
  • The documentation could be a lot better.
Google Data Studio is best suited for bringing large amounts of data together and creating reports and visualizations in order to gain insights into what the data has to offer. It is easy to share dashboards and reports with other people so that they can access the insights without granting them access to the data.
Read this authenticated review
April 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Google Data Studio to create monthly reports for our clients. Since it's directly within Google, there aren't any issues with reliable data connections. It was a solution to creating monthly analytics reports that we could easily export for our clients.
  • Reliable connection to Google Analytics.
  • Various ways to display data.
  • Options for custom reports.
  • Takes a long time to set up.
  • Not user friendly.
  • Not enough template reports that are helpful.
I would not usually recommend Google Data Studio. There are a lot more user friendly options out there. But if they just want to create a quick dashboard type view for a few data points, Google Data Studio wouldn't be a bad option.
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is being used all through my organization pretty extensively for dashboarding needs. The tool helps us effectively analyze the data by providing different options for charts etc. The tool is very similar to Tableau and doesn't solve any other business problems other than providing some pretty cool features for dashboarding.
  • It is super simple to load the data in Data Studio.
  • Comes with good cosmetic features, if you want to have a fancy dashboard, this is definitely a tool for you!
  • Creating a derived field is pretty simple.
  • Google Data Studios has had problems with huge data size, the charts break easily if your data is horizontally or vertically long.
  • Blending datasets could have been easier.
  • Creating custom maps is a little hard.
  • Data Studio works well if you've comparatively small data size, it is not a tool to use if your data is huge.
  • Has pretty cool dashboarding features and includes wide variety of charts to analyze the data on.
  • Has multiple banner options, so navigation could be pretty challenging before you get used to it.
  • Can provide better or easy to understand error messages if a chart breaks.
  • Has multiple themes for the charts which is good.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2020
Natalie C. Winslow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Data Studio to create reports for our clients using several data sources, including Google Ads, Google Analytics, and Facebook Insights, Facebook/Instagram Ads. It allows us to easily customize how we show the data from the various sources and allows us to filter, highlight, and customize the color palette.
  • Combines data sources into one report.
  • It's free.
  • Filtering is easy.
  • It's intuitive if you understand analytics and ads.
  • Allows you to send automated reports from your own email rather than from Google.
It's great for most of what we need to run reports on, but buying connectors could probably get expensive. If you need to connect more than five data sources, it might be cheaper to use another third-party Analytics reporting tool. However, in most cases, we find that it allows us to show data in various types of graphs and charts, and add our own color palette, logo, etc.
Google's support is terrible, no matter what product you're using. A four is generous, and only because I've never had to use their support.
Read Natalie C. Winslow's full review
May 06, 2020
Rajat Khatri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio was mainly used by the Analytics team to create Dashboards using data from Google Analytics. These Dashboards were shared with the product team, CPO, business team, CBO, marketing team, CMO, and other teams also through which the decisions were made by the product, marketing, and business teams.

It helps to see the trends of conversion, engagement, funnels, flows, etc. and thus check whether we need changes in product, marketing, or business strategies.
  • Easy integration with Google Analytics
  • Very easy to use and implement.
  • Training easily available online and google training academy
  • Variety of features to use
  • From features point of view, still a lot has to be done
  • In comparison to its competitors like Tableau, Data Studio still needs to have advanced features
Google Data Studio is a free product and easily integrates with Google Analytics. It's a very easy to use product and needs no extensive training or sessions to understand. It works on real-time databases.

From a design and features point of view, it's lagging at a few points, otherwise it's a phenomenal product to use.
As and when there was any issue with the product, Google and supporting teams were ready to provide support and listen and work on the features required in this product
Read Rajat Khatri's full review
January 24, 2020
Danielle Barthelemy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a professional services organization, so we use Google Data Studio product to support our clients. We use it for a variety of use cases - simple web analytics reporting dashboards, SEO performance, cleaning up data via regex statements, executive dashboards of key metrics across a variety of platforms and custom spreadsheets. We also use this internally for the same needs, in addition to operational tracking and data visualization.
  • Efficiently displays data that you need to refer to regularly.
  • Makes data less intimidating to non-analytics stakeholders.
  • Custom calculations
  • More variety of graphs
Displaying direct data from any analytics tools is excellent, complex analysis or calculations is difficult directly in Google Data Studio.
I've never reached out for support.
Read Danielle Barthelemy's full review
December 30, 2019
Brittney Collier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is solely being used by myself to present data and statistics mainly for marketing presentations within the organization, but also for external use when presenting to potential and current clients. Using the platform helps our organization to use data to make strategic marketing decisions, share real-time data with other employees, and communicate product value to our audience.
  • Google Data Studio is great for companies who need to keep track of data that is constantly changing. For example, my organization uses it to track click-through rates in our PPC campaigns. In Data Studio, we can add a “running calculation” of click-through rates as the campaign goes on and the graph displaying the campaign results will continuously change to reflect the most current interactions.
  • Google Data Studio has saved the marketing team time while enabling us to effortlessly improve communication with other departments. We often create PPC Campaigns for other departments like our training team who needs us to promote their training sessions and webinars. Rather than constantly exporting data and creating new graphs like we’ve done in the past to provide updates, we can set up Data Studio to continuously pull data from our Google AdWords Campaigns or Facebook Campaigns and automatically update the graphs. Since we can also create a shareable link to these graphs, any department we create campaigns for can see real-time campaign results and quickly understand whether potential clients are engaging with the content or not.
  • Google Data Studio is great for displaying data that comes from multiple places. Like most marketing teams, we have data from social media accounts, Google Analytics data measuring our web traffic, email click-through rates, etc. In the past, I’ve had to merge data into one application before I could even begin to make a graph. In Google Data Studio, almost every platform is compatible and data can be automatically fed into the graphs you create on the platform.
  • My only con for Google Data Studio is that it can be very difficult to understand how to import data. Despite the marketing team taking courses on Google Data Studio, we still often require assistance from the IT department for some web data imports. I can see this incurring additional costs for anyone who wants to use Google Data Studio - especially small businesses. Sometimes, it hinders my own team members from using Google Data Studio and they may use another platform, which limits how streamlined/organized our data reporting can be if it lives in several other places.
I would recommend Google Data Studio to a colleague who works for a larger company with robust marketing and IT teams. The platform could be overwhelming for smaller teams and would be more effectively used by professionals with experience in analytics, marketing, and web development. The ROI would be quite low if used in smaller businesses.
I personally have not utilized support on Google Data Studio. If it means anything, I have not needed it.
Read Brittney Collier's full review
March 12, 2020
Rayk Richter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is a Suite wich combines relevant data of web, app, campaign, and search. So it is used across the whole organization. With a good visualization, it is possible to manage all online data.
  • Good visualization
  • Perfect for all Google data tools.
  • Ease to integrate
  • Data privacy, GDPR
  • Expensive for companies.
  • Need to be used with other Google products.
Google Data Studio is a great tool to manage data, build dashboards for C and management level.
Google has a nice community, but it is hard to get personal support.
Read Rayk Richter's full review
April 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it in our marketing department to visualize data from our websites.
We connected the platform with Google Analytics, so we are able to create graphs and dashboards super easily, compared to exporting the data and creating graphs in PowerPoint as it was done before. It allows us to focus on the data, rather than fetching the information.
  • General user friendliness of the platform.
  • Straight forward integration with Google Analytics - no table manipulations needed.
  • Easy to add filters on a page or graph level.
  • Integration with Facebook ads and LinkedIn ads is not super easy. We need to go through a third party tool.
  • Sometimes it takes time to load the data.
  • Doesn't work super well on all browsers - although never had issues using Chrome.
I actually recommended Google Data Studio to other departments in our company. I think it's a great tool to easily create visuals out of data from Google analytics. No major technical skills are needed.

I wouldn't say less appropriate, but maybe a bit harder to integrate with the ads platforms, we need to go through a third party.
There's a lot of documentation online and a big community of users that could be helpful.
I never had to contact their support team.
Read this authenticated review
March 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is used by my organization to create dashboards for marketing, merchandising, and customer support teams. So, managers and marketing or category specialists can measure the impact of their campaigns to acquire or engage more customers and sell more products to them. Additionally, Google Data Studio reports enable category and marketing teams to measure return on their investment into an email, paid social, and online ordering campaigns by comparing sales driven from those campaigns to the average run rate of products purchased. Since Google Data Studio integrates seamlessly with Google Analytics and BigQuery as well as allows integration with other data sources such as MicroStrategy or Data Warehouse. It makes it easy to correlate clickstream data to transactional data so that start-to-end customer journeys can be analyzed in it.
  • Google Data Studio enables analysts to create quick charts and tables of marketing or merchandising data. So, stakeholders don't have to wait for long to track their ads.
  • Google Data Studio enables analysts to integrate marketing or merchandising data from multiple sources into one platform and correlate them. So, stakeholders don't have to log in to numerous analytics to access their business data.
  • Google Data Studio enables analysts to create custom calculated dimensions and metrics. So, stakeholders can measure the ROI of their campaigns while analyzing drivers of those campaigns.
  • Google Data Studio doesn't offer the same style of data segmentation as Google Analytics provides: session-based or user-based. So, analysts have first to create that kind of segment in Google Analytics and then import them to Google Data Studio. It will be more efficient for analysts to have the session or user segments in Google Data Studio itself.
  • Google Data Studio analytics doesn't always match with Google Analytics reported data when reproducing the same web analytics report. This could be due to Data Studio using hit based segments and Google Analytics using a user or session-based segments or the way the data is aggregated when the date range is changed from daily to weekly or monthly. Google Data Studio will become a more trusted analytics source if its data matches with Google Analytics.
  • Google Data Studio has a list of sources with which it seamlessly integrates, and most of them our Google-owned. If a tool is not Google-owned and needs to be integrated with Google Data Studio, it takes extra SQL code or ETL effort. If Google Data Studio integrates with more business intelligence tools that are not Google-owned, for example, Microstrategy, it will make its adoption and value to analysts much higher.
Google Data Studio is well suited in scenarios where analysts are trying to create quick visual dashboards using Google Analytics and BigQuery sources of clickstream and transactional data. So, analysts can share those dashboards with their marketing managers or category analysts. Google Data Studio is not well suited in scenarios where analysts are trying to correlate vast amounts of datasets from sources that don't talk to each other, or a data lake doesn't exist. The reason is: Google Data Studio is not an ETL tool. So, unless a data model has been created and an ETL process is running against that data model and is managed by an architect, Google Data Studio should not be used to correlate.
I rated the overall support for Google Data Studio a five because it offers limited real-time chat of phone support. The best resource available to get analyst questions on Google Data Studio reporting and integration capabilities answered, is an online Google support portal with text and video tutorials: https://support.google.com/datastudio. But the analyst needs to know the correct keyword(s) to find accurate answers to his or her technical questions. Or be in the correct category of questions: Connect, Visualize, Share or Manage. So, the existing self-help portal works fine to answer basic questions on metrics, dimensions, how to integrate a data source, or how to create a custom report. It doesn't do a great job of answering advanced questions on why data doesn't match between Data Studio and Google Analytics. Why data is not showing up even though the dashboard sources have been refreshed, or how to create a custom Google Sheets to auto-update dashboard every month.
Read this authenticated review
September 13, 2019
Jasmeet S Babra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Data Studio is used as a tool for developing dashboards and ad hoc reports. It is used by various members of the team as a way to showcase data insights and automate reports which were previously being distributed in the form of Excel sheets or Powerpoints.
Currently It is being used by our department only. The business problem it solves is the need for automated reporting dashboards and being able to create flexible reports.
  • Selection of filters
  • Being able to connect to a variety of live data sources
  • It lives as a live document
  • Easy to build
  • Easy to learn
  • Easy to share
  • Conditional formatting
  • Being able to share it inside of emails
  • Being able to make a custom layout with good downloadable options. PDF download came very late
  • Live text integration
  • Dynamic image insertion which changes with dates
Google Data Studio (GDS) is best used when the need of the hour is a single live document with data over time. The usage of date filters and other filters is very useful. The place where it doesn't excel is that it's still in beta phase and sometimes reports break for no reason.
Read Jasmeet S Babra's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (33)
7.8
Customizable dashboards (46)
8.8
Report Formatting Templates (46)
7.9
Drill-down analysis (40)
7.3
Formatting capabilities (43)
7.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (22)
5.9
Report sharing and collaboration (47)
9.0
Publish to Web (40)
9.0
Publish to PDF (40)
8.5
Report Versioning (30)
7.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (32)
7.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (18)
7.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (46)
7.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (43)
8.2
Predictive Analytics (21)
5.3

What is Google Data Studio?

Google Data Studio is a data visualization platform that transforms data into meaningful presentations and dashboards with customized reporting tools.

Google Data Studio Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google Data Studio?

Google Data Studio is a data visualization platform that transforms data into meaningful presentations and dashboards with customized reporting tools.

What is Google Data Studio's best feature?

Reviewers rate Report sharing and collaboration and Publish to Web highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Google Data Studio?

The most common users of Google Data Studio are from Small Businesses and the Marketing & Advertising industry.